The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 512 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was 3 distinct tours by 3 separate tour guides coordinated by the booking company. It was very well organized and led. The skip the line tickets were very useful, especially in St Marks and the history the tour guides presented was excellent. The grand canal boat ride was the cherry on top and a definite must.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Definitely value for money - given our limited time in Venice and wanting to get on the Grand Canal to see Venice from a different perspective - it all worked out nicely - tour guides walking tour and boat ride we both very knowledgeable about the city and enthusiastic in their presentation of the highlights - which was helpful and informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good tour! Really enjoyed Doge's Palace, the Grand Canal Cruise was wonderful! Don't skip it!!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Overall, the package was fine but not great. We went out on the Grand Canal for about five minutes. Not to experience it but to wait for 3 other boats and the serenade crew to give us a song. Then it was to so me back canals behind the hotel and we were done. Staff was not that friendly and I thought it was a huge miss. I figured they would be outgoing and be a large part of the reason why the ride was great but it was nonexistent. Albeit more expensive, I would recommend the gondola ride down the Grand Canal which would be more with it than having the serenade.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

at 1st we thought it was going to be a bit lame as when all the gondolas were grouped together we couldn't hear the singer very well, but once the boat went up the canals off the grand canal, it was fantastic. We did the meal deal, and the meal was great.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

What a waste, they herded everyone into a large area beside the Gritti Palace. six people to a gondola and for every eight gondolas there was one accordion player and one singer who sang terrible, cheesy, songs. If it had been authentic Italian love songs, ok - but Sinatra and other English songs done badly - come on. The ride consisted of 10 mins up the grand canal, 10 mins back and a 10 minute circle of a small canal near the landing area. All of the gondoliers were either smoking or talking loudly on their cell phones in some cases both
I give this tour 2 stars because a it was a gondola ride and b it was less expensive than hiring a gondola privately I would avoid this tour if at all possible.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

This tour is not worth the money. Everyone pays the same amount but yet two people on the gondola get a comfortable romantic seat. During our tour the bench I sat on kept falling apart. You could not hear the music and we basically went out on the grand canal idled for a few minutes then went down a small canal and that was it. Very disappointed I enjoyed the canals just by walking through Venice then I did on the gondola. Save your money and do something else worth wild then this tour.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a great way to see the city. Marco, the guide, was 6'4 and possibly the tallest man in Venice - and surely the most charming and amusing! He wore a lapel mike and we all had receivers and headsets so we didn't miss a word even in the throng of Piazza San Marco. A very worthwhile tour. Was lucky to score a 5.30 departure time for the boat trip along the grand canal - the afternoon light was enchanting! Highly recommend this tour- great value for money too

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic! The best part of this tour was really at the end when you actually take the boat part. It's a small wooden boat which takes you down the grand canal and than back into some of the smaller canals.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great and the taxi ride along the grand canal was definitely worth the slightly extra cost. Don't miss experiencing Venice from the water. My canal tour was at sunset and I got the most amazing photos and views of the city. I loved the whole tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good wee tour that gives you snippets of information about Venice that you won't otherwise find. And the Gondola Ride is great value.......it is a proper one that includes going on to the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Doge's Palace part of the tour was excellent. Francesca, our guide was so knowledgable and made the history come alive. The Palace was simply stunning. A definite highlight of our trip. The next part of the tour included St Mark's Brascillica and a walking tour of the city. We were disappointed by the way we were rushed through the Brascillica with virtually no explanation of what we were seeing. It was Easter weekend and very busy but we definitely needed more time there. That was a shame as we would have loved to learn more. The walking tour took us down all sorts of back walkways to out of the way squares. Our guide gave a good background of what it was like to actually live in Venice. But by the end we were absolutely exhausted and the tour stopped being fun long before the end. We were left near the Rialto Bridge but had to find our own way back to the start point which was really difficult as we had little clue of where we were. We were so very tired by this point that we couldn't raise the enthusiasm to explore the Rialto and just wanted to return to our hotel. The final part of the tour, the late afternoon Grand Canal boat trip was excellent. Our guide was knowledgeable and informative and the trip was well worth going on. On reflection, we did too much in one day, it would have been better split over two days.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I had an amazing time on the my tour in Venice! The guide was informative and could answer any questions we had. It was great to be able to hear about the history of the city while having someone who knew the city inside and out. Our gondola ride was also great! We were taken right out into the Grand Canal. My only complaint would be that it was a little difficult to hear the guide through the headphones. I found myself walking close beside her so I was able to listen to all of her information.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour is not one tour, but three tours with three different guides. There is no attempt to provide continuity with the guides. The three together in one day make for a very long day, with a four hour gap in the middle.
Tour guides make the difference. Our first guide for Doges Palace was incredible. She interacted with the children and made it fun for everyone. St Marks and walking tour was OK. Grand Canal cruise was fun, but difficult to take pictures as the motorboat is enclosed with the exception of two seats.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very relaxing cruise along the Grand Canal and smaller canals. The serenade was amazing. What a beautiful voice. Just an fyi, there is not one singer per boat, but a cluster of gondolas that rotate their positions to be near the gondola with the singer in it. His voice carried well, no volume issue.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was very interesting. It was not the usual touristy sights but more on the actual Venetian people and their buildings back away from the Grand Canal. Our guide was excellent and told us about the place not the politics which makes for a pleasant change.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgable. We lost time due to a group joining us late high wasn't fair to us but was good for the late comers as they were able to join the tour. There is significant walking and climbing of the stairs of the Venice bridges. They give time between the land tour and the Grand Canal tour, which wasn't very clear in the instructions. You do have time to shop or grab lunch in the area.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The walking tour was excellent and the tour guide really knew her stuff. Lots of history and local knowledge incorporated and the two hours seemed to fly by.

The Grand canal tour was without doubt the highlight. Conducted at a nice leisurely pace and again loaded with history and is without doubt a must for anyone considering the trip.

Excellent value!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved this tour! Frederica did part 1 and 2 and Christina did the Grand Canal Boat Tour portion! Frederica was excellent!!! She is a real gem and she definitely knows her stuff! She provided us with so many facts, stats and information on the history of Venice that it was fascinating. The walking tour was done at a nice pace and we enjoyed wearing the headsets as they allowed us freedom once we were in St.Mark's Basilica to stray a bit from the group and then quickly reconnect. The Doge Palace was absolutely beautiful and the info provided was extremely interesting. I was surprised there were only 5 of us on this portion of the tour.There was even someone trying to listen in, on everything Frederica was telling us. He should have paid for the tour because I could tell he only got bits and pieces. Christina was very friendly and did a great job of the Grand Canal Tour too at the end as well. We did this tour our first full day in Venice and we picked up so many tips that it made our next 4 days even better! So glad we did it at the beginning of your trip! We would highly recommend this 3 in one tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Morning walking tour was excellent, taking us to parts of Venice we had never visited and with a typically cheeky Italian guide who added immensely to the overall atmosphere of the walk. Not much time for lunch between the end of this tour and the Doge's Palace, which was more functional and which we could have done ourselves. Loved the Grand Canal Tour at the end of the day but would have liked a head set as when we were standing up in the rear of the boat, we could not hear the commentary!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour guide who explained every famous building around the bank of the grand canal, which included whether George Clooney reception place. It is a tour that must be done in Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My father and I booked the whole day tour, including the boat tour of the Grand Canal. Our morning tour began with meeting a fantastic Italian guide named Christina. Christina had perfect English and she and her team were very prompt with meeting us at the designated, well-described and easy to find location on the waterfront. We began our walking tour while the super-friendly Christina gave our small group a great lesson in Venetian history, followed by a very descriptive guided walk through St. Mark's square and finally though St. Mark's cathedral. Every superlative applies to the quality of the tour - the pacing was perfect, the stories and history were woven in such a way that made the time fly by and kept the group's complete attention.

We had a couple of hours break after the morning tour which allowed us to grab a bite to eat and wander around Venice a bit on our own. We were delighted to see that Christina would also be conducting our afternoon tour. The afternoon tour was focused on the Doge's palace, Prison, and Bridge of Sighs. The palace was incredible in its artwork, but the guide's historical background of the themes and meanings turned the place from a nice place to look at amazing art to an amazing history and art lesson.

The afternoon tour ended with a great walk through some smaller passages and sections of Venice that are interesting but rather out of the way. We had some great photo opportunities and a plenty of time for Christina to answer our questions. My Dad and I were both so glad we booked a tour - sure, we could have seen the same places on our own, or with a tour book or audio guide, but we would have only gotten about 10 of the information that we learned from our guide. She highlights all the important historical significance and added so much value to the locations. I would recommend this 100 - Do it! It's the only way to really learn and enjoy the amazing history of Venice!
Afternoon boat tour different guide was great

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

well organized and with a very good atmosphere - we went with a group of various other gondolas with up to 5 people in each gondola. There was a chap with an accordion and another guy singing. we went on the grand canale and after through small canales and under various little bridges. I believe everyone enjoyed it very much. I can only recommend it but, at this time of the year, bring warm clothing - it was cold!!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The walking tour was okay, not what I expected, but the gondola ride was excellent! This tour is worth booking if only for the gondola ride because it goes onto the Grand Canal and is about half the price of paying for a gondola ride alone.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see Venice. I selected this tour since I only had one full day in Venice. The tour was a perfect way to see the main attractions quickly. I especially lived the boat ride down the Grand Canal. It was a small group and the guide answered all of our questions.

Warning: if the tide is high...invest in shoe covers (10 euros) or else you may have to skip part of the tour (several of the people on walking tour had to turn back due to the flooding).

Loved St. Mark's! Beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message