Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of St. Maria Assunta (Basilica of Santa Maria Assunta)

On the island of Torcello in the Venetian lagoon sits one of the most important churches in Venice - the Cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta. Torcello itself is the site of one of the earliest settlements on the Venetian islands, so it has enormous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2572 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is value for money and a great way to see Venice from the water.
Excellent commentary from a knowledgable guide.
We Australians had a great day.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip, worth every penny!

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous day out, made even more so by the great weather which wasn't too hot. Would definitely recommend doing this tour.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great if you don't have a lot of time to visit. Short and sweet. Just what we needed.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyed the boat right over to the islands. Each island was unique in its own way. It was interesting to see glass being heated up and then beautiful objects being made. I recommend the three islands if you are in Venice.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was very nice. We saw a lot of what we wanted to see and it was very organized.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good trip to 3 different islands. Saw glass making, lace making and cathedral.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

John S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour allowed us to see the three islands in a half day. We would have been pushed to do this independently in the time. I thought it was great value for money The three islands are quite different. Murano, of course famous for its glass, is probably the least interesting though the glass blowing demonstration was well worth while. Torcello is quiet, peaceful with the highlight of the basilica of Santa Maria Assunta. This Byzantine church is well worth a visit. Burano is colourful and quite pretty even if you have no interest in lace making.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip - great guide. But if you go, sit in the back of the boat. It's all inside seating and the windows in the front are so high that you can't see out of them unless you stand up. No exageration! We especially loved the island of Burano with it's colorful homes. The lace was cheaper than the mainland but Murano had higher prices on glass than in Venice proper. We timed our tour to end with the sunset over the lagoon - perfect ending.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

JULIE T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well organised afternoons sightseeing on these three islands. You spend about 45minutes on each island. You get the boat from near Royal Gardens, St Marks Square. You have a multi-lingual speaking tour guide. Her English was excellent.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Mavis R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Good tour although we could have spent more time on Torcello as there is a fair walk to the church and much to see when you get there.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We are unable to give it a rating since we never got to take the tour. However, in order to leave these remarks, we were required to give it a rating. We arrived in Venice on Saturday, September 12 after traveling over 9 hours, without any sleep. We stayed up Saturday sightseeing and we overslept Sunday morning, missing the tour. We had no other time during our Tauck guided trip to take the tour. We heard from other travelers that the tour was really great. Sorry we missed it.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message