The pink-colonnaded Grand Trianon was built in 1687 by the famous architect Mansart, as a tranquil getaway from court life for Louis XIV. Setting the benchmark for Italianate garden conservatory design, the elegantly long and low palace of pink ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1327 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved this tour and can't imagine doing Versailles any other way. The guide was very relaxed but professional and was a joy to spend the day with. The market and lunch was a highlight!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our first day in Paris and a terrific beginning to our holiday. Our guide Nabila spoke very good English and was a bottomless pit of interesting information. The small group was definitely the best way to see the Palace.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A brilliant tour. Our guide picked us up at our hotel and was a fount of information as she drove expertly through the streets of Paris to pick the other participants up. Our guide led us expertly through a still crowded Versaille Palace. We were treated to a lovely lunch and had time to get to know the other members of our tour. The visit to La Grande Trianon was very interesting and the visit to La Petite Trianon was a dream come true. Being able to walk through Marie Antoinette's little farm and garden was the best garden experience we had in Paris. All in all this was a lovely day with a great guide. I recommend this to anyone wanting to experience Versaille and Paris with a lovely Parisiennne.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

By far, my most fun day in Paris!
Our "Wolf Pack" leader, Anna, was knowledgable and fantastic. Owoooo!
Market shopping and picnic by the grand canal was a great experience. The amount of riding (approximate 10 miles)was manageable and lot of fun. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

While Versailles is crowded and we spent most of our time in buildings (the gardens are amazing!), this was a very worthwhile trip. Our guide was excellent!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Stunning! Our guide Dan was excellent - informative and entertaining at the same time. And we saw so much more of Versailles and it's grounds on a bicycle...picnic by the water with a view of the palace a highlight! An experience to be repeated when next in Paris

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

To be fair in my review, I have to separate the tour from the tour guide. First, our guide. We had Rosa, and I don't think we could have had a better tour guide. She picked us up at our hotel and deftly navigated the crowded and chaotic Paris streets to get us to the palace. She was incredibly knowledgeable, kind and smart. She shared a lot of great knowledge about the different rooms, architecture and former occupants of the palaces. Her timing at each of the events was great, always keeping us moving, but not too fast. We made several short stops for bathroom breaks and gift shops. Long enough to satisfy my wife, but not so long to irritating to me. Rosa moved the van several times to keep our walks as short as possible.

The palace itself is quite amazing. There were several paintings inside that didn't really excite me, but I am sure an art lover would really enjoy them. The tour actually goes to three buildings, perhaps this should have been clear to me, but I am a clueless American - that's why I took a guided tour. Each building was successively less grand, yet I seemed to enjoy each one more than the first. Because we went in November, the fountains were off and statues in the courtyard were covered. This was a little disappointing, but understandable. The tradeoff is we didn't bake under a hot sun, and I suppose their were few visitors to contend with. The lunch was at a great setting, though the food was only good, not great. We had 2 selections, salmon or steak. I got the steak and my wife the salmon. I think we were equally satisfied with our meals. Also included was a salad and a desert and drinks.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Not a great time to go if you are interested in the gardens, but the palace and Trianon's were fabulous. Our tour guide was excellent (can't remember her name though :( )... but she was super knowledgeable, accommodating and keep our attention. The lunch was spectacular!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Both my husband and I had a wonderful day we started with shopping for lunch at the market place, yummy food, our tour leader Anna was charming and so knowledgeable, the cycling wasn't strenuous and we saw much more of the Palace by riding around the pathways and gardens. Enjoyed! Bob and Gail NSW Australia

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is by far, one of the best trips we had thru viator..Big thanks and special mention of our tour guide Dan, whose funny pun laden anecdotes kept us thru the gardens...not to forget the lovely picnic..a must do, if you have a day to spare!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What can I say about this except, superb. Michelle, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. The Palace and it's surrounds was absolutely outstanding. Lunch was delicious. Small group is the way to go as you get the personal treatment. Recommend everyone do this tour

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fantastic excursion. Our guide, Anya, was outstanding and brought the history to life. The cycling around the grounds of Versailles was great, as was the picnic on the edge of the Grand Canal. In fact we so enjoyed the first part of the day the palace was a slight disappointment, owing to the crowds, even for late October. We thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our tour guide Johnny was very friendly and funny. We had very interesting tidbits about the gardens and the areas we explored. The highlight of the trip for me was the market. It was full, busy and full of great looking food. Johnny made some food recommendations. Me and my friends bought the comte cheese that he recommended and it was delicious!

Our group had different level of skills and experience riding the bikes, but our guide was very patient and attentive to all group members. Versailles is very, very big and if you are up for it; I strongly recommend to go on a bike tour. You will not regret it. It is a lot of fun.

I love to learn new things when I travel and was very glad that we had a tour guide like Johnny. If I get to go back I would to the bike tour all over again.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message