Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1612 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We do recommend this full day tour, in addition to skipping the long lines, you get access to Marie Antoinette states where you can get lost if you don't have a guide. Claire was very helpful and friendly and very patient.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour and history of Versailles. Our guide was nice but had a strong French accent for an English speaking tour. Overall I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Totally worth the price. Takes you to rooms that you usually don't get access to and the guide was able to provide an amazing history of the place. Also, it feels great when you pass through gates and ropes that no one else is allowed to go through :

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience and the tour guide added a huge value to the experience. This is the only way to see these important sights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Despite the rain the line for entry into Versailles was unbelievable. Our small tour group went straight into the garden / palace. It was extremely crowded inside but our tour guide was extremely apt at working the crowd and making room for our group. She was very knowledgeable about the history and customs and we learnt a great deal. If you want to visit Verseille I highly recommend this tour.

Once the tour is finished you can spend all day in the gardens, which would be lovely on a sunny day.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Chris H.
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour with fantastic guide and timing. I loved seeing the fountains, especially when Versailles started playing music. A special, enjoyable afternoon.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were able to skip both the ticket line and the extremely long security line. The guide was great. This was an excellent value.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour - skipped the long queues!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour and very good guide. Our family really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Hands down, best experience I had in Europe. The tour was 2 1/2 hours long. I could have listened to our guide to 2 1/2 hours more. WONDERFUL!!!!!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, our guide was wonderful and extremely informative, you could ask her a question about the smallest detail and she had an answer. Definitely worth the extra money, there was a 3 hour line that we completely bypassed by doing this tour! Make sure when you're done to go down through the gardens to the canal, there are two cute restaurants there and you can rent boats, enjoy the park, rent a golf cart and see all the grounds - definitely more to do at Versailles than see the house and close gardens.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth every penny! The minibus and tour guide were very nice, our tour started immediately after refreshments in a small café and we had the pleasure of seeing all of the most important rooms practically alone. Our Versailles tour guide was superior, and the three hours on our own gave us a chance to see the Petite Trianon and Hameau before we returned to Paris.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Jennifer G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant! Our guide was perfect in every way and we got to see things before the public,great photo opportunities. Wish we could of stayed longer,my favourite exclusion 10/10

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

To not see Versailles on a trip to Paris would not be forgivable. The tour guide was very forthcoming with interesting bits of history which made this tour stand out in our memories. Touring here requires more time that was allocated, so that was a little disappointing. Never the less a very good tour.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The palace was super, but super crowded as it seemed that everyone including their grandmothers, and their grandmothers nieces, and grandmothers nephews were here! The tour guides were very good and did their best on this super crowded day to herd us though the palace! Viewing the gardens was a nice breakaway from the stuffiness and crowds inside the palace. The gardens were beautiful and the fountains were flowing which was a plus to our trip to Versailles. This tour was worth doing and recommended!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

well organized. guides made it as friendly and informative as possible.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Efficient entry, good guide under difficult and crowded circumstances- would recommend.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good, informative tour guide

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Definitely worth the money to skip the line and get the private tour of the king's apartments. It's so much better than what you would see with just the general public tour. And so worth skipping the line! We had a couple hours to explore the gardens, but could have used even more time. Wish there was an option to do a full day instead of just a half day. Would have liked to rent bikes or a boat in the gardens and spend more time. But overall I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Really need to spend an entire day but the tour was wonderful.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message