Water is a fundamental element of Venice. While in any other city you might take a bus or the subway to get where you’re going, in Venice it’s the boat that reigns supreme. No doubt the most classical way to travel the waterways is the old ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7934 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

diana.roetting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Fredrica was fantastic! Her english was very good, which we found makes a huge difference for walking tours. Her knowledge was extensive, and she grew up in venice which gives her a unique perspective. Must do to truly understand the uniqueness of venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Jbwestmo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very touristy, but you have to ride a gondola while in Venice! Get in the boat first for the best seat

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Dawn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Learned about the history and culture of Venetian life.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

maryna South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great guide and he was extremely funny...Got a sense of being venetian when spending time deep-inside-Venice...Was not difficult to walk around but we were a large group but he managed to keep us entertained !!!
The gentleman that did our Gondola was very handsome but unfortunately not that friendly to us ...
All in All it was a great experience and it is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! Well worth doing to learn, and see some of the history of Venice - and a Gondola ride is a 'must do when in Venice' anyway!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

On time, informative and the best way to see and find out about Venice. Excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

stian.e.eriksen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very interesting and well paced walk and talk through Venice's side streets and quiet piazzas. The guide covered both Venice's history and Venice today. There was a bit of a wait to board the gondolas, but gondola ride itself was very good, passing through both a series of narrow canals and a short stretch of the Grand Canal. Recommended.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

trooper9

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was called Marco, he was amiable, fun and very informative. He pointed out things of interest to us and kept the tour going with this witty commentary and fun facts. The gondola ride was included and this added to the enjoyment of our walking tour. We found it to be very informative and helpful as it helped us get our bearings more around Venice for the remainder of our trip.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Aric R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Good value. Susan was nice, but talked pretty slow. Efficient check-in process and good quality sound devices. The water taxi cabin was too closed in to properly sightsee.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride

DC R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Venice St Lucia is not what you expect. Dirty, smelly, composed of restaurants, high end shopping and hotels. However, if you must go, this tour is good. Gondola rides are not as exciting as one expects. No serenading.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Pabasari G Sri Lanka

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I was with my husband and 11 month old baby in Venice in April 2016. This tour started well with a cloudy weather but is started pouring after a while and we could not hear the guide well in our headsets and with the baby started crying and fussing! So it wasnt what we expected for it to be. But our guide was informative and he did his best to keep the crowd engaged. Luckily the rain stopped just in time for the gondola ride through Grand Canal. It was a lovely experience, even though the canals did smell bad. Strollers cannot be accommodated in the gondola so bring your baby in a baby carrier.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Cheryl C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Our guide Sabine was very nice. She showed us around Venice on our walking tour and through St Marks Cathedral. The boat tour was via water taxi - we saw lots of interesting places which you don't get to see if you are walking around. Too many people to really enjoy the Venice experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Robert M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

I really enjoyed this and my instructor was very patient with my inability to row from the back position as well as I could at the front. I do think this tour should specify that you don't actually row a gondola, you row another type of venetian boat. I think this is borderline false advertising.

Doing what: Private Venice Gondola School: Learn How to Be a Gondolier

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We have received the following response from the supplier concerning your comments:

We are sorry that there was confusion about the training vessle used. The description for this activity states that the lesson takes place on board "a sturdy gondoletto, a training boat". This is the traditional kind of vessel used to train gondoliers. As rowing a gondolier takes much preparation, it would not be possible to row a proper gondola on a first go. Indeed, even the training vessel is quite challenging at first! It's great to read however that the guide was patient and the activity enjoyable.

David H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Our guide was superb and was able to point out lots of interesting features of the city. Unfortunately our tour time was altered in advance and moved later by 1 hour without consultation which made us late for our next activity. The tour also left the dock late and returned early so we had only 40 mins instead of the hour as advertised. I felt that it was very expensive for what we got.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Gabrielle G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The tour guide was very stale and had no personality. Was also surprised that the walking tour did not include the duomo area or the main square. They took us to a low end part of venice and it was not at all interesting. In addition I thought this was a 2 1/2 to 3 hour tour? Walking tour was just an hour and gondola ride was 20 minutes long. Also in order to take the Gondola ride we waiting on a huge line with the general public. They shuffled us on to the gondolas like cattle. I would not recommend this tour to any of my friends or colleagues. My family was disappointed.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Karl B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

We laughed through the whole thing! Crowded 6 to a boat, 5 boats go together down the Great Canal with one crooner. Most of the personnel look like hoodlums.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Dee

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Unfortunately we missed this tour because of the crowds in Venice for St Marks day of celebration. Always careful to be on time, we had left our hotel at 8am for a 950 meet up with our guide. A combination of rain and crowds saw us arrive at 1010 and the tour had already left. By the time we got someone to answer our phone calls it was obviously too late but we had hoped to catch the tour somewhere. Alas, whoever answered was not interested in trying to make it work for us even despite the effort we had made. Interestingly, we had been the only two people on 4 other tours we had done in Venice which makes me wonder if there had been others on the tour at all, given the price.

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals by Motorboat

ROBERT R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This trip could have been lovely but we did not get the chance to see it. For some reason my wife thought she had booked it for the Sunday and when we looked on Sunday morning to see the details etc found it was the night before. We phoned the company in Italy and explained what had happened but they said they could not do anything about it. We found the Italians were not friendly at all and did not put themselves out to help anyone as long as they had their money they did not seem to care!!!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect in every way and our tour guide was superb and very good English. Thoroughly recommended ion every respect and have since used Viator in Poland.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

LESLEY S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the walking tour and ride. Our guide was very informative and had a great sense of humour, and we felt it was reasonably priced and very good value

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Todd C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the highlights of our first trip to Venice. My son who is 8 talked about how much fun it was and was the best part of all the sightseeing that we did in Venice. We really enjoyed the ride and the gentleman who gave us the private tour was really good. We enjoyed the close up look of so many bridges and the canals with a wonderful history lesson of Venice. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. Was well worth the money spent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

keith w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

wonderful experience , the guide was excellent and knew her stuff , well worth it , you do get to see things you wouldnt find on your own

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Adam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Was great walking tour - very informative win humour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

thomas s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Venice is a dream. Our guide Elise made us feel welcomed and answered all our questions. The walking tour in the morning with time for lunch and a rest before boat ride at 5:30 was perfect. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

thomas s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Did this on first evening in Venice to fit it all in. It was relaxing and a great introduction to an amazing town. Serenade was Bellissimo.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message