Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide Stephanie was outstanding and very informative! We were met on time and the sights of the palace were unbelievable! The painting, frescoes and size of the rooms were mind-boggling----what wealth the Doges possessed-unfortunately mostly old men when they received the position-but had time for courtiers and partying---don't miss this tour-especially skipping the line-now with the summer season coming-loads of people now, thousands later!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a very interesting look at the more private side of the Doge's palace. The guide was very informative. A tour well worth taking.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a wonderful look into the Doges palace, not available to the public. Secret rooms, attic, weapons room and then, after the tour, you can visit all the places open to the public. The tour guide was informative, entertaining and, in short, fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Piper
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Loved Venice and the history was amazing. Our tour guide was great, she made the tour of the Doge palace very interesting.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Doges Palace and St Marks are absolute must do of course. With the tour you get so much background to help you understand the context too. The walking and boat tours provide you with a host of ideas for further exploration on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour, great timing. Doge's in the AM, Basilica in the PM. Guide has a wireless to talk to your ear piece, if you have your own, that would be better. Wife and I both loved it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Definitely recommend this tour. Our guide Roberta was so knowledgeable and approachable. The tour lasted about 1hr 30 mins but could have taken longer if there'd been more questions. Began at 9am which seemed a little early we met between 8.30 and 845 but bearing in mind the length of the tour we then had the rest of the day to either continue around Doge's Palace or visit another place of interest. Top tip - St Marks Square without the crowds 1st thing in the morning was magical! Viator reps were punctual and well-organised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good tour! Really enjoyed Doge's Palace, the Grand Canal Cruise was wonderful! Don't skip it!!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Pretty interesting tour. Guide was very informative. The tour also included general access to the Doge's Palace main areas for exploring when the "secrets" tour is completed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very good tour with Rosanna. Only a group of 10 which was nice. She guided us through the back / side streets which was interesting and less crowded finally delivering us to San Marco and the Basilica. She also took 4 of this group onto the Doges Palace where the more personal touch was appreciated as she guided us round. She gave us very good value for money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Well worth skipping the lines as the numbers of tourist just kept getting bigger as the days progressed! The guide is everything, our first guide for the doge palace was excellent, interesting, witty, and clearly very enthusiastic about the palace. We learnt so mum more through having a guide then we would have otherwise. However the following two parts were disappointing, due to the guides, who struggled to communicate effectively, so it's a lottery but still worthwhile.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Nice interesting tour of Doges. Our guide was very informative

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Isabele S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic. We had a very nice guide and she gave us great insights about Venice. Skipping the lines to the Duomo and to the Doge's palace was the best thing we did - the queue was about 2h wait.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is an excellent way to see St Marks and the Doge Palace. Great value for money, very friendly and knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really enjoyed Doges Palace Secret Itineraries tour. Great guide . Enthusiastic, Informative and entertaining . Semi private tour.Ample time to enjoy the history and narrative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide - Marina - for the Doge's Palace and the Basilica was excellent. Very knowledgeable and entertaining. Well worth going on a tour and would highly recommend. There is a too long a gap between the walking tour and the boat tour the walking tour finished at 1pm and we were scheduled on the 5.30pm boat tour - luckily we were reallocated to the 4.30pm boat trip after we asked to swap. The guide for the boat tour was not as informative and his English was not as good as the morning guide but luckily we were seated near him on the outside of the boat at the front and could ask questions if we needed to. It was nice to meander around the canals anyway. All in all well worth the money.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Doge's Palace part of the tour was excellent. Francesca, our guide was so knowledgable and made the history come alive. The Palace was simply stunning. A definite highlight of our trip. The next part of the tour included St Mark's Brascillica and a walking tour of the city. We were disappointed by the way we were rushed through the Brascillica with virtually no explanation of what we were seeing. It was Easter weekend and very busy but we definitely needed more time there. That was a shame as we would have loved to learn more. The walking tour took us down all sorts of back walkways to out of the way squares. Our guide gave a good background of what it was like to actually live in Venice. But by the end we were absolutely exhausted and the tour stopped being fun long before the end. We were left near the Rialto Bridge but had to find our own way back to the start point which was really difficult as we had little clue of where we were. We were so very tired by this point that we couldn't raise the enthusiasm to explore the Rialto and just wanted to return to our hotel. The final part of the tour, the late afternoon Grand Canal boat trip was excellent. Our guide was knowledgeable and informative and the trip was well worth going on. On reflection, we did too much in one day, it would have been better split over two days.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour is not one tour, but three tours with three different guides. There is no attempt to provide continuity with the guides. The three together in one day make for a very long day, with a four hour gap in the middle.
Tour guides make the difference. Our first guide for Doges Palace was incredible. She interacted with the children and made it fun for everyone. St Marks and walking tour was OK. Grand Canal cruise was fun, but difficult to take pictures as the motorboat is enclosed with the exception of two seats.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The morning tour of Doge Place and the Basilica were helpful! The guide was fantastic, we learned many interesting facts. The walking tour around the city was not really worth it in my opinion. We just seemed to wander around alot. Our tour guide stopped to count people so often that we lost alot of time. There were too many people in the tour. It was supposed to be 30 which is already too many and we ended up with 36 and kept losing people. She would stop, count, run to look for people, it was distracting and nothing really exciting on the walking tour. The third piece, the water tour was very much worth it. It was excellent to see and the only way to see that part of Venice. Tons of history and interesting facts.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The Doges Palace tour was amazing! Unfotunately the St.Marks tour was not. It is just a quick walk thru with no real time to see and appreciate this unique church. The walking tour was a bust, too, as it rained hard all day. We didnt even go on the boat tour because it was too cold and rainy.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Excellent tour. Particularly enjoyed the Doges Palace portion. Learned a lot about the history and culture of Venice. The St. Mark's Cathedral tour was chaotic. Way too crowded even though we had skip the line tickets. The whole experience was bad due to pushing crowds who had no respect for the fact that they were in a church. Couldn't hear the tour guide who was plainly irritated by the number of people who slipped in amongst our group. Absolutely no crowd control which was further complicated by the rising tide in the piazza which meant we were teetering on little ramps with people pushing and shoving. Quite dangerous in my opinion.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

This day really irked me. We did the full day tour and the morning tour we had a gentleman who was pretty fantastic. He did a great job telling us about the doges palace and really providing us with a wealth of information. So why did I give this a 1 star? Well, the afternoon portion we had a lady guide who was a real venetian. Well, she was to take us to St. Mark's Basilica. Now when I think of Venice, aside from the canals, I think of St. Mark's square and St. Marks Basilica. She literally took us in and out of the Basilica in under 20 minutes. She then wanted to take us towards the Rialto but I was pretty upset and my wife and I ended our tour there. I mean we literally did not do or see anything of value in the beautiful basilica. We did not go to see the tomb of St. Mark, you do not have anything really explained to you. It was more like we walked in, took pictures, and walked out. You do not get access to the museum, thats extra. You do not go up to the top outside area of the basilica. You do nothing. Meanwhile, there are mosaics with scenes all over the place and a ton of history there. If I were a Venetian, I would exhibit more pride in something so unique and incredible and would want to share that with the people I am guiding around. I hear other members of the tour complaining about the same thing when my wife and I decided to leave the tour. Such a shame. I bet the guy from the morning would have been great. The second half was the biggest waste of money for my entire time in Europe.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved this tour! Frederica did part 1 and 2 and Christina did the Grand Canal Boat Tour portion! Frederica was excellent!!! She is a real gem and she definitely knows her stuff! She provided us with so many facts, stats and information on the history of Venice that it was fascinating. The walking tour was done at a nice pace and we enjoyed wearing the headsets as they allowed us freedom once we were in St.Mark's Basilica to stray a bit from the group and then quickly reconnect. The Doge Palace was absolutely beautiful and the info provided was extremely interesting. I was surprised there were only 5 of us on this portion of the tour.There was even someone trying to listen in, on everything Frederica was telling us. He should have paid for the tour because I could tell he only got bits and pieces. Christina was very friendly and did a great job of the Grand Canal Tour too at the end as well. We did this tour our first full day in Venice and we picked up so many tips that it made our next 4 days even better! So glad we did it at the beginning of your trip! We would highly recommend this 3 in one tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Morning walking tour was excellent, taking us to parts of Venice we had never visited and with a typically cheeky Italian guide who added immensely to the overall atmosphere of the walk. Not much time for lunch between the end of this tour and the Doge's Palace, which was more functional and which we could have done ourselves. Loved the Grand Canal Tour at the end of the day but would have liked a head set as when we were standing up in the rear of the boat, we could not hear the commentary!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My father and I booked the whole day tour, including the boat tour of the Grand Canal. Our morning tour began with meeting a fantastic Italian guide named Christina. Christina had perfect English and she and her team were very prompt with meeting us at the designated, well-described and easy to find location on the waterfront. We began our walking tour while the super-friendly Christina gave our small group a great lesson in Venetian history, followed by a very descriptive guided walk through St. Mark's square and finally though St. Mark's cathedral. Every superlative applies to the quality of the tour - the pacing was perfect, the stories and history were woven in such a way that made the time fly by and kept the group's complete attention.

We had a couple of hours break after the morning tour which allowed us to grab a bite to eat and wander around Venice a bit on our own. We were delighted to see that Christina would also be conducting our afternoon tour. The afternoon tour was focused on the Doge's palace, Prison, and Bridge of Sighs. The palace was incredible in its artwork, but the guide's historical background of the themes and meanings turned the place from a nice place to look at amazing art to an amazing history and art lesson.

The afternoon tour ended with a great walk through some smaller passages and sections of Venice that are interesting but rather out of the way. We had some great photo opportunities and a plenty of time for Christina to answer our questions. My Dad and I were both so glad we booked a tour - sure, we could have seen the same places on our own, or with a tour book or audio guide, but we would have only gotten about 10 of the information that we learned from our guide. She highlights all the important historical significance and added so much value to the locations. I would recommend this 100 - Do it! It's the only way to really learn and enjoy the amazing history of Venice!
Afternoon boat tour different guide was great

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message