• USD ($)
  • English

Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Chateau Gardens

The most acclaimed example of formal French garden design, Versailles’ vast chateau gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths, ponds and canals. Spreading west of the palace, the Versailles Chateau Gardens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4931 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A beautiful day. Our guide was great

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was an excellent tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. She also kept an eye out for my youngest daughter who stuck to her like glue. There was time afterwards to walk the property and gardens. The coach bus was very comfortable. I would do it again without hesitation.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Once we overcame our `misreading' of the correspondence of what to do on arrival we found the trip extremely good. Our guide Elizabeth was excellent. My husband is deaf but he found the headphones very satisfactory and we loved the point that it was our guide speaking, not an audio cassette, so no turning it off and on to hear about each room. We would recommend this the best way to learn about the history of Versailles with all the little extras that a good guide gives. Sorry no photos because too intrigued to hear from our guide. Plenty of books with beautiful pictures!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide, Paul, was very informative, not only on Versailles but on other French topics as well. The tour was well organised and very easy to catch the train to and from Versailles.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our recent trip to Paris included a day long visit to Versailles and that was a highlight of our wonderful week long sojourn to France. While the price tag initially seemed a tad spendy when I purchased our tickets, it was worth every penny...and then some! Our guide-Nadia (not sure if I am spelling her name correctly?) picked us up at our hotel and was VERY personable and knowledgeable about the areas we passed to and fro Versailles and of course Versailles itself. Plus she had an excellent sense of humor! The day had an excellent sense of flow to it and there was ample time for a bit of on our own exploring and questions in addition to the history that Nadia related to us. Our small group size was perfect (there were nine of us, including Nadia) and a lovely time was had at lunch discussing topics from A-Z. I can not say enough positive things about this tour and would recommend it to anyone wanting a bit more of an indepth experience at Versailles. Thank you Viator and Nadia!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic trip. I loved the history, the stop and food at the market. Our guide Dan was very helpful and considerate. The best was to stop and picnic in the fields, out of this world, delicious food in a magnificent place. You'll love it, just don't do it on Sunday, the castle is too crowded.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was worth it. The free audio was a big help. No need for long lines and the Palace of Versailles is a must see.It is beautiful. The drive back and forth was comfortable and hassle free.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Chantelle was a very good tour guide. She was very knowledgable and informative. The tour through Versailles was very good, Chantelle ensured that she pointed out all the features in the palace. Giverny was beautiful. Thank you.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Jes was fabulous! Informative and entertaining!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour...the tour guide was sensational, friendly, extremely knowledgeable and passionate...we would not have gotten half the enjoyment without her on the tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great trip our guide was knowledgeable and very likeable. Lunch was fabulous, food and atmosphere. Riding along the grounds of Versailles was a highlight of my trip. Warning, this trip sounds like an easy ride around the grounds then off to see the palace. The day I was there the weather was perfect, sunny, and not to hot....by the time we made it to the palace we were physically exhausted and tired, we enjoyed the palace but were to tired to take on the gardens. We opted not to leave with the group, found a great people watching pub had a couple of beers, regained our strength then headed home. This was a top notch tour that I would do again.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A great tour. Also, very easy to get around with the audio guide about the history of the palace.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I wish we were here a few weeks later when the gardens were in bloom. Our guide was very knowledgeable and able to answer lots of questions. My suggestion is to take the earlier tour (we went in the afternoon) so you can go more on your own and explore. The afternoon one ended right as they were closing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our tour was rearranged a little because we were supposed to go straight to the palace without any tour of the gardens. We ended up getting a short tour of the gardens because our appointment to skip the lines and visit the palace was later than originally planned. So an added bonus. Unfortunately, our guide was not loud and it was difficult for all of us on the tour to hear her when we were outside. She provided us headsets when we went into Versailles to hear her and that was very helpful, but not outside where we could use them as well.
We had our 3 children (ages 14, 11 and 10) with us. They were totally bored. The guide geared the tour to adults, not children. This was not billed as a children friendly tour. I mention the children's boredom to families thinking about this tour. Would be better to consider a tour that is geared for children if you want your children to be interested in Versailles. From an adults perspective--overall guide tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Redemption of the tickets was very easy - had our bus passes to Versailles within minutes of arriving at the station. The bus was comfortable, clean and right on time. Two hours at Versailles was plenty for us, given the cooler temps that day - enough time to tour the Chateau and some of the grounds. Had the weather been warmer and we had wanted to see more of the grounds, it may have been a bit too short to make the most of the trip. No regrets, would make the same decision to do it all over again.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message