Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1571 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour and well worth the expense for a private guided tour with absolutely no queues to worry about.

Due to a few no shows we were a merry group of six which was good.

Our personal Versailles guide with the special key that unlocked doors no other visitors were allowed through was excellent.

Our pickup in Paris was at the appointed place, although this took some research to figure out where this was and where we should be. Perhaps Viator could explain in the instructions that the pickup place is just a place in a street and there is no Viator office to look out for.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very informative and we were able to see rooms that had no one in them other than our small group. We were alone in the hall of mirrors which was amazing and enabled us to get some great pictures. Another great aspect of this tour is the amount of time you get after the tour guide leaves you so that you can see more of the palace or visit the gardens. There is too much to see in one trip so keep that in mind if you are planning a visit, but this tour provided a great first glimpse of Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I booked this tour in the US for my granddaughters who were in Paris. The staff were incredibly accommodating and the guide was outstanding. My kids report a fabulous day with a highly informed
and charming guide and since no one else scheduled for the time, they had a private tour. Thanks so much

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour of Versailles was wonderful! Pauline was an excellent guide. She is very knowledgeable and did a great job with crowd control. It was an extremely busy day and she was able to carve out spots for us. The afternoon portion was relaxing and informative. Our children are 13 and 15 yrs old and Pauline was so good she kept them engaged during our tour. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pauline was a very engaging tour guide. She did not simply give us the history of the palace, but she ensured that each of us were able to get a proper view of the rooms, which is great when you have 50 people jammed into 1 room.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely worth it! After seeing the crowds in the queue, I was so happy we had this tour. The guide was extremely knowledgable and he had a mic connected to earbuds for us so we could hear everything even in the crowds. Kevin was so cool under pressure after 3 people got lost on their own.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was amazing and our guide was so knowledgable! The one drawback is that it is a bit too long for some people. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

For ease of transport and viewing of palace and grounds, this was a very memorable and wonderful experience for visiting Versailles. Great tour guides, very fun and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Enjoyed to entire day with our guide. Lucked out and had perfect weather to enjoy all of the grounds. Tour guide, Claire, was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour of Palace of Versailles. Very impressed with the knowledge of our guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have been to Versailles before and the other couple that was traveling with us had not been to France before. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and especially b ing able to get behind the scenes and see the bedrooms along with other areas. Our guide we had was very informative and provide us with lots of information.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was wonderful highly recommend! PLEASE NOTE that if you get tickets in advance you need to meet your tour guide right when you get off the metro, NOT AT THE PALACE! We walked up to the palace and after asking several people realized we were supposed to meet our guide by the metro. Our tour guide was awesome gave us lots of great information! We loved her! And it is SO WORTH IT to skip the line. We went on a Sunday and the line had to be 3 to 4 hours long!
We took a brief tour of the gardens with our tour guide then the palace. after we toured the palace we had the rest of the day to tour the gardens. Recommend renting one of their golf carts or using the bus. There is a lot of walking in the gardens! Again HIGHLY RECOMMEND this tour, it was well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tout guide with Amandine highly recommended

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Nicola is a fantastic guide and the day was arranged very well. Having the van take us to and from Versailles made transport easy and the tour within Versailles itself by the professional Versailles guide was also exceptionally well done. Great to skip the long entry lines and seeing the Royal Quarters was very interesting. The day flew by, was easy, and also both informative and fun.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic. It is very long, but well worth it. Our guide was Pauline, and she was wonderful. I had been to Versaille before, but not the fountains or the Petit Trianon or Hamlet. She had lots of information throughout the tour and was so pleasant. If you have the time and can come on a Sunday when they turn on the fountains, I recommend it. The fountains are great, but the stories Pauline tells you about what happened at these events is very interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Mark I
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You skip only the tiny ticket line not the massive security line. I recommend going before 8:30 in order to have a relatively shorter line. The only way to skip the security line is to go on a group tour. Apart from that, the palace is absolutely fabulous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide, Gardens, Trianons or Marie-Antoinette Estate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great. Fully enjoyed. The guide was excellent and knowledged. Polite. The palace is very well maintained. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and guide. Consider creating a VIP tour combined with the Night Show and Royal Serenade.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and Aurora was wonderful . Being able to skil the line made things so much easier.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour guide and a great introduction to Versailles. Nice balance of garden and tour of the palace itself. Tour guide was very friendly and good at explaining significance of small details that would otherwise go unnoticed. Highly recommend. You won't regret it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both the bus coordinator and the French guide through Versailles were good. The palace guide was especially knowledgeable, answered all questions and was quite funny. This tour was the highlight of our visit to Paris.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

THE FOUNTAINS WERE GREAT AND THE TOUR WAS EXCELLENT IF YOU ARE GOING TO GO AND SEE THE FOUNTAIN SHOW IT WAS GREAT. THE GUIDE WAS VERY INFORMATIVE

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour of the palace was fabulous...well worth the extra for the small group and guide was excellent. It was rainy and cold the day we went so really didn't get to see the grounds.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a spectacular place to see. Although it was very crowded and hot. Amazing job by the tour guide. Hard to do what she did under the circumstances where people such you so they can see or catch up. Amazing gardens and fountains.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was great, the bus was comfortable and it was on time. At the time we arrived it took us too much to enter and being freezing outside it is not fun, but I guess this was not a problem of the tour and instead of the security logistics there. I was able to change my guide as when we scheduled the tour it was only English available but when we were there another Spanish guide was available and they let us change it. This person gave a lot of cool information all the time and the only thing I would suggest is to have a speaker, some tech devices so everyone can hear from any place or at least to raise more their voice because with all the crowd there sometimes it was hard to listen even if you were near to him. In general we enjoyed it a lot and we can recommend it.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message