The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 487 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Very disappointed. The only site that we were taken to that I was happy about was the grand canal. For a tour of Venice, as it is titled, we should have been taken to the Rialto Bridge, the Bridge of Sighs, Piazza di San Marco, etc. The gondola ride was rather disappointing. Quite short and the operator was more interested in talking to the other operators of the gondolas than us, and we were the ones paying for it. Very disappointed, and would rather have saved my money!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Andrea, was great and gave us a wonderful informative walk to less busy, but very interesting parts of Venice. Enjoyed every minute of it. be sure to use public restrooms or ones in a cafe - with purchase - before going to meeting point as agency would not allow use of toilet in their office. Gondola ride is a Venice experience not to be missed. It was long enough to get through some of the narrow canals and under several tiny bridges out to the Grand Canal near the Rialto bridge, so we could experience that too. Felt the whole tour was good value

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Simon S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

walking the backstreets where one wouldn't normally go was an exciting prospect and our welcoming and informed guide showed us areas of Venice one would not normally find! during the afternoon we were welcomed back to enjoy a water taxi trip along tiny cals culminating in the Grand Canal. Jump the queue to see the Basilica - excellent.
This tour was split not 'back to back' so we took the time to enjoy an excellent bistro lunch before the afternoon boat tour.
Book this tour, it will give you a glimpse of this wonderful City - its not 'in depth' but this allows on to get one's bearings and is a valuable insight into Venice. Book now and enjoy it - talk to the guide, they are very well informed. Next day the 2 of us were in the Doge's Palace looking around, on our own, and saw one of our Guides from the day before - she greeted us most warmly when we said 'hello'! It was typical of the positive attitude we experienced. Its' good value and we recommend booking this trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So before going on our tour there was heavy rain and we had to wait about 20 minutes before being able to leave. This might be the reason why we were the only ones on the music gondola ride. We had two fantastic musicians which sang Italian music on our ride. They were all very nice and we got to ride along the grand canal and smaller little areas as well. It was perfect!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I truly enjoyed this tour. The singing gondolier was excellent and the accordian player was perfect for the songs. It was great seeing not only the Grand Canal, but the back alleys where you could see the barnacles and limpets growing on foundations of buildings. The narrow alleys made for superior accoustics for the singing, too.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide outstsndiing tour hits best of Venice Doge palace and st Marks cathedral also grand canal boat ride was enjoyable and good guide

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this tour!! was a great way to get a quick overview of the city before exploring on your own. The Grand Canal Boat tour was the highlight!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

would recommend this tour gives you a brief guide around Venice so so can can the best out of your holiday this is the first thing to do when you get there, boat trip down the grand canal was excellent

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

These 3 tours were great. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable, they did a good job of explaining what we were looking at. Both the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were awesome. The Venice walking tour showed us places that we may not have seen otherwise. The grand canal tour was just that - grand. We didn't just ride along the grand canal, but into smaller canals where we cruised under many bridges and got a terrific overview of the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was amazed by the Grand Canal. How romantic!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fascinating tour given by a native Venetian whose pride and sense of humor about her city came through loud and clear. The boat portion of the tour which was offered about three hours later included a pop-up thunder-and-hail storm! Quite an adventure on the Grand Canal. Both parts of this tour were a major highlight of our two weeks in Italy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

4th june 2015, excellent tour on a hot day, walking tour very good informative and relaxed, boat tour was excellent not overcrowded on the boat, covered everything on the grand canal.guides for both tours were very good nothing to complain about. If you want a tour which allows you to cover Venice in a say, this is the one
Gjw

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

25 May 2015 Excellent tours. Meeting at the Royal Garden was easy to locate and guides were prompt. The day was warm but beautiful for a morning walk. Our morning 2-hour walking tour was very informative and the guides English was excellent. This tour guide departed at the Rialto Bridge with instructions how to get back to St. Marks Square. Gave us a nice time to enjoy lunch and afternoon on our own before our boat tour of 1-hour. The Grand Canal boat tour guide pointed out many sites of interest, her English was excellent. Our boat only had 6 tourists on board, so we all had opportunity to ask questions of the guide who receptively answered all questions. Both guides were very knowledgeable of the area and history. I would recommend this tour, especially if you only had one day and one tour to choose.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tours! Easy and quick check in. For the Doge's Palace, St. Mark's, and the walking tour we had Arriana as our guide. She was very knowledgeable and shared info so that it was very interesting. We had Christina as our quide for the boat ride. She was also very knowledgeable. We went on some of the smaller side canals which was really interesting and a nice change from the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Daryl
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour of Venice with very good informative guide. I would highly recommend this tour if you are visiting for the first time. Topped off with a fantastic 1 hour tour of thryGrand Canal in a private Taxi. Fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to see Venice, if you are short for time. All guides were informative and helpful. You left each tour with a greater understanding of the history of Venice . The boat ride was 1 hour and a great way to look at the grand canal but also some of the smaller ones.
We really enjoyed this day although it was long , it was worth it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The 2 hour walking tour was very informative in discussing the history and origins of Venice and our tour guide was wonderful. Each group of 20 for one tour guide had their own individual headsets to listen to their guide speak. The one hour boat tour which occurred about 3.5 hours later good for rest in between was also excellent. It was very intimate with only 8 people per small water boat. We were taken through some small canals and then the grand canal. It felt very personal with again a great guide explaining everything. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We saved our Gondola ride for our last night in Venice. It was just a special as expected. We took a 7.30pm tour, just on sunset. We were in a flotilla of 8 boats with the musician and singer in one of the boats. Naturally they picked the gondola with the 2 pretty young girls!! We headed out into the Grand Canal for a tune or two and then headed down the smaller canals under the little bridges, it was such a nice experience to view the city from the canals and with the sweet sounds of the accordion and singer in the background. We were 4 in our boat and we swapped seats half way through so each couple could have a turn in the love seat. So that was also nice. I'm not sure of the prices of the other gondola rides available around Venice, but it was nice to have it booked for a particular time and date. We also dressed up for the evening as we followed up with a celebratory dinner. While in Venice!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Palace and church tour guides were very knowledgeable and gave excellent insight to our tours. Guide for Grand Canal tour was not very knowledgable .

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very enjoyable experience. The gondola spent more time on the Grand Canal than we would have liked, but the brilliance of the musicians was more than adequate compensation. The boarding process was a bit chaotic, though, and the boarding attendants less courteous and more brusque than desirable.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is a good way to start a visit to Venice -- an informative 90-minute walking tour of the St. Mark's area, followed by a 35-minute gondola ride in the Grand Canal and smaller canals. Sure, the gondola ride is hokey, but it's a lot of fun, and doing it this way up to six passengers is a lot cheaper than taking a private ride for 2. Plus, the tour company was very accommodating to us. When we were unable to take the afternoon tour the day we arrived, they permitted us to reschedule to another day without penalty.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I'd give this tour an OK, but it was nothing spectacular. The gondolas were crowded up against each other the whole time we were on the Grand Canal--obviously so we could all hear the singer--but it really took away from the ambiance one would like for a gondola ride. I would suggest springing for a private ride instead.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was a little dry but skipping the line was great. Could have spent a little more time in church. Not having the boat part right after broke our day up but being on the grand canal in one the water taxi boats was great. Could have used a better mike on the boat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Truly Venice in one day. Guides well informed. Grand Canal Boat ride was excellent. Never had to stand in a line at all attractions.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

What a fun experience this was! Our tour guide in the morning was extremely knowledgeable about the city and shared some wonderful information about Venice and it's history and the icing on the cake was the Grand Canal boat tour! As others have mentioned, the boat tour is a few hours AFTER your walking tour is done so, while we did not mind, as it gave us time to grab lunch and wander around, other tour guests were confused and a little frustrated as they had limited time in the city and the time between the two parts is not mentioned in the description. Other than that small lack of communication, this is a great tour and a wonderful choice for your time in Venice!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message