• USD ($)
  • English
Built in 1602, the Ponte dei Sospiri (Bridge of Sighs) connected the interrogation rooms in the Doges Palace with the prison cells. It got its name from the fact that prisoners passing across it sighed for their lost freedom and their final view of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The secret itinerary was very cool but it would have been nice to include a tour of the palace as well. We learned about Casanova staying there and the bridge of Sighs and about the prisoners. It was very good--just not great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was made amazing by the informative and passionate guide. She gave us an incredible insight into the history of Venice and provided us with 'local' knowledge to explore this incredible city even further. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone in Venice or going to Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent guide - could not be faulted. Would recommend this trip to everyone. Marvellous insight in to what made Venice the city it was and is. First class.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very informative guide and thoroughly enjoyable tour. The only comment would be the guide left us and told us to go over the bridge of sighs and find our own way out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was well informed and very interesting insights to share

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

wambeggy
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

An Excellent tour - especially skip the line as it was very busy in Venice. tour guide was very good, Doges Palace and Bridge of Sighs were excellent. This is a worthwhile tour into one of the landmarks of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Jason W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Very interesting tour. Our guide was informative and fun. We had the added benefit of visiting the prison cells and the bridge of sighs. Doges Palace is so diverse and has such history. I found this the best of the Venice walking tours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour - well organised and led by a local Venetian with obviously a great local knowledge and very in depth historical, socialogical and anthropological insight into the city. A great story teller who had us totally engrossed in the ways of the Doges, the running of the Palace and the Republic. A unique experience - we left feeling we knew and understood much more about this incredible city and how it functioned. Such a highlight!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We absolutely loved our tour of the Doges palace. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting, and we learned so much about the history of Venice and the Doges Palace. It was fascinating. We also enjoyed the wonderful art in the palace, and our guide's insight into it. Part of the tour also involved crossing over the Bridge of Sighs and seeing the old prisons, all of which our children particularly enjoyed. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour was interesting because of the tour of the upstairs where the prisioners were held and the Bridge Of Sighs. Otherwise a bit long for us. THe guide was a local and very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a wonderful time on this tour! First, we went into the courtyard of the Palace and our guide Eleanor explained about the different parts of the Palace and what the Doge's life was like. Then we went up into the off-limits area where the aristocratic prisoners were held; this was also the same area where the middle class clerks worked. Just an FYI, it was really hot on those upper floors! Next were the huge rooms where the Doge worked and saw his visitors. We actually got to walk across the Bridge of Sighs and then walk around the prison dungeons, where it was dark and dank and quite a contrast to the cushier upstairs prison. Our guide Eleanor was awesome and actually went into every area and gave us tons of info, a lot of it from the viewpoint of a native Venetian. She was also available at the end of the tour if anyone had extra questions. All in all, it was fascinating and fun and well worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We enjoyed skipping the line and seeing the Doges Palace. There were many people trying to visit in July, so this tour is the best way to see the sights. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What an amazing tour!
We have already recommended it to friends who are due in Venice in October.
Walking across the Bridge of Sighs and seeing the Prison was a highlight for me.
Extremely well organized.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We booked this at the last minute and were glad we did. Our guide was Louisella who was very good and showed us around well. We did have some major problems getting the audio sets to work that cost about 30 minutes (that was down to the Doges Palace and not our guide). A well worthwhile tour of some really interesting and visually stunning rooms - including the clever scissor design of the Bridge of Sighs that is not visible from the outside.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Had to assemble early just to wait for the guide afterwards to fetch the entrance tickets. At 9.00 no lines in front of the ticket entrance. The guide had a lot of insight and interesting information, but I regret that the group was big and the audio system not always working on a great distance. All in all a regular guided tour would also have been ok. Skip the line is not really necessary at 9 in the morning.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message