Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles (Château de Versailles)

Visiting the opulent Palace of Versailles is on most people’s to do lists, famous through history for its decor, design and over-the-top glamour. The grandest and most famous chateau in France was built during the reign of the Sun King, Louis ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and her english was excellent. She had a very entertaining way of presenting the fascinating history of Versailles and the French kings in all of their glory, including the not-so-well-known quirky side of many of them. I would not go on a Tuesday again. We knew it would be busy, but it was the only day we had available. (Versailles is closed on Monday and the Louvre is closed on Tuesday so everyone heads to Versailles on Tuesdays.) The gardens are obviously large enough that there is plenty of space to spread out, but the chateau was absolutely packed with people almost to the point of not being able to move through some areas. But I'm glad we went and we would go again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had such a wonderful time on our full day tour of Versailles! Our guide was fantastic, engaging and took the time to answer all questions. Our morning tour had 12 people, but most had signed up for the morning only and the entire afternoon was only six people, it was wonderful! This tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Tip: Wear comfortable shoes/ sneakers. There is a LOT of walking!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As a family we enjoyed the full day at Versailles. Our guide Clare was fantastic and gave us plenty of anecdotes about the Royals who lived there. It was a great extra touch when Clare provided bread for the kids to feed the ducks and fish in Marie Antoinette's garden.It was a very small tour group of our 5 plus two which made it very relaxed to do the whole day. We did it on a Sunday and the fountain display was fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Our guide did her very best under the most challenging of circumstances - Versailles is simply too crowded to be a truly enjoyable experience which is unfortunate! We were happy not to have to go it alone but I believe the entire process should be revamped with specific entry times for both individuals and groups for better control.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had such a great time visiting Versailles! Our guide was very informative and easy to talk to. This was one of our favorite days of our trip. Very worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pauline was the most wonderful enthusiastic and knowledgable young lady. She told us all about Versailles Chateau and after lunch walked with us for 3 hours through petit and grand Trianon and the hamlet and gardens.
Whatever you do - do the small group tour. - more than worth it
It all came to life with her commentary

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our Versailles trip was perfect, thanks to our tour with Amandine. The small group was a perfect size to make the tour more conversational and personalized. Amandine shared lots of interesting history, as expected, but also shared insights and stories. When we went inside the "chateau," our group would sometimes get split up in the crowds. But Amandine's voice heard clearly through the blue tooth speaker system into our earphones kept us informed and eased us back together in each of the rooms. A really good system! At times, we had to listen carefully to understand her French-accented English, but that was a minor point and far overshadowed by a great tour. I highly recommend this way of seeing Versailles.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic way to see the Versailles park and some of the town. Segways move you across more ground than anyone could cover on foot or bike. And there is too much ground to cover otherwise.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We very much enjoyed our experience at Versailles - it was a long day as we had been there since early morning to do the castle tour.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Can also buy tickets for this company at train station or Court of Scents. Ticket includes admission to gardens, which would be additional. Versailles is easy to get to from Paris by train.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was by far my 13 year old's favorite part of our trip to Europe. It was a wonderful way to be outdoors, see the beauty of the gardens and hear the history of the Palace of Versailles. After being on tour buses and walking through Paris this was a wonderful change. Our guide was excellent. He took time to train us to use the Segway and after a few minutes we were quite comfortable. He as very knowledgable and we stopped throughout the tour for photos.

Additional details: To see the ornate gardens, you will need to pay a few Euro and access those area on foot. The Segways aren't allowed in those areas. The location for this tour isn't at the main entrance to the palace. It's about 30 minutes away on foot. If you arrive early there are a few restaurants around the corner.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pauline was very knowledgeable about Versailles and we enjoyed the tour very much. We never could have seen all of the fountains and different parts of the chateau without her expertise and know-how of where to go and when. We saw the chateau, the Hamlet, about half of the fountains, the Petite Trianon, the Grand Trianon, and the Orangerie. We ended up walking 16 miles that day! Couldn't have seen it it all if we didn't skip the line...definitely worth the price. Pauline said the wait can be up to 4 hours on a typical day! Just to get inside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was great as was the booking service - we were late and they accommodated us very nicely. Skipping the line is an absolute must. Don't think of going without this. The tour itself was painful (hot and crowded beyond American fire codes)- but this is a problem of Versailles in the Summer, not Viator. I'd recommend the company/guide but caution against the tour itself. I'd never used Viator before this and all my concerns about reliability were allayed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Once we found the starting point the tour went very smoothly. Our guide was informative and caring of her guests. We didn't have to line up and wait to get in which was fabulous. The gardens and inside the Palace were truly amazing and well worth the visit. We took the metro and then RER train to Versailles which proved simple and safe.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Aurora, the tour guide to the Palace of Versailles was very nice at explaining the history and political implications related to that magnificent place in English. The tour was nice from beginning to end.The Palace was crowded though, what prevented people from taking good pics and also have a more relaxing time inside that place. The staff at the meeting point also explained we should buy the train ticket back to Paris in advance in case we were going to stay for the show at night. Later on, the Night Fountain Show at the palace gardens was amazing. Very good music and a nice water and fire presentation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message