Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco)

St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco) is filled with centuries of history and is still the symbolic heart of Venice; it has even been referred to as the drawing room of Europe. With the grand St Mark's Church at one end, the Campanile bell tower ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide for everything except the Grand Canal Boat Ride was, Barbara, and she was fantastic! She was a wealth of knowledge. The meeting point for the tour was very easy to find once we made our way to Saint Mark's Square. We were SO glad we chose the Skip the Line option because the lines to both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were ridiculously crazy long!!! The inside of the Doge's Palace was beautiful, and Barbara did a great job explaining the history of the Doge's as well as the architecture and the artwork inside.We were very happy to see that she was going to be our guide for St. Mark's Basilica and our walking tour. The inside of the basilica is breathtaking, and again Barbara did a fabulous job of explaining the history of and art within. The walking tour was fun, we got to see a lot of Venice without worrying about getting lost. We learned about gondoliers and the symbolism in the construction of the gondolas, the Rialto Bridge, and so much more. We had plenty of free time to wander around between the walking tour and the Grand Canal Boat Tour which was very interesting as well. I highly recommend this tour for the skip the line benefit, but also for the wealth of information shared by our guide that we would not have otherwise learned.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Interesting, you could see Mark square from the balcony giving you a different view of the place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Seemed a bit too quick on Doge's Palace and pretty long on basilica tour except it was not long in basilica but going around the streets of the St Mark's square.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Barbara was absolutely fantastic. She gave us a great insight into the buildings in and around St Marks Square. She had the whole group laughing at her quirky discriptions and details of Venice. Inside the Basillica was totally breath taking.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour started promptly with helpful organisers arriving well before the starting time of 9.a.m.Tour of the Doges Palace was excellent, finishing before 11a.m. and the next tour of St Marks Basilica starting at 2p.m.Rather a long break in between and an early start . The tour of St Marks however,was extremely disappointing. Although we received a very good lecture on the exterior of the Basilica, the time spent inside was extremely short, less than 10 minutes. Although there are rules about large groups not stopping for too long,which is understandable, we did not visit the Pala D'Oro, with its magnificent jewelled altarpiece and the sacristy door with the relief of Titian's head,or the upper floor where the original bronze horses that used to be over the door of St Marks are now sited. Also the upper floor provides excellent views of both St Mark's Square the lagoon , and beyond. There are beautiful mosaics/paintings e.g.Mary's family tree and a chance to see the church from upstairs --I know this because I was so disappointed that I went back the next day and paid my 5 Euro for the upper floor and 2 Euro for the Pala D'oro this part of the tour is NOT recommended-- do it yourself ! The subsequent walking tour was informative , scenic and very enjoyable. The highlight was the 1 hour ride in the water taxi entitled Cruise of the Grand Canal--GC we did so much more and saw a lot of Venice and the lagoon as well as the GC We had to arrive at 1.45 with the taxi ride finishing at 5.30 p.m and no breaks --on a hot day which necessitated drinking water, this was unacceptable in order to arrive at 1.45 I had to leave the hotel at 1.25 p.m. and 4 hours without a comfort break really spoiled the trip We should have been given a 10 minute break to visit the public loos near the Royal gardens where the water taxi ride started . This trip needs to be better organised --possibly less of a break in the morning, and a comfort break built in to the afternoon schedule.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

My rating for these tours is average and that has more to do with the sites themselves than the tour guides who were both very knowledgeable and engaging. Both the palace and the basilica are hot and overcrowded places to visit so it can be hard to listen to your guide with your radio earpiece while avoiding other large tours elbowing in narrow spaces and taking pictures all at the same time. The ceilings are the most impressive of both locations but overall I wasn't super impressed but glad I can check these iconic spots near St. Mark's Square off the list. It is important to mention that this was the only tour I have yet booked through Viator where the local tour affiliate did not have my name listed for the morning tour another couple who booked through Viator had the same issue. They added us to the list after seeing our vouchers but had it been a limited size tour, it could've been a bigger issue. The 3 hour gap in-between the two tours can be easily spent using your Doge's Palace ticket as entry to the other museums in the main square along with killing time by enjoying a leisurely lunch and people watching on the square. Overall I'm glad I did it but I would suggest you don't have high expectations as Venice in general is more about the atmosphere of the canals and bridges than any of the interior spaces.

Doing what: Best Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very informative tour of main church in St. Mark's square. The exploration of the old town away from the bustle of the main square was very interesting and gave a good insight into the real Venice. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Doge's Palace part of the tour was excellent. Francesca, our guide was so knowledgable and made the history come alive. The Palace was simply stunning. A definite highlight of our trip. The next part of the tour included St Mark's Brascillica and a walking tour of the city. We were disappointed by the way we were rushed through the Brascillica with virtually no explanation of what we were seeing. It was Easter weekend and very busy but we definitely needed more time there. That was a shame as we would have loved to learn more. The walking tour took us down all sorts of back walkways to out of the way squares. Our guide gave a good background of what it was like to actually live in Venice. But by the end we were absolutely exhausted and the tour stopped being fun long before the end. We were left near the Rialto Bridge but had to find our own way back to the start point which was really difficult as we had little clue of where we were. We were so very tired by this point that we couldn't raise the enthusiasm to explore the Rialto and just wanted to return to our hotel. The final part of the tour, the late afternoon Grand Canal boat trip was excellent. Our guide was knowledgeable and informative and the trip was well worth going on. On reflection, we did too much in one day, it would have been better split over two days.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our guide Iffygenia was amazing! She was able to bring the architecture to life for us! My Mother is 80years old and we needed to cut out certIn aspects to help her to manage but finishing up in St Mark's square for a coffee was right up our street and we ended up staying most of the afternoon!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Art and Architecture Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

This day really irked me. We did the full day tour and the morning tour we had a gentleman who was pretty fantastic. He did a great job telling us about the doges palace and really providing us with a wealth of information. So why did I give this a 1 star? Well, the afternoon portion we had a lady guide who was a real venetian. Well, she was to take us to St. Mark's Basilica. Now when I think of Venice, aside from the canals, I think of St. Mark's square and St. Marks Basilica. She literally took us in and out of the Basilica in under 20 minutes. She then wanted to take us towards the Rialto but I was pretty upset and my wife and I ended our tour there. I mean we literally did not do or see anything of value in the beautiful basilica. We did not go to see the tomb of St. Mark, you do not have anything really explained to you. It was more like we walked in, took pictures, and walked out. You do not get access to the museum, thats extra. You do not go up to the top outside area of the basilica. You do nothing. Meanwhile, there are mosaics with scenes all over the place and a ton of history there. If I were a Venetian, I would exhibit more pride in something so unique and incredible and would want to share that with the people I am guiding around. I hear other members of the tour complaining about the same thing when my wife and I decided to leave the tour. Such a shame. I bet the guy from the morning would have been great. The second half was the biggest waste of money for my entire time in Europe.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My father and I booked the whole day tour, including the boat tour of the Grand Canal. Our morning tour began with meeting a fantastic Italian guide named Christina. Christina had perfect English and she and her team were very prompt with meeting us at the designated, well-described and easy to find location on the waterfront. We began our walking tour while the super-friendly Christina gave our small group a great lesson in Venetian history, followed by a very descriptive guided walk through St. Mark's square and finally though St. Mark's cathedral. Every superlative applies to the quality of the tour - the pacing was perfect, the stories and history were woven in such a way that made the time fly by and kept the group's complete attention.

We had a couple of hours break after the morning tour which allowed us to grab a bite to eat and wander around Venice a bit on our own. We were delighted to see that Christina would also be conducting our afternoon tour. The afternoon tour was focused on the Doge's palace, Prison, and Bridge of Sighs. The palace was incredible in its artwork, but the guide's historical background of the themes and meanings turned the place from a nice place to look at amazing art to an amazing history and art lesson.

The afternoon tour ended with a great walk through some smaller passages and sections of Venice that are interesting but rather out of the way. We had some great photo opportunities and a plenty of time for Christina to answer our questions. My Dad and I were both so glad we booked a tour - sure, we could have seen the same places on our own, or with a tour book or audio guide, but we would have only gotten about 10 of the information that we learned from our guide. She highlights all the important historical significance and added so much value to the locations. I would recommend this 100 - Do it! It's the only way to really learn and enjoy the amazing history of Venice!
Afternoon boat tour different guide was great

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Michelle was wonderful... great tour even in the rain and flooded square (actually pretty neat to be there when it is flooeded).

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good tour. The tour guide was just excellent keeping in mind craziness of St Mark's square

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed our tour. Only negative would be that on the walking tour it ended in the middle of a neighborhood and we had to find our way back to St. Mark's Square where we started on our own through narrow walkways that were like a maze.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour. Our guide Stephano was excellent. The best part of the tour was when we got out of the crowded area of St.Mark's Square in to the quieter streets of Venice.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Tour of Doge's Palace was excellent. However, we were late getting started due to many tour members asking questions about subsequent tours they were signed up for that day (answers to which were clearly available in the itinerary if they had bothered to read it!). We were rushed to finish as we had the St. Marks tour immediately following Doge's Palace.

St. Marks was a disappointment as the square was slightly flooded, and the "Skip the line" entrance wasn't open, so we ended up having to wait. This put us behind, so we were rushed through St. Marks, and really didn't get an opportunity to study and enjoy it.

Walking tour was informative, but the guide walked quite fast, and, with the crowds, it was very hard to keep up with her. In fact, a couple times we fell so far behind, we were out of range of the radio she was communicating to us over.

There were too many people on the boat for the Grand Canal tour; we didn't want to sit in the cabin, but were very crammed in standing outside.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow ... great combo set of tours ... will keep you occupied for the entire day! Really enjoyed all of them. Tour guides very informative and the "set-up" crews for each tour were on-time, helpful and efficient with getting us squared away with the headsets (which are an absolute must to hear everything from the tour guide). This tour combo a great value for the money if you want to see all the major venues and have the day to spend doing it. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fairly easy to locate the meeting point.. lots of tourists turned up and we were sorted into groups of 25 and allocated a guide. Frederica was our local guide. She was very informative and at times even entertaining! We were all given receivers linked to her microphone so we could hear her at all times. She enlightened us about the Venetian floods, the history of trade and construction, the pitfalls of daily life as well as guiding us briefly through St Mark's Basillica and giving us the run down on the Doge palace and the amazing clock in the square. She considerately timed our tour to coincide with the midday chiming of the bronze statues on the top of the clock and allowed us plenty of opportunities to take photos along the way. (She even told us the best gelati was from the Grom company and we agree they're delicious!)
Well worth taking the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was fantastic as the guide was from the city itself and relayed much insight that many casual tourists would have missed out on. We happenned to be there during a Full Moon and experienced the high tide flooding in St Mark's square that memories are made of. Since Venice is a very popular draw for tourists, it was a joy to be able to move about without that sense of being lost in a large crowd.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was a good, informative tour of St. Mark's Square, Basilica and surrounding neighborhood. The tour guide was excellent and the headphone devices worked very well. The guide was very informative and I learned a lot about St. Mark's and the daily life of a Venetian. It was wonderful to skip the line and walk right into St. Mark's Basilica. My only complaint was that the tour of the Basilica was very short. I know they don't like you to linger but I would've had appreciated more time to really see it. Other than that, it was a great tour and well worth they money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very relaxing tour around St. Marco. Perfect timing to quickly explore Venice's main square and surrounding streets

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Meeting point was easy to find and to get to. Numerous staff there to greet and organize you.
Loved the Doge's Palace Tour. Not having to line up in the hot sun to wait to get in is wonderful. Tour guide was wonderful - you see the highlights of the place with the great works of art including the largest mural in the world by Tintoretto(?). The Prison and Bridge of Sighs were also highlights.
We did St. Mark's back to back with The Doge's Palace. My wife found it a little tiring - 4 consecutive hours of walking or standing. Spreading them out might work for some people.
Gaining entry ahead of the general public was well worth it. The line into St. Mark's stretched to the waterfront on the day of our tour. The tour of St Mark's was too brief and we did not see or learn enough about the place - maybe 20 25 minutes was all. The walking tour was done in the hot sun in the mid afternoon and we crossed several squares on our way to the Rialto bridge. The story of the wells in each square and Marco Polo's Home were highlights. Easy to get back to St. Mark's Square after the tour.
Loved the boat tour. We toured the southern edge of Venice (ie. St. George's Cathedral) and the Grand Canal itself - famous buildings and churches. It was at night so it was cool on the water after a hot day.
The information provided could be a little overwhelming. Again, the meeting point was at the Royal Gardens where staff from the tour company met us and organized us.
Strongly recommend that people get a hotel near the SanMarco as it takes the pressure off of being on time or getting lost when meeting for the tours.
We did the Palace and walking tour in the morning (9 30 am - 1 30 pm) It may be a bit much for people. The boat tour was not until 5 30 pm so it gave us time to rest and have dinner.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We were 5 mins late arriving but the company and guide were very helpful. We were just able to get on the tour which had already started but not entered the cathedral.
The guide gave an interesting and informative tour about the cathedral and square although didn't answer all questions. For a first visit recommended, but maybe not for anyone wanting a more detailed history than that.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Doges palace was amazing, 2 hours isn't enough, if I were booking again I would do this desperately to give time to wander around more. Unfortunately Venice flooded a little in st Mark's square meaning we had to queue for the basilica. The boat trip was amazing!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Please note that we missed this tour, so the rating is not exactly accurate. However, I wanted to leave a comment because future travelers can learn from our mistakes. We missed the tour because our train arrived a half hour before the tour was supposed to start, and we weren't sure how to find the meeting spot- very far from the train station. It was impossible to make it in a half hour if you don't know your way around, so make sure you have an ample amount of time to find it after your train arrives! I'd suggest at least an hour/hour and a half to be safe! Also, try taking a vaporetto! We walked and had trouble navigating the streets of Venice.

We did walk by St. Mark's square after we finally made it there, and it would be worthwhile to have the Skip the Line tour if you want to see St. Mark's Basilica in July. There was a huge line!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message