The pink-colonnaded Grand Trianon was built in 1687 by the famous architect Mansart, as a tranquil getaway from court life for Louis XIV. Setting the benchmark for Italianate garden conservatory design, the elegantly long and low palace of pink ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1329 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Isabella was a wonderful tour guide for this particular tour, and was able to give us wonderful and fun facts about the Royal family, and the palace itself. She went into great detail about the design, interior and the palace furnishings, which was incredibly insightful. She was also able to keep us entertained driving through Parisian traffic to Versailles. They are true to their word with small groups - there were only 5 people in my group!

I was picked up from the place I was staying at with no problems in the morning, and it didn't take long to pick up the other guests and head to Versailles. The palace is a wonderful place, and you can really take in the extent of the opulence and wealth of the upper class and nobility. In the tour you are able to view the royal apartments, the gardens (which are beautiful even in winter), Marie Antoinette's chateau, the chapel where Marie Antoinette and King Louis were married, the hall of mirrors (which is stunning), and other small rooms. Isabella gave detailed descriptions and information about each place we visited throughout the tour.

Lunch was average, but delicious - salad for starters, salmon or beef for main, and a fruit tart for dessert. You also do get a complementary glass of wine. I was able to get to know the rest of my group during the lunch, which is always an added plus for these guided tours.

I would definitely recommend a visit to Versailles -- it is a must see if you are planning on a visit to Paris! If you end up getting Isabella as a guide, you're in for a real treat!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The content and execution of this tour was perfect but it was the guide, Lucille, who balanced historical narrative with wit and humour to produce an exceptional tour. Lucille's engaging delivery and astonishing insight into Versailles was appreciated by all members of the family but it was her anecdotes and witty tales that won the day.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We decided to do a tour with a more personal touch and we were very happy with the tour and our guide Michelle. So at first glance this tour might seem expensive but you are paying for a dedicated and knowledgable guide and driver for the day. Having the minivan for the day also means we got around to see a lot of the park, we would never have been able to do this on foot as day visitors. We were very happy with the day and feel that we gained a lot of new knowledge about French history.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour operator was very good. His knowledge of French history excellent and English was perfect (American). He presented the information in a way that really got you into the story. This is a must for anyone going to Paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a wonderful day. Vincent our Guide was punctual, informative and a pleasure to deal with. The tour was excellent and I am so pleased we didn't have to wait in the ques Lunch as perfect, with great food and a truly French atmosphere. All in all a great day and a fantastic way to see the Palace. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very, very good. Well paced mix of transport, food shopping and the jawdroppingly beautiful Versailles. Top day out!!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved this tour and can't imagine doing Versailles any other way. The guide was very relaxed but professional and was a joy to spend the day with. The market and lunch was a highlight!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our first day in Paris and a terrific beginning to our holiday. Our guide Nabila spoke very good English and was a bottomless pit of interesting information. The small group was definitely the best way to see the Palace.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A brilliant tour. Our guide picked us up at our hotel and was a fount of information as she drove expertly through the streets of Paris to pick the other participants up. Our guide led us expertly through a still crowded Versaille Palace. We were treated to a lovely lunch and had time to get to know the other members of our tour. The visit to La Grande Trianon was very interesting and the visit to La Petite Trianon was a dream come true. Being able to walk through Marie Antoinette's little farm and garden was the best garden experience we had in Paris. All in all this was a lovely day with a great guide. I recommend this to anyone wanting to experience Versaille and Paris with a lovely Parisiennne.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

By far, my most fun day in Paris!
Our "Wolf Pack" leader, Anna, was knowledgable and fantastic. Owoooo!
Market shopping and picnic by the grand canal was a great experience. The amount of riding (approximate 10 miles)was manageable and lot of fun. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

While Versailles is crowded and we spent most of our time in buildings (the gardens are amazing!), this was a very worthwhile trip. Our guide was excellent!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Stunning! Our guide Dan was excellent - informative and entertaining at the same time. And we saw so much more of Versailles and it's grounds on a bicycle...picnic by the water with a view of the palace a highlight! An experience to be repeated when next in Paris

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

To be fair in my review, I have to separate the tour from the tour guide. First, our guide. We had Rosa, and I don't think we could have had a better tour guide. She picked us up at our hotel and deftly navigated the crowded and chaotic Paris streets to get us to the palace. She was incredibly knowledgeable, kind and smart. She shared a lot of great knowledge about the different rooms, architecture and former occupants of the palaces. Her timing at each of the events was great, always keeping us moving, but not too fast. We made several short stops for bathroom breaks and gift shops. Long enough to satisfy my wife, but not so long to irritating to me. Rosa moved the van several times to keep our walks as short as possible.

The palace itself is quite amazing. There were several paintings inside that didn't really excite me, but I am sure an art lover would really enjoy them. The tour actually goes to three buildings, perhaps this should have been clear to me, but I am a clueless American - that's why I took a guided tour. Each building was successively less grand, yet I seemed to enjoy each one more than the first. Because we went in November, the fountains were off and statues in the courtyard were covered. This was a little disappointing, but understandable. The tradeoff is we didn't bake under a hot sun, and I suppose their were few visitors to contend with. The lunch was at a great setting, though the food was only good, not great. We had 2 selections, salmon or steak. I got the steak and my wife the salmon. I think we were equally satisfied with our meals. Also included was a salad and a desert and drinks.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message