Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Rialto Bridge (Ponte di Rialto)

Rialto Bridge or Ponte di Rialto was the city's first bridge over the Grand Canal. Connecting the highest points on the lagoon islands settlement, the first bridge was built in 1180 and this more solid marble one in 1588-92. The bridge is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great walk through the lanes, bridges and squares, and great boat tour. Long gap between, but it was good to relax and have a long lunch. St Mark's was very crowded and that part of the tour could have been better. Overall extremely well organised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

claire m
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed my Venice Ghost Walk. I wasn't sure if there would be many people on the walk, and was happy to find 2 big groups of all ages departing from the Rialto. We left in daylight which was the only down side. The stories were really good. I had a few shivers which wasn't to do with heat.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Venice is a wonderful city, this trip is great for learning about the history of the city whilst also familiarising oneself with the labyrinth of passages and bridges, the boat trip is also great for seeing the cities architecture because a lot of it can only be seen when on the water. I thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Walking tour including the boat was well worth doing saw a lot that we wouldn't have seen, tucked away places that we were not able to retrace, be prepared for a few bridge crossings if you have small children in strollers. The boat part of the tour was also good, got to see where George Clooney got married, amongst other notable points of interest. Great tour guide on both occasions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The Gondola ride was awesome. Loved that the tour included portable headsets. Our guide was great. I only wish that the walking tour included sites such as the Rialto Bridge or the Bridge of Sighs.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Very disappointed. The only site that we were taken to that I was happy about was the grand canal. For a tour of Venice, as it is titled, we should have been taken to the Rialto Bridge, the Bridge of Sighs, Piazza di San Marco, etc. The gondola ride was rather disappointing. Quite short and the operator was more interested in talking to the other operators of the gondolas than us, and we were the ones paying for it. Very disappointed, and would rather have saved my money!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Forget this tour.
We were met at the Rialto bridge by our guide who was very pleasant.
As we progressed on the tour it became apparent that it was less about ghost and more about silly love stories which ended up in one case with a couple of concrete statues walking off together.
All a bit silly.
All the way through our guide kept saying don't worry,I wont just leave you which is precisely what she did at the conclusion of the tour.
We all expected to be returned to the Rialto bridge and had all planned our return routes to our respective hotels accordingly.
In stead we were in the middle of a square and were pointed in the general direction of our hotels.It was nine o'clock at night and none of us found it easy to get our bearings.
We had to help two English ladies who were very,very nervous.
Can't recommend this one I'm afraid.
Don and Diane Potts
Australia

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

iammj2
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! After a long day sightseeing we were a bit weary when the tour started. However the guide was great and kept our interest with tales of intrigue and taking down alleyways you would never have found yourself. The end of the tour was at a junction between the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square and it was very easy to find our way back to our hotel at night.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Andrea, was great and gave us a wonderful informative walk to less busy, but very interesting parts of Venice. Enjoyed every minute of it. be sure to use public restrooms or ones in a cafe - with purchase - before going to meeting point as agency would not allow use of toilet in their office. Gondola ride is a Venice experience not to be missed. It was long enough to get through some of the narrow canals and under several tiny bridges out to the Grand Canal near the Rialto bridge, so we could experience that too. Felt the whole tour was good value

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour! Our guide, Mirco, really made the walk fun and very interesting. He was a fount of information and was very enthusiastic about Venice and its people. In addition to telling us about the buildings, squares, and bridges we passed or went over, he was full of information that the guidebooks would never tell you. How to pick a good restaurant in Venice, and about the orange-pink drink called a Spritz.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was great. We met at the top centre of the Rialto bridge at 8pm. From there she took us around the dark alleys, giving us ghost stories about certain buildings and the surroundings. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

25 May 2015 Excellent tours. Meeting at the Royal Garden was easy to locate and guides were prompt. The day was warm but beautiful for a morning walk. Our morning 2-hour walking tour was very informative and the guides English was excellent. This tour guide departed at the Rialto Bridge with instructions how to get back to St. Marks Square. Gave us a nice time to enjoy lunch and afternoon on our own before our boat tour of 1-hour. The Grand Canal boat tour guide pointed out many sites of interest, her English was excellent. Our boat only had 6 tourists on board, so we all had opportunity to ask questions of the guide who receptively answered all questions. Both guides were very knowledgeable of the area and history. I would recommend this tour, especially if you only had one day and one tour to choose.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were told St Marks was closed, but it was clearly open and taking tourists. Our guide also did not take us to the Rialto bridge, which was clearly part of the tour. The guide was good, but just didn't take us to the places we requested. The boat tour was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We did an afternoon tour while in Venice and it ended up raining off and on the entire tour. We where miserable walking around in the torrential down pour but even then it was hard to really follow the tour and understand what the guide was saying in English. I thought we would have seen more of the top sites than we did. For example I thought we would go to the Rialto bridge but we just walked onto a dock to see it from afar. We had to do our gondola ride the next morning, which worked out better because it wasn't raining. However it was shorter than we where told it would be.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The walking tour was very taxing for Seniors. Walking up and down the bridge stairs was hard. Also, the boat tour was 2hrs. after the walking tour so we almost missed our train back to Florence. It was to start at 5:30pm and our train was 7:25pm.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I could not be more pleased I booked this tour despite mixed reviews! Our Ventian tour guide Francesca ? had a lovely personality and shared very interesting information about life in Venice. Our walking tour included many beautiful side roads, views of Rialto bridge, Aman Canal Grande Clooney wedding venue, La Fenice theater, and more. The gondola ride was nice 6 people in the gondola total. Gondola rides are otherwise exteremly expensive so the group option worked perfectly.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was very interesting, informative and enjoyable. That said, it was not the tour we were expecting, nor had ikt been properly advertised as to what it would present. I booked the Venice Walking Tour with Gondola Ride, which according to the promotionals on it, would introduce us to some of the popular spots around Venice and I believe it specifically mentioned the Rialto Bridge among other sites. In reality, when we gathered with the tour guide, their clipboard headlined Secret Venice and Gondola Ride. That was not what we were expecting, nor what we believed we purchased.
Notwithstanding the switch, the tour guide was very informative and the tour quite interesting - just not what we bought!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

A waste of time, to be honest! The walking tour didn't visit either St Mark's Square or the Rialto Bridge, despite the website description stating otherwise. The gondolier was disinterested, spent more time on his phone. I'd recommend spending your money instead on a decent gondola ride.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent One. Must do in Sydney. We had a bit of an issue when we called harbour bridge rot boom and could not find our booking reference no. Via viator. We called viator and they fixed it. other than that Sydney bridge climb was 3.5 hours and was a fabulous experience.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgable. We lost time due to a group joining us late high wasn't fair to us but was good for the late comers as they were able to join the tour. There is significant walking and climbing of the stairs of the Venice bridges. They give time between the land tour and the Grand Canal tour, which wasn't very clear in the instructions. You do have time to shop or grab lunch in the area.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The walking tour was okay. Would have liked to have heard more history about the buildings, bridges, etc. The gondola ride was the highlight.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Firstly the walking tour provided a limited exposure to the major attractions of Venice. For example we did not get to see the Rialto Bridge even though it was close and reachable. The most annoying part was that after the walking tour was over there was a 4 and 1/2 hour wait for the boat tour. A number of people, including the three of use, had not anticipated this delay and could not make the boat tour. When we asked to speak with someone who could help us, we were told to call the provider. Sadly this tour did not meet expectations, the staff was not helpful, nor did it provide much value for our dollar.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Both the walked tour and the boat tour were very informative. Marina - who led our walking tour - was so knowledgable and shared lots of interesting (and useful) information. We got to see the 'real' Venice going through the back streets and bridges. She also recommended an amazing location for lunch! Our boat tour guide, Mossimo, was also very knowledgeable. We had a fun time navigating around the paparazzi for the Clooney wedding! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I would highly recommend this tour. The guide we had, the places we saw, the boat trip through the canals and the time set aside to do it was excellent. We didn't do the Doge's palace part of the trip so I'm not sure if we missed anything there but all in all we had a great afternoon out. The only issue we had was actually finding the guide near the bridge. As it's very busy maybe the guide should somehow be more prominent

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour starts in San Marco and ends @ the Rialto bridge. I thought the times were good as we got a break between the 2 hr walking tour and the boat cruise in the afternoon. Ending @ Rialto gave us time to get a few gifts @ the local market stalls and shops and also have some lunch before walking back to San Marco for the boat tour. The Viator rep was excellent, very knowledgeable and spoke very good English, thank you for a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message