Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 428 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful tour! Our tour guide was fantastic! This was a great way to see the Basilica and the Doge's Palace without dealing with the long lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If only a short time in Venice this tour is a must. An extremely good guide who really knew his subject. Queue hopping was very good both for the Basilica and Doges. My experience with viator up to date has been very good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This walking tour gave us a good start to our short trip. Our guide was fantastic and our visit to St Mark's Basilica was excellent. Our guide produced a book giving us clear information about how Venice was built and she made the experience very easy and pleasant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great way to get acquainted with Venice and some historical landmarks; while talking a leisurely stroll.
Guide spoke very good English with a cute little Italian accent - she was very knowledgeable and told a funny stories along the way. Great experience and well worth the time and $. Need to climb the Basilica on your own time to fully enjoy Venice.
JJJ4USC

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the money and time taken to do this guided tour. The tour guide was just fantastic and the information brilliant. Skip the line at Marks Basilica, well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another bucket list requirement achieved - thanks to Viator. Venice is one of the most wonderful cities on Earth - steeped in history and enshrined with beautiful buildings and art treasures. This was a split tour: two hour walk in the morning and a water taxi cruise in the late afternoon. Both guides were very knowledgeable and brought the history of Venice to life. The Basilica of St Mark was a real highlight, made all the more special through an explanation of the history and collaboration with the eastern Orthodox Church during the Byzantine era. The only way to see Venice is from the water. The gondola rides are very limited regarding how far you can travel - whereas the water taxi is able to ensure that the visitor sees all aspects of Venice. Great trip!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really a great way to see the real Venice and of Course the Beautiful Basilica di San Marco. The walking speaker sets make it easy for everyone to hear the dialog, our guide had a little problem remembering to speak into the microphone. She had a wealth of knowledge about the area, the Basilica and the Square, a very enjoyable afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I did this tour to skip the lines to see in the basilica. Overall the tour was interesting but I felt a little rushed, especially in the basilica. The guide was knowledgeable though and the staff well organised giving out headsets etc

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed this tour taken on our first afternoon in Venice. Skipping the line at the Basilica was great. The walking tour was very helpful in getting our bearings, seeing places to eat and shop as well as hearing local history of Venice. The guide Marina, was very enthusiastic about her Venetian heritage. She was also able to deposit us at the beginning of the line for the Basilica Museum after the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Doges palace was amazing, 2 hours isn't enough, if I were booking again I would do this desperately to give time to wander around more. Unfortunately Venice flooded a little in st Mark's square meaning we had to queue for the basilica. The boat trip was amazing!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Tour is ok not fantastic, we became tired towards the end and looked forward to the boat trip. Hardly spend any time in the Basilica more outside, walking becomes too much in the heat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The best part of this tour was the Grand Canal Boat Tour at the end. The guide into St Mark's Basilica was only useful for the 'Skip the line' entry and the walking tour was ok but not memorable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Please note that we missed this tour, so the rating is not exactly accurate. However, I wanted to leave a comment because future travelers can learn from our mistakes. We missed the tour because our train arrived a half hour before the tour was supposed to start, and we weren't sure how to find the meeting spot- very far from the train station. It was impossible to make it in a half hour if you don't know your way around, so make sure you have an ample amount of time to find it after your train arrives! I'd suggest at least an hour/hour and a half to be safe! Also, try taking a vaporetto! We walked and had trouble navigating the streets of Venice.

We did walk by St. Mark's square after we finally made it there, and it would be worthwhile to have the Skip the Line tour if you want to see St. Mark's Basilica in July. There was a huge line!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. Out tour guide was born, raised and lived in Venice her entire life. She took us thru the residential areas and told us how the People in Venice live. She explained about how the water comes up and how they deal with it. It showed us another side of Venice that we would not have even thought about had we not taken this tour. We finished the tour with a visit to St Marks Basilica. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an incredible day with three separate tours. The first tour of the Doge's Palace was the best because it set the scene for the other tours with lots of history which gave a fantastic understanding of how the Venician Republic operated and why it lasted for so long. St Mark's Basilica and the walking tour gave a flavour of how the city is laid out and how people lived. The tour of the canals was excellent. A tiring day but worth every second. The tour guides were knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. These tours provided excellent background for the rest of our stay in Venice. There was enough time between tours for a leisurely lunch or coffee. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message