Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 459 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Once we found the meeting place, which took longer than expected to get to, it was fantastic, 8 gondolas riding together with a serenade, we glided through canals with people on bridges stopping to watch us. great night but thought the price was a little expensive.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Just like you always imagined Venice on the canals would be! Great tenor soloist to serenade us.
On the evening we were booked to attend there was a huge thunderstorm and downpour so organizers (wisely) cancelled and gave the option to return the following evening, or receive a refund from the tour company.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were absolutely mesmerized by this experience...the gorgeous scenery and the serenade made us fall in love with Venice, Italy!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Only problem was that we were a bit far from the gondola with the serenade and missed a bit of the serenade

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This should not be overlooked! You glide along the canals all the while being serenaded. Yes, you are amongst other people and gondolas but take the time to realize where you are and who you are with. It is magical how you wind your way through some quiet areas and then along side a busy restaurant where others clap along. It was fantastic and well worth it!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A little disappointing. Our gondolier didn't seem like he wanted to be there. All of the others were great they were laughing and smiling and talking but not ours. If you just ignored him the ride was good and the serenade was wonderful just like I had pictured it. The dinner afterwards was good and we did get to pick from a few options. All in all a good night.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful serenade and ride on the gondola. Planned it for 7:30 pm. Glad I did. It was scorching hot earlier in the day. Early evening ride worked out perfectly. Once again, Viator came through!
Loved Venice and the ride was our finale- a memory for our 37 th anniversary.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Union K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was an unmissable experience when in Venice. Felt very safe, and the serenade was just beautiful! Much better value booking online than buying while here in Venice

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Maria
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great ride and Serenade! Glad I had this booked with Viator

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Natalie F
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Fun and kitsch gondola ride with serenade. There was about 8 gondolas on our trip. The few things I found disappointing was the group didn't stay snug together in the gondolas on the canal so at times was hard to hear the serenade. Also, some of the gondola rowers (not sure what you call them!) were talking loudly amongst themselves so again hard to hear the serenade. We were lucky enough to have the back seat but the other 2 couples had to sit straddle opposite each other and they said it was very uncomfortable. We got there 45 minutes prior to our gondola ride and were the first to arrive. My recommendation would be to get there early and hopefully get the back seat. Really enjoyed it though. A must in Venice!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Gondola trip and Serenade was excellent the singer had an excellent voice , the meal was good with the staff very friendly

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I loved the serenade but as I were furthest from the singing boat I struggled to hear. 3/4 boats rather than 6 would have been fab! However I know that's not as cost effective for them so maybe if the gondoliers stopped chatting to each other that woulda helped with no costs being affected ?

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This wasn't what I was expecting. I had pictured my daughter and I sitting in the seat at the back of the gondola, as in the advertising picture), just the two of us while being serenaded by the gondolier. Perhaps I didn't read the small print. We actually were crowded on a gondola with three other strangers, and I ended up having to sit at the opposite end of the boat on a backless bench. Then our gondola clustered together with seven other gondolas for the entire ride, all sharing one singer and accordion player for all eight gondolas. The baritone did sing classic Italian songs very well, and the accordion player was a delightful older musician, adding a trip-saving element of charm to our experience. All that being said, it was still a fun trip. I mean, we were on a gondola ride in Venice after all.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The trip overall was ok. First of all, I thought that since I had paid for the gondola tour with serenade that the musician would sit in our boat. Instead, he was in a different boat and a bunch of gondolas just clustered around him. Very disappointing

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

I am sure Viator has no idea how horribly rudely everyone who booked the Evening Gondola Ride and Serenade was treated. There were many people there who booked through other agencies. The local Venetians in charge treated us like prisoners and we were not permitted to ask any questions. They simply "waved" us away and we formed our own lines. The gondoliers shouted to one another continuously throughout the ride, and most of them had earphones in. Our guy actually talked on his cell phone also. We had no idea where we were as there was no commentary. The music (when we could hear it) was good, but the gondoliers seemed to be making fun of it. We all could feel the animosity and it was chilling. We spoke with many others who were on the same rides -- many from our ship, as most of us were on the same cruise. We all agreed that it was disappointing, but there was nothing any of the booking agencies could have done, since you can't force people to be polite to tourists. This was my third visit to Venice and third gondola ride (the last one was about 15 yrs. ago), and things certainly have changed. I just wanted my family to experience the way it was, but I guess that's gone now.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message