Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 581 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Virginia M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Venice was very crowded especially upon entering st. Mark's Basilica. Glad we chose the skip the line tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed this tour. It offered up several places of interest that we wanted to see and not having been to Venice prior we felt we could not visit these locations without help and guidance. Doges Palace was very interesting and had a great guide, very professional and nice young woman. Grand Canal ride was teriffic! We saw so much of Venice that way, so glad we went. St Marks Basilica very nice, rest of walking tour was just okay, guide offered entirely too much info for an individual to absorb and talked the entire time actually got tired of hearing her and removed my ear piece. I realize that the guide can sometimes make or break a trip, but all in all it was a good tour and very happy that we did decide to take it. Would definitely book this tour again.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Joan C Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

I have to say that I was very disappointed with this tour. I thought we would be escorted through St. Mark's with an expert to better understand the history, but we were in there for what I estimate to be under 15 minutes. There was so much to see and we barely saw any of it and we did not learn much about it either. One couple cancelled out of the tour to stay in the Basilica rather then continue on with us. I had to go back on my own because there was no time. Had I realized it was going to be such a short amount of time in the Basilica I would not have booked the tour. The walking tour was informative but it was St. Mark's I was most interested in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Dawne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Friendly and patient. Basilica tour allowed us to skip the long lineups so that in itself was worth the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Doug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour included two of Venice's most notable and famous structures, the Basilica and Doge's Palace on the Piazza San Marco but started near the Rialto Bridge. Unfortunately for us, that was undergoing some renovation, we were told, and we didn't go by it. But we did go to a landing nearby on the Grand Canal and saw a lot that was so interesting if not well known in between there and the featured sites. The guide, Susan, said she had lived in Venice for something like 20 years and if there is something about it that she doesn't know, I'd be surprised. Appropriating the cliché, she bubbled over with enthusiasm, sharing so much on what makes Venice the special place that it is, making the tour especially enjoyable as well as informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Greg Z

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a very nice tour, especially the information provided by the guide, and the access to the two small side chapels. Our one critique was that we were not able to spend as much time in the main basilica as we might have done otherwise. It is such a beautiful place!

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Cathedral Tour with Entrance to the Baptistery and Zen Chapel

Anna K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This tour was pretty awesome. Def. wear your most comfiest sneakers cuz my iphone tells me I walked about 10 miles this day. GO ME! The meeting point was easy to find and checking in with the tour group went smoothly. For this tour we had 3 different tour guides. First guide for the Doge palace, second guide for our St Marks Basilica Tour and Walking Tour and our last guide for the Boat Tour. All three guides were informative, knowledgeable and excited to share what they know of Venice. Doge Palace tour was cool. There's a lot to know about the Doge so without the tour guide I think I would of missed out on the history of it all. My favorite was the walking tour our tour guide was like a great story teller, animated and passionate it was my favorite cuz you got to see the nooks and crannies of Venice. We saw hidden bookstores, restaurants, shops and you just want to wander and get lost you won't cuz you have your guide in your ear. You can get lost after. I liked that this tour ended on a boat cuz experiencing Venice on a boat was like the icing on a cake. Breathtaking.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Hector L M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour, but would have like to see more on St Mark's Basilica. Time there was very short.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Kim F

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This was a great basic tour of Venice. Our tour guide was good, not great. My only real complaint is that we walked through St. Mark's Basilica for a total of 10 minutes. We followed him to about three different spots then walked out. If I had been looking forward to the Basilica I would be very upset.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Jana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My whole family went on this tour; two adults and two teenage children. We all enjoyed it. Our guide was articulate and extremely enthusiastic. We learned a lot and had a great time. Our guide even timed our visit to the viewing platform of the basilica in such a way that we could see the clock operate when the hour changed.
We would highly recommend this tour for all visitors.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Chantal B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide was amazing in telling us about the history of Venice as well as it's geographical influence in the 15th and 16th century. We started the day with the Doge Palace which was mind blowing. The paintings, the architecture, the history and so much more were a treasure to the eyes. We especially appreciated having a 15-20 minutes breaks between this visit and the visit of the Basilica since it gets a bit overwhelming to receive so much information at once and to completely appreciate what you see. Unfortunately, the visit of St Mark's Basilica was a bit crowded and too short. You have to follow a set path and you can't really spend time appreciating all there is to see. I would say we spent maybe 20 minutes inside which was not enough for us to feel satisfied. Then we moved on to our walking tour. This was an eye opening as we had been in Venice 3 days already and still were trying to find our way around those tiny alleys. It was great to have a guide that knows exactly where they are going and to see how intimate Venice can be.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Warren S T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I did the tour on Sept 10th. The tour meeting point was nearby and easy to find. Our guide for the Doge's Palace was Arianna. The tour was very informative and Arianna provided the right amount of info so it was easy to understand the history of the building, the palace and the art. It was good to get into the prison area. Great Art pieces.
In the afternoon I went on the 2nd part of the tour to St Marks Basilica. Our guide was Maria. The tour was very informative, whilst not over the top. Inside is amazing. A must see. The Skip the Line ticket is a must as the queues had 2-3 hour waits. Overall, a very good way to see 2 of the top attractions in Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

C S Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is the one tour you should take if you do not have much time. Highlights are the awesome San Marco Basilica and the Water taxi tour. You will skip the very very long line when visiting the San Marco Basilica. The water taxi tour trough the canals, will give you an excellent impression of Venice. The guide - Celica ? - is very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

Marjoleine D. K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting tour, the guide was very enthousiastic and told us a lot about Venice and Basilica

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Gina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting. Andrea (Andrew) was very knowledgeable and shared so much on the Doges Palace tour. Laura was an excellent guide as we went through St. Mark's Basilica and the Venice walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Laurie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent, informative, and seeing the Basilica was a highlight!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Both of the tours and guides were wonderful! It was very hot, so being able to skip the line at the Basilica was great. Our guide for the walking tour gave us so much great information. It was nice being able to walk through the narrow streets of Venice and not get lost, as well as learn so much about the city. The tour of the Grand Canal was also excellent. Seeing Venice from the water side was also a treat, and again, we learned so much. Be aware that the boat tour is later in the afternoon, not immediately after the walking tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Judith O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fran, the guide, was clear, friendly, and competent. Both the canal ride and walking tour were just what we wanted. Saw the 2d tier of the basilica and walked through at a leisurely pace along with the commentary. The walk through the back streets was something I would not have ventured on my own! Great tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

Marc W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent morning walking tour, including St Marks Basilica- first we have been on and highly recommended, led by knowledgeable, local guide, Venetian, Marina. She made the subject come alive highly recommend her.
The afternoon boat tour however as not so good. The guide appeared to be tired and rambled in a mix of English and Italian it was supposed to be an English speaking tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

vanessanbernie

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Walking tour was great, guide was excellent, very informative. Also I was very glad we had avoid the queue tickets for the Basilica and Doges Palace because the queues were horrendous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Christopher C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We really liked the tour of the Doge's palace. Stefano, the tour guide, explained everything very well and brought the subject matter to life. The tour guide for St Mark's Basilica was a bit too robotic and we only spent 10 minutes in the Basilica.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Debbie F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour itself was good but the meeting place was not exactly where it was meant to be, we did still find it though. The guide through the Doge's Palace was very entertaining. We had to leave our backpacks at the service desk but they were very well organised and secure. We had a hearing device which was great as it saved everyone squishing together to hear. St Marks Basilica Tour was just straight in and straight out and we had to leave our backpacks at this small service area around the corner. There didn't appear to be much security in this area. The walking tour was quite long and it didn't help that it was quite hot at the time however, I would still recommend this if you have only a short time in Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Lillian A S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very good tours. Could have used a little more time in St Mark's Basilica. There was a little overlap in the two walking tours. The Grande Canal vaporetto tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Peter A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Doge's Palace experience was excellent with very good and informative guide
St Mark's Basilica tour slightly disappointing because of allocation of limited time in the Basilica relative to the time allocated to the Walking tour

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Casey S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It my second time in venice. Great tour got my money's worth. Loved the part where we went up to the second floor of san marco basilica the first time wasnt able to go up.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message