Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Fountain Show (Grandes Eaux musicales)

Versailles’ vast gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned ponds, canals and lakes. One of the most acclaimed aspects of the gardens is the 50 fountains which act as focal points, enhancing the overall geometrical design. Baroque ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3603 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

donnard_sturgis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful way to see Versailles. The lines were extremely long, and fortunately we bypassed those. Learning the history that went along with viewing the private quarters is well worth the price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Elaine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took a cab to meet the bus at Palace de Concorde per the instructions. The guide was delightful and had interesting commentary on the way to and from Versailles. Loved the coffee and croissant and loved the small group approach and the extra rooms we saw. We were a group of 4 and decided to take the golf cart in the gardens and were delighted with that too. Altogether, very nice.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Chonglun F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Musical Fountains Show was great!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Amy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was kind, courteous and very knowledgable. We had a great time!!! Would recommend this to anyone going to France.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Barry3391

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable not only of Giverny and Versailles but Paris as well. Only disappointment was that the museum in Gverny did not have many Monet pictures.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Lennix Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing. Wish I could give 10 stars. Our guide has worked at Versailles for 30 years. She was knowledgable, entertaining and extremely passionate about her subject matter.
The highlights of this tour were getting into the hall of mirrors while it was still empty and touring the private quarters and he chapel, where the general public are not allowed. After the tour of the Palace, we were given 3 hours to lunch and view the gardens. This is the only way to see Versailles. PS. Do the morning tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Lydia C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. We had the mirror room and chapel all for ourselves. I will improve the meeting place. It was not clear and we met other people that were on the tour wondering around as us, looking for it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Coral C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Easy and convenient, especially if you're staying close to the Louvre Museum, since the pick-up location is close by. Versailles is crowded but a nice thing to add to your trip.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Day Trip from Paris

Luca C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Versailles was amazing. There was a strike going on and we were delayed about an hour and a half.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Jennifer S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I wish I could say that I enjoyed the visit to Versailles, but for me, it was the one true low point of our week in France. The crowd control is pathetic. There is barely controlled chaos, with actual pushing and shoving at times. I almost lost my footing due to some rather over-eager guests in a hurry to get to the front. I absolutely cannot imagine what it's like in the high summer season. I was not impressed and would not go back. As snotty as this sounds, I've seen better palaces, and certainly better managed attractions. They do not do their treasure justice.

AFTER we left Versailles, the day was fantastic. We had a nice relaxing and much needed after the insanity of Versailles drive of about 45 minutes to Fourges where a beautifully prepared and served, delicious lunch awaited us at the Moulin de Fourges, a charming former mill ? on a pond with a waterwheel. It was a treat.

The true highlight of the day, and one of the very best parts of our two-week vacation/one week in France, was the visit to Giverny to see Claude Monet's Japanese and house gardens, his house, the impressionists museum, and the town of Giverny itself. Sadly, we were a few weeks early early April to see the garden in its full spring glory, but there were already lots of blooms daffodils, poppies, hyacinths, and other early bulbs and flowers even if the famous water lilies were not in full force. Monet's house was a very pleasant surprise, chock full of his furnishings and personal effects, as well as incredible art from his famous friends--a Renoir here, and a Pissarro there--as well as Monet's incredible collection of Japanese prints. THIS WAS WONDERFUL. The gift shop was fun too. The impressionists museum, was very new and modern, and beautifully maintained.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE VISIT TO MONET'S GIVERNY !!!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Esme A

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

An enjoyable day out if you have a free day in Paris. Our guide was very rushed and seem very stressed from the very start which meant no one could relax as she was very breathless and loud over the microphone. Everyone on our bus seemed to enjoy the day, Versailles is magnificent but the thousands of tourists make for very long queues. Therefore the Skip the Line option on this tour was great. There is also an Angelina's tea room which made for a welcome break from the cold. The palace and gardens are spectacular. We did the half day tour which was more than enough - people who had booked for the full day ended up going home with us at 12pm.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Coral C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Versailles is incredible because every corner/wall has some amazing painting or detail. Take your time to enjoy it and don't forget to go out and enjoy the gardens!!!

Doing what: Versailles Independent Day Trip from Paris

Robyne T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Loved the palace.... had been a few days before briefly so wanted to do a guided tour....guide was nice but....took us ona tour of the water fountains which was sooooooo much walking...not good with a bad knee...she really. Should have warned us...and we hadn't even started on the palace! You could tell she loved her history and job which was great but it might be nice if she hung back in her explanations of pointing things out instead of being right up the front...in the window of picture taking...which everyone wa trying to do!? Just an amazing place but felt my visit was totally spoiled by all the walking first...would have liked the option to stay...hire a cart rather than walked all those fountains!
A couple of people were struggling with all that walking...and then stairs in the palace!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

alejandro t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour guide Manuel was extremely nice and went overboard at showing us around Paris since we were doing well time wise. Museum itself is amazing! If you plan to see the Trianons too, book a whole day visit as they only only open at noon.

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

Rupa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent overall experience. Great minivan to transport us to Versaille. Both tour guides were very knowledgeable, Nicola and ???

Great to see the main highlights of a very large palace.

Definitely worth the price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Kim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour of Versailles was awesome as was our tour guide Frederic! We loved it!

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome tour guide! Great way to see Versailles and skip the lines.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

James P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Tour was very good. The guide seemed to have excellent knowledge, but got into too much detail in some spots and not enough in others. Would have preferred more general information about the rooms visited.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Sheela V

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Did not see the fountain.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Elizabeth D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Tour was to short of time for the amount of money paid.

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

diane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

So great to skip that long line!!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommend the guided tour.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message