There’s no getting around the fact that Venice, while gorgeous and completely worth every gushing essay written about it, has an over-abundance of mediocre restaurant options. There is, however, good food to be found in Venice, if you know where to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jamie U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Claire was awesome! The tour was a great first experience for Venice. We received great wine and cicchetti. Claire shared her love for the city and gave us great ideas about where to eat and what to visit.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was a blast! Our guide Claire was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. The cicchetti and wine was excellent. Great way to experience places you'd never find on your own, and learn about the local scene and history, all while drinking great wine and eating delicious food!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This lunchtime tour was one of the highlights of our trip to northern Italy. Our guide Giovanna, a native Venetian, started with a tour of Canareggio and a number of tips of how to see Venice best. She led us to the Rialto Market area by crossing the Grand Canal on a traghetto and brought us to five bars. In turn each served us wine and cicchetti, small hors d'oeuvres size snacks. What a delicious outing. Our group was international, from the US, England, Australia and Colombia, and sociable. The only negative was waiting for a couple who was lost to arrive at our starting point. Giovanna was knowledgable, friendly and made sure we were happy! It was more efficient and fun than it would have been to go on our own. If we are so lucky as to go to Venice again, we will probably take this tour again.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Robert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Giovanna did an excellent job. The tour was well organized, and featured a wide variety of 5 differing locations for cicchetti and wine tasting. Being a native of Venice, she gave us great insights into the history, pronounciations, neighborhoods, and excellent recommendations. The tour included a brief gondola crossing of a canal, which was unexpected and enjoyable. The amount of walking and pace were just right for us. It's certainly worthwhile to get the services of an expert for our introduction to Venice. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lively, informative guide introduced us to cicchetti at small eateries -- paired with local wines. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

quigleyconsulting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Ileo was a native Venetian and obviously extremely familiar with the city and its culture. Due to scheduling issues the tour is not offered every day and fills up quickly we ended up taking it at lunchtime on our last day in Venice. Even though it was pouring rain, we had one of our most memorable experiences in Venice. We visited five cicchetti bars, intimate wine/beer bars that open early for the local workers and which youd be sure to overlook. Wed recommend that you schedule this early in your stay as youll want to revisit the bars again later. All the cicchetti snacks and wines were wonderful.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We took the cicchetti tour our first night in Venice and were glad we did. It gave us significant historical perspective as well as a clue to the local neighborhoods and restaurants that Venice offers. The food and wines were delicious and varied. We would absolutely recommend this tour, and would do it again ourselves. Don't miss this.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Elle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of my favorite tours ever! I've been around the world, and granted, the varying excursions can be like comparing apples to oranges, but this just ranked as one of the unforgettable tours. It was just fun to try the different wines and cicchetti in the various atmosphere. We learned that cicchetti is the Venezian word for what we know as Spanish tapas. The people of Venice have their own language apart from Italian. The group first started out not talking much, but during the first stop we got all comfortable and cozy with one another's company. That made is so much more fun. Our guide was informative and I liked the tour because it helped to familiarize us where we were for later exploring. She gave us good pointers on where and how to visit something else. We also got to go on a gondola to cross over the canal. It was just a great night and our favorite excursion of our 3 week tour thru 10 European countries.....Salute or Cin Cin!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Barbmakins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Claire was knowledgeable and the group was a good mix to make a fun night. An added bonus we went o 5 places and ended with a dessert cookie in sweet wine. A good variety of wine and cicchetti to experience. For each of us on the trip Claire circled restaurants to try and made sure everyone knew how to get home.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Vincent D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Elizabeth was a great tour guide. She gave us colorful local information. Took us to great stops and th wine and Cicchetti was excellent. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone I tersted in getting off the high tourist areas and experiencing Venice.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

CLAUDE J P D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

You ain't seen Venice if you ain't been in a Cicchetti bar...a typical bistrot where you eat the Venitian tapas served with a glass of wine....or two...or three...indeed, even though the tour brochure mentions one glass of wine per bar....the lovely truth is that they are very generous....especially if you tour with lovely guide Elizabeth-a! Believe it or not with a name like that...she is definitely a 100 Venetian blonde!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Evelyn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were met by the lovely Yole at 11.30am on the dot, after introductions there were only 5 of us on this tour we set of on our excursion. Yole was very informative about the wines, cicchetti, establishments we visited and their history. After a short walk and short boat ride across the Grand Canal we reached our first destination. Contrary to some other reviews I would say that the wine and cicchetti provision was just right, we managed 5 different inns in our time, each serving different kinds of cicchetti ranging from creamy salt cod, to sardines and stuffed olives. There was something for everyone. We didn't come away hungry but equally we didn't feeling tipsy, just a really good balance. I would highly recommend this tour, you went to places in Venice that you might otherwise miss especially if you were only on a short break as we were.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Linda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was the perfect choice for our evening. We arrived tired and hungry and hot in Venice and met the tour. She was fresh and lively - willing to laugh about her adopted city. Shared loving stories about the people who really live in Venice. The cicchetti were fun - different - foods we would not have ordered and the 500 year old bars were priceless. We had a lot of alcohol - interesting flavors- but she was quick to give water since it was very hot. And she taught us how to interact with locals- language - riding the traggetti. A perfect evening to liven us up after lots of travel!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

cruzn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine was fabulous. Simone was our tour guide and we had the best time and met several couples, one of which was going on the same cruise as us. Simone was friendly, professional and lots of fun. We were a little late to the meeting spot and she was so gracious about the wait. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Dianne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the best tour I have taken. Our guide, Elizabeth, was very knowledgeable being a born and bred Venetian. The tour of the back streets prior to our cicchetti and wine tastings was very informative and the four wine bars we visited were outstanding. The cicchettis and the wine were different at each very historic wine bar. A word of warning, do not have a late lunch and don't plan dinner! We could not finish our cicchettis at the last bar. This tour is very good value.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Anna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing food walking tour - at the same time discovering the history and parts of Venice you normally would miss. Our tour guide Giovanna - a third generation Venetian - was so friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We discovered fabulous gems hidden away from the tourist bustle of Venice, ate amazing Venetian Cicchetti like tapas, drank beautiful Venetian wines. This would suit all ages over 18 and all fitness levels.
This tour is a must!!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Roxanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a very informatiive walk through side streets of Venice - our guide was well informed local and gave us details on life in this city. The Cicchetti and Wine bars were a real experience which gave us the inside track to going to some of them in the next few days of our trip and being able to recognize the drinks and how to order the treats
we really enjoyed our time

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Shannon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide Roberto was very knowledgable and friendly. He explained a bit about the city and helped us feel like the locals with the amazing places he took us for cicchetti and wine. Each place was a unique experience and the food and wine was awesome.

I would recommend this tour to anyone. It is a great opportunity to learn about the city while getting a chance to try some of the local cuisine you might miss as a tourist.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Pamela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed the wines. The cicchetti were a nice variety and interesting though not especially tasty according to our likes. Had a great time getting to know others in our group.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We learned a lot about the history of Venice from our guide, Elisabeta. She was really fun to poke around with in the small, ancient streets behind the Rialto market. Steeped in history and dotted with wine bars everywhere, the area was fun to get to know and the cicchetti and wine were great!

A fun and interesting tour made great by the informative and personable guide!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Julie-Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was excellent. A really fun evening. It is a great way to get to know the area and learn a bit about how Venetian's socialise while also experiencing good wine and lovely cicchetti. Our guide was Giovanna and she was excellent, very informative and friendly. A great night out to meet new people

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Teryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a great way to start out a trip to Venice. We loved meeting new people and Iole our tour guide was wonderful. We learned a lot about the history of some of the Bacaro and got to taste some local wines and eat some interesting and some wonderful, cicchetti. After we learned about the Bacaro's we frequented them almost nightly during our stay an had a glass of wine and some cicchetti to tide us over until dinner. Highly recommend - lots of fun!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Neill O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Venice tour: Cicchetti and Wine was most definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Our host guide Roberto was very lovely; informative, friendly, funny and well able to manage lots of us (increasingly getting more merry). The food and the wine along with the cute places, company and insights into Venice community was such a great thing to experience on our first night there. It was unfortunate we got ourselves lost back to our hotel, (we were given great instructions), but hey they say that you don't see the real Venice until you get lost there. I highly highly recommend this tour, along with the free walking tour. We had an awesome time.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Kathleen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

LOVED this evening. Sara, our guide, took us to a neighborhood where Venetians live and explained a bit about living in Venice apart from the tourist aspect. Then on to the fun. We went to 6 different 'bars' where we sampled cicchetti, or hors d'oeuvres of the kind Venetians will stop to have at the end of the day. Each of these was paired w/an appropriate local wine. The emphasis on local folks showing local customs and food at local establishments is SUCH a great idea.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Gary R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Iole (Violet without the V and T) was an absolutely charming guide. You will never find the Cicchetti (Tapas) bars we visited without the help of a native of Venice. Every glass of wine was excellent and the snacks served at each stop melted in your mouth. Our group of twelve strangers bonded. By the end of the night it seemed like we had been in the company of close friends all night. The fact it was a night being celebrated by university grads only added to the unique experience. An absolute must do !!!!! *****

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message