Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Bassin de Neptune

Versailles’ chateau gardens are vast, laid out in formal French style and famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths and, notably, their ponds. Of all the lovely fountain pools gracing the Versailles gardens, the Bassin de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1084 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marlene K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow!!! Loved it. What a great day in the gardens. All the fountains were spectacular but the Mirror one was the best. Would do it again.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Katherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We met across from the train station and were able to walk right into the door after security which was nice considering it was raining! We were handed our audio guide and were on our way. skipping the line meant more time in the garden. If you do not take this tour, you need to enter and pay separately for the palace and the gardens.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Versailles Pass

Kazza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour of palace and gardens in just the right amount of time. Spent a little longer afterwards wandering through the gardens. Unfortunately Paris had a strike on the Tuesday we had booked to come and see the fountains working. We received the email too late and had travelled out to Versaille but Guidatours were very accomodating and were able to book us in for the following day. They also offered us both free Louvre tickets to compensate.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Nicholas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Staff were nice, audio guides worked well and we got straight through into the Palace in a matter of minutes. Meeting point was the station, so whichever time you book you enter the palace 30 minutes later

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Versailles Pass

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great, because the tour guide, Isabella, was charming and very knowledgable, bringing the history of the palace to life for everyone.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Donald A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Sean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nothing like skipping a MASSIVE line! This was a great way to get into Versailles without any worries. This comes with an audio tour that does a very good job of immersing you in the history of the chateau, but it ultimately left me wanting more information about the extensive gardens and surrounding areas. Still, it's a great, cost-effective way to dive in!

Doing what: Skip-the-line Special Versailles Chateau Tour

Kathleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would not have gotten so much out of the tour without Alexandra. The history she provided enhanced the experience

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Versailles and after seeing the throngs of people waiting in line and moving through the palace bumper to bumper, we knew that booking the tour had been a smart decision. After traveling from Paris on a small van, we were treated to a cup of coffee and very good croissants in a small cafe right beside the palace. We took the 8:00 AM tour and our guide was able to quickly take us to the Hall of Mirrors before it became swamped by other visitors. We also had access to a number of rooms that non-guided visitors were unable to visit. The guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job providing insight into life in the palace when Louis XIV lived there. The guided tour lasted about 2 hours I think and then we were free to visit other areas. We chose to go to the gardens and visit Marie-Antoinette's estate, access to which was included with our tour ticket. We walked there which took about 30 minutes and provided a good view of the area, however, we gratefully took the little train back to the palace afterwards for 4 euros each. It would have been nice to have a guided tour of Marie-Antoinette's estate as well but we enjoyed it nonetheless. Pickup at the Paris area was at 8:00 AM and we arrived back at 3:15 PM.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Naomi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip The Line entrance to Versailles

david.holloway1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Incredible! It was well worth the money. The convenience of being picked up at my hotel, a full-day tour, lunch, and access to areas not usually open was beyond compare . Plus, the fact that a general strike was in effect and no one was there was great! The guide's knowledge of Versailles, history and art history increased the pleasure. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Versailles Full Day Private Guided Tour with Hotel Pickup

Jaimi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you don't skip the line at Versailles, you'll end up waiting hours in the heat with no place to sit. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Special Versailles Chateau Tour

Rick F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was great. Just enough time and very informative

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

With a garden of this size, this is one of the few ways to see as much as possible in 2 hours. To effortlessly glide along the long Boulevards was a true delight.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see the palace. 2 hour tour with a guide and behind the scenes rooms. Not having to wait in line and getting a van to take you and pick you up was awesome.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Lacey E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful and knowledgable tour guide. Beautiful gardens!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was extremely nice and fun to have the tour with in all aspects. He was informative, helpful, friendly and made the segway tour so worth it. This tour is a must.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

MCP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is the only way to visit Versailles. There was a problem with the bus so our start was delayed, and the more public parts of the palace were very crowded. The access to the private areas more than made up for this. The guide on the bus was very engaging and helped set the scene on the trip to Versailles with lots of background facts and stories to put what we were going to see in perspective. The guide in Versaille provided detailed information about each of the rooms we went to. We also did a walk through the gardens, with some of the fountains working - we would stronly encourage other visitors to do the same. Overall, a great day out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Shannon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

skipping the line is the only way to go to Versailles.. the tour price is high, but when you see the line on a gloomy, rainy day that is hundreds of people long you'd gladly pay for your ticket again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Virginia J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I purchased my Skip-the Line Versailles Pass from home, a Chicago suburb, and though I have I've been to Versailles a number of times in my life...I was SO HAPPY to have made this decision! I was kindly escorted by Louise to an entrance that never would have been available to me...and I had an amazing Audio Pen...I've never seen one...which allowed me to have a self-guided tour, at my own pace. I'm not a big guided tour person...so I was happy...but I'm sure that this company---when you're right there---is great for the guided tour as well. Very grateful!Ginger Johnson, West Chicago, Illinois p.s. Don't forget to ask this company exactly what your ticket includes...because it includes A LOT! Also, spend the additional 7 euros and buy a Petit Train pass so that you don't have to walk the entire estate. It is beautiful...but immense!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Versailles Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message