It's official: the Dolomite mountains in northeastern Italy are one of the most beautiful landscapes in the world: in 2009 UNESCO added them to the list of Natural World Heritage Sites. 200 million years old, these craggy, colorful, majestic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 372 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great! Our tour guide, Roberto, was a blast; charming, funny, and very knowledgeable. The location is not to be missed! Beautiful is an understatement. It is absolutely breathtaking! I believe an extended trip to this awesome area is in our near future.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

perfectly beautiful......fun lunch at an alpine hotel and we were even served by a waiter in leiderhosen!

Doing what: Dolomites Day Trip from Milan: Renon Plateau and Bolzano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great trip Marco was and excellent tour guide he was very informative and entertaining. great lunch good scenery hope to use viator for future tours.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even though we had rain off and on during the day, the sights were still beautiful. The van was very comfortable and Roberto did a great job. This is a great 1 day trip out of Venice.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So glad we took this unforgettable tour! Roberto was an excellent and entertaining guide. The scenery was beautiful and dramatic.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide, Danny, was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the area and its history.Very well paced. We had enough time at the various stops and for a nice lunch.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Though a day trip to the magnificent Dolomite is a bit too short, the scenery on our 2 hours drive to and from the Dolomite in particular the scenic road round the Tre Cime is awesome. Our Driver/Guide Macro knows the Dolomite Mountains very well and knows exactly where to stop for taking photos.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour! Visiting this part of Italy is so unique and different from the traditional touristy spots. Escaping the heat and humidity of Venice was more than enough reason to enjoy this beautiful ride through the mountains. There are some really winding and hairpin turns in the road but our driver handled them very well. As a tour guide he didn't give much info so I think of him as a driver who spoke occasionally and told us when to be back on the minivan. Really nice only having 7 other people on the tour although you might see another group from the same company in tandem with your route as they run concurrently but keep the groups split so you have a smaller size to travel with.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Oh my gosh you have to do this one. It was the greatest. Our tour guide talked and talked- but we enjoyed everything he said.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an absolutely beautiful day. The tour guides where very nice, and the views where fantastic!

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!!! Our tour guide Daniel was so informative and made the experience that much better for us. We got the most beautiful pictures and he went out of his way to make sure we got group photos everywhere possible. We highly recommend his tour!!!

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

enjoyable trip even though the weather did not cooperate...

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A good day out! A little bit expensive for what we got though.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a long day but the mountains are not close ... The tour encompasses a few towns worth seeing such as Cortina. Once approaching the mountains it WAS amazing to be within them and then to drive up to almost the top. A fantastic experience. The only issue is not enough time at the top...

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was an incredibly enjoyable trip to a beautiful location. I'd rate it a five star except Roberto's driving back to the dock was terrifying. I sat next to him in the front seat and knew we were traveling fast. I saw the speedometer hovered between 150-160. Didn't know what units we were measuring, but the posted speed limits were 90-100. Checking when we got back I learned he was traveling between 90-100 mph. At the same time, he talked on his cell phone, shifted with his left hand, and the lanes mere mere suggestions to him, usually driving down the middle of the lines. I would NEVER get into a car driven by him again.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I can't count the number of oohs and ahhs our tour group folks said. It was so beautiful - one of the most beautiful areas I have ever seen.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

If you are not planning to go to switzerland,visit this place. It takes 5 hours of travel from venice out of 9 hours of tour.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

I don't know if there is another way to see the alps from venice, but this trip was only ok. My husband and I are avid hikers and expected to be out on trails at least a little maybe an hour or two hike but instead we were in a van stopping at photo spots along the way up to the mountains. Getting to go to the alps was great, but we wish there had been more time in the park or on a trail than at expensive shopping centers or in the towns. We had enough shopping in Venice and were looking for a day in nature.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had difficulty with finding the meeting place given. There were too many details given regarding the water bus stop in Troncello. There are actually 3 stops in Troncello. We should have gotten off at the 1st stop but we found as did the water bus attendant that the details led us to believe we needed to get off at the 3rd stop. Fortunately, we were able to contact the Viator office, and the driver/guide picked us up 15 minutes after the tour was to start. Once we were on the tour, it was fabulous.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful day, scenery spectacular. Marco our driver very informative and helpful. Have already recommended the tour to a friend visiting Venice later this year.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fantastic trip up into the mountains. Our group of 7 was led by our driver and guide Daniel. He made the trip wonderful as he was so knowledgable and very interesting making time to speak to everyone in the group. He took us to spectacular viewing points and where we went for lunch not only did it have a fabulous vista but the food was good too! We would highly recommend this trip and if you're lucky you'll get Daniel too!!

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a wonderful trip. The Dolomites just sneak up on you We were driving through beautiful countryside but not many mountains. When the guide pulled over, I was really wondering why. Then I turned around. Wow. I mean really wow. My photographs just didn't do it justice. The photos you have seen just don't do it justice. You just need to go.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message