Water is a fundamental element of Venice. While in any other city you might take a bus or the subway to get where you’re going, in Venice it’s the boat that reigns supreme. No doubt the most classical way to travel the waterways is the old ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7945 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bonnie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was an amazing tour! To much information about Venice! Loved it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

diana.roetting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Fredrica was fantastic! Her english was very good, which we found makes a huge difference for walking tours. Her knowledge was extensive, and she grew up in venice which gives her a unique perspective. Must do to truly understand the uniqueness of venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Jbwestmo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very touristy, but you have to ride a gondola while in Venice! Get in the boat first for the best seat

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide was outstanding!! He showed us some really unique things about Venice not commonly seen and gave is an excellent dinner reservation

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Dawn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Learned about the history and culture of Venetian life.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

maryna South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great guide and he was extremely funny...Got a sense of being venetian when spending time deep-inside-Venice...Was not difficult to walk around but we were a large group but he managed to keep us entertained !!!
The gentleman that did our Gondola was very handsome but unfortunately not that friendly to us ...
All in All it was a great experience and it is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Laura H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Walking tour with Marco the very tall guide was excellent. 2 hours, saw and learned lots.
Boat tour - 1 hour. Loved it. Beautiful evening.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! Well worth doing to learn, and see some of the history of Venice - and a Gondola ride is a 'must do when in Venice' anyway!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

On time, informative and the best way to see and find out about Venice. Excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

stian.e.eriksen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very interesting and well paced walk and talk through Venice's side streets and quiet piazzas. The guide covered both Venice's history and Venice today. There was a bit of a wait to board the gondolas, but gondola ride itself was very good, passing through both a series of narrow canals and a short stretch of the Grand Canal. Recommended.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Derek A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour! - Susan our guide was very good, knowledgeable and took the tour at a relaxed pace making sure we had the time to take in the sights and history of Venice. The boat ride was perfect to see the sights you would otherwise miss from just walking around yourself. Very worthwhile taking this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

Sujan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was excellent! Our guide was very knowledgeable and funny. Even though it was raining, she kept us entertained and we learned a great deal about Venice. The boat tour was fantastic as well. It gave you a good idea of everything is Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

theclarkclan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great informative tour. Our guide, who unfortunately I cannot remember her name : was very informative telling us about Venice history, sharing her local knowledge and about how it is to live in Venice as a young person. She was entertaining with a good sense of humour. she showed us some of her special places, the gondola ride at the end was a wonderful added bonus.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Richard Y

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was very good.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

trooper9

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was called Marco, he was amiable, fun and very informative. He pointed out things of interest to us and kept the tour going with this witty commentary and fun facts. The gondola ride was included and this added to the enjoyment of our walking tour. We found it to be very informative and helpful as it helped us get our bearings more around Venice for the remainder of our trip.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Karan

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Had a wonderful time through out the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

David S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

For the cost, it was outstanding. Short and sweet hour of walking, seeing places out of the way hardly anyone knows about, history of buildings, the city, the people. The gondola ride was a good 40 minutes down private canals, out into the Grand Canal as well. Wish it would have been 2 instead of 6 in the boat but it was still pleasurable.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Aric R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Good value. Susan was nice, but talked pretty slow. Efficient check-in process and good quality sound devices. The water taxi cabin was too closed in to properly sightsee.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

DC R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Venice St Lucia is not what you expect. Dirty, smelly, composed of restaurants, high end shopping and hotels. However, if you must go, this tour is good. Gondola rides are not as exciting as one expects. No serenading.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Pabasari G Sri Lanka

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I was with my husband and 11 month old baby in Venice in April 2016. This tour started well with a cloudy weather but is started pouring after a while and we could not hear the guide well in our headsets and with the baby started crying and fussing! So it wasnt what we expected for it to be. But our guide was informative and he did his best to keep the crowd engaged. Luckily the rain stopped just in time for the gondola ride through Grand Canal. It was a lovely experience, even though the canals did smell bad. Strollers cannot be accommodated in the gondola so bring your baby in a baby carrier.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Cheryl C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Our guide Sabine was very nice. She showed us around Venice on our walking tour and through St Marks Cathedral. The boat tour was via water taxi - we saw lots of interesting places which you don't get to see if you are walking around. Too many people to really enjoy the Venice experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Colin Ronald M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Unfortunately I was rushed into hospital and therefore missed the trip.
Hopefully we will use your company in the future.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Robert M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

I really enjoyed this and my instructor was very patient with my inability to row from the back position as well as I could at the front. I do think this tour should specify that you don't actually row a gondola, you row another type of venetian boat. I think this is borderline false advertising.

Doing what: Private Venice Gondola School: Learn How to Be a Gondolier

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We have received the following response from the supplier concerning your comments:

We are sorry that there was confusion about the training vessle used. The description for this activity states that the lesson takes place on board "a sturdy gondoletto, a training boat". This is the traditional kind of vessel used to train gondoliers. As rowing a gondolier takes much preparation, it would not be possible to row a proper gondola on a first go. Indeed, even the training vessel is quite challenging at first! It's great to read however that the guide was patient and the activity enjoyable.

David H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Our guide was superb and was able to point out lots of interesting features of the city. Unfortunately our tour time was altered in advance and moved later by 1 hour without consultation which made us late for our next activity. The tour also left the dock late and returned early so we had only 40 mins instead of the hour as advertised. I felt that it was very expensive for what we got.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Gabrielle G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The tour guide was very stale and had no personality. Was also surprised that the walking tour did not include the duomo area or the main square. They took us to a low end part of venice and it was not at all interesting. In addition I thought this was a 2 1/2 to 3 hour tour? Walking tour was just an hour and gondola ride was 20 minutes long. Also in order to take the Gondola ride we waiting on a huge line with the general public. They shuffled us on to the gondolas like cattle. I would not recommend this tour to any of my friends or colleagues. My family was disappointed.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message