Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 525 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This one day tour of Venice was fantastic. We had three different guides, who were all fantastic, and a nice break in between the Basilica/Venice Walking Tour and Boat Ride, which allowed us time to grab a nice lunch. As we only had one day in Venice, this was the perfect opportunity to learn and see a lot.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide is so informative and interesting. St. Mark's Basilica is so crowded and good to have this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

For us this tour was well worth the money. It provided us with a background knowledge that we would not have had. This allowed us to greater appreciate what we were seeing. The one disappointment was the amount of time spent inside the Basilica. It was too little to get a good sense of an extraordinary place. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was very interesting and we saw parts of Venice we would never have found on ur own. We were rushed round the Basilica though which was disappointing. The boat trip was very good and the guide was very informative and relaxed as if he was enjoying it as much as we did.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This is a full day of tours. Started with amazing guide Andre reminded me of actor Robson Green who was very informative and shared his passion/knowledge of Doges Palace with us. I found St Marks Basilica tour to be crowded, very noisy and inaudible. Once we moved outside and walked the back streets it was more pleasurable and enjoyed the personal touches by the guide eg. showed us hospital where he was born. Then the icing on the cake was the canal boat tour with Christina. She was truly amazing and very personable. A tiring but momentus day. Truly Loved Venice 3

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The skip-the-line Doge's Palace tour was great and very informative. The second part of the tour was good of the Basilica but the majority of the tour was just walking through the island. Wish tour was just the Doge's Palace and the Basilica together for 2-3 hours and leave out the rest.

Doing what: Best Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable and humorous in his delivery which made it more entertaining.
Long wait between walking and boat tour - time enough to return to hotel.
spent disproportionate amount of time in the square compared to the basilica which seemed a quick walk round.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

My daughter and I could not hear the tour guide because the basilica was so crowded and noisy and the headset they provided only had one ear piece. It was not worth my money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide Andrea was extremely friendly and helpful. He explained the history of Doge's palace, the basilica slowly, so that we understood it.

Weather was hot, so it's always good to have a nice cold drink in your hand.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is actually 3 tours in one with 3 different guides. We skipped the whole line in both the Basilica and the Palace. The guides were very professional and friendly. The Basilica tour is rather short while the canal cruise end-up being very nice going to places you'll never see in other way.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The evening grand canal tour was booked for 5:30pm but on arriving at the meeting place we were told there were too many people for this time and we would have wait for the 6.30pm tour. This was annoying as we had already had the Doge's Palace tour and the St. Marks Basilica tours in the morning and afternoon so it proved to be a rather long day. Why we were not informed earlier in the day about the change of time I found annoying.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

AWESOME tour...awesome guide! Susan's knowledge of Venice was amazing and she took us into some rarely seen back alleys with gorgeous views. I really enjoyed the small group tour and getting to see the inside of the Basilica and continuing to the Doge's palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to see the main highlights of Venice. The first part, a tour of the Doge's Palace and St Mark's Basilica was great. We saw and learned a lot. Skipping the line was absolutely necessary as the lines were loooooong and the heat was oppressive. After a break, we regrouped for the walking tour. It was fascinating - we felt like we were seeing things we'd never have found on our own. Another short break and another regroup for the boat ride. We were pleasantly surprised that they used small water taxis with just 9 tourists each. It made the tour much more personal and so much nicer than a big ferry.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Venice was the surprise of our European trip. Our tour of the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica gave us a great overview of the city. Our guide knew her way around the city and had great stories about the landmarks. She made us feel as if we were visiting the city during the Renaissance and lucky to get out of the Palace through the front door with our heads intact! She made history come alive and gave us some great tips for finding our way around Venice on our own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour through the back streets of Venice and on to the Basilica of San Marco. Highly informative with lots of small bits of information that made it special.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide for everything except the Grand Canal Boat Ride was, Barbara, and she was fantastic! She was a wealth of knowledge. The meeting point for the tour was very easy to find once we made our way to Saint Mark's Square. We were SO glad we chose the Skip the Line option because the lines to both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were ridiculously crazy long!!! The inside of the Doge's Palace was beautiful, and Barbara did a great job explaining the history of the Doge's as well as the architecture and the artwork inside.We were very happy to see that she was going to be our guide for St. Mark's Basilica and our walking tour. The inside of the basilica is breathtaking, and again Barbara did a fabulous job of explaining the history of and art within. The walking tour was fun, we got to see a lot of Venice without worrying about getting lost. We learned about gondoliers and the symbolism in the construction of the gondolas, the Rialto Bridge, and so much more. We had plenty of free time to wander around between the walking tour and the Grand Canal Boat Tour which was very interesting as well. I highly recommend this tour for the skip the line benefit, but also for the wealth of information shared by our guide that we would not have otherwise learned.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour gave us a great overview of the Doge's Palace, a short visit to the Basilica, and a fun walk through some adjacent neighborhoods. We had a knowledgeable and informative tour guide. It was really a fun tour, hampered only by some mechanical problems with the tour guide's microphone that sometimes made it hard for all of us to hear her.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. We enjoyed learning about the way the city was built and the history of Doge's Palace. St. Mark's Basilica is a beautiful building! The clock tower just outside is amazing! Loved the walking tour through the streets of Venice! Then to end the day with a boat tour of the Grand Canal made the experience complete!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Sachin
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very professionally conducted. Everything went according to plan, with the tickets being given to us before entering the Basilica. The guide was very knowledgeable. The only issue was the lack of restroom facilities.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Seemed a bit too quick on Doge's Palace and pretty long on basilica tour except it was not long in basilica but going around the streets of the St Mark's square.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

excellent tour of the local town of venice. the skip the line of the st marks basilica was nice too

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This tour was worth the money if for no other reason but to eliminate the long wait in line to get into St. Mark's basilica. The tour guide was very pleasant and accommodating given that we had to work through a large number of crowds. At some points through the tour it was hard to hear, but given the crowds I think that was unavoidable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The morning tour of the Doge's Palace was fantastic. The tour guide really knew her history and went out of her way to make the tour interesting and exciting for everyone. Unfortunately, the afternoon tour of St. Mark's Basilica plus Venice walking tour was a complete waste of time. Tour guide did not seem to care and was frankly extremely boring. He rushed everyone through St. Mark's Basilica and spent most time on the walking tour Way too much time on the walking portion. Unfortunately, the tour guide did little if no speaking during the walking portion of the tour so we had no idea where we were going and what we needed to look at during this portion of the tour. He was extremely boring and walked so slowly that it was quite apparent to everyone he was trying to waste time. At one point, it became quite apparent that the entire tour group was annoyed, bored and extremely confused as to what we were suppose to be doing. Several individuals and families completely abandoned the tour and handed the tour guide their headsets. They basically said they could not take it anymore and could learn more about Venice on their own. They did not seem to care that they had no idea where we were at the time the departed they just wanted to leave. I felt badly for the tour guide but hoped the abrupt departure of several individuals would send him a message that he needed to liven things up. Unfortunately, he never got the message and things did not change.

Doing what: Best Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

We breezed through St Mark's Basilica so quickly that you could forget you had been in there! The rest of the tour was ok but not really needed. Venice is very easy to discover yourself.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide Rita!...lots of information about the culture and history...didn't have to wait for 3-4 hours in the rain to get inside St. Mark's Basilica...both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica are a must see in Venice!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message