Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at St ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 372 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lewisburke1243

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guide was easy to find and very knowledgeable. Seeing the Basilica when it wasn't crowded was a really great experience. Really sorry hadn't done the Doge's Palace Visit at the same time, especially if it would have been with same guide.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So much fun to see the prison cells, old archive rooms, attic, Casanova's cell, the torture room, and trial rooms in Doge's Palace. The guide was great and very helpful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

sheena.ellis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you want to see the best of Venice in one day then this is a great tour. In the morning we toured the Doges Palace with our excellent guide, Sabrina. She was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Venice and made the Doges Palace tour very interesting. Afterwards we toured St Marks Basilica and walked around the streets of Venice with Massimo who was also a great guide. To cap off the day our motorboat tour around the canals of Venice gave us a great understanding of the waterways surrounding Venice and the part they played in its interesting history.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Hazel V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

We bought the 1 hour tour of the Palace for Monday 11 April at 2.15 and the four of us joined the small group, making 11 people. Unfortunately our guide, although she was charming and knowledgeable, had such a strong Italian accent that her English was almost impossible for us to understand. It was very frustrating for us all as we were really keen to learn the history of all the Doges but, unless we asked specific questions, we were unable to understand much of what she said to the group because of her strong accent and the peculiarity of adding 'uh' to the end of every word. I rarely complain about anything but I feel it is a shame for tourists to miss out on the content of this interesting tour. Perhaps it is possible to engage someone with clearer pronunciation for future tours.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

kgibby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Liked this tour very much. Had a wonderful Doge's palace tour with Marco, he was very entertaining. The walking tour was ok, not enough time in the basilica and the guide was hard to understand. Loved the grand canal tour, that was perfect.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Leticia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Doge's Palace was amazing! So glad we decided to do this tour. We did the Basilica, the walking tour, the Doge's Palace and the boat tour. We could have done without the boat tour. I don't think the tour guide really added anything to what we had already experienced.
Ariana was our tour guide for the Doge's Palace and she was awesome! She's an art history major so she knew her stuff!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

shawna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The skip the line was nice! There was so much detail to Doge's Palace, we are glad we got to see it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour guide, lots of information and history on the Doge's. Almost too much to take in on one day however, if your time in Venice is limited, this is the way to go. Our tour also included a boat ride which provided a great perspective of Venice and its surrounds.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour of the Doges Palace with a very helpful and interesting guide. We skipped the line and went across the Bridge of Sighs to the prison.
Skipping the line in the afternoon for the Basilica tour was very helpful.
I would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Edward F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Doge's Palace is phenomenal. The tour guide was very good. Even though we had skip the line tickets, we didn't really skip the line, because there wasn't much of one in early April. I do recommend the tour for the narration of the history of Venice and the education about the palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Sunny L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The walking tour covered everything you need to learn about the city of Venice, including some of the locations of the movie Italian Job 2003 version.

St Mark's Basilica tour was good. The history felt a little light, but satisfactory. In addition, we didn't really skip the line. It was early in the morning and we waited about 10-15 min to get in. It wasn't bad, but I don't think it should be advertised as skip-the-line.

Doge's Palace: I missed this because my lunch took a bit longer than needed and the day was too beautiful to pass up having a drink in one of the squares.

Cons: Each tour of the 3 are considered separate. This means that once your first tour is done, you need to go back to the meeting place at the time to start your next tour. Unfortunately, the first guide didn't mention that I needed to go somewhere for the Doge's Palace tour and I missed it. I would have gotten a quick lunch before heading to Doge's Palace for the tour had I known in advance. The guide did ensure that Grand Canal Cruise meeting time and place were marked on my ticket.

Overall, the package covers the highlights of main island of Venice in 1 day. If you're there for a bit longer, you can also check out the St Mark's Campanile, do a Gondola ride, and check out Murano/Burano/Lido.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

dimackay

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting to go behind the scenes to a hidden world. An eye opener.

We recommend this tour first then explore the 'nobles' Doges Palace afterwards.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

ddizon726

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The combo of Venice walking tour and Doge and #39;s palace was a little exhausting, but it was a very good way to get to know the city and its key landmarks. The guide Elizabeth was very knowledgeable on how Venice and St Marks were built, the Doge political system, etc. Really worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Lara D

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour guides were brilliant, but we had to cut short the Doge's Palace tour, because we had to run to meet the boat for The Grand Canal Tour. We emailed Viator at the time regarding this, but they did not and have not responded to us to sort out this problem.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Gina R

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We weren't able to make this portion of the tour but this is easy enough of do on your own. Having a guide is great but you can get equally as much info doing the Doge palace on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Philip H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Main issue that it wasn't skip the line. We were in the same queues as everyone else, so quite a lot of wasted time and waiting around.

Doge's palace tour was excellent, brilliant guide. St Marks and Walking tour quite a disappointment really - virtually no time in St Marks - we queued for longer than we were in and there was no time for going upstairs to the balcony nor to look in side rooms. Walking tour was good, but not as long as advertised. For what was supposed to be a 2 hour St Marks and walking tour, first 15 minutes lost with poor admin/management of ticking off and handing out audio devices, then it finished half an hour before it should, so total time was more like 1 1/4 hours, a quarter hour of which was queueing for St Marks, so not too impressed. Canal cruise was excellent though, well worth it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Michael J C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

For any trip to Venice, the Doge's Palace is a must.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Anthony J

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide was great and had awesome facts about the Doge and #39;s Palace. Would definitely recommend this tour to people visiting Venice!!

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Carole N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Our tour guide was terrible. His English was not good. He gave everything a very secular view. He said he was not religious, that there was nothing religious about the Doge Palace, and even made a point to pick on one of the members of the group who was Catholic. When he spoke of the paintings, he talked about the techinique and other interesting tidbits of information, but never about the content of the painting. We were deeply disappointed.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

DJGARMER

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyed our guide. Meeting location not well defined. We almost missed our tour because there were so many groups and our guides did not have a Viator sign. I think we spent too much time in the prison and not enough time in the Doge Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed this tour. It offered up several places of interest that we wanted to see and not having been to Venice prior we felt we could not visit these locations without help and guidance. Doges Palace was very interesting and had a great guide, very professional and nice young woman. Grand Canal ride was teriffic! We saw so much of Venice that way, so glad we went. St Marks Basilica very nice, rest of walking tour was just okay, guide offered entirely too much info for an individual to absorb and talked the entire time actually got tired of hearing her and removed my ear piece. I realize that the guide can sometimes make or break a trip, but all in all it was a good tour and very happy that we did decide to take it. Would definitely book this tour again.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Alvaro E V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were in Venice in sept 2015. The tour were well organized. Our tour guide was amazing, she was born there and speaks fluently Spanish and English. All her comments about the history and the building details were amazing. The complete tour Doge's palace, The Walking Tour and the Gondola Ride were incredible!! I highly recommended.

Doing what: Doge's Palace, Unusual Venice and Gondola Ride Tour

Ronda T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a wonderful FULL day adventure, so be ready to spend the entire day learning and enjoying. It is broken up into 3 different guides, so I'm sure that affects the experience as well. Our first part was a bit disappointing as the Cathedral was closed on 12/8 due to holiday. We did get to run back at the end of the day and see it, but guide is the way to go for these massive venues. Marcus ROCKED the Doge's tour, funny, adorable and so intelligent, he made it perfect. The Boat tour is great too, we learned so much. Keep in mind a Gondola ride is not included in this package. I would suggest adding that on. The guides are amazing for this package.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Claire A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was brilliant! Having access to the cells for both peasants and nobility and the court room was very interesting and our guide was great, full of anecdotes, wit and good humour. The system of earpieces was invaluable with all the winding stairs and passageways so nobody missed out. It was fascinating to see behind the scenes and hear about the Doge.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

George A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Although it seemed a little steep, the card was worth it as we got a great young guide and we skipped the line into the Doge's palace. A real must do. If time is important to you, then get the card.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message