Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 448 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Just like you always imagined Venice on the canals would be! Great tenor soloist to serenade us.
On the evening we were booked to attend there was a huge thunderstorm and downpour so organizers (wisely) cancelled and gave the option to return the following evening, or receive a refund from the tour company.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Union K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was an unmissable experience when in Venice. Felt very safe, and the serenade was just beautiful! Much better value booking online than buying while here in Venice

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Maria
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great ride and Serenade! Glad I had this booked with Viator

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Natalie F
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Fun and kitsch gondola ride with serenade. There was about 8 gondolas on our trip. The few things I found disappointing was the group didn't stay snug together in the gondolas on the canal so at times was hard to hear the serenade. Also, some of the gondola rowers (not sure what you call them!) were talking loudly amongst themselves so again hard to hear the serenade. We were lucky enough to have the back seat but the other 2 couples had to sit straddle opposite each other and they said it was very uncomfortable. We got there 45 minutes prior to our gondola ride and were the first to arrive. My recommendation would be to get there early and hopefully get the back seat. Really enjoyed it though. A must in Venice!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The trip overall was ok. First of all, I thought that since I had paid for the gondola tour with serenade that the musician would sit in our boat. Instead, he was in a different boat and a bunch of gondolas just clustered around him. Very disappointing

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

I am sure Viator has no idea how horribly rudely everyone who booked the Evening Gondola Ride and Serenade was treated. There were many people there who booked through other agencies. The local Venetians in charge treated us like prisoners and we were not permitted to ask any questions. They simply "waved" us away and we formed our own lines. The gondoliers shouted to one another continuously throughout the ride, and most of them had earphones in. Our guy actually talked on his cell phone also. We had no idea where we were as there was no commentary. The music (when we could hear it) was good, but the gondoliers seemed to be making fun of it. We all could feel the animosity and it was chilling. We spoke with many others who were on the same rides -- many from our ship, as most of us were on the same cruise. We all agreed that it was disappointing, but there was nothing any of the booking agencies could have done, since you can't force people to be polite to tourists. This was my third visit to Venice and third gondola ride (the last one was about 15 yrs. ago), and things certainly have changed. I just wanted my family to experience the way it was, but I guess that's gone now.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

time of tour was prebooked for 630pm but on arrival we were told that departure time was changed to 730pm so waited on the side for an hour. Later realised that we were actually part of a group with 5 other gondola, and serenade duo were on one of the six gondolas singing to the entire group. spent 20 mins of the trip in front of boarding area to listen to serenade with no movement and remaining 20 mins just doing a very short ride round the block at an incredibly slow speed in comparison to other gondolas. yes reasonably priced in comparison to a booking on arrival but value definitely below expectations worth doing to some extent if looking to sit on a gondola. Serenader had a fantastic voice. wouldn't really recommend to friends.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Rip Off!! Not many details on the web page selling this tour. Its is not a private gondola ride. you share it with 4 other persons. The serenade is on another gondola far away most of the time. for the cost you can get a private gondola ride in Venice, plenty are available and in better routes.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

No serenade! Wouldn't do it. Lasted 25minutes. Tour was sold by Viator as a 30minute ride.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great experience. The Serenade made the trip even better! Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good, the Serenader had a great voice and was very entertaining.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved this tour. The gondola ride was the best with the serenade. There were 6 of us traveling as a family so we had our own gondola. The food at the restaurant was quite good and we did have a few options of appetizers and entrees. There was no choice for desert but it was one of the best bread puddings I have ever tasted.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

lovely trip serenade was good meal was very nice inside the restaurant was very nice but we were seated outside and it was very dissapointing

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved it, the serenade was amazing!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The serenade gondola ride was fantastic. Really good singing and a lovely gentle ride a little way along the Grand Canal and down a small canal and back. Over too quickly though.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message