• USD ($)
  • English

Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an incredible day with three separate tours. The first tour of the Doge's Palace was the best because it set the scene for the other tours with lots of history which gave a fantastic understanding of how the Venician Republic operated and why it lasted for so long. St Mark's Basilica and the walking tour gave a flavour of how the city is laid out and how people lived. The tour of the canals was excellent. A tiring day but worth every second. The tour guides were knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. These tours provided excellent background for the rest of our stay in Venice. There was enough time between tours for a leisurely lunch or coffee. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was amazing, we opted to have the doge's palace on our tour. We'll worth the money. We walked over the bridge of sighs and walked through the prison cells as well. All up the whole tour was great. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our cruise boat was in Venice for 1 1/2 days but due to cruise boat departures changes, we weren't going to be able to take the motor boat tour at 5:30 on our second day. We gambled and connected with the tour on the first day to see if we could take the motor boat early. The guide graciously squeezed our party of 4 on early. She was wonderful and full of energy! She even got the boat captain to take special routes even though the tide was raising and made the clearance under bridges tight. The next day we did Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica. Our tour guide for Doge's Palace was excellent...she gave a lot of history and really knew her facts. We only spent about 20 minutes in St. Mark's...probably because some the people needed to get coverings for their knees and shoulders. Of the 3 guides, St. Mark's was the less prepared. Overall I'm glad we did all 3 tours...it was a great price.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

With only 2 and a half days in Venice, we decided to do 2 guided tours early on Saturday morning, and we are sure glad that we booked the Secret tour of the Doge's Palace! We had a great young tour guide, (who I can't remember her name!) who was very helpful and answered all our questions. Did not know the story of Casanova and how he escaped from the prison! The earpieces were helpful in listening to her speak, but as we were in some of the small narrow stairwells, and if we were at the back, the sound cut-out and in a fair bit, so missed some of her commentary. We just informed her and she repeated what she had shared. We carried on after the tour was over and walked through all the amazing gigantic rooms! Would not have missed this beautiful building. Thank you!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Laura was our guide, and so gracious and knowledgeable. I feel that I have a whole new understanding of Venice--it's history, architecture, treasures, etc. The only hard part of this tour was that it was long--3 1/2 hours, but we did add the Doge's Palace to Venice walking tour and St. Mark's, and I'm glad we did--the Doge's Palace was outstanding and again, I gained some knowledge about it rather than just oohing and aahing over the beauty inside.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This having been the first time my wife and I had travelled to Venice I booked what turned out to be 4 tours in a day and a half. I found each one to be very informative and wonderful. We would have never been able to see everything that these tours provided on our own. The tour guides were all very knowledgeable and polite. They all took the time to answer any and all questions they were asked. I would highly recommend these tours to all who travel to Venice, especially 1st timers as myself. Being able to line cut and not have to wait for hours to enter the doge's palace and St Mark's Basilica was great as these are must see attractions.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was Venetian and had an amazing wealth of knowledge of the Doges. It was very well organized, easy to find the meeting spot and they took care of everything.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I do not know whay anyone would want to stand in line for any attraction. It is definately worth it to purchase skip the line tickets for everything. The Secret Itineraries tour shows you the areas that are not included with the general admision ticket, which makes the tour of the Doge's Palace more enjoyable. It includes the upper floors of the prision and the armory collection. This ticket also includes the areas of the general admission ticket. Tickets are less expensive if you purchase them directly thru the Palace, but you need to book early for larger groups and English guides are limited to just a few tours each morning. Definately go in the morning becuase the upper floors can be hot/cold, depending on the weather outside.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great experience and definitely worth it. The morning tour of the Doge's palace avoided the long lines and was very informative. Having a few hours off in between the two tours was great since it allowed us to go over to San Georgio and to have a relaxing lunch before our afternoon tour. The afternoon tour of San Marcos again avoided the long line, gave us lots of background on what we were seeing, and made the experience more enriching. But the best was our afternoon guide Rita. After the Basilica, she took us on a walking tour of the nearby neighborhood, showing us the Grimani Palace, the Greek and Albanian neighborhoods and quiet little streets and courts we would never have seen, all with a wonderful commentary on what we were seeing and making the whole experience amazing. This is the best way to see San Marcos Square/Doges Palace/Basilica and a flavor of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was definitely worth it and the best way to see these venues especially in the season. The morning tour of the Doges Palace was excellent and very informative with a very friendly guide (I did not get her name) and avoided the long lines that formed even in the morning. The three hour break was great because we could go to San Giorgio and to have a relaxing lunch. The afternoon tour of the Basilica and the walking tour was great especially with our guide Rita who made the whole experience informative and enjoyable. After the Basilica (again avoiding a long wait to get in) where we got so much background and history about the church, she took us on a walking tour of the surrounding neighborhood through the Greek and Albanian sectors, the Grimani Palace, and quiet streets and courtyards just a few blocks away -- with lots of history and color on what we were seeing. It was great and showed us a part of Venice we would have otherwise missed. This is the best way to do this and to get a flavor of the real Venice away from the tourist traps. Not to be missed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was definitely worth it and the best way to see these venues especially in the season. The morning tour of the Doges Palace was excellent and very informative with a very friendly guide (I did not get her name) and avoided the long lines that formed even in the morning. The three hour break was great because we could go to San Giorgio and to have a relaxing lunch. The afternoon tour of the Basilica and the walking tour was great especially with our guide Rita who made the whole experience informative and enjoyable. After the Basilica (again avoiding a long wait to get in) where we got so much background and history about the church, she took us on a walking tour of the surrounding neighborhood through the Greek and Albanian sectors, the Grimani Palace, and quiet streets and courtyards just a few blocks away -- with lots of history and color on what we were seeing. It was great and showed us a part of Venice we would have otherwise missed. This is the best way to do this and to get a flavor of the real Venice away from the tourist traps. Not to be missed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was definitely worth it and the best way to see these venues especially in the season. The morning tour of the Doges Palace was excellent and very informative with a very friendly guide (I did not get her name) and avoided the long lines that formed even in the morning. The three hour break was great because we could go to San Giorgio and to have a relaxing lunch. The afternoon tour of the Basilica and the walking tour was great especially with our guide Rita who made the whole experience informative and enjoyable. After the Basilica (again avoiding a long wait to get in) where we got so much background and history about the church, she took us on a walking tour of the surrounding neighborhood through the Greek and Albanian sectors, the Grimani Palace, and quiet streets and courtyards just a few blocks away -- with lots of history and color on what we were seeing. It was great and showed us a part of Venice we would have otherwise missed. This is the best way to do this and to get a flavor of the real Venice away from the tourist traps. Not to be missed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great behind-the-scenes tour of the Doge's palace, taking us into and past the cells, then up to the higher levels to view the offices. Our guide was very knowledgeable and pitched her information at just the right level. Probably the best part was that we were the only group going through this tour, so we had plenty of space to enjoy our surroundings, as we moved from room to room and up and down the narrow stairways. Definitely one of the best tours we've ever done.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was excellent, very chipper and engaging. The only way to really tour these attractions is by the Skip the Line option. Doge's Palace wasn't too interesting to me, but I can appreciate the ability of our tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed the Doge's. We had a different guide for Bascillica and walking tour. I had trouble hearing and keeping up with her.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message