• USD ($)
  • English

Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an incredible day with three separate tours. The first tour of the Doge's Palace was the best because it set the scene for the other tours with lots of history which gave a fantastic understanding of how the Venician Republic operated and why it lasted for so long. St Mark's Basilica and the walking tour gave a flavour of how the city is laid out and how people lived. The tour of the canals was excellent. A tiring day but worth every second. The tour guides were knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. These tours provided excellent background for the rest of our stay in Venice. There was enough time between tours for a leisurely lunch or coffee. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was amazing, we opted to have the doge's palace on our tour. We'll worth the money. We walked over the bridge of sighs and walked through the prison cells as well. All up the whole tour was great. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our cruise boat was in Venice for 1 1/2 days but due to cruise boat departures changes, we weren't going to be able to take the motor boat tour at 5:30 on our second day. We gambled and connected with the tour on the first day to see if we could take the motor boat early. The guide graciously squeezed our party of 4 on early. She was wonderful and full of energy! She even got the boat captain to take special routes even though the tide was raising and made the clearance under bridges tight. The next day we did Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica. Our tour guide for Doge's Palace was excellent...she gave a lot of history and really knew her facts. We only spent about 20 minutes in St. Mark's...probably because some the people needed to get coverings for their knees and shoulders. Of the 3 guides, St. Mark's was the less prepared. Overall I'm glad we did all 3 tours...it was a great price.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

With only 2 and a half days in Venice, we decided to do 2 guided tours early on Saturday morning, and we are sure glad that we booked the Secret tour of the Doge's Palace! We had a great young tour guide, (who I can't remember her name!) who was very helpful and answered all our questions. Did not know the story of Casanova and how he escaped from the prison! The earpieces were helpful in listening to her speak, but as we were in some of the small narrow stairwells, and if we were at the back, the sound cut-out and in a fair bit, so missed some of her commentary. We just informed her and she repeated what she had shared. We carried on after the tour was over and walked through all the amazing gigantic rooms! Would not have missed this beautiful building. Thank you!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I do not know whay anyone would want to stand in line for any attraction. It is definately worth it to purchase skip the line tickets for everything. The Secret Itineraries tour shows you the areas that are not included with the general admision ticket, which makes the tour of the Doge's Palace more enjoyable. It includes the upper floors of the prision and the armory collection. This ticket also includes the areas of the general admission ticket. Tickets are less expensive if you purchase them directly thru the Palace, but you need to book early for larger groups and English guides are limited to just a few tours each morning. Definately go in the morning becuase the upper floors can be hot/cold, depending on the weather outside.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great behind-the-scenes tour of the Doge's palace, taking us into and past the cells, then up to the higher levels to view the offices. Our guide was very knowledgeable and pitched her information at just the right level. Probably the best part was that we were the only group going through this tour, so we had plenty of space to enjoy our surroundings, as we moved from room to room and up and down the narrow stairways. Definitely one of the best tours we've ever done.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was excellent, very chipper and engaging. The only way to really tour these attractions is by the Skip the Line option. Doge's Palace wasn't too interesting to me, but I can appreciate the ability of our tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed the Doge's. We had a different guide for Bascillica and walking tour. I had trouble hearing and keeping up with her.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was well organized and everyone was helpful and friendly. Skip the line was great and we did not have to wait. The tour guide for the Doge's tour was very knowledgeable and I enjoyed the information and the pace. My tour of St. Mark's Basilica was too short. It seemed like we ran in and ran out. The tour guide was much more interested in showing us the clock in the square than the church. I would have preferred a separate tour of the Basilica with a detailed description of the architecture and maybe add the clock tower. The guide for the walking tour was knowable and showed us interesting sites.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour was not that interesting. Many of the details shared would have been better suited for visitors who had already toured the Doges Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

You should only pay for this tour if you are fascinated by Casanova's escape from the old prison and are willing to pay a lot extra for that privilege (the old prison and a few back offices are the only locations not seen by general visitors to the Doge's Palace). Bottom line: You don't need the "Secret Itineraries Tour" to see the new prison, walk through the Bridge of Sighs or visit the luxurious Doge's Palace. Skipping the Line is nice, but you don't need this tour to do so -- there are cheaper options, and the line wasn't even that long when I visited in June.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was excellent. The guides were full of information and knowledge and very easy to understand and we were encouraged to ask questions which were readily answered. The only drawback was the Doge's Palace tour was 0900 and then we had to come back at 2pm for the rest of the tour. It would have been better if they were straight after each other or with the 1 tour guide. But I would still recommend the tours.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was probably the best tour I've been on! Our guide Marina was terrific... friendly, full of really interesting information, and obviously loves her city. Also, when it started pouring rain at the beginning of our St. Mark's tour and they closed the basilica doors due to flooding, she really went above and beyond the tour guide call of duty to get us into the basilica. It would have been nice to have some additional time to wander around both locations by ourselves, but overall we just loved the both the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's tours (and definitely appreciated skipping the line) and would absolutely recommend it to others!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was on time. The tour guide was very good. The Doge's Palace is truly grand, and the secret tour was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guides were both excellent. They were both native Venetians and very knowledgable of the history of the City, the Doge's Palace, and St. Mark's.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message