The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 456 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour was very good the boat was excellent and our guide was very informative. he gave us a good background about Venice. Really I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic way to see Venice's highlights in a day. Let's you know what you want to go back and spend more time visiting. Our guide "Nicoletta" was fabulous. Her knowledge of history and art were amazing and she has great people skills. She was one of our favorite guides on a 3 week trip around the Mediterranean. The Doges Palace should not be missed--it's fabulous. The cathedral is also impressive but you're only allowed about 10 minutes to enjoy. The walking tour was great with lots of information and the Grand Canal tour was fabulous. A great way to get a different perspective on Venice. All in all--wonderful. Very happy with Viator tour company.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A group of 4 Gondolas, with one rather dishy singer and accordion player ....approx 40 minutes at a slow pace along the Grand Canal, then back to start point through some of the smaller canals .....a perfect birthday treat for my partner, before dinner..........although weather was overcast, it was still an experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour was about 30mins late getting started, the tour of the Basilica was a bit rushed we would have liked more time to look around this fantastic Church. We did not go on the boat trip as the break between the walking tour and the Grand Canal Tour was too long, as the walking tour was late starting we felt that the same thing might happen with the Canal Tour and we might have missed our Cruise ship departure. So i would say that the break should have been shorter.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Our tour guide for the visit to the Doge's Palace was very good, a very good overall view and visit of the Palace; we would just have liked to spend a bit more time in the Palace - I would suggest doing the St Mark's Basilica and walking tour just before the Canal tour so that you can take full advantage of the Doge's Palace.
The tour of St Mark's Basilica was very quick in my opinion, would have liked a bit more time and information about the Basilica however understand the restrictions due to all the visitors.
The walking tour was informative and worth while and the Grand Canal tour was very enjoyable. If you have just a few days in Venice I highly recommend you do this tour and then explore Venice on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed the tours very much. The guides were very knowledgeable on the history of the city and sites. Easy in and out of the buildings. Loved the Grand canal cruise. Great way to end the busy day.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour...the walking tour with the guide was entertaining and insightful. There was a nice 2 hour break for lunch which enabled us to walk around and find a nice place to eat and take in the surroundings. The small group boat tour is with 6 people and a guide on a water taxi, you get fantastic views of the grand canal and some of the back canals. We did this tour on our first day and it was great to get an understanding and layout of Venice. We were then able to explore on our own the next few days

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Touring the grand canal was an amazing experience! Your tour guides were excellent and it was most interesting to learn so much Venetian history. I would visit again given the opportunity and I highly recommend your company. Venice is beyond beautiful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was awesome - nothing says Venice like experiencing a gondola ride in the Grand Canal!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very small group gave us plenty of room to move around and even stand up on the outdoor seats to take pictures. Our guide was great! I only wish we could have kept on going. This is a great tour to do upon arrival to give you a quick look at the Grand Canal and decide which spots you want re-visit.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

There were three tours in this package. The Doge's Palace was very nice -very informative. The walking tour of Venice was great. Our guide, Arianna was terrific. Her English was excellent and her insights were very informative. The third tour was on a boat and highlighted the Grand Canal - it was also excellent. In summary, this package was well worth it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I enjoyed my tours of ST. Mark's and the Doges Palace. The guides were very knowledgable. The only thing I did not like was the wait between the walking tour nd the boat ride on the Grand Canal. There was a 4 hour wait. It should have followed within an hour of the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

5 stars for the Doge's Palace and Grand Canal segments; 3 stars for the Venice Walking Tour. The Palace and Canal were all we expected and more. In the Doge's Palace tour, guides were respectful of each other and tried to avoid breaking into the group ahead of them. If someone had to stop for any reason (for example, our one year old granddaughter had a diaper emergency), she waited for them to rejoin the group before continuing. In the Grand Canal tour, we had a water taxi for just 7 people which was amazing! However, the Walking Tour was too large for everyone to stay close enough to the guide to be able to hear her. We were spread out over quite a distance and the radio signal to the headsets broke up when we were going through narrow alley ways. We enjoyed what we were seeing, but didn't get to learn what it was and had to expend a lot of effort to stay with the group. I would suggest much smaller groups for this tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Meeting point was easy to find and to get to. Numerous staff there to greet and organize you.
Loved the Doge's Palace Tour. Not having to line up in the hot sun to wait to get in is wonderful. Tour guide was wonderful - you see the highlights of the place with the great works of art including the largest mural in the world by Tintoretto(?). The Prison and Bridge of Sighs were also highlights.
We did St. Mark's back to back with The Doge's Palace. My wife found it a little tiring - 4 consecutive hours of walking or standing. Spreading them out might work for some people.
Gaining entry ahead of the general public was well worth it. The line into St. Mark's stretched to the waterfront on the day of our tour. The tour of St Mark's was too brief and we did not see or learn enough about the place - maybe 20 25 minutes was all. The walking tour was done in the hot sun in the mid afternoon and we crossed several squares on our way to the Rialto bridge. The story of the wells in each square and Marco Polo's Home were highlights. Easy to get back to St. Mark's Square after the tour.
Loved the boat tour. We toured the southern edge of Venice (ie. St. George's Cathedral) and the Grand Canal itself - famous buildings and churches. It was at night so it was cool on the water after a hot day.
The information provided could be a little overwhelming. Again, the meeting point was at the Royal Gardens where staff from the tour company met us and organized us.
Strongly recommend that people get a hotel near the SanMarco as it takes the pressure off of being on time or getting lost when meeting for the tours.
We did the Palace and walking tour in the morning (9 30 am - 1 30 pm) It may be a bit much for people. The boat tour was not until 5 30 pm so it gave us time to rest and have dinner.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The best part of this tour was the Grand Canal Boat Tour at the end. The guide into St Mark's Basilica was only useful for the 'Skip the line' entry and the walking tour was ok but not memorable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message