The pink-colonnaded Grand Trianon was built in 1687 by the famous architect Mansart, as a tranquil getaway from court life for Louis XIV. Setting the benchmark for Italianate garden conservatory design, the elegantly long and low palace of pink ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1394 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

5 out of 5!! Couldn't have been better!! Jean was factual and fun, the best combination!

Doing what: Private Tour: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris Including Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour and Grand Canal Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is the only way to see Versaille.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Was excellent and our guide mat was very knowledgeable on the monarchy of France and the French Revolution which really interests me.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Steven T
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide was great! The tour was beyond explaining......glorious! Fat bike tours does it right...we had Dan as a guide and he was the best! Skip the line...awesome......Intown shopping for lunch....a special treat!
Thanks!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip was very enjoyable, and our guide, Isabelle, was very knowledgable. Well paced and comfortable. Try to see the fountains timed to music.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Versailles Day Trip was fantastic and well worth the time. Lunch at local resturant was awesome. Two tours of smaller get away houses used by Emperor and the Queen were not as good, especially given how great the Versailles tour was. Guide was very informative and took great concern to make sure handicap needs of my wife were accomodated.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour with Vincent! Was picked up promptly at the hotel, van was comfortable, and the Viator tour was very interesting. Skip-the-Line was very helpful, since Versailles was very crowded on the day of our visit and the admission lines were long. Vincent was very knowledgeable and gave us great information in the Palace and the other sites visited. Lunch was excellent and overall this was a great trip!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great time - even in the pouring rain! Alexandra was a great guide.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful day trip from Paris. The bike ride is fun, the local market had great selection of items and the palace although very crowded was breath taking.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very fun way to enjoy Versailles and see much more of it than most visitors do. Plus get a little exercise to boot but not too strenuous. We shopped the Versailles street market for lunch provisions and enjoyed a wonderful picnic along the canal. The guide was fun and informative.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic experience! Definitely recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

All of us loved this tour. It was an easy bike ride around the beautiful gardens of Versailles. Our tour guide, Claudia was the best tour guide we had in our 3 week adventure and the Versailles bike trip was certainly one of the many if not the top highlight of the trip. Once at the market she instructed us on her favorite vendors bread, cheese, wine, sausage so we could purchase items our picnic lunch, then lead us around the gardens sharing with us the history of Versailles, then to a lovely view point along the grand canal to sit and enjoying our picnic - the view was awesome. However, the palace tour that followed was not so enjoyable as there were too many people. We could have skipped the palace tour and still been very happy with this tour.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was wonderful and our guide Ricardo was outstanding. He really has a passion for what he does and his knowledge about French history kept us enthralled and sometimes laughing. He was the best!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour and our guide Roseanne was also great. Small group helped a lot as with the minivan we could park closer to avoid as much walking.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent! Tour guide was engaging and informative. A beautiful day filled with history, fun activity and great food and wine from the markets in Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We booked this tour because my wife loves Versailles and she wanted to make sure we saw ALL of it, AND skipped the lines. This tour was absolutely awesome, especially thanks to our tour guide, Riccardo! They picked us up at our hotel, and Riccardo wore a little mic headset so he could tell us about Paris and the buildings we were passing on the way out of the city. As we entered Versailles, he explained the history of the city and the grounds/landscape. He walked us through the palace with special headsets so we could hear him talk. It was really busy, but we still got lots of great pictures and were able to push through to the front of each rooms rope barrier to get shots without people in them. The tour of the palace ended and Riccardo explained we had about 1.5 hours to explore the gardens and gift shop before meeting for lunch. We could have spent all day in the gardens aloneits unfathomable how large and impressive they are. The walls which look like simple rows of bushes on the maps you see are actually towering, making you feel like youre in a maze! There are benches, fountains, flowers and pathways everywhere you turn.

We met for lunch at a restaurant right off the canal in the gardens and enjoyed the delicious food and wine.

After lunch, we still had several hours ahead of us to explore the Petit and Grand Trianons, the Queens hamlet, and all the gardens and paths that went along with them including a petting zoo and the Temple of love. It was quite an experience, and by the end of the day we were exhausted.

Highly recommend this tour if you are a history buff and want to see ALL of Versailles! Thanks Riccardo!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabulous your. The best part was the bike
Ride through the gardens if Versailles and the village of Marie Antoinette. Our tour guide Drew was great, friendly, knowledgable and fun. The palace itself
Was ok. The day trip to the gardens etc was the highlight .

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My favorite tour! We saw so much, had a picnic lunch where we relaxed on the lawn and just enjoyed being in this magnificent place. No rush, just so much fun!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great experience. Well informed guide. Lunch was very enjoyable and good quality

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My favorite day during our trip to Paris!
After the hustle and bustle of the city riding our bikes on the huge palace grounds was heavenly.
Everything was very well planned out, easy bike riding no hills. You can cover so much more ground on a bike, I feel like we saw more than most people.
Stopping at the market for picnic food was fun and eating the picnic by the canal was even more fun!
Touring the actual Palace is the very last thing of the tour, after dropping bikes off, so you can stay as long as you want and take the train back to Paris on your own. Simple to get to the train station without a guide, no worries.
It was a fun day and we loved it - even got back to Paris in time to go out for dinner.
Our guide, Drew, was terrific - full of energy and made sure we all had what we needed and had a good time.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Small group tour was a great way to understand and enjoy Versailles and its history. The Grand Trianon and Petit Trianon and Marie Antoinette's hamlet were charming and a valuable part of the experience. Guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Hotel pickup and drop-off eases stress of a day long excursion.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message