The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 562 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

arthur f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Not as romantic as the photo, but an amazing once in a lifetime experience. About 15 min on the grand canal - which is more than enough - think I-95 or I-5 ! then down some of the smaller canals for another half hour which are a delightful trip. The serenade was wonderful. The trip length was just right. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed this tour. It offered up several places of interest that we wanted to see and not having been to Venice prior we felt we could not visit these locations without help and guidance. Doges Palace was very interesting and had a great guide, very professional and nice young woman. Grand Canal ride was teriffic! We saw so much of Venice that way, so glad we went. St Marks Basilica very nice, rest of walking tour was just okay, guide offered entirely too much info for an individual to absorb and talked the entire time actually got tired of hearing her and removed my ear piece. I realize that the guide can sometimes make or break a trip, but all in all it was a good tour and very happy that we did decide to take it. Would definitely book this tour again.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Willie O

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Excellent I would recommend this tour. a lot of walking, but well worth it. The one hour boat tour of the Grand Canal was very comfortable with 5 other tourist

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Kate L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

lovely ride of around 25 minutes that had the singer and accordionist aboard our gondola. they played Volare and a few other familiar italian songs. however, slightly disappointed that the route taken was not along the grand canal but one of the smaller canals in the fenice area.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Gloria C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour guide was great, however, the travel agency you meet at and coordinate with have staff that need to work on their customer service skills. Overall, a great walking tour. It is not a private Gondola Ride, and is shared with at least one other family they put 6 people to a Gondola. Also, you're barely on the Grand Canal for very long.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Michelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! Best part was the guided boat tour along the grand canal.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Cacwl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding, best tour we took on our trip. Very knowledgable guide, friendly and made tour very interesting and fun. We saw parts of Venice that you would never find and was a great way to get a sense of the place and we went back to lots of the places later too. The grand canal cruise was definitely a highlight and must do. Small groups on boats made it perfect.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Martin S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a very good tour. The tour guide was pleasant and knowledgeable and the gondola ride on the grand canal was terrific.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

Marie D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The Doge's Palace and St. Mark's tours were beyond excellent. We were blessed with wonderful tour guides who were very knowledgeable of the history and culture of both. The Grand Canal cruise was a waste of time as we could not understand our tour guide, plus the boat was driven so fast you couldn't relax. If you use the water buses, you will see the same sights. Without this cruise, the rating would have definitely been a five star!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Gregg C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The first part of the tour was average. Not helped by pouring rain. For the Doge and #39;s Palace our guide was excellent, funny and knowledgeable.

The grand canal cruise would be better in dry conditions. But the warmth of the river taxi was a welcome refuge! The guide for this was good also.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Ralph B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The Gondola check in point was very convenient and easy to find. The ride lasted about 30 minutes. We were in the last Gondola of a flotilla of 6 so we were not close to the singer. The route included the grand canal and 3-4 side canals. Overall the ride was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Crystal S United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The tour guide Jovanna was awesome! She was incredibly knowledgeable and answered our questions. I can't say enough good things about her. I learned a lot about the history of Venice. But The gondola ride was awful. It smelled like sewer. Also, we went in November and it was not hot, I couldn't imagine the smell on a hot summer day. The gondolier hardly acknowledged that there were even people in the boat and certainly didn't sing to us. Gondola rides are NOT as romantic as they look on TV. My advice - definitely do the walking tour because it's awesome and informative but skip the gondola and take Ferry down the Grand Canal instead less stinky.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Elizabeth P USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Gondola ride was wonderful and we simply loved wandering in the back canals and on the grand canal. Not sure we needed the tour guide...pretty pricey for the add-on. The views and the charm of Venice doesn and #39;t disappoint.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

Margaret L B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

4 of us missed the Doge's Palace tour. When we checked in for the morning walking tour, we were told to be back at 3 PM for the Grand Canal Tour. We thought that the Doge Palace would be included with the morning's tour guide, but she dropped us off at the Realli Bridge and told us to return in the afternoon for the boat tour. St. Mark's Square had been flooded in the AM, so we thought maybe access to the Palace had been blocked. It wasn't until we talked with others on the boat tour that we realized we'd missed the 1 PM Doge Palace altogether. We tried to take the Viator receipt to the Doge Palace but they would not honor it and we were out of time. Plus for 4 of us, we were out the 4 x 18 72 euros. The morning tour had been rushed and our tour guide did not hold the sign up very high so sometimes we were scrambling to find her. The Grand Canal Tour was great and really tied the whole city together.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Arthur G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

We did this tour Nov 7, 2015, and it was OK for seeing parts of Venice on foot that we may not have ventured into as many were off the beaten path. The boat tour portion on the Grand Canal was good with the exception of the 'heavily accented, hesitant English speaking' tour guide. The major disappointment with this tour was the need to wait 2 and 1/2 hours in between the walking tour and the boat tour - why was this necessary? We think maybe because we had to find our own way back to the meeting location at St Mark's for the boat tour. The walking tour guide -Marcos - said his portion was complete and pointed us down a street to take a left to St Mark's, however is was more lefts and rights than we were told. If you take this tour be aware their is NO skip the line, we were in the line for St Mark's and you will need to find your own way back to the meeting point for the boat tour. The first guide - Marcos - should have returned us to St Mark's and the next tour guide should have been on time - about 10 couples were waiting for 10 - 15 minutes, thinking we all got ripped off for the boat tour. The lead guide gave no explanation for her lateness.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

susmo109

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

The walking tour was poor. We did not go to any sites of interest except the grand canal. We only walked a couple of blocks and the guide spent the time discussing wells and sewer system, terraces on the roof, laundry lines and not about the history of the city. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

soduk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Rosanna gave a wonderful tour in the city. Christina was very good for the boat ride through the grand canal.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Don

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We went on this tour in late September, after flying in to Venice a day early for an Eastern Mediterranean cruise.

We ended up about arriving about 10 minutes late for the start of the tour, after getting lost in the confusing streets and alleys of Venice. However, one of the outstanding customer service people at the counter immediately offered to lead us out and catch us up with the tour.

Once joined up with the tour, I was very impressed with the tour guide. He kept everyone interested with his knowledge of Venice and his great sense of humor.

The gondola ride at the end of the tour was great. We traveled through a number of quiet, small side canals before reaching the Grand Canal. I felt it was a fascinating exposure to Venice.

My one warning to others interested in this tour is to give yourself extra time and a good map to find the gathering point for the tour. Venice can be very, very confusing to a new visitor.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is an absolute MUST DO! You get so much more than the standard Grand Canal boat tour. Christine, our tour guide, was the very best guide we had on our two week trip. She was entertaining, engaging, and we learned so much about Venice. Its a wonderful overview of the whole city, with amazing views, entertaining stories, and interesting history and local culture. We even got off the boat and walked for a few minutes in two of the neighborhoods, seeing sights we never would have found on our own wandering the city. Don't hesitate to book this tour!

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals by Motorboat

gabeperezp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very interesting tour and with a very information guide. The boat tour of the Grand Canal was brilliant and Christina's enthusiasm for her beautiful city was contagious! We would love to return to Venice for longer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

CHARLES K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Outstanding! Although the wind prevented the Grand Canal experience, Donatella was so informative and the byways so charming, we could not have wanted a better time! Thank you!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

rudyjane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful tour. Guides were so informative and helpful. Right on time at the meeting places. I learned a great, great deal about Venice from this tour. I also like that there was a break between the walking tour and the water taxi tour of the Grand Canal. When we finished the walking tour we were in a residential district the other side of the Rialto bridge. We found a wonderful trattoria to have lunch, then, with instructions from the guide, found our way back to our hotel easily. I would heartily recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

cynthiabessell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Arianna was very entertaining in telling of the history of Venice as we strolled along the canals. There was a perfect amount of time for lunch by the Grand Canal before the fabulous boat tour with Sergio to see things from a different perspective. We were in Venice for the day just for the tour and it was perfect!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Claire A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We decided this would be a good start for our mini break which included 3 clear days in Venice and I would recommend this to anyone as you get a great over view.
The walking tour was easy to pick up at the Gardens in San Marco and the large group was split into smaller ones which I presume was to do with the language spoken. Our guide Fredericka is a local lady, born in Vencie where she lives now with her family including 2 children. I could not recommend her highly enough as she was knowledgable, anecdotal, amusing and clear. The system of earpieces for everyone and the guide speaking into a microphone on her jacket was perfect as it meant you didn't have to hover around her to pick up what she was saying.
I must point out tho that Venice is not for the feint hearted or tender of foot! There are a hugh number of bridges of course and walking on paved surfaces is also very tiring, my legs ached so much that evening!
We had lunch and a very welcome rest and then back to the Gardens to join our Grand Canal boat tour with another guide, whose name I can't recall but he too was excellent.

Venice was beautiful, very clean, not a whif of anything unpleasant as I had been warned and the people very friendly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Travis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour that allows you to see the highlights of Venice in a single day. The Grand Canal tour was one of the highlights of our time in Venice. This is a must-do if you have the time.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message