Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 434 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephen B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Interesting tour that cover some less well know area's of Venice, as well as St. Mark's Basilica. However, the tour inside was very short and you do not get to see it all. Very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was local and very knowledgable about Venice. The tour through St. Mark's Basilica is incredibly fast and it's tough to see much, but the tour around the city is worth it. Great orientation to the city for our multi-day stay.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a great tour but doing the early (no break) option was difficult. There was no time to breathe and digest. I also knocked a star off because the time allotted in the basilica was too short and we were not made aware of St. Mark's resting place. We were told as we were leaving and a lot of people in the group myself included were very upset. How can this important piece of information be left out. So be sure to ask your guide before you enter the basilica. The canal cruise was very cool and informative. Unfortunately I dont remember any guides names, the day went so fast and was soo long. I changed my mind, if you can, do this in multiple days...it was a lot of information and tiring.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Venice rating: 1
Dolomites rating: 5

Venice in One Day:
Not worth it, skip this one. Highlight of the tour was supposed to be St. Mark's Basilica, but we were in there a total of maybe 10 minutes. We didn't even get to walk around and explore. The rest of the tour was just walking around the city into different "campos"... like residential squares. Very boring. Then instead of being brought back to the original meeting place, we were left in the streets, told to go eat at a restaurant along the canal, and given rough directions about how to head back. Venice is like a maze full of dead-ends, so we took forever finding our way again. It's also not clear in the ad that there is a long wait between the end of the walking walking tour and the start of the boat tour. We had over 2.5 hours to kill, which affected the plans we had for the evening.

Dolomite Tour:
Vincenzo (our guide) was very friendly, informative, and accommodating; we liked him a lot. He made sure that we didn't feel rushed. I liked the fact that it was a small group tour. This was one of my favourite tours that I've done so far in Italy. The only part of the trip I didn't like was Cortina, but that's just personal preference. The ad says minibus, but it's actually an 8-seater van. It would also be nice if the meeting point could be Piazzale Roma instead of Tronchetto.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Dolomite Mountains Day Trip and Skip-the-Line Venice in One Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour was about 30mins late getting started, the tour of the Basilica was a bit rushed we would have liked more time to look around this fantastic Church. We did not go on the boat trip as the break between the walking tour and the Grand Canal Tour was too long, as the walking tour was late starting we felt that the same thing might happen with the Canal Tour and we might have missed our Cruise ship departure. So i would say that the break should have been shorter.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful tour! Our tour guide was fantastic! This was a great way to see the Basilica and the Doge's Palace without dealing with the long lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If only a short time in Venice this tour is a must. An extremely good guide who really knew his subject. Queue hopping was very good both for the Basilica and Doges. My experience with viator up to date has been very good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This walking tour gave us a good start to our short trip. Our guide was fantastic and our visit to St Mark's Basilica was excellent. Our guide produced a book giving us clear information about how Venice was built and she made the experience very easy and pleasant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great way to get acquainted with Venice and some historical landmarks; while talking a leisurely stroll.
Guide spoke very good English with a cute little Italian accent - she was very knowledgeable and told a funny stories along the way. Great experience and well worth the time and $. Need to climb the Basilica on your own time to fully enjoy Venice.
JJJ4USC

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the money and time taken to do this guided tour. The tour guide was just fantastic and the information brilliant. Skip the line at Marks Basilica, well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another bucket list requirement achieved - thanks to Viator. Venice is one of the most wonderful cities on Earth - steeped in history and enshrined with beautiful buildings and art treasures. This was a split tour: two hour walk in the morning and a water taxi cruise in the late afternoon. Both guides were very knowledgeable and brought the history of Venice to life. The Basilica of St Mark was a real highlight, made all the more special through an explanation of the history and collaboration with the eastern Orthodox Church during the Byzantine era. The only way to see Venice is from the water. The gondola rides are very limited regarding how far you can travel - whereas the water taxi is able to ensure that the visitor sees all aspects of Venice. Great trip!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really a great way to see the real Venice and of Course the Beautiful Basilica di San Marco. The walking speaker sets make it easy for everyone to hear the dialog, our guide had a little problem remembering to speak into the microphone. She had a wealth of knowledge about the area, the Basilica and the Square, a very enjoyable afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I did this tour to skip the lines to see in the basilica. Overall the tour was interesting but I felt a little rushed, especially in the basilica. The guide was knowledgeable though and the staff well organised giving out headsets etc

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed this tour taken on our first afternoon in Venice. Skipping the line at the Basilica was great. The walking tour was very helpful in getting our bearings, seeing places to eat and shop as well as hearing local history of Venice. The guide Marina, was very enthusiastic about her Venetian heritage. She was also able to deposit us at the beginning of the line for the Basilica Museum after the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Doges palace was amazing, 2 hours isn't enough, if I were booking again I would do this desperately to give time to wander around more. Unfortunately Venice flooded a little in st Mark's square meaning we had to queue for the basilica. The boat trip was amazing!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message