Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

tour guide was amazing. Stephanie should write a book about French history. She was so entertaining. She was the best guide our family ever had. My teenage girls loved her also.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good prepared tour. The guide very cheerful and with enourmous knowledge.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour is defn worth it, it was wonderful and our guide Isabella was very friendly and informative she knew her stuff!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is the best carefree way to go! Just show up at the bus and have fun listening to the stories. The Guided Tours of Versailles are the way to get to see rooms where the public is not admitted and tips on times to see the music coordinated with fountains just like the royals did!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

So worth it! The lines waiting outside we're outrageous. We simply walked right past them. Our guide, Collette, was passionate about this tour and provided so many interesting details that would not be proved without a guide or using an audio guide. It was so crowded which would normally make it difficult to hear our guide. But using the transmitters and earbuds, we had no problem hearing all the information. A long day, but so worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved this tour and our guide was so informative and gave great background information on the history of France during this time. I would not visit this palace without a guide and the skip the line was awesome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and guide. Well worth it and you see a lot of extra rooms and the line of others is Soooo long.
Rent the golf cart through the gardens.
Can not say enough about STEPH, she had a lot of info and very knowledgable

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

AWESOME - AMAZING - UNFORGETTABLE ! just some of the words that attempt to describe this experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had wet weather but it didn't detract from our wonderful tour. Our tour leader Sophie was great and ensured our day was a lovely memorable one. Sophie was very knowledgeable and knew all the best things to see and views of the gardens. You need to be prepared to walk and be on your feet all day but we did not find this strenuous or difficult at all. Probably not advisable for anyone who cannot spend 8 hours on their feet standing and walking.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was great as was the booking service - we were late and they accommodated us very nicely. Skipping the line is an absolute must. Don't think of going without this. The tour itself was painful (hot and crowded beyond American fire codes)- but this is a problem of Versailles in the Summer, not Viator. I'd recommend the company/guide but caution against the tour itself. I'd never used Viator before this and all my concerns about reliability were allayed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was wonderful and again we were eased to have tickets ahead of time. The lines were crazy long the only complaint I have is that the meeting place was not clear at all and we had no idea who to look for. Luckily we stopped at information and got the info we needed

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good tour- a little crowded going in July but the tour guide was excellent!!
Would enjoy more another time of the year.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Judith H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Loved the tour bad had a guide whose English was hard to understand and was arrogant. So pleased I finally saw Versailles and the gardens though

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message