The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 495 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The walking tour was okay, not what I expected, but the gondola ride was excellent! This tour is worth booking if only for the gondola ride because it goes onto the Grand Canal and is about half the price of paying for a gondola ride alone.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The walking tour was okay, not what I expected, but the gondola ride was excellent! This tour is worth booking if only for the gondola ride because it goes onto the Grand Canal and is about half the price of paying for a gondola ride alone.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The walking tour was okay, not what I expected, but the gondola ride was excellent! This tour is worth booking if only for the gondola ride because it goes onto the Grand Canal and is about half the price of paying for a gondola ride alone.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The walking tour was okay, not what I expected, but the gondola ride was excellent! This tour is worth booking if only for the gondola ride because it goes onto the Grand Canal and is about half the price of paying for a gondola ride alone.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The walking tour was okay, not what I expected, but the gondola ride was excellent! This tour is worth booking if only for the gondola ride because it goes onto the Grand Canal and is about half the price of paying for a gondola ride alone.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The walking tour was okay, not what I expected, but the gondola ride was excellent! This tour is worth booking if only for the gondola ride because it goes onto the Grand Canal and is about half the price of paying for a gondola ride alone.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see Venice. I selected this tour since I only had one full day in Venice. The tour was a perfect way to see the main attractions quickly. I especially lived the boat ride down the Grand Canal. It was a small group and the guide answered all of our questions.

Warning: if the tide is high...invest in shoe covers (10 euros) or else you may have to skip part of the tour (several of the people on walking tour had to turn back due to the flooding).

Loved St. Mark's! Beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a fab experience. Very well organised, 6 boats of 4-6 people one has the musician and singer. You start on Grand Canal and then go down one of the side waterways and the serenading echoes around the buildings it was v romantic. Lasted about 40 mins and well worth the price we paid. A must when in Venice but it can b very expensive so I recommend booking this before you go.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Interesting walking tour, great guide. Gondola ride is mostly smaller canals, very little time on the grand canal, but still enjoyable

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour guide was friendly and knowledgable. It was what I would call a behind the scene tour of a section of Venice. You get a glimpse of how Venice is set up and built, see different sites, not touristy. My husband found it interesting. The gondola ride for the price was ok. We did not get to sit together. It was cool being on the Grand Canal in a gondola! I'm glad we did it.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was well organized and informative. Walking portion covered alot of ground and tour guide was very knowledgable. Gondola ride was a hoot. The tide was coming in so the ride got more exciting when we had to tilt a little to the left and right to get under the walking bridges. Canals were very trash free and the grand canal was very busy but safe. Saw alot of interesting landmarks.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great way to get a feel for Venice and see its highlights. Gina, our tour guide on the walking tour, was a native Venetian. Her love for the city she lives in was evident throughout the tour. Gina was extremely knowledgable and gave us many insights into the history and culture of this incredible city. The two hours flew by!
After a short break we took the water taxi tour to get another perspective of the city. Christina was also an outstanding guide! As we cruised around the smaller canals and finished our tour on the spectacular Grand Canal, we really fell in love with Venezia!
The four of us in our group were extremely pleased with this tour. We would have never learned or have seen so much on our own. If you could request Gina as your tour guide, you would have the honor of seeing Venice with someone who has a passion for her city...who lives, breathes and loves Venice...and so will you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The gondola ride was a highlight of our trip. We took the evening tour and floated past palaces and bridges along the Grand canal while being serenaded by a singer and an accordionist.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tours and tour guides. Favorite was the evening boat tour o the Grand Canal! Christine was very good!!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a brilliant experience ..... do it!! It was a little tricky for us to find the pier to start, but we did an on-foot 'recky' beforehand. On the trip we were serenaded by an opera singer and entertained by an accordion player in our group of ten boats each with about 6 people in each, which first headed up the Grand Canal for a short distance before heading up the narrow back streets (I mean back canals!) where the music sounded its best. It lasts about 40 -45 mins altogether and was far better value than anything our cruise ship was offering.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message