Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 354 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DJGARMER

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyed our guide. Meeting location not well defined. We almost missed our tour because there were so many groups and our guides did not have a Viator sign. I think we spent too much time in the prison and not enough time in the Doge Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed this tour. It offered up several places of interest that we wanted to see and not having been to Venice prior we felt we could not visit these locations without help and guidance. Doges Palace was very interesting and had a great guide, very professional and nice young woman. Grand Canal ride was teriffic! We saw so much of Venice that way, so glad we went. St Marks Basilica very nice, rest of walking tour was just okay, guide offered entirely too much info for an individual to absorb and talked the entire time actually got tired of hearing her and removed my ear piece. I realize that the guide can sometimes make or break a trip, but all in all it was a good tour and very happy that we did decide to take it. Would definitely book this tour again.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Alvaro E V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were in Venice in sept 2015. The tour were well organized. Our tour guide was amazing, she was born there and speaks fluently Spanish and English. All her comments about the history and the building details were amazing. The complete tour Doge's palace, The Walking Tour and the Gondola Ride were incredible!! I highly recommended.

Doing what: Doge's Palace, Unusual Venice and Gondola Ride Tour

Ronda T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a wonderful FULL day adventure, so be ready to spend the entire day learning and enjoying. It is broken up into 3 different guides, so I'm sure that affects the experience as well. Our first part was a bit disappointing as the Cathedral was closed on 12/8 due to holiday. We did get to run back at the end of the day and see it, but guide is the way to go for these massive venues. Marcus ROCKED the Doge's tour, funny, adorable and so intelligent, he made it perfect. The Boat tour is great too, we learned so much. Keep in mind a Gondola ride is not included in this package. I would suggest adding that on. The guides are amazing for this package.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Claire A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was brilliant! Having access to the cells for both peasants and nobility and the court room was very interesting and our guide was great, full of anecdotes, wit and good humour. The system of earpieces was invaluable with all the winding stairs and passageways so nobody missed out. It was fascinating to see behind the scenes and hear about the Doge.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

George A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Although it seemed a little steep, the card was worth it as we got a great young guide and we skipped the line into the Doge's palace. A real must do. If time is important to you, then get the card.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Kevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nice tour if you want to get the highlights of the Doge's Palace and St. Marks without having to wait in line. The boat ride through some of the canals was very nice too. Our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Hilary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was very interesting. It was a perfect way to see the Doge's Palace and not deal with the lines.
The tour guide was a local woman and she was excellent. She gave a lot of information about the history and politics of the Palace. It was nice to have a guide help with understanding it all.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Doug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour included two of Venice's most notable and famous structures, the Basilica and Doge's Palace on the Piazza San Marco but started near the Rialto Bridge. Unfortunately for us, that was undergoing some renovation, we were told, and we didn't go by it. But we did go to a landing nearby on the Grand Canal and saw a lot that was so interesting if not well known in between there and the featured sites. The guide, Susan, said she had lived in Venice for something like 20 years and if there is something about it that she doesn't know, I'd be surprised. Appropriating the cliché, she bubbled over with enthusiasm, sharing so much on what makes Venice the special place that it is, making the tour especially enjoyable as well as informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Bennett B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a must tour, our walking tour of Venice was very informative, and St Mark's was great. The Doge's Palace tour was excellent, Marco our guide blended humor and history to make this a fun experience.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Vatsala A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was very good . The guide we had was very knowledgable esp in the walking tour and theBadilica and Doge palace .

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Tom H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I skipped this tour the first time we were in Venice because the Bridge of Sighs was being renovated at the time, and off limits for tours. That made this a MUST SEE for me this second time around. I enjoyed the tour completely. While it focused on the administrative wing of the Doge's Palace as well as the prison, we were allowed to roam around on our own after the guided tour. Seeing the prison cells and learnng about the government of Venise at the time was interesting and brought a great deal of perspective. It was also very cool crossing the Bridge and seeing the very views of Venice that the condemmed were seeing for the last time. Well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Anna K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This tour was pretty awesome. Def. wear your most comfiest sneakers cuz my iphone tells me I walked about 10 miles this day. GO ME! The meeting point was easy to find and checking in with the tour group went smoothly. For this tour we had 3 different tour guides. First guide for the Doge palace, second guide for our St Marks Basilica Tour and Walking Tour and our last guide for the Boat Tour. All three guides were informative, knowledgeable and excited to share what they know of Venice. Doge Palace tour was cool. There's a lot to know about the Doge so without the tour guide I think I would of missed out on the history of it all. My favorite was the walking tour our tour guide was like a great story teller, animated and passionate it was my favorite cuz you got to see the nooks and crannies of Venice. We saw hidden bookstores, restaurants, shops and you just want to wander and get lost you won't cuz you have your guide in your ear. You can get lost after. I liked that this tour ended on a boat cuz experiencing Venice on a boat was like the icing on a cake. Breathtaking.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Marie D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The Doge's Palace and St. Mark's tours were beyond excellent. We were blessed with wonderful tour guides who were very knowledgeable of the history and culture of both. The Grand Canal cruise was a waste of time as we could not understand our tour guide, plus the boat was driven so fast you couldn't relax. If you use the water buses, you will see the same sights. Without this cruise, the rating would have definitely been a five star!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Gregg C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The first part of the tour was average. Not helped by pouring rain. For the Doge and #39;s Palace our guide was excellent, funny and knowledgeable.

The grand canal cruise would be better in dry conditions. But the warmth of the river taxi was a welcome refuge! The guide for this was good also.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Pranav G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Must Do: Boat Ride and walking tour. Tour Guide was amazing.
The Doge's Palace tour was boring so avoid doing Doge's Palace.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Margaret L B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

4 of us missed the Doge's Palace tour. When we checked in for the morning walking tour, we were told to be back at 3 PM for the Grand Canal Tour. We thought that the Doge Palace would be included with the morning's tour guide, but she dropped us off at the Realli Bridge and told us to return in the afternoon for the boat tour. St. Mark's Square had been flooded in the AM, so we thought maybe access to the Palace had been blocked. It wasn't until we talked with others on the boat tour that we realized we'd missed the 1 PM Doge Palace altogether. We tried to take the Viator receipt to the Doge Palace but they would not honor it and we were out of time. Plus for 4 of us, we were out the 4 x 18 72 euros. The morning tour had been rushed and our tour guide did not hold the sign up very high so sometimes we were scrambling to find her. The Grand Canal Tour was great and really tied the whole city together.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

John S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

We got there on time, and then waited for the tour to start. It started 20 minutes late. During that time, we had our headsets, but our guide didn't understand he was on the air. We listened as he and another tour guide complained that they hadn't been paid in three months, among other things. The headset I had was full of bad static, and after three complaints, was told, well, just stay close, which wasn't possible. We got a whole lot of information about the origin of words, and little about the history of the Doges Palace. We were able to skip the line ? but it seemed we were in one as we waited for people to check their back packs. Bottom line, Viator tours may be a roll of the dice, subcontracting and not screening for quality.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Chantal B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide was amazing in telling us about the history of Venice as well as it's geographical influence in the 15th and 16th century. We started the day with the Doge Palace which was mind blowing. The paintings, the architecture, the history and so much more were a treasure to the eyes. We especially appreciated having a 15-20 minutes breaks between this visit and the visit of the Basilica since it gets a bit overwhelming to receive so much information at once and to completely appreciate what you see. Unfortunately, the visit of St Mark's Basilica was a bit crowded and too short. You have to follow a set path and you can't really spend time appreciating all there is to see. I would say we spent maybe 20 minutes inside which was not enough for us to feel satisfied. Then we moved on to our walking tour. This was an eye opening as we had been in Venice 3 days already and still were trying to find our way around those tiny alleys. It was great to have a guide that knows exactly where they are going and to see how intimate Venice can be.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Derek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Gondola ride as expected but better than expected also, Doges palace just incredible and some nice info on Venice itself etc.

Doing what: Doge's Palace, Unusual Venice and Gondola Ride Tour

Pauline A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Your meeting point needs to be clearer as we had to ask whether we had found the correct location. Apart from that, your guide was very knowledgeable and humorous - this made for an enjoyable visit to Doge's Palace.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Roula D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Doges Palace was an amazing place to visit to get an overall picture of the ruling Venetian Republic and what a Doge was in the everyday life of a Venetian. The grandeur of the palace, the rooms where justice and legislation occurred and the trip to the prison if found guilty was an experience. Our guide Elizabeta was very knowledgeable and showed us all the key areas and the history behind it all. We skipped the lines and got in straight away. A must when visiting Venice.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I was only able to go to the first half of the tour, but it was awesome. we learned a lot of the history of Venice, and I actually felt like I was experiencing Venice at the time that Doges Palace was in use. Great information about the prisoners. Seeing their cells and hearing their stories was living history. WE had a red-haired guide that was awesome! I don't remember her name.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Duncan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful guide who took us to the Doge's Palace. She made the whole trip very interesting and funny and did not dwell too long on any one thing. I would definitely recommend this tour if visiting Venice as one not to miss.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Warren S T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I did the tour on Sept 10th. The tour meeting point was nearby and easy to find. Our guide for the Doge's Palace was Arianna. The tour was very informative and Arianna provided the right amount of info so it was easy to understand the history of the building, the palace and the art. It was good to get into the prison area. Great Art pieces.
In the afternoon I went on the 2nd part of the tour to St Marks Basilica. Our guide was Maria. The tour was very informative, whilst not over the top. Inside is amazing. A must see. The Skip the Line ticket is a must as the queues had 2-3 hour waits. Overall, a very good way to see 2 of the top attractions in Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message