• USD ($)
  • English

Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Rialto Bridge (Ponte di Rialto)

Rialto Bridge or Ponte di Rialto was the city's first bridge over the Grand Canal. Connecting the highest points on the lagoon islands settlement, the first bridge was built in 1180 and this more solid marble one in 1588-92. The bridge is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great tour. The walking tour was informative. The only drawback was having 3 people who only understood French, so after explaining everything in English the rest of us had to wait while the guide went over everything again in French. The gondola ride was nice, although it would have been nice to go under the Rialto bridge, plus the gondolier didn't speak to us. He talked to the other gondoliers and on his cell phone. But a great deal overall.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We were a little disappointed with the tour around St Marks basilica, thought we could have gone onto the terrace and into the crypt. There was no walk around the square but some interesting sights and facts on the walk around the streets to Rialto Bridge.
The boat trip on the grand canal was very good even though it was not for the full hour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

One of our Venice highlights. Great value for money with a friendly and knowledgeable guide and a small group of participants. Easy to find meeting place on the Rialto bridge which then took us on a comfortable walking tour (despite wearing wellies) through the intriguing alleyways of central Venice. The guide pointed out things we hadn't even noticed despite having been that way before. From peep holes and secret doors to stories of murder, shock and suspense it was a thrilling experience. Without giving too much away ... It is safe to say you may want to avoid eating Venetian stew .... Mwahahaha. Fantastic!

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was very good! Met the man on the Rialto bridge who was holding a sign so very easy to find and then off we went! Some very interesting stories, some which really captivated the whole atmosphere of Venice! Tour guide was quite funny too. Highly Recommended

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The walking tour was interesting and informative and took you to parts of Venice we never would have found on our own. however I would not recommend this to anyone who has trouble walking. It was fast paced thru the difficult uneven streets of Venice and up and down steps going over bridges.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was wonderful only having 5 people in our group. We had a great guide who was very pleasant and knew everything about Venice. It was a great introduction to Venice. The only problem was when we were looking for the meeting place. The picture on the voucher was not where were to meet, which confused us. It would be better to have a picture of The Bridge of Sighs.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

As with all our Viator tours during our 2 week vacation to Italy, this one excellent. Our tour guide (a young man whose name we did not get), did an excellent job describing the history of Venice and St. Mark's Square and Cathedral. Having grown up in Venice he was able to provide a personal touch to the city as we walked from St. Mark's Square through the back alleys to the Rialto Bridge. Good weather made this a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

RWeaver
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent walking tour from San Marco to Rialto, ending in time to visit the daily market there. Highly recommended even if this is not your first visit to Venice. Our guide (Gina) is Venetian and her personal connection added a lot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Lee
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

This was a very interesting tour as the guide took us behind the scenes and gave a lot of background to the architecture and history of Venice. The gondola ride along the Grand Canal towards the Rialto Bridge was great. I really enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The Grand Canal taxi ride was informative. The day was rainy so getting out of the rain was preferable. By the time we started the walking portion of the tour, the rain had stopped. We changed tour guides and while the walking tour guide was friendly and informative after we left the basilica, we did not see the "highlights" of Venice. We visited small out-of-the-way places, not even the Rialto bridge or an explanation of St. Mark's square.

Doing what: Venice Shore Excursion: Small-Group Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Taxi Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

The guide was more interested in herself, we could not hear all she was saying,and when asked to speak louder she spent 8minuets telling us how she was not going to shout because she had voice training,also we never got to see the rialto bridge or the bassilica, the gondola ride was first class.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

The tour was very disappointing. We did not see Rialto bridge. It was too dark to really see the places that the guide spoke about for the most part. The gondola ride was more disappointing as it was not romantic at all and the gondola driver did not say too much and I was not able to sit with my husband due to the seating. I would definitely not recommend this tour and feel it was a waste of money.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Venice is a beautiful city to walk around sights are amazing we only wish the guide was as good a little disappointed as it did not cover many possibilities and the tour did not end at the Rialto Bridge as it suppose to we had to ask for directions rather then ending the tour there with relevant points of the bridge.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

great tour gide, very knowledgeable and interesting. well worth it. later we went on the boat trip, only 4 of us on one boat standing at the back ducking when we went under the bridges. again well worth it, guide was great and pointed out all of interest. book it, you will be glad you did.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wonderful! Highly recommend "skip the line" everywhere you travel. We would have waited over two hours had we not purchased this. St. Mark's is beautiful, the water was rising as we stood and waited to go in, they had to put up little wooden bridges. Came out to children playing in the square like it was a swimming pool! Only in Venice. Great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message