Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles (Château de Versailles)

Visiting the opulent Palace of Versailles is on most people’s to do lists, famous through history for its decor, design and over-the-top glamour. The grandest and most famous chateau in France was built during the reign of the Sun King, Louis ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was wonderful. It was a very thorough tour of Versailles. We had a very knowledgeable and accommodating guide, that took her time and was happy to answer any questions we had along the way. She was on time and didn't rush us through the tour. Great day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The gardens and fountains at Versailles were fabulous! The palace was amazing!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

From the moment the guide picked us up at the tour office in versailles, it was clear she had one thing on her mind-moving through the tour quickly. She was way ahead of us all. If you stopped to take a photo, you had to run to catch up with her. The garden tour was a waste of time. It was definitely good to have the skip the line tour. She did a nice job inside the palace and gave a good narration. What was the point of the outside exhausting hour when we had a pass for the fountain displays after? We should just have met, gone inside and then been free for the gardens.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It's absolutely beautiful, well worth time and ticket price--the favorite part of Versailles for our 2 children (12 and 14). Waited 2 hrs on Easter to see interior and it was dangerously crowded. Impossible to really see rooms so in a do-over I'd skip interior and focus on fountains and out buildings

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent introduction to Versailles. Our guide, Natalie, was knowledgeable, funny and friendly. She shared interesting facts and stories. Having the gardens virtually to ourselves in the early morning sunshine was a real treat. Despite the crowds in the State Rooms, we saw a lot and Natalie gave us tips on what else to see on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

This tour was mediocre, sadly. I felt the guide was very informed on Versailles and certainly knew her stuff but it lacked that extra titbit of information, that interesting fact that perhaps would make the visit more specialised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The Versailles Gardens during the winter are bone to be closed to the public. Although the weather was foggy and windy, they confirmed the Gardens Segway Tour but when I got there we were told that, the Palace Administration "just closed the gardens". Had it not be the second time in a row it happened to me, I could very well believe. But honestly, the people from Versailles just wanted my money and offered me as an alternative a segway tour around the city of Versailles that lasted no more than 1 hour (while I paid for a 2 hours tour). Regardless to say that that was far from being worth the trip from Paris and my money. Be very cautions and expect the worse from the winter weather at Versailles and from the Segway Events. No wonder as other more respectful companies do not run such activity during the winter.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

I love Versailles. We went when the fountains were going and it is beautiful. Our tour guide was very nice and very informative. Second time at Versailles and I would go again. Thanks

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We missed our morning tour because we underestimated how long it would take on the RER to get there. Luckily, there was an afternoon tour scheduled so we were moved to that. We rented a golf cart and drove thru the gardens in the meantime.
Our tour guide was exceptional. Enthusiasm, interesting stories on all the inhabitants at Versailles and a great sense of humor. It made the tour fantastic and our botched morning worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I had already been to Versailles as a little boy, but returning to see it as an adult was a rewarding experience. It's an amazing piece of French history. The tour guide was informative and helpful, and the pace was just right.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

My overall experience with our Versailles tour was not very good. Upon arrival it is very confusing to find the viator office to meet with the tour guide and employees at Versailles are not very helpful in telling you where to go. When I purchased my tickets it stated "skip the line, half day tour" We most definitely did not skip the line. We waited almost 50 minutes to enter the building packed between several groups of small school children. At least 25-30 per group. Other people who took the train with us with out tickets promptly purchased them at the counter and entered within 5 minutes! Then once we were smashed inside with all these huge groups of people our "half day tour" only went through one tiny section of the palace for about 2 hours. I left the group and went ahead of all the masses and had a much more enjoyable time being away from all the groups. We spent way more money to wait MUCH longer in line and be crammed into each room with all the huge groups.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our 'skip the line' tour of Versailles Palace and Gardens was simply superb. In our party of 4, three had never been there before and were blown away by the whole experience. Our tour guide, Sophie, was sensational, opening up a side of the Palace we all found fascinating to learn about. We also appreciated that the Palace deserved a full day tour. A half day would never have done it justice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was very informative. She was happy to answer questions about Versailles or Paris in general. She was very entertaining. A great tour all round. Versailles is absolutely stunning, definitely not to be missed on a trip to Paris

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and her english was excellent. She had a very entertaining way of presenting the fascinating history of Versailles and the French kings in all of their glory, including the not-so-well-known quirky side of many of them. I would not go on a Tuesday again. We knew it would be busy, but it was the only day we had available. (Versailles is closed on Monday and the Louvre is closed on Tuesday so everyone heads to Versailles on Tuesdays.) The gardens are obviously large enough that there is plenty of space to spread out, but the chateau was absolutely packed with people almost to the point of not being able to move through some areas. But I'm glad we went and we would go again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had such a wonderful time on our full day tour of Versailles! Our guide was fantastic, engaging and took the time to answer all questions. Our morning tour had 12 people, but most had signed up for the morning only and the entire afternoon was only six people, it was wonderful! This tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Tip: Wear comfortable shoes/ sneakers. There is a LOT of walking!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As a family we enjoyed the full day at Versailles. Our guide Clare was fantastic and gave us plenty of anecdotes about the Royals who lived there. It was a great extra touch when Clare provided bread for the kids to feed the ducks and fish in Marie Antoinette's garden.It was a very small tour group of our 5 plus two which made it very relaxed to do the whole day. We did it on a Sunday and the fountain display was fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had been to Versailles before but had never visited gardens. The tour guide was excellent and extremely knowledgeable. Our tour was a small group of four and the only way to go! The guide was able to address our specific and individualized questions, therefore, being able to go into great depth when the occasion occurred.
Have good walking shoes and bring along an extra camera battery. You’ll need both! We walked for about six hours and literally covered the entire grounds. Exploring the grounds was an incredible adventure! Marie Antoinette’s Estate was the ” Cerise sur le gateau”

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My daughter and I had a wonderful tour of Versailles with our knowledgeable, humorous and dedicated guide Paula (Paulina?). She was spirited and filled with back history and behind the door insights into life at Versailles during the period the palace was lived in by the royal families that made it all relevant to the building and grounds. It was a nine mile trek in all (Fitbit) so be sure to wear comfortable shoes...it is worth the exercise.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Our guide did her very best under the most challenging of circumstances - Versailles is simply too crowded to be a truly enjoyable experience which is unfortunate! We were happy not to have to go it alone but I believe the entire process should be revamped with specific entry times for both individuals and groups for better control.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had such a great time visiting Versailles! Our guide was very informative and easy to talk to. This was one of our favorite days of our trip. Very worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pauline was the most wonderful enthusiastic and knowledgable young lady. She told us all about Versailles Chateau and after lunch walked with us for 3 hours through petit and grand Trianon and the hamlet and gardens.
Whatever you do - do the small group tour. - more than worth it
It all came to life with her commentary

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our Versailles trip was perfect, thanks to our tour with Amandine. The small group was a perfect size to make the tour more conversational and personalized. Amandine shared lots of interesting history, as expected, but also shared insights and stories. When we went inside the "chateau," our group would sometimes get split up in the crowds. But Amandine's voice heard clearly through the blue tooth speaker system into our earphones kept us informed and eased us back together in each of the rooms. A really good system! At times, we had to listen carefully to understand her French-accented English, but that was a minor point and far overshadowed by a great tour. I highly recommend this way of seeing Versailles.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic way to see the Versailles park and some of the town. Segways move you across more ground than anyone could cover on foot or bike. And there is too much ground to cover otherwise.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We very much enjoyed our experience at Versailles - it was a long day as we had been there since early morning to do the castle tour.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Can also buy tickets for this company at train station or Court of Scents. Ticket includes admission to gardens, which would be additional. Versailles is easy to get to from Paris by train.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message