There’s no getting around the fact that Venice, while gorgeous and completely worth every gushing essay written about it, has an over-abundance of mediocre restaurant options. There is, however, good food to be found in Venice, if you know where to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

You ain't seen Venice if you ain't been in a Cicchetti bar...a typical bistrot where you eat the Venitian tapas served with a glass of wine....or two...or three...indeed, even though the tour brochure mentions one glass of wine per bar....the lovely truth is that they are very generous....especially if you tour with lovely guide Elizabeth-a! Believe it or not with a name like that...she is definitely a 100 Venetian blonde!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were met by the lovely Yole at 11.30am on the dot, after introductions there were only 5 of us on this tour we set of on our excursion. Yole was very informative about the wines, cicchetti, establishments we visited and their history. After a short walk and short boat ride across the Grand Canal we reached our first destination. Contrary to some other reviews I would say that the wine and cicchetti provision was just right, we managed 5 different inns in our time, each serving different kinds of cicchetti ranging from creamy salt cod, to sardines and stuffed olives. There was something for everyone. We didn't come away hungry but equally we didn't feeling tipsy, just a really good balance. I would highly recommend this tour, you went to places in Venice that you might otherwise miss especially if you were only on a short break as we were.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was the perfect choice for our evening. We arrived tired and hungry and hot in Venice and met the tour. She was fresh and lively - willing to laugh about her adopted city. Shared loving stories about the people who really live in Venice. The cicchetti were fun - different - foods we would not have ordered and the 500 year old bars were priceless. We had a lot of alcohol - interesting flavors- but she was quick to give water since it was very hot. And she taught us how to interact with locals- language - riding the traggetti. A perfect evening to liven us up after lots of travel!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine was fabulous. Simone was our tour guide and we had the best time and met several couples, one of which was going on the same cruise as us. Simone was friendly, professional and lots of fun. We were a little late to the meeting spot and she was so gracious about the wait. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the best tour I have taken. Our guide, Elizabeth, was very knowledgeable being a born and bred Venetian. The tour of the back streets prior to our cicchetti and wine tastings was very informative and the four wine bars we visited were outstanding. The cicchettis and the wine were different at each very historic wine bar. A word of warning, do not have a late lunch and don't plan dinner! We could not finish our cicchettis at the last bar. This tour is very good value.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing food walking tour - at the same time discovering the history and parts of Venice you normally would miss. Our tour guide Giovanna - a third generation Venetian - was so friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We discovered fabulous gems hidden away from the tourist bustle of Venice, ate amazing Venetian Cicchetti like tapas, drank beautiful Venetian wines. This would suit all ages over 18 and all fitness levels.
This tour is a must!!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a very informatiive walk through side streets of Venice - our guide was well informed local and gave us details on life in this city. The Cicchetti and Wine bars were a real experience which gave us the inside track to going to some of them in the next few days of our trip and being able to recognize the drinks and how to order the treats
we really enjoyed our time

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide Roberto was very knowledgable and friendly. He explained a bit about the city and helped us feel like the locals with the amazing places he took us for cicchetti and wine. Each place was a unique experience and the food and wine was awesome.

I would recommend this tour to anyone. It is a great opportunity to learn about the city while getting a chance to try some of the local cuisine you might miss as a tourist.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed the wines. The cicchetti were a nice variety and interesting though not especially tasty according to our likes. Had a great time getting to know others in our group.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We learned a lot about the history of Venice from our guide, Elisabeta. She was really fun to poke around with in the small, ancient streets behind the Rialto market. Steeped in history and dotted with wine bars everywhere, the area was fun to get to know and the cicchetti and wine were great!

A fun and interesting tour made great by the informative and personable guide!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was excellent. A really fun evening. It is a great way to get to know the area and learn a bit about how Venetian's socialise while also experiencing good wine and lovely cicchetti. Our guide was Giovanna and she was excellent, very informative and friendly. A great night out to meet new people

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a great way to start out a trip to Venice. We loved meeting new people and Iole our tour guide was wonderful. We learned a lot about the history of some of the Bacaro and got to taste some local wines and eat some interesting and some wonderful, cicchetti. After we learned about the Bacaro's we frequented them almost nightly during our stay an had a glass of wine and some cicchetti to tide us over until dinner. Highly recommend - lots of fun!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Venice tour: Cicchetti and Wine was most definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Our host guide Roberto was very lovely; informative, friendly, funny and well able to manage lots of us (increasingly getting more merry). The food and the wine along with the cute places, company and insights into Venice community was such a great thing to experience on our first night there. It was unfortunate we got ourselves lost back to our hotel, (we were given great instructions), but hey they say that you don't see the real Venice until you get lost there. I highly highly recommend this tour, along with the free walking tour. We had an awesome time.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

LOVED this evening. Sara, our guide, took us to a neighborhood where Venetians live and explained a bit about living in Venice apart from the tourist aspect. Then on to the fun. We went to 6 different 'bars' where we sampled cicchetti, or hors d'oeuvres of the kind Venetians will stop to have at the end of the day. Each of these was paired w/an appropriate local wine. The emphasis on local folks showing local customs and food at local establishments is SUCH a great idea.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Iole (Violet without the V and T) was an absolutely charming guide. You will never find the Cicchetti (Tapas) bars we visited without the help of a native of Venice. Every glass of wine was excellent and the snacks served at each stop melted in your mouth. Our group of twelve strangers bonded. By the end of the night it seemed like we had been in the company of close friends all night. The fact it was a night being celebrated by university grads only added to the unique experience. An absolute must do !!!!! *****

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent way to spend an afternoon in Venice. I felt it was great value for money. Good quality cicchetti and wine. Well informed, pleasent and accommodating tour guide.
Would definitely use Viator again

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyed this tour, as it gave you insight into the everyday lives of Venetians - where they hang out, what they like to eat and drink and how they travel about. We were able to try cicchetti and local wines in lots of different wine bars on this walking tour of the less well known districts of Venice, as well as mixing with a lively group of other visitors. Good times had by all.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was pleasant and entertaining, showing us several parts for Venice that are far away (in ambiance) from the normal tourist attractions in this Old World city. The tour includes a stop at the open market where chichetti and restaurant owners and chefs come to purchase the best of the day's seafood, meats, fruits and vegetables. Those ingredients become the cicchetti that you taste and enjoy in the latter half of the tour. In subsequent days, we sought out and found two of our favorite tour stops. Additionally, thanks to this tour, we learned about the traghetto and ended up using thie conveyence to cross the Grand Canal multiple times during the remainder of our time in Venice. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a way to start out Tour of Italy. our young, energetic yet very knowledgeable guide made this tour an expereince to last us a lifetime. The highlight was the tour through the Cicchetti's Venice own version of a Spanish Tapa bar but better, trust me. We visit in all five different ones all unique in their specialy food offerings as well as wines of the house. The top three for us were: Cantina Do Mori, Osteria alla Ciurma, and Ostaria Anglico Dolo. If you want to say you have been to Venice, you must take this tour.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My daughter and me really enjoyed this trip. Great wines some delicious cicchetti and a wonderful guide called Elizabetta. She took us to these amazing wine bars and was so informative on the area and things about Venice. Meeting place was easy to find and or guide was there on time. Would recommend this tour . Thank you Elizabetta for such a good time.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great little tour of the wine and Cicchetti (little bites) places in Venice. Our guide, Roberto, was both knowledgeable and fun and gave us a lot of good information about the wine, city life, and city history. In fact, I really wish that we had taken this tour the first day we arrived, because it can teach you how to save a lot of money when eating out in Venice. I highly recommend this tour and Roberto. We ended up visiting five different places and were a little tipsy when it concluded - what fun!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

fun way to see venice. all the cicchetti and different wines where great. this is a must do! Geovanna was an awesome guide.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was lots of fun! Our tour guide was wonderful, she gave lots of information and was very clear. She had a great personality and sense of humor and was on top of things. We enjoyed the wine and with a great array of Cicchetti's, All in all, it was a great afternoon!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

we loved the tour and our guide Clara! We went on several other tours (ghost and legend and Secret Itinerary tour) while in Venice and the Cicchetti and Wine Tour was the best. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a wonderful evening on this tour. Our guide, Iole, was very informative, friendly, accommodating and entertaining! The other members of the group were lovely (five couples in total) which made the evening even more pleasant. The actual wine and cicchetti offered was noteworthy - all the wine was wonderful and the cicchetti was varied and tasty and, although possibly not to everyone's taste, it was good to try local fayre. We enjoyed it all, though!! The servings weren't stingy, either - a good size glass of wine and small serving of food at each serving - I think we had six servings over 4 ostaria!! We learnt a lot and enjoyed it immensely! A good way to visit parts of Venice which perhaps you wouldn't find independently, too. All in all, thoroughly recommended and thanks again to Iole!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message