Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Madonna dell’Orto Church

The Church of the Madonna dell’Orto is a small church in Venice, built in the 14th century by a religious order that no longer exists. Roughly 100 years after it was built, it was taken over by a different congregation. After another 200 years, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

That was an excellent experience! Our guide Barbara provided us with a great introduction to the history, culture, layout of the city. She gave us multiple suggestions for what to do, where to eat, etc That was a great idea to have this tour on the first day which helped us with the rest of the stay.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

Veronica F
Honduras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide took us to places that are not touristy - showing us what it's like to actually live in Venice. She took us to an amazing chocolate factory and also a delicious place for snacks, and later gave us incredible tips on how to choose our place for lunch. She was very knowledgable and friendly to our 13 and 15 year old daughters. Book this tour, it is very much worth it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Barbara was our guide and she was very knowledgeable having been born and bred in Venice. We stopped at many spots along the way including a wine bar where we were treated to wine and tapas. We went into a shop where they make and decorate face masks - beautiful! A great walking tour which gave us an insight into the life of Venetians and the history. Would recommend to anyone especially if you only have a day or two in Venice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Samuel did a great job of showing us bits of Venice that aren't on the normal tourist walk. Thanks!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent! Highly recommended tour which was low key and informative. Wonderful

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful tour with Stephanie. She was very knowledgeable and amusing. We went to places off the beaten track that we would never have found ourselves. She also gave us some great recommendations and useful tips which really helped for us during our holiday .

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our group of three really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was full of the history of Venice and was quite knowledgeable. I wish I had been able to coordinate some sights ahead of time with her, but we didn't do that.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was a lovely tour. Our guide was hugely knowledgeable and adjusted the tour to fit our needs . Do not do Venice without this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Sam, our guide, a local, was wonderful....took us to the spots we would not have seen or found on our own. Told us the insider stories of Venice and suggested spots to hit after our tour on our own time. Joined us for our light snack at the end of our tour and made the day enjoyable...

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

foscyn
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide Stephania
Very informative and very obliging
Great way to see Venice

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our 1/2 day walking tour with Barbara was wonderful! She asked us up front what we had seen and what we would like to see in Venice, she took us to out of the way places and told us great stories...we went to great snack spots and she provided recommendations for dinner and drinks...this tour was a great way to start our trip!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

To walk the back streets with a local, gives you great perspective on the city. We then went back to areas we were interested in seeing more of

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I don't think we would have enjoyed Venice,if we had not taken this tour. So much history would have been lost just walking on our own. The best tour person we had in all of Europe.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very worth getting a private walking tour of this fabulous city. The tour guide was on time and very helpful. Very informative. Loved it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

So glad we sprang for this three hour tour on the first full day of our trip. It gave us an excellent orientation to Venice, and confidence to later navigate the backstreets and see more on our own. Our guide, Stefania, was terrific - gracious and knowledgable - a Venice native - who showed us sights, and gave us recommendations, of places we would never have otherwise seen. A highlight was a stop in a local cantina for local wine and snack. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A terrific guide. Very family friendly. Gave a TERRIFIC tour. Full of annecdotes, and interesting stories for the children. I myself learned a LOT! Great job!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were in Italy for two weeks and this was by far the best tour. Our guide Barbara was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and was a pleasure to be with. She went at our pace, told us stories not just facts, asked us what we wanted to do and was just generally very accommodating. We saw a lot and it gave us the opportunity to really know Venice which helped us to navigate during the rest of our stay in Venice. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Barbra was wonderful!!!! and so happy to be sharing her hometowns history. My husband said she showed
him all of the non-normal sights and eateries. She was fun, happy and easy person to talk and walk with.
I can't wait to go back and we will be looking forward in hiring Barbra again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our private tour was absolutely the best expense we made. Our tour guide Giuliana was fantastic and so knowledgeable! When we were walking around the streets of Venice with her, it felt like we were visiting family as she was showing us around her city. I would recommend seeing Venice with a private guide as it is much easier to navigate the streets.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our guide was a Venice native who knew so many tidbits and interesting facts about the city and getting off the beaten path. Our kids enjoyed it, we LOVED it, and would highly recommend to get the backstory of this gorgeous city!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

FANTASTIC! Our guide was entirely knowledgeable and took us to places you might not otherwise see. It is well worth the extra do do a private tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We arrived the night before in Venice for our first trip to italy and it was great to have a local guide to show us around and help us get our bearings. Nicole was an fantastic guide and not only showed us the highlights of Venice, she gave us insight into local culture (and how to get around in quite a tricky city) and the confidence to go it alone afterwards. We were a family group of 4 and it was definitely worth doing this as a private tour. HIghly recommended - we had a wonderful time with our guide and loved Venice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent! Our guide was a native with lots of education, insight and history! She was wonderful and made us feel so welcome. She showed us many of the wonderful local favorites of Venice. This tour is a MUST!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This is an absolute must. The tour was wonderful. We saw things that we would have never seen on our own. Our guide Barbara was fantastic. A life long Venetian,, she made the tour come alive with history and local flavor. I couldn't recommend this tour more. But wear good walking shoes!! The only warning I would give is if you have an infant, as we did, do not use a stroller or tram. We ended up carrying it more than pushing it up and down the stairs on all the bridges. A Baby Bjorn or similar type sling carrier is the only way to go.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message