Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 206 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was very nice and informative. I was surprised the rest of the Doge's Palace was not

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful walking tour; our guide Francesca taught us so much about the city without overwhelming us. We were much better informed for the additional days of our stay. The tour through St. Mark's and the Doge's Palace were also wonderful. The only thing I would change is to allow us a few minutes to look in the gift shop at St. Mark's; I wanted to buy a book about the mosaics and didn't have any time to browse. Over all we would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was great in this tour. While those coming to Venice are amazed by the canals, we were blown away by walking through the town - the narrow lanes, the sudden huge squares and great canal side walks. It is no doubt very crowded, but this tour is the best way to get the feel of whole of venice in 4-4.5 hours. Make sure you take the Doge's Palace tour as well. Having come till Venice, it is simply not worth to miss this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This was our last day in Venice and our last tour. We were exhausted after a three week fun filled trip to Italy! We used Viator for numerous tours while in Italy, they were all very good! I would use them again. This tour of the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's was the BEST way to end our visit to Italy! Doge's Palace is breath taking! We saw MANY gorgeous Domo's while in Rome and Florence, but Doge's Palace has to be to me the most elegant we saw. The stair way of gold is a sight one must see! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, and interesting and we not only learned so much from her, (I can't remember her name, sorry) but she made it fun and interesting. A+ on this tour! We can't wait to return to Venice!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

It was a unique way to get a glimpse of the inner workings of the Doge's Palace before then seeing the impressive state rooms. Highly recommended

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent....she told us about the lives of the doges and also their servants, the visiting seamen and the poor people who lived in Venice at that time. It all came alive with her descriptions, given in perfect English. She explained in simple terms how the doges were elected, and how the system prevented any one family from taking control of Venice. She shared her love of Venice and its history, and we learnt so much from her. Thank you.
To improve the marketing....I thought the 'tour' included the rest of Venice, so was disappointed when we came to the end of the tour of the palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Hyun Joo Kim
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

St. Mark's bacilica was very beautiful but very difficult to see all due to lots of people. Our guide i think she did her best. Doge's palace was the place to know the venice's political situation at the time. My tour guide speak perfect English and very knowledgeable. The grand carnn tour was so nice. We were 8 people in a private boat. If anyone do it you can feel freedom! Highly recomended it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our first tour in Italy and we didn't know what to expect; the
doge Palace and St. Mark's were spectacular. Our guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable. She was great .

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour with highly informative and interesting guide. Would not have missed it. Really brought the history alive and made the whole visit to the Doge's Palace very enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Mavis R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good tour. Guide was informative and paced the tour well. Basilica tour and Doges palace tour are a must to see for any first time tourist to Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

All three tours were great! Frederica who did Doge's palace was excellent. Julia and the other guide on the walking tour was excellent as well. All of the tours and guides were top notch!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Daniella is an excellent tour guide. She gave so much detail and answered everyones questions well. Seeing the prison and the areas that I would've never toured if I was going on my own was excellent. She gave us lots of time to explore the area and I would recommend this to anyone visiting the Doge's Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide Patricia was absolutely fantastic! She made the whole tour come alive with her depth of knowledge and passion.We took the extended tour to include the Doge's Palace which was well worth doing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great walking tour and visit to St Mark's and the Doges Palace. Knowledgeable and friendly guide Stephania.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was thorough and knowledgeable. Really enjoyed the tour and learning more about Doge's Palace and St Mark's Basilica. The boat trip at the end of the day was a highlight.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message