• USD ($)
  • English

Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 406 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. Out tour guide was born, raised and lived in Venice her entire life. She took us thru the residential areas and told us how the People in Venice live. She explained about how the water comes up and how they deal with it. It showed us another side of Venice that we would not have even thought about had we not taken this tour. We finished the tour with a visit to St Marks Basilica. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an incredible day with three separate tours. The first tour of the Doge's Palace was the best because it set the scene for the other tours with lots of history which gave a fantastic understanding of how the Venician Republic operated and why it lasted for so long. St Mark's Basilica and the walking tour gave a flavour of how the city is laid out and how people lived. The tour of the canals was excellent. A tiring day but worth every second. The tour guides were knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. These tours provided excellent background for the rest of our stay in Venice. There was enough time between tours for a leisurely lunch or coffee. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our cruise boat was in Venice for 1 1/2 days but due to cruise boat departures changes, we weren't going to be able to take the motor boat tour at 5:30 on our second day. We gambled and connected with the tour on the first day to see if we could take the motor boat early. The guide graciously squeezed our party of 4 on early. She was wonderful and full of energy! She even got the boat captain to take special routes even though the tide was raising and made the clearance under bridges tight. The next day we did Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica. Our tour guide for Doge's Palace was excellent...she gave a lot of history and really knew her facts. We only spent about 20 minutes in St. Mark's...probably because some the people needed to get coverings for their knees and shoulders. Of the 3 guides, St. Mark's was the less prepared. Overall I'm glad we did all 3 tours...it was a great price.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

With only 2 full days in Venice, we decided to book a tour of St, Mark's and a walking tour for Saturday morning. We are so glad we did, and our tour guide Rosanna was very pleasant and helpful for getting us inside at the right time, as there was always other competitor tour groups all trying to get into the Basilica at the right time. I had to check in our back-pack along with a couple of others from our tour, so she directed us to the place to check them in. Didn't take long at all, and went in pretty quickly. It really is an amazing Church with all the gold mosaic murals all over the walls and ceilings. The 12 Apostles and Mark are all dark in colour from all the candles that used to be used to illuminate the inside. Rosanna always had answers for our questions, and she pointed out numerous things that we would have never uncovered by ourselves! The tour of the streets heading over to the Rialto area was fantastic also, and she taught us how to walk on the right side, so the people of Venice can go about their busy lives, and get to where they are going in a timely manner. Thank you for providing us with such a fantastic guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An exemplary walking tour around Venice, our guide a true Venetian was very knowledgeable. The walk is of a good pace and covers a lot of the San Marco area. It starts at Saint Marks square and into the Basilica where she explains in detail all you are seeing.
The out into San Marco on foot over bridges and canals into the quieter less Tourist areas before returning to the tumult and jostling around Rialto bridge.
You the have free time, for us we returned to our hotel for a shower (the tour is hot work in the sun) and a sandwich before returning 2 1/2 hours later for the boat tour.
WE found the boat tiur to be perfect, we went around the grand canal, out into the lagoon , past the graveyard and Murano in a comfortable boat with the sun on your back and wind in your hair whilst the guide expertly points out the history of what you are seeing.

Two Lovely tours in one day, very impressed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The only problem with this tour was the lack of time inside st marks basilica. We were only inside for a couple of minutes but the rest of the tour made up for it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. We loved every minute of it. The only thing we wished for was a little more time in St. Mark's Basilica.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was well organized and everyone was helpful and friendly. Skip the line was great and we did not have to wait. The tour guide for the Doge's tour was very knowledgeable and I enjoyed the information and the pace. My tour of St. Mark's Basilica was too short. It seemed like we ran in and ran out. The tour guide was much more interested in showing us the clock in the square than the church. I would have preferred a separate tour of the Basilica with a detailed description of the architecture and maybe add the clock tower. The guide for the walking tour was knowable and showed us interesting sites.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was an okay tour - considerably more detail that we were looking for, so we ended up losing interest and leaving the tour about half way through. The Basilica itself was magnificent. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, but the two young women who we first met at the rendezvous point seemed a bit disorganized which resulted in us having to hurry to catch up with our group after they had already left the meeting point despite the fact that we were the first ones there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This trip our first with viator was very disappointing. The touring party arrived at 11am and no one turned up to guide us. I asked beforehand was it 11 or 2pm as it was a Sunday but ours and others specially stated morning . We returned at 2pm and our tour begun. We stood in the sun for at least 20 mins. While the doges palace was explained and was then told we wouldn't be visiting st marks basilica. There were people going in at least to the top floor but we were told we couldn't do that by this stage three quarters of the group had disbanded including us.The guides English was not good and impossible to understand. We were told earlier the boat trip would not take place until 5pm so we returned for that. The tour wasn't continuous as the same boat was used for more than one group . The boat trip on the canal was extremely good. And the guide was very good with excellent English. We are on our 2nd and 3rd viator tours tomorrow in barcelona and our hoping this will be a good experience.
Regards Lesley Davis

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The lady guide's English was incomprehensible and it was further muffled by the poor sound equipment which seems not to work from time to time. But her English was really poor. I was annoyed by the fact that the tour company had not told us that there was an extra 4 Euro to enter the basilica. This should have been highlighted on the website or on the ticket, or included in the upfront purchase ticket. Secondly we were not told about backpacks, so I had to find a secure location to leave mine which meant I wasted time on the tour. This should be made very clear to customers right at start. However, the tour itself was ok as we got to go inside the Church without having to wait in a long queue.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Our guide was very hard to hear. Very boring and just too many people in our group. Also I specifically booked the day I did because I wanted to go through St Marks Basilica. It was closed when we went and we were told to come back the next day. The walk itself was not very informative and missed a lot of detail out. T

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The guide was excellent, but we only had about 10-15 minutes in the Basillica which was not enough time to walk all round and appreciate its beauty, so we would have preferred to cut the time down on the walking tour and just add this to the time in the Basilica and we had no opportunity to go into the Basilica shop

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We were promised a "skip the line" entry to St. Mark's basilica, but when the tour started, we were informed that the basilica had to be skipped due to the high tides and weather.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is a must do - well worth the money.... The tour guide was very informative and it was great to skip the large queues at the basilica. We enjoyed it and would definitely recommend doing it

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message