Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 480 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Really disappointed!!! Expected a romantic trip, what I got was Gondola ride with 4 others!! Serenaded that's a joke, it was a group of 8 Gondolas parked up in the middle of the canal with one singing in the middle!! Once taken to the back canals it was lovely scenery, but no music as he was at the back of the other 7 gondola's. If I had known I would have waited till we got there and booked it then, some 50th birthday present that was!! As I said disappointed.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The gondola ride was a highlight of our trip. We took the evening tour and floated past palaces and bridges along the Grand canal while being serenaded by a singer and an accordionist.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a brilliant experience ..... do it!! It was a little tricky for us to find the pier to start, but we did an on-foot 'recky' beforehand. On the trip we were serenaded by an opera singer and entertained by an accordion player in our group of ten boats each with about 6 people in each, which first headed up the Grand Canal for a short distance before heading up the narrow back streets (I mean back canals!) where the music sounded its best. It lasts about 40 -45 mins altogether and was far better value than anything our cruise ship was offering.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Not cheap but the singing and playing was fab and my wife was suitably impressed if a little embarrassed! A gondola ride is a great way to see bits of Venice that you might not be able to see on foot, and a serenaded ride just makes it extra special. If you can afford it, do it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We took the 6:30 gondola ride. It was the perfect time - the Grand canal was not busy with boats and the smaller canals had very little traffic so you really got to see the buildings and architecture around you. While we were being serenaded the sunset in the distance a the most amazing rainbow appeared - just spectacular!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely beautiful. Venice is just gorgeous, you can't go wrong with this company either. Not all of the gondola companies provide a serenade but these people do and it's wonderful and so romantic.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great time! Great price through Viatour! How can you visit Venice and NOT go on a gondola? The serenade was awesome. Beautiful evening ride - five gondolas leave at a time and travel around the streets of Venice. Just lovely!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

WE were happy to have the "serenade performers" on board!
I always find that one hasn't been to Venice unless one has gone for a gondola ride!!! = )

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great,! Particularly because this time, we had the "serenade artists" on board our gondola! = )
I have always thought that one can hardly appreciate Venice in full unless he goes for a gondola ride!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

It is okay if you want to be serenaded with another 8-10 gondolas. The singing was nice. The exciting part of this tour was seeing how quick the gondolas get out of the way for an urgent ambulance.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Terrible terrible tour. This was the biggest waste of money.. If I could give no stars I would. First of all the gondolier was very rude to my husband telling him to hurry up and sit down. Then he yelled at the older lady that got in next that she was sitting on the wrong side. He steered us directly in between two other gondolas and stayed that way the whole time we was on the grand canal. I could reach out and touch the two other boats, so you couldn't see anything. You could not hear the serenade because they were so far away from us. That and the fact that our guy and the two other guys were too busy talking with each other or talking on their cell phones. Even while on the small canals my gondolier got side by side to another gondola any where there was a little room and talked. This is supposed to be romantic, we experienced a much more intimate and romantic experience while at the Venetian in Las Vegas.( yes I did say Vegas) This was ridiculous! Don't waste your money on this.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

You share your boat with 2 other couples, there are about 8boats to 1 serenade! The singer on 1 boat and others stay nearby. It is less than 30mins, not going up the grand canal but into the smaller side canals. Not very romantic due to the number of people and the boat operators talking loudly.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The ride was great and unique. I did not see any other gondola service with Serenade. We were lucky to be on the same gondola as singer and accordion player. Surreal!
P.S. The price is very worth it. Standard rides are 80 EURO! No Serenade

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

OH MY, THE ABSOLUTE HIGHLIGHT OF MY EUROPE TRIP!!! This gondola ride was one of the most romantic things ever to experience, and the serenade almost had me in tears. I am so so happy that my husband and I were able experience this!! I am very happy we paid for a private gondola ride because we had the experience all to ourselves. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity as how often are you in Venice on a private gondola being serenaded??? Although pricey, I felt it was worth every penny. I loved every moment of it....I wish it was longer!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We enjoyed the Gondola ride and the serenade even though we weren't personally serenaded. The dinner left a lot to be desired. The choice of restaurant was poor as was the meal. We were not offered a full menu and what we ordered as a Main from the "mini" menu was not available. Not impressed! Hostaria ai Coristi did not look after us.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message