Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 185 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was fantastic! Our tour guide, Alexandria, was very informative, interesting, and professional. I learned so much about Venice and the Doge as well as about Cassanova. I am so glad I did the secret itineraries instead of the normal part of the palace. I would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fascinating tour. The guide was very interesting and clearly knew her subject well. So pleased that I booked the tour as it gave me a greater insight into the history and politics of the Doge's Palace

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic way to see Venice's highlights in a day. Let's you know what you want to go back and spend more time visiting. Our guide "Nicoletta" was fabulous. Her knowledge of history and art were amazing and she has great people skills. She was one of our favorite guides on a 3 week trip around the Mediterranean. The Doges Palace should not be missed--it's fabulous. The cathedral is also impressive but you're only allowed about 10 minutes to enjoy. The walking tour was great with lots of information and the Grand Canal tour was fabulous. A great way to get a different perspective on Venice. All in all--wonderful. Very happy with Viator tour company.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Guide was very well informed and gave us a lot of information. he was terriffic - very interesting speaker as well. showed us some wonderful highlights during the walking tour of venice and beautiful st. marks and doges palace. well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very good guide who was informative and personable. The tour takes you mainly to the back rooms -- prison, offices of the Doges, etc. -- and then you're free to explore the rest of the palace on your own in the other areas that are open to the public. As advertised, you walk right in through a tour entrance and don't have to wait in line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Our tour guide for the visit to the Doge's Palace was very good, a very good overall view and visit of the Palace; we would just have liked to spend a bit more time in the Palace - I would suggest doing the St Mark's Basilica and walking tour just before the Canal tour so that you can take full advantage of the Doge's Palace.
The tour of St Mark's Basilica was very quick in my opinion, would have liked a bit more time and information about the Basilica however understand the restrictions due to all the visitors.
The walking tour was informative and worth while and the Grand Canal tour was very enjoyable. If you have just a few days in Venice I highly recommend you do this tour and then explore Venice on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The tour operator was one of the worst I've seen in my years traveling the world. The tour operator was not working for Viator however, they assigned a local tour guide from the Doge's Palace to walk our group through the off-limits prison section of the Doge's Palace. Not only was she incredibly rude to all of the guests taking the tour but she was also not very accommodating and really had no desire to satisfy anyone's needs of the tour. Several people asked general questions about other tours and she would snap back stating "that they should take it up with the agency and she wanted nothing to do with it."

The tour itself is neat though - you get to check out a section of the Doge's Palace that is off-limits to the rest of the public. You get to see Casanova's cell and where he broke out of - pretty neat. I think it's worth checking out and unfortunately you're at the mercy of the tour guide here.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful tour! Our tour guide was fantastic! This was a great way to see the Basilica and the Doge's Palace without dealing with the long lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If only a short time in Venice this tour is a must. An extremely good guide who really knew his subject. Queue hopping was very good both for the Basilica and Doges. My experience with viator up to date has been very good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour of the Doges Palace was excellent. The meeting place was easy to find .All staff involved were very professional friendly and helpful.It was an audio tour and we found the headsets easy to use and noticed if anyone had a problem the staff were very helpful and polite. The English speaking guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour extremely interesting . If questions were asked by any in the group she was most helpful. I would recommend this tour as the information given in a friendly way was second to none. It was a good tour to go on and as it was early in the morning it left the rest of the day to enjoy and also had the added plus as we visited in July of a relief of the 30 plus temperatures. Many thanks Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative guide. well worth the money to experience the real Doge's Palace. Would suggest going early as it does get very hot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Our guide was excellent and the whole experience was brilliant. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a fantastic insight into the world of the Doge and also the various different rooms which we entered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Worth it! This is a good tour… Although it was so hot I skipped the boat tour so I can't mention how I felt about that. Doges palace is not to be missed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour mostly because of our guide, Mose, art history student's knowledge of history and art. His passion for the history of the mosaics was outstanding. Knowledge of the art and history of the Doge Palace (we added this onto our tour) was well worth the added time, expense!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a tour that needed a guide and a navigator. There was much to see, a long history to discuss, and crowds of people to navigate through. Our guide did a wonderful job getting us through and providing good information about St. marks and Doge's Palace, and she had a great sense of humor. Enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message