Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Bassin de Neptune

Versailles’ chateau gardens are vast, laid out in formal French style and famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths and, notably, their ponds. Of all the lovely fountain pools gracing the Versailles gardens, the Bassin de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 997 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kari A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour of Versailles grounds. Our guide, Cyril, was able to explain so much about the history and background of what we were seeing. The Segways were such fun, a quick lesson from Cyril and we were off! My son thanked me multiple times for setting this up, and I am sure this would be at the top of our list to repeat when we go back. Great family outing, highly recommend!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

raymond s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

very nice,,,,,on a early Sunday morning....missed the crowds

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Brett G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The 1.5hr tour is a brisk pace, but you cover a lot and you learn a lot. Our guide Sophie was energetic, very informative, and tended to us like we were her flock: very enjoyable. And Versailles is very worth seeing, and is a fun 30 minute Metro/RER ride from Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip was well worth the cost, especially when time is an issue. We were driven from an easy place to meet in Paris in a small group. The description was spot on as far as the whole experience. We were escorted past the line to a back door and met our private guide. He was a wealth of knowledge and information! We walked into areas of the palace that were not open to others and hardly saw a crowd. It was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Lucinda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The small group is the only way to tour Versailles. Our guide was knowledgeable and full of energy. Once at the palace a local guide joined us and added immensely to the history behind Versailles. We were able to tour the private quarters of the king and queen - a perk not available to other visitors. Excellent value!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Michelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The line skipping and access to the private chambers made the outing seamless. Also it was a beautiful day outside and we still had time to explore the gardens. Our guide on the bus en route to Versailles was very informative and the tour guide in the palace had a true love of his subjects and all things Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Edgar K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great tour. Fun with segways. good guide - with funny questions.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Sandra T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the highlight of the trip! Our guide was wonderful, engaging and informative. She really brought the palace to life. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in seeing Versailles. It was spendy but worth it. We actually got in before the general public. I have photos of the Hall of Mirrors with only 2 people in it. 30 minutes later you couldn't see anything but people. We saw wonderful things. Go on this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour. The tour guide Sophie was wonderful. She was energetic, informative and brought the history to life for us. We were so pleased with this tour and highly recommend her.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

James P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Was a wonderful Experience. The guides very good. My only complaint was directions for the pickup. They gave an address with no business name and pickup time was in the dark. The van did not have a Viator sign as stated. When you have spent a lot of money and you.are not familiar with the area and are afraid you may not be in the right spot-that is not a good feeling. It worked out ok, but more specifics on the pickup spot would have prevented a lot of worries.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Robert V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an incredible tour. The tour giude was extremely knowledgable and informative. A must see!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful day at Versailles! Especially liked the behind-the-scenes aspect and the smallness of the tour. Great guide!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding, the guide was brilliant, the Palace amazing, well organised on time loved the day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Frances M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really good fun and a great way to see a larger area such as the gardens at Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Erica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

So first things first, a full day walking tour is a great way to see so much of the Chateau, the Petit and Grand Trianon, as well as the gardens, but be prepared to be sore the next day this from someone who has done a few half marathons. It is a lot of walking. Pauline did an excellent job with our small group tour spend the extra cash and get the small group. We were able to ask questions, she was very informative and funny. Loved the experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Augusta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

this tour is expensive and we thought carefully about going or not. Our group of four loved it. i have been to Versailles before but this was a completely new experience. Seeing behind the scenes gave you a much better idea of what life was really like. The guide both on the bus and at Versailles were terrific. It's a great tour and definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Ray Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you visit versailles you must do this tour not only to see more of the Palace you also skip the 2-3 hour waiting line to get in. For 2 hours you are only in a very small party giving you a very tour which enhances your experience of the 15th century life. The crowds are huge.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Elizabeth I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We thought of just catching the train up to Versaille, decided to join this tour. Wow! Highly recommend this tour! Our guide on the bus was an English lady who is so passionate about the history, so she provided a lot of information on the way to Versaille, which was a bonus! We stopped for tea and croissant, before bypassing the very long line to enter into the palace. It was a special feeling to stand in the hall of mirrors, almost alone as a group. We went back in there after the tour and realised our fortune to experience the Hall without the crowds. We felt like VIPs with the crowds gazing at us actually standing in the rooms and accessing the rooms closed to the public. We met a lovely couple on the tour, with whom we decided to lunch in Angelinas then hired a buggy to drive around the gardens which was the best idea, as we arrived in time to watch the fountain show! We wished we had more time as missed getting to Marie Antoinettes estate. Loved this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great walking tour! Our guide was once again a great teacher of not only Versailles, but French history and brought us along a 'journey' in her story telling behind the palace as well as the key players.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Sonya M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour - Our guides both our escort and the Palace guide were extremely well informed and interested. Immediate access to the Palace avoiding all queue with access to areas that the general public could not go into. Well worth the extra money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

skclaudi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a great tour. We stopped for a hot chocolate and croissant before the tour. Then we literally bypassed the very long line to enter into the palace. While in the hall of mirrors, we were basically alone as a group which gave us time to truly appreciate the shear beauty and grander. I would highly recommend this tour. It's worth the price. The extra rooms and history are fascinating. I can't say enough about how wonderful this tour was.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

dheaberlin United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was tremendous!! We have been to Versailles before but have never seen the King's Chambers. The private tour of the King's Bed Chambers, the Opera House and the Chapel were the best. When they say private they mean private. Our group of about 16 or so was virtually alone for much of the tour. We were alone in the Hall of Mirrors by ourselves for quite awhile before the throngs arrived. The tour included coffee and a croissant as we arrived early to begin our tour. Versailles has been and is in the process of being renovated...boy what a change with all the gold gilding glittering in the sun light. We also got to see some of the fountains in action but were somewhat disappointed in that they started turning them on at 11:00 AM and they were all off by1:00 PM. We thought that all the fountains would be operational for 2 FULL hours. The guide was good except his microphone wasn't functioning properly so he was often difficult to hear.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message