Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Chateau Gardens

The most acclaimed example of formal French garden design, Versailles’ vast chateau gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths, ponds and canals. Spreading west of the palace, the Versailles Chateau Gardens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 6883 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Don't miss this opportunity to see the Versailles gardens as they were meant to be seen. We spent 3 hours wandering around splendid lit up magical fountains that played jets of water to baroque music, little grottos with mist dry ice and glorious fireworks at the end. It was a wonderful end to our two day trip to Versailles with teenage kids, they loved the show.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great way to see the Versailles Palace. It was easy to meet at the cafe,and get your train ticket. Stephanie our guide was funny and informative taking us through the gardens, which were beautiful. We were there on a Sunday so got to see the dancing fountains. We really loved learning about the history and the Palace was beautiful.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We cannot say enough great things about this tour. It was the highlight of our trip. Valentine was a wonderful guide, experienced in French history and great cheese. We had some challenges with our 5 year old and her ability to keep up with the group and he offered to take her on his bike. In the end we were able to sort it out with our group and make some great friends in the process. This tour was the absolute best and the highlight of our entire European vacation.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing. The tour guides were fantastic. They made it so worth while. Thank you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Even though we were unfortunate enough to snag a bad weather day, the tour of Versaille by bike is not to be missed. Going to the markets to buy our own produce for the picnic lunch, including a premium wine gave you a feel for the town itself. Our tour guide Paddy was fantastic, providing such great insights into the town, the palace and the various Kings/Queens of a particular time in French history. The picnic in the grounds was by far the best part, and that's despite the rain! Great work guys, we'd do it again!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

my favorite of the trip!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Duke
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Was fun riding a bicycle around the gardens of Versailles. Before we even started on our bike ride, we stopped at the local Farmers Market and purchased items for a picnic. We then biked through the streets and into the Versailles gardens. After biking for awhile, we stopped along the Grand Canal and had our picnic and afterwards, toured the Palace of Versailles with the other 50 million folks. Only complaint was how crowed the Palace was. Still was lot's of fun!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Melissa was our tour guide and she was very sweet and knowledgable. We had 3 children and two Seniors with us and she was patient and really engrossed everyone in the history of the Palace. We got on the train quickly and in the gardens quickly. The walk wasn't bad at all. It was the end of July in the throes of a tourist invasion and we were in the Palace within 5 minutes cutting an extremely long 2-3 hour line. I recommend this tour completely!!!!

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was one of the best experiences we had during the whole vacation. Our tour guide, Claudia, was the best

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great highlight of a 10-day trip in England and France. Our tour guide, Steve, used his knowledge, interpersonal skills, sense of humor and picnic-preparedness to make a memorable Sunday for a group of 20, ranging from 15 to 70. We were especially fortunate to be the first group to depart 1 of 8 on that July Sunday, so we got a nice early start on the train and in the parks.

Going to the market and riding on the Versailles grounds and having a picnic with a view of the palace were wonderful experiences. The palace was jammed with tourists as indicated by others on a July Sunday, but the skip-the-line access allowed us to minimize time in the crowds and move through to the gardens where Sunday brought the bonus of fountains operating throughout the gardens, with classical music playing from speakers which was fun, if not high-fidelity.

I took this tour with my 15-year-old granddaughter. Being 66, I wondered if the ride would be too strenuous, but the tour was broken into lots of small segments, broken up by descriptions of the landscape, picnic, etc. It was very doable and I would recommend it to anyone in decent shape who wants a special experience alone or with friends and family.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent. Our guide Kareem was knowledgeable and friendly. Despite the rainy and cool conditions we had a great time. Giverny was the stop my daughter had been wanting to visit for years and it did not disappoint. Versailles, again was crowded, but our guide did a great job of showing us the palace in an excellent manner. Lunch stop was also great. Excellent lunch. All in all a great tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day and lunch with a very informed guide. No ques or lines straight in Would defiantly recommend.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic experience. Tour Guide in the bus and a different one at Versailles were very knowledgeable and personable. Too bad couldn't take train. Just the right amount of time. The headsets were incredibly useful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My daughter and I loved this tour. We so enjoyed shopping for our French picnic and leaning about the history of Versaille. William our guide was knowledgeable, fun, and full of energy. I highly recommend this trip to visitors. PS You need to be in decent physical shape so you don't slow down others on the tour.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was well worth the money. Our guide was extremly knowlegeable and gave us lot of good background information while waiting for the train to take us to Vesailles. She continued to be a fountain of knowledge and information and presented it well as we toured the gardens. We then had as much time as we wanted to spend at Versailles and really dnjoyed it. Great tour with one of the best guides we could ask for.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this full day out to Giverny and Versailles. We had a wonderful small group of people and jumped all the queues at each venue, which was priceless during the high Summer season. The time allowed at Giverny was perfect to see both Monet's garden and the fantastic museum too. The lunch provided was delicious before we headed to Versailles. There is never enough time to see Versailles but the tour allowed us to see the gardens and have a extremely informative tour of the Palace.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very well organised and great fun. Our guide was brilliant. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was awesome! We met our tour guide very near the train station and after a 25 minute train ride, arrived a few blocks from Versaille. Our tour guide, Victor, was incredible. He took us straight to the gardens, no waiting. We skipped a line in 90 degree heat that would have taken us two hours at least. Our group was small and we learned so many interesting details. Victor took us inside, gave us our headphones and let us finish the tour on our own at our own pace. We were able to stop and rest and grab a bite inside the palace. We then took the same train back. It was well worth the money!

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour and history of Versailles. Our guide was nice but had a strong French accent for an English speaking tour. Overall I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Pick up at apartment in Paris for our party of 8. Giveryn was crowded but beautiful adore a night's rain in early August. The lunch was small but perfect, if without choice. Versailles was hugely crowded but interesting. Back by 6 pm as promised. The driver/guide habib was excellent. Great for a family day out to reach 2 places and fulfil a dream! Dominic

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Ural T
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was highly informative and enjoyable even with the large amount of crowds. The gardens are massive and the fountain shows were very impressive.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Steve was fabulous, and you could tell he was passionate about what he does. Herding a group of 20 is no small feat through the city transit either. He was attentive, very knowledgeable and did a great job of presenting everything during our tour. A fun day and best way to see these grounds!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were a group of 5, including our 19 month grandson. The tour delivered as promised- we met our first guide in front of the designated Metro stop and instead of riding the train, there was a nice motor coach for us. The guide on the journey to Versaiiles was Patrice- he was funny and kept us entertained and informed as we traveled through Paris and then out to the palace. Once we were there, Patrice turned us over to our guides for the walking tour and the bus was split into two groups. Our group had to wait around 25 minutes for some people who were supposed to meet us at Versailles but finally we left without them- our group did not have much time in the gardens as a result. We did not have to wait in the mile long line snaking through the courtyard, thank goodness. I feel we did luck out with our marvelous guide, Clair, however! She was so adept at getting us through the palace- it was Thursday so less crowded, she said and fewer pickpockets. It was still wall to wall people inside the rooms. The palace is a must see when visiting Paris- it creates historical perspective on the French Revolution, for sure- much in the way of excess and opulence!
In conclusion, I am not sure if a train ride would have been as easy as the bus we had but this tour was highly enjoyable for our group and a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour. Our guide, Ben, was polite, friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. Our group size was 20, rather than the 12 we were led to believe, but this did not deter from this experience at all. Ben made us all feel a valued part of the group, including us all and managing to remember our names and where we were from! We received clear instructions on how to find our rendezvous point, and from there on everything went swimmingly. We were guided onto the train and to Versailles itself without any worries about getting lost. Ben gave us a thorough grounding in French history as we walked around the gardens looking a the key areas and we were given time to take all the pictures we wanted. The 'skip the line' ticket is a godsend.....the queues to get in were enormous, even before opening time! We had a short wait past our allotted entrance time, but Ben managed to get us admitted and set up with our audio guides and return train tickets with minimal stress to ourselves. We were given a map to assist our return to the train station, but it was so easy and only about a 5 minute walk, that we didn't use it. We were then able to enjoy a trip around the Palace at our leisure. This is a great way to get a full day at Versailles with a skip the line ticket and guide. We stayed all day, managing to pull in a leisurely lunch at Angelina's restaurant, visit to the Petit Trianon and the Queen's Hamlet with a ride on the Petit Train!

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome tour!! Going to the markets and the picnic lunch were amazing!! Only good way to see Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message