Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco)

St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco) is filled with centuries of history and is still the symbolic heart of Venice; it has even been referred to as the drawing room of Europe. With the grand St Mark's Church at one end, the Campanile bell tower ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow ... great combo set of tours ... will keep you occupied for the entire day! Really enjoyed all of them. Tour guides very informative and the "set-up" crews for each tour were on-time, helpful and efficient with getting us squared away with the headsets (which are an absolute must to hear everything from the tour guide). This tour combo a great value for the money if you want to see all the major venues and have the day to spend doing it. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fairly easy to locate the meeting point.. lots of tourists turned up and we were sorted into groups of 25 and allocated a guide. Frederica was our local guide. She was very informative and at times even entertaining! We were all given receivers linked to her microphone so we could hear her at all times. She enlightened us about the Venetian floods, the history of trade and construction, the pitfalls of daily life as well as guiding us briefly through St Mark's Basillica and giving us the run down on the Doge palace and the amazing clock in the square. She considerately timed our tour to coincide with the midday chiming of the bronze statues on the top of the clock and allowed us plenty of opportunities to take photos along the way. (She even told us the best gelati was from the Grom company and we agree they're delicious!)
Well worth taking the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very relaxing tour around St. Marco. Perfect timing to quickly explore Venice's main square and surrounding streets

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Meeting point was easy to find and to get to. Numerous staff there to greet and organize you.
Loved the Doge's Palace Tour. Not having to line up in the hot sun to wait to get in is wonderful. Tour guide was wonderful - you see the highlights of the place with the great works of art including the largest mural in the world by Tintoretto(?). The Prison and Bridge of Sighs were also highlights.
We did St. Mark's back to back with The Doge's Palace. My wife found it a little tiring - 4 consecutive hours of walking or standing. Spreading them out might work for some people.
Gaining entry ahead of the general public was well worth it. The line into St. Mark's stretched to the waterfront on the day of our tour. The tour of St Mark's was too brief and we did not see or learn enough about the place - maybe 20 25 minutes was all. The walking tour was done in the hot sun in the mid afternoon and we crossed several squares on our way to the Rialto bridge. The story of the wells in each square and Marco Polo's Home were highlights. Easy to get back to St. Mark's Square after the tour.
Loved the boat tour. We toured the southern edge of Venice (ie. St. George's Cathedral) and the Grand Canal itself - famous buildings and churches. It was at night so it was cool on the water after a hot day.
The information provided could be a little overwhelming. Again, the meeting point was at the Royal Gardens where staff from the tour company met us and organized us.
Strongly recommend that people get a hotel near the SanMarco as it takes the pressure off of being on time or getting lost when meeting for the tours.
We did the Palace and walking tour in the morning (9 30 am - 1 30 pm) It may be a bit much for people. The boat tour was not until 5 30 pm so it gave us time to rest and have dinner.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We were 5 mins late arriving but the company and guide were very helpful. We were just able to get on the tour which had already started but not entered the cathedral.
The guide gave an interesting and informative tour about the cathedral and square although didn't answer all questions. For a first visit recommended, but maybe not for anyone wanting a more detailed history than that.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Doges palace was amazing, 2 hours isn't enough, if I were booking again I would do this desperately to give time to wander around more. Unfortunately Venice flooded a little in st Mark's square meaning we had to queue for the basilica. The boat trip was amazing!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Please note that we missed this tour, so the rating is not exactly accurate. However, I wanted to leave a comment because future travelers can learn from our mistakes. We missed the tour because our train arrived a half hour before the tour was supposed to start, and we weren't sure how to find the meeting spot- very far from the train station. It was impossible to make it in a half hour if you don't know your way around, so make sure you have an ample amount of time to find it after your train arrives! I'd suggest at least an hour/hour and a half to be safe! Also, try taking a vaporetto! We walked and had trouble navigating the streets of Venice.

We did walk by St. Mark's square after we finally made it there, and it would be worthwhile to have the Skip the Line tour if you want to see St. Mark's Basilica in July. There was a huge line!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I highly recommend this tour of saint marks the guide was great he explained everything both in the square and the cathedral

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great experience and definitely worth it. The morning tour of the Doge's palace avoided the long lines and was very informative. Having a few hours off in between the two tours was great since it allowed us to go over to San Georgio and to have a relaxing lunch before our afternoon tour. The afternoon tour of San Marcos again avoided the long line, gave us lots of background on what we were seeing, and made the experience more enriching. But the best was our afternoon guide Rita. After the Basilica, she took us on a walking tour of the nearby neighborhood, showing us the Grimani Palace, the Greek and Albanian neighborhoods and quiet little streets and courts we would never have seen, all with a wonderful commentary on what we were seeing and making the whole experience amazing. This is the best way to see San Marcos Square/Doges Palace/Basilica and a flavor of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A must really. Why wait in long lines when you can get quick access with a knowledgeable guide. This tour gives a good overview of the important attractions in the St Marks Square area.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was well organized and everyone was helpful and friendly. Skip the line was great and we did not have to wait. The tour guide for the Doge's tour was very knowledgeable and I enjoyed the information and the pace. My tour of St. Mark's Basilica was too short. It seemed like we ran in and ran out. The tour guide was much more interested in showing us the clock in the square than the church. I would have preferred a separate tour of the Basilica with a detailed description of the architecture and maybe add the clock tower. The guide for the walking tour was knowable and showed us interesting sites.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The guide basically marched and lead us all over the place....she was informative.......but did not make it an exciting tour. The thing that amazed me......was that for foreigners it is hard to get around Venice for the first time.......WHY WOULD YOU TAKE US INTO THE HEART OF VENICE AND TELL US THE TOUR HAS ENDED. I ASKED FOR HELP BUY SHE HJAD ANOTHER TOUR......NOBODY COULD TAKE ME BACK TO THE WATERFRONT....OR ST MARKS SQUARE.......MY PORTER WAS COMING TO MY HOTEL IN 20 MINS AS I WAS LEAVING FOR MY CRUISE SHIP........POOR SHOW.......NOT EVEN A MAP TO SHOW ME HOW TO GET TO ST MARKS SQUARE OR THE WATER FRONT......OR WHERE WE DEPARTED FROM. I WAS SO STRESSED OUT TRYING TO FIND MY WAY BACK TO MY HOTEL TO MEET THE PORTER...THAT HAD TO BE BOOKED HOURS BEFORE DEPARTURE....THANKS FOR THE STRESS.....AGAIN....WHAT WALKING TOUR TAKES THE PEOPLE INTO A PLACE THEY DONT KNOW WHERE THEY ARE...AND LEAVE THEM????? THE OTHER PEOPLE WERE ALSO ALARMED....BUT NONE WERE ABOUT TO LEAVE VENICE....SO HAD AGES TO FIND THEIR WAY BACK!!!!.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! Please note, our "Important Info" page for this tour does mention the differing pickup and drop off points to ensure that customers can make arrangements at the end of the tour. For your convenience, we're including the information below:

Departure point
Tour departs near St. Marco Square.

Departure time
November 17 - December 31, 2013
Tuesday, Friday, Saturday at 11am
February 1 - March 09, 2014
Tuesday, Friday, Saturday at 11am
March 10 - November 16, 2014
Daily (except Sunday) at 11:10am
Sunday at 2:00pm
May 12 to July 17 and September 6 to October 15, 2014
Daily (except Sunday) at 1:45pm (additional departure)

Duration
2 hours (approx.)

Return details
Concludes at Rialto Bridge


We hope this information helps you, and future travelers, in having the smoothest possible tour experience. Thank you again for your feedback, and Happy Travels.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way to find out all the History of St Marks square and the Bascilla.
Tour guide was brilliant very knowledgeable wished I had booked the other tours.
A bonus was skipping the queues I would absolutely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great info and professionally delivered unfortunately St MarksBasillica was shut that day because of a religious Meeting?? disappointing that we missed seeing it ! I felt sorry for our tour guide who reported that he had tried to confirm that it was open prior to our tour He gave us a great St Marks Square tour to fill in the spare time which was well worth staying for!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very good value for an intro tour of St Marks Square and the Basilica. Tour guide very professional and spoke good English which could be clearly heard through the headsets provided. It was great skipping the long queues. Would totally recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message