Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 436 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ravish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed both the morning and afternoon sessions of the tour. Our guides, Gina and Marco were very good and well informed. Gina took us to all the important rooms at the Doge palace with a good sense of humour. Marco was equally funny and made the tour enjoyable even though the Basilica was closed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5m17hy Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was 2 different tours. The Doge's Palace tour was excellent and the guide was amazing. The Basilica was also excellent and the guide was good, but she tended to only talk to those in front of her and didn't worry if fo were well behind on the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

jyoung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Elena was the BEST guide! Very knowledgeable, passionate and fun! She was organized and took us all around Venice. We had a wonderful experience exploring Venice and visiting St Mark's Basilica and the Doge's Palace with her. This was hands down the best tour we went on during our 2.5 weeks in Europe!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

CWalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The two tours were both well organized and informative. Having headsets for listening to the tour guide are a great plus! Ariana did a wonderful job with the Doges Palace. The paintings in the palace are amazing and the jail was interesting. Sylvia also did a wonderful tour of San Marco Basilica. Very beautiful inside! We will be booking tours for Athens through Viator.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Tim J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth every dollar. Mirco, our guide, was great, super informative and passionate. He really made the Basilica come to life. When in Venice make plans to do this tour and you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Lisa D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was incredible! Three very different ways to see the city and learn of it's culture. Our guide for Doge's Palace was so empassioned and informative. The palace itself is beautiful. Having the time in between was perfect. Had some lunch and walked around. The St. Mark's tour was spectacular - after seeing the Basilica, we toured the city - learned so much about the local culture and the history of Venice and it's residence. Finally, the Gondola ride was such an enjoyable way to end the day and because it was Sunday, we made it back in time for a 6:45 mass at St. Mark's. Fantastic tour, highly recommended!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Stanton M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the best excursions we have taken. The Palace, Basilica and boat ride on the canals were all great. All 3 tour guides were excellent.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Edda L P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Having a tour was the best thing to do. I really recommend it because it is the best way to learn about the city and also to skip the line to see the majestic Saint Mark Basilica with somebody explaing to you each detail os the church

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Kathryn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great way to get an overview of Venice. The walking tour was informative and fun and gave us a good starting point for our time in Venice. We spent about 20 minutes in the Basilica San Marco as she guided us through several highlights. I know others had complained this was not enough but we found it the perfect amount. We ended our tour with the gondola ride which was our favorite part. No first trip to Venice is complete without floating through the waterways on a gondola. Our gondolier gave us a tour of small, hidden canals as well as the Grand Canal and told us fun information along the way. I would definitely recommend this for all ages. You do need to be mobile enough to get in and out of the gondola.

Doing what: Welcome to Venice Small Group Walking Tour with Basilica San Marco and Gondola Ride

rsgranberry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our group of 8 four adults and four teenagers took this tour on our first day in Venice after arriving the night before. It was a great orientation to this beautiful city! All of us enjoyed the tour through Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica - just breathtaking! This tour set the standard for us on the duration of our trip through Italy - so informative and enjoyable. The walking tour was perfect - even in the misty rain. We loved this and highly recommend!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

katscox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent walking tour and our guide Merco was great. He was very informative and answered all our questions. He had interesting anecdotes doubt Venice and particularly St. Mark's. I learned a lot about the Basilica itself and it's history. We were not bored for one minute. Highly recommend this tour but be prepared, it says a lot of walking and it is, and so worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Poi Lin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing!!! St Mark and #39;s Basilica is just so beautiful. Doge and #39;s Palace and St Mark and #39;s basicilla is a must !!!
High Recommended !!!

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is remarkable. Worth every cent. The guide was incredibly knowledgeable with a degree in art history . Seeing the Basilica without the crowds of tourists was a treat and the moment the lights turned on and lit up the golden mosaic ceiling was a priveledge. Recommend.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Darlene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A true experience. Mosel our guide took us through St Marks Basilica and Dodge and #39;s palace with expertise on art and history. We were not rushed and no crowds. We actually were able to appreciate our tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well organised. Knowledgeable, friendly, experienced guide. Good value for money. Small group. The tour itself is fascinating and I learnt a lot without being drowned in too much information. Visiting the Doges Palace and Basilica in the evening when the crowds had all gone meant it felt like a private and exclusive tour with time to really see and experience these beautiful and historical places.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Pamela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great package, which allowed us to do the things we most wanted to do in central Venice in a very efficient way. Skip-the-line tours of both the Basilica and Doge's Palace are definitely the way to go! Saved us lots of time and aggravation. We had a little bit of a hiccup with timing of the Grand Canal Tour a number of us were told to show up at 5:00p rather than 4:00p - but the company quickly resolved the problem and we had a lovely cruise.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Frances H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

These 4 tours are an excellant way to hit the highlights of Venice. The Doge Palace is a can't miss. Our tour guide was very informative weaving Venice history into the beauty of the palace. Skipping the line at the Basilica is worth the cost of the tour. Our walking tour guide pointed out hidden gems. The grand canal cruise was a highlight of our Venice visit. It was informative about the beautiful villas and neighborhoods from the canal. Our boat driver also took us through smaller canals due to extra time.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Bernadette O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

highly recommend this tour. Keep your ticket as it can be used to gain free entry to Napoleon and #39;s palace which is opposite St Mark and #39;s Basilica.

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

Meghan P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Would have liked a little more time in the Basilica

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

picktonhoney

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very informative tour guide. Tour was a bit different than we anticipated. We spent 20 minutes in the Basilica which is what we went to see and the rest of the tour was walking the streets. Saw a lot of the back streets/canals but not suitable for people with walking ailments.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

jdc_klt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Lots of information about Venice and insider information about St. Mark's Basilica. Wish we would of spent a little more time in the Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Chris R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed a stunning tour around the sights of Venice, including the Doge and #39;s Palace, the Basilica and prison, to name but a few. We had a good walking tour of the and #34;streets and #34; and bridges of Venice. Finally having a lovely boat trip along the Grand Canal and some of the adjoining smaller canals.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

B L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Really good and informative tour. Enjoyed the commentary, history and the coverage of the Basilica and especailly the Palace.

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

Barend P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our Doge and #39;s palace and st. Marks basilica guide had a doctorate in history and really explained Venice and #39;s history very well.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Wendy V

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour of the Doges Palace was not great not because it isn and #39;t worth seeing but because the tour guide tended to babble a bit about only one theme. The basilica and walking tour was terrific because the tour guide was better.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message