Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 268 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide, even though their second language was french, her english was perfect. Very informative and engaging, good sense of humour. Tour company was very organised and professional. Would recommend this tour to a first time visitor or to anyone wanting to discover more about the Doge's Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great to see places inside the Doge's palace not normally seen and the guide made it all fun. Afterwards, we could stay inside the Doge's palace to see the rooms etc. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide Rita!...lots of information about the culture and history...didn't have to wait for 3-4 hours in the rain to get inside St. Mark's Basilica...both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica are a must see in Venice!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide outstsndiing tour hits best of Venice Doge palace and st Marks cathedral also grand canal boat ride was enjoyable and good guide

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic and fascinating tour. We went through many other rooms and up into the roof, saw Casanova's cell and heard the amazing story of his escape. Our guide was brilliant and her passion for us to learn about and understand Venice as it was as well as how it is now was infectious. This tour really made by visit to Venice, highly recommend. You can explore the Doge's Palace afterwards having skipped the long line too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had such a short time to explore Venice that we opted for a tour that would keep us out of long lines. It could also be accomplished in about 2 hours we had to leave for the airport about two hours after this tour ended in the morning. The tour was exactly what we had hoped for. We had great views of the beautiful Doge's Palace while also getting to explore areas the general public doesn't get to see--Casanova's prison cell, the work areas of the councils, and a tour of the prisons after crossing the Bridge of Sighs. What a delight to look through the bridge's grill to see tourists afar taking pictures of the bridge we were standing on.

As for the tour guide, she was a pure delight. She spoke excellent English we were either her first or second English tour, her sense of humor and drama enlivened the tour, and the small size of the tour helped us see and hear everything she wanted us to absorb. It was worth every penny!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The lines are long for Doge's Palace and the Basilica, so purchasing this in advance was well worth it. Doge's Palace is a must see with an experienced guide as we had. The tour of the Basilica was informative and we had a lovely walking tour of the neighborhood adjoining San Marco about life in Venice. As a bonus, the ticket included entry into the Correr Museum. We're not usually keen on museums, but this was great. It included the Imperial Rooms of the Royal Palace, as well as other rooms with artifacts from Venice. Just fabulous to see.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Tom
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide for the Doge's Palace and walking tour, Ariana, was extremely knowledgable, entertaining and efficient at the same time. The trip was a pleasure.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

These 3 tours were great. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable, they did a good job of explaining what we were looking at. Both the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were awesome. The Venice walking tour showed us places that we may not have seen otherwise. The grand canal tour was just that - grand. We didn't just ride along the grand canal, but into smaller canals where we cruised under many bridges and got a terrific overview of the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had Stephania for the Doges Palace tour and Maria for our afternoon walking and Basilica. They were both excellent. They engaged us all with their knowledge. Thoroughly enjoyable!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tours! Easy and quick check in. For the Doge's Palace, St. Mark's, and the walking tour we had Arriana as our guide. She was very knowledgeable and shared info so that it was very interesting. We had Christina as our quide for the boat ride. She was also very knowledgeable. We went on some of the smaller side canals which was really interesting and a nice change from the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Carissa E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

SO happy we did this tour! Coming to Venice for the first time, we started with the tour in the hope to gain some familiarity to a few areas.. It definitely made navigating easier in the days after! Our guide was fantastic, we learnt a lot about Venice just in these couple of hours. We added on the tour for the Doge's Palace after Basilica di San Marco and were so glad we did - would recommend. Skipping the loooooong queue line with a tour group is always a bonus. If you're coming to Venice for the first time, this tour cannot come highly recommended :-

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did the three part tour. We had Mirco as our guide for the Basilica and Doges. He was wonderful. He gave us so much background on Venice and all the history of the sites. The boat tour was also informative and well done.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was amazing... She had a phd in art history and taught at the university level during the school year. She had also lived in Venice for 20 years, so she knew her stuff. More than that, she was knowledgable, friendly, interesting - with neat stories to share. Her presence really deepened the experience of the neighborhood we walked through, the art we saw, the intrigue of the Doge's palace. It was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great back room look in the Doge's Palace

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Denise V
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Doge's palace tour was excellent but the visit to St Mark's was disappointing - the guide was speaking loudly in spite of the signs asking people to be quiet. She could have whispered like the other guides. We were rained out in the afternoon so missed the canal boat ride - no rainchecks allowed

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour with an excellent guide. Best way to see the Doges Palace. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide had great English skills. She provided us with an excellent history of Venice and the Doges Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great, a bit of an early start though if your staying outside the main tourist area. Very well organised, interesting tour but guide was stretching her words a bit and a bit basic. if ur gonna visit the Doge Palace then a guide is essential. Tour with secret itineraries is probably better

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was the one tour my wife and I decided to do and were glad we did. Added perspective to the Doge's Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, really enjoyed it! Christina I think was my guide for both the Doge's Palace tour and the walking tour. She was fantastic! Very informative and personable. Really enjoyed it! I especially enjoyed the boat tour of the Grand Canal. That was my favorite part! My only complaint is that when I booked the tour my boat tour was supposed to be at 4pm and it was really at 5pm. Not a huge deal but threw off my timing for the day a little bit. Although I ended up having the boat tour during sunset, so I guess it worked out! Overall, I highly recommend this tour package!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Doges Palace tour was great an amazing building with great history a good guide and saw lots really recommend it. However I wouldn't recommend the St Marks Basilica tour as we didn't spend hardly any time in the church. The boat tour was also excellent and informative well worth it so 2/3

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was great tour. It started with nice walk inside Doge's Palace, with explanation of what Venice really stands for. Visit inside ST Mark's was short, just walk through, but it was followed by nice walking tour around central San Marco area. The guide was engaged, we learned much about how the city functions, how it looks on day to day basis. Nice boat ride in the afternoon. I highly recommend the tour, you can learn much about the city and its history.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message