You may have heard people wax poetic about the hill towns of Tuscany, or perhaps the hill towns of neighboring Umbria, but the entire country of Italy is so mountainous and hilly that there are hill towns everywhere – even in the Veneto region ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I did this tour 2 years ago and could not wait to do it again with some friends. We had the same guide, Daniel who is just wonderful. If you go to Venice or are in the area make sure you go to the beautiful Hill Top towns of the Veneto region. Marostica, Bassano del Grappa, Asolo and of course the Prosecco region for some wine tasting. It is one of the best tours I have been on and I would do it again. Thank you Daniel for the second amazing experience.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great tour. Very nice surroundings, great tour guide. Nice balance of sightseeing in small, Veneto towns balanced by time spent at grappa museum and local sparkling wine wineyard. It was very relaxing tour, with lunch at local restaurant that was affordable and good. Learned much about the region, nice balance to time spend inside Venice. I would highly recommend the trip to others.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved this trip. Visiting the Veneto is an addition to learning about Venice. The trip will take you to small towns and you are able to see a part of the Veneto you otherwise will not see.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Giovanni was a great tour guide -- knowledgeable and interesting. He provided insight into both the history and culture of everywhere we visited. I really enjoyed all the places we visited as well. The Veneto region is beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

On this tour of the Veneto Hill Towns, our expectations were far exceeded. Giovanni picked us up right on time and we shared the minivan with one other couple. Our first stop was one of the walled cities, Marostica. Giovanni provided us with facts and information about each place we visited as well as the culture and food of the area. We then visited Bassano dal Grappa where we did a grappa tasting. This was my favorite city. I would love to have stayed longer. We had lunch in Ascolo at a local Osteria. I had a pumpkin pasta (homemade) which was excellent. Our next stop was Villa Barbaro where we were able to tour the Palladian villa and the grounds. Our final stop was Prosecco tasting at Valdobbiadene, the heart of the Prosecco region. It was wonderful especially because the owners of the winery knew Giovanni. We got excellent service and treatment. I would encourage anyone who wants to know more about the Veneto to take this tour and I Hope you get Giovanni as your guide. I strongly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed this tour very much. It was good to get away from hectic Venice and enjoy the beautiful countryside of Veneto. Daniel our guide was very good, gave us ample time to ourselves and was very knowledgable without very overbearing. This tour takes you to some beautiful towns.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

Susan J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Probably one of the best days of our lives. Daniel, our driver/guide was a wonderful host and the day was packed with some of the best scenery we had ever seen. Combined with an authentic Italian lunch and a visit to a Prosecco vineyard, there was little of the Veneto region that we didn't sample. Each town seemed more beautiful than the one before. A great trip!!! Not to be missed!

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Had a great experience on this tour, visiting the hill towns around Veneto, ending in a little Prosecco tasting. Our guide, Giovanni was very helpful and knowledgeable and was able to tell us some really interesting facts about the areas and give us some good local knowledge. He was a very helpful and personable guide for the day. A really well organised trip, well worth the cost and highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour to Veneto hill towns was very nice and enjoyable. Marco did an excellent job not only as a safe driver but as a guide, explaining us about the history of the area we visited. Lunch was excellent and at a reasonable price which showed our guide's good
comprehension of what turists look for.
Wine tasting was excellent and a memorable experience. I rate the tour 5 stars.
Suggestion: I am always receptable to more history teaching though we got plenty.
Thanks
Carlos

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our guide was an excellent tour guide with very adequate English, a sense of humor and excellent knowledge of the sites we visited. This trip should definitely be on your list of "things to do" while in Venice - the Veneto is beautiful and the lunch stop in Asolo provided a rare opportunity for a real "native" Italian meal. Marostica should not be missed - one of the most charming places I've ever visited.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Giovanni and Marco did a marvelous job of making the history and culture of the hill country of Veneto vividly real. Our group enjoyed the whole experience. Thanks to them and the Viator team!

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Our family was very pleased with this tour. Although we were spending only 3 days in Venice, it was worth it to leave the city for a day to experience the small hill towns of Veneto. Our guide, Giovanni, clearly knew what he was talking about and even took us to a spot in Asolo, where we ate lunch, that wasn't officially part of the tour so that we could see the amazing panoramic view of the surrounding area. The grappa and prosecco tastings were a great sampling of what the region has to offer. This was one of the best tours of our trip to Italy and certainly the highlight of our time in Venice.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Really enjoyed this tour; the small group size was much more enjoyable and laid back than being on a full tour bus. Our guide, Marco, was sweet, patient, and helpful. There were five stops, which gave a nice taste of what the Veneto area has to offer.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

my husband and i were exceptionally happy about this tour.With only a week in Italy this tour gave us incentive to return to the Veneto region in the near future .OU
ur guide Giovanni was a true gentilman with a over whelming memory of information .It was very personal like having a family member taking you on an outing for the day but in 5 star comfort .

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

What a wonderful day we had visiting the hill towns of the Veneto. We have visited Venice many times but this is the first time we have been to the hill towns. They are really lovely and their prices for food and merchandise are much lower than Venice. Our lunch at a local restaurant was excellent and included in the price of the tour. Definitely book this tour!

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

Ashley H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A wonderful way to see some lovely parts of Veneto. I like that it is a small group so you get to know your companions for the day. We moved at our own pace and had a thoroughly relaxing day.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

The day trip was excellent with a good representative sampling of the towns and villas outside of Venice. Our guide, was wonderful. We were able to learn a lot of history for that area as well as gain insights into present day life in the Veneto.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

Paul S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This day trip will get you away from the everyday hustle and bustle of Venice. Our driver / guide Marco was very informative and gave the small group an insight into the small towns of the Veneto region. I enjoyed the Grappa and Prosecco tasting very much along with a beautiful lunch. Breath-taking views at a very comfortable pace thanks Marco.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

I enjoyed the Veneto Small-Group Wine Tasting Tour. Our driver told us about the beautiful country sides we drove through to get to the vineyard. The guide, at the vineyard, was very knowledgeable on the process of the vineyard's wine process. Our group (four people) tasted seven types of wine and had cheese, meat and crackers to go along with the tasting. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Veneto Small-Group Wine Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We enjoyed our day in the Veneto Hill towns with our tour guide Daniele. He was an excellent guide and a really great driver! The towns were lovely.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We recommend a visit to the hill towns in the Veneto region. The scenery is majestic, the towns memorable and the history imparted to us by our guide Enricho most informative. There is a lot to fit into a small amount of time, but all of it is worthwhile. The visit to the Palladian Villa and bridge are worth a mention, along with the visit to the prosecco winery high in the hills. Marostica is also a most interesting place to stop.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

I enjoyed the beautiful Veneto hill towns and the grappa tasting. The towns were quaint with adorable shops. The villa was incredible. The over-the-top Renaissance murals were in almost pristine condition. Our guide was knowledgeable and courteous. The wine tasting and the lunch restaurant choice were fair.

Doing what: Best Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

My husband and I booked this tour because we were staying in Venice for four days and thought it would be nice to get out of the city for part of a day. Unfortunately, we were a little disappointed. It's not that we necessarily had a bad time on this tour; rather, based upon the tour's description, I guess we were expecting a little more for our money. Here's how the tour is described (in part) on the website:
•Half-day Veneto wine tasting small-group day trip
•Visit a historical cantina (wine cellar) and its vineyards
•Visit a local family-run vineyard
•Enjoy a wine tasting and homemade appetizers
The second and third bullets above make it sound like we would visit more than one winery, but we didn't. We drove one hour out of Venice, spent two hours at one winery, and returned to Venice (there's your "half-day" tour). The wines we tasted were very good, but I'm not sure they were good enough to justify the $110 per person cost of this tour. Also, the tour description says that we would receive "homemade appetizers". In our tour group of six people, we shared a plate of cheese, a plate of meats and some crackers. The snacks were good, but calling them "homemade appetizers" was a bit of a stretch. Our tour guide/driver was very nice, as was the guide at the winery. We also enjoyed the small size of the tour group; in fact, the four other people in our group were really nice and we enjoyed getting to know them a bit during the tour. However, if I had it to do over, I would skip this tour and just spend an afternoon wandering around Venice, stopping at a few wine bars and doing my own "wine crawl" through that beautiful city.

Doing what: Veneto Small-Group Wine Tasting Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message