• USD ($)
  • English
The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 432 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide was fantastic!! He know a lot of information that was informative and his lively personality made it interesting. The transition to the gondola ride went very well and we had a good time cruising the canals out to the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An exemplary walking tour around Venice, our guide a true Venetian was very knowledgeable. The walk is of a good pace and covers a lot of the San Marco area. It starts at Saint Marks square and into the Basilica where she explains in detail all you are seeing.
The out into San Marco on foot over bridges and canals into the quieter less Tourist areas before returning to the tumult and jostling around Rialto bridge.
You the have free time, for us we returned to our hotel for a shower (the tour is hot work in the sun) and a sandwich before returning 2 1/2 hours later for the boat tour.
WE found the boat tiur to be perfect, we went around the grand canal, out into the lagoon , past the graveyard and Murano in a comfortable boat with the sun on your back and wind in your hair whilst the guide expertly points out the history of what you are seeing.

Two Lovely tours in one day, very impressed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The serenade gondola ride was fantastic. Really good singing and a lovely gentle ride a little way along the Grand Canal and down a small canal and back. Over too quickly though.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a great way to get to know the lesser known parts of Venice. Our tour guide was wonderful. I can't remember his name, but he was funny and very engaging. It was nice to hear about Venice from someone who was born and raised there and lives in the city. The walking tour centered mainly on the alley ways and sites that we wouldn't have visited on our own. So it was nice to see that part of Venice. The tour did not cover the major attractions such St. Mark's Square, but that was fine. Following the walking tour, we were led to where the gondolas were parked. Each gondola fits up to 6 people so it's very likely that you will be sitting with other people. The gondola ride was ok. Our Gondolier never spoke or pointed things out. The ride was in the smaller canals and not the Grand Canal as the description implies. This was fine with us though. I would definitely recommend this tour. It's professionally done and we really felt it completed our visit to Venice.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

A long line of people accepting this tour and there was an inevitable delay. When the organiser was ready we were rushed to a shared gondola (this I understood was the arrangement) but I was required to sit at towards the bow on a plank whereas my wife had a cushioned seat away from me. A bit of a paddle in the Grand Canal followed by the gondola fleet heading through some smaller canals. The tour was a bit "so what" however the accompaning dinner arrangement was quite good - hard to find (as are most things in Venice so no complaints here) but very good meal and this certainly was the best part of this offer

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour was a complete waste of time and not worth 5 euros. We were guided around back streets of Venice to have a history lesson about the history of the city. While some interesting facts were learned, I could have read the information in a travel book for free. We were not taken to ANY known sites, rather to back alley courtyards and a building on a backstreet that the guide thought was interesting. We were near St. Marks square and the Rialto Bridge, but she did not take us there and provide any information about those major sites. The guide was friendly, but the tour offered nothing...boring, uninspiring and frustrating experience. The guide spent half the time holding up a map to explain the city layout. The Gondola ride was awful. We were lined up like an amusement park ride and our gondolier was unfriendly and pre-occupied with texting during our ride. We even have a picture of that experience. The line for the gondoliers was long and the boats were jammed together. The trip promised a Grand Canal tour....no way. We had one turn onto the Grand Canal, then immediately turned onto the first side canal. Very disappointing to say the least.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our grand canal boat trip was brilliant worth every penny. we had someone called sergei (probably spelt wrong) who was a fantastic guide as well as really funny. He was very informative and the trip took in all of the canal definately a must do trip. would highly recommend.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Highly recommend, 30 min gondola ride (6 ppl total in boat), serenaded by Italian opera singer. You don't see much of the Grand Canal, but you do see the inside of Venice's canals you cannot see on foot. It does the trick.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The super saver combines 3 tours at a discounted price. It does make for a long day. We started the first tour (Doge's Palace) at 9:00am and ended the last tour ( the boat ride on the Grand Canal) at about 6:30pm. We had approximately 2 hours between tours to eat and relax, so it wasn't too bad. The tours themselves are excellent. The guides are professional and very knowledgeable. Our favorite was the boat ride on the Grand Canal. This is a great way to see the highlights of the city in one day.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent! The serenade was wonderful... several gondolas gathered and we were serenaded, then we all went up and down canals and the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The walking tour was interesting and educational as you can see places you can't see by yourself. The boat ride was really nice as you go thru the grand canal and see the nice buildings and sights. The tour guides for both the walking and boat tour were all great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Nice trip around the Grand Canal with good guide coverage to make you take note! This trip though, in my opinion, would be better in the mornings. Having spent the day on the canal buses to get out and about a canal tour towards the end of the day takes it's toll.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Not as the picture shown here! We were 6 in a Gondola, which was OK, but you should show it in your publicity.There were about 8 Gondolas in a flotilla, with a singer in the middle one.We hovered in the grand Canal for 15 minutes, then had a ride around a side canal, then returned to the pontoon. A flavour of a gondola ride. As we received it as a gift the experience was much appreciated.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

I didn't finish this tour because it was a ride down the Grand Canal with no commentary; which is just the same as taking the water boat bus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Bazza1977
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The fact that I was expecting a more detailed guide through the canals outlining some architecture and history of some of the buildings and canals, I was majorly disappointed. This tour is basically a hired Taxi boat with a guide on a microphone holding about 8 people and some of them had no access to outside space so were constantly secluded inside with just a small window. The route itself took you from St Mark's Square round towards the Hotel Stucky, towards the grand canal and up it before returning to the start. Some pointing of buildings and remarks on some aspects but I was hoping for so much more. Not worth the money and I'm sure there are better boat tours out there if you look.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message