Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Chateau Gardens

The most acclaimed example of formal French garden design, Versailles’ vast chateau gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths, ponds and canals. Spreading west of the palace, the Versailles Chateau Gardens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 6040 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nick W
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Maartin took our tour group from Paris out to the Palace and he was a fantastic guide! He loves his job and his enthusiasm shows through... He was incredibly informative and helpful and I would highly recommend doing this tour as getting out to the Palace can be a mission! Well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was on of my Paris highlights. Our group was small and our guide was very helpful.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

While Versailles is crowded and we spent most of our time in buildings (the gardens are amazing!), this was a very worthwhile trip. Our guide was excellent!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Stunning! Our guide Dan was excellent - informative and entertaining at the same time. And we saw so much more of Versailles and it's grounds on a bicycle...picnic by the water with a view of the palace a highlight! An experience to be repeated when next in Paris

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Belen was a most outstanding guide for us! Our tour of the Louvre and Orsay museums were the high point of our 3 week trip. A most memorable experience! Thanks again -

Doing what: Versailles Walking Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

By far, my most fun day in Paris!
Our "Wolf Pack" leader, Anna, was knowledgable and fantastic. Owoooo!
Market shopping and picnic by the grand canal was a great experience. The amount of riding (approximate 10 miles)was manageable and lot of fun. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We missed our morning tour because we underestimated how long it would take on the RER to get there. Luckily, there was an afternoon tour scheduled so we were moved to that. We rented a golf cart and drove thru the gardens in the meantime.
Our tour guide was exceptional. Enthusiasm, interesting stories on all the inhabitants at Versailles and a great sense of humor. It made the tour fantastic and our botched morning worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day! Very good tour with a good guide. Excellent lunch and he made it very enjoyable.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous tour! Wish I had more time in the outside gardens!

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Do not miss this trip. Magnificent!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

To be fair in my review, I have to separate the tour from the tour guide. First, our guide. We had Rosa, and I don't think we could have had a better tour guide. She picked us up at our hotel and deftly navigated the crowded and chaotic Paris streets to get us to the palace. She was incredibly knowledgeable, kind and smart. She shared a lot of great knowledge about the different rooms, architecture and former occupants of the palaces. Her timing at each of the events was great, always keeping us moving, but not too fast. We made several short stops for bathroom breaks and gift shops. Long enough to satisfy my wife, but not so long to irritating to me. Rosa moved the van several times to keep our walks as short as possible.

The palace itself is quite amazing. There were several paintings inside that didn't really excite me, but I am sure an art lover would really enjoy them. The tour actually goes to three buildings, perhaps this should have been clear to me, but I am a clueless American - that's why I took a guided tour. Each building was successively less grand, yet I seemed to enjoy each one more than the first. Because we went in November, the fountains were off and statues in the courtyard were covered. This was a little disappointing, but understandable. The tradeoff is we didn't bake under a hot sun, and I suppose their were few visitors to contend with. The lunch was at a great setting, though the food was only good, not great. We had 2 selections, salmon or steak. I got the steak and my wife the salmon. I think we were equally satisfied with our meals. Also included was a salad and a desert and drinks.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour of the gardens was delightful and informative. The tour guide was lively and had a terrific sense of humor which definitely added to the experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A must see. What a wonderful experience it was, Juan Carlos was our guide so knowledgeable. He took us throughout the outside grounds, it was wonderful. A great experience which was the best tour we took in Paris. I recommend this tour to everyone. It was so worth it,after he explained where we could walk for a bite for lunch. Several places to eat very good. We took the RER back to hotel with no problems,it was very easy

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message