Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Fountain Show (Grandes Eaux musicales)

Versailles’ vast gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned ponds, canals and lakes. One of the most acclaimed aspects of the gardens is the 50 fountains which act as focal points, enhancing the overall geometrical design. Baroque ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3614 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nancy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous tour. Our guide, Frederick, was outstanding. He picked us up and explained history, details, etc. the whole way there, in between the two locations, and on the way home. He also included what I believe to be a couple extra drive-bys on the way home, which really made you feel like you got your moneys worth. It was evident that he was knowledgeable and passionate about what he does. Versailles was gorgeous, as was Giverny. I think a full day at either location would be too much - this gave us a perfect taste of each. The lunch location is also unbelievably gorgeous and quaint, although it was't my favorite meal while eating in Paris. Do not hesitate to book this tour, it was wonderful!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Rekha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was simply superb. Both the guides were friendly and knowledgeable - wonderful experience

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

debra n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

this was the best way to see Versailles, the small group, priority access, and a great tour guide. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Trisha B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The shear size of this venue is overwhelming. I can't imagine trying to navigate it on my own. Our guide was great! it was well paced so plenty of time for photos and a bit of looking around on your own time as well.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

sergio a s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Bit expensive but great tour! You really use in a smart way your time.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Ted United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Better than expected. Good van, great driver. Had a great time and saw all the good stuff. Other passengers were the best too.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Alastair G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were picked up on the agreed time our driver was excellent in explaining what was happening throughout the day and also various history information on the way. As the day progressed all tickets and supporting all of us through the day so as we enjoyed a well organised care free day.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The small group tour gave us access to areas not open to the public and it was well worth the price. We were alone in the hall of mirrors, so definitely book the morning tour. Our guide was fantastic as she worked at Versailles and knows the history inside and out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Mike

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was great. It sure was god to have the private gudied tour rather than fight then lines. However, we did have a problem with the transporation to Versailles which caused us to be late for the gudided tour. I feel certain our guided tour nwas cut short because of the approxiamtely hour delay we endured.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

David H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Versailles is beautiful. It's a must see. This tour was not good. We did a lot of standing around and waiting. Our guide was late to the palace gates, where we waited. Her English was not good enough to be leading an English tour. Accent was super thick and inside the busy palace where there is background noise very few could hear or understand her. Don't miss Versailles but I recommend looking at other options.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Cobb United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Versailles was crowded, of course, and this does allow a separate entrance from individual visitors. But the audio from the guide was hard to hear: static, crowd noise, and her accent. This tour allowed insufficient time for the gardens. If you really want to see Versailles, go on a different tour or go individually. Both my friend and I agreed we should have skipped Versailles there are more enjoyable sites to visit. Giverny was very nice, and there was adequate time. But our guide, while technically sufficient, was clearly not enjoying her work - or at least it appeared to be that way.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

donnard_sturgis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful way to see Versailles. The lines were extremely long, and fortunately we bypassed those. Learning the history that went along with viewing the private quarters is well worth the price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Elaine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took a cab to meet the bus at Palace de Concorde per the instructions. The guide was delightful and had interesting commentary on the way to and from Versailles. Loved the coffee and croissant and loved the small group approach and the extra rooms we saw. We were a group of 4 and decided to take the golf cart in the gardens and were delighted with that too. Altogether, very nice.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Chonglun F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Musical Fountains Show was great!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Amy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was kind, courteous and very knowledgable. We had a great time!!! Would recommend this to anyone going to France.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Barry3391

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable not only of Giverny and Versailles but Paris as well. Only disappointment was that the museum in Gverny did not have many Monet pictures.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Lennix Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing. Wish I could give 10 stars. Our guide has worked at Versailles for 30 years. She was knowledgable, entertaining and extremely passionate about her subject matter.
The highlights of this tour were getting into the hall of mirrors while it was still empty and touring the private quarters and he chapel, where the general public are not allowed. After the tour of the Palace, we were given 3 hours to lunch and view the gardens. This is the only way to see Versailles. PS. Do the morning tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Lydia C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. We had the mirror room and chapel all for ourselves. I will improve the meeting place. It was not clear and we met other people that were on the tour wondering around as us, looking for it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Coral C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Easy and convenient, especially if you're staying close to the Louvre Museum, since the pick-up location is close by. Versailles is crowded but a nice thing to add to your trip.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour

Luca C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Versailles was amazing. There was a strike going on and we were delayed about an hour and a half.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Jennifer S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I wish I could say that I enjoyed the visit to Versailles, but for me, it was the one true low point of our week in France. The crowd control is pathetic. There is barely controlled chaos, with actual pushing and shoving at times. I almost lost my footing due to some rather over-eager guests in a hurry to get to the front. I absolutely cannot imagine what it's like in the high summer season. I was not impressed and would not go back. As snotty as this sounds, I've seen better palaces, and certainly better managed attractions. They do not do their treasure justice.

AFTER we left Versailles, the day was fantastic. We had a nice relaxing and much needed after the insanity of Versailles drive of about 45 minutes to Fourges where a beautifully prepared and served, delicious lunch awaited us at the Moulin de Fourges, a charming former mill ? on a pond with a waterwheel. It was a treat.

The true highlight of the day, and one of the very best parts of our two-week vacation/one week in France, was the visit to Giverny to see Claude Monet's Japanese and house gardens, his house, the impressionists museum, and the town of Giverny itself. Sadly, we were a few weeks early early April to see the garden in its full spring glory, but there were already lots of blooms daffodils, poppies, hyacinths, and other early bulbs and flowers even if the famous water lilies were not in full force. Monet's house was a very pleasant surprise, chock full of his furnishings and personal effects, as well as incredible art from his famous friends--a Renoir here, and a Pissarro there--as well as Monet's incredible collection of Japanese prints. THIS WAS WONDERFUL. The gift shop was fun too. The impressionists museum, was very new and modern, and beautifully maintained.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE VISIT TO MONET'S GIVERNY !!!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Esme A

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

An enjoyable day out if you have a free day in Paris. Our guide was very rushed and seem very stressed from the very start which meant no one could relax as she was very breathless and loud over the microphone. Everyone on our bus seemed to enjoy the day, Versailles is magnificent but the thousands of tourists make for very long queues. Therefore the Skip the Line option on this tour was great. There is also an Angelina's tea room which made for a welcome break from the cold. The palace and gardens are spectacular. We did the half day tour which was more than enough - people who had booked for the full day ended up going home with us at 12pm.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Coral C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Versailles is incredible because every corner/wall has some amazing painting or detail. Take your time to enjoy it and don't forget to go out and enjoy the gardens!!!

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message