Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1425 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pauline was informative and funny. We also happened to luck out on a day when there were only 8 people on the large tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip exceeded expectations. The Hall of Mirrors and the water show were eye stoppers. Even though it rained we had the time of our lives. I would love to steal Kevin and put him in charge of my sales force at home. What an ambassador for France and Viator.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

YOLANDA CORTES
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide at Versailles was so knowledgable. He actually lives on site. It was so wonderful not to have to deal with all the crowds! We were ushered in and out of areas while everyone else was kept out. Great tour! Worth the extra money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Cadence D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour from start to finish. Our experience on the minivan with Kevin as our guide was very entertaining. Once we got to the Palace Kevin handed us over to our guide who took us through the Royal Quarters. Our guide for the Royal Quarters was excellent. It was great to skip the line and to have a small group. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Everything about this trip was great!!! The tour guide was excellent and seemed to be very experienced with giving this tour!! Versailles is beautiful and the history is so interesting!!! It was still April so the gardens were not flowering and the fountains were not on yet....but we were still impressed with the beauty of the area.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kevin was a wonderful host and took care of our group all along the way. He made a point to introduce everyone and made the trip itself exciting. He was very knowledgeable about Paris and offered several pointers both generally and individually based on people's needs. Our guide at Versailles was absolutely wonderful. She not only knew he various rooms but brought the history behind them to life as she explained various aspects. The access to areas not generally open to regular tours was awesome and added a significant value to the tour. The music in the gardens was nice as well. The only wish would be that the fountains had been running, but they were being repaired.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was wonderful. It was a very thorough tour of Versailles. We had a very knowledgeable and accommodating guide, that took her time and was happy to answer any questions we had along the way. She was on time and didn't rush us through the tour. Great day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was fantastic, very personal and informative. Kathryn was a superb guide. The group was only 16 people so it was very initament and personal. We would strongly recommend!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!!! No regrets at all only praises. Had the best tour guide - Kevin- to and from paris. He made the trip effortless for us and gave us tips that made our Parus trip perfect. The tour guide at Versailles was so very knowledgeable. The behind the scenes for two hours was amazing!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

was friendly and helpful stuff, clean room and very convenient location.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent, would have liked a little longer to explore the gardens.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Versailles is amazing and Domonic was a wonderful guide inside the Palace. Kevin who was with the driver thought either needs to talk about the sights of Paris or he should stop talking. The tour needs more time, there was not enough time to see the gardens after the inside tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This is an amazing place to see. Everything you want out of a palace tour. Very interesting history and beautiful sights. You could truly spend an entire day here. We were disappointed that the fountains only run 2 times each day understandably to conserve water but though we booked the garden tour, the fountain times conflicted with the interior part of the tour. It is immensely large and I would definitely suggest using a guided tour on this one.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The trip was worth it. The gardens were great and all the fountains were on! Just wish we had more time to spend in the gardens. If you can take the time do the full day trip.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The trip was worth it. The gardens were great and all the fountains were on! Just wish we had more time to spend in the gardens. If you can take the time do the full day trip.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was to short to have less then an hour and a half inside of versatile and in the garden is an extremely rushed experience. To much money for what you get out of it.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour itself was very good,had enough time to see and have quick meal at the cafe.The guide was not impressive.Could not understand his explanations.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour itself was very good,had enough time to see and have a quick meal at the cafe.The guide was not impressive.Could not understand his explanations.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

From the moment the guide picked us up at the tour office in versailles, it was clear she had one thing on her mind-moving through the tour quickly. She was way ahead of us all. If you stopped to take a photo, you had to run to catch up with her. The garden tour was a waste of time. It was definitely good to have the skip the line tour. She did a nice job inside the palace and gave a good narration. What was the point of the outside exhausting hour when we had a pass for the fountain displays after? We should just have met, gone inside and then been free for the gardens.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message