Water is a fundamental element of Venice. While in any other city you might take a bus or the subway to get where you’re going, in Venice it’s the boat that reigns supreme. No doubt the most classical way to travel the waterways is the old ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8241 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Simone A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It has been the greatest tour we've ever made. As there was regatta on the Grand Canal, it was closed for motor boats. So our Gondola has been the only boat on the Grand Canal in the area of the Rialto Bridge. It was perfect.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour, highly recommended!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Experience

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was really good. The accordion player and singer were brilliant. It was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

checklaw United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic! Our guide went out of his way to make us feel special. Very informative! Enjoyed the Proseco! Would not hesitate to go on this tour!

Doing what: Venice Sunset Cruise by Typical Venetian Boat

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a great combo pack. The tour doesn't go to the crowded places Rialto Bridge/San Marco and you get to learn a little more about the city. Then you get a shared, 6 person total gondola ride for probably the cheapest you can find it in the city.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Ian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Informative tour around Venice and the Gondola ride included made it a great value tour. Recommend this tour for anyone wanting a Venice experience if you only have a short time available.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent Tour and very knowledgeable guides for both the waking tour and private boat tour.
The meeting place was easy to find with the instructions supplied and had seating in a small park/garden area.
By-Pass the crowds for St Marks Basilica did just what it said and no waiting, Don't take a rucksack/large bag as these are not allowed in St Marks Basilica, however you can leave them free of charge just around the corner and the tour will wait whilst you drop them off. Also photographs are not allowed inside the Basilica.
We did not get to see the inside of the Dogge Palace but not sure if this was actually part of the tour as it now a museum and probably would have taken too long.
The walking tour of the back streets were very informative and the earphones kept us all together.
The hour boat tour was in a private water taxi the nice wooden ones and was excellemt, especially as the sun was setting.
The only complaint was that the guys checking us in at the walking tour told us to arrive at 5:00pm for the boat tour when in fact we should have been there at 3:00pm as on our itinerary. Not too much of a problem as the guides got us on another taxi and we got to see the amazing colours of the grand canal as the sun was setting,
Highly recommend Viatour and their great staff.
Steve and Kim

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Interesting tour with exceptional guide.

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals by Motorboat

Catherine Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience. Tour guides for both the walking and boat tours were very knowledgeable and fun. Will highly recommend to anyone who asks.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Laura W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a lovely time on this tour! The people were nice, the canals were lovely, and the singing was the best part! A little pricey, but absolutely worth the money.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

ronsrankin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was an expert on the history of Venice -- form its earliest beginning, on through the present-day issues of rising seas and sinking buildings. The boat tour, a bit later in the day, gave us an opportunity to see and hear about parts of the city we would have otherwise missed entirely!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Memo United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Caroline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent walking tour showing the backstreets of Venice - with lots of information which I didn't know already. Group was a little large but could still hear our guide who was excellent by the way thanks to the earpieces. The welcome at the start of the tour in the travel agency wasn't the most friendly, but the guide was great so have still given it five stars! The gondola experience was fun too, be aware you won't have a private gondola but will be sharing it as a group of 6, but that didn't take away from the experience.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

June G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great little trip, very informative about the area. Then topped off with a gondola trip.....what's not to like! Great!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Divina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow!! Venice was the highlight of our trip. Thank you so much for accommodating us to split the tour. Our ship was leaving at 5 pm and we could not take the boat tour at 4:30 so we asked if we could take it the evening before. We realized it was a fully booked and busy tour and prayed we could get on it. And very thankfully we did. The tour of the grand canal was so nice , we felt like movie stars on the grand canal. Our tour guide was fantastic. The following morning we took the morning walking tour with the skip the line. Boy it really is worth it to skip the line. They said it was going to be one of the busiest days of the season and it certainly was worth skiping the line. The local guide was so knowledgeable and we could tell he loved his city. What a treat. Thank you for an unforgettable experience of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Alison F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sylvia was great. The tour of St. Mark and #39;s was brief, but the remaining tour of Venice was good. The boat tour was amazing (don and #39;t miss this!!!). One note, if you and #39;re taking the boat tour AND the walking tour, you have to check in with TWO different people at the beginning of your first tour!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

renata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything was great.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

JUDITH V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Gondola Ride and dinner were everything I expected!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

bradleymwirth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Surprised the waking tour didn't go to St Mark's square, but was ok... it was raining made it a tad more of a challenge to hear should consider dual headphones or use your own. Guide was fine... it cleared up by gondola ride which was great! Overall, this tour is worth it.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Shellee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best part of the trip. Just not long enough!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Experience

Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The meeting point for this tour was right down the walkway from our hotel and easy to find. We met up with other people on the tour and divided up into four groups of 6 or 7 people to board four traditional Venetian Gondolas. We started our tour in the Grand Canal and were serenaded by a great singer who boarded one of the gondolas. We made our way through various channels where the acoustics were amazing. We even had a group sing-along to traditional Italian songs. This tour lasted about 45 minutes before we returned to our starting point. I recommend this tour because you get the full feel of Venice for a longer duration. If you want a private gondola ride with your significant other, expect it to be expensive and only 20 minutes average in duration. I would be hesitant to book the gondola restaurant packages see the reviews, go find a nice Cicchetti Bar instead.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

MC M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour of Venice with a very knowledgeable and fun guide!

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Arnaldo T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic trip. We saw so many sites that we would not have seen by just walking. Christina was the best tour guide ever!

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals by Motorboat

Catia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was incredible! Our teacher was amazing! And very reassuring, as I and #39;m a little afraid of boats. She made it all possible and I felt comfortable enough to even try a little rowing! Incredible experience worth every penny and more!!!
This is a must!

Doing what: Private Venice Gondola School: Learn How to Be a Gondolier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message