Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1416 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip exceeded expectations. The Hall of Mirrors and the water show were eye stoppers. Even though it rained we had the time of our lives. I would love to steal Kevin and put him in charge of my sales force at home. What an ambassador for France and Viator.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

YOLANDA CORTES
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide at Versailles was so knowledgable. He actually lives on site. It was so wonderful not to have to deal with all the crowds! We were ushered in and out of areas while everyone else was kept out. Great tour! Worth the extra money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Cadence D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour from start to finish. Our experience on the minivan with Kevin as our guide was very entertaining. Once we got to the Palace Kevin handed us over to our guide who took us through the Royal Quarters. Our guide for the Royal Quarters was excellent. It was great to skip the line and to have a small group. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Everything about this trip was great!!! The tour guide was excellent and seemed to be very experienced with giving this tour!! Versailles is beautiful and the history is so interesting!!! It was still April so the gardens were not flowering and the fountains were not on yet....but we were still impressed with the beauty of the area.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kevin was a wonderful host and took care of our group all along the way. He made a point to introduce everyone and made the trip itself exciting. He was very knowledgeable about Paris and offered several pointers both generally and individually based on people's needs. Our guide at Versailles was absolutely wonderful. She not only knew he various rooms but brought the history behind them to life as she explained various aspects. The access to areas not generally open to regular tours was awesome and added a significant value to the tour. The music in the gardens was nice as well. The only wish would be that the fountains had been running, but they were being repaired.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was wonderful. It was a very thorough tour of Versailles. We had a very knowledgeable and accommodating guide, that took her time and was happy to answer any questions we had along the way. She was on time and didn't rush us through the tour. Great day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent, would have liked a little longer to explore the gardens.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The trip was worth it. The gardens were great and all the fountains were on! Just wish we had more time to spend in the gardens. If you can take the time do the full day trip.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The trip was worth it. The gardens were great and all the fountains were on! Just wish we had more time to spend in the gardens. If you can take the time do the full day trip.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was to short to have less then an hour and a half inside of versatile and in the garden is an extremely rushed experience. To much money for what you get out of it.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour itself was very good,had enough time to see and have quick meal at the cafe.The guide was not impressive.Could not understand his explanations.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour itself was very good,had enough time to see and have a quick meal at the cafe.The guide was not impressive.Could not understand his explanations.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very good tour. Interesting and informative guide that gave insights that made the visit much more meaningful

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I almost didn't show, because I was really tired. Do not miss this. It's so exclusive. So amazing... One of my biggest surprises. Of course we we lucky too. 3 people didn't show, so there were only 3 of us. Inside alone before opening.. Then led to see the open items before the public... And so many private rooms not open to the public. Words cannot even say how amazing it was. We took turns being completely alone in The Hall of Mirrors

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was one of my favorite things to see. Our tour guide was so informative, intresting and funny. It made me want to go back and study French history again. I would highly recommend this tour it gives great context and history to everything.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was both knowledgable and entertaining. The palace itself was pretty crowded, but she worked to keep us together and we could always hear her the through the headsets. Great time!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved the tour, it was quick and very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My tour was simply amazing and I am so looking forward to redo it one day! Our guide Stephanie was simply hilarious and everyone was simply so nice and welcoming! 6 on 5 honnestly worth every penny!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fabulous tour guide. Skip the line -true VIP experience with plenty of time and opportunity to explore gardens etc on our own. A must do!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

ctaylor63
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour and the guides were great, but Versailles itself is overrated.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message