Take time to meander - losing yourself in the maze of canals and lanes is one of Venice's principal pleasures. The cluster of sights around the Piazza San Marco are heart-clutchingly beautiful, but the more secret pleasures of the hushed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11083 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

diana.roetting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Fredrica was fantastic! Her english was very good, which we found makes a huge difference for walking tours. Her knowledge was extensive, and she grew up in venice which gives her a unique perspective. Must do to truly understand the uniqueness of venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great morning seeing the main attractions in Venice with an extremely informative guide. Great value for money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Jbwestmo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very touristy, but you have to ride a gondola while in Venice! Get in the boat first for the best seat

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

MARY O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

fantastic tour well worth visiting the islands very interesting and a great way to see around Venice

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Dawn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Learned about the history and culture of Venetian life.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Danielle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Justin was our guide for this small group tour and I can honestly say he was the reason he made this day so great! Right from the get go Justin was super welcoming and you can tell he wanted us to enjoy our trip. With his knowledge and his initiative, he was able to ensure we got the best photos, saw amazing views of the mountains - this being very difficult as the weather wasn't at its best but he timed it perfectly. When we stopped off at the little towns we passed through he was really helpful telling us the best things to go to in our free time or where to get a coffee and something to eat. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone especially if you love mountains! Thanks again Justin for the great day!

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

JOSEPH A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful day! Our guide, Giovanni, was there to greet us at the meet location. He described in detail how our day would go and what we would see. All during the trip he explained everything. All of our little stops were well timed and at excellent locations. It was a small group of only 6 which allowed for friendly conversation. I HIGHLY recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Venice

sheena.ellis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you want to see the best of Venice in one day then this is a great tour. In the morning we toured the Doges Palace with our excellent guide, Sabrina. She was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Venice and made the Doges Palace tour very interesting. Afterwards we toured St Marks Basilica and walked around the streets of Venice with Massimo who was also a great guide. To cap off the day our motorboat tour around the canals of Venice gave us a great understanding of the waterways surrounding Venice and the part they played in its interesting history.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this tour even though we did not get to skip the lines due to new security procedures put into place a week before. The guide was very knowledgeable and the organization of the actual due went off flawless. I would suggest this tour for the first time visitor to Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

On time, informative and the best way to see and find out about Venice. Excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Jbwestmo

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice tour with interesting scenic and commentary, great guide.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Lynda P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a super performance but I am small and the audience was pushy so I could hear everything and see little.

Doing what: Musica a Palazzo 'Traveling Opera' Performance in Venice

maryna South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was an amazing experience even tough it was cold...Wish we could spend more time in the Glass blowing factories on Murano. Torcello was a waste of time as far as I am concerned as there was absolutely nothing to see but the church...we did not have time to stop for a coffee at some of the small places on Torcello.
But all being said it was only a half day so It is recommended .

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

trooper9

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Was lovely to get a chance to see the 3 lovely islands.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kim Hai S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was very informative and the small towns outside Venice was beautiful!

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

stian.e.eriksen

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Others may rate this tour more highly, but for us it was a disappointment that the walking tour covered the exact same content as a different walking tour we'd taken two days earlier in a different part of Venice. Also, we didn't get to spend a lot of time inside the basilica, and we didn't go up to the upper level. Having said that, it was definitely great to have a knowledgeable guide talk us through this beautiful church and its history, and a huge plus not to have to queue to get in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Cheryl C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Seeing the glass blowing on Murano Island was very interesting, we din't see any lace making on Burano Island but there were other interesting shops etc to look at.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Cheryl C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Our guide Sabine was very nice. She showed us around Venice on our walking tour and through St Marks Cathedral. The boat tour was via water taxi - we saw lots of interesting places which you don't get to see if you are walking around. Too many people to really enjoy the Venice experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Robert M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

I really enjoyed this and my instructor was very patient with my inability to row from the back position as well as I could at the front. I do think this tour should specify that you don't actually row a gondola, you row another type of venetian boat. I think this is borderline false advertising.

Doing what: Private Venice Gondola School: Learn How to Be a Gondolier

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We have received the following response from the supplier concerning your comments:

We are sorry that there was confusion about the training vessle used. The description for this activity states that the lesson takes place on board "a sturdy gondoletto, a training boat". This is the traditional kind of vessel used to train gondoliers. As rowing a gondolier takes much preparation, it would not be possible to row a proper gondola on a first go. Indeed, even the training vessel is quite challenging at first! It's great to read however that the guide was patient and the activity enjoyable.

emilycburns

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

These places are all amazing, so to give visitors 30-40 minutes at each is not worth the effort. At Torcello, there was a line to get tickets to the church, so I had at most 10 minutes inside before having to walk back to the boat. There seems to me to be no reason why the company doesn't add 2-3 hours to the tour to enable more time to visit each place. I think we spent more time on the boat than actually visiting the islands.

Doing what: Murano, Burano and Torcello Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

diana.roetting

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The singing and strings were fantastic, the production value - mediocre. We knew it was a 'smaller' production, but there were only 3 main actors. With 3 people, albeit FANTASTIC singers, you can't portray an entire opera with complexities. Great if you are in it for the music, not good if you are looking for entertainment in a musical production.

Doing what: Musica a Palazzo 'Traveling Opera' Performance in Venice

David H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Our guide was superb and was able to point out lots of interesting features of the city. Unfortunately our tour time was altered in advance and moved later by 1 hour without consultation which made us late for our next activity. The tour also left the dock late and returned early so we had only 40 mins instead of the hour as advertised. I felt that it was very expensive for what we got.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message