Versailles’ chateau gardens are vast, laid out in formal French style and famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths and, notably, their ponds. Of all the lovely fountain pools gracing the Versailles gardens, the Bassin de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 436 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was very informative. She was happy to answer questions about Versailles or Paris in general. She was very entertaining. A great tour all round. Versailles is absolutely stunning, definitely not to be missed on a trip to Paris

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our 'skip the line' tour of Versailles Palace and Gardens was simply superb. In our party of 4, three had never been there before and were blown away by the whole experience. Our tour guide, Sophie, was sensational, opening up a side of the Palace we all found fascinating to learn about. We also appreciated that the Palace deserved a full day tour. A half day would never have done it justice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pauline was fantastic, she was extremely knowledgeable , quite hilarious at times. She included everyone in the tour in an individual way with the things we were viewing. There is a fair bit of walking, but well worth the time and effort. Pauline clearly is superlative guide, her humour and knowledge set her apart.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My daughter and I had a wonderful tour of Versailles with our knowledgeable, humorous and dedicated guide Paula (Paulina?). She was spirited and filled with back history and behind the door insights into life at Versailles during the period the palace was lived in by the royal families that made it all relevant to the building and grounds. It was a nine mile trek in all (Fitbit) so be sure to wear comfortable shoes...it is worth the exercise.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had been to Versailles before but had never visited gardens. The tour guide was excellent and extremely knowledgeable. Our tour was a small group of four and the only way to go! The guide was able to address our specific and individualized questions, therefore, being able to go into great depth when the occasion occurred.
Have good walking shoes and bring along an extra camera battery. You’ll need both! We walked for about six hours and literally covered the entire grounds. Exploring the grounds was an incredible adventure! Marie Antoinette’s Estate was the ” Cerise sur le gateau”

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had the best guide, who gave us a unique, enjoyable and most informative tour, on what was a busy and challenging day. Her knowledge of the gardens and history of the Palace was extensive and she ensured that our whole group had time to appreciate the main features as well as many smaller lesser known facts. A great value tour, especially the "skip the line" element.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As a family we enjoyed the full day at Versailles. Our guide Clare was fantastic and gave us plenty of anecdotes about the Royals who lived there. It was a great extra touch when Clare provided bread for the kids to feed the ducks and fish in Marie Antoinette's garden.It was a very small tour group of our 5 plus two which made it very relaxed to do the whole day. We did it on a Sunday and the fountain display was fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had such a wonderful time on our full day tour of Versailles! Our guide was fantastic, engaging and took the time to answer all questions. Our morning tour had 12 people, but most had signed up for the morning only and the entire afternoon was only six people, it was wonderful! This tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Tip: Wear comfortable shoes/ sneakers. There is a LOT of walking!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was so engaging; she really made history come to life.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very small group; our guide, Pauline, was very friendly and she shared lots of interesting information. It was great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Pauline, was a real character and made the history of the Kings and the Palace very entertaining. We enjoyed our tour a lot and later the fountains and gardens were beautiful and really worth seeing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and her english was excellent. She had a very entertaining way of presenting the fascinating history of Versailles and the French kings in all of their glory, including the not-so-well-known quirky side of many of them. I would not go on a Tuesday again. We knew it would be busy, but it was the only day we had available. (Versailles is closed on Monday and the Louvre is closed on Tuesday so everyone heads to Versailles on Tuesdays.) The gardens are obviously large enough that there is plenty of space to spread out, but the chateau was absolutely packed with people almost to the point of not being able to move through some areas. But I'm glad we went and we would go again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

So nice not to have to wait in line!
Our guide was so knowledgable and informative. She answered all questions without hesitation.
The only problematic situation was a lack of signage to the meeting point for the tour. It would have been helpful to have someone at the front gate with a sign directing us to where we meet our guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The skip the line aspect of the tour was huge at Versailles. It is so crowded and waiting in the line to get in would be extremely frustrating. The audio guide was the way to go. It was simple and easy to hear.
The Court of Scents tour was a great way to end the day. It was a short tour and the Guide was outstanding giving us some interesting facts on Perfume and the Revolution. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Palace of Versailles and Court of Scents Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message