Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Scuola Grande di San Rocco (Scuola of San Rocco)

The Scuola Grande di San Rocco was one of the many “Scuole Grandi” in Venice, typically established by the church for charitable purposes. The “Great School” of San Rocco was founded in the 15th century by a group of Venetian aristocrats, although ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was everything and more than expected. Gondolier was great sang to us talked about different things as we we riding around. Would recommend

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Easy to find departure point. Lovely tour guide very informative. Some great sights and pictures. Shared gondola ride was good you don't need to spend loads on a private gondola when you can share like this.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The walking tour is not any of the main areas but more of the backroads with interesting tidbits about the culture. I like walking so this was good for me.
The Gondola ride is a must. You can't go to Venice and not do it.

There were only two of us on the tour, the poor lady only spoke French and there was some mix-up because our guide only spoke English. BUT, the gondolier spoke about 6 languages so she got to chat happily with him and get a talking tour throughout our gondola ride.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Brilliant 'Secret' tour of Venice. Francesca was very good when telling us about the history and some of the lesser known facts of the city. The gondola ride was exceptionally good!!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Brilliant 'Secret' tour of Venice. Francesca was very good when telling us about the history and some of the lesser known facts of the city. The gondola ride was exceptionally good!!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very knowledgeable tour guide , really relaxing gondola helped by it being a glorious day , certainly better to have done the tour morning rather than evening .

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Guide was great and the walking tour was very enjoyable. The Gondola ride is OKAY, it is something worth saying that you have done but parts of Venice look a little tired especially the parts seen by the gondola.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a very knowledgeable guide who showed us some of the less touristy areas of Venice and provided us with a number of interesting pieces of information about the various buildings and smaller architectural features we encountered along the way. The tour ended with a welcome and unexpectedly long gondola trip - I had expected 15 minutes or so, and it was at least half an hour. We went along part of the Grand Canal, then turned into the smaller waterways. Because it was dusk, there was less traffic on the water, so it was very peaceful and beautifully lit by the lights from waterside restaurants and private dwellings.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We gad a wonderful time! perfect evening in a magical setting! great!!!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent. Our guide was very knowledgable and brought the things we were seeing to life with the stories of the history of the houses and buildings.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This visit exceeded our expectations, especially the guided visit in Dorsoduro with Angelo, our guide. We got an overview of Venice which we wouldn't have otherwise as we learnt many things which were not written in the guide book we had. The gondola ride was the "cherry on the top of the cake", with a really nice gondolier who also explained to us a bit about the places we were passing by. It was really beautiful and romantic and very much worth for the price (only a gondola ride bought on the spot would have been much more expensive than this gondola ride + guided tour). We stronly recommend it to anyone going to Venice!!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was pouring with rain, but we saw the tour through to the end. The tour guide did everything to make us as comfortable as he could given the weather. His knowledge, sense of humour and views was exactly how I imagined the venetians to be. We loved it. Did not get to do gondola due to bad weather, company reimbursed us with in five days with no effort required from us.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was just the right length. Good history and a taste of local culture

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a tour of the Dorsoduro Sestier. The male guide was knowledgeable and humerous and had a store of stories and anecdotes. The walking was easy and at a leisurely pace.
The Gondola ride was generally a waste of time - there is little to see in the dark in unlit canals, especially if the gondolier doesn't want to explain what or where we were going.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This turned into a single couple trip, we were the only ones on the tour. Great female guide who did a great job of showing us an overview of the area and we returned to several spots the next day. The gondola was also just us and other than the cold. it was superb.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message