Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Rialto Bridge (Ponte di Rialto)

Rialto Bridge or Ponte di Rialto was the city's first bridge over the Grand Canal. Connecting the highest points on the lagoon islands settlement, the first bridge was built in 1180 and this more solid marble one in 1588-92. The bridge is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 187 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Venice tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

the walking tour helped us find our way later as we walked around the city, up to Rialto bridge. Our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Bart H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Venice can be a very difficult city to walk. We loved being guided down the crooked little streets and over the bridges. The gondola ride was fun. Interesting to learn how difficult it is to become a gondolier !

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Doug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour included two of Venice's most notable and famous structures, the Basilica and Doge's Palace on the Piazza San Marco but started near the Rialto Bridge. Unfortunately for us, that was undergoing some renovation, we were told, and we didn't go by it. But we did go to a landing nearby on the Grand Canal and saw a lot that was so interesting if not well known in between there and the featured sites. The guide, Susan, said she had lived in Venice for something like 20 years and if there is something about it that she doesn't know, I'd be surprised. Appropriating the cliché, she bubbled over with enthusiasm, sharing so much on what makes Venice the special place that it is, making the tour especially enjoyable as well as informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Patrica L W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I liked what I got, but there could have been more. Our talking travel guide was obliged to repeat nearly everything he said in Spanish, for a single tourist who apparently signed up for the English-speaking tour. The ride in the gondola was very short, and I would have liked to see more of the Grande Canal than we got to didn't even make it under the Rialto. Also, I asked the gondolier to sing us a line or two, but he wouldn't oblige me. Aw, shucks!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Claire A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We decided this would be a good start for our mini break which included 3 clear days in Venice and I would recommend this to anyone as you get a great over view.
The walking tour was easy to pick up at the Gardens in San Marco and the large group was split into smaller ones which I presume was to do with the language spoken. Our guide Fredericka is a local lady, born in Vencie where she lives now with her family including 2 children. I could not recommend her highly enough as she was knowledgable, anecdotal, amusing and clear. The system of earpieces for everyone and the guide speaking into a microphone on her jacket was perfect as it meant you didn't have to hover around her to pick up what she was saying.
I must point out tho that Venice is not for the feint hearted or tender of foot! There are a hugh number of bridges of course and walking on paved surfaces is also very tiring, my legs ached so much that evening!
We had lunch and a very welcome rest and then back to the Gardens to join our Grand Canal boat tour with another guide, whose name I can't recall but he too was excellent.

Venice was beautiful, very clean, not a whif of anything unpleasant as I had been warned and the people very friendly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Mary F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very good. However, you should include the Rialto bridge and the bridge of Sighs in the walking portion of the tour. This way the tourist gets the history of the bridges and not just a photograph when they go by themselves. The boat portion was great. Nice to cover a lot of ground including smaller back canals under motor with only a few people on the boat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Rachel C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The Rialto bridge was under repair/naturally busy so it was a bit difficult to spot the guide at first but I thoroughly enjoyed this alternate way to see Venice and appreciate its well-documented history. Our guide was very knowledgeable and her slightly dramatic flair was well-suited for the theme!

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

li United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The walking tour covered the area around Campo San Luca where the tour guide's office was located. It did NOT cover Piazza San Marco. The highlight was the gondola ride about 30 minutes with 6 passengers. A short segment was on the Grand Canal with a view of the Rialto bridge. No narration by the gondolier.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great walk through the lanes, bridges and squares, and great boat tour. Long gap between, but it was good to relax and have a long lunch. St Mark's was very crowded and that part of the tour could have been better. Overall extremely well organised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

claire m United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed my Venice Ghost Walk. I wasn't sure if there would be many people on the walk, and was happy to find 2 big groups of all ages departing from the Rialto. We left in daylight which was the only down side. The stories were really good. I had a few shivers which wasn't to do with heat.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Venice is a wonderful city, this trip is great for learning about the history of the city whilst also familiarising oneself with the labyrinth of passages and bridges, the boat trip is also great for seeing the cities architecture because a lot of it can only be seen when on the water. I thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Mervyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Walking tour including the boat was well worth doing saw a lot that we wouldn't have seen, tucked away places that we were not able to retrace, be prepared for a few bridge crossings if you have small children in strollers. The boat part of the tour was also good, got to see where George Clooney got married, amongst other notable points of interest. Great tour guide on both occasions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Jaidee S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The Gondola ride was awesome. Loved that the tour included portable headsets. Our guide was great. I only wish that the walking tour included sites such as the Rialto Bridge or the Bridge of Sighs.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Sarah C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Very disappointed. The only site that we were taken to that I was happy about was the grand canal. For a tour of Venice, as it is titled, we should have been taken to the Rialto Bridge, the Bridge of Sighs, Piazza di San Marco, etc. The gondola ride was rather disappointing. Quite short and the operator was more interested in talking to the other operators of the gondolas than us, and we were the ones paying for it. Very disappointed, and would rather have saved my money!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

dondi3134

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Forget this tour.
We were met at the Rialto bridge by our guide who was very pleasant.
As we progressed on the tour it became apparent that it was less about ghost and more about silly love stories which ended up in one case with a couple of concrete statues walking off together.
All a bit silly.
All the way through our guide kept saying don't worry,I wont just leave you which is precisely what she did at the conclusion of the tour.
We all expected to be returned to the Rialto bridge and had all planned our return routes to our respective hotels accordingly.
In stead we were in the middle of a square and were pointed in the general direction of our hotels.It was nine o'clock at night and none of us found it easy to get our bearings.
We had to help two English ladies who were very,very nervous.
Can't recommend this one I'm afraid.
Don and Diane Potts
Australia

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

iammj2 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! After a long day sightseeing we were a bit weary when the tour started. However the guide was great and kept our interest with tales of intrigue and taking down alleyways you would never have found yourself. The end of the tour was at a junction between the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square and it was very easy to find our way back to our hotel at night.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Andrea, was great and gave us a wonderful informative walk to less busy, but very interesting parts of Venice. Enjoyed every minute of it. be sure to use public restrooms or ones in a cafe - with purchase - before going to meeting point as agency would not allow use of toilet in their office. Gondola ride is a Venice experience not to be missed. It was long enough to get through some of the narrow canals and under several tiny bridges out to the Grand Canal near the Rialto bridge, so we could experience that too. Felt the whole tour was good value

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Leah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour! Our guide, Mirco, really made the walk fun and very interesting. He was a fount of information and was very enthusiastic about Venice and its people. In addition to telling us about the buildings, squares, and bridges we passed or went over, he was full of information that the guidebooks would never tell you. How to pick a good restaurant in Venice, and about the orange-pink drink called a Spritz.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Melanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was great. We met at the top centre of the Rialto bridge at 8pm. From there she took us around the dark alleys, giving us ghost stories about certain buildings and the surroundings. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

Betty L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

25 May 2015 Excellent tours. Meeting at the Royal Garden was easy to locate and guides were prompt. The day was warm but beautiful for a morning walk. Our morning 2-hour walking tour was very informative and the guides English was excellent. This tour guide departed at the Rialto Bridge with instructions how to get back to St. Marks Square. Gave us a nice time to enjoy lunch and afternoon on our own before our boat tour of 1-hour. The Grand Canal boat tour guide pointed out many sites of interest, her English was excellent. Our boat only had 6 tourists on board, so we all had opportunity to ask questions of the guide who receptively answered all questions. Both guides were very knowledgeable of the area and history. I would recommend this tour, especially if you only had one day and one tour to choose.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Emily S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were told St Marks was closed, but it was clearly open and taking tourists. Our guide also did not take us to the Rialto bridge, which was clearly part of the tour. The guide was good, but just didn't take us to the places we requested. The boat tour was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

klawson702

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We did an afternoon tour while in Venice and it ended up raining off and on the entire tour. We where miserable walking around in the torrential down pour but even then it was hard to really follow the tour and understand what the guide was saying in English. I thought we would have seen more of the top sites than we did. For example I thought we would go to the Rialto bridge but we just walked onto a dock to see it from afar. We had to do our gondola ride the next morning, which worked out better because it wasn't raining. However it was shorter than we where told it would be.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

jerryagarrison

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The walking tour was very taxing for Seniors. Walking up and down the bridge stairs was hard. Also, the boat tour was 2hrs. after the walking tour so we almost missed our train back to Florence. It was to start at 5:30pm and our train was 7:25pm.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Lauren P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I could not be more pleased I booked this tour despite mixed reviews! Our Ventian tour guide Francesca ? had a lovely personality and shared very interesting information about life in Venice. Our walking tour included many beautiful side roads, views of Rialto bridge, Aman Canal Grande Clooney wedding venue, La Fenice theater, and more. The gondola ride was nice 6 people in the gondola total. Gondola rides are otherwise exteremly expensive so the group option worked perfectly.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Ed

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was very interesting, informative and enjoyable. That said, it was not the tour we were expecting, nor had ikt been properly advertised as to what it would present. I booked the Venice Walking Tour with Gondola Ride, which according to the promotionals on it, would introduce us to some of the popular spots around Venice and I believe it specifically mentioned the Rialto Bridge among other sites. In reality, when we gathered with the tour guide, their clipboard headlined Secret Venice and Gondola Ride. That was not what we were expecting, nor what we believed we purchased.
Notwithstanding the switch, the tour guide was very informative and the tour quite interesting - just not what we bought!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message