Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mary of the Friars (Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari)

From the outside, the brick Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari (the Frari Church) looks rather plain. But step inside and you are surrounded by some of the greatest beauty of the Italian Renaissance. Built for the Fransicans in the 14th and 15th ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I have done quite a few tours while living in Venice this summer, and this was one of my favorites. I loved the variety of seeing the hustle and bustle of the market, and also spending some time off-the-beaten-path. Our guide was lovely, and so knowledgeable. She was able to answer our questions thoroughly, and the cichetti were delicious. Thank you for another wonderful tour.

Doing what: Rialto Market and San Polo Walking Tour of Venice with Wine and Cicchetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, Massimo, was simply wonderful: prompt, personable, knowledgeable and flexible, adapting to what we had already visited and leading us to interesting parts of Venice, that we would never have found on our own. Full marks for him.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Rialto Market, San Polo and Frari Church Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

My wife and I planned our 1st day in Venice around this morning tour so we would learn about the wine and food of this region and get the most out of the rest of our time in Venice. The tour was scheduled to start at 11:00am. We got to the designated meeting spot at 10:45 and waited until 11:30. Nobody showed up. At 11:15 we called the Viator office and spoke with someone who heard us out and then put us on hold. We gave up after being on hold for 15minutes and left. This has never happen to us with a prepaid tour.

Doing what: Rialto Market and San Polo Walking Tour of Venice with Wine and Cicchetto

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Maria was great. Knew her stuff. Showed us around while avoiding the huge crowds that swarmed for the festival. Then made sure to escort us to people mover and tell us how to get back to ship.. thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Rialto Market, San Polo and Frari Church Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A great tour which was quickly altered to suit our group and the previous experiences we have had in Venice (as I think our guide thought it was our first time). Lots of photo opportunities and I even managed to sneak into a shop and buy a handbag! A lovely tour, taken at our own pace with lots of information and interesting facts.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Rialto Market, San Polo and Frari Church Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A great tour which was quickly altered to suit our group and the previous experiences we have had in Venice (as I think our guide thought it was our first time). Lots of photo opportunities and I even managed to sneak into a shop and buy a handbag! A lovely tour, taken at our own pace with lots of information and interesting facts.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Rialto Market, San Polo and Frari Church Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our tour guide was excellent. Our tour group only consisted of 4 people.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Rialto Market, San Polo and Frari Church Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Great tour and the tour guide was very informative.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Rialto Market, San Polo and Frari Church Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

We really enjoyed this tour. The tour guide knew where everyone goes to shop and eat. The guide did seem a little puzzled at first when he read our voucher. Kind of like he didn't know what he was supposed to show us. A little disappointed that we didn't go into any of the churches listed. We just saw the outside of them. Seeing the fish and food market was great. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Rialto Market, San Polo and Frari Church Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message