While historic Venice itself is enough to make your trip worthwhile, if you have any love of wine at all you should take the opportunity to head inland for a day or so and see where those whites and reds you like to drink come from. The Veneto area ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very enjoyable. The restaurant was a little out of the way but we enjoyed seeing a new area of Venice. We tasted 4 wines, including one white, one prosecco and two reds. All glasses of wine were generous (about 100ml). The accompanying tapas were delicious and filling. We were there about 2 hours.

Doing what: Evening Wine Tasting Experience in Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a great way to start out a trip to Venice. We loved meeting new people and Iole our tour guide was wonderful. We learned a lot about the history of some of the Bacaro and got to taste some local wines and eat some interesting and some wonderful, cicchetti. After we learned about the Bacaro's we frequented them almost nightly during our stay an had a glass of wine and some cicchetti to tide us over until dinner. Highly recommend - lots of fun!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was GREAT! Meet great people and enjoyed Great wine. Enjoyed going to those old bars and hearing their story. One bar was so old it was serving customers before America was discovered. The food was delicious and the guide was a lot of fun. Went back to some of the places during our stay and ran into others that went on the tour. Our group was small (12) ranging from newlyweds to 70+ but every one had a good time. We our 60+ and will do this again when we come back in 2015.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

traveling weaver
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour with a very knowledgeable tour guide. We got to taste lots of local specialties and some very special wines. We also got to see some off the beaten path places where the locals go.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Venice tour: Cicchetti and Wine was most definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Our host guide Roberto was very lovely; informative, friendly, funny and well able to manage lots of us (increasingly getting more merry). The food and the wine along with the cute places, company and insights into Venice community was such a great thing to experience on our first night there. It was unfortunate we got ourselves lost back to our hotel, (we were given great instructions), but hey they say that you don't see the real Venice until you get lost there. I highly highly recommend this tour, along with the free walking tour. We had an awesome time.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

LOVED this evening. Sara, our guide, took us to a neighborhood where Venetians live and explained a bit about living in Venice apart from the tourist aspect. Then on to the fun. We went to 6 different 'bars' where we sampled cicchetti, or hors d'oeuvres of the kind Venetians will stop to have at the end of the day. Each of these was paired w/an appropriate local wine. The emphasis on local folks showing local customs and food at local establishments is SUCH a great idea.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fabulous and a must do for first timers - well anyone really. The guide, Elisabetta, was one of the best guides I have encountered and really made this an experience rather than a tour, just as she had promised. Her advice at the start - just one street over lets you see the Venice of the Venetians rather than the crowds - was some of the best received and it was a revelation. A wonderful introduction to Venice and the food and wine were very tasty. Grazie Elisabetta !

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour guide. We were with a really fun group. Wonderful to visit the different wine bars and try the typical local food.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Iole (Violet without the V and T) was an absolutely charming guide. You will never find the Cicchetti (Tapas) bars we visited without the help of a native of Venice. Every glass of wine was excellent and the snacks served at each stop melted in your mouth. Our group of twelve strangers bonded. By the end of the night it seemed like we had been in the company of close friends all night. The fact it was a night being celebrated by university grads only added to the unique experience. An absolute must do !!!!! *****

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing time! Lots of local history and great wine bar stops. We went back later in our trip to a couple of them for replays.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was fun! It's basically a pub crawl with wine instead of beer. We went to 5 little wine bars that held fewer than 20 people and one had been built in 1462. These bars are all off the beaten path and we likely wouldn't have found them on our own.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was awesome! Our guide, Clair, was excellent. The wine and the food were great, and the bonus was that Clair explained a lot about the culture and history of Venice along the way.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. There was only my husband and myself on it where as there is usually up to 12 people. Our tour Leader, Elisabetta Gerardi, was very knowledgeable and any questions we threw at her she was able to answer. We visited areas of interest and she told us the history. We also visited local Osterias and tried the local prosecco (delicious), wines and tapas. The trip was about 3 hours long and well worth the money.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was great fun and the appropriate thing to do on a Saturday night in Venice. Emanuella was a fantastic host and we enjoyed the Ghetto tour as well as quafing wine and cicchetti in three very interesting bacari.

Doing what: Cicchetti and Wine Tour of Venice’s Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is one of the best wine tastings we have attended. The wines were delicious and very reasonably priced. The facility was clean and decorated in vintage equipment and pictures. Will definitely be purchasing the wine in the US.

Doing what: Veneto Small-Group Wine Tasting Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message