• USD ($)
  • English

Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco)

St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco) is filled with centuries of history and is still the symbolic heart of Venice; it has even been referred to as the drawing room of Europe. With the grand St Mark's Church at one end, the Campanile bell tower ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I highly recommend this tour of saint marks the guide was great he explained everything both in the square and the cathedral

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great experience and definitely worth it. The morning tour of the Doge's palace avoided the long lines and was very informative. Having a few hours off in between the two tours was great since it allowed us to go over to San Georgio and to have a relaxing lunch before our afternoon tour. The afternoon tour of San Marcos again avoided the long line, gave us lots of background on what we were seeing, and made the experience more enriching. But the best was our afternoon guide Rita. After the Basilica, she took us on a walking tour of the nearby neighborhood, showing us the Grimani Palace, the Greek and Albanian neighborhoods and quiet little streets and courts we would never have seen, all with a wonderful commentary on what we were seeing and making the whole experience amazing. This is the best way to see San Marcos Square/Doges Palace/Basilica and a flavor of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A must really. Why wait in long lines when you can get quick access with a knowledgeable guide. This tour gives a good overview of the important attractions in the St Marks Square area.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was well organized and everyone was helpful and friendly. Skip the line was great and we did not have to wait. The tour guide for the Doge's tour was very knowledgeable and I enjoyed the information and the pace. My tour of St. Mark's Basilica was too short. It seemed like we ran in and ran out. The tour guide was much more interested in showing us the clock in the square than the church. I would have preferred a separate tour of the Basilica with a detailed description of the architecture and maybe add the clock tower. The guide for the walking tour was knowable and showed us interesting sites.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The guide basically marched and lead us all over the place....she was informative.......but did not make it an exciting tour. The thing that amazed me......was that for foreigners it is hard to get around Venice for the first time.......WHY WOULD YOU TAKE US INTO THE HEART OF VENICE AND TELL US THE TOUR HAS ENDED. I ASKED FOR HELP BUY SHE HJAD ANOTHER TOUR......NOBODY COULD TAKE ME BACK TO THE WATERFRONT....OR ST MARKS SQUARE.......MY PORTER WAS COMING TO MY HOTEL IN 20 MINS AS I WAS LEAVING FOR MY CRUISE SHIP........POOR SHOW.......NOT EVEN A MAP TO SHOW ME HOW TO GET TO ST MARKS SQUARE OR THE WATER FRONT......OR WHERE WE DEPARTED FROM. I WAS SO STRESSED OUT TRYING TO FIND MY WAY BACK TO MY HOTEL TO MEET THE PORTER...THAT HAD TO BE BOOKED HOURS BEFORE DEPARTURE....THANKS FOR THE STRESS.....AGAIN....WHAT WALKING TOUR TAKES THE PEOPLE INTO A PLACE THEY DONT KNOW WHERE THEY ARE...AND LEAVE THEM????? THE OTHER PEOPLE WERE ALSO ALARMED....BUT NONE WERE ABOUT TO LEAVE VENICE....SO HAD AGES TO FIND THEIR WAY BACK!!!!.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! Please note, our "Important Info" page for this tour does mention the differing pickup and drop off points to ensure that customers can make arrangements at the end of the tour. For your convenience, we're including the information below:

Departure point
Tour departs near St. Marco Square.

Departure time
November 17 - December 31, 2013
Tuesday, Friday, Saturday at 11am
February 1 - March 09, 2014
Tuesday, Friday, Saturday at 11am
March 10 - November 16, 2014
Daily (except Sunday) at 11:10am
Sunday at 2:00pm
May 12 to July 17 and September 6 to October 15, 2014
Daily (except Sunday) at 1:45pm (additional departure)

Duration
2 hours (approx.)

Return details
Concludes at Rialto Bridge


We hope this information helps you, and future travelers, in having the smoothest possible tour experience. Thank you again for your feedback, and Happy Travels.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way to find out all the History of St Marks square and the Bascilla.
Tour guide was brilliant very knowledgeable wished I had booked the other tours.
A bonus was skipping the queues I would absolutely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great info and professionally delivered unfortunately St MarksBasillica was shut that day because of a religious Meeting?? disappointing that we missed seeing it ! I felt sorry for our tour guide who reported that he had tried to confirm that it was open prior to our tour He gave us a great St Marks Square tour to fill in the spare time which was well worth staying for!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very good value for an intro tour of St Marks Square and the Basilica. Tour guide very professional and spoke good English which could be clearly heard through the headsets provided. It was great skipping the long queues. Would totally recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very nice walking tour of Venice. Our guide took us through a couple of the different sections of Venice, explaining the differences of each section. The tour does cross over several bridges, so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, tell your guide beforehand, so they can go at a much slower pace. If you have a short time in Venice, as we did, this tour is a good one to take, allowing you to see a little more than the St Mark's Square area. You will see more of the "neighborhoods" of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

good guide and great start in the square but ran out of steam a little as we walked through the back streets......would like to have focused on the landmarks

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

As with all our Viator tours during our 2 week vacation to Italy, this one excellent. Our tour guide (a young man whose name we did not get), did an excellent job describing the history of Venice and St. Mark's Square and Cathedral. Having grown up in Venice he was able to provide a personal touch to the city as we walked from St. Mark's Square through the back alleys to the Rialto Bridge. Good weather made this a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another great tour. The water was up in St Mark's Square at our appointed time but our tour guide changed the order of this walking tour until the water went down. Since we had lots of time and our tour of the Basilica was last we, in hind site, wish we had used Rick Steve's mp3 tour inside of Saint Mark's as it is hard for the tour guides to really do it up right inside these churches. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

St Marks Square was very busy and hot so it was great to go straight in. Our guide was good but he was competing with many other guides and a choir! We were disappointed that upstairs was not part of the tour.It was worth the money to skip the line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

Michelle E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great way to gain a good look at the touristy stuff in St Marks /Square etc. good info, well organised, good tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The Grand Canal taxi ride was informative. The day was rainy so getting out of the rain was preferable. By the time we started the walking portion of the tour, the rain had stopped. We changed tour guides and while the walking tour guide was friendly and informative after we left the basilica, we did not see the "highlights" of Venice. We visited small out-of-the-way places, not even the Rialto bridge or an explanation of St. Mark's square.

Doing what: Venice Shore Excursion: Small-Group Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Taxi Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message