Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles (Château de Versailles)

Visiting the opulent Palace of Versailles is on most people’s to do lists, famous through history for its decor, design and over-the-top glamour. The grandest and most famous chateau in France was built during the reign of the Sun King, Louis ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 161 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

isalove04

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a lovely tour. It was nice to be out and about on the segway in the Versailles Gardens.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Natalie G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour, the guide was very friendly and had plenty of knowledge in Versailles. I thought the tour was expensive as it was only two hours and the guide didn't show all the rooms that were open. However I still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Candice K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

I booked this tour so I could skip the line . It was not that crowded in February and I probably could have had as much from the audio tour headsets that Versailles provides directly.

Our guide just did not speak English that well and had lots of silly jokes about us coming back to stay in Versailles and who we would invite ect.

She did point out some things about the renovations and lifestyle back when the palace was in full swing and made sure we k new when we left the building we could not reenter.

I just did not think it was worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Kari A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour of Versailles grounds. Our guide, Cyril, was able to explain so much about the history and background of what we were seeing. The Segways were such fun, a quick lesson from Cyril and we were off! My son thanked me multiple times for setting this up, and I am sure this would be at the top of our list to repeat when we go back. Great family outing, highly recommend!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Frances M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really good fun and a great way to see a larger area such as the gardens at Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Elaine M USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was not the tour I wanted to book, but was the only one available for the day I could go to Versailles. I did not enjoy the brief tour of the gardens and felt it was a waste of time. It may have been the time of the year, but the gardens we were shown were not that attractive, although we did get some information about how they were used back in the day. While the information we were provided during the tour of the palace was good, the palace was just so packed, it was hard for the group to stay together and hard to ask questions. A small group tour of 30 means nothing most days at Versailles. You're just packed in there with everyone else. Just traveling to Versailles and visiting the palace and the Hamlet takes most of the day. We were fortunate enough to be there when the fountains were turned on, and that was nice. There is a separate entrance fee to the Hamlet, which I did not know and you're not provided with good information on how to get around and what you're seeing. My best advice is to try to visit on a day when it isn't so crowded, but how do you know when that is? Still, being on a tour sure helps avoid the long, long lines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

nazky102

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is one of the highlight tour in Paris you can't miss!. The tour office/ meeting place is very conveniently located in front of the RER C train station in Versailles. We skipped the ticket lines and security checks was fast track. Although i have read about French History, having a knowledgeable and very pretty guide is a plus. thank you very much to our guide Amandine! The place is amazing, but the garden is spectacular!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Keval S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was great and the guide was excellent! Highly recommend visiting Versailles!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Evi O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was not only very affordable, it was ABSOLUTELY necessary when trying to get into the Palace of Versailles. By the time we met our tour guide and were about to enter the group tours entrance, the line for individual entrance was out into the main street thousands of feet long.

Not only that, our tour guide added context and meaning to the gardens and palace that we never would have got on our own. Without a tour guide, this is just a very pretty building. This is the very best half day tour available in Versailles!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Huddo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Rail travel to Versailles was easy and trouble free. The tour operator's office was directly across from the station and provided us with a simple and pleasant checkin. Our small group tour of 8 people and a very pleasant, personable and knowledgeable guide was the only way to see Versailles. Save for a minor hiccup on entry, which took 30mins to sort out with an over officious, arrogant, obstinate entry official, we had a wonderful day. Our tour guide deserves considerable credit for managing such a difficult person at the same time as managing the small group. Being in a small group with a very smart guide got us through the large crowds easily and into the best vantage points for seeing each room and taking photos. The Palace itself is stunning with the highlight being the Hall of Mirrors. We then went on a short bus tour to learn a little of the town of Versailles before a considerable amount of walking to tour the Petite Trianon, Marie Antoinette's Hamlet fabulous and the Grand Trianon. We then toured the gardens and viewed some of the better Groves. Our guide was quite outstanding in her knowledge and management of the group because of the considerable amount of walking - toilet breaks provided. A fabulous day and an easy rail trip back to Paris although very crowded. Good value for money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We really enjoyed our tour today with Amadine. She was very knowledgeable and we found out some very interesting facts about the palace and gardens. She walked at an excellent pace, and we were able to hear her well with our headsets in the palace. She had a great sense of humor about the death of Louis XIV with what the smell would have been like, and how their lives were so public. The palace is packed with many visitors, but going in the morning you miss some of the lines.
We found out a great deal about the monarchy and the opulence of Versailles. I recommend the tour highly. I also think the 1/2 day was perfect. If you wanted more you could go back to the gardens and Marie Antoinette's palace, or you could choose to call it a day. Nice option.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Marsha A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

We had a wonderful trip to Versailles with Viator. We were able to skip the long line on a sunny, hot day. Our guide , Claire, was great. She gave us headphones so that we could hear her speaking and yet walk a bit at our own pace. This was especially nice because it blocked out the noise from the other tour guides.
My only complaint is that I did not see the tour start time on our voucher. I emailed Viatour 24 hours beforehand but the never responded! Luckily, I later found it in the small print but don't know what I would have done otherwise.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Jill Ann P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

I believe we may have really enjoyed this, but there were some unforeseen problems that came up for us nothing to do with Versailles that made it not so enjoyable. The heat was a bit much as well. Very beautiful though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Andrew B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Visiting Versailles was a must. Unfortunately it was very crowded for our August visit and cosnequently hard to stay close with our group and following along with the tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

mjandejathome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

I am very disappointed. When I got to paris the best deal for versailles chateau included the gardens so I wasted my money on your tour which I have not used

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Anna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Don't miss this opportunity to see the Versailles gardens as they were meant to be seen. We spent 3 hours wandering around splendid lit up magical fountains that played jets of water to baroque music, little grottos with mist dry ice and glorious fireworks at the end. It was a wonderful end to our two day trip to Versailles with teenage kids, they loved the show.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Poweide K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a good time on the Versailles Tour.

Although we arrived late for our pre-booked appointment, the tour company were proactive in contacting us and rearranged a later time for us. We truly appreciated their flexibility and great customer service.

The location of the tour company is conveniently situated close to one of the palace gates. At the start of the tour, we had good instructions on how to use the segway, and the guide who was very friendly and helpful kept a keen eye on our safety for the duration of the tour. We learnt a great deal about the Palace and its related history. Thank you Mattias! I would certainly recommend company for those who'd like such an experience. It was great fun!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

JEAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really the best way to see the grounds of Versailles and the exterior of all the buildings, as well as learn the history of Versailles. Outstanding, fun tour!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

dna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Despite the rain the line for entry into Versailles was unbelievable. Our small tour group went straight into the garden / palace. It was extremely crowded inside but our tour guide was extremely apt at working the crowd and making room for our group. She was very knowledgeable about the history and customs and we learnt a great deal. If you want to visit Verseille I highly recommend this tour.

Once the tour is finished you can spend all day in the gardens, which would be lovely on a sunny day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Adam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

You should definitely get the optional Royal Serenade. The entertainment they provide is great and afterwards you will get a chance to take pictures of the palace with little to no crowd around. The summer fountains night show and the fireworks were a great way to end a day at Versailles. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

anne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, our guide was wonderful and extremely informative, you could ask her a question about the smallest detail and she had an answer. Definitely worth the extra money, there was a 3 hour line that we completely bypassed by doing this tour! Make sure when you're done to go down through the gardens to the canal, there are two cute restaurants there and you can rent boats, enjoy the park, rent a golf cart and see all the grounds - definitely more to do at Versailles than see the house and close gardens.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Judith C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Versailles, the fireworks, and fire show were spectacular. Nice touch to add a full moon rising above the palace as it got dark . The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was because there was no fountain show I believe that ended in July and we didn't know that, and the tickets we bought online had to be exchanged at a separate location, meaning we waited in 2 lines instead of one

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Cindi S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The Royal Serenade was great, but the fireworks were just not worth it. There was not enough facilities toilets etc. to handle that number of people. Just horrible! No places to sit, and so much dust from the walking areas. The grounds looked so unkept. I was sorry that we took family members there and wasted their time in Europe even bothering with Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Darlene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very knowledgeable guide. It was wonderful to see the back gardens and begin to understand the way the gardens are laid out and the history of the Versailles. Would recommend everyone do this before or after they tour the main grounds and palace. Well done!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message