Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 637 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The meeting point for this tour was right down the walkway from our hotel and easy to find. We met up with other people on the tour and divided up into four groups of 6 or 7 people to board four traditional Venetian Gondolas. We started our tour in the Grand Canal and were serenaded by a great singer who boarded one of the gondolas. We made our way through various channels where the acoustics were amazing. We even had a group sing-along to traditional Italian songs. This tour lasted about 45 minutes before we returned to our starting point. I recommend this tour because you get the full feel of Venice for a longer duration. If you want a private gondola ride with your significant other, expect it to be expensive and only 20 minutes average in duration. I would be hesitant to book the gondola restaurant packages see the reviews, go find a nice Cicchetti Bar instead.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Gina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS SERENADED RIDE! DO IT, IT WAS AWESOME AND A ONCE IN A LIFETIME OPPORTUNITY. I WILL REMEMBER THIS THE MOST!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Tamstafry

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful serenade on a gondola on the canal, how very Venice! You must do this if you're visiting, but I felt this was a bit rushed....we enjoyed it nevertheless, worthwhile.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Deirdre M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It is such a lovely thing to do and being serenaded is great. It is still busy out there on the canals, but we went on a Sunday so maybe that is an exceptionally busy day. It is definitely one of those things you have to experience once in a lifetime, so go for it. I had a problem getting out of the gondola and actually fell and did not receive the appropriate help at the time and have a scar to prove it. It blighted the wonderful experience a little.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Belkys L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Was kind of disappointed as I was under the impression the serenade was going to be individual and there were about 6 gondolas in a group. There were times when my gondola was far from the one the singer was at and could hardly be heard.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jacqueline O

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

They say, do not leave Venice without a gondola ride. It was very touristy for sure! The boat held 6 people. We went out on the water and waited 15 minutes or more for the other 5 boats to join us. Then, we took off down one canal and up another with the serenade. If you were not in a boat near the boat with the serenade, I'm not sure your could hear it. So, we have done it once..........I do not need to do it again.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Susan L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

To be on the Grand Canal in Venice is quite an experience, the singer who serenaded us was very good, very funny, had it not been for him my rating would have been one star less.
What was not good was paying for a 45 minute tour, then being dumped ashore after 25 minutes.
Bad customer service, tried to complain which fell on very deaf, very rude Italian ears, we had already paid, so they could not charge us 100 Euros, so we got the cheap seat service.
This reflects on you Viator, not the people doing the tour, might I suggest a secret shopper
Graham Southampton, England

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Adrienne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I will break my review into three parts.
Part 1. - The Gondola ride: the crew of the Gondola ride leave a lot to be desired. They were not helpful or friendly when we arrived for a Gondola ride. If we hadn't already paid - I would have gone elsewhere.
Part 2 - the Serenade. The singer and musician were wonderful. Thank you
Part 3 - The dinner: the service was great, the food was tasty and while the tour started out ordinary - it ended on a high note.
Don't bother booking the Gondola ride - but do go to the restaurant and enjoy a nice meal.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Ellen B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

One serenader for a group of 7 or 8 boats - if you are the back boat you can barely hear the singing

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

slatshaw15

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The tour was awful. The gondola men were very rude and yelled at us to stay in line when we just had a simple question. We weren and #39;t able to hear the serenade because the gondola men were talking to each other. It was just very unprofessional. I would not recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

James L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Sat in the middle of Grande canal for half of the ride time then went a short distance and came back, couldn't hear the serenade

Meal was ok but not one of the best not value for money charged.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Luis S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It was great to hear the Serenade but the ride was too short, probably 20 minutes.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Michelle S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We had a 7 PM ride scheduled but were told upon our arrival that the gondola rides didn't start until
7:30 PM. Staff member seemed surprised that there was a 7 PM booking. They also appeared to be disorganized. THe ride was described as being 40 minutes long with a serenade along the way. Our ride was about 25 minutes long and our driver did not serenade. We had to listen to someone in another gondola but as we separated along the way we could no longer hear him. In addition, our ride was down side canals with little view. I thought we would have had more time in the Grand Canal. I was disappointed with this activity.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Irene T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Gondola ride for only 15 minutes down one canal, did not see any major landmarks. Serenade was not on our Gondola but another ahead of us by 8 -10 other Gondolas. Pictures and videos on Viator is misleading.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Kayla K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I was very upset with this gondola ride. They sat me and my boyfriend apart from each other, then we sat in the canal for 15 minutes and kind of got serenaded, but there is only one person serenading all 8 gondolas. When we finally got to start the ride, it was about 10 -15 minutes long. :(

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jacki L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommend the serenade tour! It was entertaining and relaxing. It would have been an awkwardly quiet ride otherwise. Our gondolier was friendly and great, not at all immature like I've read in some other reviews. I wish the boat had comfortable seats on both ends we were lucky to snag the comfortable seat on the end, but our friends were cramped in the middle seats opposite eachother and were a bit worried they might fall in. We caught the sunset which made it great for photos! Overall a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

henry f

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

fantastic trip only wish the musicians had been closer to our gondola however we could still hear the serenade. Wonderful meal after the ride and John the waiter is so friendly and very helpful a lady came in and had not printed two tickets o had n evidence she had booked but John sorted this out for them.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Minh Ngoc T USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The serenade is not for each individual gondola - They gather 5 or 6 gondolas in one place and there is only one singer standing in the center gondola and singing for the whole crowd.
Short ride 35 minutes just so you get a taste of Venice

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Caleb L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

we wasted a bit of time gathering in a row of 6 gondolas before the singing starts. As the singing continued for abt 7-10 min, the gondola started moving away individually. You can still hear the guy singing but from far.

Still a good experience with the gondola ride but the serenade was a bit out of my expectations.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Derek A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Disappointing Gondola ride - nothing romantic about this ride whatsoever since you have to be lucky to be the first ones on the boat to be able to sit in the main seat together, otherwise the other 4 passengers are sitting opposite each other. The ride started late and we were one of 7 Gondolas following the one with the accordion player and singer. At first we all floated out into the canal to listen to the singer serenade us all with 2 very short songs before sailing through a 'back-street' canal with nothing of interest to look at, before ending up back at the start. It was that basic up a canal, turn right, sail a little further, turn right again and end up where you boarded so not even 25 minutes in all. Gondoliers were not even dressed in the normal costume, in fact they looked like night club bouncers in their bomber jackets and crew-cut hair styles. For the same price as we booked for equivalent of 80 Euros , we could have chosen a different location to pick up a Gondola and the two of us could have sat together and enjoyed the sights we expected to see including the Bridge of Sighs by ourselves and in a Gondola that is better maintained. The singer by the way was very good but we could not always hear him at times being so far back. You have to be lucky to be sitting in the same Gondola as the singer who does not 'jump' from boat to boat but I am pretty sure the family who sat with him did not have any paper vouchers with them, but paid in cash to ensure they sat in that very boat given the way they kept away from the queue and led to boat straight-away. Overall, taking a Gondola ride is a 'must do' activity but best to book it while your there at this time of the holiday season.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Camilo R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Did not like much, it only lasted about ten minutes, it was supposed to have 3 gondolas and one with the serenade singers, in total there were 5 gondolas, would not recommend

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Brian K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

It was a rip off. By far the most over-rated part of the trip. Stated 35 minutes with serenade, and it was at most 30 minutes with no serenade. Crammed into a boat with four others, and in a group of 10 boats. The gondola driver was texting on his phone while we were trying to take memorable pictures.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

thomas s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Did this on first evening in Venice to fit it all in. It was relaxing and a great introduction to an amazing town. Serenade was Bellissimo.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Marjorie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The serenade was great!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Geraldine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Serenade certainly added to the ambeance would definitely recommend booking from home,gave us much more time to explore.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message