Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1750 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rekha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was simply superb. Both the guides were friendly and knowledgeable - wonderful experience

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

debra n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

this was the best way to see Versailles, the small group, priority access, and a great tour guide. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Trisha B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The shear size of this venue is overwhelming. I can't imagine trying to navigate it on my own. Our guide was great! it was well paced so plenty of time for photos and a bit of looking around on your own time as well.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

sergio a s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Bit expensive but great tour! You really use in a smart way your time.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Kathleen R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The palace is beautiful but it was very crowded. Our tour guide was awesome!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

lily United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Richard B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

problems with the audio equipment

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

David H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Versailles is beautiful. It's a must see. This tour was not good. We did a lot of standing around and waiting. Our guide was late to the palace gates, where we waited. Her English was not good enough to be leading an English tour. Accent was super thick and inside the busy palace where there is background noise very few could hear or understand her. Don't miss Versailles but I recommend looking at other options.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

chris s

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I wish i could give zero stars. We arrived to Versailles early and queued before opening hour. When we presented our pre-paid tickets we were told they wouldn't scan and Versailles has had problems with viator-supplied tickets all weekend. Our reward was standing and watching the entire line go ahead of us as we had to speak with the ticketing office and plead our case. We were eventually let in 30 minutes later out of pity. We could not receive our audio tours. When we exited the palace and tried entering the gardens we were met with the exact same problem AGAIN. We absolutely will never use your service again and will make sure none of our fellow travelers do as well.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

donnard_sturgis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful way to see Versailles. The lines were extremely long, and fortunately we bypassed those. Learning the history that went along with viewing the private quarters is well worth the price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Elaine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took a cab to meet the bus at Palace de Concorde per the instructions. The guide was delightful and had interesting commentary on the way to and from Versailles. Loved the coffee and croissant and loved the small group approach and the extra rooms we saw. We were a group of 4 and decided to take the golf cart in the gardens and were delighted with that too. Altogether, very nice.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Scott A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Pauline was wonderful! We were the only ones in the group so we pretty much had a private tour. Great day, beautiful grounds!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Lennix Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing. Wish I could give 10 stars. Our guide has worked at Versailles for 30 years. She was knowledgable, entertaining and extremely passionate about her subject matter.
The highlights of this tour were getting into the hall of mirrors while it was still empty and touring the private quarters and he chapel, where the general public are not allowed. After the tour of the Palace, we were given 3 hours to lunch and view the gardens. This is the only way to see Versailles. PS. Do the morning tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Shibatosh D Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was well organized and everything went as planned. I enjoyed everything I saw. Tour guides were quite knowledgeable and friendly. I wish I could spend more time in Paris. Several hours isn't enough to take in the Palace of Versailles or Louvre. One would need at least a day. It gives me reason to go back again.

Doing what: Paris Day Trip from London Including Visit to Versailles

Lydia C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. We had the mirror room and chapel all for ourselves. I will improve the meeting place. It was not clear and we met other people that were on the tour wondering around as us, looking for it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Luca C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Versailles was amazing. There was a strike going on and we were delayed about an hour and a half.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Esme A

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

An enjoyable day out if you have a free day in Paris. Our guide was very rushed and seem very stressed from the very start which meant no one could relax as she was very breathless and loud over the microphone. Everyone on our bus seemed to enjoy the day, Versailles is magnificent but the thousands of tourists make for very long queues. Therefore the Skip the Line option on this tour was great. There is also an Angelina's tea room which made for a welcome break from the cold. The palace and gardens are spectacular. We did the half day tour which was more than enough - people who had booked for the full day ended up going home with us at 12pm.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Robyne T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Loved the palace.... had been a few days before briefly so wanted to do a guided tour....guide was nice but....took us ona tour of the water fountains which was sooooooo much walking...not good with a bad knee...she really. Should have warned us...and we hadn't even started on the palace! You could tell she loved her history and job which was great but it might be nice if she hung back in her explanations of pointing things out instead of being right up the front...in the window of picture taking...which everyone wa trying to do!? Just an amazing place but felt my visit was totally spoiled by all the walking first...would have liked the option to stay...hire a cart rather than walked all those fountains!
A couple of people were struggling with all that walking...and then stairs in the palace!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Rupa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent overall experience. Great minivan to transport us to Versaille. Both tour guides were very knowledgeable, Nicola and ???

Great to see the main highlights of a very large palace.

Definitely worth the price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

ROB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

So we heard all of these horror stories about the lines, the queues, being hours long. Here is a valuable tip that we found accidentally. Go to Versailles during off season, like early to mid-March prior to Easter, do a half day tour in the afternoon, and go in the early part of the week. There was absolutely no line!! We walked up, picked up our headsets, and made our way through Versailles, and the gardens, within a 3 hour window of time. Amazing. You will run into some groups It seemed like the time of year Asian tours were flourishing, but it was the best experience. This goes for the catacombs in Paris as well. Granted, for you warm weather travelers, this time of year might not be for you, but it is the best time to see Versailles Palace. Don't expect a lot in the gardens, as the trees are not in bloom yet, but you can still appreciate the acres they occupy, and the statues are beautiful.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome tour guide! Great way to see Versailles and skip the lines.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

James P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Tour was very good. The guide seemed to have excellent knowledge, but got into too much detail in some spots and not enough in others. Would have preferred more general information about the rooms visited.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Sheela V

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Did not see the fountain.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message