Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Scuola Grande di San Rocco (Scuola of San Rocco)

The Scuola Grande di San Rocco was one of the many “Scuole Grandi” in Venice, typically established by the church for charitable purposes. The “Great School” of San Rocco was founded in the 15th century by a group of Venetian aristocrats, although ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 268 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent trip to the hidden away places. The evening trip was perfect with less crowds

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Stephen B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Interesting tour from and excellent guide that covered some less well know area's of 'hidden' Venice, rather than the main attractions and sights. The Gondola ride was tranquil and pleasant. Don't expect the gondolier to say much in the way of a commentary though! Ours didn't.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We did this tour in the morning - a nice time - not too crowded with people and easier to see the sites. This is a wonderful way to see and wander through some of the streets (calles and fondements) of Venice and learn some history at the same time. This tour walked us through the neighbourhoods of Dorsoduro and San Polo followed by a relaxing Gondola ride through the smaller canals of San Marco. Our walking guide, Francesca (with the blonde, longer hair), was quite sweet and funny with an extensive knowledge of the area. I recommend this tour and Francesca.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Francescs was outstanding guide

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing tour guide and the gondolier was so knowledgable

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was cancelled due to poor weather. However, I commend the prompt and efficient service of the tour guide and Viator back office in arranging the refund. Thank you.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very enjoyable tour. The tour guide was very passionate and knowledgeable and the gondola ride was a great way to finish the tour.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved this tour! We mostly enjoyed the back streets part of the tour with information we did not know before. We also enjoyed the genuine friendly nature of our guide.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed the tour. We had a short time in Venice, but got a very good overview, and got to take a gondola ride Our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was excellent,we couldnt expect anything better from start to finish. It was great to have a such a knowledgeable tour guide (lavina) and even better since she was from the area which made her very passionate about everything she spoke about. Recommend this tour to everyone going to florenc

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the first of 4 tours I booked for our trip. I have to say that It was very informative and interesting. Our guide was very knowledgeable and answered any and all questions he was asked. The group was just the right size and the pace of the tour was excellent. The gondola ride at the end was just the topping on the cake. I would highly recommend this tour as you get to see parts of Venice that you might miss on your own.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was everything and more than expected. Gondolier was great sang to us talked about different things as we we riding around. Would recommend

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Easy to find departure point. Lovely tour guide very informative. Some great sights and pictures. Shared gondola ride was good you don't need to spend loads on a private gondola when you can share like this.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The walking tour is not any of the main areas but more of the backroads with interesting tidbits about the culture. I like walking so this was good for me.
The Gondola ride is a must. You can't go to Venice and not do it.

There were only two of us on the tour, the poor lady only spoke French and there was some mix-up because our guide only spoke English. BUT, the gondolier spoke about 6 languages so she got to chat happily with him and get a talking tour throughout our gondola ride.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Brilliant 'Secret' tour of Venice. Francesca was very good when telling us about the history and some of the lesser known facts of the city. The gondola ride was exceptionally good!!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message