The lovely Orangerie building was designed by Mansart in the 1680s, surrounded by ordered walkways and patterned parterre gardens. Citrus trees were stored here over winter, and today some of the lemon and pomegranate trees are more than 200 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 743 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous! Guide was informative and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing! Versallies is definitely worth the trip visiting while in Paris. The gardens are spectacular and the history that lies within the palace is incredible.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Palace was amazing. Your guide was great. Weather was rainy that day so we did not do the gardens. Palace is magnificent and so full of history. Also saw madames apartments. Hall of mirrors is unbelievable. A must see. Took half day tour not full day

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

well worth the money,a short trip from paris and a well guided tour and an experienced tour guide with a wealth of knowledge

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The day of our tour of Versailles, it was POURING rain! Our tour went on regardless and our tour guide was a trooper. She gave those who chose to go indoors the option to do so, and walked on with the rest of us in rain, mud and all! Nevertheless a Great Tour.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

For those never having previously been to Versailles this was a wonderful tour. The guide was kind and very informative. Having been there four times previous, I got to see far more on this specific tour than any other. I highly recommend the tour and the guide.

Doing what: Versailles Walking Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fantastic way to see Versailles. For people with a limited amount of time - the direct bus ride out and knowledgeable guides made it very pleasant - even though it was raining. I have been to Versailles before - took the Metro, walked the 10 minutes to the gates and waited for over an hour to go through the doors. The "skip-the-line" tour was a fantastic and interesting way to see parts of Versailles that I have never seen. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave a well-paced and informative history of the palace. However, I was disappointed in that the fountains were only running on the week-end - and it had been advertised that they were also on Tuesdays - the reason for us booking that day. And - considering how big Versailles is - next time I would probably want to go for the whole day - walk through the gardens a bit, take the train for their guided tour ride - and have some time to sit and have a lunch and soak up the beauty and ambiance of the palace. With a young teenager in tow, this was the perfect timing and tour to introduce him to such an impressive place - especially considering it was raining and too cold to appreciate the gardens - something that is definitely more suitable for a warm, sunny day. I would certainly recommend this kind of tour to anyone who wants to be introduced to the beauty and history of this incredible place, especially if they have a limited amount of time to take in the many sights in Paris. One consideration - considering the bus ride is at least 40 minutes - could the guide point out interesting landmarks along the way - give a bit of a history preamble about Versailles along the way - basically to prime the uninformed tourist who has no knowledge of the palace. Thank you

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It is worth taking this tour if you really want to see the palace interior. This saved us so much time by skipping the horrible line in the entrance. I cannot imagine my family doing this without taking this tour package.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It is worth taking this tour if you really want to see the palace interior. This saved us so much time by skipping the horrible line in the entrance. I cannot imagine my family doing this without taking this tour package.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Knowing the castle and principal gardens its a good experience. The tour through the Trianons although a nice place to be, I would have prefer using that time to go to Giverny which is nearby to see the gardens that inspired Claude Monet's paintings.

Doing what: Versailles Walking Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was enjoyable because of the beauty of the palace and grounds but also due to the courtesy of the bus driver and knowledgeable tour guide. It was very crowded but the guide managed to keep us together.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour, the Palace and gardens are amazing. We got to see a lot more than if we tried to do this by ourselves. The guide was very knowledgeable and knew how to fit the most in to the limited time we had. Don't miss this attraction if you are in Paris

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Michael D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Eye opening opulence and grandeur . You need a full second day to see all the gardens and grounds.
Pleasant and knowledgable guide gave great insight to history and routine of palace and staff.

Doing what: Versailles Walking Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. Carine, our guide was very good. She was fun, friendly and effective as a guide. Got full value for our money and time.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were pleased with our tour to Versailles. The coach left on time and arrived back early, which is a rare thing after having done many bus tours. Our guide, Pauline, was wonderful -- she was a wealth of knowledge about Versailles. Wish we'd had more time to explore the gardens, but for someone who doesn't have the time in their trip to devote more time at Versailles, then this tour length is perfect.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message