The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 458 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour was very good the boat was excellent and our guide was very informative. he gave us a good background about Venice. Really I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, much do if you want to visit these two places. The lines to enter is very long, The guide spoke English very well and was very informative and friendly. The boat ride was on a water taxi on the grand canal.
Again very informative and friendly. The taxi is very expensive, so this tour is worth the money

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic way to see Venice's highlights in a day. Let's you know what you want to go back and spend more time visiting. Our guide "Nicoletta" was fabulous. Her knowledge of history and art were amazing and she has great people skills. She was one of our favorite guides on a 3 week trip around the Mediterranean. The Doges Palace should not be missed--it's fabulous. The cathedral is also impressive but you're only allowed about 10 minutes to enjoy. The walking tour was great with lots of information and the Grand Canal tour was fabulous. A great way to get a different perspective on Venice. All in all--wonderful. Very happy with Viator tour company.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A group of 4 Gondolas, with one rather dishy singer and accordion player ....approx 40 minutes at a slow pace along the Grand Canal, then back to start point through some of the smaller canals .....a perfect birthday treat for my partner, before dinner..........although weather was overcast, it was still an experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour. The tour guide for the walking part was very informative, and it goes places that you don't see just walking around on your own. The boat portion was fun. You get to see Venice as a panoramic from the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour was about 30mins late getting started, the tour of the Basilica was a bit rushed we would have liked more time to look around this fantastic Church. We did not go on the boat trip as the break between the walking tour and the Grand Canal Tour was too long, as the walking tour was late starting we felt that the same thing might happen with the Canal Tour and we might have missed our Cruise ship departure. So i would say that the break should have been shorter.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Our tour guide for the visit to the Doge's Palace was very good, a very good overall view and visit of the Palace; we would just have liked to spend a bit more time in the Palace - I would suggest doing the St Mark's Basilica and walking tour just before the Canal tour so that you can take full advantage of the Doge's Palace.
The tour of St Mark's Basilica was very quick in my opinion, would have liked a bit more time and information about the Basilica however understand the restrictions due to all the visitors.
The walking tour was informative and worth while and the Grand Canal tour was very enjoyable. If you have just a few days in Venice I highly recommend you do this tour and then explore Venice on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The walking tour and guide were excellent. The Gondola Ride was dreadful and a waste of money. There were far to many people waiting. We were herded like cattle to waiting gondolas with a man who appeared to be in charge shouting at everybody. We were taken down a couple of side channels leading to the Grand Canal and straight back to the starting point. We were hassled to get out of the gondolas quickly so the next people could get in. It was no where near the 45 minutes promised and they appeared to have overbooked the gondolas and where trying to stick to a schedule which had clearly got out of control. Not at all the pleasant experience we were expecting.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed the tours very much. The guides were very knowledgeable on the history of the city and sites. Easy in and out of the buildings. Loved the Grand canal cruise. Great way to end the busy day.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour...the walking tour with the guide was entertaining and insightful. There was a nice 2 hour break for lunch which enabled us to walk around and find a nice place to eat and take in the surroundings. The small group boat tour is with 6 people and a guide on a water taxi, you get fantastic views of the grand canal and some of the back canals. We did this tour on our first day and it was great to get an understanding and layout of Venice. We were then able to explore on our own the next few days

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Touring the grand canal was an amazing experience! Your tour guides were excellent and it was most interesting to learn so much Venetian history. I would visit again given the opportunity and I highly recommend your company. Venice is beyond beautiful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was awesome - nothing says Venice like experiencing a gondola ride in the Grand Canal!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very small group gave us plenty of room to move around and even stand up on the outdoor seats to take pictures. Our guide was great! I only wish we could have kept on going. This is a great tour to do upon arrival to give you a quick look at the Grand Canal and decide which spots you want re-visit.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

There were three tours in this package. The Doge's Palace was very nice -very informative. The walking tour of Venice was great. Our guide, Arianna was terrific. Her English was excellent and her insights were very informative. The third tour was on a boat and highlighted the Grand Canal - it was also excellent. In summary, this package was well worth it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I enjoyed my tours of ST. Mark's and the Doges Palace. The guides were very knowledgable. The only thing I did not like was the wait between the walking tour nd the boat ride on the Grand Canal. There was a 4 hour wait. It should have followed within an hour of the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message