Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Chateau Gardens

The most acclaimed example of formal French garden design, Versailles’ vast chateau gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths, ponds and canals. Spreading west of the palace, the Versailles Chateau Gardens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7354 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Helena M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was wonderful. November was not as crowded as in the summer according to our guide so we were able to see everything without bumping into people. The guide was an art history major who loved what he was talking about and it showed. Lots of info and plenty of time for pictures. The lunch along the grand canal was perfect for taking a break and enjoying the gardens.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

sylviaspace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour was offered as a small group and personal experience. It was certainly that since there was a cancellation and my husband and I were the only ones on our personal tour. Our tour guide, Nabila, was wonderful and brought the beauty and amazing history of the palace, the grounds, and most of all the royalty to life! She also guided us past the larger groups and gave us the most time to enjoy the palace. She had such energy and personality herself and our ride to and from the palace was filled with added descriptions of Paris and enjoyable conversation. We had a most wonderfully enjoyable and delicious lunch in a lovely restaurant. Nabila really brought the day and the tour full circle. When asked, she recommended a restaurant that provided a fun and authentic experience for our evening dinner. My only regret is that, in our goodbyes, that I overlooked giving her an additional gratuity for her personal attention to our enjoyable day. Would love to be able to contact her- or please let her know. Also, she really knows how to navigate those Paris streets and traffic!! We would highly recommend this full day experience, especially with the included lunch. Thank you!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Spring F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was great. Skipped the line and got a lot of information. The lunch was good as well.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

ChasNave United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Versailles is a wonderful place...just not on the weekend or during a Paris break when you cannot stuff one more person into the place. The tour guide was wonderful...pickup and drop was well executed.
The fountain show is not worth scheduling on Sunday...see this fabulous palace during the week when you probably can breathe in the various halls.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Marguerite H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Trip was great and our tour guide was very good. Only bad thing was that I had beef at the restaurant and it was tough. I would recommend a chicken dish along with the fish.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Other than a little mix up at the beginning, this tour was amazing. Versailles is something that shouldn't be missed! The tour of Marie Antoinette's small house and the hamlet were actually our favorite part - the part that would have been missed if we would have done a half day tour. Our tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Keyly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was excellent!!! this place is spectacular and our guide was amazing!!! the castle wasn't as packed as i thought it would be! This tour made my whole holiday in france!!! Im so glad we did it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Kim P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Lovely day at Versailles! Tour guide Nick was interesting, informed, friendly, made us feel like we were hanging out with a friend for the day. Best picnic ever!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

XKR United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved the fact that this was a very small group, only 6 people! Our tour guide/driver was a sparkling, knowledgeable young woman who gave us just the right balance of information and time to explore. So much better than a tour bus and a crowd of dozens being herded around.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Marcelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good, but too short, we decided to stay longer. Versailles is amazing, must do!

Doing what: Versailles Independent Day Trip from Paris

Linda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic day out. I met some lovely people on the tour and our guide Zara was amazing. Her knowledge of the city and the Palace was extensive and we received a detailed and entertaining description of what we were seeing. The palace and the gardens were incredible. Walking along Marie Antoinette's little palace and farm was also a treat. I recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Sara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic day! This tour was great. We had a lovely lunch and explored Versailles in style. Versailles was very crowded and having the tour guide was imperative to us enjoying the atmosphere.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Susan D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Awesome trip. Guides met us in Paris at a Metro station and took us to Versailles. We did the garden tour with the guide and she was awesome! Then she skipped the line and we were inside, at which point we were on our own. Palace is nice, full of old stuff. Gardens were more impressive. Left to wander the village and found a nice little place to have lunch. It's worth doing it once.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Ellaine B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Good organisation. Versailles and her gardens were spectacular but felt rushed through the palace.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Huraiyah A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

I liked the Versailles tour, but would rather do a private tour. If not for a tall person in my group I would have lost the tour group several times because our guide had no flag. It was a large group, and hard to ask any questions because we were moved so quickly from one room to the next.

Doing what: Versailles Walking Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was excellent. The guide was very interesting and knew his history. The tour was for a small group and that made it good for being somewhere on time. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Regular audio tour of Versailles. Drive picked us up at hotel on time. Gave a running commentary about Paris and Versailles on journey to the palace

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

Kristen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guide Gwyen was great.The tour was very good, we were very happy that we decided to take this tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Jocelyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed the tour very much. They made the whole day easy! Really good tour guide.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Carolyn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow, this tour was tiring, but worth it if you have an extra day in Paris. I would recommend seeing the inside of Versailles on another day because of how long this trip is, we were too tired to enjoy the palace, way too much for one day. The guide was great, it was all interesting, and I'm glad we went.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Theodore S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Outstanding Skip the line tour. guide met us at the metro stop next to the train. Easy access and tickets read in hand. The guide was delightful. Spoke many languages and had actusally worked for a couple years at the Palace. Quite an enthusiast on the history which made the trip meaningful. Well done!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Would definitely recommend a trip to a beautiful palace. The craftsmanship and expanse of the palace are something to be seen!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Lap Kay Y

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The trip was pleasant and the tour guide was good. Excellent palace. Don't miss this.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message