Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 594 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lewisburke1243

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guide was easy to find and very knowledgeable. Seeing the Basilica when it wasn't crowded was a really great experience. Really sorry hadn't done the Doge's Palace Visit at the same time, especially if it would have been with same guide.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

sheena.ellis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you want to see the best of Venice in one day then this is a great tour. In the morning we toured the Doges Palace with our excellent guide, Sabrina. She was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Venice and made the Doges Palace tour very interesting. Afterwards we toured St Marks Basilica and walked around the streets of Venice with Massimo who was also a great guide. To cap off the day our motorboat tour around the canals of Venice gave us a great understanding of the waterways surrounding Venice and the part they played in its interesting history.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Kerry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed this tour, although we were surprised to hear that the 'Skip the line' tour that we booked to get into St. Mark's Basilica wasn't actually a Skip the line tour. This facility wasn't actually available until April 1st, so we had to queue up like everyone else anyhow. It was Easter weekend and very busy. Our tour guide, Sabina I think was excellent. She was engaging and interesting. However, the time we spent inside the Basilica was very limited. I'd definitely recommend booking this tour, but make sure to read the small print to ensure that you are getting what you think you're booking, i.e., skipping queues.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Ian S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour which started at 11am. 1 hour round the Basilica followed by another hour walking the streets of Venice. Barbara our guide was very knowledgeable and funny, which made the subject matter a lot easier to take in and remember. We then had a 3 hour break to do our own sightseeing before going on a small boat for another hour on the grand canal with another knowledgeable guide. Great organisation and well worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

kgibby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Liked this tour very much. Had a wonderful Doge's palace tour with Marco, he was very entertaining. The walking tour was ok, not enough time in the basilica and the guide was hard to understand. Loved the grand canal tour, that was perfect.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Leticia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Doge's Palace was amazing! So glad we decided to do this tour. We did the Basilica, the walking tour, the Doge's Palace and the boat tour. We could have done without the boat tour. I don't think the tour guide really added anything to what we had already experienced.
Ariana was our tour guide for the Doge's Palace and she was awesome! She's an art history major so she knew her stuff!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, you do not want to miss the palace or Basilica. The guides do a very good job of giving you the history and hidden gems when conducting the tour. Definitely a must do.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour of the Doges Palace with a very helpful and interesting guide. We skipped the line and went across the Bridge of Sighs to the prison.
Skipping the line in the afternoon for the Basilica tour was very helpful.
I would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

margaret37b31

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed our first tour walking around the Basilica and our guide was very informative.He then walked us around the adjacent area with lots more local history. As it was such a large group it was a good idea for him to have a microphone and us receivers. I did think a three hour wait for the boat tour too long.Once on the boat tour it was fantastic so much history. Our guide was really good and also gave the gossip which we all loved. Where Brad Pitt and his family stayed where George Clooney had his wedding reception.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

KAMRAN K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Laura was great! Informative, attentive and helpful. The only disappointment was not being able to see the highlight of the tour, San Marco's Basilica, due to it being closed to visitors on Sunday. One would have expected that an offer would be made to make up for this miss with a visit the following day on Monday. It's probably not the first time this happens and your tour needs to rethink how to deal with this issue.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Sunny L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The walking tour covered everything you need to learn about the city of Venice, including some of the locations of the movie Italian Job 2003 version.

St Mark's Basilica tour was good. The history felt a little light, but satisfactory. In addition, we didn't really skip the line. It was early in the morning and we waited about 10-15 min to get in. It wasn't bad, but I don't think it should be advertised as skip-the-line.

Doge's Palace: I missed this because my lunch took a bit longer than needed and the day was too beautiful to pass up having a drink in one of the squares.

Cons: Each tour of the 3 are considered separate. This means that once your first tour is done, you need to go back to the meeting place at the time to start your next tour. Unfortunately, the first guide didn't mention that I needed to go somewhere for the Doge's Palace tour and I missed it. I would have gotten a quick lunch before heading to Doge's Palace for the tour had I known in advance. The guide did ensure that Grand Canal Cruise meeting time and place were marked on my ticket.

Overall, the package covers the highlights of main island of Venice in 1 day. If you're there for a bit longer, you can also check out the St Mark's Campanile, do a Gondola ride, and check out Murano/Burano/Lido.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Kerry M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Frederica was excellent - knowledgeable and with a great sense of humour. I would advise booking an early time slot as we met at 11am and St Marks etc was heaving, apparently it's less crowded earlier on although we did get to see the lights switched on in the Basilica and that only happens for an hour late morning. Well worth seeing. We did the 2hr walking tour from 11-1pm but the boat tour wasn't until 5pm so quite a break in between! Great tour though, good to hear some of the history about this amazing city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Gina R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I thought we would have had more time in St Marks Basilica but all we did was a short walk through of the church and the guide wasn't able to give us much info due to the fact that you can't speak loudly in the church. The walking tour portion got a bit long with the church included with the tour. I would recommend doing the church on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Despina S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Was not happy with this trip didn't include the basilica skip the line was entitled available on the day was not happy

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

lseshadri1

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

this was amazing
Marco our guide was amazing! he made the tour entertaining and educational!!
we loved venice and the boat tour was great too
our only negative point was that st mark's basilica was closed so we couldn't go in and the doge's palace is not included in this tour - you only see it from the outside :

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Kermit C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

After spending more than an hour in St. Mark's Square, waiting for the clock to strike the hour, our guide found the Basilica was not going to be open. She tried an alternate way to get in, which took another 15 minutes. Finally she led us on the walking tour, which wasn't very interesting. We saw where she had studied when she went to school, We felt we had wasted both time and money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Virginia M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Venice was very crowded especially upon entering st. Mark's Basilica. Glad we chose the skip the line tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed this tour. It offered up several places of interest that we wanted to see and not having been to Venice prior we felt we could not visit these locations without help and guidance. Doges Palace was very interesting and had a great guide, very professional and nice young woman. Grand Canal ride was teriffic! We saw so much of Venice that way, so glad we went. St Marks Basilica very nice, rest of walking tour was just okay, guide offered entirely too much info for an individual to absorb and talked the entire time actually got tired of hearing her and removed my ear piece. I realize that the guide can sometimes make or break a trip, but all in all it was a good tour and very happy that we did decide to take it. Would definitely book this tour again.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Joan C Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

I have to say that I was very disappointed with this tour. I thought we would be escorted through St. Mark's with an expert to better understand the history, but we were in there for what I estimate to be under 15 minutes. There was so much to see and we barely saw any of it and we did not learn much about it either. One couple cancelled out of the tour to stay in the Basilica rather then continue on with us. I had to go back on my own because there was no time. Had I realized it was going to be such a short amount of time in the Basilica I would not have booked the tour. The walking tour was informative but it was St. Mark's I was most interested in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Dawne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Friendly and patient. Basilica tour allowed us to skip the long lineups so that in itself was worth the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Doug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour included two of Venice's most notable and famous structures, the Basilica and Doge's Palace on the Piazza San Marco but started near the Rialto Bridge. Unfortunately for us, that was undergoing some renovation, we were told, and we didn't go by it. But we did go to a landing nearby on the Grand Canal and saw a lot that was so interesting if not well known in between there and the featured sites. The guide, Susan, said she had lived in Venice for something like 20 years and if there is something about it that she doesn't know, I'd be surprised. Appropriating the cliché, she bubbled over with enthusiasm, sharing so much on what makes Venice the special place that it is, making the tour especially enjoyable as well as informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Greg Z

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a very nice tour, especially the information provided by the guide, and the access to the two small side chapels. Our one critique was that we were not able to spend as much time in the main basilica as we might have done otherwise. It is such a beautiful place!

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Cathedral Tour with Entrance to the Baptistery and Zen Chapel

Anna K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This tour was pretty awesome. Def. wear your most comfiest sneakers cuz my iphone tells me I walked about 10 miles this day. GO ME! The meeting point was easy to find and checking in with the tour group went smoothly. For this tour we had 3 different tour guides. First guide for the Doge palace, second guide for our St Marks Basilica Tour and Walking Tour and our last guide for the Boat Tour. All three guides were informative, knowledgeable and excited to share what they know of Venice. Doge Palace tour was cool. There's a lot to know about the Doge so without the tour guide I think I would of missed out on the history of it all. My favorite was the walking tour our tour guide was like a great story teller, animated and passionate it was my favorite cuz you got to see the nooks and crannies of Venice. We saw hidden bookstores, restaurants, shops and you just want to wander and get lost you won't cuz you have your guide in your ear. You can get lost after. I liked that this tour ended on a boat cuz experiencing Venice on a boat was like the icing on a cake. Breathtaking.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Hector L M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour, but would have like to see more on St Mark's Basilica. Time there was very short.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Kim F

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This was a great basic tour of Venice. Our tour guide was good, not great. My only real complaint is that we walked through St. Mark's Basilica for a total of 10 minutes. We followed him to about three different spots then walked out. If I had been looking forward to the Basilica I would be very upset.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message