Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo del Merletto (Lace Museum)

The island of Murano in the Venetian lagoon is famous for its glass-making, but nearby Burano has its own crafty claim to fame - lace-making. The ancient tradition of hand-made lace is not nearly as common as it once was, but you can still see some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 406 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Rachel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous trip! Absolutely perfect.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent and well worth the trip. For those who get seasick/need the loo, don't worry, there is no problem with either of those things. The journey between the islands is very smooth. The tour guide also speaks very good English. I recommend to take a couple of bottles of water for the way there / and back in the boat, also, some change incase you need the toilets - I remember the Burano loo costing 1 Euro. Apart from that it's well worth the visit!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Katie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a lovely tour with a nice, private boat ride out to Murano and Burano. The tour of the glass warehouse was lovely and then there was plenty of time for shopping! The same thing went for Burano. Just be sure to bring your wallet/credit cards when you do go. The glass in very, very expensive.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Kim and Dave in ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day spent seeing Venice by water and learning about it's history from a knowledgable and personable guide! Loved the artistry of glass-making in Murano and lace-making in Burano. Make sure to get a gelato and stroll the quaint streets and canals of Burano!!!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Ivo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, perfect length and very friendly tour guide. Beautiful islands.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Peggy L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Peggy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would definitely recommend. Murano and Burano felt like Venice more than Venice!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Mark D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was very sweet and did a great job of pointing our historical sites and showing us several things we could do. The islands were lovely!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Ashley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Lesley E C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well organised and worthwhile. Guide took lots of time to ensure everyone enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

rsgranberry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our group of 8 went on this tour and it was just perfect! We enjoyed visiting both islands so much! So beautiful and lots of great places for shopping and eating. Would love to come back and spend more time. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Frances E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our reason for taking the tour was to visit Murano to see the glass blowing. While that was fun, we found the island of Burano far more charming with its colorful houses. We particularly enjoyed our free time in Burano and the boat trip.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Mark E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour

Our walking tour guide, Sylvia, was very nice and knowledgable. She was born and raised in Venice and really knew a lot about the city

Our boat tour guide, Christina, was equally good. My favorite part of the whole tour was riding in the fancy boat

Great Tour!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Ryan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely worth doing. We were in Venice during a busy architectural convention weekend - completely unforeseen on our part - and it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city itself. Our guide did a very good job of describing everything to us, as well as a happy medium of allowing us time to explore the two islands on our own. Group tours can be excruciating, and this one was less group-y than many. We wouldn't have done this if not for a group though - a water taxi to those islands on your own is expensive, and we didn't feel like figuring out the public transport.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Elsa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took this tour with our 3 kids: the intro, boat ride, visit to the glass factory was fun and interesting and then visiting Burano a brief visit to a shop but enough time to have gelato buy biscotti and other candy and stroll aroun the beautiful village. We all enjoyed it a lot and it was a nice way to spend a calm afternoon. Our guide was super nice, spoke perfect english and told us interesting facts about living in Venice.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Kathleen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Graham E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very friendly pleasant guide, knowledgeable and helpful

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an excellent tour. The meet up/ pick up near St Marks Square was on time and the tour group went straight to a private boat which headed to the lovely Murano. 30 minutes. The guide was informative who explained the history of Venice and its islands on the way. At Murano, the group headed to a family Glass factory where a Glass Blowing demonstration was observed. The group were then given free time 1 hour 15 minutes to visit the factory glass showroom, continue to watch the glass blowing, or walk round the lovely village. I would recommended the village.
The group then boarded the boat to Burano 20 minutes, and after a 5-minute visit to a lace factory, the group were given more free time 1 hour 20 minutes to wander the beautiful village with colourful houses, charming canals and lovely shops. The guide pointed out places of interest including shops where traditional Burano biscuits could be sampled.
This is a very, very good tour which is informative but also great that you are given so much free time. I travelled with a14 year old who loved the trip

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Young Jin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Murano and Burano are just as wonderful as Venice.
I saw many tourists fall in love with this small town.

Francesca, the tour leader, is so kind and nice. Meet her!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

kenphillips3810

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour guide. Francesca gave us a great history lesson not only about Murano and Burano but also about Venice in general. Guys, Burano is strictly for the ladies other than gelato unless you're really into lace. Wishing we could have had 1/2 hour more at Murano.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very interesting tour we were a small group of 4 people so it was a semi-private experience. We took a water taxi out to the islands and got to learn more about the history of Venice as well as Murano and Burano. Watching the glass makers was fascinating, they are dedicated artists to their craft! Burano is a charming island that is such a nice break from the hectic tourist scene in Venice. Our guide Cristina was very friendly and knew her stuff she even made a few recommendations for non-touristy restaurants to have dinner. If you have the time to commit to the tour, I recommend it highly!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the perfect amount of time and we had a great guide. It is really nice when your tour guide grew up in Venice and can really give you a lot of historical information. The boat ride there and back was awesome and we love visiting both Murano and Burano. Well worth it!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Irene P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour. There is time for discussion, explanation and time for walking the beautiful islands. There is time for shopping if you like, but you are not pressured to do it, you can just walk and enjoy the beauty.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message