The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 499 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a great way to see the city. Marco, the guide, was 6'4 and possibly the tallest man in Venice - and surely the most charming and amusing! He wore a lapel mike and we all had receivers and headsets so we didn't miss a word even in the throng of Piazza San Marco. A very worthwhile tour. Was lucky to score a 5.30 departure time for the boat trip along the grand canal - the afternoon light was enchanting! Highly recommend this tour- great value for money too

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic! The best part of this tour was really at the end when you actually take the boat part. It's a small wooden boat which takes you down the grand canal and than back into some of the smaller canals.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour is not one tour, but three tours with three different guides. There is no attempt to provide continuity with the guides. The three together in one day make for a very long day, with a four hour gap in the middle.
Tour guides make the difference. Our first guide for Doges Palace was incredible. She interacted with the children and made it fun for everyone. St Marks and walking tour was OK. Grand Canal cruise was fun, but difficult to take pictures as the motorboat is enclosed with the exception of two seats.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The walking tour was excellent and the tour guide really knew her stuff. Lots of history and local knowledge incorporated and the two hours seemed to fly by.

The Grand canal tour was without doubt the highlight. Conducted at a nice leisurely pace and again loaded with history and is without doubt a must for anyone considering the trip.

Excellent value!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved this tour! Frederica did part 1 and 2 and Christina did the Grand Canal Boat Tour portion! Frederica was excellent!!! She is a real gem and she definitely knows her stuff! She provided us with so many facts, stats and information on the history of Venice that it was fascinating. The walking tour was done at a nice pace and we enjoyed wearing the headsets as they allowed us freedom once we were in St.Mark's Basilica to stray a bit from the group and then quickly reconnect. The Doge Palace was absolutely beautiful and the info provided was extremely interesting. I was surprised there were only 5 of us on this portion of the tour.There was even someone trying to listen in, on everything Frederica was telling us. He should have paid for the tour because I could tell he only got bits and pieces. Christina was very friendly and did a great job of the Grand Canal Tour too at the end as well. We did this tour our first full day in Venice and we picked up so many tips that it made our next 4 days even better! So glad we did it at the beginning of your trip! We would highly recommend this 3 in one tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Morning walking tour was excellent, taking us to parts of Venice we had never visited and with a typically cheeky Italian guide who added immensely to the overall atmosphere of the walk. Not much time for lunch between the end of this tour and the Doge's Palace, which was more functional and which we could have done ourselves. Loved the Grand Canal Tour at the end of the day but would have liked a head set as when we were standing up in the rear of the boat, we could not hear the commentary!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour guide who explained every famous building around the bank of the grand canal, which included whether George Clooney reception place. It is a tour that must be done in Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My father and I booked the whole day tour, including the boat tour of the Grand Canal. Our morning tour began with meeting a fantastic Italian guide named Christina. Christina had perfect English and she and her team were very prompt with meeting us at the designated, well-described and easy to find location on the waterfront. We began our walking tour while the super-friendly Christina gave our small group a great lesson in Venetian history, followed by a very descriptive guided walk through St. Mark's square and finally though St. Mark's cathedral. Every superlative applies to the quality of the tour - the pacing was perfect, the stories and history were woven in such a way that made the time fly by and kept the group's complete attention.

We had a couple of hours break after the morning tour which allowed us to grab a bite to eat and wander around Venice a bit on our own. We were delighted to see that Christina would also be conducting our afternoon tour. The afternoon tour was focused on the Doge's palace, Prison, and Bridge of Sighs. The palace was incredible in its artwork, but the guide's historical background of the themes and meanings turned the place from a nice place to look at amazing art to an amazing history and art lesson.

The afternoon tour ended with a great walk through some smaller passages and sections of Venice that are interesting but rather out of the way. We had some great photo opportunities and a plenty of time for Christina to answer our questions. My Dad and I were both so glad we booked a tour - sure, we could have seen the same places on our own, or with a tour book or audio guide, but we would have only gotten about 10 of the information that we learned from our guide. She highlights all the important historical significance and added so much value to the locations. I would recommend this 100 - Do it! It's the only way to really learn and enjoy the amazing history of Venice!
Afternoon boat tour different guide was great

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

well organized and with a very good atmosphere - we went with a group of various other gondolas with up to 5 people in each gondola. There was a chap with an accordion and another guy singing. we went on the grand canale and after through small canales and under various little bridges. I believe everyone enjoyed it very much. I can only recommend it but, at this time of the year, bring warm clothing - it was cold!!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The walking tour was okay, not what I expected, but the gondola ride was excellent! This tour is worth booking if only for the gondola ride because it goes onto the Grand Canal and is about half the price of paying for a gondola ride alone.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see Venice. I selected this tour since I only had one full day in Venice. The tour was a perfect way to see the main attractions quickly. I especially lived the boat ride down the Grand Canal. It was a small group and the guide answered all of our questions.

Warning: if the tide is high...invest in shoe covers (10 euros) or else you may have to skip part of the tour (several of the people on walking tour had to turn back due to the flooding).

Loved St. Mark's! Beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a fab experience. Very well organised, 6 boats of 4-6 people one has the musician and singer. You start on Grand Canal and then go down one of the side waterways and the serenading echoes around the buildings it was v romantic. Lasted about 40 mins and well worth the price we paid. A must when in Venice but it can b very expensive so I recommend booking this before you go.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Interesting walking tour, great guide. Gondola ride is mostly smaller canals, very little time on the grand canal, but still enjoyable

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour guide was friendly and knowledgable. It was what I would call a behind the scene tour of a section of Venice. You get a glimpse of how Venice is set up and built, see different sites, not touristy. My husband found it interesting. The gondola ride for the price was ok. We did not get to sit together. It was cool being on the Grand Canal in a gondola! I'm glad we did it.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was well organized and informative. Walking portion covered alot of ground and tour guide was very knowledgable. Gondola ride was a hoot. The tide was coming in so the ride got more exciting when we had to tilt a little to the left and right to get under the walking bridges. Canals were very trash free and the grand canal was very busy but safe. Saw alot of interesting landmarks.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message