Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 507 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A must-do activity when you are in venice. My partner and I had a great experience. The serenade with sunset made everything so perfect. A bit disappoint when we didn't sit at couple seat so I had to sit opposite my partner...still good though

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour was good value - worth doing. The restaurant was excellent - superb service and cuisine. Only comment to make was that there were 5 gondolas in the group making it very busy and hard to hear the serenade. Check location of restaurant first - took us a while to find it. We had a similar experience earlier that week but in a different canal route. All up - definitely a must do

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Was what was expected. Sightseeing of city and serenaded by a singer with a beautiful voice. Most enjoyable. A must do when in Venice.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Overall, the package was fine but not great. We went out on the Grand Canal for about five minutes. Not to experience it but to wait for 3 other boats and the serenade crew to give us a song. Then it was to so me back canals behind the hotel and we were done. Staff was not that friendly and I thought it was a huge miss. I figured they would be outgoing and be a large part of the reason why the ride was great but it was nonexistent. Albeit more expensive, I would recommend the gondola ride down the Grand Canal which would be more with it than having the serenade.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was supposed to be "Serenade", but for the Gondola Company it means that of approximately 6 gondolas only 1 had someone who played the accordion and someone who and they put all 6 gondolas around each other to listen to music for 2 songs. Others you couldn't really hear music!!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Dinner was good. But, the gondola ride seemed less than 35 minutes and parts where we went smelled. The person singing was several gondolas over and was hard to hear. Should explain more what shared serenade means.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

We rained out - no serenade at all....

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The gondola ride a must do activity while in Venice and Viator made sure it was enjoyable. We arrived on time 15 minutes early to check in and left on time to begin our tour and serenade. The musician and singer followed the group of boats around played some beautiful songs. It was a great way to get a view of Venice and as usual Viator did an amazing job.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very relaxing cruise along the Grand Canal and smaller canals. The serenade was amazing. What a beautiful voice. Just an fyi, there is not one singer per boat, but a cluster of gondolas that rotate their positions to be near the gondola with the singer in it. His voice carried well, no volume issue.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I would give a five star BUT the gondola driver refused to wear the striped shirt and repeated looked quite annoyed for some reason before, during and after the ride. I thought that was disappointing because you want what the picture shows the hat, the shirt, the boat and the guys singing and playing an instrument.... not some guy in regular clothes with a bad attitude. BUT we did enjoy the ride with a person playing the guitar NOT accordion and singing most of the time. We felt this was definitely worth the price of a PRIVATE boat and serenade rather than sharing it with others. Plus the money is about the same anyways so why not go private. This the most we spent on any of our tours but it is also the ONLY thing we wanted on our checklist for Venice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This was a good experience but you do share the gondola with other people total of 6 to a boat. We road out into the channel and waited for all of the boats to be together so we could all hear the serenade portion. If I had to do this again I would take a single gondola ride as the serenade wasn't anything special.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Was surprised to find ourselves sharing a gondola with two other couples and sharing the serenade with 5 other gondolas.
However gondolier was friendly and the ride was very pleasant.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The package minimumly met the description. Certainly was not the personal touch. Disorganized at the start. We were not able to sit to each other. We were in a group of 8 gandola only one of the gandola had a singer to serenade all of us. The ride was extremely short. very hard to find the restau

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Very disappointed. No serenade in our gondola. Rude workers at gondola station

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We love Venice but we were disappointed with this gondola ride. We thought we purchased a private ride and they squeezed 6 people onto a gondola. There was a sign stating the maximum people should be four, not sure if 6 people was safe. Also, the serenade was on a different gondola riding close to us. At times we could hardly see the singer or hear him clearly. Lastly, we noticed you can purchase the gondola ride for less while at Venice.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

One of the best experiences of my life, the serenade made it amazing

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

Over all I was disappointed with our gondola experience! Not very welcoming or organised. Felt more like we were being herded like cattle into the gondola experience!! However I did enjoy the real music and live serenade. Would recommend people pay for the private gondola experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Guide was friendly and informative. I would rather suggest that you book a Gondola ride privately when you are in Venice as the price is fixed. There was no serenade as promised.......

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Wanted a lovely romantic ride on a gondala with my husband, what I got was him sitting on a wooden plank facing backwards and me sat on a chair where we couldn't even hold hands properly. Ended up paying again to do it the way we wanted the next day (not serenaded) but at least we could snuggle up together. If there is a crowd of you then this might be the trip for you, but if you're looking for a romantic gondola ride then this is one to be avoided.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was not worth the money. They were completely disorganized and we started very late. You were squishd on a boat and the serenade that we paid for was one singer on another boat that our person tried to stay close too, we might have heard one song. I would not recommend this tour. There are lots of other vendors along the way, much closer then how far we had to walk from the water taxi's to get to our tour.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Totally not worth it. The gondolier was the most demotivating person ever, he was playing with his phone the whole 30 minutes. The gondel seated 6 persons, we sat in the middle, which made romance pretty difficult. The serenade was on another gondel, which was so far a way we didn't hear a thing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!! Unforgettable experience In venice, the serenade was quite good, so wonderful to be on the gondola with the music, beautiful memories with this city while sitting in gondola, I love every part of it.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Took this ride with my husband and 3 children. Husband is big-sized so at were were afraid the gondola would tip over but no ... we had a very enjoyable afternoon ride with the cold wind blowing on our faces, and the good serenade. Overall a happy experience to remember!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The walking tour was great but the gondola ride did not fit the description. None of the gondola drivers serenaded.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was so much better being serenaded even if you shared the singer in a flotilla. We loved it!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message