Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1316 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

So nice not to have to wait in line!
Our guide was so knowledgable and informative. She answered all questions without hesitation.
The only problematic situation was a lack of signage to the meeting point for the tour. It would have been helpful to have someone at the front gate with a sign directing us to where we meet our guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour guide, very well informed. Lovely lunch at the last stop of the train ride in the gardens.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour by Steph. She is a wonderful guide who provided detailed and impactful input on history and significance of Versailles. Would definitely highly recommend her to all future trip participants.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful experience - personalised, seamlessly organised, excellent information with the just the right level of detail and the opportunity for some relxing private time in the gorgeous gardens - truly a series of outdoor drawing rooms. Congratulations to all involved.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very small group; our guide, Pauline, was very friendly and she shared lots of interesting information. It was great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and her english was excellent. She had a very entertaining way of presenting the fascinating history of Versailles and the French kings in all of their glory, including the not-so-well-known quirky side of many of them. I would not go on a Tuesday again. We knew it would be busy, but it was the only day we had available. (Versailles is closed on Monday and the Louvre is closed on Tuesday so everyone heads to Versailles on Tuesdays.) The gardens are obviously large enough that there is plenty of space to spread out, but the chateau was absolutely packed with people almost to the point of not being able to move through some areas. But I'm glad we went and we would go again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. The Palace of Versailles was impressive and our tour guide was informative, friendly and professional.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved it, loved it, loved it our guide was great and made our trip very enjoyable. The whole tour was well organised from the bus trip there to the bus trip back. Good value for money

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Pauline, was a real character and made the history of the Kings and the Palace very entertaining. We enjoyed our tour a lot and later the fountains and gardens were beautiful and really worth seeing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was excellent. She was knowledgeavble and helpful. She kept us on track and on time while providing us enough time to see everything.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was so engaging; she really made history come to life.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a sight to see indeed! The fountain show should be added if you have time since the gardens are breathtaking and a large part if the locations.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message