Built in 1602, the Ponte dei Sospiri (Bridge of Sighs) connected the interrogation rooms in the Doges Palace with the prison cells. It got its name from the fact that prisoners passing across it sighed for their lost freedom and their final view of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Very interesting facts learned on this tour but disappointed that we did not get to go over the Bridge of Sighs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This was fair. The tour guide was enthusiastic. You do not need this tour to see the Bridge of Sighs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had such a short time to explore Venice that we opted for a tour that would keep us out of long lines. It could also be accomplished in about 2 hours we had to leave for the airport about two hours after this tour ended in the morning. The tour was exactly what we had hoped for. We had great views of the beautiful Doge's Palace while also getting to explore areas the general public doesn't get to see--Casanova's prison cell, the work areas of the councils, and a tour of the prisons after crossing the Bridge of Sighs. What a delight to look through the bridge's grill to see tourists afar taking pictures of the bridge we were standing on.

As for the tour guide, she was a pure delight. She spoke excellent English we were either her first or second English tour, her sense of humor and drama enlivened the tour, and the small size of the tour helped us see and hear everything she wanted us to absorb. It was worth every penny!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Very informative. Worth it. Got to walk across the Bridge of Sighs!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very cool tour. Interesting seeing the secret places of the palace, hearing the stories of various prisoners including Casanova. Then walking across the Bridge of Sighs. Great tour, highly recommend booking early, we met a lot of people there that wanted to take the tour but it was sold out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide Stephanie was outstanding and very informative! We were met on time and the sights of the palace were unbelievable! The painting, frescoes and size of the rooms were mind-boggling----what wealth the Doges possessed-unfortunately mostly old men when they received the position-but had time for courtiers and partying---don't miss this tour-especially skipping the line-now with the summer season coming-loads of people now, thousands later!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Interesting to see rooms which are not available via standard admission, but they are not really special or impressive, basic prison cells and administrative offices. After the tour you can see the rest if the palace and bridge of sighs. Not a waste of money but was not essential

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is another place that you must get the skip the line tour. Probably best to go for the first tour in morning if you can. When we arrived St. Mark's Square was virtually empty but at 11:00 when we exited the tour the Square was totally packed.
The tour itself was a lot of fun and very enlightening. Casanova's cell and the stories of his escape and the view from the bridge of Sighs were highlights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fascinating tour. The guide was very interesting and clearly knew her subject well. So pleased that I booked the tour as it gave me a greater insight into the history and politics of the Doge's Palace

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great time on this tour with our guide Gina, she was very informative and also funny and slightly eccentric, she gave us a taste of what the Venetian people are like which was an added bonus. The tour itself was good and informative and gave us a brief history to beginnings and development of Venice, I especially liked that we got to walk over the Bridge of Sighs, having seen it from the outside it was interesting to see it from the inside too. Also on this tour we were given a ticket that gave us free entry to the Museo Correr which we used on another day, all in all a fabulous morning.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Our guide was excellent and the whole experience was brilliant. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a fantastic insight into the world of the Doge and also the various different rooms which we entered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This tour has its highlights but was a bit lagging and drawn out. At $65 per person, it was worth not having to stand in line in the middle of July with the sun beating down on you. Seeing the dungeon and prison cells was creepy and interesting at the same time. There was a room that was solely used for the purpose of hanging people and is worth seeing. Some interesting stories about attempted escapes and of course the one and only escape by Casanova. Crossing the Bridge of Sighs is worth the tour with its magnificent view out to Adriatic Sea.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an interesting tour. The tour guide did a great job. I'm sorry I can't recall her name to give her kudos. It's not a royal palace like you would think with all the decadent decorating of that era but a place where the politicians worked. We toured all the prison cells and heard stories of how prisoners were housed as well as hearing Cassanovas story of his imprisonment which was quite interesting. We walked across the bridge of sighs and toured the palace and courtyards. The palace is huge! The morning we went on the tour was still cool I think it would be awful to try to tour the private upstairs areas if it were a hot day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

You should only pay for this tour if you are fascinated by Casanova's escape from the old prison and are willing to pay a lot extra for that privilege (the old prison and a few back offices are the only locations not seen by general visitors to the Doge's Palace). Bottom line: You don't need the "Secret Itineraries Tour" to see the new prison, walk through the Bridge of Sighs or visit the luxurious Doge's Palace. Skipping the Line is nice, but you don't need this tour to do so -- there are cheaper options, and the line wasn't even that long when I visited in June.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

didn't realize it would all be prison cells...had thought there would be more of the doges palace...But was thrilled to cross the Bridge of Sighs and hear about Casanova

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very informative and fun tour. Lots of steps but lots of information and "inside" sights. Our guide was terrific!!! We recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very interesting insight into the history of Venice and the figurehead role of the Doges.

The guide was very knowledgeable and engaging.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent insight into the real behind the scenes activity of the Doge's Palace, I would thoroughly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My daughter and I realy enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very knowledgable and gave very indepth information about the history of the Palace, its paintings and past occupants. It was great to actually pass throu the bridge of sighs and see the prison cells where Cassanova escaped, which was closed whilst undergoing repairs when we were there two years ago. Our entry ticket also gave us free entry into four other museums. We would recommend anyone visiting Venice to book this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a very interesting tour. I learned quite a bit of new history from the guide. It helped put other historical pieces into place for me. My boys loved the bridge of sighs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour was somewhat interesting, but felt you didn't really get much the bang for the buck. Our guide did not take us across the Bridge of Sighs or the "new prison" and there was no mention by her of either. It was a decent tour, but I don't know that I'd highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The secret itinerary was very cool but it would have been nice to include a tour of the palace as well. We learned about Casanova staying there and the bridge of Sighs and about the prisoners. It was very good--just not great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was made amazing by the informative and passionate guide. She gave us an incredible insight into the history of Venice and provided us with 'local' knowledge to explore this incredible city even further. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone in Venice or going to Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent guide - could not be faulted. Would recommend this trip to everyone. Marvellous insight in to what made Venice the city it was and is. First class.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very informative guide and thoroughly enjoyable tour. The only comment would be the guide left us and told us to go over the bridge of sighs and find our own way out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message