The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 474 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great way to get a feel for Venice and see its highlights. Gina, our tour guide on the walking tour, was a native Venetian. Her love for the city she lives in was evident throughout the tour. Gina was extremely knowledgable and gave us many insights into the history and culture of this incredible city. The two hours flew by!
After a short break we took the water taxi tour to get another perspective of the city. Christina was also an outstanding guide! As we cruised around the smaller canals and finished our tour on the spectacular Grand Canal, we really fell in love with Venezia!
The four of us in our group were extremely pleased with this tour. We would have never learned or have seen so much on our own. If you could request Gina as your tour guide, you would have the honor of seeing Venice with someone who has a passion for her city...who lives, breathes and loves Venice...and so will you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The gondola ride was a highlight of our trip. We took the evening tour and floated past palaces and bridges along the Grand canal while being serenaded by a singer and an accordionist.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tours and tour guides. Favorite was the evening boat tour o the Grand Canal! Christine was very good!!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a brilliant experience ..... do it!! It was a little tricky for us to find the pier to start, but we did an on-foot 'recky' beforehand. On the trip we were serenaded by an opera singer and entertained by an accordion player in our group of ten boats each with about 6 people in each, which first headed up the Grand Canal for a short distance before heading up the narrow back streets (I mean back canals!) where the music sounded its best. It lasts about 40 -45 mins altogether and was far better value than anything our cruise ship was offering.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an outstanding day in Venice thanks to our walking guide Vanessa who gave us a wonderful introduction to her city from a native's perspective. Then from the boat tour down the Grand Canal, we enjoyed a relaxing view of the city as well as learning historical facts about this amazing place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour guides. The walking tour and boat tour of Grand canal were just the right length. Take this tour early in your Venice stay so you will know your way around and what you would like to spend more time seeing. The only negative is that there was a wait (forgot exact lenght) about 2 hours between guided tour and boat tour, so tied up most of afternoon. Viator tours have the best tour guides !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A good all inclusive tour with great guide. Always counting heads! Afternoon on the Grand Canal was in a small launch and at just the right time of day for the sun - which we had plenty of!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a good bargain, price-wise. It did make for a long day with tours of the Palace and the Basilica as well as the walking tour and the water taxi. The Palace was the more impressive than the Basilica, perhaps because the tour through the Basilica seemed a bit rushed. Both tours used a wireless headset which made it easy to hear the guide in almost all locations. The water taxi tour of the Grand Canal at the end of the day was the best part of the day.....maybe because we were tired and it felt so good to cruise through this lovely city with the sun on our faces and the breeze in our hair.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great guides in Venice! Doge's palace is huge with lots to see. The walking tour was informative and we were able to escape the crowds around the main piazza. Seeing the back streets of Venice was great! St. Marks Basilica tour was a 15 minute walk through of the church. Amazing building with lots of statues and paintings to view. The boat tour of the Grand Canal was the best part of the tour. We had a great guide with lots of enthusiasm and information. Overall one of the best tours on our adventure to Italy!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour is split into two sections--a walking tour first, followed later by a boat tour along the Grand Canal. We thoroughly enjoyed the walking tour-- the pace was good, the information interesting and she was great about allowing time for photographs along the way. My complaint is that we weren't advised at booking that the boat tour wasn't going to be until 4:30. We had to get back to our ship before the boat section was completed so we had to skip this part entirely--very disappointed about that!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Terrible terrible tour. This was the biggest waste of money.. If I could give no stars I would. First of all the gondolier was very rude to my husband telling him to hurry up and sit down. Then he yelled at the older lady that got in next that she was sitting on the wrong side. He steered us directly in between two other gondolas and stayed that way the whole time we was on the grand canal. I could reach out and touch the two other boats, so you couldn't see anything. You could not hear the serenade because they were so far away from us. That and the fact that our guy and the two other guys were too busy talking with each other or talking on their cell phones. Even while on the small canals my gondolier got side by side to another gondola any where there was a little room and talked. This is supposed to be romantic, we experienced a much more intimate and romantic experience while at the Venetian in Las Vegas.( yes I did say Vegas) This was ridiculous! Don't waste your money on this.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

You share your boat with 2 other couples, there are about 8boats to 1 serenade! The singer on 1 boat and others stay nearby. It is less than 30mins, not going up the grand canal but into the smaller side canals. Not very romantic due to the number of people and the boat operators talking loudly.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour was very good the boat was excellent and our guide was very informative. he gave us a good background about Venice. Really I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, much do if you want to visit these two places. The lines to enter is very long, The guide spoke English very well and was very informative and friendly. The boat ride was on a water taxi on the grand canal.
Again very informative and friendly. The taxi is very expensive, so this tour is worth the money

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I really enjoyed the Grand Canal Boat tour. The tour guide was very informative and friendly. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message