There’s no getting around the fact that Venice, while gorgeous and completely worth every gushing essay written about it, has an over-abundance of mediocre restaurant options. There is, however, good food to be found in Venice, if you know where to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Keka I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Clair was our tour guide, and she was an excellent guide through the streets of Venice, introducing us to five of her favorite cicchetterias, or osteria that specialize in cicchetti. With each place we went to, she was able to explain everything from the history of the establishment to what wine pairings work best for the cicchetti you're eating. The best part about the tour is that after you're done, you now have added five great places to your HH arsenal whenever you stop into Venice. Bravissimo!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A real highlight of our Venice trip. Our guide from Urban Adventures was born and raised in Venice with family going back generations. She was extremely knowledgeable and was fun to be around. We tasted great wine and cicchetti and made sure to go back and hit some of those same spots again. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Esther T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the perfect introduction to Venice for food and wine lovers, and those on their first visit. Francesca our tour guide gave us some of the history of this amazing city as well as some knowledge on the architecture. She steered us away from the more touristic spots, in favour of the quieter more local areas. The cicchetti was very good and varied, with only a few more local dishes that we not to my taste - although we did try everything! Keep the business cards for each of the wine bars that you visit, or you will never find these hidden gems again! If you do this trip, I would recommend going on your first day, it really gives you an orientation and introduction to the friendly and welcoming locals. Don't be afraid to try this tour if you have dietary requirements, just let your tour guide know as soon as you can so that they can make adjustments if possible to the cicchetti.Thank you Francesca!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Cat D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I really enjoyed this tour and was surprised at how young the group was. Amazing way to see a more and #39;local and #39; Venice. The venues were brilliant and the cicchetti delicious. Do this tour at the beginning of your trip to help you get into the Venetian groove.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Anthony F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide, Elisabetta, was amazing. She taught us a lot about Venice and took us to some great places where the wine and cicchetti were amazing. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Nicola M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked this tour as an activity for my friend's hen party and it was fantastic. Our guide, Francesca, gave us a great tour with really interesting commentary. All of the bars we then visited were great choices and the wine and cicchetti varied from place to place. We visited 5 bars in total and the timing was just tight. It was a fantastic experience and all ten girls in our party agreed. Thank you Francesca!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great tour. We started off learning a little about Venice and getting our bearings, then a short gondola ride over the grand canal and we started to eat and drink. Our guide Francesca was great and the 6 Cicchetti bars we went to were really good. We tried to find our favorite one on another night but couldn't find it so take notes! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Jamie U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Claire was awesome! The tour was a great first experience for Venice. We received great wine and cicchetti. Claire shared her love for the city and gave us great ideas about where to eat and what to visit.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was a blast! Our guide Claire was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. The cicchetti and wine was excellent. Great way to experience places you'd never find on your own, and learn about the local scene and history, all while drinking great wine and eating delicious food!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This lunchtime tour was one of the highlights of our trip to northern Italy. Our guide Giovanna, a native Venetian, started with a tour of Canareggio and a number of tips of how to see Venice best. She led us to the Rialto Market area by crossing the Grand Canal on a traghetto and brought us to five bars. In turn each served us wine and cicchetti, small hors d'oeuvres size snacks. What a delicious outing. Our group was international, from the US, England, Australia and Colombia, and sociable. The only negative was waiting for a couple who was lost to arrive at our starting point. Giovanna was knowledgable, friendly and made sure we were happy! It was more efficient and fun than it would have been to go on our own. If we are so lucky as to go to Venice again, we will probably take this tour again.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Robert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Giovanna did an excellent job. The tour was well organized, and featured a wide variety of 5 differing locations for cicchetti and wine tasting. Being a native of Venice, she gave us great insights into the history, pronounciations, neighborhoods, and excellent recommendations. The tour included a brief gondola crossing of a canal, which was unexpected and enjoyable. The amount of walking and pace were just right for us. It's certainly worthwhile to get the services of an expert for our introduction to Venice. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lively, informative guide introduced us to cicchetti at small eateries -- paired with local wines. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

quigleyconsulting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Ileo was a native Venetian and obviously extremely familiar with the city and its culture. Due to scheduling issues the tour is not offered every day and fills up quickly we ended up taking it at lunchtime on our last day in Venice. Even though it was pouring rain, we had one of our most memorable experiences in Venice. We visited five cicchetti bars, intimate wine/beer bars that open early for the local workers and which youd be sure to overlook. Wed recommend that you schedule this early in your stay as youll want to revisit the bars again later. All the cicchetti snacks and wines were wonderful.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We took the cicchetti tour our first night in Venice and were glad we did. It gave us significant historical perspective as well as a clue to the local neighborhoods and restaurants that Venice offers. The food and wines were delicious and varied. We would absolutely recommend this tour, and would do it again ourselves. Don't miss this.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Elle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of my favorite tours ever! I've been around the world, and granted, the varying excursions can be like comparing apples to oranges, but this just ranked as one of the unforgettable tours. It was just fun to try the different wines and cicchetti in the various atmosphere. We learned that cicchetti is the Venezian word for what we know as Spanish tapas. The people of Venice have their own language apart from Italian. The group first started out not talking much, but during the first stop we got all comfortable and cozy with one another's company. That made is so much more fun. Our guide was informative and I liked the tour because it helped to familiarize us where we were for later exploring. She gave us good pointers on where and how to visit something else. We also got to go on a gondola to cross over the canal. It was just a great night and our favorite excursion of our 3 week tour thru 10 European countries.....Salute or Cin Cin!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Barbmakins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Claire was knowledgeable and the group was a good mix to make a fun night. An added bonus we went o 5 places and ended with a dessert cookie in sweet wine. A good variety of wine and cicchetti to experience. For each of us on the trip Claire circled restaurants to try and made sure everyone knew how to get home.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Vincent D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Elizabeth was a great tour guide. She gave us colorful local information. Took us to great stops and th wine and Cicchetti was excellent. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone I tersted in getting off the high tourist areas and experiencing Venice.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

CLAUDE J P D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

You ain't seen Venice if you ain't been in a Cicchetti bar...a typical bistrot where you eat the Venitian tapas served with a glass of wine....or two...or three...indeed, even though the tour brochure mentions one glass of wine per bar....the lovely truth is that they are very generous....especially if you tour with lovely guide Elizabeth-a! Believe it or not with a name like that...she is definitely a 100 Venetian blonde!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Evelyn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were met by the lovely Yole at 11.30am on the dot, after introductions there were only 5 of us on this tour we set of on our excursion. Yole was very informative about the wines, cicchetti, establishments we visited and their history. After a short walk and short boat ride across the Grand Canal we reached our first destination. Contrary to some other reviews I would say that the wine and cicchetti provision was just right, we managed 5 different inns in our time, each serving different kinds of cicchetti ranging from creamy salt cod, to sardines and stuffed olives. There was something for everyone. We didn't come away hungry but equally we didn't feeling tipsy, just a really good balance. I would highly recommend this tour, you went to places in Venice that you might otherwise miss especially if you were only on a short break as we were.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Linda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was the perfect choice for our evening. We arrived tired and hungry and hot in Venice and met the tour. She was fresh and lively - willing to laugh about her adopted city. Shared loving stories about the people who really live in Venice. The cicchetti were fun - different - foods we would not have ordered and the 500 year old bars were priceless. We had a lot of alcohol - interesting flavors- but she was quick to give water since it was very hot. And she taught us how to interact with locals- language - riding the traggetti. A perfect evening to liven us up after lots of travel!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

cruzn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine was fabulous. Simone was our tour guide and we had the best time and met several couples, one of which was going on the same cruise as us. Simone was friendly, professional and lots of fun. We were a little late to the meeting spot and she was so gracious about the wait. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Dianne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the best tour I have taken. Our guide, Elizabeth, was very knowledgeable being a born and bred Venetian. The tour of the back streets prior to our cicchetti and wine tastings was very informative and the four wine bars we visited were outstanding. The cicchettis and the wine were different at each very historic wine bar. A word of warning, do not have a late lunch and don't plan dinner! We could not finish our cicchettis at the last bar. This tour is very good value.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Anna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing food walking tour - at the same time discovering the history and parts of Venice you normally would miss. Our tour guide Giovanna - a third generation Venetian - was so friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We discovered fabulous gems hidden away from the tourist bustle of Venice, ate amazing Venetian Cicchetti like tapas, drank beautiful Venetian wines. This would suit all ages over 18 and all fitness levels.
This tour is a must!!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Roxanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a very informatiive walk through side streets of Venice - our guide was well informed local and gave us details on life in this city. The Cicchetti and Wine bars were a real experience which gave us the inside track to going to some of them in the next few days of our trip and being able to recognize the drinks and how to order the treats
we really enjoyed our time

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Shannon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide Roberto was very knowledgable and friendly. He explained a bit about the city and helped us feel like the locals with the amazing places he took us for cicchetti and wine. Each place was a unique experience and the food and wine was awesome.

I would recommend this tour to anyone. It is a great opportunity to learn about the city while getting a chance to try some of the local cuisine you might miss as a tourist.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message