• USD ($)
  • English
Built in 1602, the Ponte dei Sospiri (Bridge of Sighs) connected the interrogation rooms in the Doges Palace with the prison cells. It got its name from the fact that prisoners passing across it sighed for their lost freedom and their final view of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an interesting tour. The tour guide did a great job. I'm sorry I can't recall her name to give her kudos. It's not a royal palace like you would think with all the decadent decorating of that era but a place where the politicians worked. We toured all the prison cells and heard stories of how prisoners were housed as well as hearing Cassanovas story of his imprisonment which was quite interesting. We walked across the bridge of sighs and toured the palace and courtyards. The palace is huge! The morning we went on the tour was still cool I think it would be awful to try to tour the private upstairs areas if it were a hot day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

You should only pay for this tour if you are fascinated by Casanova's escape from the old prison and are willing to pay a lot extra for that privilege (the old prison and a few back offices are the only locations not seen by general visitors to the Doge's Palace). Bottom line: You don't need the "Secret Itineraries Tour" to see the new prison, walk through the Bridge of Sighs or visit the luxurious Doge's Palace. Skipping the Line is nice, but you don't need this tour to do so -- there are cheaper options, and the line wasn't even that long when I visited in June.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

didn't realize it would all be prison cells...had thought there would be more of the doges palace...But was thrilled to cross the Bridge of Sighs and hear about Casanova

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very informative and fun tour. Lots of steps but lots of information and "inside" sights. Our guide was terrific!!! We recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very interesting insight into the history of Venice and the figurehead role of the Doges.

The guide was very knowledgeable and engaging.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent insight into the real behind the scenes activity of the Doge's Palace, I would thoroughly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My daughter and I realy enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very knowledgable and gave very indepth information about the history of the Palace, its paintings and past occupants. It was great to actually pass throu the bridge of sighs and see the prison cells where Cassanova escaped, which was closed whilst undergoing repairs when we were there two years ago. Our entry ticket also gave us free entry into four other museums. We would recommend anyone visiting Venice to book this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a very interesting tour. I learned quite a bit of new history from the guide. It helped put other historical pieces into place for me. My boys loved the bridge of sighs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour was somewhat interesting, but felt you didn't really get much the bang for the buck. Our guide did not take us across the Bridge of Sighs or the "new prison" and there was no mention by her of either. It was a decent tour, but I don't know that I'd highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The secret itinerary was very cool but it would have been nice to include a tour of the palace as well. We learned about Casanova staying there and the bridge of Sighs and about the prisoners. It was very good--just not great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was made amazing by the informative and passionate guide. She gave us an incredible insight into the history of Venice and provided us with 'local' knowledge to explore this incredible city even further. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone in Venice or going to Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent guide - could not be faulted. Would recommend this trip to everyone. Marvellous insight in to what made Venice the city it was and is. First class.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very informative guide and thoroughly enjoyable tour. The only comment would be the guide left us and told us to go over the bridge of sighs and find our own way out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was well informed and very interesting insights to share

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

wambeggy
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

An Excellent tour - especially skip the line as it was very busy in Venice. tour guide was very good, Doges Palace and Bridge of Sighs were excellent. This is a worthwhile tour into one of the landmarks of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message