The pink-colonnaded Grand Trianon was built in 1687 by the famous architect Mansart, as a tranquil getaway from court life for Louis XIV. Setting the benchmark for Italianate garden conservatory design, the elegantly long and low palace of pink ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1750 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sylviaspace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour was offered as a small group and personal experience. It was certainly that since there was a cancellation and my husband and I were the only ones on our personal tour. Our tour guide, Nabila, was wonderful and brought the beauty and amazing history of the palace, the grounds, and most of all the royalty to life! She also guided us past the larger groups and gave us the most time to enjoy the palace. She had such energy and personality herself and our ride to and from the palace was filled with added descriptions of Paris and enjoyable conversation. We had a most wonderfully enjoyable and delicious lunch in a lovely restaurant. Nabila really brought the day and the tour full circle. When asked, she recommended a restaurant that provided a fun and authentic experience for our evening dinner. My only regret is that, in our goodbyes, that I overlooked giving her an additional gratuity for her personal attention to our enjoyable day. Would love to be able to contact her- or please let her know. Also, she really knows how to navigate those Paris streets and traffic!! We would highly recommend this full day experience, especially with the included lunch. Thank you!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Helena M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was wonderful. November was not as crowded as in the summer according to our guide so we were able to see everything without bumping into people. The guide was an art history major who loved what he was talking about and it showed. Lots of info and plenty of time for pictures. The lunch along the grand canal was perfect for taking a break and enjoying the gardens.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Sara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic day! This tour was great. We had a lovely lunch and explored Versailles in style. Versailles was very crowded and having the tour guide was imperative to us enjoying the atmosphere.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Linda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic day out. I met some lovely people on the tour and our guide Zara was amazing. Her knowledge of the city and the Palace was extensive and we received a detailed and entertaining description of what we were seeing. The palace and the gardens were incredible. Walking along Marie Antoinette's little palace and farm was also a treat. I recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

XKR United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved the fact that this was a very small group, only 6 people! Our tour guide/driver was a sparkling, knowledgeable young woman who gave us just the right balance of information and time to explore. So much better than a tour bus and a crowd of dozens being herded around.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Other than a little mix up at the beginning, this tour was amazing. Versailles is something that shouldn't be missed! The tour of Marie Antoinette's small house and the hamlet were actually our favorite part - the part that would have been missed if we would have done a half day tour. Our tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Marguerite H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Trip was great and our tour guide was very good. Only bad thing was that I had beef at the restaurant and it was tough. I would recommend a chicken dish along with the fish.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Kim P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Lovely day at Versailles! Tour guide Nick was interesting, informed, friendly, made us feel like we were hanging out with a friend for the day. Best picnic ever!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

ChasNave United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Versailles is a wonderful place...just not on the weekend or during a Paris break when you cannot stuff one more person into the place. The tour guide was wonderful...pickup and drop was well executed.
The fountain show is not worth scheduling on Sunday...see this fabulous palace during the week when you probably can breathe in the various halls.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Carolyn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow, this tour was tiring, but worth it if you have an extra day in Paris. I would recommend seeing the inside of Versailles on another day because of how long this trip is, we were too tired to enjoy the palace, way too much for one day. The guide was great, it was all interesting, and I'm glad we went.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Jocelyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed the tour very much. They made the whole day easy! Really good tour guide.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Kristen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guide Gwyen was great.The tour was very good, we were very happy that we decided to take this tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Debby K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An excellent tour! Our guide, Zara, was terrific and the tour is arranged to take in the key rooms at the main palace, the gardens, and the Petit Trianon. It was a perfect tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Dezhang Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is an all day fun trip if you enjoy bike riding. This is the only way to see the whole palace and experience how they lived. Excellent history background stories and beautiful picture perfect scenes at the Marie Antoinette's Garden!! My legs got tired at the end of the day but so worth it!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Drew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

OMG I just finished writing a really long review for this and then the site deleted it when it asked me to sign in ahhhhh! The main points - Valentine was the best guide I've ever had on any of these tours. Insanely knowledgable about everything and not in your face about it. He's so chill I never felt like I was in a classroom but walked away feeling like I knew every detail about the history of Versailles. The bikes were totally worth it - completely different experience than my first visit to Versailles as a teenager. Lastly, Versailles markets were incredible. Full markets operate only twice a week apparently and Friday is one of those days. That's when we luckily were there. AMAZING. Sorry, I cannot bring myself to re-write the whole review. I even tried the back button! This was my most anticipated tour going to Paris and it did not disappoint! Do it!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

randjbeav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the bike ride around Versailles was the best part of the tour.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Abowes441

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

outstanding tour, lots of history to enjoy, part of tour package included being picked up by tour guide at the hotel, made whole tour easy. Guide was excellent, the best we have ever had and we have had a number of tours in Europe,

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to make Versailles more accessible. My tour guide was truly terrific!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Catherine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fantastic day! Our guide Michelle was just terrific. She was very informative and passionate about the history of Versailles. Michelle always made sure we saw the best bits and was very patient with our small group of 6. Lunch was lovely also, a great bunch of friendly people made the day even more enjoyable, especially for me as I was travelling alone. For me the absolute highlight was Marie Antoinette's palace, especially the village. It was a treat. This tour is a must. Even though one day is not enough, you won't see enough in a half day tour. Hassle free hotel pick and drop off as well. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Pamela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Since there were only six people on this tour, the tour guide was able to customize our tour and take us to see some things that big groups could not see.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Symon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

AMAZING! This was a great way to see Versailles, I feel like the other tours where you do not see the grounds are depriving you so much of the beauty of this hunting cabin. Our tour guide Cain - spelling?, who was Irish, kept the tour fun and very informative. We learned so much about the significance of Versailles, the history and it was just beautiful. By far one of our favorite experiences in Paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour highlighted by a very competent and entertaining tour guide. She was certainly special and please look up her name and give her high praise.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message