Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Rialto Bridge (Ponte di Rialto)

Rialto Bridge or Ponte di Rialto was the city's first bridge over the Grand Canal. Connecting the highest points on the lagoon islands settlement, the first bridge was built in 1180 and this more solid marble one in 1588-92. The bridge is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 173 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Very disappointed. The only site that we were taken to that I was happy about was the grand canal. For a tour of Venice, as it is titled, we should have been taken to the Rialto Bridge, the Bridge of Sighs, Piazza di San Marco, etc. The gondola ride was rather disappointing. Quite short and the operator was more interested in talking to the other operators of the gondolas than us, and we were the ones paying for it. Very disappointed, and would rather have saved my money!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

iammj2
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! After a long day sightseeing we were a bit weary when the tour started. However the guide was great and kept our interest with tales of intrigue and taking down alleyways you would never have found yourself. The end of the tour was at a junction between the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square and it was very easy to find our way back to our hotel at night.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Andrea, was great and gave us a wonderful informative walk to less busy, but very interesting parts of Venice. Enjoyed every minute of it. be sure to use public restrooms or ones in a cafe - with purchase - before going to meeting point as agency would not allow use of toilet in their office. Gondola ride is a Venice experience not to be missed. It was long enough to get through some of the narrow canals and under several tiny bridges out to the Grand Canal near the Rialto bridge, so we could experience that too. Felt the whole tour was good value

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour! Our guide, Mirco, really made the walk fun and very interesting. He was a fount of information and was very enthusiastic about Venice and its people. In addition to telling us about the buildings, squares, and bridges we passed or went over, he was full of information that the guidebooks would never tell you. How to pick a good restaurant in Venice, and about the orange-pink drink called a Spritz.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was great. We met at the top centre of the Rialto bridge at 8pm. From there she took us around the dark alleys, giving us ghost stories about certain buildings and the surroundings. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

25 May 2015 Excellent tours. Meeting at the Royal Garden was easy to locate and guides were prompt. The day was warm but beautiful for a morning walk. Our morning 2-hour walking tour was very informative and the guides English was excellent. This tour guide departed at the Rialto Bridge with instructions how to get back to St. Marks Square. Gave us a nice time to enjoy lunch and afternoon on our own before our boat tour of 1-hour. The Grand Canal boat tour guide pointed out many sites of interest, her English was excellent. Our boat only had 6 tourists on board, so we all had opportunity to ask questions of the guide who receptively answered all questions. Both guides were very knowledgeable of the area and history. I would recommend this tour, especially if you only had one day and one tour to choose.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were told St Marks was closed, but it was clearly open and taking tourists. Our guide also did not take us to the Rialto bridge, which was clearly part of the tour. The guide was good, but just didn't take us to the places we requested. The boat tour was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We did an afternoon tour while in Venice and it ended up raining off and on the entire tour. We where miserable walking around in the torrential down pour but even then it was hard to really follow the tour and understand what the guide was saying in English. I thought we would have seen more of the top sites than we did. For example I thought we would go to the Rialto bridge but we just walked onto a dock to see it from afar. We had to do our gondola ride the next morning, which worked out better because it wasn't raining. However it was shorter than we where told it would be.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The walking tour was very taxing for Seniors. Walking up and down the bridge stairs was hard. Also, the boat tour was 2hrs. after the walking tour so we almost missed our train back to Florence. It was to start at 5:30pm and our train was 7:25pm.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I could not be more pleased I booked this tour despite mixed reviews! Our Ventian tour guide Francesca ? had a lovely personality and shared very interesting information about life in Venice. Our walking tour included many beautiful side roads, views of Rialto bridge, Aman Canal Grande Clooney wedding venue, La Fenice theater, and more. The gondola ride was nice 6 people in the gondola total. Gondola rides are otherwise exteremly expensive so the group option worked perfectly.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was very interesting, informative and enjoyable. That said, it was not the tour we were expecting, nor had ikt been properly advertised as to what it would present. I booked the Venice Walking Tour with Gondola Ride, which according to the promotionals on it, would introduce us to some of the popular spots around Venice and I believe it specifically mentioned the Rialto Bridge among other sites. In reality, when we gathered with the tour guide, their clipboard headlined Secret Venice and Gondola Ride. That was not what we were expecting, nor what we believed we purchased.
Notwithstanding the switch, the tour guide was very informative and the tour quite interesting - just not what we bought!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

A waste of time, to be honest! The walking tour didn't visit either St Mark's Square or the Rialto Bridge, despite the website description stating otherwise. The gondolier was disinterested, spent more time on his phone. I'd recommend spending your money instead on a decent gondola ride.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent One. Must do in Sydney. We had a bit of an issue when we called harbour bridge rot boom and could not find our booking reference no. Via viator. We called viator and they fixed it. other than that Sydney bridge climb was 3.5 hours and was a fabulous experience.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgable. We lost time due to a group joining us late high wasn't fair to us but was good for the late comers as they were able to join the tour. There is significant walking and climbing of the stairs of the Venice bridges. They give time between the land tour and the Grand Canal tour, which wasn't very clear in the instructions. You do have time to shop or grab lunch in the area.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The walking tour was okay. Would have liked to have heard more history about the buildings, bridges, etc. The gondola ride was the highlight.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Firstly the walking tour provided a limited exposure to the major attractions of Venice. For example we did not get to see the Rialto Bridge even though it was close and reachable. The most annoying part was that after the walking tour was over there was a 4 and 1/2 hour wait for the boat tour. A number of people, including the three of use, had not anticipated this delay and could not make the boat tour. When we asked to speak with someone who could help us, we were told to call the provider. Sadly this tour did not meet expectations, the staff was not helpful, nor did it provide much value for our dollar.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Both the walked tour and the boat tour were very informative. Marina - who led our walking tour - was so knowledgable and shared lots of interesting (and useful) information. We got to see the 'real' Venice going through the back streets and bridges. She also recommended an amazing location for lunch! Our boat tour guide, Mossimo, was also very knowledgeable. We had a fun time navigating around the paparazzi for the Clooney wedding! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I would highly recommend this tour. The guide we had, the places we saw, the boat trip through the canals and the time set aside to do it was excellent. We didn't do the Doge's palace part of the trip so I'm not sure if we missed anything there but all in all we had a great afternoon out. The only issue we had was actually finding the guide near the bridge. As it's very busy maybe the guide should somehow be more prominent

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour starts in San Marco and ends @ the Rialto bridge. I thought the times were good as we got a break between the 2 hr walking tour and the boat cruise in the afternoon. Ending @ Rialto gave us time to get a few gifts @ the local market stalls and shops and also have some lunch before walking back to San Marco for the boat tour. The Viator rep was excellent, very knowledgeable and spoke very good English, thank you for a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was well organized and informative. Walking portion covered alot of ground and tour guide was very knowledgable. Gondola ride was a hoot. The tide was coming in so the ride got more exciting when we had to tilt a little to the left and right to get under the walking bridges. Canals were very trash free and the grand canal was very busy but safe. Saw alot of interesting landmarks.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Walking tour was ok - explained well about the history of Venice and included VIP entry and information about the Basilica. Nice walk through to Rialto bridge, but all in all a very quick tour that really needs to incorporate the Doges Palace.
The boat tour and explanation however was excellent and thoroughly enjoyable and worthwhile. I would do this just on its own if given the chance. Both guides extremely knowledgeable though and worth doing if you are short of time in Venice - which is an expensive city!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

Basilica de San Marco was closed so operator offered a thirty percent discount on the remainder of tour. This was basically a walk from the Rialto to the area in front of the Basilica - not worth even the remainder of the money paid. The guide appeared knowledgeable but had a hard time attempting to stretch out a half hour walk to fill the extra time.

Also had an issue with getting the complete refund but Viator got it straightened out - excellent customer service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. We met the guide in the middle of Railto Bridge with no problems. The guide was great and really engaging. It took us round the back streets in between Ralto area and St Marks which meant we visited parts we wouldn't have seen. This tour gave lots of interesting stories and history of Venice. I'd recommend booking it.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a tour worth the money. The guided tour through St. Mark's was great. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. After St. mark's she took us through other areas of Venice and led us to the Rialto market area where there were many choices for lunch. Later in the afternoon we met up for the boat tour. Nice to see Venice from the water. A guide talked us through the highlights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent and to get a private "posh" speedboat trip from San Marco in front of the Danielli and Londra Palace out into the lagoon - Murano etc and then back all the way down the Grand Canal superb, well over an hour on the boat and tehn 2 plus hours. The local guide very knowledgable, excelent English and very friendly/personable. Only 9 of us on the tour.

Excellent value you could easily pay 2/3x the price just for the speed boat trip.

Just watch the time to get back to cruise terminal our ship embarked at 5.30pm and it was a rush to get back but the guide got us a water taxi which whisked us back in record time and that only cost 40 Euros.

Maybe start the tours 1 or 1.30 rather than 2pm and if doing the morning shorter tour a bit later than 9am at Rialto?

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message