Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles (Château de Versailles)

Visiting the opulent Palace of Versailles is on most people’s to do lists, famous through history for its decor, design and over-the-top glamour. The grandest and most famous chateau in France was built during the reign of the Sun King, Louis ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Don't miss this opportunity to see the Versailles gardens as they were meant to be seen. We spent 3 hours wandering around splendid lit up magical fountains that played jets of water to baroque music, little grottos with mist dry ice and glorious fireworks at the end. It was a wonderful end to our two day trip to Versailles with teenage kids, they loved the show.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a good time on the Versailles Tour.

Although we arrived late for our pre-booked appointment, the tour company were proactive in contacting us and rearranged a later time for us. We truly appreciated their flexibility and great customer service.

The location of the tour company is conveniently situated close to one of the palace gates. At the start of the tour, we had good instructions on how to use the segway, and the guide who was very friendly and helpful kept a keen eye on our safety for the duration of the tour. We learnt a great deal about the Palace and its related history. Thank you Mattias! I would certainly recommend company for those who'd like such an experience. It was great fun!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really the best way to see the grounds of Versailles and the exterior of all the buildings, as well as learn the history of Versailles. Outstanding, fun tour!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Despite the rain the line for entry into Versailles was unbelievable. Our small tour group went straight into the garden / palace. It was extremely crowded inside but our tour guide was extremely apt at working the crowd and making room for our group. She was very knowledgeable about the history and customs and we learnt a great deal. If you want to visit Verseille I highly recommend this tour.

Once the tour is finished you can spend all day in the gardens, which would be lovely on a sunny day.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

You should definitely get the optional Royal Serenade. The entertainment they provide is great and afterwards you will get a chance to take pictures of the palace with little to no crowd around. The summer fountains night show and the fireworks were a great way to end a day at Versailles. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, our guide was wonderful and extremely informative, you could ask her a question about the smallest detail and she had an answer. Definitely worth the extra money, there was a 3 hour line that we completely bypassed by doing this tour! Make sure when you're done to go down through the gardens to the canal, there are two cute restaurants there and you can rent boats, enjoy the park, rent a golf cart and see all the grounds - definitely more to do at Versailles than see the house and close gardens.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Versailles, the fireworks, and fire show were spectacular. Nice touch to add a full moon rising above the palace as it got dark . The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was because there was no fountain show I believe that ended in July and we didn't know that, and the tickets we bought online had to be exchanged at a separate location, meaning we waited in 2 lines instead of one

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The Royal Serenade was great, but the fireworks were just not worth it. There was not enough facilities toilets etc. to handle that number of people. Just horrible! No places to sit, and so much dust from the walking areas. The grounds looked so unkept. I was sorry that we took family members there and wasted their time in Europe even bothering with Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very knowledgeable guide. It was wonderful to see the back gardens and begin to understand the way the gardens are laid out and the history of the Versailles. Would recommend everyone do this before or after they tour the main grounds and palace. Well done!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour of Versailles was wonderful! Pauline was an excellent guide. She is very knowledgeable and did a great job with crowd control. It was an extremely busy day and she was able to carve out spots for us. The afternoon portion was relaxing and informative. Our children are 13 and 15 yrs old and Pauline was so good she kept them engaged during our tour. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was clearly one of the very top experiences we had in our Paris vacation. We had an excellent and friendly guide. There is no better way to see the gardens of Versailles given how large they are, which makes this tour especially good for a warm to hot day. You could see the looks of envy on people's faces as we flew past. Plus, it's just plain fun to ride a Segway.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour guide and a great introduction to Versailles. Nice balance of garden and tour of the palace itself. Tour guide was very friendly and good at explaining significance of small details that would otherwise go unnoticed. Highly recommend. You won't regret it.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The Palace of Versailles tour was amazing and our guide was great, she made found space for our group in the very crowded rooms. Really enjoyed the Place tour, but was a bit disappointed with the Night Fountain Show as we didn't have a guide for this and had to make our own way around each fountain display, but it was a bit difficult to work out the progression of the display. Seemed to be so many people wandering around unsure of what was happening next.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Worth it - consider staying in a hotel in Versailles to avoid the mad rush to the train.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The day we were there, it unfortunately rained but this is a must do trip. Our guide Isabel showed us so many things! This is not a tour for those who can't walk far or have poor endurance. We walked nearly all day. One important note is that we signed up for a Sunday tour which is heavy with visitors. We did this because of the water show only on Sundays. However, if you've been to the Bellagio in Vegas, you've seen much better. If we were to do over again, we'd go on a Tues -- Thurs where there's less crowds. We took the metro from Paris then connected to a train. BE SURE TO GET A TRAIN TICKET and not use your metro ticket only. We didn't know and were fined 60 Euro for riding the train without the right ticket. It takes about 1 hr to get to Versailles from Paris including connection times so give yourself ample schedule time. Enjoy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our trip to Versailles was everything we hoped it would be. In spite of huge Easter Sunday crowds, and chilly weather, Pauline, our guide, made it a great experience. She had a lot of interesting information, funny historical anecdotes and vast knowledge. She was also excellent and helping us navigate through the huge crowds, always making sure we were together and happy.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

After seeing the very long queues upon arrival at Versailles we were so glad we booked the Skip the Line tour. Our guide Pauline was brilliant. She was extremely knowledgable and kept our small group totally entertained during the tour. Versailles itself is absolutely amazing and a full day is definitely required to take in the grandeur of not only the Palace but also the grounds and the picturesque Grand and Petite Trianon. No hesitation in recommending this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely fantastic. A small group with a great guide, the only way to see the outer gardens of Versailles. The Segway's are a breeze, a quick learn the ropes and your on your way. Highly recommended, good value for money.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide office is right of the metro and they have people directing you there so is super easy to find. Our tour guide was Isabelle and she was funny, knowledgeable and took pictures of everyone when asked. A skip the line at Versailles is a must. There were thousands of people there.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

the office to pick up the tickets was moved and Viator had the old info -we called on the phone when we got to Versailles and our wonderful guide Johan came and found us so we were able to go on our tour

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

You definitely want to skip the line and have a small group guided tour for Versailles- unfortunately it was raining so the outside garden part was not a pleasant as we hoped -

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The Palace and gardens were absolutely outstanding
I am not happy with my booking with Viator unfortunately. Nothing on our ticket stated that we could not enter any areas until the evening after 18:30 So we had to pay an entrance fee to the gardens or sit outside until 18:30!! Yes we paid extra for the night show but wrongly assumed that because we brought a Versailles Garden Tickets we could enter the gardens in the day time!
It took us nearly 4 hours to go around the gardens so if we hadn't of paid the extra entrance fee we would defiantly not seen all the gardens, inside the palace and the fountain night show!
Be aware that the ticket you receive on line IS NOT A TICKET we had to in fact queue for ages at the ticket office, our fault that we did not see it in the small print! We nearly missed the show!
The staff were not knowledgeable about anything, lots of people were asking the staff questions and the answer was 'I think' or 'maybe' no one had a clue what was going on.
There were 4 toilet blocks in total, in the ladies there were 2 cubicles in each, the men 1 cubical and urinal. So just 8 toilets for women and 4 toilets for the men and urinals for approx 80,000 people!!!!!!!!!
By 2pm there was no toilet paper in the ladies, no soap, in the men's there was water/urine flooding the floor and queues were 25 - 30 people queuing every block of toilets all day.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was wonderful. It was a very thorough tour of Versailles. We had a very knowledgeable and accommodating guide, that took her time and was happy to answer any questions we had along the way. She was on time and didn't rush us through the tour. Great day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The gardens and fountains at Versailles were fabulous! The palace was amazing!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

From the moment the guide picked us up at the tour office in versailles, it was clear she had one thing on her mind-moving through the tour quickly. She was way ahead of us all. If you stopped to take a photo, you had to run to catch up with her. The garden tour was a waste of time. It was definitely good to have the skip the line tour. She did a nice job inside the palace and gave a good narration. What was the point of the outside exhausting hour when we had a pass for the fountain displays after? We should just have met, gone inside and then been free for the gardens.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message