• USD ($)
  • English

Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A brilliant tour, made so by our knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide, Arianne. She was terrific,told us so much about the history of Venice and the Doges and the various rooms in the magnificent palace, and did so in such an interesting way. An absolute must for any visitor to Venice! Thank you, Arianne.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great back stage tour of the Doge prisons. We got far more out of the stories and behind the scenes rooms than we did the more public spaces. Great guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

The tour guide was perfectly nice but the tour itself was pretty boring. Maybe it was my fault for not realizing the tour wasn't about the actual grand rooms in the palace but rather the empty offices and and some prison cells (which are easily seen when walking around the palace on your own too). There was an awful lot about Casanova and not very much about the doges or details of their lives. We literally saw the attic over top of the great room -- which was, afterall, just an empty attic -- and were told that we were now looking at the "backs of some very famous paintings." Seriously? There were five of us and this was definitely not worth the money we spent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A wonderful tour guide who knew everything about the Doge's palace. Our four children were also mesmerised by what was on display and the background information on offer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

ADL
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Delivered on its promise. Tour guide was knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. Yes, we skipped the huge lines to the Basilica and the Doges Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We only had one day in Venice so taking this tour guaranteed you seeing all the best. We also included the Doges Palace option as well in one morning.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Doge's Palace tour. We are glad that we took an early tour because later on it was quite crowded. The guide met us all on time. She was very knowledgable about the palace and Venice history and was able to relate it with a bit of humor. A very nice tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved Elisabeth. She walked us thru history but included fun facts adding every day anecdotes. She did not let "strays" get in our way which was very important as the Basilica and the Doges Palace were quite busy,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It would be great to stay longer in the Doge Palace after the tour. Maybe collection of equipment can be done inside?

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. It made the Doges Palace all the more exciting knowing what goes on behind the scenes! Only downside was that there was a lot of stairs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was very good. Our guide was very well informed and friendly. We walked around Doges Palace while listening to very interesting information. Great tour to do!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was great and our guide was outstanding!! She shared a wealth of knowledge. We combined this with the Doges Palace tour. We also got tickets to use in some other art museums. This was the best tour while we were in Venice. It is definitely worth it to skip the lines both at the Basilica and Doges Palace. The lines were extremely long!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

wambeggy
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

An Excellent tour - especially skip the line as it was very busy in Venice. tour guide was very good, Doges Palace and Bridge of Sighs were excellent. This is a worthwhile tour into one of the landmarks of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Jason W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Very interesting tour. Our guide was informative and fun. We had the added benefit of visiting the prison cells and the bridge of sighs. Doges Palace is so diverse and has such history. I found this the best of the Venice walking tours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message