Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 218 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Doges palace was an excellent tour, the St marks part was really boring with a senseless walk around boring parts of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Doges palace was an excellent tour, the St marks part was really boring with a senseless walk around boring parts of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Doges palace was an excellent tour, the St marks part was really boring with a senseless walk around boring parts of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Doges palace was an excellent tour, the St marks part was really boring with a senseless walk around boring parts of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Doges palace was an excellent tour, the St marks part was really boring with a senseless walk around boring parts of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Doges palace was an excellent tour, the St marks part was really boring with a senseless walk around boring parts of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our Guide was a woman named Marie and she was fabulous! We started in the courtyard, then moved through the Doge's Palace, taking back rooms, getting behind-the-scenes that certainly other tours don't do. Marie was fascinating and was so knowledgeable, she talked to us about one of the Doge Prison's most famous inmates: Casanova. His story while imprisoned was really a treat to learn. Highly recommend this tour!!
JB and TB

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great tour. Excellent tour guide and easily understood with headsets. Doge's Palace is well worth the visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was outstanding. We had been to Venice once before but did not venture into the interior of either of these sites. The narration and the explanation added to the amazement of what the citizens constructed hundreds of years ago and how they have stood the test of time. Truly a testament of what humans have accomplished without the use of modern day tools. The ceiling tiles of St Marc's and the enormity of the Doge's palace should not be missed on your first visit. We chose well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable -her English was excellent and from our perspective concerned our ability to hear hear when the wireless hardware would "drop-out" in certain passages of the "Secret Tour" If you care about the Doge's Palace history -- this is the way to go!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was AMAZING! We had no idea what to expect as we didn't know much about the history, we came away full of new information and wonderment. The buildings and places we toured were so BEAUTIFUL! Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable of all the area. The tour was a good pace and the group was a good size for a personal experience. We would never known any of the things we learned about Venice without this tour, it truly made our time memorable! Visiting St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace were top favorites from our trip to Italy.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was really a tour designed for you to see the most of Venice in a single day. It was very interesting to know about the stories behind the people of venice and how the city came to be as it is today. All the guides were excellent and very engaging in their stories (Fiona, Gina, and the last lady for the canal tour I forgot her name sorry) It was very organized with the meeting place and giving us the headsets. The headset for the Doge's Palace tour was not working properly though, it was good we were just a small group so we just turned them off and listened to the guide without the set. There wasn't much time in between tours, I'm not sure if it was because it was winter--- we started late and ended early maybe to take advantage of the daylight. It was a bit tiring but I enjoyed it and learned a lot :-)

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was very nice and informative. I was surprised the rest of the Doge's Palace was not

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful walking tour; our guide Francesca taught us so much about the city without overwhelming us. We were much better informed for the additional days of our stay. The tour through St. Mark's and the Doge's Palace were also wonderful. The only thing I would change is to allow us a few minutes to look in the gift shop at St. Mark's; I wanted to buy a book about the mosaics and didn't have any time to browse. Over all we would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was great in this tour. While those coming to Venice are amazed by the canals, we were blown away by walking through the town - the narrow lanes, the sudden huge squares and great canal side walks. It is no doubt very crowded, but this tour is the best way to get the feel of whole of venice in 4-4.5 hours. Make sure you take the Doge's Palace tour as well. Having come till Venice, it is simply not worth to miss this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message