Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 291 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Knowledgeable guide with a good understanding of the art work and layout of the Doge. Skip the line was exactly as promised. Would recommend a skip the line tour to St. Marks as well.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Doge's Palace was very good and the tour guide was wonderful and very informative. I gave it a three as this was one of the few places my friends and I felt we could have skipped the tour guide and done on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was a great way to get an overview of the most important parts of Venice. Even though it took all day, it was actually 3 separate tours with a couple of hours between each, so you don't get too tired. First we did the Doges Palace, then after a break, St. Mark's, and then in the early evening, the boat tour around the Grand Canal showing us all the most important buildings of Venice. I do wish we had been able to visit some of the churches on the other islands, but the boat trip did not stop to show us other places. But I think it was still a good tour and I would recommend it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a brilliant tour with an extremely knowledgeable guide. It was very well organised from the start meeting point, giving out and testing headsets to the one and a half tour around the Doges palace a quick break for toilets and the opportunity to buy water before we set off. A must for any traveller who wants to understand the Venetians and their history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Outstanding for sure. The tours guides for both Doges Palace and then St Marks Basilica and Venice Walking tours were excellent. The history, paintings and the buildings themselves really brought home the history of Venice and the walking tour not just the history, but Venice today. We did a number of tours in Venice, but this does take something beating.Excellent value for sure, and professional as they come.Would strongly recommend.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The Doge's Palace tour was very interesting. Our guide was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This is a full day of tours. Started with amazing guide Andre reminded me of actor Robson Green who was very informative and shared his passion/knowledge of Doges Palace with us. I found St Marks Basilica tour to be crowded, very noisy and inaudible. Once we moved outside and walked the back streets it was more pleasurable and enjoyed the personal touches by the guide eg. showed us hospital where he was born. Then the icing on the cake was the canal boat tour with Christina. She was truly amazing and very personable. A tiring but momentus day. Truly Loved Venice 3

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour was more comprehensive than we had expected and as such was really worth the time and money. Our guide was excellent. We did the walking tour with San Marco and also the Doge's Palace. The whole tour lasted nearly four hours without a break which was a bit much for some of the group. If you choose to do the Doge's Palace, take water and snacks with you. It gave us an excellent grasp of Venice, past and present.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The skip-the-line Doge's Palace tour was great and very informative. The second part of the tour was good of the Basilica but the majority of the tour was just walking through the island. Wish tour was just the Doge's Palace and the Basilica together for 2-3 hours and leave out the rest.

Doing what: Best Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This was an interesting tour conducted by our tour guide Octavia . This was an early morning tour and we only had 3 in our group . On this tour some of the spaces are very close and with little air so it was great that there we only 3 of us .

We shocked however to be told the guided tour was over once we left the SECRET area as we expected a guided tour of the Doges Palace as well . The advertisement for this tour does not make it clear that DOGES
PALACE is entry only and not guided. Octavia did however conduct a very good tour .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide, even though their second language was french, her english was perfect. Very informative and engaging, good sense of humour. Tour company was very organised and professional. Would recommend this tour to a first time visitor or to anyone wanting to discover more about the Doge's Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The evening grand canal tour was booked for 5:30pm but on arriving at the meeting place we were told there were too many people for this time and we would have wait for the 6.30pm tour. This was annoying as we had already had the Doge's Palace tour and the St. Marks Basilica tours in the morning and afternoon so it proved to be a rather long day. Why we were not informed earlier in the day about the change of time I found annoying.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

AWESOME tour...awesome guide! Susan's knowledge of Venice was amazing and she took us into some rarely seen back alleys with gorgeous views. I really enjoyed the small group tour and getting to see the inside of the Basilica and continuing to the Doge's palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very well informed. She framed the palace within the historical perspective that it deserved. It is interesting to learn how the Doge was prevented from getting too much power. In one case, the Doge was killed by his own government for not remaining the leader of his equals.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to see the main highlights of Venice. The first part, a tour of the Doge's Palace and St Mark's Basilica was great. We saw and learned a lot. Skipping the line was absolutely necessary as the lines were loooooong and the heat was oppressive. After a break, we regrouped for the walking tour. It was fascinating - we felt like we were seeing things we'd never have found on our own. Another short break and another regroup for the boat ride. We were pleasantly surprised that they used small water taxis with just 9 tourists each. It made the tour much more personal and so much nicer than a big ferry.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would defiantly recommend this in anyone interested in learning more about the history of the Doge's and life in the palace. We were able to go thru many different secret passageways and see the rooms where Casanova was kept as well as the torture chamber. Afterward we were able to walk thru the Palace and prison on our own. We had a fantastic guide who really knew her history and could tell how much she loved sharing it with us!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this tour. It gave us everything we were looking to do spread out throughout the day. In the morning we saw the Doge Palace. Had a small break where we grabbed a bite to eat before the walking tour - our guide was so funny and knowledgeable. Then we did the canal tour at 4:30. Perfect day!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Venice was the surprise of our European trip. Our tour of the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica gave us a great overview of the city. Our guide knew her way around the city and had great stories about the landmarks. She made us feel as if we were visiting the city during the Renaissance and lucky to get out of the Palace through the front door with our heads intact! She made history come alive and gave us some great tips for finding our way around Venice on our own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide for everything except the Grand Canal Boat Ride was, Barbara, and she was fantastic! She was a wealth of knowledge. The meeting point for the tour was very easy to find once we made our way to Saint Mark's Square. We were SO glad we chose the Skip the Line option because the lines to both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were ridiculously crazy long!!! The inside of the Doge's Palace was beautiful, and Barbara did a great job explaining the history of the Doge's as well as the architecture and the artwork inside.We were very happy to see that she was going to be our guide for St. Mark's Basilica and our walking tour. The inside of the basilica is breathtaking, and again Barbara did a fabulous job of explaining the history of and art within. The walking tour was fun, we got to see a lot of Venice without worrying about getting lost. We learned about gondoliers and the symbolism in the construction of the gondolas, the Rialto Bridge, and so much more. We had plenty of free time to wander around between the walking tour and the Grand Canal Boat Tour which was very interesting as well. I highly recommend this tour for the skip the line benefit, but also for the wealth of information shared by our guide that we would not have otherwise learned.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour gave us a great overview of the Doge's Palace, a short visit to the Basilica, and a fun walk through some adjacent neighborhoods. We had a knowledgeable and informative tour guide. It was really a fun tour, hampered only by some mechanical problems with the tour guide's microphone that sometimes made it hard for all of us to hear her.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. We enjoyed learning about the way the city was built and the history of Doge's Palace. St. Mark's Basilica is a beautiful building! The clock tower just outside is amazing! Loved the walking tour through the streets of Venice! Then to end the day with a boat tour of the Grand Canal made the experience complete!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very informative history of the Doges

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Seemed a bit too quick on Doge's Palace and pretty long on basilica tour except it was not long in basilica but going around the streets of the St Mark's square.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The morning tour of the Doge's Palace was fantastic. The tour guide really knew her history and went out of her way to make the tour interesting and exciting for everyone. Unfortunately, the afternoon tour of St. Mark's Basilica plus Venice walking tour was a complete waste of time. Tour guide did not seem to care and was frankly extremely boring. He rushed everyone through St. Mark's Basilica and spent most time on the walking tour Way too much time on the walking portion. Unfortunately, the tour guide did little if no speaking during the walking portion of the tour so we had no idea where we were going and what we needed to look at during this portion of the tour. He was extremely boring and walked so slowly that it was quite apparent to everyone he was trying to waste time. At one point, it became quite apparent that the entire tour group was annoyed, bored and extremely confused as to what we were suppose to be doing. Several individuals and families completely abandoned the tour and handed the tour guide their headsets. They basically said they could not take it anymore and could learn more about Venice on their own. They did not seem to care that they had no idea where we were at the time the departed they just wanted to leave. I felt badly for the tour guide but hoped the abrupt departure of several individuals would send him a message that he needed to liven things up. Unfortunately, he never got the message and things did not change.

Doing what: Best Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great to see places inside the Doge's palace not normally seen and the guide made it all fun. Afterwards, we could stay inside the Doge's palace to see the rooms etc. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message