Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Rialto Bridge (Ponte di Rialto)

Rialto Bridge or Ponte di Rialto was the city's first bridge over the Grand Canal. Connecting the highest points on the lagoon islands settlement, the first bridge was built in 1180 and this more solid marble one in 1588-92. The bridge is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We checked in at the local travel agent as per our paperwork and picked up a walkie-talkie and earphones. We were divided in to 2 groups and each had their own guide. We really enjoyed the walking tour - the guide was very knowledgeable and took us to places other than the obvious ie Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square.
After the walking tour ended, the guide took us back to the meeting place where we met the people from other tour. We were all then walked back through the streets to where the Gondola ride was to go from. Not very well organised as the walking tour should have ended where the gondolas went from.
However, we did enjoy the walking tour and the Gondola ride was really good an a very memorable experience.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour guide was excellent. Tours should plan for bathroom breaks, lot of walking with no bagni. Gondola ride at night very nice but gondolier did not describe bridges, sights, etc.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Disappointing - we travelled with another couple that had not been to Venice before. We expected the tour to cover all of the major sights such as St Marks Square and the Rialto bridge - it didn't. We enjoyed the tour but thought it would have been so much better without going to so many obscure, and less impressive locations. That said, the Gondola ride is worth the price of the tour alone.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful way to quickly see the sights of San Marco and end at Rialto. Great history and overview, guide had a great sense of humour and spent just the right amount of time at each stop. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a nice walking tour that took us through some of the back streets of Venice with a local tour guide. They start from the tour company's office, which was about a 10 minute walk from our hotel near St. Mark's Square. Strangely, the tour doesn't take you through St. Mark's Square itself...I guess they assume you can find that on your own. We did walk out to a pier where we were able to get a good photos of Rialto Bridge...we were able to get good shots with our telephoto lenses, but if you just had a point and shoot camera, you might be a bit far away for your liking. We trooped off to see some the other churches in town, some of which are leaning far more than Pisa's Leaning Tower. We learned that 14 of Venice's 75 churches have pretty severe listing issues due to settling of the pilings on which they are built. It was a hot and fairly muggy day when we did the tour, so the 90 minutes got a bit long, but all in all it was enjoyable. The guide then took us back to our starting point where after a 15-20 minute wait, we were handed over to another guide who walked us to the gondola boarding area (right in front of the Hard Rock Cafe). We took a shared ride with two other groups of two (six people total). It's a nice ride through some tiny canals where you are amazed that the gondoleers can manage to pass other boats without crashing. This is a shared ride and good for photos/video but it is not a private gondola for just you and your significant other to have a romantic cruise. We understood this going into the tour, so we were not disappointed. We enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to others if it's your first visit to Venice.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Excellent or getting an overall idea of how venetians live..Frédérica was brilliant note that this tour doesn't include rialto and St. Marks. I would advise seeing rialto before your and St marks after

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was amazing, we opted to have the doge's palace on our tour. We'll worth the money. We walked over the bridge of sighs and walked through the prison cells as well. All up the whole tour was great. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

With only 2 full days in Venice, we decided to book a tour of St, Mark's and a walking tour for Saturday morning. We are so glad we did, and our tour guide Rosanna was very pleasant and helpful for getting us inside at the right time, as there was always other competitor tour groups all trying to get into the Basilica at the right time. I had to check in our back-pack along with a couple of others from our tour, so she directed us to the place to check them in. Didn't take long at all, and went in pretty quickly. It really is an amazing Church with all the gold mosaic murals all over the walls and ceilings. The 12 Apostles and Mark are all dark in colour from all the candles that used to be used to illuminate the inside. Rosanna always had answers for our questions, and she pointed out numerous things that we would have never uncovered by ourselves! The tour of the streets heading over to the Rialto area was fantastic also, and she taught us how to walk on the right side, so the people of Venice can go about their busy lives, and get to where they are going in a timely manner. Thank you for providing us with such a fantastic guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An exemplary walking tour around Venice, our guide a true Venetian was very knowledgeable. The walk is of a good pace and covers a lot of the San Marco area. It starts at Saint Marks square and into the Basilica where she explains in detail all you are seeing.
The out into San Marco on foot over bridges and canals into the quieter less Tourist areas before returning to the tumult and jostling around Rialto bridge.
You the have free time, for us we returned to our hotel for a shower (the tour is hot work in the sun) and a sandwich before returning 2 1/2 hours later for the boat tour.
WE found the boat tiur to be perfect, we went around the grand canal, out into the lagoon , past the graveyard and Murano in a comfortable boat with the sun on your back and wind in your hair whilst the guide expertly points out the history of what you are seeing.

Two Lovely tours in one day, very impressed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The skip the line was nice but time inside was so short, didn't go on Balcony or check out bridge of Sighs. Guide was funny and informative!
Boat tour relaxing but looking back should have done the Gondula. We had already rode in this kind of boat several times for taxi.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

"Skip the line" is exactly right - you breeze right past the long queue at San Marco and get right in. Afterwards it's a walking tour that doesn't hit the obvious highlights, but explains the vocabulary of the city. Our guide was clear, informative, and extremely well-versed (I asked "when did they add the electric lights to the streets?" and she promptly said "1883.") The tour ended by the Rialto, and you're on your own for a few hours.

The boat tour a delight; wanted to turn around and take it again.

A great introduction to Venice. Tip your guide if he or she's good. ;)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour depends on what type of person you are, but if you like horror stories than this might just be the thing for you. The guy who gave us the tour ended some stories on an awkward note, which didn't really make sense at times. But he was very friendly and did seem to have much knowledge. You get to see many alleys and learn some deep secrets that Venice holds. IMPORTANT: If you stay at the Rialto hotel, you might not want to take this tour because it might scare you just a tad bit.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour was a complete waste of time and not worth 5 euros. We were guided around back streets of Venice to have a history lesson about the history of the city. While some interesting facts were learned, I could have read the information in a travel book for free. We were not taken to ANY known sites, rather to back alley courtyards and a building on a backstreet that the guide thought was interesting. We were near St. Marks square and the Rialto Bridge, but she did not take us there and provide any information about those major sites. The guide was friendly, but the tour offered nothing...boring, uninspiring and frustrating experience. The guide spent half the time holding up a map to explain the city layout. The Gondola ride was awful. We were lined up like an amusement park ride and our gondolier was unfriendly and pre-occupied with texting during our ride. We even have a picture of that experience. The line for the gondoliers was long and the boats were jammed together. The trip promised a Grand Canal tour....no way. We had one turn onto the Grand Canal, then immediately turned onto the first side canal. Very disappointing to say the least.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

My husband and I had been in Venice for a day already before we went on this tour, and as it is a fairly small city, we had walked most of the walking part of this tour before. That being said, it was REALLY nice to have someone pointing out the historically significant things we had just passed by the day before. The tour started off really nice - yes it is a lot of walking, but in Venice, there isn't any other way to do it. If you can't do stairs, I honestly wouldn't take this tour (and maybe not even go to Venice at all - there are very few elevators and so many bridges).

Just being able to skip the line and get into St. Mark's was well worth the tour. We went in May so it wasn't too hot yet, but I can't imagine having to stand in line in the open square in the middle of the hot/humid summer.

The only reason this is a four star review... is that although it says 'time for shopping between the walking tour and boat tour', I wasn't expecting it to be 5 hours for shopping. Our walking tour ended slightly after noon, and then we had to be back to where we met for the walking tour down by St. Mark's for the boat tour at 5:30.

Because Venice was so small, we were able to have lunch, go paint masks, and then stop off at our hotel before heading back to meet everyone, but it just seemed to disconnected to me, I wish they had been one right after another instead, or perhaps just an hour break to get lunch and head back down to the boat.

Either way, it was a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We found the walking tour of neighborhoods (really only one) and skip the line highly overrated. The boat tour was wonderful. The best part of our day!!! Talia was a fantastic guide. On the walking tour, Stephania, was very nice. We could not hear her unless we were standing very close. She did asked if the headsets worked, but we were standing close by when she asked. If you were near the back of the line, you could not hear. You need to get better equipment. The tour of St. Mark's was alright, but not worth skipping the line. We would go early and just do it ourselves. The neighborhood tour could have been done just as easily with a guide book. I thought we would at least cross the Rialto Bridge to get to another area, but no such luck. I know it would probably take too much time, but "neighborhoods" was a bit of a lie. As I said, Talia provided us with a great deal of information, and we felt that it was well worth the time and money. I would recommend that trip to friends, but not the other parts.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message