An idyllic stretch of greenery encircling the iconic pinnacle of the Eiffel Tower, the Champs de Mars is one of the most popular of Paris' parks. Named after Rome’s Campus Martius, a tribute to the Roman God of War, Champs de Mars was originally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our Guide was a woman named Marie and she was fabulous! We started in the courtyard, then moved through the Doge's Palace, taking back rooms, getting behind-the-scenes that certainly other tours don't do. Marie was fascinating and was so knowledgeable, she talked to us about one of the Doge Prison's most famous inmates: Casanova. His story while imprisoned was really a treat to learn. Highly recommend this tour!!
JB and TB

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great tour. Excellent tour guide and easily understood with headsets. Doge's Palace is well worth the visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was outstanding. We had been to Venice once before but did not venture into the interior of either of these sites. The narration and the explanation added to the amazement of what the citizens constructed hundreds of years ago and how they have stood the test of time. Truly a testament of what humans have accomplished without the use of modern day tools. The ceiling tiles of St Marc's and the enormity of the Doge's palace should not be missed on your first visit. We chose well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable -her English was excellent and from our perspective concerned our ability to hear hear when the wireless hardware would "drop-out" in certain passages of the "Secret Tour" If you care about the Doge's Palace history -- this is the way to go!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was AMAZING! We had no idea what to expect as we didn't know much about the history, we came away full of new information and wonderment. The buildings and places we toured were so BEAUTIFUL! Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable of all the area. The tour was a good pace and the group was a good size for a personal experience. We would never known any of the things we learned about Venice without this tour, it truly made our time memorable! Visiting St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace were top favorites from our trip to Italy.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was very nice and informative. I was surprised the rest of the Doge's Palace was not

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful walking tour; our guide Francesca taught us so much about the city without overwhelming us. We were much better informed for the additional days of our stay. The tour through St. Mark's and the Doge's Palace were also wonderful. The only thing I would change is to allow us a few minutes to look in the gift shop at St. Mark's; I wanted to buy a book about the mosaics and didn't have any time to browse. Over all we would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was great in this tour. While those coming to Venice are amazed by the canals, we were blown away by walking through the town - the narrow lanes, the sudden huge squares and great canal side walks. It is no doubt very crowded, but this tour is the best way to get the feel of whole of venice in 4-4.5 hours. Make sure you take the Doge's Palace tour as well. Having come till Venice, it is simply not worth to miss this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This was our last day in Venice and our last tour. We were exhausted after a three week fun filled trip to Italy! We used Viator for numerous tours while in Italy, they were all very good! I would use them again. This tour of the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's was the BEST way to end our visit to Italy! Doge's Palace is breath taking! We saw MANY gorgeous Domo's while in Rome and Florence, but Doge's Palace has to be to me the most elegant we saw. The stair way of gold is a sight one must see! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, and interesting and we not only learned so much from her, (I can't remember her name, sorry) but she made it fun and interesting. A+ on this tour! We can't wait to return to Venice!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

It was a unique way to get a glimpse of the inner workings of the Doge's Palace before then seeing the impressive state rooms. Highly recommended

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent....she told us about the lives of the doges and also their servants, the visiting seamen and the poor people who lived in Venice at that time. It all came alive with her descriptions, given in perfect English. She explained in simple terms how the doges were elected, and how the system prevented any one family from taking control of Venice. She shared her love of Venice and its history, and we learnt so much from her. Thank you.
To improve the marketing....I thought the 'tour' included the rest of Venice, so was disappointed when we came to the end of the tour of the palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Hyun Joo Kim
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

St. Mark's bacilica was very beautiful but very difficult to see all due to lots of people. Our guide i think she did her best. Doge's palace was the place to know the venice's political situation at the time. My tour guide speak perfect English and very knowledgeable. The grand carnn tour was so nice. We were 8 people in a private boat. If anyone do it you can feel freedom! Highly recomended it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our first tour in Italy and we didn't know what to expect; the
doge Palace and St. Mark's were spectacular. Our guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable. She was great .

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour with highly informative and interesting guide. Would not have missed it. Really brought the history alive and made the whole visit to the Doge's Palace very enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Mavis R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good tour. Guide was informative and paced the tour well. Basilica tour and Doges palace tour are a must to see for any first time tourist to Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message