Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was fantastic! Our tour guide, Alexandria, was very informative, interesting, and professional. I learned so much about Venice and the Doge as well as about Cassanova. I am so glad I did the secret itineraries instead of the normal part of the palace. I would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Guide was very well informed and gave us a lot of information. he was terriffic - very interesting speaker as well. showed us some wonderful highlights during the walking tour of venice and beautiful st. marks and doges palace. well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The tour operator was one of the worst I've seen in my years traveling the world. The tour operator was not working for Viator however, they assigned a local tour guide from the Doge's Palace to walk our group through the off-limits prison section of the Doge's Palace. Not only was she incredibly rude to all of the guests taking the tour but she was also not very accommodating and really had no desire to satisfy anyone's needs of the tour. Several people asked general questions about other tours and she would snap back stating "that they should take it up with the agency and she wanted nothing to do with it."

The tour itself is neat though - you get to check out a section of the Doge's Palace that is off-limits to the rest of the public. You get to see Casanova's cell and where he broke out of - pretty neat. I think it's worth checking out and unfortunately you're at the mercy of the tour guide here.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful tour! Our tour guide was fantastic! This was a great way to see the Basilica and the Doge's Palace without dealing with the long lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If only a short time in Venice this tour is a must. An extremely good guide who really knew his subject. Queue hopping was very good both for the Basilica and Doges. My experience with viator up to date has been very good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour of the Doges Palace was excellent. The meeting place was easy to find .All staff involved were very professional friendly and helpful.It was an audio tour and we found the headsets easy to use and noticed if anyone had a problem the staff were very helpful and polite. The English speaking guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour extremely interesting . If questions were asked by any in the group she was most helpful. I would recommend this tour as the information given in a friendly way was second to none. It was a good tour to go on and as it was early in the morning it left the rest of the day to enjoy and also had the added plus as we visited in July of a relief of the 30 plus temperatures. Many thanks Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative guide. well worth the money to experience the real Doge's Palace. Would suggest going early as it does get very hot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Our guide was excellent and the whole experience was brilliant. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a fantastic insight into the world of the Doge and also the various different rooms which we entered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Worth it! This is a good tour… Although it was so hot I skipped the boat tour so I can't mention how I felt about that. Doges palace is not to be missed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour mostly because of our guide, Mose, art history student's knowledge of history and art. His passion for the history of the mosaics was outstanding. Knowledge of the art and history of the Doge Palace (we added this onto our tour) was well worth the added time, expense!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a tour that needed a guide and a navigator. There was much to see, a long history to discuss, and crowds of people to navigate through. Our guide did a wonderful job getting us through and providing good information about St. marks and Doge's Palace, and she had a great sense of humor. Enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

There were three tours in this package. The Doge's Palace was very nice -very informative. The walking tour of Venice was great. Our guide, Arianna was terrific. Her English was excellent and her insights were very informative. The third tour was on a boat and highlighted the Grand Canal - it was also excellent. In summary, this package was well worth it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I enjoyed my tours of ST. Mark's and the Doges Palace. The guides were very knowledgable. The only thing I did not like was the wait between the walking tour nd the boat ride on the Grand Canal. There was a 4 hour wait. It should have followed within an hour of the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

5 stars for the Doge's Palace and Grand Canal segments; 3 stars for the Venice Walking Tour. The Palace and Canal were all we expected and more. In the Doge's Palace tour, guides were respectful of each other and tried to avoid breaking into the group ahead of them. If someone had to stop for any reason (for example, our one year old granddaughter had a diaper emergency), she waited for them to rejoin the group before continuing. In the Grand Canal tour, we had a water taxi for just 7 people which was amazing! However, the Walking Tour was too large for everyone to stay close enough to the guide to be able to hear her. We were spread out over quite a distance and the radio signal to the headsets broke up when we were going through narrow alley ways. We enjoyed what we were seeing, but didn't get to learn what it was and had to expend a lot of effort to stay with the group. I would suggest much smaller groups for this tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Meeting point was easy to find and to get to. Numerous staff there to greet and organize you.
Loved the Doge's Palace Tour. Not having to line up in the hot sun to wait to get in is wonderful. Tour guide was wonderful - you see the highlights of the place with the great works of art including the largest mural in the world by Tintoretto(?). The Prison and Bridge of Sighs were also highlights.
We did St. Mark's back to back with The Doge's Palace. My wife found it a little tiring - 4 consecutive hours of walking or standing. Spreading them out might work for some people.
Gaining entry ahead of the general public was well worth it. The line into St. Mark's stretched to the waterfront on the day of our tour. The tour of St Mark's was too brief and we did not see or learn enough about the place - maybe 20 25 minutes was all. The walking tour was done in the hot sun in the mid afternoon and we crossed several squares on our way to the Rialto bridge. The story of the wells in each square and Marco Polo's Home were highlights. Easy to get back to St. Mark's Square after the tour.
Loved the boat tour. We toured the southern edge of Venice (ie. St. George's Cathedral) and the Grand Canal itself - famous buildings and churches. It was at night so it was cool on the water after a hot day.
The information provided could be a little overwhelming. Again, the meeting point was at the Royal Gardens where staff from the tour company met us and organized us.
Strongly recommend that people get a hotel near the SanMarco as it takes the pressure off of being on time or getting lost when meeting for the tours.
We did the Palace and walking tour in the morning (9 30 am - 1 30 pm) It may be a bit much for people. The boat tour was not until 5 30 pm so it gave us time to rest and have dinner.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message