Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Chateau Gardens

The most acclaimed example of formal French garden design, Versailles’ vast chateau gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths, ponds and canals. Spreading west of the palace, the Versailles Chateau Gardens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 6206 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent! Tour guide was engaging and informative. A beautiful day filled with history, fun activity and great food and wine from the markets in Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a must do tour if you are visiting Paris! Giverny is such a beautiful and peaceful little town and the Monet house and property is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Standing and looking at the place where Monet painted Water Lillies will just give you chills and the understanding of why he wanted to paint there. It is breath taking! Very nice lunch afterwards at the restaurant with the waterwheel.
Versailles was beautiful as well. Wish we would have had more time to spend there. An excellent day trip.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Small group tour was a great way to understand and enjoy Versailles and its history. The Grand Trianon and Petit Trianon and Marie Antoinette's hamlet were charming and a valuable part of the experience. Guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Hotel pickup and drop-off eases stress of a day long excursion.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

YOLANDA CORTES
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great experience. Well informed guide. Lunch was very enjoyable and good quality

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My favorite day during our trip to Paris!
After the hustle and bustle of the city riding our bikes on the huge palace grounds was heavenly.
Everything was very well planned out, easy bike riding no hills. You can cover so much more ground on a bike, I feel like we saw more than most people.
Stopping at the market for picnic food was fun and eating the picnic by the canal was even more fun!
Touring the actual Palace is the very last thing of the tour, after dropping bikes off, so you can stay as long as you want and take the train back to Paris on your own. Simple to get to the train station without a guide, no worries.
It was a fun day and we loved it - even got back to Paris in time to go out for dinner.
Our guide, Drew, was terrific - full of energy and made sure we all had what we needed and had a good time.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was fantastic. Our tour guides were excellent especially Pauline. A wonderful day. The best day of our entire trip

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The gardens at Giverny are so beautiful in the spring with all the tulips in bloom, you can't go wrong visiting there. Versaille, of course, is spectacular--and our guide Walter was full of information about its history, art, and royalty. The lunch stop at an old mill was charming, with good food and wine. Overall, a really nice day.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My favorite tour! We saw so much, had a picnic lunch where we relaxed on the lawn and just enjoyed being in this magnificent place. No rush, just so much fun!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Giverny in the spring. Even better than tulips in Netherlands! Must do

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Catherine was our guide and her knowledge and passion shined through on this incredible tour. Highly recommend both her and this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour and our guide Hannah was awesome new her stuff and made the tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Everything about this trip was great!!! The tour guide was excellent and seemed to be very experienced with giving this tour!! Versailles is beautiful and the history is so interesting!!! It was still April so the gardens were not flowering and the fountains were not on yet....but we were still impressed with the beauty of the area.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabulous your. The best part was the bike
Ride through the gardens if Versailles and the village of Marie Antoinette. Our tour guide Drew was great, friendly, knowledgable and fun. The palace itself
Was ok. The day trip to the gardens etc was the highlight .

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour and our guide Roseanne was also great. Small group helped a lot as with the minivan we could park closer to avoid as much walking.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Not being a huge history buff, and being a poor college student, I was hesitant to book this trip. However, I was thoroughly pleased with this tour and I highly recommend it!! The gardens were breathtaking and I'm glad I had a tour guide to tell us all of the stories about what occurred here. I felt like I was living it! Hanna was absolutely fantastic. She made the tour so interesting and she was always willing to take pictures, answer questions, and help us with anything we needed! Very sweet. The skip the line pass was also a HUGE plus because the line was very long. Overall, very glad I did it it was wonderful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We booked this tour because my wife loves Versailles and she wanted to make sure we saw ALL of it, AND skipped the lines. This tour was absolutely awesome, especially thanks to our tour guide, Riccardo! They picked us up at our hotel, and Riccardo wore a little mic headset so he could tell us about Paris and the buildings we were passing on the way out of the city. As we entered Versailles, he explained the history of the city and the grounds/landscape. He walked us through the palace with special headsets so we could hear him talk. It was really busy, but we still got lots of great pictures and were able to push through to the front of each rooms rope barrier to get shots without people in them. The tour of the palace ended and Riccardo explained we had about 1.5 hours to explore the gardens and gift shop before meeting for lunch. We could have spent all day in the gardens aloneits unfathomable how large and impressive they are. The walls which look like simple rows of bushes on the maps you see are actually towering, making you feel like youre in a maze! There are benches, fountains, flowers and pathways everywhere you turn.

We met for lunch at a restaurant right off the canal in the gardens and enjoyed the delicious food and wine.

After lunch, we still had several hours ahead of us to explore the Petit and Grand Trianons, the Queens hamlet, and all the gardens and paths that went along with them including a petting zoo and the Temple of love. It was quite an experience, and by the end of the day we were exhausted.

Highly recommend this tour if you are a history buff and want to see ALL of Versailles! Thanks Riccardo!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a phenomenal day trip. We thought the visit to Giverny was just a small town we would visit. We didn't even realize that this was a trip to Monet's house and garden. Our guide Laura was tremendous. She led us around and knew her history, and her English was perfect. Some things didn't go quite right in Versailles and she straightened it out immediately. I would recommend this day trip to anyone.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyed our guide was not bored for a minute

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour of the Palace of Versailles and the Gardens our tour guide was very knowledgeable, however, when we first arrived at Versailles we had to wait quite a while because the tour guide that took us to the palace on the train did not have enough tickets for everyone to go in. Some sort of misunderstanding from their office. They had two groups of people and they could not figure out who to leave behind and how to solve the problem. Finally our group of about 6 entered the palace and it was great from that point forward. This is one of those places everyone should visit if you are ever in Paris. There is a lot of people though, especially on the weekend because the Fountains are working so it attracts the crowds. It is worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful experience. Very well organized. Of course you could spend all day, or several days, at both places but if your time is limited this is a very good option. Don't expect too much from lunch. No options, food just ok.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message