Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Rialto Bridge (Ponte di Rialto)

Rialto Bridge or Ponte di Rialto was the city's first bridge over the Grand Canal. Connecting the highest points on the lagoon islands settlement, the first bridge was built in 1180 and this more solid marble one in 1588-92. The bridge is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Both the walked tour and the boat tour were very informative. Marina - who led our walking tour - was so knowledgable and shared lots of interesting (and useful) information. We got to see the 'real' Venice going through the back streets and bridges. She also recommended an amazing location for lunch! Our boat tour guide, Mossimo, was also very knowledgeable. We had a fun time navigating around the paparazzi for the Clooney wedding! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I would highly recommend this tour. The guide we had, the places we saw, the boat trip through the canals and the time set aside to do it was excellent. We didn't do the Doge's palace part of the trip so I'm not sure if we missed anything there but all in all we had a great afternoon out. The only issue we had was actually finding the guide near the bridge. As it's very busy maybe the guide should somehow be more prominent

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour starts in San Marco and ends @ the Rialto bridge. I thought the times were good as we got a break between the 2 hr walking tour and the boat cruise in the afternoon. Ending @ Rialto gave us time to get a few gifts @ the local market stalls and shops and also have some lunch before walking back to San Marco for the boat tour. The Viator rep was excellent, very knowledgeable and spoke very good English, thank you for a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was well organized and informative. Walking portion covered alot of ground and tour guide was very knowledgable. Gondola ride was a hoot. The tide was coming in so the ride got more exciting when we had to tilt a little to the left and right to get under the walking bridges. Canals were very trash free and the grand canal was very busy but safe. Saw alot of interesting landmarks.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Walking tour was ok - explained well about the history of Venice and included VIP entry and information about the Basilica. Nice walk through to Rialto bridge, but all in all a very quick tour that really needs to incorporate the Doges Palace.
The boat tour and explanation however was excellent and thoroughly enjoyable and worthwhile. I would do this just on its own if given the chance. Both guides extremely knowledgeable though and worth doing if you are short of time in Venice - which is an expensive city!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

Basilica de San Marco was closed so operator offered a thirty percent discount on the remainder of tour. This was basically a walk from the Rialto to the area in front of the Basilica - not worth even the remainder of the money paid. The guide appeared knowledgeable but had a hard time attempting to stretch out a half hour walk to fill the extra time.

Also had an issue with getting the complete refund but Viator got it straightened out - excellent customer service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. We met the guide in the middle of Railto Bridge with no problems. The guide was great and really engaging. It took us round the back streets in between Ralto area and St Marks which meant we visited parts we wouldn't have seen. This tour gave lots of interesting stories and history of Venice. I'd recommend booking it.

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a tour worth the money. The guided tour through St. Mark's was great. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. After St. mark's she took us through other areas of Venice and led us to the Rialto market area where there were many choices for lunch. Later in the afternoon we met up for the boat tour. Nice to see Venice from the water. A guide talked us through the highlights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent and to get a private "posh" speedboat trip from San Marco in front of the Danielli and Londra Palace out into the lagoon - Murano etc and then back all the way down the Grand Canal superb, well over an hour on the boat and tehn 2 plus hours. The local guide very knowledgable, excelent English and very friendly/personable. Only 9 of us on the tour.

Excellent value you could easily pay 2/3x the price just for the speed boat trip.

Just watch the time to get back to cruise terminal our ship embarked at 5.30pm and it was a rush to get back but the guide got us a water taxi which whisked us back in record time and that only cost 40 Euros.

Maybe start the tours 1 or 1.30 rather than 2pm and if doing the morning shorter tour a bit later than 9am at Rialto?

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We were really looking forward to this tour , but we were left feeling very disappointed , with it being described as a walking tour. We assumed that it would include the major sites in Venice , such as St marks Sq , the doges palace, bridge of sighs etc.
None of these were included. So all in all 1 out of 5. I think the description of the tour that was used is very misleading, we were led to believe by the guide , that we would see the secret side on Venice and we did back streets with nothing to look at ! with the exception of one truly wonderful piece spiral staircase. That was it.

I look forward to your reply.

Thanks

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Packed day of walking, going up and down the interminable number of bridges that dot Venice but worth every bit of is. St. Mark's Cathedral is a magnificent work of art. The artwork on the ceilings is breathtaking. The tour through the Grand Canal is something everybody should experience. You get a beautiful view of the magficense that is Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We checked in at the local travel agent as per our paperwork and picked up a walkie-talkie and earphones. We were divided in to 2 groups and each had their own guide. We really enjoyed the walking tour - the guide was very knowledgeable and took us to places other than the obvious ie Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square.
After the walking tour ended, the guide took us back to the meeting place where we met the people from other tour. We were all then walked back through the streets to where the Gondola ride was to go from. Not very well organised as the walking tour should have ended where the gondolas went from.
However, we did enjoy the walking tour and the Gondola ride was really good an a very memorable experience.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour guide was excellent. Tours should plan for bathroom breaks, lot of walking with no bagni. Gondola ride at night very nice but gondolier did not describe bridges, sights, etc.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Disappointing - we travelled with another couple that had not been to Venice before. We expected the tour to cover all of the major sights such as St Marks Square and the Rialto bridge - it didn't. We enjoyed the tour but thought it would have been so much better without going to so many obscure, and less impressive locations. That said, the Gondola ride is worth the price of the tour alone.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful way to quickly see the sights of San Marco and end at Rialto. Great history and overview, guide had a great sense of humour and spent just the right amount of time at each stop. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message