The pink-colonnaded Grand Trianon was built in 1687 by the famous architect Mansart, as a tranquil getaway from court life for Louis XIV. Setting the benchmark for Italianate garden conservatory design, the elegantly long and low palace of pink ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1343 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

foscyn
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Again a great way to see this and to be picked up n dropped off is a great idea
Once again a very good guide Michele who took time to explain
The lunch was a bit of a shame the steak was tough n chewy however the wine made the difference

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great day biking around Versailles with our guide Drew. The logistics were easy and made the day enjoyable since there was no stress. Drew made sure everyone was comfortable and having a great time throughout the whole course of the day. The only thing Drew couldnt do was change the weather, which was an overcast 45 degrees on the day of our tour. Despite being a Floridian and feeling like a frozen snowman the entire day, we had a great time. It was really fun going to the market and picking up items for our lunch by the Grand Canal. Drew gave us a good overview of the period of history around Versailles so when we went into the palace we already had a good understanding of what we were seeing, which was helpful since the audio guide wasnt very good.
If one thing could be improved it would be bringing the guide inside for a tour instead of using the audio guide. Other than that we had a great day and would recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in mixing up a normal day at the museum.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The bicycle tour was the best way to see Versailles. We stopped at the market for provisions for our picnic and then proceeded through the grounds, palaces, and around the canals if Versailles. We stopped at Marie Antoinettes Hamlein and also at the palaces of the mistresses.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was wonderful. It was insightful without getting laden down with an abundance of facts. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, courteous, accommodating and prompt. The lunch was relaxing and delicious. Very convenient pick up and drop off. Highly recommend this our for any on wishing to spend a day at Versailles.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour was a private tour due to low season winter but our guide was A++ and took us on plenty of extras throughout the day - he made the day!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide Isabell was very knowledgeable and the trip was efficient and well run. They picked us up right at our apartment at Place de BASTILLE, and dropped us there as well. The included lunch was good

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was a bit of a splurge for our family...but well worth it. Our guide was kind and knowledgeable. She picked us up from our hotel and dropped us off at night. She gave us a full tour of the premises (the main palace and trianon and included the farm animals as well to delight the children. The lunch was great. No complaints at all.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I was picked up on schedule as arranged with the office. The day was well paced and the continuing commentary was both interesting and professionally presented. Michelle was wonderful - respectful and professional.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great way to see Versailles and learn its history. Our guide Vincent was an excellent storyteller. It was a small group so we were all able to ask questions. Skipping those long lines (even in the winter) was a definite plus.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Isabella was a wonderful tour guide for this particular tour, and was able to give us wonderful and fun facts about the Royal family, and the palace itself. She went into great detail about the design, interior and the palace furnishings, which was incredibly insightful. She was also able to keep us entertained driving through Parisian traffic to Versailles. They are true to their word with small groups - there were only 5 people in my group!

I was picked up from the place I was staying at with no problems in the morning, and it didn't take long to pick up the other guests and head to Versailles. The palace is a wonderful place, and you can really take in the extent of the opulence and wealth of the upper class and nobility. In the tour you are able to view the royal apartments, the gardens (which are beautiful even in winter), Marie Antoinette's chateau, the chapel where Marie Antoinette and King Louis were married, the hall of mirrors (which is stunning), and other small rooms. Isabella gave detailed descriptions and information about each place we visited throughout the tour.

Lunch was average, but delicious - salad for starters, salmon or beef for main, and a fruit tart for dessert. You also do get a complementary glass of wine. I was able to get to know the rest of my group during the lunch, which is always an added plus for these guided tours.

I would definitely recommend a visit to Versailles -- it is a must see if you are planning on a visit to Paris! If you end up getting Isabella as a guide, you're in for a real treat!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The content and execution of this tour was perfect but it was the guide, Lucille, who balanced historical narrative with wit and humour to produce an exceptional tour. Lucille's engaging delivery and astonishing insight into Versailles was appreciated by all members of the family but it was her anecdotes and witty tales that won the day.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We decided to do a tour with a more personal touch and we were very happy with the tour and our guide Michelle. So at first glance this tour might seem expensive but you are paying for a dedicated and knowledgable guide and driver for the day. Having the minivan for the day also means we got around to see a lot of the park, we would never have been able to do this on foot as day visitors. We were very happy with the day and feel that we gained a lot of new knowledge about French history.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message