Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 561 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The ride and the serenade were first class. Did we need to prebook?? Not sure there were only about half a dozen people in the queue. The board said 41 Euros for a 30 minute serenaded gondola ride I paid about 233!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great to have the serenade as we travelled the canals. Next time we would spend the extra money and not share the gondola with others as they got the romantic love seat and we had to sit singularly which wasn't half as romantic or as we imagined.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Loved the gondolas ride but the guy doing the serenade was 4 gondolas in front of us so didn't quit get the serenade effect..

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

We arrived in time as directed, but made to stand in a queue with no instruction, they just seemed to keep looking at the group and laughing. People continually jumped the queue. Our group got on at gone 7pm, over 30 mins late. Serenade was good, but the ride less than half an hour. Disappointed :(

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Ride was delayed half hour plus serenade was for a group of gondolas not individually. Overall mediocre rating.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Complete Disappointment! When we arrived there were over 50 people lined up to take the tour. There were 7 total gondolas with one singer and one accordion player somewhere on one of the boats. We were herded like cattle into one of the gondolas with four other people and my husband and I were not even able to sit next to one another until we demanded that it be arranged. The ride was around one city block shorter than 30 minutes and we were the first of seven gondolas so we never even heard the serenade. We would have done better to book a gondola ride on our own in Venice where we would have been able to sit next to one another alone and since we never heard singing anyways it would have been more romantic. A complete disappointment and waste of money!!! DO NOT RECOMMEND!! I would not have booked this trip knowing what I know now!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Even though we had a reservation, we had to wait a half hour past our time. There seemed to be more reservations than gondolas. The serenade was for five gondolas at one time, we just sat in the middle of the canal in a group. The gondolier didn't point out anything to us, just took us the fastest way round trip back to the dock. Disappointing overall.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

You share a gondola with up to 4 other people. You might get lucky and have one to yourself. Our gondolier was smoking for half of the trip. We were serenaded by a singer on another gondola who was singing to a cluster of 6 gondolas. The route that we took wasn't that nice either half of the places they took us were under construction. While walking through the city we saw much nicer water routes that were close by. This is definitely not worth it.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The Gondola ride was disappointing as the serenade was very poor. The singer wasn't interested and barely gave a half hearted attempt at a performance. Even the gondoliers seemed embarrassed by his attitude and lack of effort.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Brian
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This actually exceeded our expectations. I suppose we were lucky to get the King and Queen seats directly in front of the gondolier so it almost seemed like we had it to ourselves. The serenade was beautiful - musicians were in another gondola accompanying the group but the singing and the accordion playing were awesome. We took the 7:30pm tour which was as the sun was getting lower on the horizon and it just added that little bit more romance to the occasion.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A must do in Venice, awesome ride and serenade was great.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved the gondola ride, just be aware though you will have other people with you and you go with several other gondolas in a group serenade, it's not a romantic private tour with a serenade.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

First night in Venice with glass of wine on the Grand Canal, serenaded gondola ride, and dinner at an outdoor café was perfect. Only problem...gondola service overbooked...had cue up and wait for an additional 45 minutes to begin ride when we could have been enjoying the streets of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The gondolas were well maintained, the route was planned well to give us the real canal experience. Serenade and singer was very entertaining. Overall very enjoyable and fully met expectations

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic trip, really enjoyed it. Would have scored 5 star but felt 6 in a Gondola was to many as it meant that two of you had to sit opposite each other. Well organised, great serenade and fun

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It would be nice to have a representative at check-in at the Gondola launch to check us in and explain the procedure. It would have been even nicer to have a representative upon returning from the ride to explain where the dinner was. The instructions were quite vague in reality due to the complexity of Venice's layout. Better instructions as to where the restaurant is located would be wonderful. This would have made my rating 5 stars. A minor misleading representation in the Serenade portion makes on think he would have a singer on his boat instead of one singer for the group. The singer was able to be heard the vast majority of the time and was very good.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Did not realize that what I paid for a serenade was going to profit about 6 gondolas all together. Gathered us all 6 gondolas and serenade man was singing for all of us on the canal. Otherwise, great singer.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This tour was nothing that we expected or wanted. We knew we were part of a flotilla of gondola's with a serenader in one of the gondolas. We booked with another family and we were rushed into a group of gondolas leaving behind our other group. You could not stop them. Also, the time line for this gondola trip was advertised as 35 minutes and it was about 20 total. A rip off in my opinion. We had done a gondola ride five years before which was significantly better organized and run. We were moved a lot more slowly through the canals. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Extremely disappointed and not worth the money. First, of all, if you are expecting a private gondola ride with your friends and/or family and want to be serenaded by our gondolier, don't book this tour. This tour is anything but private. Instead, it provides a group gondola experience. Meaning the tour provides 1 person to serenade 10 other gondolas at the same time. Each gondola is filled with 6 individuals and, unless you have six in your party, you must share the gondola with others. However, even if you have 6 in your party, you may not all ride in the same gondola. Placement in the gondolas depends on where you find yourself in the line when they guides are filling the gondolas. We saw several families separated when they were filling the gondolas. Once the gondolas are filed, they all go out together and the person who is singing stands on the gondola in the front. In what appears to be an effort to allow everyone an opportunity to hear the singer, the gondolas travel so closely together that they are actually touching each other. You can hear every conversation on every gondola around you and, depending where your gondola is in comparison to the other gondolas and the singer, you may not even actual hear the singing. Furthermore, the voucher said the gondola ride started at 7:00 and you must check-in at least 15 minutes beforehand. When we arrived, we were told the ride actually did not start until 7:30 and were instructed to come back. However, the ride did not actually start until 8. At the end of the ride, one of the representatives met the gondolas at the pier with a can asking for tips. When people exited the gondolas and did not leave a tip, he would make rude comments and gestures at them. We spoke with several individuals afterwards who also had no idea this was a group experience, were also given incorrect information about the tour, and were disappointed by the whole experience. FYI: there are private gondoliers all over Venice.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

A very disappointing experience. The gondoliers are so unprofessional they should remember that some of their clients speak Italian can understand what they are saying to one another!. The gondolier next to us broke his oar distracted by a girl on the bridge. We had to help retrieve the oar, and then my friend and husband had to hold onto the other gondola as we made our way back to where we started our gondolier 'steered' the two gondolas. We didnt hear alot of the serenade, it was very distracting and ruined the whole experience. Also, our ride only lasted 25 minutes. But what angered me the most is they had the audacity to ASK FOR A TIP as we were getting out of the gondola - they didn't get one! I have done gondola rides in the past with other companies who are wonderful, so my suggestion is shop around ....

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Very disappointing - reception unprofessional and rude at times!
No interaction or guidance - we were all foreign travellers?
The person trying to do the serenade was about 200 metres away?

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

This is not what was advertised. It's catered to tourist, and it felt like a scam.
You do not get your own boat, it's 4-6 people per boat. So it's not the romantic ride we were looking for. The serenade was done by 1 person on a different boat, so all the boats about 8 cluster together and caravan down the canal. The people in charge were rude and sleezy. and did just enough to say they did what they voucher said, but really a scam.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really fun gondola ride because of the serenade. The musicians were good. We all enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really fun gondola ride because of the serenade. The musicians were good. We all enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really fun gondola ride because of the serenade. The musicians were good. We all enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message