Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at St ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 415 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ravish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed both the morning and afternoon sessions of the tour. Our guides, Gina and Marco were very good and well informed. Gina took us to all the important rooms at the Doge palace with a good sense of humour. Marco was equally funny and made the tour enjoyable even though the Basilica was closed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5m17hy Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was 2 different tours. The Doge's Palace tour was excellent and the guide was amazing. The Basilica was also excellent and the guide was good, but she tended to only talk to those in front of her and didn't worry if fo were well behind on the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

kerry.laine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour. The weather did not cooperate as we did the walking tour in the rain. In addition, I missed the departure time for the Doge's Palace and was not able to find the tour group upon my late arrival. Kudos to the tour company for allowing me to do the Doge's Palace the next morning. I have to say, The Doge's Palace was my favorite part of the day - I really enjoyed getting the political backgrounds information, as well as seeing the prison and Bridge of Sighs. Loved this tour.
cd iscoon

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very cool tour that gave you access to areas of the Doge's Palace that you would not have access to otherwise. Our guide was very informative and knowledgeable. Definitely the way to go!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

jyoung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Elena was the BEST guide! Very knowledgeable, passionate and fun! She was organized and took us all around Venice. We had a wonderful experience exploring Venice and visiting St Mark's Basilica and the Doge's Palace with her. This was hands down the best tour we went on during our 2.5 weeks in Europe!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

CWalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The two tours were both well organized and informative. Having headsets for listening to the tour guide are a great plus! Ariana did a wonderful job with the Doges Palace. The paintings in the palace are amazing and the jail was interesting. Sylvia also did a wonderful tour of San Marco Basilica. Very beautiful inside! We will be booking tours for Athens through Viator.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Edward S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great way to see the Venice highlights in a day. The Doge's Palace tour was excellent. Our tour guide was also excellent. Knowledgeable and very pleasant. Great to skip the lines which were already long first thing in the morning. Only issue is this is actually three separate tours you need to check in for.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Melissa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting the information provided gave a good over view about the Doge Palace and Venice.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Jacqueline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Super knowledgeable tour guide on the particulars and history of the Palace and Venice. Entrance to Doge's Palace is ahead of official opening to the line that began wrapping around the entrance. Our group was a dozen or so people.
A look and historical information on the nuances of the palace and prisons. Free time after allows for actual going crossing within the Bridge of Sighs not part of the tour but part of your entrance ticket to the palace and absorbing the remainder of the huge property. As an FYI , this is more about the secrets not the well known portions - i.e. does not show/explain the Golden Staircase or some of the important parts of the palace itself.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Lisa D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was incredible! Three very different ways to see the city and learn of it's culture. Our guide for Doge's Palace was so empassioned and informative. The palace itself is beautiful. Having the time in between was perfect. Had some lunch and walked around. The St. Mark's tour was spectacular - after seeing the Basilica, we toured the city - learned so much about the local culture and the history of Venice and it's residence. Finally, the Gondola ride was such an enjoyable way to end the day and because it was Sunday, we made it back in time for a 6:45 mass at St. Mark's. Fantastic tour, highly recommended!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Barb United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed our tour of Doge's Palace and the explanations given by Marco. We are so glad to have taken this early tour when it was less crowded. We were shocked at how very crowded it was outside when we finished our tour----in mid May! I cannot imagine what June will bring.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

rsgranberry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our group of 8 four adults and four teenagers took this tour on our first day in Venice after arriving the night before. It was a great orientation to this beautiful city! All of us enjoyed the tour through Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica - just breathtaking! This tour set the standard for us on the duration of our trip through Italy - so informative and enjoyable. The walking tour was perfect - even in the misty rain. We loved this and highly recommend!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

annhenry08

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great way to see a lot of Venice in a day. The timing between the Doge's Palace and the tour of St. Mark's and then the boat trip gave us time to process what we had seen, catch our breath and relax a little bit. The tour guide was excellent and there was nothing better than not having to wait in the very long lines to get into the venues.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Poi Lin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing!!! St Mark and #39;s Basilica is just so beautiful. Doge and #39;s Palace and St Mark and #39;s basicilla is a must !!!
High Recommended !!!

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well organised. Knowledgeable, friendly, experienced guide. Good value for money. Small group. The tour itself is fascinating and I learnt a lot without being drowned in too much information. Visiting the Doges Palace and Basilica in the evening when the crowds had all gone meant it felt like a private and exclusive tour with time to really see and experience these beautiful and historical places.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Pamela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great package, which allowed us to do the things we most wanted to do in central Venice in a very efficient way. Skip-the-line tours of both the Basilica and Doge's Palace are definitely the way to go! Saved us lots of time and aggravation. We had a little bit of a hiccup with timing of the Grand Canal Tour a number of us were told to show up at 5:00p rather than 4:00p - but the company quickly resolved the problem and we had a lovely cruise.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Frances H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

These 4 tours are an excellant way to hit the highlights of Venice. The Doge Palace is a can't miss. Our tour guide was very informative weaving Venice history into the beauty of the palace. Skipping the line at the Basilica is worth the cost of the tour. Our walking tour guide pointed out hidden gems. The grand canal cruise was a highlight of our Venice visit. It was informative about the beautiful villas and neighborhoods from the canal. Our boat driver also took us through smaller canals due to extra time.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Deborah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour with an excellent and knowledgeable guide who provided lots of interesting facts and history. The first portion in Doge's palace was a very large group but the radios worked well and we saw lots of the palace. It was extremely hot and sticky inside so was nice we had 3 hours until the next part of our tour to pick up some lunch and head back to our hotel around the corner to eat and relax in the air conditioning. We met at the same place for the afternoon portion which is very easy to find Royal Gardens and this tour was much smaller group which was even better. St Mark's is definitely worth seeing with a guide to get the information - it is so beautiful with all the mosaics the only disappointment is you can't take pictures to remember. The walking portion at the end was also interesting as we got information and history about alleyways and squares we had encountered the day before

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Jeanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very entertaining and informative. Since the tour is early we were able to enjoy the Doge's Palace for a few minutes before the crowds. The Secret Itineraries takes you to areas not open to the general public. We were glad we booked this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Julie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed the Doge's Palace. The tour was the perfect length and was able to see the entire building. Only complaint was that our guide's English wasn't ideal for a tour guide, but she was patient and wanted to make sure we understood her content.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Linda C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Was a really good tour. The Doges Palace is absolutely beautiful and not to be missed. The guide spoke very good English and the audio sets worked really well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Paul A R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Both guides were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. All the general highlights of Venetian government were covered in the context of the appropriate function. There was little information about the individual Doges with very few exceptions. However, the art history knowledge of the guides helped to make up for whatever historical information might have been lacking.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Rockaway

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful time and would strongly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Venice for the first time as we did! An interesting account of the Doge Palace - political and judicial commentary was excellent by this gentleman who spoke so clearly. It is important to take a break after this 2 hour tour of the palace as there is much to absorb.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Terry W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was very good. Although she had a slight accent, she was easy to understand. She was very knowledgeable about both the Doges Palace and the history of Venice. She did not rush us through the tour and we had time to take photos, study objects, and ask questions. Only negative was that the tour group could have been somewhat smaller.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message