Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Marie-Antoinette Estate

Marie-Antoinette left a mark on Versailles larger than any other left by the queens of the French monarchy, and the physical embodiment of her maverick ways can be found at her estate on the grounds of the Gardens of Versailles. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The line here was huge, definitely get skip the line tickets because they also give you access to Marie Antoinette's house which you don't visit on the guided section of the tour and many people didn't realise they needed the second ticket to get to that section. The estate is so big it is very handy to have a guide who can show you the main sections of the garden and palace before giving you tips on how to spend your free afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Really great experience. Tour was only 4 of us for the morning part in the gardens which was nice, but then bigger for the palace but still small enough. The guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and fun to listen to. It was also nice to have all the tickets pre-collected for us like to the gardens and to the palace and to Marie Antoinette's farm so that there was no line waiting or confusion about buying tickets. And you should go see all the places, so buying the tour that includes all access was the way to go. There's also not very much in the way of readable info in Versailles, so if you went without a guide, I think you'd really miss out on the history and stories which are what make it so fascinating.

Keep in mind that it takes a good while to get there from Paris. I was told 30 mins but it took more like an hour so plan to leave earlier than expected. Also the grounds of Versailles are very pebbly so this is not a day to wear cute or open toed shoes. I got rocks all up in my shoes and was a little miserable walking so much. The grounds are impressively big so you will do a bit of walking.

The garden has a lot of fountains which are only on from 3:30 to 5, so after your tour there is a lot of time to walk around before the fountains start, which you will definitely want to see. There's paddle boats you can take out if its a nice day, or restaurants to lunch at, and all of Marie Antoinette's private grounds to see. There's a little train that runs to Marie's place that costs 7 euro each way but I promise it's so walkable. Absolutely not worth 14 euros for the roundtrip. The map makes things look bigger, just walk.

There's also an app called "maps with me" that I had that shows all the paths around the grounds and uses GPS, not wifi or 3G, which saved me once because it can be a little maze-like once you explore Marie Antoinette's part.

Overall the tour as great. Definitely worth the cost. Highly recommend. Enjoy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Ended up being half day tour as snow from previous day closed access to gardens and Marie Antoinette's chambers. The tour handling informed us promptly and gave us a credit per person for the cancelled portion of the tour. The tour guide was very informative and kept asking if we had any questions

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great tour of the palace with lots of free time to explore the estate, loved the hamlet was so beautiful and peaceful. The fountain show was great! Our guide was young, friendly and seemed to have a great interest and knowledge of the estate, would recommend to others :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I did the full day tour because I wanted to be able to see the Marie Antoinette apartments. The morning was guided and we went through the state apartments and part of the amazing gardens. Our guide was very knowledgeable and explained a lot of the symbols and architecture to us. Then in the afternoon, I had a self guided tour of the rest of the gardens and the Marie Antoinette apartments. The ticket was purchased by the tour company, so it was easy. The on ground tram was a great way to see the rest of the grounds with stops throughout the gardens and near the apartments. This tour was great!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Our day at Versailles was really nice. We were a few minutes late arriving at the meeting point but were met by name by a young lady whowas looking out for us. She took us to the Palace and then around the gardens telling us lots of information about the gardens and the Palace, After a short break, we joined another group and were taken into the Palace. Our guide was very knowledgable and it was very interesting. We had the afternoon to ourselves to explore the Palace of Marie Antoinette. It was a very nice day and I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide was very good and had a good command of English. This was a wonderful full day tour but not for the faint-hearted - there is a LOT of walking involved. In warm weather be sure to take drinking water and a hat, we spent around 3.5hours walking thru the gardens and Marie Antoinette's estate.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We enjoyed our trip immensely and it was one of our most memorable days. We had a lovely tour guide who was very friendly and informative. Firstly he showed us the gardens around the palace. We were busy taking photos as there was no crowd early in the morning....he assured us there was plenty of time later to view the gardens at our leisure so we probably didn't take as many photos as we probably would have. What we found was that the crowd soon became bigger, so my advice is to make a choice to either keep up with the guide and hear all of the information OR take best photos you can as it gets so crowded you just can't get the pics you would like to take. Aside from that..great trip. Well worth paying the extra money for the tour to avoid the big queues. We had lunch after the tour at Anugeliques restaurant, i probably wouldn't go again...it was nothing special, although we thought it may have been.....i would rather spend my money at another restaurant in Paris......very expensive and not great service. Was expecting something special and it wasn't. We spent the rest of the afternoon walking around the gardens and visiting Marie Antointettes estate and gardens. Be prepared to spend a whole day. We had a whole day, but found even then we could have had longer. Great experience thankyou. JULY 2013

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was a really nice tour. The guide was very helpful. Wish the weather had been better - rain. FYI - buy your train tickets early to see Marie A.'s home because the que later gets really long and the ONE ticket seller is really slow.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was extremely knowledge and friendly, speaking English very well. This tour was well worth the money just to skip the insanely long line to get into the chateau. We visited the gardens first and then moved into the chateau which was jammed packed with tourists. We were given headsets so we could better hear our guide in the crowded rooms. He ended the tour after visiting the rooms of the chateau, at which point we had lunch and went on to the Grand Trianon, Petit Trianon, and the Hamlet on our own. Those places were included with our tickets. However, there is a petit train which takes you to those sites (it's a 45 minute walk) for 7 euros, which was not included in the tour price. Overall, it was a good tour and worth the money, yet I wish it extended to the rest of the estate.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our Guide was very knowledgable and friendly. We did the full day tour so we were able to tour the gardens in the morning in addition to the standard afternoon palace tour. I would recommend the full day as the gardens are beautiful! The group size was small which was nice and of course skipping the line to the palace was great! The ticket to Marie Antoinette's Hamlet was included in the price of the tour which you are supposed to get to one your own. We didn't end up doing this because the line for the train was too long and it was very cold for a spring day so i'm deducting one star only because it would have been nice to skip that line as well. All around a great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This tour was just as expected. Very nice and knowledgeable staff, just the right amount of information while on the tour. I would like, however, to make a suggestion that Viator could share with all of your customers. After our tour, we chose to rent bikes from the bike rental at the beginning of the Grand Canal. We advised them that we wished to visit Marie Antoinette's hamlet and intended to ride the bikes there. We were told that there were not enough bike locks but that we could just park them in the bike spot and if our bikes were gone to take another bike upon exiting. There were no assigned bikes and not contract to sign. Well sure enough two of the three bikes were gone and another couple had the same problem and they took two other bikes so we could only ride one bike and my two friends had to walk the long walk back. Upon returning to explain what happened, the same worker said she needed to call her manager. To make a long story short, it was quite an ordeal to get my driver's license back and we were yelled at and threatened in public. We started to walk away and the manager followed us telling us he was calling the police if we didn't pay for the two missing bikes. His employee lied and said she never advised us that we could park the bikes without locks. He told us to stay and wait for the police and we did not - we left in a hurry to avoid a bad situation. They were trying to intimidate us and make some extra money. DO NOT RENT BIKES. PERIOD. 4-star rating was for the tour, NOT the bike rental!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Our visit to Versailles happened to coincide with a bout ot cold, winds and heavy rains but it was still a beautiful time. Our visit was made all the better by our wonderful guide, Marion. This was a wonderful day trip from our home base in Paris. We had a lovely lunch in one the restaurants on the grounds and walked the rest of the estate visiting all of the other sights and buildings and took some amazing pictures. Thank you Viator for this wonderful opportunity.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

We were 3 minutes late and they left without us. If they could have communicated to the tour guide that we would catch up at the entrance, it would have been nice. We had to wait more than an hour at the gate for her to come back.
Versailles is very crowded and no one has any manners. Pushing and shoving everywhere and limited bathroom facilities . If you can afford to rent the golf cart to tour the grounds, please do it. It is a very long walk to Marie Antoinette's castle. Our tour guide Isabella was very good

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

It rained that day but toured the gardens anyway. Lovely. Palace wonderful. Our ticket included the Marie Antoniette grounds would like to have had guide go with us and explain when you pay this kind of price for a tour. We never found the grounds!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message