• USD ($)
  • English

Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Rialto Bridge (Ponte di Rialto)

Rialto Bridge or Ponte di Rialto was the city's first bridge over the Grand Canal. Connecting the highest points on the lagoon islands settlement, the first bridge was built in 1180 and this more solid marble one in 1588-92. The bridge is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The skip the line was nice but time inside was so short, didn't go on Balcony or check out bridge of Sighs. Guide was funny and informative!
Boat tour relaxing but looking back should have done the Gondula. We had already rode in this kind of boat several times for taxi.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour depends on what type of person you are, but if you like horror stories than this might just be the thing for you. The guy who gave us the tour ended some stories on an awkward note, which didn't really make sense at times. But he was very friendly and did seem to have much knowledge. You get to see many alleys and learn some deep secrets that Venice holds. IMPORTANT: If you stay at the Rialto hotel, you might not want to take this tour because it might scare you just a tad bit.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour was a complete waste of time and not worth 5 euros. We were guided around back streets of Venice to have a history lesson about the history of the city. While some interesting facts were learned, I could have read the information in a travel book for free. We were not taken to ANY known sites, rather to back alley courtyards and a building on a backstreet that the guide thought was interesting. We were near St. Marks square and the Rialto Bridge, but she did not take us there and provide any information about those major sites. The guide was friendly, but the tour offered nothing...boring, uninspiring and frustrating experience. The guide spent half the time holding up a map to explain the city layout. The Gondola ride was awful. We were lined up like an amusement park ride and our gondolier was unfriendly and pre-occupied with texting during our ride. We even have a picture of that experience. The line for the gondoliers was long and the boats were jammed together. The trip promised a Grand Canal tour....no way. We had one turn onto the Grand Canal, then immediately turned onto the first side canal. Very disappointing to say the least.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

My husband and I had been in Venice for a day already before we went on this tour, and as it is a fairly small city, we had walked most of the walking part of this tour before. That being said, it was REALLY nice to have someone pointing out the historically significant things we had just passed by the day before. The tour started off really nice - yes it is a lot of walking, but in Venice, there isn't any other way to do it. If you can't do stairs, I honestly wouldn't take this tour (and maybe not even go to Venice at all - there are very few elevators and so many bridges).

Just being able to skip the line and get into St. Mark's was well worth the tour. We went in May so it wasn't too hot yet, but I can't imagine having to stand in line in the open square in the middle of the hot/humid summer.

The only reason this is a four star review... is that although it says 'time for shopping between the walking tour and boat tour', I wasn't expecting it to be 5 hours for shopping. Our walking tour ended slightly after noon, and then we had to be back to where we met for the walking tour down by St. Mark's for the boat tour at 5:30.

Because Venice was so small, we were able to have lunch, go paint masks, and then stop off at our hotel before heading back to meet everyone, but it just seemed to disconnected to me, I wish they had been one right after another instead, or perhaps just an hour break to get lunch and head back down to the boat.

Either way, it was a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We found the walking tour of neighborhoods (really only one) and skip the line highly overrated. The boat tour was wonderful. The best part of our day!!! Talia was a fantastic guide. On the walking tour, Stephania, was very nice. We could not hear her unless we were standing very close. She did asked if the headsets worked, but we were standing close by when she asked. If you were near the back of the line, you could not hear. You need to get better equipment. The tour of St. Mark's was alright, but not worth skipping the line. We would go early and just do it ourselves. The neighborhood tour could have been done just as easily with a guide book. I thought we would at least cross the Rialto Bridge to get to another area, but no such luck. I know it would probably take too much time, but "neighborhoods" was a bit of a lie. As I said, Talia provided us with a great deal of information, and we felt that it was well worth the time and money. I would recommend that trip to friends, but not the other parts.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

This tour was supposed to include Marco Polos house and Rialto Bridge. We saw neither. We had limited time in Venice and I had to reallocate time from other things to go visit these two sites that I should have already seen. In addition the time inside the basilica was way too short. Waste of money

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We had a bit of trouble finding the starting point, and we immediately received a phone call and they directed us to the meeting point. Our guide was Francesca, who was very good. She was an art history major, so she gave us a tour through the eyes of an art historian. That made us really appreciate what we were seeing. We learned a lot about the history of Venice along the way. We enjoyed all the stories and sights along the route from the Rialto bridge to St. Mark's plaza (Piazza S. Marco). It was a pleasant and informative walk ending with the splendor of St. Mark's basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

A good tour to show us some of the important parts of Venice. Very well organized but the guide walked very quickly and we have walking difficulties so it was very hard to keep up. We were watching our feet on the uneven streets and steps on bridges so we could not really enjoy the sights and there was not really time to take photos or admire the views before we had to move on. It really could have been done with going at a much slower pace so we could take everything in. We were very rushed in St Mark's but it was very crowded. so it was difficult to see everything. After the walking tour we had to make our own way back from Rialto to St Mark's Square for the tour on the water taxi which was very interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great tour. The walking tour was informative. The only drawback was having 3 people who only understood French, so after explaining everything in English the rest of us had to wait while the guide went over everything again in French. The gondola ride was nice, although it would have been nice to go under the Rialto bridge, plus the gondolier didn't speak to us. He talked to the other gondoliers and on his cell phone. But a great deal overall.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very nice walking tour of Venice. Our guide took us through a couple of the different sections of Venice, explaining the differences of each section. The tour does cross over several bridges, so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, tell your guide beforehand, so they can go at a much slower pace. If you have a short time in Venice, as we did, this tour is a good one to take, allowing you to see a little more than the St Mark's Square area. You will see more of the "neighborhoods" of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Very disappointed with this tour. St Marks Basilica was closed and all we did was talk about the Doge Palace which we toured in the morning and the areas leading to the Rialto bridge which we covered in our ghost walking tour. The reason given for not getting into the Basilica was due to it being Easter. They should have been aware that it would not be open and not scheduled the tour for Easter day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We were a little disappointed with the tour around St Marks basilica, thought we could have gone onto the terrace and into the crypt. There was no walk around the square but some interesting sights and facts on the walk around the streets to Rialto Bridge.
The boat trip on the grand canal was very good even though it was not for the full hour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

One of our Venice highlights. Great value for money with a friendly and knowledgeable guide and a small group of participants. Easy to find meeting place on the Rialto bridge which then took us on a comfortable walking tour (despite wearing wellies) through the intriguing alleyways of central Venice. The guide pointed out things we hadn't even noticed despite having been that way before. From peep holes and secret doors to stories of murder, shock and suspense it was a thrilling experience. Without giving too much away ... It is safe to say you may want to avoid eating Venetian stew .... Mwahahaha. Fantastic!

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was very good! Met the man on the Rialto bridge who was holding a sign so very easy to find and then off we went! Some very interesting stories, some which really captivated the whole atmosphere of Venice! Tour guide was quite funny too. Highly Recommended

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The walking tour was interesting and informative and took you to parts of Venice we never would have found on our own. however I would not recommend this to anyone who has trouble walking. It was fast paced thru the difficult uneven streets of Venice and up and down steps going over bridges.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message