Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1782 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thousands of people at this facility. Tour guide did a good job. Beautiful gardens.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Scott B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Not only did we have a great guide, but the tour was wonderful. I had been to Versailles before on a bike trip and saw so many rooms in the palace that were not open to the public. Tour worth every penney!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Carol G F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Comfortable shoes are a must on this tour. I think we walked 8 miles on this tour. Beautiful gardens and museum. Again the Do not Wait in Line tickets were wonderful. Thousands of people were in line to purchase tickets.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

lgraziano362 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

THIS is the only way to see Versailles. We felt so very privilaged to have the Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters. Also we were the ONLY visitors allowed into the Royal Chapel. Very, very special, an experience I we will never forget.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

MCP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is the only way to visit Versailles. There was a problem with the bus so our start was delayed, and the more public parts of the palace were very crowded. The access to the private areas more than made up for this. The guide on the bus was very engaging and helped set the scene on the trip to Versailles with lots of background facts and stories to put what we were going to see in perspective. The guide in Versaille provided detailed information about each of the rooms we went to. We also did a walk through the gardens, with some of the fountains working - we would stronly encourage other visitors to do the same. Overall, a great day out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Shannon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

skipping the line is the only way to go to Versailles.. the tour price is high, but when you see the line on a gloomy, rainy day that is hundreds of people long you'd gladly pay for your ticket again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Geoffrey R A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well run. Guide at Versailles was excellent. Transport efficient and courteous.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Lacey E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful and knowledgable tour guide. Beautiful gardens!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Versailles and after seeing the throngs of people waiting in line and moving through the palace bumper to bumper, we knew that booking the tour had been a smart decision. After traveling from Paris on a small van, we were treated to a cup of coffee and very good croissants in a small cafe right beside the palace. We took the 8:00 AM tour and our guide was able to quickly take us to the Hall of Mirrors before it became swamped by other visitors. We also had access to a number of rooms that non-guided visitors were unable to visit. The guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job providing insight into life in the palace when Louis XIV lived there. The guided tour lasted about 2 hours I think and then we were free to visit other areas. We chose to go to the gardens and visit Marie-Antoinette's estate, access to which was included with our tour ticket. We walked there which took about 30 minutes and provided a good view of the area, however, we gratefully took the little train back to the palace afterwards for 4 euros each. It would have been nice to have a guided tour of Marie-Antoinette's estate as well but we enjoyed it nonetheless. Pickup at the Paris area was at 8:00 AM and we arrived back at 3:15 PM.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see the palace. 2 hour tour with a guide and behind the scenes rooms. Not having to wait in line and getting a van to take you and pick you up was awesome.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Ian J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were very happy with the tour and the guide was excellent. Would perhaps have liked to have had a little longer to explore the gardens but overall we were happy.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Donald A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Kazza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour of palace and gardens in just the right amount of time. Spent a little longer afterwards wandering through the gardens. Unfortunately Paris had a strike on the Tuesday we had booked to come and see the fountains working. We received the email too late and had travelled out to Versaille but Guidatours were very accomodating and were able to book us in for the following day. They also offered us both free Louvre tickets to compensate.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Helen D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good tour, definitely worth doing the skip the line tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Jeffrey K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Gardens and Fountains are Extraordinary. We arrived 10 mins late on the RER and missed the first half of the tour which was the palace. We found our guide for the second half of the day and she was amazing. Seeing the fountains working is well worth putting up with the crowds on a Sunday. It is a LOT of walking so be prepared. The Grand and Petite Trianon are not super busy and beautiful to behold. If you want to see the palace at all then DEFINITELY get a skip the line pass. The lines to get in are absolutely INSANE. You can spend a half day just waiting. We had some time to visit the palace right at the end of the day when the line had shortened but it was still packed shoulder to shoulder inside. Especially at the hall of mirrors. Overall a good tour with an excellent guide. You may consider using the golf cart or segway options if your not up for a 6 kilometer walk.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Synita P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

THIS is the way to see the Palace of Versailles. The site is super crowded and it helped to be in a small group with access to some areas not open to regular tourists. Our tour guide was simply amazing. He surely knew his stuff and did not fumble with any of the ridiculous questions us tourists are prone to ask. - My only problem with this trip was there was very little time to explore the gardens - and the gardens are an attraction all to themselves. When we return to Paris, we plan to skip the tour - because it was so thorough - and just spend a few hours in the gardens. It simply is so beautiful and expansive, there should have been more time for this.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Vina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour inside Versailles but the guide need to accompany the group in the gardens too and explain the significance of each area. Definitely avoided crowds inside castle.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

teech105

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip but Paris and Versailles was a little too much to do in one day. We barely had time to grab a sandwich and take a few pictures at the Eiffel Tower

Doing what: Paris Day Trip from London Including Visit to Versailles

Laura L S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The reason why this is not getting a great review is due to France itself. The day that we had our tickets to go there was the day the Versailles officials thought that they may not open that day. They decided at 10:30 am that they would open. However they only opened part of Versailles. So our impression was marred by the politics in France

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Mathew D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We got to the Palace before it opened and were able to explore the Gardens with no other people there and that was the highlight of the trip. The inside of the Palace was extremely crowded and it made it hard to even move through a lot of it. We had pre purchased tickets but still had to wait in a 10 minute line to get inside even though we arrived out from before 9AM. The Palace was big and beautiful but it was just way to overly crowded for my liking.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Wendy R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Versailles was great, but we expected with an advanced ticket purchase to avoid the huge entrance line. We could have purchased the ticket at the booth and entered in the very same line, so there really was not an advantage.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Jane N

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This palace is quite something to see but it is so overcrowded it is hard to actually see everything that each room has to offer.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Jane N

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This palace is quite something to see but it is so overcrowded it is hard to actually see everything that each room has to offer.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message