Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 538 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really fun gondola ride because of the serenade. The musicians were good. We all enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really fun gondola ride because of the serenade. The musicians were good. We all enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really fun gondola ride because of the serenade. The musicians were good. We all enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really fun gondola ride because of the serenade. The musicians were good. We all enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great way to end our visit to Venice. The evening was damp, but it was a lot of fun. We met some new people and the man who serenaded us was extremely talented. Everyone in the boats was able to hear him and the accordion player. Great experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved every minute! It was a highlight of our vacation. We had about 5 or 6 gondolas in our flotilla and an accordion player and an excellent singer who serenaded all of us for the whole ride. It was everything we hoped it would be.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Serenade and gondola ride were highlights of our Venice experience. What a wonderful way to spend some time seeing this beautiful city.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We traveled in a flotilla of 8 gondolas with 6 people in each. There was a male opera singer and piano accordion player to serenade us. Waiting for the tour to begin was confusing as there seemed to be many gondoliers sitting around waiting but not much information about what guests were supposed to do. If anyone asked what was happening you were given a vague statement of wait over there. Eventually, 10 mins or so after the designated starting time we were allocated gondolas and assisted aboard. The gondola ride was fun. The singer sounded great, especially when we were going down the narrow canals. For me as a solo traveller it was a much better option than trying to barter for a ride.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lovely canal ride at the perfect time...so romantic with the serenade too.made the day perfect

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A gondola ride is a must in Venice. The group of gondolas and the serenade was fantastic.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our gondola ride with serenade was so amazing and one of our most memorable experiences in Venice. As with all our other tours/excursions, it was so simple and organized with our Viator purchase. We loved, loved, loved this!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We all thoroughly enjoyed this gondola ride with serenade. The men were very helpful to get my sister on and off of the gondola as she has some disabilities. Our gondolier was pleasant and answered our questions. The ride down the canals was great. My only complaint is that the singer sang American songs and I was really looking forward to hearing romantic Italian songs. I couldn't understand that. But the singing and playing were excellent.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The gondola tour was great although the gondola with the serenade was too far from our gondola for us to appreciate the music. Our gondolier was pleasant and apologized for the lack of music but we still enjoyed the experience!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We booked a serenade and I was surprised that it was a group of 4 gondolas and the musicians were in another boat. As we made our way down the canals, sometimes it was difficult to hear the music and singing. Overall it was a fun time and for the price I suppose it was fine. Just a note: We had to walk a distance to where the gondola ride was. I didn't realize that they are scattered throughout Venice and could have booked one much closer. However, we used the time to explore more of Venice as we made our way to the destination.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jennifer G
United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

I think because of the thumbnail photo I assumed it was private. It wasn't - which was fine. My husband and I unfortunately had the middle seats which doesn't really lend itself to the honeymoon experience we were hoping for. The serenade is loose translation. The gondola meets up with 5 other boats. One of the 6 boats will have an accordion player and a singer. We could barely hear the guy although he was pretty loud. We were too far ahead. Our gondola driver was also having a conversation nearly the whole time with the gondola driver next to us. It was really distracting and unfortunate. One of the couples was so bored they wanted to get dropped off and the whole thing only lasts like 30 minutes. All in all, it's not the picturesque gondola experience I was hoping for. It's officially checked off my bucket list.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A little disappointed. Even though we realized it would be a shared experience we found we were stuck with 5 boats - each with 8 people and the so called serenade was so far away from us and quite a way behind our gondola that we could hardly hear it. A gondola ride - yes . A romantic experience.......NOPE.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

I was under the impression that the gondola ride and serenade would just have been for us, but we shared our gondola with others and the fleet of gondolas moved along together with two musicians serenading the lot.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

we booked a gondola with serenade. We could not hear the singer he was in another gondola. Not worth the money

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Very short ride for a lot of money. Never really heard the serenade. Part of a big flotilla -- for the same money you can get more of a private ride along the canals. Disappointing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Alan L
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Very poor. Crammed 6 people into each gondola which means you cannot sit with your loved one. Our gondola towards front of 8 gondola procession that lasted just over 20 minutes and we could see the serenader for just 5 minutes and hear him for 10 minutes. Don't waste your money of disappoint your partner. Get more by standing on a bridge as procession passes by.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

When you think of a serenade, you typically think that it is you and your loved one on a boat together being serenaded alone. However this trip is 5-6 people on your boat, accompanied by 5-7 boats, with only one singer on one boat not necessarily yours. Once off the boat, no one knew where the restaurant was and we had to spend 30 minutes locating it wasn't in google. The food was priced at 22 euro a person and you can typically get a gondola ride for about 80 euro, so we ended up overpaying for this trip - and were accompanied by many people on our romantic serenade.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

We was fooled into thinking we had our own serenade but this is shared between 6 other boats with 6 people in other boats. Good was nice after.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour was misleading. The serenade was for a group of people approx 6 Gondolas and 1 person on another Gondola. You could not hear the music most of the time. The Gondola was not my partner and myself but 6 people crammed into the Gondola. When I asked why it was not individual I was ignored. I would check the fine print and never book a tour on a Gondola. Wait until you get into Venice as there are many desperate o take you and you can negotiate a better deal

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This is a unromantic group gondola ride. We were in the boat with 4 other people so (6 people total) I couldn't sit next to my boyfriend. The singing/serenade was on 1 gondola that rowed beside 5 other boats. Pay the money for the real thing. This is a rip off.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

1. Tour started late and finished early. Basically our time got cut short. There was no explanation of why and they acted as business as usual so I think they might do this often.
2. About 5-6 people from different groups share a gondola. Our gondola got 6 people in 4 different parties. It was a lot more crowded than I thought and because I sat in the middle, there is no way for me to take photos without stranger's face in my photo.
3. the serenade guy was okay. The thing is about 5 gondola share the same guy and because we can be quite far off, at a lot of times we cannot hear the guy at all.
4. I am pregnant in my third trimester so it's quite obvious. But the staff kept on smoking right in my face. It might be an European thing but I find it extremely rude.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message