Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1726 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

raymond s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

very nice,,,,,on a early Sunday morning....missed the crowds

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Ellaine B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Good organisation. Versailles and her gardens were spectacular but felt rushed through the palace.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Would definitely recommend a trip to a beautiful palace. The craftsmanship and expanse of the palace are something to be seen!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

David G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Not a bad tour, but very rushed. Barely 1.5 hours at the palace and the tour itself was very quick mainly an 'introduction', nothing more. Guide was good, use of headsets a good idea. Even in the off-season November, the place is busy.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Recommend audio tour. Just happened to find Louis XIV funeral display - it was a highlight of the trip.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

EMMANOUIL A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

NICE BUT NOT FOR THIS PERIOD OF TIME

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Roberta B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour with an interesting commentary that also gave us the opportunity to see some rooms that were closed off to the public. The only downside was that we had limited time to see the gardens.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Judy B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very crowded as we went in the afternoon. Guide had an issue with other guides at the location and created an unpleasant experience. Beautiful and interesting place to visit

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Marie A. M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The palace itself was gorgeous to see. The size of the complex is staggering. We took the 'garden tour' once we were finished walking through the palace, and I would not recommend it. We expected it to be a tour of the gardens, but it just took us to a few other drop off spots along internal drive areas - it doesn't show you the gardens. But overall, this palace is a MUST SEE when visiting Paris :

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

lakell01cre

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

I booked the Tour which was advertised to include the Fountain show.
We were very disappointed that the fountains had been turned off for the season.
Your advertisement was misleading and if we had paid extra for that advertised tour, we were overcharged.
The tour of the palace was well conducted however.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour. The tour guide Sophie was wonderful. She was energetic, informative and brought the history to life for us. We were so pleased with this tour and highly recommend her.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding, the guide was brilliant, the Palace amazing, well organised on time loved the day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Robert V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an incredible tour. The tour giude was extremely knowledgable and informative. A must see!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

James P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Was a wonderful Experience. The guides very good. My only complaint was directions for the pickup. They gave an address with no business name and pickup time was in the dark. The van did not have a Viator sign as stated. When you have spent a lot of money and you.are not familiar with the area and are afraid you may not be in the right spot-that is not a good feeling. It worked out ok, but more specifics on the pickup spot would have prevented a lot of worries.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful day at Versailles! Especially liked the behind-the-scenes aspect and the smallness of the tour. Great guide!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Sandra T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the highlight of the trip! Our guide was wonderful, engaging and informative. She really brought the palace to life. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in seeing Versailles. It was spendy but worth it. We actually got in before the general public. I have photos of the Hall of Mirrors with only 2 people in it. 30 minutes later you couldn't see anything but people. We saw wonderful things. Go on this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Michelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The line skipping and access to the private chambers made the outing seamless. Also it was a beautiful day outside and we still had time to explore the gardens. Our guide on the bus en route to Versailles was very informative and the tour guide in the palace had a true love of his subjects and all things Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip was well worth the cost, especially when time is an issue. We were driven from an easy place to meet in Paris in a small group. The description was spot on as far as the whole experience. We were escorted past the line to a back door and met our private guide. He was a wealth of knowledge and information! We walked into areas of the palace that were not open to others and hardly saw a crowd. It was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Lucinda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The small group is the only way to tour Versailles. Our guide was knowledgeable and full of energy. Once at the palace a local guide joined us and added immensely to the history behind Versailles. We were able to tour the private quarters of the king and queen - a perk not available to other visitors. Excellent value!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Paul G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour guide, nice bus. Overall great tour. The two guides, one english, the other Italian was not clearly defined at first and lead to a bit of confusion. Once that was sorted out everything was great.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Rhonda B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show.

I booked this tour because of the fountain show and it did not disappoint. I was lucky to book whilst the fountain show was operating because it does not operate all year round. I would recommend you check the dates before booking because not all tours offer this option.

I left Paris on a clean double decker bus with three tour guides for three different languages. How great is that! We were all fitted out with our radios for our language and we had a really nice tour guide, sorry I forget her name, but she was really patient and knowledgable.

We arrived at Versailles and waited while people went to the toilet, beware there is only one toilet facility within the palace area so we were given the option of using one in a cafe outside. We waited over 15 minutes for people to return to the group. Versailles definitely need more toilet facilities.

We headed straight to the gardens and fountains. Wow! These gardens are huge and I'm sure I saw more with this tour than if I went on my own. The fountains and music did not disappoint so it was well worth going on a Sunday to see them.

After walking around the gardens for well over one hour we headed inside. This is where things changed, perhaps because it was a Sunday, but it was really hot inside and it was so crowded, it was hard to get a really good look at things.

Overall, the whole tour was well worth it and I would recommend it, but make sure you have a bathroom stop before boarding the bus.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Greg M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Palace and Gardens are on steroids but a must see for any trip to Paris

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message