Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Guggenheim Museum (Peggy Guggenheim Collection)

Peggy Guggenheim was an important art collector who left the USA to live in Venice for the last thirty years of her life. When she died in 1979 her collection of early 20th century European and American art founded the Peggy Guggenheim Collection ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2043 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

thomas s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Did this on first evening in Venice to fit it all in. It was relaxing and a great introduction to an amazing town. Serenade was Bellissimo.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Marjorie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The serenade was great!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Leslie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Just wonderful... We were lucky enough to have the singer and accordian player in our gondola.. Wow, it was one of my favorite memories of our trip!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fun, relaxing time!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Geraldine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Serenade certainly added to the ambeance would definitely recommend booking from home,gave us much more time to explore.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

stephen b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

very good value for money - I would book again.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Debra l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is our second time with this company. I called the day of our reservation because it was raining and cold and asked if I could change my reservation to the next day. There was no problem at all. It's easy to find and the ride and music was perfect

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Stuart H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It should have been 5 out of 5 but was a wee bit let down with the serenade the boat with the singer was to far back, but well worth it.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

jkkallestad

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great way to spend 30 minutes of one of our evenings in Venice. Just be sure to note that, as the description indicates, this is a group event, with musician and singer on only one of the Gondolas in a small fleet of them, and six people on each Gondola. This is not a private, romantic serenade - so if that is what you are expecting you will be disappointed. Otherwise, my wife and I thought that this was a great way to check Gondola Ride in Venice off of our bucket list!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Kendra J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I read other responses about the Gondeliers.. and its true, they aren't the friendliest bunch. It's like they're bus drivers... just doing their job. However, the ride and serenade were great. I think for the price, this is a great deal.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Marlene S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Out tour host was very good and informative. The tour was interesting and showed us a part of Venice we would not have experienced. However,the tour was overpriced for the time and experience. The gondlier was not very friendly and answered his cell phone and chatted during our ride.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Anthony B United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Although it is stated that you are in a group of gondolas, we were towards the front and could not here the singer to well, which was a shame as he was good. If you are going to do this I would recommend paying a bit more and having your own gondola and serenader

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Alejandro C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The ride was about 30 minutes and only around one or two Venice blocks the singer quality was good, however he sang for three in-line Gondolas crowded with 2 or 3 groups. It was a rip-off, not what they promised on the website. Only two people have good seats on the Gondola, and the other ones aren't comfortable and at risk of falling overboard. Also, the drivers of the Gondola talking to each other loudly and over the singer, were on their phones, and they didn't have good control over the Gondola due to its rocking throughout the whole trip. We do not recommend this trip due to its poor quality and terrible establishment.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Analia O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

to start, I pay extra money for a couples ride , they seat them with another 4 ppl, not only that they also seat them separate. One of the drivers hit by accident their gondola getting my mom soaking wet for the rest to the ride. And the music .. What a joke, it would be better if the use a recording

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Edward F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

A very touristy must-do activity. Unfortunately, it couldn't have been less personal. We were herded onto a group of boats. The gondolier was on his phone the entire time. He did not speak the entire time. I'd recommend just selecting a gondola ride when you arrive rather than this impersonal group tour.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

ddizon726

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

It was nice to see Venice in a romantic way with my wife. But the gondoliers were boisterous and were not helpful in pointing out what we were seeing, or even helping take good pictures. We did this on arrival, so we were clueless about the sights we were seeing. They could definitely improve.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Ian D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

What a disappointment!
We arrived around half an hour before our trip time, just managing to distract the guy obviously in charge from his mobile phone call for him to look at our booking form and instruct sit here pointing at a line of wooden benches. Instead we nipped to a nearby bar for a drink and came back 15 minutes later to join a long queue of people holding similar booking forms. We eventually got on to our Gondola at 4pm, with the guy in charge still talking away on his mobile we were booked for 3.30 but it seemed to be a simple queuing system regardless of booking times.
As a party of 4 we were also joined by 2 American visitors which filled the Gondola not much room to be serenaded then! Ours was the first Gondola out into the Grand Canal. We circled for a few minutes whilst the other Gondolas filled and then set off with the singer and his accordion player just behind. This was quite fun, going down the Grand Canal with a few of us singing along.
We then turned down a smaller canal and ended up in single file with the singer probably 4 or 5 Gondolas behind us. We could just about hear him. We then basically when down a few back alley canals, passing building with no frontage and many seeming to be held together with scaffolding poles! Of all the beautiful locations in Venice this trip seems to manage to find none of them!
After a total of 30 minutes of unimpressive sightseeing, we were back where we started.
The best part of the trip was when our Gondolier pretended to fall off, catching us all by surprise.
I booked this trip through Viator as I have used them in the past and found all the trips well organised and value for money but not in this case.
Very disappointing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Musata M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Massive rip off, only went on one canal, too short, serenade was terrible quality too.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

kgibby

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

This was ridiculous. This gondola company were rude and completely disrespectful. We had a tour time that we signed up for and had to wait 45 minutes to go. They weren't checking other people's times so I know someone had a later slot who went ahead of us. We had to wait for boats and their only excuse was traffic. That is ridiculous. Boats were not that well maintained either. Then when we finally got on a boat, we hardly went anywhere and the guides just talked loudly to each other or on their phones so that ruined the music part. They also smoked continuously. Many other companies looked much better there. Very expensive for such a poor outing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Ronald E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

the only tour they gave us less time than allocated, and the only tour they had a tip box and asked for tips. go yourself enjoy it more. the Gondoliers were guys guys just wanting to have fun with each other as in throwing balls etc while customers were waiting. they weren't talkative at all and it was a total waste of time.You can take your own solo ride for same amount of money. the Gondola boats are everywhere in this wonderful city. we had waited so long to do this ride and we were both very annoyed. Rather do a trip in the Venetian hotel in Las Vegas.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Rebecca C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

I was extremely disappointed, it was supposed to be a serenade tour, there was at lesat 6 boats, i singer and we were no where near to hear !! The goldolier was not in any way interested and was miserable !!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Marianne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very enjoyable, quite a crowd puller on the bridges!!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Benedict S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The singer at the gondola had a beautiful voice. He sang multiple songs while we sailed along the grand canal, smaller canals and other areas not accessible by foot.

The overall experience was quite unique. Just wish we had a longer ride as I didnt want to get off the gondola.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

salim a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

it was great thank you

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Mary N

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

it wasn and #39;t the romantic gondola cruise I envisioned- we were packed in with 6 other gondolas all and #34;cruising and #34; together and we saw very little of the Venice canals. Also instead of having rows of seats like many of the other gondolas, this one had single seats so our legs were all crammed awkwardly.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message