Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Rialto Bridge (Ponte di Rialto)

Rialto Bridge or Ponte di Rialto was the city's first bridge over the Grand Canal. Connecting the highest points on the lagoon islands settlement, the first bridge was built in 1180 and this more solid marble one in 1588-92. The bridge is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 192 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a great combo pack. The tour doesn't go to the crowded places Rialto Bridge/San Marco and you get to learn a little more about the city. Then you get a shared, 6 person total gondola ride for probably the cheapest you can find it in the city.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Malc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As we have found on most occasions using Viator beat the line tours in many locations the guide was excellent. The day started with a visit to San Marco Basilica and extended to a walking tour of the City taking in the sights between San Marco and the Rialto Bridge.
A thoroughly engaging and informative guide which created a lovely experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Heather Wilde Mull

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Although we enjoyed this tour, and it is definitely worth it just for the history and the skip-the-line for St. Mark's, it wasn't exactly as it had been described. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative, but she was a little difficult to understand. Also, we didn't go to Marco Polo's house, or end at the Rialto bridge, as was described in the overview.

Overall, we enjoyed this tour, and I would definitely recommend going on it, but I think Viator needs to update the posting for it so that it is accurate.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

popo63

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour,! Our guide Franca was from Venice and provided great insight about the history of Venice, brought us to areas of the city that weren and #39;t full of tourists. Ended the evening with an amazing gondola ride! Only issue was the initial meeting point.it and #39;s the accademia bridge, viators error

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Andrew K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I would give the boat trip down the Grand Canal 5 out of 5 however the walking tour needs to spend more time within the Basillica and would have been good to walk to the Rialto Bridge instead of touching the outskirts of a couple of Districts which lacked interest. The tour guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgeable.The tour was on time and very well organised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Johan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I visited Venice for the first time and decided to book this tour with my family. It was a fantastic introduction to Venice and very interesting. Our guides were fantastic, very knowledgeable and entertaining throughout. It is a easy two hour walk around the main sights. You will learn a lot about the history and interesting water ways while walking through the various areas. I learnt that across every bridge there is a Church, absolutely fascinating. After that we went on a 1 hour boat trip around the canals looking at Venice from a different perspective. Again our guide was very entertaining, friendly and happy to answer a number of questions. It was a top class day and a must to get a feel for Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Gary M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Our guide a woman whose name I can't remember on the walking/gondola tour of Venice was excellent. Unfortunately the tour did not include St Mark's square, the Bridge of Sighs, or the Rialto Bridge. We also had to wait 30-45 minutes for the gondola ride - it was as if they weren't prepared for our group. The sound system was not the best on the tour.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved, Loved, Loved Venice!! We were skeptical to visit but were pleasantly surprised! Our tour was easy to find at St Mark's stop. You do need to buy a water ferry pass for the day if you come from the train station and it takes about 50 minutes to reach the main square. We walked all around the plaza, went inside the Cathedral in the early afternoon and then took a boat tour. Since the inside Cathedral lights are only lite from 11-12:30pm to really appreciate all the gold interior be sure to do the morning tour as you may miss a lot in the afternoon. We then walked all around the town and took a couple hours for lunch. We dined at Ristoranti Florida on the canal right past the Rialto Bridge. As soon as you cross take the Rialto Bridge away from the plaza take an immediate left onto the canal and the restaurant is a couple down. The tour also offers several times for the late afternoon boat tour so if you are limited on time then tell them. They were very accommodating and let us go an hour early so we wouldn't miss our train back to Milan. Note: Restrooms are impossible to find so plan your trips accordingly with your meals. Also don't feed the pigeons as there is a fine for doing this as they are unwelcome guests.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

moodyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is one which can be up to 25 people, but the use of headphones means that you can always hear the guide. Ours was Kristina, who was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about Venice. It was really useful to have a brief history of Venice as we went round. It was a bit of a shame we could only be in St Mark's for 10 minutes, but that is not the tours fault, as it the policy of the church due to the number of groups visiting. We saw a lot of Venice in the walking tour, which would have been quite difficult to find by ourselves. The boat tour started back near St Marks so we had to make our own way back here, but there was 2 1/2 hours to do this allowing time to wander around the Rialto area first. The boat tour was extensive, going all the way up the Grand Canal as well as some smaller canals. The guide pointed out the key buildings, which was very helpful. Overall a very good introduction to Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Anthony W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The first part of the tour consisting of San Marco church interior and explanation of the buildings in the square was worthwhile. The tour up through the back streets up to the Realto Bridge was also good. The boat tour, while enjoyable and informative but not a must do.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Joan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I enjoyed the tour and our guide was very freindly and knowlegable. However, I would have liked to have been brought to St. Mark's Square, Rialto Bridge and the bridge of sighs and learned more about them. I was on limited time and I had hoped to see as much as possible

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

nannienz

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great guide in Marina. Loads of information and some unique views of Venice. The gondola ride was a little disappointing because the gondolier only said 'Rialto Bridge'.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Joan M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Enjoyed the tour and the tour guide was excellent and very informative but it wasn't what I expected. I would have liked to have been brought to Mark's Square, The Basilica, Rialto Bridge and the Bridge of sighs and learned some histroy around these areas.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Gerald L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

The Gondala ride was okay but would not recommend this particular walking tour - we just walked around areas of no interest, rather than finding out about the real tourist attractions - ie the Rialto Bridge, St Marks Square etc.,

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Venice tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

the walking tour helped us find our way later as we walked around the city, up to Rialto bridge. Our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Bart H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Venice can be a very difficult city to walk. We loved being guided down the crooked little streets and over the bridges. The gondola ride was fun. Interesting to learn how difficult it is to become a gondolier !

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Doug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour included two of Venice's most notable and famous structures, the Basilica and Doge's Palace on the Piazza San Marco but started near the Rialto Bridge. Unfortunately for us, that was undergoing some renovation, we were told, and we didn't go by it. But we did go to a landing nearby on the Grand Canal and saw a lot that was so interesting if not well known in between there and the featured sites. The guide, Susan, said she had lived in Venice for something like 20 years and if there is something about it that she doesn't know, I'd be surprised. Appropriating the cliché, she bubbled over with enthusiasm, sharing so much on what makes Venice the special place that it is, making the tour especially enjoyable as well as informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Patrica L W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I liked what I got, but there could have been more. Our talking travel guide was obliged to repeat nearly everything he said in Spanish, for a single tourist who apparently signed up for the English-speaking tour. The ride in the gondola was very short, and I would have liked to see more of the Grande Canal than we got to didn't even make it under the Rialto. Also, I asked the gondolier to sing us a line or two, but he wouldn't oblige me. Aw, shucks!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Claire A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We decided this would be a good start for our mini break which included 3 clear days in Venice and I would recommend this to anyone as you get a great over view.
The walking tour was easy to pick up at the Gardens in San Marco and the large group was split into smaller ones which I presume was to do with the language spoken. Our guide Fredericka is a local lady, born in Vencie where she lives now with her family including 2 children. I could not recommend her highly enough as she was knowledgable, anecdotal, amusing and clear. The system of earpieces for everyone and the guide speaking into a microphone on her jacket was perfect as it meant you didn't have to hover around her to pick up what she was saying.
I must point out tho that Venice is not for the feint hearted or tender of foot! There are a hugh number of bridges of course and walking on paved surfaces is also very tiring, my legs ached so much that evening!
We had lunch and a very welcome rest and then back to the Gardens to join our Grand Canal boat tour with another guide, whose name I can't recall but he too was excellent.

Venice was beautiful, very clean, not a whif of anything unpleasant as I had been warned and the people very friendly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Mary F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very good. However, you should include the Rialto bridge and the bridge of Sighs in the walking portion of the tour. This way the tourist gets the history of the bridges and not just a photograph when they go by themselves. The boat portion was great. Nice to cover a lot of ground including smaller back canals under motor with only a few people on the boat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Rachel C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The Rialto bridge was under repair/naturally busy so it was a bit difficult to spot the guide at first but I thoroughly enjoyed this alternate way to see Venice and appreciate its well-documented history. Our guide was very knowledgeable and her slightly dramatic flair was well-suited for the theme!

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

li United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The walking tour covered the area around Campo San Luca where the tour guide's office was located. It did NOT cover Piazza San Marco. The highlight was the gondola ride about 30 minutes with 6 passengers. A short segment was on the Grand Canal with a view of the Rialto bridge. No narration by the gondolier.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great walk through the lanes, bridges and squares, and great boat tour. Long gap between, but it was good to relax and have a long lunch. St Mark's was very crowded and that part of the tour could have been better. Overall extremely well organised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

claire m United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed my Venice Ghost Walk. I wasn't sure if there would be many people on the walk, and was happy to find 2 big groups of all ages departing from the Rialto. We left in daylight which was the only down side. The stories were really good. I had a few shivers which wasn't to do with heat.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Venice is a wonderful city, this trip is great for learning about the history of the city whilst also familiarising oneself with the labyrinth of passages and bridges, the boat trip is also great for seeing the cities architecture because a lot of it can only be seen when on the water. I thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message