Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Bassin de Neptune

Versailles’ chateau gardens are vast, laid out in formal French style and famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths and, notably, their ponds. Of all the lovely fountain pools gracing the Versailles gardens, the Bassin de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1019 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

isalove04

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a lovely tour. It was nice to be out and about on the segway in the Versailles Gardens.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Lennix Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing. Wish I could give 10 stars. Our guide has worked at Versailles for 30 years. She was knowledgable, entertaining and extremely passionate about her subject matter.
The highlights of this tour were getting into the hall of mirrors while it was still empty and touring the private quarters and he chapel, where the general public are not allowed. After the tour of the Palace, we were given 3 hours to lunch and view the gardens. This is the only way to see Versailles. PS. Do the morning tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

maureenprice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was fantastic. Very informative and friendly. Patient with my children who were on a Segway for the first time. We learned so much about the palace and gardens. Don't miss Marie Antoinette's Hamlet! A must see. The whole family agreed that this was the highlight of our trip to Paris.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Hector G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour guide, very knowledgable. Glad we booked it.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Scott A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Pauline was wonderful! We were the only ones in the group so we pretty much had a private tour. Great day, beautiful grounds!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Chonglun F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Musical Fountains Show was great!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Christine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Ann Sophie did a great job getting us through the crowds and she was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Diane C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Clothilde, was fabulous, both knowledgeable and entertaining. Taking the tour later in the day allowed for a less crowded, more enjoyable experience. Highly recommend this for a first-time visitor.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Elaine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took a cab to meet the bus at Palace de Concorde per the instructions. The guide was delightful and had interesting commentary on the way to and from Versailles. Loved the coffee and croissant and loved the small group approach and the extra rooms we saw. We were a group of 4 and decided to take the golf cart in the gardens and were delighted with that too. Altogether, very nice.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

donnard_sturgis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful way to see Versailles. The lines were extremely long, and fortunately we bypassed those. Learning the history that went along with viewing the private quarters is well worth the price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

ROB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

So we heard all of these horror stories about the lines, the queues, being hours long. Here is a valuable tip that we found accidentally. Go to Versailles during off season, like early to mid-March prior to Easter, do a half day tour in the afternoon, and go in the early part of the week. There was absolutely no line!! We walked up, picked up our headsets, and made our way through Versailles, and the gardens, within a 3 hour window of time. Amazing. You will run into some groups It seemed like the time of year Asian tours were flourishing, but it was the best experience. This goes for the catacombs in Paris as well. Granted, for you warm weather travelers, this time of year might not be for you, but it is the best time to see Versailles Palace. Don't expect a lot in the gardens, as the trees are not in bloom yet, but you can still appreciate the acres they occupy, and the statues are beautiful.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Rupa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent overall experience. Great minivan to transport us to Versaille. Both tour guides were very knowledgeable, Nicola and ???

Great to see the main highlights of a very large palace.

Definitely worth the price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Russ H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Using the segway was a lot of fun, and our tour guide, Julian was fantastic!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Kari A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour of Versailles grounds. Our guide, Cyril, was able to explain so much about the history and background of what we were seeing. The Segways were such fun, a quick lesson from Cyril and we were off! My son thanked me multiple times for setting this up, and I am sure this would be at the top of our list to repeat when we go back. Great family outing, highly recommend!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

raymond s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

very nice,,,,,on a early Sunday morning....missed the crowds

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Brett G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The 1.5hr tour is a brisk pace, but you cover a lot and you learn a lot. Our guide Sophie was energetic, very informative, and tended to us like we were her flock: very enjoyable. And Versailles is very worth seeing, and is a fun 30 minute Metro/RER ride from Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip was well worth the cost, especially when time is an issue. We were driven from an easy place to meet in Paris in a small group. The description was spot on as far as the whole experience. We were escorted past the line to a back door and met our private guide. He was a wealth of knowledge and information! We walked into areas of the palace that were not open to others and hardly saw a crowd. It was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Lucinda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The small group is the only way to tour Versailles. Our guide was knowledgeable and full of energy. Once at the palace a local guide joined us and added immensely to the history behind Versailles. We were able to tour the private quarters of the king and queen - a perk not available to other visitors. Excellent value!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Michelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The line skipping and access to the private chambers made the outing seamless. Also it was a beautiful day outside and we still had time to explore the gardens. Our guide on the bus en route to Versailles was very informative and the tour guide in the palace had a true love of his subjects and all things Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Edgar K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great tour. Fun with segways. good guide - with funny questions.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Sandra T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the highlight of the trip! Our guide was wonderful, engaging and informative. She really brought the palace to life. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in seeing Versailles. It was spendy but worth it. We actually got in before the general public. I have photos of the Hall of Mirrors with only 2 people in it. 30 minutes later you couldn't see anything but people. We saw wonderful things. Go on this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour. The tour guide Sophie was wonderful. She was energetic, informative and brought the history to life for us. We were so pleased with this tour and highly recommend her.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message