Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Scuola Grande di San Rocco (Scuola of San Rocco)

The Scuola Grande di San Rocco was one of the many “Scuole Grandi” in Venice, typically established by the church for charitable purposes. The “Great School” of San Rocco was founded in the 15th century by a group of Venetian aristocrats, although ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 348 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

F G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

No one else arrived for the tour - we had a personal tour and gondola ride. Excellent tour guide who was very informative. Loved Venice.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Ronald R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The walking tour was fantastic. The guide can't remember her name was very knowledgeable and provided us with a great tour of Venice. The only problem with the excursion was that the gondola ride was postponed due to rain/high water. Thought I may have had a problem getting a refund for this portion of the tour that was cancelled, but much to my surprise an e-mail from the company stating a refund was already processed was waiting for me when I got home.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Jia En Grace L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was informative and funny and we loved the walking tour! It provided us with knowledge that we wouldnt have been able to find out on our own and although the gondola ride was cancelled due to bad weather, a reasonable refund was given for the gondola.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Kate W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Sdeso Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour exploring lesser visited streets of Venice. The gondola ride was with 6 people total, but still very nice and romantic. We had a fantastic guide, but unfortunately cannot remember her name. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Amanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a wonderful afternoon with Francesca. Her enthusiasm and passion for Venice was contagious. We visited beautiful art in quiet sanctuaries and when one of the attractions was unexpectedly closed her knowledge and resourcefulness prevailed and she lead us to other sites via other parts of Venice that we had not had the chance or pleasure to visit yet. This afternoon and our time with Francesca was truly a highlight for us we'll be back!

Doing what: Power and Glory in Venetian Art: Titian and Tintoretto

Diana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was fantastic! We learnt so much in the time we spent with her. She was full of knowledge and very engaging. We are all art lovers and we had a wonderful Venitian art experience. Totally worth it!

Doing what: Power and Glory in Venetian Art: Titian and Tintoretto

Nada F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

it was amazing indeed unforgettable tour

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

pgavin1697

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

tour guide very knowledgeable had a great time a bad storm came so we never got our Gondola ride they said we would be credited some money back as of now I have not checked

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Barry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Take this tour at sunset. It's cooler, and Venice's narrow streets are so photogenic in the deepening shadows...absolutely beautiful. Our guide was a local resident she was knowledgable and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Isabelle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was great ! Very interressant, funny and we learned a lot about Venice ! I recommande this for every people how wants to have another point of view.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Megan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was superb. Our director was Illyana, or Illy for short, she said. We loved her. Lots of fun facts about Venice and its history. So thankful we had a tour guide considering the craziness of the streets' in Venice. It made it a fun and relaxing way to see the city without having to worry about referring to a map. She also recommended a place to eat dinner that night and it was a wonderful way to close up our time in Venice. And of course, the gondola ride was highlight.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Dannielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We chose this tour for the gondola ride, but actually ended up enjoying the walking tour more! We learnt about how the Venetians used to live and how Venice was built... it was really interesting walking through the quiet street in Venice, rather than the busy places we'd been earlier in the day. The only negative was that it takes a lot longer than expected so eat before hand we were starving... our own fault though!.
Amazing guide whos name I've forgotten, but she spoke amazing English and answered any and all questions happily including giving some people directions back to their hotel etc. Would recommend!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Patrick D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great experience. The tour was of the back streets of Venice and away from the main tourist attractions. It included views of one of the last Gondola building yards left on the island. The tour guide was excellent and well versed in the subject and the out of the ordinary aspects of Venice, including description of a haunted villa that no one will buy - interesting? Our group was only 6 and intimate. The Gondola ride was all that was expected and of about 45 minutes duration - enough to take in the experience. I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

robbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Unique tour of lesser seen areas of Venice. The gondola portion is short but nice. Out guide was a native Venetian who provided great information and answered questions well.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We has a great experience with Viator. We had to change our reservation and the agents on the phone were able to help though finding the number on the website was tough. Our tour guide was awesome. She was local and was very informative about how the life of Venice. She spoke excellent English and was very friendly. The tour required a lot of walking as all of Venice does...stairs, it was hot. It ended with a gondola ride but you may have to share with others on the tour.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Sally H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Half this trip I would highly recommend - our walking guide was amazing, clearly a local - took us to places off the beaten track, explained things and was truly engaging. The second half the gondola ride was truly awful! Our gonadaleer spent the first ten minutes if our 30 min trip rowing us to where all his friends were having a picnic - not to show us a great experience but to pick up a cup of proseco for himself. He then steered us through a canal and pulled up outside a bar where he waited for someone to come out and give him a beer! Not really what I was expecting or wanting. So def do the walking bit but do NOT get in gondola number 246

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Elizabeth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent value, great tour operators.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Michele D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

iammj2 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took the morning option and found to our delight that we were the only two on the tour. The walking tour was fantastic and our guide very knowledgeable about the local area. The best part was that we got to have a gondola ride without having to share.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Christina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Visited Venice alone, and this was a perfect way for me to go on a gondola ride. The ride was the perfect time at night where the sun is going down and you can experience both a day and night ride. The walking tour was great as well. Our guide brought us to a lot of interesting spots that I know I would not have found on a regular tour.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Rik H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The trip was brilliant, the hotel was excellent the only down side is you needed a boat to get to the city center and back which was free from the hotel. However, if the weather is cold and it was freezing some days the boat only runs once per hour and the waiting area has no cover. Apart from that it was all we expected and very beautiful. The Gondola ride was great, but a little scary as it was night and we were only a few inched from the water line and the waves were quite big, I was at the front and it was a great view of the city, you must do it!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Pamela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic, love skip the line tours

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Lucie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was very knowledgeable so the tour was very interesting. The gondola ride was excellent. Good value for money.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

MARIA DEL PILAR A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good specially because it shows you the normal venice.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message