The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 486 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was well organized and informative. Walking portion covered alot of ground and tour guide was very knowledgable. Gondola ride was a hoot. The tide was coming in so the ride got more exciting when we had to tilt a little to the left and right to get under the walking bridges. Canals were very trash free and the grand canal was very busy but safe. Saw alot of interesting landmarks.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great way to get a feel for Venice and see its highlights. Gina, our tour guide on the walking tour, was a native Venetian. Her love for the city she lives in was evident throughout the tour. Gina was extremely knowledgable and gave us many insights into the history and culture of this incredible city. The two hours flew by!
After a short break we took the water taxi tour to get another perspective of the city. Christina was also an outstanding guide! As we cruised around the smaller canals and finished our tour on the spectacular Grand Canal, we really fell in love with Venezia!
The four of us in our group were extremely pleased with this tour. We would have never learned or have seen so much on our own. If you could request Gina as your tour guide, you would have the honor of seeing Venice with someone who has a passion for her city...who lives, breathes and loves Venice...and so will you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The gondola ride was a highlight of our trip. We took the evening tour and floated past palaces and bridges along the Grand canal while being serenaded by a singer and an accordionist.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tours and tour guides. Favorite was the evening boat tour o the Grand Canal! Christine was very good!!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a brilliant experience ..... do it!! It was a little tricky for us to find the pier to start, but we did an on-foot 'recky' beforehand. On the trip we were serenaded by an opera singer and entertained by an accordion player in our group of ten boats each with about 6 people in each, which first headed up the Grand Canal for a short distance before heading up the narrow back streets (I mean back canals!) where the music sounded its best. It lasts about 40 -45 mins altogether and was far better value than anything our cruise ship was offering.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an outstanding day in Venice thanks to our walking guide Vanessa who gave us a wonderful introduction to her city from a native's perspective. Then from the boat tour down the Grand Canal, we enjoyed a relaxing view of the city as well as learning historical facts about this amazing place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour guides. The walking tour and boat tour of Grand canal were just the right length. Take this tour early in your Venice stay so you will know your way around and what you would like to spend more time seeing. The only negative is that there was a wait (forgot exact lenght) about 2 hours between guided tour and boat tour, so tied up most of afternoon. Viator tours have the best tour guides !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A good all inclusive tour with great guide. Always counting heads! Afternoon on the Grand Canal was in a small launch and at just the right time of day for the sun - which we had plenty of!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our morning tour guide was fabulous . She was extremely information and a pleasure to listen to. She was very interesting and we had a lot of fun walking the streets with her. She gave us recommendations and was wonderful overall . We loved San Marco and she made sure we loved it even more after the tour . The afternoon boat tour was ok, there was a lot of confusion about who should go in what boat and how many people should go in what boat, it ended up being a great boat tour of huge grand canal . Georgia was our guide and she was extremely knowledgeable. The only thing I did not like was e boat driver was on his cell phone the entire time and all we could hear was him. I think he should have been respectful to our tour guide Georgia so she didn't have to talk over him.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Everything about the tour was as advertised. Meeting place was easy to locate, rep showed on time, group was escorted to the boats and the tour began. As a first time visitor to Venice, the Grand Canal Tour was the perfect introduction to such a beautiful city! I recommend this tour to everyone, whether first timers or frequent visitors.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Small group of 8, cruising the Grand Canal and smaller back canals, learning about the history and architecture styles, including locations of George Clooney's wedding etc! Fun and relaxing and better bang for you buck than a gondola ride!

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The walking tour was very good, informative and our guide was very knowledgeable. The boat cruise through the Grand Canal was excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The grand canal trip was perfect. As it turned out we were on the water just as the gas for coming in to George Clooney's wedding, so we got to see many of the celebrities going to go wedding. We also saw him numerous history buildings and learned a lot about Venice. I would highly recommend this to her to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour Guide for walking tour was great, boat ride along the grand canal was fantastic

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We took the 6:30 gondola ride. It was the perfect time - the Grand canal was not busy with boats and the smaller canals had very little traffic so you really got to see the buildings and architecture around you. While we were being serenaded the sunset in the distance a the most amazing rainbow appeared - just spectacular!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message