• USD ($)
  • English

Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 346 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Enjoyed this tour. The person taking the tour was well informed. Took us through St Marks Basilica followed by an excursion of the back streets of venice. I would book this tour again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Really enjoyed visiting St Mark’s Basilica, and also exploring the Grand Canal by boat. The guide was very knowledgeable, and it was great to be in a small-group.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

There are not enough stars to give this tour! Susanna our guide was just too good! Our hotel was right across the street, literally, from the Vatican Museum and if you don't do a skip the line, you will be wasting a lot of your day waiting in a long, long line! We skipped the lines for everything and Susanna was like a walking encyclopedia of information about the history of all parts of Vatican and Basilica history. The Sistine Chapel was incredible and we walked right in! NO PICS in the Sistine, some overzealous employee descended from what seemed like the heavens to accuse me of taking pictures (no tour guides are allowed in with you) and he insisted! I was not, but I did have my cell phone out, I showed him I wasn't taking pictures, he was still rude SO DON'T ATTEMPT PICTURES IN THE SISTENE CHAPEL! As for the tour, not enough words to tell you about the awesomeness of the whole thing...just too good at their jobs for sure!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An excellent guide. The tour of the Basilica is difficult because of the crowd, but she managed to explain and show the major sights. The highlight is the tour of the back streets of Venice. We saw the little things that without such a good guide you would surely miss.
Personally I would have preferred the boat tour to follow on directly from the walking tour thereby leaving the rest of the day free. But the tour of the Grand Canal was informative and very good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We were a little disappointed with the tour around St Marks basilica, thought we could have gone onto the terrace and into the crypt. There was no walk around the square but some interesting sights and facts on the walk around the streets to Rialto Bridge.
The boat trip on the grand canal was very good even though it was not for the full hour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The walking tour was much less walking and too much standing in one spot and talking. The tour of the basilica is very misleading. A quick 5 min walk through of the foyer only. We greatly enjoyed the afternoon boat tour of the canals which is the only reason I would recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The tour was ok, but we did not really skip the line - we waited like everyone else in the Basilica and stayed there very few minutes, didn't even approach the sarcofag. The good thing is they are giving you an udio so you can hear everything the guide is saying even in the nosiy streets.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were unable to enter the basilica do to a National holiday. That would have been nice to know. However, the tour went as scheduled and was extremely informative, well done and full of relevant information for the tourist that wants to understand the city and it's history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful to see st Marks basilica and to hear all the history gave us all a deeper appreciation .the tour guide was very nice and answered most questions

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

ADL
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Delivered on its promise. Tour guide was knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. Yes, we skipped the huge lines to the Basilica and the Doges Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very informative tour. Skipping the line for St Marks Basilica was the best. Oh and by the way the boat ride was amazing. Perfect tour for your stay in Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide, Gina, was fabulous! She was funny, informative and easily handled the group. She led us through St Mark's basilica and the laneways of Venice with ease. We had a different tour guide for the afternoon boat tour. She was great too! She told us the history of some of the buildings on the canal and about the canal itself. Between tours, we had time to wander around and experience the delicious food of Venice. It would have been nice if the tour included the Doges Palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved Elisabeth. She walked us thru history but included fun facts adding every day anecdotes. She did not let "strays" get in our way which was very important as the Basilica and the Doges Palace were quite busy,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Would be great to have more time to see St Mark's Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour. Educated guide knowledgeable able the Basilica and the history of Venice.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message