The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 497 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

At Mark's Tour was very informative Arianna was a great tour guide. Grand Canal tour was nice you couldn't hear the guide unless you were sitting next to him. I would definitely take this tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The evening grand canal tour was booked for 5:30pm but on arriving at the meeting place we were told there were too many people for this time and we would have wait for the 6.30pm tour. This was annoying as we had already had the Doge's Palace tour and the St. Marks Basilica tours in the morning and afternoon so it proved to be a rather long day. Why we were not informed earlier in the day about the change of time I found annoying.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good tour. Highly recommend it if you are short on time, and want to get a good feel for Venice, including the grand canal and its highlights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lovely walking tour enabling you to get your besrings and some interesting facts. Gondola ride was amazing. Do quiet on the side canals and then the hussle and bussel of the grand canal.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide for everything except the Grand Canal Boat Ride was, Barbara, and she was fantastic! She was a wealth of knowledge. The meeting point for the tour was very easy to find once we made our way to Saint Mark's Square. We were SO glad we chose the Skip the Line option because the lines to both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were ridiculously crazy long!!! The inside of the Doge's Palace was beautiful, and Barbara did a great job explaining the history of the Doge's as well as the architecture and the artwork inside.We were very happy to see that she was going to be our guide for St. Mark's Basilica and our walking tour. The inside of the basilica is breathtaking, and again Barbara did a fabulous job of explaining the history of and art within. The walking tour was fun, we got to see a lot of Venice without worrying about getting lost. We learned about gondoliers and the symbolism in the construction of the gondolas, the Rialto Bridge, and so much more. We had plenty of free time to wander around between the walking tour and the Grand Canal Boat Tour which was very interesting as well. I highly recommend this tour for the skip the line benefit, but also for the wealth of information shared by our guide that we would not have otherwise learned.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved the tours in Venice, the tour guides were fabulous, the boat ride up the Grand Canal at the end of a long day was relaxing and beautiful.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Well worth doing but would have been more enjoyable with more time passing through the small canals. Too much time was spent not really moving in the Grand canal

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

First night in Venice with glass of wine on the Grand Canal, serenaded gondola ride, and dinner at an outdoor café was perfect. Only problem...gondola service overbooked...had cue up and wait for an additional 45 minutes to begin ride when we could have been enjoying the streets of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is ideal as the price on Viator is considerably cheaper than paying for a Gondola when you get to Venice. We went on the Grand Canal and then round some of the smaller canals under some picturesque bridges. The location is easy to find.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Let me first start with the good. Viator's service was excellent. We had to change the dates and Viator rep was very helpful in helping us do that.
Now the not so good. The information about the ride said 40min. But the ride actually lasted 28min to be precise. I timed it. This is actually from the time when we got on the gondola - not the actual sailing time. So felt a little short changed. Secondly, the description said there will be 4 gondolas whereas actually there were 6 in our group. Also, the singer unfortunately was on a different boat. We could hear the singer while we were on Grand Canal which was actually for a short time of the ride. The majority of the time we were on side canals which are really narrow and the gondolas were in a single file, and we could not hear the singer.
I guess you get what you pay for. But a good learning for next time.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Very disappointed. The only site that we were taken to that I was happy about was the grand canal. For a tour of Venice, as it is titled, we should have been taken to the Rialto Bridge, the Bridge of Sighs, Piazza di San Marco, etc. The gondola ride was rather disappointing. Quite short and the operator was more interested in talking to the other operators of the gondolas than us, and we were the ones paying for it. Very disappointed, and would rather have saved my money!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Andrea, was great and gave us a wonderful informative walk to less busy, but very interesting parts of Venice. Enjoyed every minute of it. be sure to use public restrooms or ones in a cafe - with purchase - before going to meeting point as agency would not allow use of toilet in their office. Gondola ride is a Venice experience not to be missed. It was long enough to get through some of the narrow canals and under several tiny bridges out to the Grand Canal near the Rialto bridge, so we could experience that too. Felt the whole tour was good value

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Simon S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

walking the backstreets where one wouldn't normally go was an exciting prospect and our welcoming and informed guide showed us areas of Venice one would not normally find! during the afternoon we were welcomed back to enjoy a water taxi trip along tiny cals culminating in the Grand Canal. Jump the queue to see the Basilica - excellent.
This tour was split not 'back to back' so we took the time to enjoy an excellent bistro lunch before the afternoon boat tour.
Book this tour, it will give you a glimpse of this wonderful City - its not 'in depth' but this allows on to get one's bearings and is a valuable insight into Venice. Book now and enjoy it - talk to the guide, they are very well informed. Next day the 2 of us were in the Doge's Palace looking around, on our own, and saw one of our Guides from the day before - she greeted us most warmly when we said 'hello'! It was typical of the positive attitude we experienced. Its' good value and we recommend booking this trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So before going on our tour there was heavy rain and we had to wait about 20 minutes before being able to leave. This might be the reason why we were the only ones on the music gondola ride. We had two fantastic musicians which sang Italian music on our ride. They were all very nice and we got to ride along the grand canal and smaller little areas as well. It was perfect!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I truly enjoyed this tour. The singing gondolier was excellent and the accordian player was perfect for the songs. It was great seeing not only the Grand Canal, but the back alleys where you could see the barnacles and limpets growing on foundations of buildings. The narrow alleys made for superior accoustics for the singing, too.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide outstsndiing tour hits best of Venice Doge palace and st Marks cathedral also grand canal boat ride was enjoyable and good guide

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this tour!! was a great way to get a quick overview of the city before exploring on your own. The Grand Canal Boat tour was the highlight!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

would recommend this tour gives you a brief guide around Venice so so can can the best out of your holiday this is the first thing to do when you get there, boat trip down the grand canal was excellent

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

These 3 tours were great. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable, they did a good job of explaining what we were looking at. Both the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were awesome. The Venice walking tour showed us places that we may not have seen otherwise. The grand canal tour was just that - grand. We didn't just ride along the grand canal, but into smaller canals where we cruised under many bridges and got a terrific overview of the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was amazed by the Grand Canal. How romantic!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fascinating tour given by a native Venetian whose pride and sense of humor about her city came through loud and clear. The boat portion of the tour which was offered about three hours later included a pop-up thunder-and-hail storm! Quite an adventure on the Grand Canal. Both parts of this tour were a major highlight of our two weeks in Italy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

4th june 2015, excellent tour on a hot day, walking tour very good informative and relaxed, boat tour was excellent not overcrowded on the boat, covered everything on the grand canal.guides for both tours were very good nothing to complain about. If you want a tour which allows you to cover Venice in a say, this is the one
Gjw

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

25 May 2015 Excellent tours. Meeting at the Royal Garden was easy to locate and guides were prompt. The day was warm but beautiful for a morning walk. Our morning 2-hour walking tour was very informative and the guides English was excellent. This tour guide departed at the Rialto Bridge with instructions how to get back to St. Marks Square. Gave us a nice time to enjoy lunch and afternoon on our own before our boat tour of 1-hour. The Grand Canal boat tour guide pointed out many sites of interest, her English was excellent. Our boat only had 6 tourists on board, so we all had opportunity to ask questions of the guide who receptively answered all questions. Both guides were very knowledgeable of the area and history. I would recommend this tour, especially if you only had one day and one tour to choose.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tours! Easy and quick check in. For the Doge's Palace, St. Mark's, and the walking tour we had Arriana as our guide. She was very knowledgeable and shared info so that it was very interesting. We had Christina as our quide for the boat ride. She was also very knowledgeable. We went on some of the smaller side canals which was really interesting and a nice change from the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Daryl
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour of Venice with very good informative guide. I would highly recommend this tour if you are visiting for the first time. Topped off with a fantastic 1 hour tour of thryGrand Canal in a private Taxi. Fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message