The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 681 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Simone A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It has been the greatest tour we've ever made. As there was regatta on the Grand Canal, it was closed for motor boats. So our Gondola has been the only boat on the Grand Canal in the area of the Rialto Bridge. It was perfect.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent Tour and very knowledgeable guides for both the waking tour and private boat tour.
The meeting place was easy to find with the instructions supplied and had seating in a small park/garden area.
By-Pass the crowds for St Marks Basilica did just what it said and no waiting, Don't take a rucksack/large bag as these are not allowed in St Marks Basilica, however you can leave them free of charge just around the corner and the tour will wait whilst you drop them off. Also photographs are not allowed inside the Basilica.
We did not get to see the inside of the Dogge Palace but not sure if this was actually part of the tour as it now a museum and probably would have taken too long.
The walking tour of the back streets were very informative and the earphones kept us all together.
The hour boat tour was in a private water taxi the nice wooden ones and was excellemt, especially as the sun was setting.
The only complaint was that the guys checking us in at the walking tour told us to arrive at 5:00pm for the boat tour when in fact we should have been there at 3:00pm as on our itinerary. Not too much of a problem as the guides got us on another taxi and we got to see the amazing colours of the grand canal as the sun was setting,
Highly recommend Viatour and their great staff.
Steve and Kim

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Divina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow!! Venice was the highlight of our trip. Thank you so much for accommodating us to split the tour. Our ship was leaving at 5 pm and we could not take the boat tour at 4:30 so we asked if we could take it the evening before. We realized it was a fully booked and busy tour and prayed we could get on it. And very thankfully we did. The tour of the grand canal was so nice , we felt like movie stars on the grand canal. Our tour guide was fantastic. The following morning we took the morning walking tour with the skip the line. Boy it really is worth it to skip the line. They said it was going to be one of the busiest days of the season and it certainly was worth skiping the line. The local guide was so knowledgeable and we could tell he loved his city. What a treat. Thank you for an unforgettable experience of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The meeting point for this tour was right down the walkway from our hotel and easy to find. We met up with other people on the tour and divided up into four groups of 6 or 7 people to board four traditional Venetian Gondolas. We started our tour in the Grand Canal and were serenaded by a great singer who boarded one of the gondolas. We made our way through various channels where the acoustics were amazing. We even had a group sing-along to traditional Italian songs. This tour lasted about 45 minutes before we returned to our starting point. I recommend this tour because you get the full feel of Venice for a longer duration. If you want a private gondola ride with your significant other, expect it to be expensive and only 20 minutes average in duration. I would be hesitant to book the gondola restaurant packages see the reviews, go find a nice Cicchetti Bar instead.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Debra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We arranged to take this tour on our first full day in Venice. It was wonderful to be able to skip the very long line at St. Mark's, and really helpful to have headphones so we could hear the tour guide no matter how close or far we were in the group. The guide, Andrew, was a wealth of information and led us on a great tour of the highlights of the cathedral as well as a leisurely and informative walk through some quieter parts of town. The boat tour was several hours later, using water taxis for small groups. Barbara, who guided that tour, was also very knowledgeable and had a microphone so we could all hear and learn the history of the beautiful buildings along the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The walking tour and tour of St. Marks was great. We had great weather, which helped, but Marco was very informative and pleasant. His knowledge and passion for the city was obvious. The boat to was also exciting. The trip down the Grand Canal was informative, as our guide provided us with a lot of history. We also got to go down many smal canals to get a great feel for the city of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Deryl Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you only take one tour in Venice, this would be the one. It had a very informative walking tour with an experienced guide. The water tour was great too. We had a chance to see many different things along the Grand Canal and other smaller waterways. I definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Pamela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great package, which allowed us to do the things we most wanted to do in central Venice in a very efficient way. Skip-the-line tours of both the Basilica and Doge's Palace are definitely the way to go! Saved us lots of time and aggravation. We had a little bit of a hiccup with timing of the Grand Canal Tour a number of us were told to show up at 5:00p rather than 4:00p - but the company quickly resolved the problem and we had a lovely cruise.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Vik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent walking tour of Venice. This is a fast-paced tour with a lot of walking required so make sure you have comfy shoes. The boat tour provides a good overview of the Grand Canal and photo opps negating the need for a gondola ride. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you do one boat tour on Venice, make it this one! It is a MUST do on your trip - especially at the beginning of your trip. Christina the tour guide was truly exceptional and made the tour extra special. She was informative, knowledgeable, courteous, funny and very genuine. The group is small so that everyone has a place to stand up and take pictures on the boat. Christina also took the time after the tour to point out a few local spots to visit and answer any questions we had about our visit to Venice. The tour itself takes you through variety of hidden canals that you wouldn't otherwise see along with the Grand Canal. You also make a stop at the Jewish Ghetto for a short walking tour. Christina gives an entertaining history of Venice and has you hanging on her every word while showing you various points of interest and little known facts along the way. The tour was so wonderful, we would do it again on our next visit! Grazie mille to Christina for creating such a memorable experience!

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals by Motorboat

Coolmitch United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour. I must admit the thought of spending 2 hours on a motorboat going up and down the canals in the heat did not sound good. What a surprise , me and my wife found it very interesting. We visited the boat yard first and I enjoyed the history being said by our guide. We then visited the Jewish Getto and were able to get off and walk through the streets. Very interesting the different style of houses and shops. We walked through to pick up the boat again and travelled down the grand canal. We got a good view of the Rialto Bridge from the end of the canal as from the normal side it has hordings up with advertisments. we were told they were doing up the bridge and we would not be able to get to the spot we got engaged at some 2 years before by foot. We next got off on the less busy side of the grand canal and were lead by our guide to a Gondola boat building business which was very interesting to see. We got back on the boat for the last few minutes of the tour which we fully enjoyed and would not hesitate to recommend. Thanks Viator I know you can get things right sometimes.

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals by Motorboat

Frances H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

These 4 tours are an excellant way to hit the highlights of Venice. The Doge Palace is a can't miss. Our tour guide was very informative weaving Venice history into the beauty of the palace. Skipping the line at the Basilica is worth the cost of the tour. Our walking tour guide pointed out hidden gems. The grand canal cruise was a highlight of our Venice visit. It was informative about the beautiful villas and neighborhoods from the canal. Our boat driver also took us through smaller canals due to extra time.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Wendy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting, so much history in the Doges Palace, beautiful paintings and roof alfrescos, walked across the bridge of sigh and past the prison cells, walking tour interesting we were taken around some residential areas and ended at the Rialto Bridge, you then have some free time before your boat trip that was great going through the small canals, Grand Canal, good tour in all. Easy to find meeting place.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Elza Jo Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The price we got it just right and fit our budget. The route taken is in the Grand Canal and surround the alleys not far from St. Marks, so it was good. We got 6.30 pm ride but he Gondoliers were nice enough to let us board at 6 pm as we have waited since 5.30 pm. It was fun first gondola experince for me and my mom. Thanks to Viator to make the ride come thru which fit our limited budget. I'll share this hidden gem to my friends. Everybody can experience gondola ride :

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Chris R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed a stunning tour around the sights of Venice, including the Doge and #39;s Palace, the Basilica and prison, to name but a few. We had a good walking tour of the and #34;streets and #34; and bridges of Venice. Finally having a lovely boat trip along the Grand Canal and some of the adjoining smaller canals.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Kelly C K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. The morning tour was informative, then we were given a break for lunch and sight-seeing on our own, with a return to the tour in the afternoon so that we could take a water taxi ride through the grand canal and around parts of the island. Well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Andrew K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I would give the boat trip down the Grand Canal 5 out of 5 however the walking tour needs to spend more time within the Basillica and would have been good to walk to the Rialto Bridge instead of touching the outskirts of a couple of Districts which lacked interest. The tour guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgeable.The tour was on time and very well organised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Silma P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Was disappointed because it is very confusing the streets in Venice. When we asked for directions everyone you tell you it only takes 2 minutes, but it is not the truth.
There was no singing on the Gondola ride, what disappointment, but was a good ride on the Grand Canal.
The walking tour could be a little better, some good sites she did not showed us, like the San Marco Square that we saw on our own..
We had some rain too and it was cold.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Mark C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Gave 3 stars because the boat tour was included. Tour of the Basilica of St. Mark was far too short and only walked through the lower level. Maybe 15 minutes max. It would have been nice to walk the upper level for another 15 minutes and then shorten the walk through the local neighborhood. The walk through the local neighborhood was informative and could have been shorter. Boat tour was primarily of the Grand Canal and was pretty informative. Good length as well. Both tour guides were excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Susan L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

To be on the Grand Canal in Venice is quite an experience, the singer who serenaded us was very good, very funny, had it not been for him my rating would have been one star less.
What was not good was paying for a 45 minute tour, then being dumped ashore after 25 minutes.
Bad customer service, tried to complain which fell on very deaf, very rude Italian ears, we had already paid, so they could not charge us 100 Euros, so we got the cheap seat service.
This reflects on you Viator, not the people doing the tour, might I suggest a secret shopper
Graham Southampton, England

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Paola G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Very disappointed! We arrived on time - so the gondola was already full, which meant we sat on the very small seats in the middle opposite each other which we accepted.
However as stated in the introduction to this booking an Italian crooner aboard each gondola was not true - there was 1 singer about 4 gondola's in front of us, which meant we only caught every other word of the songs he was singing, and that was if we weren't round a corner when we heard nothing!
gondola was on the grand canal for all of 5 seconds and then took us around small streets with nothing to look at but high walls on all sides!
Then the gondola took us back - after only 20 minutes not the 35 minutes as booked!
I mean I am pleased I have ticked off doing a gondola in Venice, but perhaps we would have been better to pay the extra money to have it on our own, as we may have got the FULL TIME we had actually paid for and gone down waterways with something better than bricks to look at!
This was booked as a treat for our first wedding anniversary and we were left very upset and frustrated at the poor service!
The public boats going to the islands was more worth it for the same money as this!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Lucy T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

When we booked our tour, we were under the impression that we would be on the Grand Canal more and see more sights but we realize that we did pay for a shorter time frame so we did get what we paid for. The gentleman doing the serenading was wonderful and talented. However, our gondolier was extremely rude to me as I was gathering my belongings to get off the gondola. Hey lady, hurry up. I don't feel that was called for at all and completely ruined the entire experience for me.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Michelle S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We had a 7 PM ride scheduled but were told upon our arrival that the gondola rides didn't start until
7:30 PM. Staff member seemed surprised that there was a 7 PM booking. They also appeared to be disorganized. THe ride was described as being 40 minutes long with a serenade along the way. Our ride was about 25 minutes long and our driver did not serenade. We had to listen to someone in another gondola but as we separated along the way we could no longer hear him. In addition, our ride was down side canals with little view. I thought we would have had more time in the Grand Canal. I was disappointed with this activity.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

stian.e.eriksen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very interesting and well paced walk and talk through Venice's side streets and quiet piazzas. The guide covered both Venice's history and Venice today. There was a bit of a wait to board the gondolas, but gondola ride itself was very good, passing through both a series of narrow canals and a short stretch of the Grand Canal. Recommended.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Ceri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you want to learn about Venice and the Gran Canal area then book this trip, our guide Virginia was superb with her information regarding the way Venice and the buildings has developed through the ages and the history of how trade had developed and the importance of the canal system the Venetians.
Our Gondolier smoothly navigated us through the traffic on the Grand Canal and the lesser waterways that were full of Vibrance and colour, the hour passed so quickly we were back at the dock before we knew it, an experience that will last long in the memory!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message