• USD ($)
  • English

Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an incredible day with three separate tours. The first tour of the Doge's Palace was the best because it set the scene for the other tours with lots of history which gave a fantastic understanding of how the Venician Republic operated and why it lasted for so long. St Mark's Basilica and the walking tour gave a flavour of how the city is laid out and how people lived. The tour of the canals was excellent. A tiring day but worth every second. The tour guides were knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. These tours provided excellent background for the rest of our stay in Venice. There was enough time between tours for a leisurely lunch or coffee. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was amazing, we opted to have the doge's palace on our tour. We'll worth the money. We walked over the bridge of sighs and walked through the prison cells as well. All up the whole tour was great. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was excellent, very chipper and engaging. The only way to really tour these attractions is by the Skip the Line option. Doge's Palace wasn't too interesting to me, but I can appreciate the ability of our tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed the Doge's. We had a different guide for Bascillica and walking tour. I had trouble hearing and keeping up with her.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

You should only pay for this tour if you are fascinated by Casanova's escape from the old prison and are willing to pay a lot extra for that privilege (the old prison and a few back offices are the only locations not seen by general visitors to the Doge's Palace). Bottom line: You don't need the "Secret Itineraries Tour" to see the new prison, walk through the Bridge of Sighs or visit the luxurious Doge's Palace. Skipping the Line is nice, but you don't need this tour to do so -- there are cheaper options, and the line wasn't even that long when I visited in June.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was excellent. The guides were full of information and knowledge and very easy to understand and we were encouraged to ask questions which were readily answered. The only drawback was the Doge's Palace tour was 0900 and then we had to come back at 2pm for the rest of the tour. It would have been better if they were straight after each other or with the 1 tour guide. But I would still recommend the tours.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was probably the best tour I've been on! Our guide Marina was terrific... friendly, full of really interesting information, and obviously loves her city. Also, when it started pouring rain at the beginning of our St. Mark's tour and they closed the basilica doors due to flooding, she really went above and beyond the tour guide call of duty to get us into the basilica. It would have been nice to have some additional time to wander around both locations by ourselves, but overall we just loved the both the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's tours (and definitely appreciated skipping the line) and would absolutely recommend it to others!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was on time. The tour guide was very good. The Doge's Palace is truly grand, and the secret tour was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guides were both excellent. They were both native Venetians and very knowledgable of the history of the City, the Doge's Palace, and St. Mark's.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour of Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica was great and very informative. We also loved the walking tour of Venice. We truly enjoyed the entire experience and would highly recommend Viator to all.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very interesting ! We saw a lot of hidden places inside the doge's palace.
We even saw the cell of the famous Casanova.
The guide was excellent and knew a lot of things about the palace and Venice in general.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a brilliant tour provided by our guide, Ariana. She provided us with lots of very interesting facts, some very funny, about the Doge and what it was like living in Venice at that time. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The super saver combines 3 tours at a discounted price. It does make for a long day. We started the first tour (Doge's Palace) at 9:00am and ended the last tour ( the boat ride on the Grand Canal) at about 6:30pm. We had approximately 2 hours between tours to eat and relax, so it wasn't too bad. The tours themselves are excellent. The guides are professional and very knowledgeable. Our favorite was the boat ride on the Grand Canal. This is a great way to see the highlights of the city in one day.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Doge's Palace tour was very good. The guide was knowledgeable and gave good descriptions and background information about the Doge's, the Palace, and the artifacts in the Palace.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Hands down absolutely necessary if you want to see San Marks and Doge's palace. This tour was great and very helpful and took us to some of the more local attractions. The skip the line for the cathedral was worth it in itself. Great tour. Glad we did it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message