The pink-colonnaded Grand Trianon was built in 1687 by the famous architect Mansart, as a tranquil getaway from court life for Louis XIV. Setting the benchmark for Italianate garden conservatory design, the elegantly long and low palace of pink ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1832 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lauren G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day touring Versailles with a fantastic tour guide Nate! Taking a bike was definitely the way to go... we got to see so much more of the grounds and eat lunch from a much better vantage point across the Grand Canal with a direct view of the Palace. The time at the market in the town was really cool too. We learned so much! It was a long day with a fair amount of biking and a lot of walking including the palace tour, so I would recommend this to anyone that is able to handle light-to-moderate exercise. Super fun!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Nabila was fantastic! She was knowledgable, enthusiastic and just full of energy. This was one place I had been waiting a long time to see and I was extremely happy with the tour of Versailles and the information we received about the history of the people and the place. Our lunch at La Flottilles was excellent! and our visit to the Petit Trianon was another highlight. Nabila made this a day to remember and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

carrie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was awesome! Our guide, Unite, was terrific. After meeting at the tour office, we rode the metro to where the bikesthey have baskets were staged then bicycled to the farmer's market to buy picnic supplies. This market is great! It has foods, wine, flowers, crepes, chocolate,coffee and more. Then we rode to Versailles and saw some of the grounds,gardens, village and homes. After a nice lunch along the grand canal, we rode a little more then saw the palace on our ownticket included in the price of tour. After seeing the palace, you can get a snack or coffee in the cafe before leaving. Unite did a great job explaining what we were seeing and giving us some history lessons. I had a lot of fun on this tour! I would recommend this tour instead of just seeing the palace because you see and do so much more.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Servaise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day with tour guide Luca. Well planned and led. Information given just right amount. Cycling and picnicking at the lake unforgettable. Our family with children aged 18 and 10 all thought this was one of the best days we have had.
Cycling not difficult.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Rgoodrich8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, great lunch and visiting the small palace and gardens of Marie's hideout was certainly the highlight of the trip.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Devon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely beautiful tour of the grounds - wouldn and #39;t have seen most of that beauty that day if we wouldn and #39;t have done the biking tour.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

RUTH W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! The guide, Unity, did a fantastic job. Keeping 20 people together on bikes on the city streets was a challenge. She kept us all together and always a watchful eye to make sure the stragglers were safe. Great information given and loved the market place.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Ellen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, fantastic guide. Small group tour made it easy to interact with the guide and other people on the tour. The tour itself was very interesting and gave time to further explore parts of the gardens and buildings. Delicious lunch in very pleasant surroundings.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Kristen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The best part of our trip was this day tour. Our Guide was fabulous we all felt like we were in the Sound of Music the scenery was that wonderful and beautiful...and the market where we bought our lunch in Versailles was Fabulous, we bought the most wonderful pate's and cheese, baguette and croissants and the absolute Sweetest raspberries any of us have ever eaten. They grow differently up there! FABULOUS.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

JOHN J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was absolutely outstanding! A very pleasant young lady with a huge knowledge of the Palace and its environs. We had a brilliant day with her on this tour, and we can highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

THERESA K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

REALLY ENJOYED THIS. GUIDE WAS VERY KNOWLEDGABLE. HAD SOME FREE TIME TO WALK AROUND AND RELAX. LUNCH WAS AWESOME. ITS WORTH THE TRIP TO SEE MARIE ANTOINETTE PALACE AND HAMLET.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

florawhites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fantastic day at the Palace of Versailles! Everything was perfect from our guide to the lunch to the others in our tour!
Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Hannah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can't imagine what I missed out on had I not gone on this tour. There is no way you could have seen these grounds and understood all of the magnificence that is Versailles. Our favorite part besides riding the bikes was the picnic over looking the canals. This was the best part of our European travels.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Karen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was great!!! He made sure that everyone of us had a great time. He had so much knowledge of the the French history. We loved the tour of the palace, gardens and the great lunch.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our favorite thing we did in Paris. The market in Versailles was incredible and picnic lunch was best food of trip. Declan, our guide, was amazing!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you really want to dig into Versailles, this is a good way to go. There were only four of us on this tour - two couples - so we had what amounted to a nearly private tour! The guide was very knowledgeable and able to answer all our questions she gave us as much time as we wanted to linger in the rooms. The tour includes ample time to stroll the gardens before a delightful lunch in one of the Grand Canal restaurants. But you're not done ... after lunch we took a quick look at the Grand Trianon then moved on to a thorough inspection of the Petit Trianon - a site I was not familiar with but one which gives a fascinating glimpse into the private life of Marie Antoinette. We really enjoyed this unexpected addition! The easy pick up and drop off at our hotel eliminated all stress ... a day well spent.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

picktonhoney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was very informative. Small group of 6 people. Amazing place. Highly recommended especially if you can manage to go on a day that the fountains are operating. Lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Joan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Roseanne was a very personable and knowledgeable tour director. She was very considerate of our needs and made the tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Kevin Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Of course, any trip to Paris would be incomplete without a visit to Versailles. Amazing place! Viator made it easy and enjoyable.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was Nabila and she was outstanding! Versailles was so over the top amazing, it is hard to imagine living at that location and during the time period of Marie Antoinette. What a great experience and a wonderful day. Having a skilled guide made all of the difference in the world. Knowledgeable, passionate, fun, and a great story teller, she really helped make a magical place even more special. Thanks Nabila!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message