Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles (Château de Versailles)

Visiting the opulent Palace of Versailles is on most people’s to do lists, famous through history for its decor, design and over-the-top glamour. The grandest and most famous chateau in France was built during the reign of the Sun King, Louis ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had such a great time visiting Versailles! Our guide was very informative and easy to talk to. This was one of our favorite days of our trip. Very worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pauline was the most wonderful enthusiastic and knowledgable young lady. She told us all about Versailles Chateau and after lunch walked with us for 3 hours through petit and grand Trianon and the hamlet and gardens.
Whatever you do - do the small group tour. - more than worth it
It all came to life with her commentary

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Can also buy tickets for this company at train station or Court of Scents. Ticket includes admission to gardens, which would be additional. Versailles is easy to get to from Paris by train.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was by far my 13 year old's favorite part of our trip to Europe. It was a wonderful way to be outdoors, see the beauty of the gardens and hear the history of the Palace of Versailles. After being on tour buses and walking through Paris this was a wonderful change. Our guide was excellent. He took time to train us to use the Segway and after a few minutes we were quite comfortable. He as very knowledgable and we stopped throughout the tour for photos.

Additional details: To see the ornate gardens, you will need to pay a few Euro and access those area on foot. The Segways aren't allowed in those areas. The location for this tour isn't at the main entrance to the palace. It's about 30 minutes away on foot. If you arrive early there are a few restaurants around the corner.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pauline was very knowledgeable about Versailles and we enjoyed the tour very much. We never could have seen all of the fountains and different parts of the chateau without her expertise and know-how of where to go and when. We saw the chateau, the Hamlet, about half of the fountains, the Petite Trianon, the Grand Trianon, and the Orangerie. We ended up walking 16 miles that day! Couldn't have seen it it all if we didn't skip the line...definitely worth the price. Pauline said the wait can be up to 4 hours on a typical day! Just to get inside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was great as was the booking service - we were late and they accommodated us very nicely. Skipping the line is an absolute must. Don't think of going without this. The tour itself was painful (hot and crowded beyond American fire codes)- but this is a problem of Versailles in the Summer, not Viator. I'd recommend the company/guide but caution against the tour itself. I'd never used Viator before this and all my concerns about reliability were allayed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Once we found the starting point the tour went very smoothly. Our guide was informative and caring of her guests. We didn't have to line up and wait to get in which was fabulous. The gardens and inside the Palace were truly amazing and well worth the visit. We took the metro and then RER train to Versailles which proved simple and safe.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Aurora, the tour guide to the Palace of Versailles was very nice at explaining the history and political implications related to that magnificent place in English. The tour was nice from beginning to end.The Palace was crowded though, what prevented people from taking good pics and also have a more relaxing time inside that place. The staff at the meeting point also explained we should buy the train ticket back to Paris in advance in case we were going to stay for the show at night. Later on, the Night Fountain Show at the palace gardens was amazing. Very good music and a nice water and fire presentation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

I was disappointed in working with Viator. I arrived with eight students a couple hours before our 3:10 appointment so that the students could walk around the town a bit. At 3:00 p.m. we checked in with Viator, but they were unprepared for us and asked us to meet up with our guide an hour later, at 4:10 p.m.

This wasn't a big deal to me, but the students were frustrated that they had to spend another hour in town rather than heading into Versailles.

The tour finally kicked in at 4:30 and it was the last one that we could participate in, as Versailles closes to visitors at 6 p.m.

The good news is that our guide, Auror, was exceptional. She was extremely knowledgeable and easy to listen to.

So overall, a mixed review. The tour itself was dynamic, but the execution was not as seamless.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour guide did not speak English well. She also had terrible body odor. Versailles was so crowded that we couldn't even really enjoy any of it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing Tour....unfortunately when we got there our tour had already started and left without us.....but the local tour company bent over backwards to accommodate us and quickly had a tour guide take us privately to view the gardens and made preparations for us to tour Versailles palace on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an amazing tour and our favorite out of all the ones we took on our 6 week European adventure! The company providing the tour went way above and beyond the call of duty. We managed to get on the wrong train to Versailles and arrived well after our tour was to have started. We knew we had missed the guided tour but hoped, at least, that they would provide us with the tickets. We didn't expect anything else but got so much more :) They put us with Claire for our very own private guided tour! Claire was absolutely fantastic and spent the entire day with just the two of us. She was so pleasant and knowledgeable and we just loved her! She went at our pace and was able to answer every single question we had. By the end of the day it felt like we had known her forever. We saw and experienced the Palace of Versailles, the surrounding gardens, cottages and houses which are absolutely stunning and almost overwhelming in size. It should not be missed if you ever have the chance. She told us so much about Louis XIV and the history of how the palace and grounds evolved over time with each subsequent King Louis. Fascinating! No wonder there was a French Revolution, haha! The opulence contained there is beyond compare. Today it is a national treasure and rightly so!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way to see Versailles on a half-day tour, very knowledgable guide, stay for the day to spend more time in the gardens!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A little bit hard to find the meeting site and it is a large site to get around; as a result, we were a little late joining the tour but the guide offered to spend more time with us after the formal tour. Can't imagine seeing Versailles without the knowledgeable guidance of our tour leader. And, no lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Our guide was very nice, and fun! However, I don't think the tour is as described, as we did not go into the "Versailles Gardens" - only the park and grounds surrounding the palaces. My understanding is that we would go into the formal gardens, but we just went down one side of the canal and up the other, then some surrounding area. Segways are lots of fun and we enjoyed it, but disappointed in where we could go and think it should be described better. There was no City touring either.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message