Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 501 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide Rita!...lots of information about the culture and history...didn't have to wait for 3-4 hours in the rain to get inside St. Mark's Basilica...both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica are a must see in Venice!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Simon S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

walking the backstreets where one wouldn't normally go was an exciting prospect and our welcoming and informed guide showed us areas of Venice one would not normally find! during the afternoon we were welcomed back to enjoy a water taxi trip along tiny cals culminating in the Grand Canal. Jump the queue to see the Basilica - excellent.
This tour was split not 'back to back' so we took the time to enjoy an excellent bistro lunch before the afternoon boat tour.
Book this tour, it will give you a glimpse of this wonderful City - its not 'in depth' but this allows on to get one's bearings and is a valuable insight into Venice. Book now and enjoy it - talk to the guide, they are very well informed. Next day the 2 of us were in the Doge's Palace looking around, on our own, and saw one of our Guides from the day before - she greeted us most warmly when we said 'hello'! It was typical of the positive attitude we experienced. Its' good value and we recommend booking this trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Greta insight into Venice and St Mark's Basilica.
These tours give you 'behind the scene' insight into the locations with a bit of local knowledge, and no waiting in queues!
Would recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So good to skip a very long queue into the Basilica. This alone made the walking tour worthwhile. The boat tour was fabulous. Only 9 on our boat. A great way to see Venice, would recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, Rita, provided us with great information about the history of Venice. It was obvious that she loves the city. We appreciated skipping the long line to get into the beautiful St. Mark's Basilica and getting in on a look at the back streets of Venice, as well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The lines are long for Doge's Palace and the Basilica, so purchasing this in advance was well worth it. Doge's Palace is a must see with an experienced guide as we had. The tour of the Basilica was informative and we had a lovely walking tour of the neighborhood adjoining San Marco about life in Venice. As a bonus, the ticket included entry into the Correr Museum. We're not usually keen on museums, but this was great. It included the Imperial Rooms of the Royal Palace, as well as other rooms with artifacts from Venice. Just fabulous to see.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

These 3 tours were great. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable, they did a good job of explaining what we were looking at. Both the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were awesome. The Venice walking tour showed us places that we may not have seen otherwise. The grand canal tour was just that - grand. We didn't just ride along the grand canal, but into smaller canals where we cruised under many bridges and got a terrific overview of the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant tour guide Marco who asked all the right questions and demonstrated in a knowledgeable and humourus way the beautiful Doge's PALACE AND THE BASILICA SAN MARCO. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had Stephania for the Doges Palace tour and Maria for our afternoon walking and Basilica. They were both excellent. They engaged us all with their knowledge. Thoroughly enjoyable!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very entertainig and keen guide, shame time in Basilica is limited but this is not the fault of the trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Carissa E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

SO happy we did this tour! Coming to Venice for the first time, we started with the tour in the hope to gain some familiarity to a few areas.. It definitely made navigating easier in the days after! Our guide was fantastic, we learnt a lot about Venice just in these couple of hours. We added on the tour for the Doge's Palace after Basilica di San Marco and were so glad we did - would recommend. Skipping the loooooong queue line with a tour group is always a bonus. If you're coming to Venice for the first time, this tour cannot come highly recommended :-

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did the three part tour. We had Mirco as our guide for the Basilica and Doges. He was wonderful. He gave us so much background on Venice and all the history of the sites. The boat tour was also informative and well done.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was really interesting and so well conducted that even having a pigeon pooh on my head and later losing my camera has not changed my perception. Since leaving Venice the group which runs the tour has found my camera and promised to send it on so I am looking forward to seeing the many photos I took as we walked through many fascinating parts of the city. The Basilica was definitely a highlight. Well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

iammj2
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour but not enough time spent inside St Mark's Basilica. However with the number of people lining up outside to get in going with a tour is certainly a better use of your time.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good tour guide very knowledgeable. Expected more time in the Basilica less than 30 minutes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

There was some sort of event at the Basilica that morning so we didn't get to "Skip the line" and tour St. Mark's. That was very disappointing. However our guide took us on a very fun and informative back streets tour and we enjoyed that.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide provided with an excellent history of Venice and its neighborhoods in additional to St. Mark's Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

we were met at the appointed place timely to receive our headsets. Berta, our guide was warm and friendly and gave good information about the sites while keeping us on lesser traveled routes. Plain to see she enjoys her job. Tour of the Basilica was short but good, no waiting. Recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was great. We were unable to go inside the Basilica as it was closed. The rain did not put a damper on things but it did limit some views from the boat portion of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Doges Palace tour was great an amazing building with great history a good guide and saw lots really recommend it. However I wouldn't recommend the St Marks Basilica tour as we didn't spend hardly any time in the church. The boat tour was also excellent and informative well worth it so 2/3

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Alan L
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic lady guide to Doges Palace - good stories and informative. Basilica tour wasn't my cup of tea and the male guide lacked enthusiasm. Interesting tour and guided water taxi tour. Good overall value for money bringing a quick understanding of the layout of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour started promptly with helpful organisers arriving well before the starting time of 9.a.m.Tour of the Doges Palace was excellent, finishing before 11a.m. and the next tour of St Marks Basilica starting at 2p.m.Rather a long break in between and an early start . The tour of St Marks however,was extremely disappointing. Although we received a very good lecture on the exterior of the Basilica, the time spent inside was extremely short, less than 10 minutes. Although there are rules about large groups not stopping for too long,which is understandable, we did not visit the Pala D'Oro, with its magnificent jewelled altarpiece and the sacristy door with the relief of Titian's head,or the upper floor where the original bronze horses that used to be over the door of St Marks are now sited. Also the upper floor provides excellent views of both St Mark's Square the lagoon , and beyond. There are beautiful mosaics/paintings e.g.Mary's family tree and a chance to see the church from upstairs --I know this because I was so disappointed that I went back the next day and paid my 5 Euro for the upper floor and 2 Euro for the Pala D'oro this part of the tour is NOT recommended-- do it yourself ! The subsequent walking tour was informative , scenic and very enjoyable. The highlight was the 1 hour ride in the water taxi entitled Cruise of the Grand Canal--GC we did so much more and saw a lot of Venice and the lagoon as well as the GC We had to arrive at 1.45 with the taxi ride finishing at 5.30 p.m and no breaks --on a hot day which necessitated drinking water, this was unacceptable in order to arrive at 1.45 I had to leave the hotel at 1.25 p.m. and 4 hours without a comfort break really spoiled the trip We should have been given a 10 minute break to visit the public loos near the Royal gardens where the water taxi ride started . This trip needs to be better organised --possibly less of a break in the morning, and a comfort break built in to the afternoon schedule.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour was quite good and was worth doing, but they only spend about 10 minutes in the Basilica with little description of it while inside. Skipping the line to get in was nice, but the tour didn't spend enough time inside. The tour is only two hours walking and an hour Grand Canal boat ride.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We really enjoyed the Doge's Palace - our guide was knowledgable and had a good sense of humour. The St Mark's Basilica Tour was not quite as good as expected. The church is magnificent - but we had hoped for a bit more of a tour of the whole church. The walking tour was good - but it would have been better had there been individual maps provided so you could trace the route for later on after the formal tour was done.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

My rating for these tours is average and that has more to do with the sites themselves than the tour guides who were both very knowledgeable and engaging. Both the palace and the basilica are hot and overcrowded places to visit so it can be hard to listen to your guide with your radio earpiece while avoiding other large tours elbowing in narrow spaces and taking pictures all at the same time. The ceilings are the most impressive of both locations but overall I wasn't super impressed but glad I can check these iconic spots near St. Mark's Square off the list. It is important to mention that this was the only tour I have yet booked through Viator where the local tour affiliate did not have my name listed for the morning tour another couple who booked through Viator had the same issue. They added us to the list after seeing our vouchers but had it been a limited size tour, it could've been a bigger issue. The 3 hour gap in-between the two tours can be easily spent using your Doge's Palace ticket as entry to the other museums in the main square along with killing time by enjoying a leisurely lunch and people watching on the square. Overall I'm glad I did it but I would suggest you don't have high expectations as Venice in general is more about the atmosphere of the canals and bridges than any of the interior spaces.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message