Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 428 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great experience. The Serenade made the trip even better! Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good, the Serenader had a great voice and was very entertaining.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

For the price it's not bad. The serenade was not on every boat, they gather few gondola together then one of the gondola with music and singer do some songs then you go. Very different than how I imagined, but again. There were a lot of people purchased this and the line was long but moving fast. Interesting.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Well the ride was fine but only of the many gondolas got the serenade; disappointing aspect.If no serenade included then shouldnt be advertised that way.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Recommend gondola ride, but skip the serenade (not worth doing in a group). We had a total of 10 gondolas in our time slot and it took nearly 1/2 an hour to get everyone together. The canal is quite narrow so the boats had to line up one in front of the other. As you can imagine, with so many gondolas, we did not hear the music more than half the time. Also, the gondola sits 6 - only 2 gets to face the front while the other 4 will either sit sideway or backwards. Next time, we plan to pay a few more $ to get private gondola - plenty of them around.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jess Leigh
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

We enjoyed our shared gondola ride even though the serenade was on a boat further away for most of the trip, it was still pleasant. The dinner however was difficult to find, ended up being in a strange dark alleyway, the server seemed like she did not want us there and our fish was terrible.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

While it was indeed a ride in a gondola, it was hardly with serenade!
In early June,we were one of three couples squeezed onto our gondola, we had to sit on small wooden bench seats facing each other, and our gondola was one of I think 8 in the flotilla. The singer and musician were on a gondola about five boats back from us , and while the singer was reasonably good, he did not have a strong voice, so we only heard snatches of the first song before we were out of earshot. I can't really recommend this operator.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Our experience was nothing at all like what was advertised or what others had experienced. It was horrendous. We were all bundled into gondolas which had 6 people in every single one of them. Some couples weren't able to even sit next to each other on the ride. Then about 10 gondolas rowed out into the main canal where 1 man serenaded all 10 of the gondolas with his accordion player as a backup. Massively disappointing, would've paid triple for a better experience, would not recommend to anyone. It's not at all what is advertised and I feel very let down in this instance.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Directions were spot on. A little bit of liquid sunshine was falling but, the singer a musician carried on making us completely forget about it. The gondoliers even stopped under a bridge which added to the atmosphere of the ride and serenade. This was our first serenaded gondola ride and worth every penny.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

would NOT travel to Venice without a gondola ride and serenade :)

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Highly recommend, 30 min gondola ride (6 ppl total in boat), serenaded by Italian opera singer. You don't see much of the Grand Canal, but you do see the inside of Venice's canals you cannot see on foot. It does the trick.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent! The serenade was wonderful... several gondolas gathered and we were serenaded, then we all went up and down canals and the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Only gondola ride I saw with serenaded. Cheapest too.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I enjoyed the Gondola ride. However, if you are the last of 3 couples, you will not be able to sit together. There are 2 sets of 2 seats, and then a set of seats that are across from each other. Not very romantic if you are looking to "cuddle" with your significant other. If not going as a couple, it's not a big deal.

The "drivers" are not very accommodating. You are assigned a gondola by how you are in line, so if you are not the 1st or 2nd couple, "Oh Well".

I did enjoy the ride and the serenade. Just glad that I wasn't a couple.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We were slightly disappointed that there were 5 boats sharing with the Serenade.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message