The pink-colonnaded Grand Trianon was built in 1687 by the famous architect Mansart, as a tranquil getaway from court life for Louis XIV. Setting the benchmark for Italianate garden conservatory design, the elegantly long and low palace of pink ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1783 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sherratt_susan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day touring with our guide Nathalie. There were only 6 on the tour so it was much more personal and the full day enabled us to see so much more. A wondefful day out and highly recommended.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

ANA MARIA E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great way to get to cover the whole Versailles Palace and Gardens.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

owen b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guide was very nice, Rosenna taught us a lot about the history of Versailles. Good pace, included lunch was OK. While we were visiting sights on our own, she would go back and drive the minibus to meet us at the exits, rather than having to walk back again.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Chris Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Thank you Michelle, we had a wonderful day with you. Versailles is beautiful and our lunch was very nice.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

kathleen s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Such an awesome day!!! It is a trip that puts the whole of Versaille in perspective. The route was charming and not so difficult for a gal who hasn't ridden a bike in years! Our guide Nathan was fun and knowledgeable. The Hameau was fabulous and a spot you wouldn't see as a walk on tourist to the Chateau. The picnic lunch was brilliant and the goodies in the market and boulangerie made the day. As always the splendour of the interiors is overwhelming. It was a full day but so well worth it.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Thana T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful day with our guide, Natasha. She was knowledgeable, warm and so patient.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Bing Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Believe the hype! This is the best way to experience Versailles!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Catherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Super lunch, plus tour of the palaces were great. havae a fabulous time.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Alan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Super tour with an excellent guide Alan who kept us entertained all day

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Shannon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our favorite day in our week long trip to France! We had so much fun going to the market, biking through the gardens, picnicking along the water and learning about the history of Versailles. Our guide was great and everything was managed so well. I highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting Paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Evelyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our hotel pick up was right on time in a spotless minivan. Our driver and guide Michelle was just fantastic.
We spent the day getting overwhelmed with her information, liveliness and friendliness. And of course with the Versailles Palace. We had a wonderful lunch, and saw more than expected. Would recommend this tour anytime. We will use this service again on our next visit. Thanks, Michelle!!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Louise R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My son and I really enjoyed this bike tour! Tommy, our french guide was great! Getting an hour to shop around the Versailles market for picnic food was fantastic. It was a lot of fun seeing the gardens and Tommy was very knowledgeable with the history of the palace and the past french royalty. It was one of our favorite days!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Lori P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

best way to get around the gardens of Versailles. one of my favorite parts of my trip to Paris. the bike tour guide was really great. his explanation of the history was told like a story and kept me interested.
the picnic lunch just topped it off. thanks for a great tour

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

davidcoath

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an excellent tour and includes everything you need for a great day out - including lunch !
We were picked up at our hotel on time and driven via 2 other hotels to pick up other guests. We then drove to Versailles and had a very informative tour of the Chateau. After an excellent lunch, we visited the Grand and the Petit Trianon and the Marie Antoinette farm.
Please be aware that there is a fair amount of walking involved !

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

dmwalk06 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was Zara and she did a great job. We were able to beat the crowd getting into the Palace. She was very knowledgeable. Having a van was nice. It was just us and another couple. My wife and I would do this again. We also now feel better about using this app too.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Tony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nabila was wonderful , informative and attentive , very friendly and accomodating

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Margo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our day at Versailles started out cold and drippy, but turned out fantastic. Our tour guide Michelle, was the best! She was so passionate and knowledgeable about everything, including not only Versailles, but also Paris. She made the history come alive with stories about the people who lived in Versailles, the conditions of the country, and the reasons behind the revolution. She gave us a driving tour of Paris on the way out of the city, and then coming back. She showed us many landmarks while explaining the history behind them. She was extremely knowledgeable about the palace of Versailles, the people who lived there, the gardens, and the surrounding town. She really fueled my motivation to learn more about the history of France and she gave recommendations for books to read to increase my knowledge. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. The tour company was very well organized. When they closed the gardens, Michelle called the company to make sure we got tickets to see them. She also brought us to several areas of the palace that were not open to everyone. She seemed to know the people who worked there and to have special treatment to visit those areas. This tour exceeded my expectations. I really believe that Michelle went out of her way to make it a really special experience.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Michelle, our guide, was fantastic. She was very knowledgable and very pleasant to spend the day with. She navigated the lines and we were inside Versailles quickly and efficiently. Great value and far better than waiting in long lines. Merci!!!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was super fun. Even though it was cold in Paris and Versailles, that didn't keep us from having a great time. Our tour guide Richard kept our group of twelve informed and entertained the entire time. The market in Versailles, had the most amazingly fresh and delicious food. It took everything in our will power to not buy too much - a suggestion for future groups is to divide and conquer, because we had way too much food. The grounds of Versailles were beautiful and vast. I truly got my work-out in that day and was ready to eat when we stopped for our picnic. Versailles was beautiful. It was definitely worth the trip.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

ROB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

So we heard all of these horror stories about the lines, the queues, being hours long. Here is a valuable tip that we found accidentally. Go to Versailles during off season, like early to mid-March prior to Easter, do a half day tour in the afternoon, and go in the early part of the week. There was absolutely no line!! We walked up, picked up our headsets, and made our way through Versailles, and the gardens, within a 3 hour window of time. Amazing. You will run into some groups It seemed like the time of year Asian tours were flourishing, but it was the best experience. This goes for the catacombs in Paris as well. Granted, for you warm weather travelers, this time of year might not be for you, but it is the best time to see Versailles Palace. Don't expect a lot in the gardens, as the trees are not in bloom yet, but you can still appreciate the acres they occupy, and the statues are beautiful.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Robin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Got picked up at my hotel on time. Tour was excellent. Restaurant was excellent. Our guide Nabila was excellent.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Jeremy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Versailles is an amazing place with lots to see. Make sure you bring you walking shoes.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message