Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1526 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour and well worth the expense for a private guided tour with absolutely no queues to worry about.

Due to a few no shows we were a merry group of six which was good.

Our personal Versailles guide with the special key that unlocked doors no other visitors were allowed through was excellent.

Our pickup in Paris was at the appointed place, although this took some research to figure out where this was and where we should be. Perhaps Viator could explain in the instructions that the pickup place is just a place in a street and there is no Viator office to look out for.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very informative and we were able to see rooms that had no one in them other than our small group. We were alone in the hall of mirrors which was amazing and enabled us to get some great pictures. Another great aspect of this tour is the amount of time you get after the tour guide leaves you so that you can see more of the palace or visit the gardens. There is too much to see in one trip so keep that in mind if you are planning a visit, but this tour provided a great first glimpse of Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I booked this tour in the US for my granddaughters who were in Paris. The staff were incredibly accommodating and the guide was outstanding. My kids report a fabulous day with a highly informed
and charming guide and since no one else scheduled for the time, they had a private tour. Thanks so much

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour of Versailles was wonderful! Pauline was an excellent guide. She is very knowledgeable and did a great job with crowd control. It was an extremely busy day and she was able to carve out spots for us. The afternoon portion was relaxing and informative. Our children are 13 and 15 yrs old and Pauline was so good she kept them engaged during our tour. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

There was no skip the line!! We asked 4 Versailles workers and they all said we had to be in the same line with everyone else!! It was horrifically long and took forever to enter. The vouchers clearly stated Inclusions:
Skip-the-line entry to the Versailles attractions of your choice
Audio guide

Did we get audio guide? Yes. But there was NO SKIP THE LINE. We did not gain anything buying these vouchers through Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide, Gardens, Trianons or Marie-Antoinette Estate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Have Stephanie she was awesome! Fun and very knowledgeable lucky to have her in her last tour the Versailles tour great i can see private room which not open to Public such Opera House in Versailles, so lucky for my first time in Paris

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Versailles visit was excellent, you could easily spend the whole day there. Rent a golf cart or take the mini train to save time, there's a lot if walking but worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide, Gardens, Trianons or Marie-Antoinette Estate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very knowledgeable and funny guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The day we were there, it unfortunately rained but this is a must do trip. Our guide Isabel showed us so many things! This is not a tour for those who can't walk far or have poor endurance. We walked nearly all day. One important note is that we signed up for a Sunday tour which is heavy with visitors. We did this because of the water show only on Sundays. However, if you've been to the Bellagio in Vegas, you've seen much better. If we were to do over again, we'd go on a Tues -- Thurs where there's less crowds. We took the metro from Paris then connected to a train. BE SURE TO GET A TRAIN TICKET and not use your metro ticket only. We didn't know and were fined 60 Euro for riding the train without the right ticket. It takes about 1 hr to get to Versailles from Paris including connection times so give yourself ample schedule time. Enjoy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a great time. Steph was a very funny, good guide on the bus. Very knowledgable, as was the lady who guided us through Versailles . It was great to be able to jump the huge queues and see rooms that others didn't see.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Paulina was amazing!!! Very good!! Would recommend!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Viator continues to deliver excellent service and value. Our trip to Versailles was amazing. The guide, Kevin was super and the private tour access was really special. This is our fifth tour with Viator and all have been very well done.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guides were both great and very informative. I would definitely use this company again

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guides were both great and very informative. I would definitely use this company again

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Straight away when I saw the line waiting to get tickets I knew I had made a wise decision. The tour was wonderful and our guide very knowledgeable .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Pauline, was excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding tour! Worth every penny. Our guide was superb - very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was amazing and probably our best experience over our two week trip in Europe. Our guide was clearly an expert and her passion was clear. Jumping the lines was a VERY nice advantage. Though the cost of this tour seemed a bit high when we bought it, it was definitely worth every penny!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our trip to Versailles was everything we hoped it would be. In spite of huge Easter Sunday crowds, and chilly weather, Pauline, our guide, made it a great experience. She had a lot of interesting information, funny historical anecdotes and vast knowledge. She was also excellent and helping us navigate through the huge crowds, always making sure we were together and happy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Taking tour was a good way to here the history of the palace and its inhabitants over time.
Gardens were magnificent too
The line for entry is and was everytime we went past very long. Probably 100's of people so going in on tour with guide who was very courteous and of course very knowledgeable was a very good idea

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Tatiana, was awesome. She shared a lot of historic and gossip details from Royalty. It was a fun and efficient tour.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message