Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent....she told us about the lives of the doges and also their servants, the visiting seamen and the poor people who lived in Venice at that time. It all came alive with her descriptions, given in perfect English. She explained in simple terms how the doges were elected, and how the system prevented any one family from taking control of Venice. She shared her love of Venice and its history, and we learnt so much from her. Thank you.
To improve the marketing....I thought the 'tour' included the rest of Venice, so was disappointed when we came to the end of the tour of the palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Hyun Joo Kim
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

St. Mark's bacilica was very beautiful but very difficult to see all due to lots of people. Our guide i think she did her best. Doge's palace was the place to know the venice's political situation at the time. My tour guide speak perfect English and very knowledgeable. The grand carnn tour was so nice. We were 8 people in a private boat. If anyone do it you can feel freedom! Highly recomended it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our first tour in Italy and we didn't know what to expect; the
doge Palace and St. Mark's were spectacular. Our guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable. She was great .

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour with highly informative and interesting guide. Would not have missed it. Really brought the history alive and made the whole visit to the Doge's Palace very enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Mavis R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good tour. Guide was informative and paced the tour well. Basilica tour and Doges palace tour are a must to see for any first time tourist to Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

All three tours were great! Frederica who did Doge's palace was excellent. Julia and the other guide on the walking tour was excellent as well. All of the tours and guides were top notch!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Daniella is an excellent tour guide. She gave so much detail and answered everyones questions well. Seeing the prison and the areas that I would've never toured if I was going on my own was excellent. She gave us lots of time to explore the area and I would recommend this to anyone visiting the Doge's Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide Patricia was absolutely fantastic! She made the whole tour come alive with her depth of knowledge and passion.We took the extended tour to include the Doge's Palace which was well worth doing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great walking tour and visit to St Mark's and the Doges Palace. Knowledgeable and friendly guide Stephania.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was thorough and knowledgeable. Really enjoyed the tour and learning more about Doge's Palace and St Mark's Basilica. The boat trip at the end of the day was a highlight.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great guides in Venice! Doge's palace is huge with lots to see. The walking tour was informative and we were able to escape the crowds around the main piazza. Seeing the back streets of Venice was great! St. Marks Basilica tour was a 15 minute walk through of the church. Amazing building with lots of statues and paintings to view. The boat tour of the Grand Canal was the best part of the tour. We had a great guide with lots of enthusiasm and information. Overall one of the best tours on our adventure to Italy!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Ok there are 3 phases to this trip. 1st you start with Doge's palace. We felt the the narrative was too long and boring. 2nd phase guide was constantly passing racial comments which was obnoxiously rude. Worst is the long wait between each tour about 2 hrs. Do it on your own. Not worth it. Time Waste!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Tour of Doge's Palace was excellent. However, we were late getting started due to many tour members asking questions about subsequent tours they were signed up for that day (answers to which were clearly available in the itinerary if they had bothered to read it!). We were rushed to finish as we had the St. Marks tour immediately following Doge's Palace.

St. Marks was a disappointment as the square was slightly flooded, and the "Skip the line" entrance wasn't open, so we ended up having to wait. This put us behind, so we were rushed through St. Marks, and really didn't get an opportunity to study and enjoy it.

Walking tour was informative, but the guide walked quite fast, and, with the crowds, it was very hard to keep up with her. In fact, a couple times we fell so far behind, we were out of range of the radio she was communicating to us over.

There were too many people on the boat for the Grand Canal tour; we didn't want to sit in the cabin, but were very crammed in standing outside.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was fantastic! Our tour guide, Alexandria, was very informative, interesting, and professional. I learned so much about Venice and the Doge as well as about Cassanova. I am so glad I did the secret itineraries instead of the normal part of the palace. I would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fascinating tour. The guide was very interesting and clearly knew her subject well. So pleased that I booked the tour as it gave me a greater insight into the history and politics of the Doge's Palace

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message