Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of St. Maria Assunta (Basilica of Santa Maria Assunta)

On the island of Torcello in the Venetian lagoon sits one of the most important churches in Venice - the Cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta. Torcello itself is the site of one of the earliest settlements on the Venetian islands, so it has enormous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2533 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mavis R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Good tour although we could have spent more time on Torcello as there is a fair walk to the church and much to see when you get there.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We are unable to give it a rating since we never got to take the tour. However, in order to leave these remarks, we were required to give it a rating. We arrived in Venice on Saturday, September 12 after traveling over 9 hours, without any sleep. We stayed up Saturday sightseeing and we overslept Sunday morning, missing the tour. We had no other time during our Tauck guided trip to take the tour. We heard from other travelers that the tour was really great. Sorry we missed it.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

When we got to the meeting point, we were early and got offered an earlier tour. We accepted the invite. It was just as described. We enjoyed this excursion very much. Our tour guide spoke good English and was explaining what is what. She did a very good job. The islands were very picturesque and enjoyable. In Murano glass factory everything is much more expensive than other stores. We have even seen their glass in stores in Venice for much less money. In Burano, we skipped the lace presentation and instead walked the street - very nice and worth it. In Torcello we enjoyed yummy cappuccino in a restaurant's garden. Wish we could stay longer. Viator advertises each stop 30-40 minutes, we were given 40 in Murano and 1 hour each on the other two islands. That was wonderful and we were very grateful for that. We did not feel rushed at all. This tour if bought at the kiosk by the pier was 20 Euros, which was almost what we paid via Viator. It was very well worth it. Thank you for very enjoyable morning and early afternoon.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Paula Jane
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A lovely day out with plenty to see. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great value for money - definitely recommend

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful tour,interesting,well organised,comfortable trip.We would gladly have stayed in Burano longer .

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good.way to see these three islands in a limited amount of time. We were late for our early morning tour and they very kindly added us to the next group. If you want more time on the last island, you can stay and take a vaparetto (water bus) back to San Marco instead of returning with the tour. Torcello is the oldest part of Venice and is worth exploring. It also had several nice restaurants, and only 12 permanent residents, so it has a different feeling from the rest of Venice. We really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very pleasant use of our time in Venice. Well done.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We enjoyed the shopping experience!!! The glass making demonstration was amazing!!!
Very happy to have scheduled this excursion I have already recommended your company to some friends going to Italy in late October!!!
Very happy how your company does tours!!!

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Murano and Burano were excellent, but Torcello could be omitted, little to see there and more time spent in Murano.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Would recommend this trip. Well organised. Could wander around on the islands by yourself. All I'd say is could have done with a bit longer on Burano. Only get around 45 mins on each island but nice to see everything. A must for anyone visiting Venice. Found it easier than trying to get to the islands by myself. Tour guide very informative. Nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of Venice for a few hours.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed the boat trip to the three islands. I only took the tours because my friend wanted to go to Murano for the glass. I was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful buildings and the history of Venice as well as the three islands. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message