Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1743 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lily United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Richard B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

problems with the audio equipment

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

donnard_sturgis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful way to see Versailles. The lines were extremely long, and fortunately we bypassed those. Learning the history that went along with viewing the private quarters is well worth the price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Elaine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took a cab to meet the bus at Palace de Concorde per the instructions. The guide was delightful and had interesting commentary on the way to and from Versailles. Loved the coffee and croissant and loved the small group approach and the extra rooms we saw. We were a group of 4 and decided to take the golf cart in the gardens and were delighted with that too. Altogether, very nice.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Scott A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Pauline was wonderful! We were the only ones in the group so we pretty much had a private tour. Great day, beautiful grounds!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Lennix Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing. Wish I could give 10 stars. Our guide has worked at Versailles for 30 years. She was knowledgable, entertaining and extremely passionate about her subject matter.
The highlights of this tour were getting into the hall of mirrors while it was still empty and touring the private quarters and he chapel, where the general public are not allowed. After the tour of the Palace, we were given 3 hours to lunch and view the gardens. This is the only way to see Versailles. PS. Do the morning tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Shibatosh D Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was well organized and everything went as planned. I enjoyed everything I saw. Tour guides were quite knowledgeable and friendly. I wish I could spend more time in Paris. Several hours isn't enough to take in the Palace of Versailles or Louvre. One would need at least a day. It gives me reason to go back again.

Doing what: Paris Day Trip from London Including Visit to Versailles

Lydia C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. We had the mirror room and chapel all for ourselves. I will improve the meeting place. It was not clear and we met other people that were on the tour wondering around as us, looking for it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Luca C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Versailles was amazing. There was a strike going on and we were delayed about an hour and a half.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Esme A

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

An enjoyable day out if you have a free day in Paris. Our guide was very rushed and seem very stressed from the very start which meant no one could relax as she was very breathless and loud over the microphone. Everyone on our bus seemed to enjoy the day, Versailles is magnificent but the thousands of tourists make for very long queues. Therefore the Skip the Line option on this tour was great. There is also an Angelina's tea room which made for a welcome break from the cold. The palace and gardens are spectacular. We did the half day tour which was more than enough - people who had booked for the full day ended up going home with us at 12pm.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Robyne T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Loved the palace.... had been a few days before briefly so wanted to do a guided tour....guide was nice but....took us ona tour of the water fountains which was sooooooo much walking...not good with a bad knee...she really. Should have warned us...and we hadn't even started on the palace! You could tell she loved her history and job which was great but it might be nice if she hung back in her explanations of pointing things out instead of being right up the front...in the window of picture taking...which everyone wa trying to do!? Just an amazing place but felt my visit was totally spoiled by all the walking first...would have liked the option to stay...hire a cart rather than walked all those fountains!
A couple of people were struggling with all that walking...and then stairs in the palace!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Rupa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent overall experience. Great minivan to transport us to Versaille. Both tour guides were very knowledgeable, Nicola and ???

Great to see the main highlights of a very large palace.

Definitely worth the price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

ROB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

So we heard all of these horror stories about the lines, the queues, being hours long. Here is a valuable tip that we found accidentally. Go to Versailles during off season, like early to mid-March prior to Easter, do a half day tour in the afternoon, and go in the early part of the week. There was absolutely no line!! We walked up, picked up our headsets, and made our way through Versailles, and the gardens, within a 3 hour window of time. Amazing. You will run into some groups It seemed like the time of year Asian tours were flourishing, but it was the best experience. This goes for the catacombs in Paris as well. Granted, for you warm weather travelers, this time of year might not be for you, but it is the best time to see Versailles Palace. Don't expect a lot in the gardens, as the trees are not in bloom yet, but you can still appreciate the acres they occupy, and the statues are beautiful.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome tour guide! Great way to see Versailles and skip the lines.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

James P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Tour was very good. The guide seemed to have excellent knowledge, but got into too much detail in some spots and not enough in others. Would have preferred more general information about the rooms visited.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Sheela V

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Did not see the fountain.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

diane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

So great to skip that long line!!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommend the guided tour.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Natalie G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour, the guide was very friendly and had plenty of knowledge in Versailles. I thought the tour was expensive as it was only two hours and the guide didn't show all the rooms that were open. However I still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Colleen L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour was fairly short, half day is not enough at Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Candice K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

I booked this tour so I could skip the line . It was not that crowded in February and I probably could have had as much from the audio tour headsets that Versailles provides directly.

Our guide just did not speak English that well and had lots of silly jokes about us coming back to stay in Versailles and who we would invite ect.

She did point out some things about the renovations and lifestyle back when the palace was in full swing and made sure we k new when we left the building we could not reenter.

I just did not think it was worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

raymond s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

very nice,,,,,on a early Sunday morning....missed the crowds

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Ellaine B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Good organisation. Versailles and her gardens were spectacular but felt rushed through the palace.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message