Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 604 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

arthur f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Not as romantic as the photo, but an amazing once in a lifetime experience. About 15 min on the grand canal - which is more than enough - think I-95 or I-5 ! then down some of the smaller canals for another half hour which are a delightful trip. The serenade was wonderful. The trip length was just right. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Susan L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The gondola ride was quite lovely though there were about 5 or 6 gondolas trying to travel together to share the serenade, so it was like a bit of a cattle yard at times with the boats jockeying for position and trying not to run into each other and other boats. There was absolutely no connection between the gondola ride and the dinner. You have to find your own way to the restaurant and it is some distance from the gondola stop. The restaurant and food were very nice, but there was no reason to do this as a package.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Jennifer M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A must do when in Venice, and the serenade was well worth the extra money.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Kuna-Pitsch ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The serenade was nice but truthfully, the six seat configuration was horrible for all except one couple at the end who could sit together.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Shauna H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

A tourist must do activity but... not with this group. I booked this ride and serenade for my husband and I. I was excited about being on the water and listening to the singer/musician. - They were fantastic by the way... of what I could hear of them in the distance. Our boat was the furthest from the group which made hearing the music and singing difficult. They layout of the boat did not allow for my husband and I to sit together which I knew might happen when I booked this ride. Hubby was at the front of the boat and I on the side. At the end we had asked if we could do a quick picture on the couch seating and the gondolier was appalled that we would even ask. He rudely declined our request and rushed us off the boat as quickly as possible. Beware that this is a tourist trap at its finest.. you're in and then you're out... it takes the magic out of the moment. If you are a couple you are better off just standing over a bridge to listen to the beautiful music and song and then hire a solo boat ride. One really must do a gondola ride while in Venice just not with this group.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Titalum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Gondola ride was awesome. The Serenade from the singer was moving. We hoped the ride could be longer because it was so beautiful. Of course I'll recommend!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Penny United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really enjoyed our gondola ride with viator. It was on time, I also got reminders from viator which was great. The serenade was great. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Pranav G

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

It was a good tour but there was only 1 Serenade shared between 5 boats. As our boat did not have Serenade it was difficult to hear the Serenade.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Marie D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

How can you go to Venice for the first time and not go on a Gondola Ride? It's just a MUST! The ride and serenade were very enjoyable although the 30 minutes go by quickly. Be aware that there are no tour guides to direct you once you get off the water bus so you need to find your own way. Plus, once you arrive there are several lines and no one to assist you. Afterwards, you must find the restaurant by yourself, so if you are new to the area, good luck! The food was adequate but not the quality of other restaurants in Venice. I recommend the Gondola Ride but skip the dinner after.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

law_likes_blue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the serenade. We didn't intend on booking it but it definitely added to the atmosphere! Gives you a more cultural experience. Would definitely do it again! Worth every cent.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Kathleen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour! Is a great way to start your trip in Venice. The serenade was well worth it. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Kenneth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Gondola Ride and Serenade was awesome. Great gondolier, good route, and good serenade!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Lana H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We loved the Serenade Gondola ride! We were lucky and had the singer and accordion player on our gondola! The dinner was just ok and the wine was not very good at all. Not very impressed with the place or food. I highly recommend the gondola!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Paul Alapatt India

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The Gondola Ride was fantastic, but the serenade was barely audible and in one of the 4-5 gondolas which were part of the group.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Donna T United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Venice is beautiful and a gondola ride there is special, hence the 4 stars. The gondola opetators however leave something to be desired. The gentleman at the office enclosure there who was on the short side, gray-bearded and balding, since I don't know his name, was rather rude and abrupt. Twice. Then he waves you on like cattle as to where to wait. Not a nice man. He should not be at this job. Anyway, I ignored him and went on to a lovely ride. However the younger dark-bearded gentleman who serenaded was very good but I had seen earlier another man serenading on a different gondola ride on the Grand Canal, whose voice was magnificent. So the man who serenaded us, although still good, was not great and unfortunately I had someone to compare. All in all it was lovely, but all of the gentlemen greeting people should be nicer and more welcoming and certainly not rude. And the ones who serenade should all be as good as the one I saw earlier in the day, so as to make it a really special ride.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Loved the ride and serenade! The organization before the ride was poor. We didn't even know if we were in the right place because there wasn't even a sign. People were mobbing together and cutting into line because of the lack of organization. That being said we finally got on a gondola and enjoyed the ride!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Hamilton G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We had a hard time meeting with Bruno, however once we were on the gondola and had our serenade, the tour was great and really got us in the mood of Venice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

daejah04

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We took this ride a night which was beautiful. The reflection from the water with lights of the city made it breathtaking. The serenade was beautiful. My only complaint is that I if you were in the last boat going thru the canals you could barley hear the serenade who was 5 boat in front. But nothing top the views.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Nicole G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Quite disappointed to be honest. We thought that it was a private gondola ride, it was not but the people we rode with were quite nice. So we did luck out. We did not have the serenade we booked either. He was about 4 boats behind us and we couldn't hear him. Quite the money scandal if you ask me. Don't book it unless you are guaranteed he is on your boat. Not a great first viator experience!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Adriana P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Maybe I didn't read the fine print. I thought we would have our own serenade in our gondola. Instead it was a guy and an accordion player in one gondola and 10 other gondola fallowing. Not so romantic.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jodie E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The gondola ride and serenade was really lovely. The dinner afterwards however was organised in a very poor manner and as we couldn't find the chosen restaurant and no maps or guidance was provided by anyone we got lost and ended up paying for dinner at another restaurant. When the gondolier drivers had finished they were not in the least bit interested in assisting us any further and ignored us. Really poor organising Viator!!!!!! Will be telling others never to book this trip!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Lyza

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I actually thought when i booked this tour that the serenade will be in our boat. The serenade was in one of the boats only and 5 boats had to share the singer. Had I known, it will be like this, i would just have rented a gondola there for 80eur, and the boat will be entirely yours.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

whyallameat

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Very Disappointing. Didnt expect to share one serenader to six boats. When we were all lined up together i thought were were going to have a race.........I felt it was organised unprofesssionally and the gondoliers really couldnt be bothered with us. Had seen in other boats more friendlier..

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Carl T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I would not recommend the evening serenade as it was a little chaotic and you are sharing a gondola with 4 other people so unless you are the first 2 in the gondola then you are perched on a stool in the centre. The trip begins on the grand canal which is very choppy. I think save for a gondola on your own on a calm sunny day they are all over and you can barter a good price.
Cathy and Carl Taylor UK

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Gary h

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Very disappointed. To commercialized... Serenade is done with one singer in one Gondola and you have 6-8 Gondola's who join together in a row so you can hear the man sing. Man taking tickets were rude. Ride was short and not relaxing with the gondoliers arguing with each other

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message