Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Guggenheim Museum (Peggy Guggenheim Collection)

Peggy Guggenheim was an important art collector who left the USA to live in Venice for the last thirty years of her life. When she died in 1979 her collection of early 20th century European and American art founded the Peggy Guggenheim Collection ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2073 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jbwestmo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very touristy, but you have to ride a gondola while in Venice! Get in the boat first for the best seat

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jacki L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommend the serenade tour! It was entertaining and relaxing. It would have been an awkwardly quiet ride otherwise. Our gondolier was friendly and great, not at all immature like I've read in some other reviews. I wish the boat had comfortable seats on both ends we were lucky to snag the comfortable seat on the end, but our friends were cramped in the middle seats opposite eachother and were a bit worried they might fall in. We caught the sunset which made it great for photos! Overall a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

ManiAnne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Finding the place where the ride starts was like mission impossible. Then when you finally get there the Gondola guys were not helpful. But the ride was nice and the guy who sings was fantastic.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

MARJA-LIISA R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

WONDERFUL BOAT TRIP THROUGH THE CANALS WITH AN EXCELLENT SINGING PERFORMANCE

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Lawrence L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was knowledgeable, personable and llts of fun.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Theresa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent!! Cannot go to Venice without a gondola ride.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Diana H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was worth the money and very enjoyable! We were all Bly disappointed that the singer was on another boat and was shared by many boats.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Rodney G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We did this tour on our first night in Venice. The meeting point was easy to find. The guide was knowledgable and informative. The walking area was interesting and different to the San Marco side which most people stick to. The gondola ride was a good way to finish the tour and a good introduction to Venice.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Whopper

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The Grand Canal is amazing of course! Wish we could and #39;ve gone out further into it - there was a lot of time wasted trying to get all the gondolas together.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Linette H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Not able to sit together, so not so romantic. Even though I protested the guide told me he was doing us a service????

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

danny w

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

being in venice I had to go on a gondola ride !

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Caleb L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

we wasted a bit of time gathering in a row of 6 gondolas before the singing starts. As the singing continued for abt 7-10 min, the gondola started moving away individually. You can still hear the guy singing but from far.

Still a good experience with the gondola ride but the serenade was a bit out of my expectations.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Lisa P

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Would probably prefer to pay slightly more and have the gondola to ourselves. There were six in ours in a flotilla of about 8 gondolas so couldn't always here the serenading clearly.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Steven M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This is something that you have to do while in Venice. Unfortunately it was rainy and pretty cold the night we went so it was not as enjoyable as it could have been. The ride itself is nothing special but interesting how they manuever the gondolas through the canals. Not sure you need a tour for this experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

David A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Was a good ride, a bit misleading whilst I knew the Gondola was shared I did not know the singer was shared between several gondolas. In a group. Lucky was a boat of 6 Aussies so we all had a good chat.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Gillian W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Short and sweet

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Richard G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Pretty nice, but a short ride. Also, it was quite confusing at the start, as people were quickly split-up among the gondolas, with no chance to arrange who would ride with whom from our group.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Karl B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

We laughed through the whole thing! Crowded 6 to a boat, 5 boats go together down the Great Canal with one crooner. Most of the personnel look like hoodlums.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Derek A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Disappointing Gondola ride - nothing romantic about this ride whatsoever since you have to be lucky to be the first ones on the boat to be able to sit in the main seat together, otherwise the other 4 passengers are sitting opposite each other. The ride started late and we were one of 7 Gondolas following the one with the accordion player and singer. At first we all floated out into the canal to listen to the singer serenade us all with 2 very short songs before sailing through a 'back-street' canal with nothing of interest to look at, before ending up back at the start. It was that basic up a canal, turn right, sail a little further, turn right again and end up where you boarded so not even 25 minutes in all. Gondoliers were not even dressed in the normal costume, in fact they looked like night club bouncers in their bomber jackets and crew-cut hair styles. For the same price as we booked for equivalent of 80 Euros , we could have chosen a different location to pick up a Gondola and the two of us could have sat together and enjoyed the sights we expected to see including the Bridge of Sighs by ourselves and in a Gondola that is better maintained. The singer by the way was very good but we could not always hear him at times being so far back. You have to be lucky to be sitting in the same Gondola as the singer who does not 'jump' from boat to boat but I am pretty sure the family who sat with him did not have any paper vouchers with them, but paid in cash to ensure they sat in that very boat given the way they kept away from the queue and led to boat straight-away. Overall, taking a Gondola ride is a 'must do' activity but best to book it while your there at this time of the holiday season.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Camilo R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Did not like much, it only lasted about ten minutes, it was supposed to have 3 gondolas and one with the serenade singers, in total there were 5 gondolas, would not recommend

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Carol Jean D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Because it's in a group, my husband and I weren't able to sit in the back of the gondola together, which was disappointing. We did enjoy the actual tour down the smaller canals as the sun was starting to set. The person serenading us was on a different gondola as well, but we were able to hear it pretty well just the same. Our gondolier was very skillful, but was smoking the whole time or on his phone and listening to music in earphones- a little distracting from the mood since I had to sit facing him the whole time. Also, the gondola did not go under the Rialto bridge.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

trenamanww

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Disappointing. Despite pre-booking organisers did not want to take our vouchers until we'd stood in line for ages. They seemed quite dismissive and did not want to engage until the end that is when they asked us to leave a tip in the bucket! We did have a lovely singer amongst the flotilla of gondolas but the ride itself was disappointing. We started but then waited under a bridge for at least 5 minutes before we continued. It may've been due to drizzly weather but no communication meant we were left guessing. I wondered whether 1 of the other gondola stations may have provided better service, but this was the 1 our Viator voucher sent us to.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message