The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 656 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

stian.e.eriksen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very interesting and well paced walk and talk through Venice's side streets and quiet piazzas. The guide covered both Venice's history and Venice today. There was a bit of a wait to board the gondolas, but gondola ride itself was very good, passing through both a series of narrow canals and a short stretch of the Grand Canal. Recommended.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Ceri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you want to learn about Venice and the Gran Canal area then book this trip, our guide Virginia was superb with her information regarding the way Venice and the buildings has developed through the ages and the history of how trade had developed and the importance of the canal system the Venetians.
Our Gondolier smoothly navigated us through the traffic on the Grand Canal and the lesser waterways that were full of Vibrance and colour, the hour passed so quickly we were back at the dock before we knew it, an experience that will last long in the memory!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

tcm_3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lots of walking, but very beautiful! Loved the grand canal tour! Would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

pam.earl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you don't have a lot of time this is a great way to spend the day seeing and learning about Venice. Our tour guide for the walk was a local girl and was very informative. We had plenty of free time and also saw Venice by boat on the Grand Canal which gives you a different perspective. A value for money day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

David S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

For the cost, it was outstanding. Short and sweet hour of walking, seeing places out of the way hardly anyone knows about, history of buildings, the city, the people. The gondola ride was a good 40 minutes down private canals, out into the Grand Canal as well. Wish it would have been 2 instead of 6 in the boat but it was still pleasurable.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

flatcoat

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very informative tour led by a local tour guide - Fredricka. Two hours of walking through the city starting with San Marco. Just the right balance of historical and architectural detail and fun facts as we explored parts of Venice off the big tourist piazzas. Skipping the line at the Basilica was awesome as the regular line was very long.

The one hour boat tour of the Lagoon, Grand Canal and many of the smaller canals was equally impressive. Christine was our guide and her local knowledge and positive knowledge were a big plus. You cannot miss a tour of the canals and this is much better value than the gondolas.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Whopper

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The Grand Canal is amazing of course! Wish we could and #39;ve gone out further into it - there was a lot of time wasted trying to get all the gondolas together.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Kristin G United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our favorite thing about this tour was the Grand Canal boat tour. Our tour guide for the walking part of it was very knowledgable about Venice and we loved his take on many of the traditions in Venice. For some reason I thought this included admission into Doge's Palace, but it does not. Definitely worth the money though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Pabasari G Sri Lanka

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I was with my husband and 11 month old baby in Venice in April 2016. This tour started well with a cloudy weather but is started pouring after a while and we could not hear the guide well in our headsets and with the baby started crying and fussing! So it wasnt what we expected for it to be. But our guide was informative and he did his best to keep the crowd engaged. Luckily the rain stopped just in time for the gondola ride through Grand Canal. It was a lovely experience, even though the canals did smell bad. Strollers cannot be accommodated in the gondola so bring your baby in a baby carrier.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Ian S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour which started at 11am. 1 hour round the Basilica followed by another hour walking the streets of Venice. Barbara our guide was very knowledgeable and funny, which made the subject matter a lot easier to take in and remember. We then had a 3 hour break to do our own sightseeing before going on a small boat for another hour on the grand canal with another knowledgeable guide. Great organisation and well worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

kgibby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Liked this tour very much. Had a wonderful Doge's palace tour with Marco, he was very entertaining. The walking tour was ok, not enough time in the basilica and the guide was hard to understand. Loved the grand canal tour, that was perfect.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Julie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well worth the money. If you can split the tours then it gives a recuperation time. Suitable for most though and the guides were great. The Grand Canal tour was the highlight though. When the driver turned off only some of the smaller canals, this was unexpected and fantastic!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

moodyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is one which can be up to 25 people, but the use of headphones means that you can always hear the guide. Ours was Kristina, who was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about Venice. It was really useful to have a brief history of Venice as we went round. It was a bit of a shame we could only be in St Mark's for 10 minutes, but that is not the tours fault, as it the policy of the church due to the number of groups visiting. We saw a lot of Venice in the walking tour, which would have been quite difficult to find by ourselves. The boat tour started back near St Marks so we had to make our own way back here, but there was 2 1/2 hours to do this allowing time to wander around the Rialto area first. The boat tour was extensive, going all the way up the Grand Canal as well as some smaller canals. The guide pointed out the key buildings, which was very helpful. Overall a very good introduction to Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

moodyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was excellent. I was very lucky as the rest of the group did not turn up and so I had a tour to myself! The guide was very knowledgeable and gave me an excellent tour of a hidden part of Venice. We walked for 1 hour and landed up at the Arsenal. It was great to see a part of the city that was quiet and where the Venetians lived and worked. The second hour was a boat trip on a water taxi. We kept to the back canals for much of the visit, although we also went down part of the Grand Canal. I thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone, but particularly if you want to get off the beaten track.

Doing what: Secret Corners of Venice

Ronald E

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

2 halves to this tour. first was a tour through San Marco church and the streets of Venice. a fair amount of knowledge. the boat tour thru the grand canal was the highlight. well narrated in English. worth doing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Tatsiana P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Much better than any gondola as you see the whole of the Grand Canal in 1hr plus the guide tells you about the buildings around and history etc. Great day out, lots of pictures!!

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Sunny L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The walking tour covered everything you need to learn about the city of Venice, including some of the locations of the movie Italian Job 2003 version.

St Mark's Basilica tour was good. The history felt a little light, but satisfactory. In addition, we didn't really skip the line. It was early in the morning and we waited about 10-15 min to get in. It wasn't bad, but I don't think it should be advertised as skip-the-line.

Doge's Palace: I missed this because my lunch took a bit longer than needed and the day was too beautiful to pass up having a drink in one of the squares.

Cons: Each tour of the 3 are considered separate. This means that once your first tour is done, you need to go back to the meeting place at the time to start your next tour. Unfortunately, the first guide didn't mention that I needed to go somewhere for the Doge's Palace tour and I missed it. I would have gotten a quick lunch before heading to Doge's Palace for the tour had I known in advance. The guide did ensure that Grand Canal Cruise meeting time and place were marked on my ticket.

Overall, the package covers the highlights of main island of Venice in 1 day. If you're there for a bit longer, you can also check out the St Mark's Campanile, do a Gondola ride, and check out Murano/Burano/Lido.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Lara D

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour guides were brilliant, but we had to cut short the Doge's Palace tour, because we had to run to meet the boat for The Grand Canal Tour. We emailed Viator at the time regarding this, but they did not and have not responded to us to sort out this problem.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Michael M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

This was the only tour event that I scheduled over our 10 days in Italy that I was disappointed in. This tour does not take you to any significant sights except for the grand canal which is easily accessible on your own. The gondola tour at the end was OK, but it almost feels as if that has become such a touristy things to do that it in no way is personal or unique. Our guide was pleasant enough and definitely an open book on the history of Venice, so my assessment is not a reflection on him, but on the content of the tour.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Louwana N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Sylvia was nice but I felt it was just a walk through some of the back streets with not a lot of learning about the secret corners. The boat ride through the grand canal was nice but you can get that with a water taxi. I wouldn't recommend this tour I only gave it 2 stars because the guide did answer questions, just not a lot of information offered.

Doing what: Secret Corners of Venice

Ian D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

What a disappointment!
We arrived around half an hour before our trip time, just managing to distract the guy obviously in charge from his mobile phone call for him to look at our booking form and instruct sit here pointing at a line of wooden benches. Instead we nipped to a nearby bar for a drink and came back 15 minutes later to join a long queue of people holding similar booking forms. We eventually got on to our Gondola at 4pm, with the guy in charge still talking away on his mobile we were booked for 3.30 but it seemed to be a simple queuing system regardless of booking times.
As a party of 4 we were also joined by 2 American visitors which filled the Gondola not much room to be serenaded then! Ours was the first Gondola out into the Grand Canal. We circled for a few minutes whilst the other Gondolas filled and then set off with the singer and his accordion player just behind. This was quite fun, going down the Grand Canal with a few of us singing along.
We then turned down a smaller canal and ended up in single file with the singer probably 4 or 5 Gondolas behind us. We could just about hear him. We then basically when down a few back alley canals, passing building with no frontage and many seeming to be held together with scaffolding poles! Of all the beautiful locations in Venice this trip seems to manage to find none of them!
After a total of 30 minutes of unimpressive sightseeing, we were back where we started.
The best part of the trip was when our Gondolier pretended to fall off, catching us all by surprise.
I booked this trip through Viator as I have used them in the past and found all the trips well organised and value for money but not in this case.
Very disappointing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Benedict S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The singer at the gondola had a beautiful voice. He sang multiple songs while we sailed along the grand canal, smaller canals and other areas not accessible by foot.

The overall experience was quite unique. Just wish we had a longer ride as I didnt want to get off the gondola.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

janmorgan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

This tour was delivered in about 55 English and 45 Spanish. This is not what we booked but apparently several Spanish-speaking visitors would have been left without a tour if our guide hadn't managed both languages which she did very graciously. The guide was a lovely person and engaging but I felt that there was too little information, delivered slowly as if we needed help to understand what was being said. The information seemed like basic stuff and didn't inspire like the other two Viator tours we took which were crammed with culture, history as well as basics. Our Vatican and Colosseum tours were brilliant and crammed with history, culture, entertaining asides and even dramatic stuff. This tour was fairly basic. It included a gondola ride which was a mistake. We were 6 to a boat and VERY unbalanced due to the position of seats and weight. Sitting on the edge of my seat didn't make much difference, there was a huge tilt. Also, we seemed to be in grungy back canals for most of the trip with just a block or so of the grand canal.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was our first time in Venice, I have been on your tours before and my husband had not and wasn't sure it was his thing. However any worries were quickly extinguished by the informative, friendly and funny, Marina, our guide for the first part of the tour. We both thoroughly enjoyed her commentary and felt that we had a much improved understanding of the city as a result. The second part of the tour, which was the boat tour of the Grand Canal was also very enjoyable. Top marks for Marina.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

When they say group trip, they REALLY mean group trip. We were on one of about 10 boats with only one of the boats having a singer. This was fine while we were one of the boats next to the singer. As soon as we left the grand canal for the smaller ones, we were so far ahead of the singing boat you could not hear a thing. The gondola is something you have to do in Venice and the price of this trip was about the same as getting one in Venice. Just don't expect the Serenading to great.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message