The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 649 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

stian.e.eriksen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very interesting and well paced walk and talk through Venice's side streets and quiet piazzas. The guide covered both Venice's history and Venice today. There was a bit of a wait to board the gondolas, but gondola ride itself was very good, passing through both a series of narrow canals and a short stretch of the Grand Canal. Recommended.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Pabasari G Sri Lanka

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I was with my husband and 11 month old baby in Venice in April 2016. This tour started well with a cloudy weather but is started pouring after a while and we could not hear the guide well in our headsets and with the baby started crying and fussing! So it wasnt what we expected for it to be. But our guide was informative and he did his best to keep the crowd engaged. Luckily the rain stopped just in time for the gondola ride through Grand Canal. It was a lovely experience, even though the canals did smell bad. Strollers cannot be accommodated in the gondola so bring your baby in a baby carrier.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Ian S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour which started at 11am. 1 hour round the Basilica followed by another hour walking the streets of Venice. Barbara our guide was very knowledgeable and funny, which made the subject matter a lot easier to take in and remember. We then had a 3 hour break to do our own sightseeing before going on a small boat for another hour on the grand canal with another knowledgeable guide. Great organisation and well worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

kgibby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Liked this tour very much. Had a wonderful Doge's palace tour with Marco, he was very entertaining. The walking tour was ok, not enough time in the basilica and the guide was hard to understand. Loved the grand canal tour, that was perfect.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Julie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well worth the money. If you can split the tours then it gives a recuperation time. Suitable for most though and the guides were great. The Grand Canal tour was the highlight though. When the driver turned off only some of the smaller canals, this was unexpected and fantastic!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

moodyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is one which can be up to 25 people, but the use of headphones means that you can always hear the guide. Ours was Kristina, who was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about Venice. It was really useful to have a brief history of Venice as we went round. It was a bit of a shame we could only be in St Mark's for 10 minutes, but that is not the tours fault, as it the policy of the church due to the number of groups visiting. We saw a lot of Venice in the walking tour, which would have been quite difficult to find by ourselves. The boat tour started back near St Marks so we had to make our own way back here, but there was 2 1/2 hours to do this allowing time to wander around the Rialto area first. The boat tour was extensive, going all the way up the Grand Canal as well as some smaller canals. The guide pointed out the key buildings, which was very helpful. Overall a very good introduction to Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

moodyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was excellent. I was very lucky as the rest of the group did not turn up and so I had a tour to myself! The guide was very knowledgeable and gave me an excellent tour of a hidden part of Venice. We walked for 1 hour and landed up at the Arsenal. It was great to see a part of the city that was quiet and where the Venetians lived and worked. The second hour was a boat trip on a water taxi. We kept to the back canals for much of the visit, although we also went down part of the Grand Canal. I thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone, but particularly if you want to get off the beaten track.

Doing what: Secret Corners of Venice

Ronald E

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

2 halves to this tour. first was a tour through San Marco church and the streets of Venice. a fair amount of knowledge. the boat tour thru the grand canal was the highlight. well narrated in English. worth doing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Tatsiana P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Much better than any gondola as you see the whole of the Grand Canal in 1hr plus the guide tells you about the buildings around and history etc. Great day out, lots of pictures!!

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Sunny L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The walking tour covered everything you need to learn about the city of Venice, including some of the locations of the movie Italian Job 2003 version.

St Mark's Basilica tour was good. The history felt a little light, but satisfactory. In addition, we didn't really skip the line. It was early in the morning and we waited about 10-15 min to get in. It wasn't bad, but I don't think it should be advertised as skip-the-line.

Doge's Palace: I missed this because my lunch took a bit longer than needed and the day was too beautiful to pass up having a drink in one of the squares.

Cons: Each tour of the 3 are considered separate. This means that once your first tour is done, you need to go back to the meeting place at the time to start your next tour. Unfortunately, the first guide didn't mention that I needed to go somewhere for the Doge's Palace tour and I missed it. I would have gotten a quick lunch before heading to Doge's Palace for the tour had I known in advance. The guide did ensure that Grand Canal Cruise meeting time and place were marked on my ticket.

Overall, the package covers the highlights of main island of Venice in 1 day. If you're there for a bit longer, you can also check out the St Mark's Campanile, do a Gondola ride, and check out Murano/Burano/Lido.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Lara D

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour guides were brilliant, but we had to cut short the Doge's Palace tour, because we had to run to meet the boat for The Grand Canal Tour. We emailed Viator at the time regarding this, but they did not and have not responded to us to sort out this problem.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Michael M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

This was the only tour event that I scheduled over our 10 days in Italy that I was disappointed in. This tour does not take you to any significant sights except for the grand canal which is easily accessible on your own. The gondola tour at the end was OK, but it almost feels as if that has become such a touristy things to do that it in no way is personal or unique. Our guide was pleasant enough and definitely an open book on the history of Venice, so my assessment is not a reflection on him, but on the content of the tour.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Louwana N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Sylvia was nice but I felt it was just a walk through some of the back streets with not a lot of learning about the secret corners. The boat ride through the grand canal was nice but you can get that with a water taxi. I wouldn't recommend this tour I only gave it 2 stars because the guide did answer questions, just not a lot of information offered.

Doing what: Secret Corners of Venice

Ian D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

What a disappointment!
We arrived around half an hour before our trip time, just managing to distract the guy obviously in charge from his mobile phone call for him to look at our booking form and instruct sit here pointing at a line of wooden benches. Instead we nipped to a nearby bar for a drink and came back 15 minutes later to join a long queue of people holding similar booking forms. We eventually got on to our Gondola at 4pm, with the guy in charge still talking away on his mobile we were booked for 3.30 but it seemed to be a simple queuing system regardless of booking times.
As a party of 4 we were also joined by 2 American visitors which filled the Gondola not much room to be serenaded then! Ours was the first Gondola out into the Grand Canal. We circled for a few minutes whilst the other Gondolas filled and then set off with the singer and his accordion player just behind. This was quite fun, going down the Grand Canal with a few of us singing along.
We then turned down a smaller canal and ended up in single file with the singer probably 4 or 5 Gondolas behind us. We could just about hear him. We then basically when down a few back alley canals, passing building with no frontage and many seeming to be held together with scaffolding poles! Of all the beautiful locations in Venice this trip seems to manage to find none of them!
After a total of 30 minutes of unimpressive sightseeing, we were back where we started.
The best part of the trip was when our Gondolier pretended to fall off, catching us all by surprise.
I booked this trip through Viator as I have used them in the past and found all the trips well organised and value for money but not in this case.
Very disappointing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Benedict S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The singer at the gondola had a beautiful voice. He sang multiple songs while we sailed along the grand canal, smaller canals and other areas not accessible by foot.

The overall experience was quite unique. Just wish we had a longer ride as I didnt want to get off the gondola.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

janmorgan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

This tour was delivered in about 55 English and 45 Spanish. This is not what we booked but apparently several Spanish-speaking visitors would have been left without a tour if our guide hadn't managed both languages which she did very graciously. The guide was a lovely person and engaging but I felt that there was too little information, delivered slowly as if we needed help to understand what was being said. The information seemed like basic stuff and didn't inspire like the other two Viator tours we took which were crammed with culture, history as well as basics. Our Vatican and Colosseum tours were brilliant and crammed with history, culture, entertaining asides and even dramatic stuff. This tour was fairly basic. It included a gondola ride which was a mistake. We were 6 to a boat and VERY unbalanced due to the position of seats and weight. Sitting on the edge of my seat didn't make much difference, there was a huge tilt. Also, we seemed to be in grungy back canals for most of the trip with just a block or so of the grand canal.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was our first time in Venice, I have been on your tours before and my husband had not and wasn't sure it was his thing. However any worries were quickly extinguished by the informative, friendly and funny, Marina, our guide for the first part of the tour. We both thoroughly enjoyed her commentary and felt that we had a much improved understanding of the city as a result. The second part of the tour, which was the boat tour of the Grand Canal was also very enjoyable. Top marks for Marina.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

When they say group trip, they REALLY mean group trip. We were on one of about 10 boats with only one of the boats having a singer. This was fine while we were one of the boats next to the singer. As soon as we left the grand canal for the smaller ones, we were so far ahead of the singing boat you could not hear a thing. The gondola is something you have to do in Venice and the price of this trip was about the same as getting one in Venice. Just don't expect the Serenading to great.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Brianna W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

This tour was awful. I would not recommend it to anyone.

First, the 1.5 hour tour was conducted in two parts -- 45 minutes in English and 45 minutes in Spanish. This was a huge disappointment because essentially half of the tour was wasted for individuals waiting for the guide to translate to the other language at each stop. Because of this discrepancy, we really only had the opportunity to see half of what we would have seen had the tour been conducted entirely in one language. For a group of about 20, it was very disheartening to be held up by the tour guide's translation to Spanish for a group of about 4 one of which clearly understood the English version of the tour.

We also did not see the standard monuments in Venice because the guide wanted to take us to some of the lesser explored areas. This would have been nice had we known in advance that we were going to do that. However, what we saw a circular staircase / courtyard, a statute, a rainwater collection system, and an opera house was not all that impressive. It would have been nice to have combined the major points with some of the lesser known areas. But then again, since the tour was conducted in two languages, we didn't have time to do that.

To make matters worse, it started raining during the tour. We were informed that even despite the rain, our Gondola Ride vouchers could not be transferred to another time or day. We did not get to fully enjoy the ride or the magnificence of the Grand Canal because umbrellas were blocking our view. All in all, very disappointing.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

arthur f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Not as romantic as the photo, but an amazing once in a lifetime experience. About 15 min on the grand canal - which is more than enough - think I-95 or I-5 ! then down some of the smaller canals for another half hour which are a delightful trip. The serenade was wonderful. The trip length was just right. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed this tour. It offered up several places of interest that we wanted to see and not having been to Venice prior we felt we could not visit these locations without help and guidance. Doges Palace was very interesting and had a great guide, very professional and nice young woman. Grand Canal ride was teriffic! We saw so much of Venice that way, so glad we went. St Marks Basilica very nice, rest of walking tour was just okay, guide offered entirely too much info for an individual to absorb and talked the entire time actually got tired of hearing her and removed my ear piece. I realize that the guide can sometimes make or break a trip, but all in all it was a good tour and very happy that we did decide to take it. Would definitely book this tour again.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Willie O

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Excellent I would recommend this tour. a lot of walking, but well worth it. The one hour boat tour of the Grand Canal was very comfortable with 5 other tourist

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Kate L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

lovely ride of around 25 minutes that had the singer and accordionist aboard our gondola. they played Volare and a few other familiar italian songs. however, slightly disappointed that the route taken was not along the grand canal but one of the smaller canals in the fenice area.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Gloria C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour guide was great, however, the travel agency you meet at and coordinate with have staff that need to work on their customer service skills. Overall, a great walking tour. It is not a private Gondola Ride, and is shared with at least one other family they put 6 people to a Gondola. Also, you're barely on the Grand Canal for very long.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Kate F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had the lively and lovely Georgia guiding our tour. It was the perfect amount of time and a great general over view of the main artery of Venice - the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message