Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 458 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was AMAZING! We had no idea what to expect as we didn't know much about the history, we came away full of new information and wonderment. The buildings and places we toured were so BEAUTIFUL! Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable of all the area. The tour was a good pace and the group was a good size for a personal experience. We would never known any of the things we learned about Venice without this tour, it truly made our time memorable! Visiting St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace were top favorites from our trip to Italy.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Francisco was a superb guide, well-informed and patient. Tour of San mareco was great-abeautiful basilica!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour. Began and ended on time. Avoided the waiting line at the Basilica. Guide was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Walking tour was ok - explained well about the history of Venice and included VIP entry and information about the Basilica. Nice walk through to Rialto bridge, but all in all a very quick tour that really needs to incorporate the Doges Palace.
The boat tour and explanation however was excellent and thoroughly enjoyable and worthwhile. I would do this just on its own if given the chance. Both guides extremely knowledgeable though and worth doing if you are short of time in Venice - which is an expensive city!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The company itself was good and the ladies who met us were lovely. The guide however was far from it. She seemed to be in a hurry, and rushed through the tour with all information given about the basilica beginning with 'of course, as you know..' um no we don't know; that's why we are doing a tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

Basilica de San Marco was closed so operator offered a thirty percent discount on the remainder of tour. This was basically a walk from the Rialto to the area in front of the Basilica - not worth even the remainder of the money paid. The guide appeared knowledgeable but had a hard time attempting to stretch out a half hour walk to fill the extra time.

Also had an issue with getting the complete refund but Viator got it straightened out - excellent customer service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour consisted of a walking tour around venice in the morning (including entrance into the Basilica) and an afternoon boat trip. We met up at 10:45am at the Royal Gardens where we were provided with a little pod with earphones and then put into a group of around 10 people ish. The earphones were a brilliant addition to the tour as our tour guide could talk to us as we walked around venice. This meant no straining to hear what was going on and we could walk and listen at the same time. Really enjoyable tour with lots of interesting information. Because of the earphones the pace was quite relaxed too. The boat tour started at 16:30 (which meant we had plenty of time to have a leisurely lunch) and there was 8 of us in the boat (which was like a water taxi). The boat had a inside sitting area as well as an outside standing /sitting area to the rear and front of the boat. The small numbers in the boat meant we could all sit outside and get a brilliant view of venice from the water. The tour guide was great and pointed out lots of museums which we decided to visit the next day. Overall well organized and dedicated tour guides made for a lovely day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A really well presented and interesting tour. I recommend you do the tour early in your trip as you learn so much and the information makes Venice come to life. The Basilica part only scratches the surface so we revisited it on our own and were so glad we did as theres so much more to see on the next level up.
The guides were wonderfully helpful and the package was excellent value for money. Would thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Mavis R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good tour. Guide was informative and paced the tour well. Basilica tour and Doges palace tour are a must to see for any first time tourist to Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour, We were surprised with the architecture and floor plan of the city with its narrow streets, the art at the St. Mark's Basilica, the tour in boat. A lot of history and definitely it's a beautiful and romantic city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was very interesting and knowledgeable! She explained interesting details about Venice and the history of Venice. We were very happy that we decided to do the tour as we saw and learned things that we wouldn't have if we didn't do the tour. However, we were disappointed that the Basilica was closed and we were not able to go in. We were offered the option to rebook but we were leaving that afternoon so we were not able to.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very knowledgeable guide and we'll worth bypassing the line to get in to the basilica

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was thorough and knowledgeable. Really enjoyed the tour and learning more about Doge's Palace and St Mark's Basilica. The boat trip at the end of the day was a highlight.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Knowledgeable and friendly tour guides, all of whom spoke English well. The Basilica was a bit crowded and we spent only a short time in there, but overall loved the day.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a good bargain, price-wise. It did make for a long day with tours of the Palace and the Basilica as well as the walking tour and the water taxi. The Palace was the more impressive than the Basilica, perhaps because the tour through the Basilica seemed a bit rushed. Both tours used a wireless headset which made it easy to hear the guide in almost all locations. The water taxi tour of the Grand Canal at the end of the day was the best part of the day.....maybe because we were tired and it felt so good to cruise through this lovely city with the sun on our faces and the breeze in our hair.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message