• USD ($)
  • English

Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1000 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was an excellent tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. She also kept an eye out for my youngest daughter who stuck to her like glue. There was time afterwards to walk the property and gardens. The coach bus was very comfortable. I would do it again without hesitation.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an excellent tour and I recommend it to all visitors to Paris, it exceeded our expectations

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Once we overcame our `misreading' of the correspondence of what to do on arrival we found the trip extremely good. Our guide Elizabeth was excellent. My husband is deaf but he found the headphones very satisfactory and we loved the point that it was our guide speaking, not an audio cassette, so no turning it off and on to hear about each room. We would recommend this the best way to learn about the history of Versailles with all the little extras that a good guide gives. Sorry no photos because too intrigued to hear from our guide. Plenty of books with beautiful pictures!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If you don't have a lot of time in Paris - this is a great tour. Our tour guide on the bus was terrific along with the guide at Versailles. We like to explore and Versailles is a great place to do that. The only thing I would recommend is that the tour be extended at least one-two (1-2) more hours for exploring after the palace tour - there's just so much to see - not just the palace but the gardens and Marie Antoinette's village. A few things you need to be aware of 1) the bus does not say Viator on it; 2) the bus does not pick you up at your hotel (the metro runs early AM - we were able to get to the meeting sight); 3) BE ON TIME, the tour leaves when it says it leaves. But overall - if you are limited on your time in Paris, then this is the way to go.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the Best Tour ever. It was very early in the season so we were super lucky to be the only ones in the tour. This meant we had not only our wonderful Viator Tour Guide, but also the Palace tour guide to ourselves. My wife visited France in the 70's including Versailles and this tour, walking through each room, admiring the fascinating furnishings, Chandeliers, the gardens and the queens cottages, brought back priceless memories for her and the History related by our guides was phenomenal, could not be better in any way. This is truly an amazing place to slow down your pace and immerse yourself in the time of the Kings, Queens and Palaces. Plus there's an animal farm. Yay! Shout out to Jess, our Eiffel Tower guide as well. The Viator Tour Guides rule in the time of rulers.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I really enjoyed the entire day at Versailles! My husband said he could have 20% spent less time in the chateau and more time in the gardens, but I thought it was perfect. We rented a golf cart and bought some wine at one of the restaurants and had a great time touring the gardens. Also the food and snacks at the little eateries were perfect so we opted not to have a sit down lunch and rather picnic on the grounds. It was lovely!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our tour was rearranged a little because we were supposed to go straight to the palace without any tour of the gardens. We ended up getting a short tour of the gardens because our appointment to skip the lines and visit the palace was later than originally planned. So an added bonus. Unfortunately, our guide was not loud and it was difficult for all of us on the tour to hear her when we were outside. She provided us headsets when we went into Versailles to hear her and that was very helpful, but not outside where we could use them as well.
We had our 3 children (ages 14, 11 and 10) with us. They were totally bored. The guide geared the tour to adults, not children. This was not billed as a children friendly tour. I mention the children's boredom to families thinking about this tour. Would be better to consider a tour that is geared for children if you want your children to be interested in Versailles. From an adults perspective--overall guide tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great views of palace would have liked guide in grand Trianon should warn people of extreme walking to see all four sites. Guide was great

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Excellent guide whom did her best to share her detailed knowledge nowithstanding very difficult crowds. But the Viator explanation is misleading. The tour (small group) is only 1 hour and 15 mins long- although headed "Half Day" and "2 Hour Tour". Also not mentioned is that you need to use audio even in the small tour groups. This is in fact necessary however given the crowding.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Anne
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was very informative and the driver delivered us safely to Versailles and back again. We gained entrance to places such as the chapel that other people had to view from behind the barrier. I would recommend this tour to Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Anne Sophie was an incredible guide. She was full of interesting informationa DMSO enthusiastic about all of it. A top notch tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very personable and knowledge above and beyond expectation...way to go!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a very special trip to Versailles. Stephanie, the host who met us in Paris was a fabulous guide and gave very insightful information on our journey over to Versailles. We then had a guided visit of the Palace with one of their guides who was also very interesting. It was brilliant being able to leave the crowds behind and head into the private apartments. We then had time to walk through the gardens and head up to the Trianon, stopping on the way for some lunch. It was a great mix of having a guide but also some free time where we could explore on our own. Overall a highly recommended experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable about the royalty and the order in which they reigned. That was very helpful in understanding the site. She also provided a lot of background and stories that we would have missed had we not taken the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was jus magnificent the tour was extremely good and our tour guides and bus driver were great very well educated on the tour and great communication.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message