Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 178 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful tour! Our tour guide was fantastic! This was a great way to see the Basilica and the Doge's Palace without dealing with the long lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If only a short time in Venice this tour is a must. An extremely good guide who really knew his subject. Queue hopping was very good both for the Basilica and Doges. My experience with viator up to date has been very good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour of the Doges Palace was excellent. The meeting place was easy to find .All staff involved were very professional friendly and helpful.It was an audio tour and we found the headsets easy to use and noticed if anyone had a problem the staff were very helpful and polite. The English speaking guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour extremely interesting . If questions were asked by any in the group she was most helpful. I would recommend this tour as the information given in a friendly way was second to none. It was a good tour to go on and as it was early in the morning it left the rest of the day to enjoy and also had the added plus as we visited in July of a relief of the 30 plus temperatures. Many thanks Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative guide. well worth the money to experience the real Doge's Palace. Would suggest going early as it does get very hot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Our guide was excellent and the whole experience was brilliant. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a fantastic insight into the world of the Doge and also the various different rooms which we entered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Worth it! This is a good tour… Although it was so hot I skipped the boat tour so I can't mention how I felt about that. Doges palace is not to be missed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour mostly because of our guide, Mose, art history student's knowledge of history and art. His passion for the history of the mosaics was outstanding. Knowledge of the art and history of the Doge Palace (we added this onto our tour) was well worth the added time, expense!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a tour that needed a guide and a navigator. There was much to see, a long history to discuss, and crowds of people to navigate through. Our guide did a wonderful job getting us through and providing good information about St. marks and Doge's Palace, and she had a great sense of humor. Enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

There were three tours in this package. The Doge's Palace was very nice -very informative. The walking tour of Venice was great. Our guide, Arianna was terrific. Her English was excellent and her insights were very informative. The third tour was on a boat and highlighted the Grand Canal - it was also excellent. In summary, this package was well worth it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I enjoyed my tours of ST. Mark's and the Doges Palace. The guides were very knowledgable. The only thing I did not like was the wait between the walking tour nd the boat ride on the Grand Canal. There was a 4 hour wait. It should have followed within an hour of the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

5 stars for the Doge's Palace and Grand Canal segments; 3 stars for the Venice Walking Tour. The Palace and Canal were all we expected and more. In the Doge's Palace tour, guides were respectful of each other and tried to avoid breaking into the group ahead of them. If someone had to stop for any reason (for example, our one year old granddaughter had a diaper emergency), she waited for them to rejoin the group before continuing. In the Grand Canal tour, we had a water taxi for just 7 people which was amazing! However, the Walking Tour was too large for everyone to stay close enough to the guide to be able to hear her. We were spread out over quite a distance and the radio signal to the headsets broke up when we were going through narrow alley ways. We enjoyed what we were seeing, but didn't get to learn what it was and had to expend a lot of effort to stay with the group. I would suggest much smaller groups for this tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Meeting point was easy to find and to get to. Numerous staff there to greet and organize you.
Loved the Doge's Palace Tour. Not having to line up in the hot sun to wait to get in is wonderful. Tour guide was wonderful - you see the highlights of the place with the great works of art including the largest mural in the world by Tintoretto(?). The Prison and Bridge of Sighs were also highlights.
We did St. Mark's back to back with The Doge's Palace. My wife found it a little tiring - 4 consecutive hours of walking or standing. Spreading them out might work for some people.
Gaining entry ahead of the general public was well worth it. The line into St. Mark's stretched to the waterfront on the day of our tour. The tour of St Mark's was too brief and we did not see or learn enough about the place - maybe 20 25 minutes was all. The walking tour was done in the hot sun in the mid afternoon and we crossed several squares on our way to the Rialto bridge. The story of the wells in each square and Marco Polo's Home were highlights. Easy to get back to St. Mark's Square after the tour.
Loved the boat tour. We toured the southern edge of Venice (ie. St. George's Cathedral) and the Grand Canal itself - famous buildings and churches. It was at night so it was cool on the water after a hot day.
The information provided could be a little overwhelming. Again, the meeting point was at the Royal Gardens where staff from the tour company met us and organized us.
Strongly recommend that people get a hotel near the SanMarco as it takes the pressure off of being on time or getting lost when meeting for the tours.
We did the Palace and walking tour in the morning (9 30 am - 1 30 pm) It may be a bit much for people. The boat tour was not until 5 30 pm so it gave us time to rest and have dinner.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A good tour--the guide was probably a bit constrained because the tour continued beyond the Doge's Palace itself and we didn't attend the "secret itinerary" part that could have been an extension of our tour. The fact that the tour took place relatively early in the morning was a big help, I think.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Doges palace was amazing, 2 hours isn't enough, if I were booking again I would do this desperately to give time to wander around more. Unfortunately Venice flooded a little in st Mark's square meaning we had to queue for the basilica. The boat trip was amazing!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Excellent information regarding the Doge's palace especially the secret chambers and doors which are not on the normal tour. This was a better use of our time and we were able to see areas which are not normally open to the public and then just tour the rest of the palace at our leisure. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and tour was conducted at a good pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message