You may have heard people wax poetic about the hill towns of Tuscany, or perhaps the hill towns of neighboring Umbria, but the entire country of Italy is so mountainous and hilly that there are hill towns everywhere – even in the Veneto region ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved this trip. Visiting the Veneto is an addition to learning about Venice. The trip will take you to small towns and you are able to see a part of the Veneto you otherwise will not see.

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Giovanni was a great tour guide -- knowledgeable and interesting. He provided insight into both the history and culture of everywhere we visited. I really enjoyed all the places we visited as well. The Veneto region is beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

On this tour of the Veneto Hill Towns, our expectations were far exceeded. Giovanni picked us up right on time and we shared the minivan with one other couple. Our first stop was one of the walled cities, Marostica. Giovanni provided us with facts and information about each place we visited as well as the culture and food of the area. We then visited Bassano dal Grappa where we did a grappa tasting. This was my favorite city. I would love to have stayed longer. We had lunch in Ascolo at a local Osteria. I had a pumpkin pasta (homemade) which was excellent. Our next stop was Villa Barbaro where we were able to tour the Palladian villa and the grounds. Our final stop was Prosecco tasting at Valdobbiadene, the heart of the Prosecco region. It was wonderful especially because the owners of the winery knew Giovanni. We got excellent service and treatment. I would encourage anyone who wants to know more about the Veneto to take this tour and I Hope you get Giovanni as your guide. I strongly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed this tour very much. It was good to get away from hectic Venice and enjoy the beautiful countryside of Veneto. Daniel our guide was very good, gave us ample time to ourselves and was very knowledgable without very overbearing. This tour takes you to some beautiful towns.

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

Susan J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Probably one of the best days of our lives. Daniel, our driver/guide was a wonderful host and the day was packed with some of the best scenery we had ever seen. Combined with an authentic Italian lunch and a visit to a Prosecco vineyard, there was little of the Veneto region that we didn't sample. Each town seemed more beautiful than the one before. A great trip!!! Not to be missed!

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Had a great experience on this tour, visiting the hill towns around Veneto, ending in a little Prosecco tasting. Our guide, Giovanni was very helpful and knowledgeable and was able to tell us some really interesting facts about the areas and give us some good local knowledge. He was a very helpful and personable guide for the day. A really well organised trip, well worth the cost and highly recommended.

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour to Veneto hill towns was very nice and enjoyable. Marco did an excellent job not only as a safe driver but as a guide, explaining us about the history of the area we visited. Lunch was excellent and at a reasonable price which showed our guide's good
comprehension of what turists look for.
Wine tasting was excellent and a memorable experience. I rate the tour 5 stars.
Suggestion: I am always receptable to more history teaching though we got plenty.
Thanks
Carlos

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our guide was an excellent tour guide with very adequate English, a sense of humor and excellent knowledge of the sites we visited. This trip should definitely be on your list of "things to do" while in Venice - the Veneto is beautiful and the lunch stop in Asolo provided a rare opportunity for a real "native" Italian meal. Marostica should not be missed - one of the most charming places I've ever visited.

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Giovanni and Marco did a marvelous job of making the history and culture of the hill country of Veneto vividly real. Our group enjoyed the whole experience. Thanks to them and the Viator team!

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Our family was very pleased with this tour. Although we were spending only 3 days in Venice, it was worth it to leave the city for a day to experience the small hill towns of Veneto. Our guide, Giovanni, clearly knew what he was talking about and even took us to a spot in Asolo, where we ate lunch, that wasn't officially part of the tour so that we could see the amazing panoramic view of the surrounding area. The grappa and prosecco tastings were a great sampling of what the region has to offer. This was one of the best tours of our trip to Italy and certainly the highlight of our time in Venice.

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Really enjoyed this tour; the small group size was much more enjoyable and laid back than being on a full tour bus. Our guide, Marco, was sweet, patient, and helpful. There were five stops, which gave a nice taste of what the Veneto area has to offer.

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

my husband and i were exceptionally happy about this tour.With only a week in Italy this tour gave us incentive to return to the Veneto region in the near future .OU
ur guide Giovanni was a true gentilman with a over whelming memory of information .It was very personal like having a family member taking you on an outing for the day but in 5 star comfort .

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

What a wonderful day we had visiting the hill towns of the Veneto. We have visited Venice many times but this is the first time we have been to the hill towns. They are really lovely and their prices for food and merchandise are much lower than Venice. Our lunch at a local restaurant was excellent and included in the price of the tour. Definitely book this tour!

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

Ashley H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A wonderful way to see some lovely parts of Veneto. I like that it is a small group so you get to know your companions for the day. We moved at our own pace and had a thoroughly relaxing day.

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

The day trip was excellent with a good representative sampling of the towns and villas outside of Venice. Our guide, was wonderful. We were able to learn a lot of history for that area as well as gain insights into present day life in the Veneto.

Doing what: Veneto Hill Towns Small Group Day Trip from Venice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message