Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1337 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We missed our morning tour because we underestimated how long it would take on the RER to get there. Luckily, there was an afternoon tour scheduled so we were moved to that. We rented a golf cart and drove thru the gardens in the meantime.
Our tour guide was exceptional. Enthusiasm, interesting stories on all the inhabitants at Versailles and a great sense of humor. It made the tour fantastic and our botched morning worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

excellent except the location where we need to meet. it was difficult to find and complete address or a image of the map, should be included in the confirmation email. it took us about 30 minutes after arriving in the front gate to find where we needed to meet tour guide office. after all docs were checked, the tour was excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was informative, friendly, and made our visit enjoyable

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I only spent a half a day for this trip -- needed the full day!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I had already been to Versailles as a little boy, but returning to see it as an adult was a rewarding experience. It's an amazing piece of French history. The tour guide was informative and helpful, and the pace was just right.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour leader was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great ! Our guide was very knowledgable and had a witty sense of humor. The wife and I were a bit reluctant to provide a ID or credit card as security deposit for our audio commentary devices, but the guide said she trusted us and let us have our receivers. The crowds were large but they kept moving fairly consistently. I'd definitely recommend the half-day tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very informative, historical tour. Would have been even more beautiful during the spring or summer months when fountains were flowing and gardens blooming.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A must see ! The tour was great and the guide very informative. Went in Nov-the lines were not long, but still glad we took this tour, just in case the lines would have been long. Nov. is a great time to visit. No huge crowds and pretty fall colors in the gardens.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The directions for finding the tour start point were extremely poor. This meant we missed the first part of our tour, the garden walk, but thankfully when we finally did find the office they were helpful enough to have us join in on the tour to see the actual palace.

The guide was pleasant enough and was interesting to listen to.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour very much and our guide Anne-Sophie was wonderful. Her English was very good and she was very knowledgeable to answer any of our questions. However, what is sold as a half day is only 2 hours long so we were very disappointed. In my mind, a half day tour should last longer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The guide was knowledgeable and helpful, but the palace itself was very crowded and one couldn't really enjoy the sights in peace. Also, the gardens were closed. The good part was that we could bypass the long queues to get into the palace.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

OMG!!! If in Paris, don't miss this tour. Our guide Janelle was wonderful. She provided vast knowledge of the Palace and history. The palace of Versailles is magnificent and when you add a terrific tour guide to guide you thru it, is fabulous. Take this tour, you wont regret it.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message