• USD ($)
  • English
The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 402 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An excellent guide. The tour of the Basilica is difficult because of the crowd, but she managed to explain and show the major sights. The highlight is the tour of the back streets of Venice. We saw the little things that without such a good guide you would surely miss.
Personally I would have preferred the boat tour to follow on directly from the walking tour thereby leaving the rest of the day free. But the tour of the Grand Canal was informative and very good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

the gondola ride was out of this world one of our wish lists crossed off they took us down the grand canal and then through all the little waterways and the walking tour was very imformative her english was very good and she gave us the confidance to explore next day on our own

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The boat tour was excellent, especially the grand canal. The walking portion was too big a group and the narration was flat a times.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The walking tour portion of the tour was a little boring. Our guide was very confusing. The boat tour, however, was amazing. They took us through small canals and through the entire grand canal. The views were spectacular. NOTE: They do give you a few hours gap between the walking and boat tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

ABSOLUTE AND TOTAL DISSAPOINTMENT!! You can buy a better Gondola ride for the same or price on site. We thought we were going to enjoy a once in a lifetime romantic ride like the picture shows, instead we were treated like a herd of cattle by these disgruntled looking and ill manner so called "gondoliers" that looked more like old juvenile delinquents than your typical gondoliers who were too busy chatting among themselves or on their cell phones and smoking. NONE of them wore the typical outfit you see in pictures, most of them dressed in black jackets and their hats thrown inside the vessel on the floor, God forbid they wore it on their heads it would spoil they spiked hair! They were not even pleasant to talk to. The serenade consisted of a singer and an accordion player in one gondola and the rest of the 8 gondolas involved in this unpleasant event one next to the other like sardines in a can. They sat my husband in front of a young girl on the side stools and since they were facing each other it put them both in a very awkward and unpleasant situation, then they faced forward and their butts didn't fit in the little stool. Awful!! DO NOT BOOK THIS RIDE!! As you walk from San Marco to this site you will find along the way many neat looking and pleasant gondoliers willing to give you a ride in their beautiful gondolas for the same price at your convenience and alone. The one rowing our gondola did not speak or acknowledge any of us at all, I tell you, just like we were just cargo. At the end of the unpleasant ride when I asked to have a picture taken of us sitting in the main seats, it was like I asked them to swim the grand canal from one end to the other with the hands tied! Their faces reminded me of a disrespectful teenager rolling the eyes. I believe that if they dislike what they are doing for a living so much they should not be there. It's not the tourist's fault.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Magical is the first word that comes to mind. Venice is breathtakingly beautiful especially in the sunshine on the day we were there. Our guide, Christina was very friendly and had a vast amount of knowledge; the 2 hour walking tour was set at a very steady pace to suit everyone's ability, it was perfect. After the walking tour we had the afternoon to explore on our own before returning to The Royal Gardens to meet our guide for the Grand Canal Boat Trip; our second guide was another Christina, equally friendly as the first one and gave us all a lot of information, it was fascinating. I think the combined Walking and Boat Tour was extremely well worth doing and would recommend it especially if you only have a short time to take in the amazing sights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The boat taxi touring ride itself was excellent, and including a chance to see both lagoons, the Grand Canal, as well as many of the smaller canals and views. The tour and tour guide were below expectations. The tour guide was late, we waited for him to finish eating before leaving, and his moderating of the tour was modest; in addition, he arranged to stop the boat tour for 2 landings, both of which were interesting and unique, but were not listed by Viator as part of the boat tour and took away from our expensive time on the water. Overall, the taxi tour was among our travel highlights; however, as our first use of Viator, compared with other tour groups, I'd strongly recommend that you more closely evaluate your vendors. Thanks.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Grand Canal Evening Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We were a little disappointed with the tour around St Marks basilica, thought we could have gone onto the terrace and into the crypt. There was no walk around the square but some interesting sights and facts on the walk around the streets to Rialto Bridge.
The boat trip on the grand canal was very good even though it was not for the full hour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

We waited for longer than 40 mins for this experience, we shouldn't have bothered. The actual Experience only took 20 mins max. Left the dock, out into a holding area on the grand canal then back into the smaller side canals (which we'd already walked round) then back to the dock again. NOT romantic

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was awesome, and it was an experience not to be missed. The perfect way to see Venice...along the Grand Canal and into the smaller canals. The vocalist who sang and the accordion player were great and it was a fantastic authentic experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. Well organised. Very knowledgable and pleasant guide. Two hours flew by. Then later in the day we had a FAB boat tour of grand canal. Amazing value for money. I'd call it a must. Tour round st marks hurried but not a problem as we went back the next day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazing experience! We started with a tour on the Grand Canal and then we were moving slowly through lovely narrow streets while being serenaded by a singer with an amazing voice. Very special and romantic plus we were really lucky with the weather (beautiful sunny winter day).

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

For something a bit different, this tour will please. Although it was a bit cold, we had 3 gondolas of people which started in the Grand Canal with some light music from an accordion. When the serenade started, the look on my wife and kids faces was golden. The echos of his voice as we passed thru the smaller canals only added to the relaxing atmosphere. Even the people on the bridges we passed under were mesmerized. Would recommend this to anyone who have already been on a gondola and wants to try something different.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Couldn't really fault this experience - the location was easy to find, the actual trip was lovely - we opted for the 6.30pm shared gondola ride with serenade and it was really romantic - it was just getting dark and the singer and accordion player were great. The trip took us along the grand canal and through the smaller waterways, which was a lovely experience. We departed on time and got our full 35 minutes. The price was excellent compared to what we would've paid had we just turned up to a gondola place. I'd read many reviews saying there were 4 people in each gondola, even though they accommodate 6. But in our experience they filled them to capacity - there were 5 of us in our gondola (I think there were only 5 seats), and in the gondola the rest of our family took there were 6 people. They took several boats out together and the serenade (the singer and accordionist) were only on ONE boat (as we'd expected, but the couple with us thought they were getting a serenade on each boat), but could be heard clearly from the other boats. I would be happy to recommend this trip.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed the tour especially the boat tour along the Grand Canal. The radio system that we had during the walking tour could have been better. These radio`s seemed to have been older as compared to other tours that I have been on through Viator. Maybe time to change them. Our guides for both tours were very good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message