• USD ($)
  • English

Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo del Merletto (Lace Museum)

The island of Murano in the Venetian lagoon is famous for its glass-making, but nearby Burano has its own crafty claim to fame - lace-making. The ancient tradition of hand-made lace is not nearly as common as it once was, but you can still see some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a good way to spend the afternoon.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We did not make our Milan tour. After a sleepless night flying from Phila, PA USA to Milan, IT, my husband and I crashed at our hotel for about an 1 1/2hrs. By the time we went out to take the tour we could not find the bus. If we have any change of a refund of our fee it would be much appreciated.

We did however make our tour to Murano and Burano. The tour was a great boat ride to both islands. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and kept us turning from side to side on the boat to look at all the sites she was pointing out to us along the way. Our tour of the Murano factory was very interesting. Watching a master make glass is incredible. Viewing the VERY large pieces of Murano and the lighting fixtures hanging from the ceiling where amazing.

Burano is a small island with homes of every color. Watching a woman sit and create a beautiful piece of lace was interesting. I was surprised to lean that each differenty stitch used in a piece of lace is done by a different woman. Each woman specializes in a particular stitch. The 2 island tour was well worth the time and money. It helped alot to have a glorious day for our boat trip.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip to Murano Glass was very interesting to see the glass made and to view all the different sort of items for sale. Burano Lace tour was fantastic as we had spare time to walk around Burano which is a beautiful place well worth seeing. The ferry/boat ride was fantastic the guide was very informative and told us all about the different places along the way there and then on the way back when we came a different way home. Well worth the experience as the guide made it a fantastic and was a great day made so by the great company on board.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour - our guide Julia was very pleasant, informative, knowledgeable and helpful. Having an opportunity to see both islands as one tour was brilliant. Recommend this tour to everyone visiting Venice.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Very good tour when there for first time. Great tour guide!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Really enjoyed this tour for the fact that our tour guide Francesca was so knowledgeable and gave us so much great information. She was friendly, happy to answer any question and gave us an honest opinion on everything. The glass factory was interesting - it was great to see someone physically make something in front of you, however the gallery and gift shop is quite obviously expensive, but great to wander around and dream! :-) Burano is just beautiful! It would have been nice to be able to spend a bit more time there, however you can easily go back in your own time on a vaporetto. I would most certainly recommend to anyone who is a bit time constrained and wants to see something other than the main islands of Venice.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Good tour, Burano was a quiet sleepy version of venice, well worth the visit

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour good value a must dø tour thanks

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

GREAT TOUR!!! MUST SEE the glass blowing and the lace!!!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Our tour guide Kristina was fantastic she had so much useful knowledge and was more than willing to offer help and advice in any way she could. The glass blowing in Murano was unbelievable and well worth seeing but we partically enjoyed Burano you are free to wander around and you definitely should the island is just beautiful make sure you have lots of space left on your memory card for pictures :-) We would highly recommend this tour to everyone who visits venice !!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our your to Venice was excellent. In fact we are planning to visit Venice again in three months time for our anniversary. Murano and Burano are very nice and attractive. The tour to Murano/Burano was well organised and according to schedule. The water Taxi was excellent and our Tour Leader was well informed and helpful. She deserves a big Thank you.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Definitely! Don't leave Venice without doing this

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Absolutely beautiful! The visit at the Murano Glass factory was very informative and I was in awe when seeing the Glass Master making a beautiful object out of melted glass.
Burano's homes are exactly that colorful! The visit to the lace shop was interesting and gave us an opportunity to buy a tablecloth or sash made with laces at a good discount.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A beautiful day trip. This tour is just the right amount of time to not only visit the craftsmen, but get the feel of the lagoon islands. Our tour guide was a delight. She spoke about not only the history of the lagoon islands, but the character of each.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was excellent trip and very good service. Definitely would recommend.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message