Got a hunger to wander through a wonderland of luxurious, artistic decadence? Then you're going to love Louis XIV's opulent 17th century Palace of Versailles. This three-day itinerary will immerse you in the Baroque details, flamboyant furnishings, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4396 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good organisation - great clarity getting a group of disparate nationalities to Versailles from Paris. Hervé was possibly the best tour guide I've ever encountered bringing, charm, wit and a thorough knowledge of Versailles. His passion and communication were first class. Versailles itself was very busy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Bing Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Believe the hype! This is the best way to experience Versailles!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Ilana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lovely tour guide, fun meal.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Trisha B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The shear size of this venue is overwhelming. I can't imagine trying to navigate it on my own. Our guide was great! it was well paced so plenty of time for photos and a bit of looking around on your own time as well.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

loreen h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good day, weather was great. Tour was well organized. Lunch was great at the Moulin de Forges. Very picturesque. Versailles was very busty, but our guide was knowledgable and pleasant. Gardens are impressive with the water features. All in all, a good day

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

karinaeld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a fabulous time. Bus was great, loved Monets gardens, absolutely breathtaking !
Lunch was great, lovely place, good food, once we got to Versailles there was a little wait but once we got in it was amazing !, lots of people specially since it was the weekend but that's to be expected.
We'd do it again in a heartbeat

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Irene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The palace of Versailles is spectacular. Our guide, Herve, was fantastic. His knowledge and love of history came through with flying colors. He was our favorite!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Every detail provided by Viator, was accurate:, meeting place,directions to get you to the meetingarea, the summary of the tour. The tour guide knowledge was outstanding .Great value too!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

sergio a s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Bit expensive but great tour! You really use in a smart way your time.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

kathleen s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Such an awesome day!!! It is a trip that puts the whole of Versaille in perspective. The route was charming and not so difficult for a gal who hasn't ridden a bike in years! Our guide Nathan was fun and knowledgeable. The Hameau was fabulous and a spot you wouldn't see as a walk on tourist to the Chateau. The picnic lunch was brilliant and the goodies in the market and boulangerie made the day. As always the splendour of the interiors is overwhelming. It was a full day but so well worth it.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Betty W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a fabulous time on this excursion with Yaelle! She was engaging as we toured the Palace and Gardens, and she shared many stories about Louis XIV, Louis XV, and Louis XV. She kept us moving through the crowded Palace, yet we didn't feel rushed. We had our questions answered throughout, and she was knowledgeable about French history, how the Palace came to be built in Versailles, the architects, materials, artwork, artists, etc. Loved every minute, and the train ride a short 30 minutes! From beginning to end, no hassle, we could relax and enjoy! Don't miss the gardens!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

radtechjlc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved Monet's house. The flower beds were beautiful his home amazing..Versailles was the palace of palaces awesome

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

ANA MARIA E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great way to get to cover the whole Versailles Palace and Gardens.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Kathleen R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The palace is beautiful but it was very crowded. Our tour guide was awesome!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

George K United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good tour that I would recommend. Guide was great. Seeing Monet's gardens helped us to see and understand the inspiration behind his paintings. The day we went it was raining and there were hundreds of small school children, which made it tough to get around.

Versailles was fantastic. The art and history of the palace were fascinating. The gardens were no big deal but the grounds were impressive.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Jason B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was very enjoyable but i really wanted more time in versailes, it works out at about an hour over 7 hours day trip.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We spent a lovely day visiting Giverny and Versailles. It was a holiday weekend in France, and we avoided the crowds at Giverny but were in the crush of people at Versailles. Our lunch stop was delightful and definitely an off-the-beaten-path spot which we would not normally have found on our own. I'd give the trip five stars except for the fact that, due to no fault of the tour operators, one person did not return to the bus at Giverny, thus delaying us 20 minutes, and after being delayed in holiday traffic we were running about 30 minutes behind schedule. This happened again at Versailles when a different person didn't return to the bus, and finally our guides decided wisely to leave because there was another bus which could bring the person back if necessary. Perhaps guides should emphasize that the bus LEAVES at a given time and to be on the bus at least 5-10 minutes before departure time.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

lily United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Richard B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

problems with the audio equipment

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Ann S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Directions to the meeting point were not very good, so we missed the bus. They split the trip into two parts so we did it in two half days instead of one full day. Versailles was so crowded and I would have rather not have spent any time in the house, but spent the whole time outside. Giverney was great. I'm not one for tours and I would rather do things myself so I can move when I'm done.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Mary-Ann S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Monet's garden part was great but not enough time for lunch and visit to Versailles. We were delayed twice by other patrons returning to the bus late. I would suggest spending a day visiting Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

David H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Versailles is beautiful. It's a must see. This tour was not good. We did a lot of standing around and waiting. Our guide was late to the palace gates, where we waited. Her English was not good enough to be leading an English tour. Accent was super thick and inside the busy palace where there is background noise very few could hear or understand her. Don't miss Versailles but I recommend looking at other options.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

chris s

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I wish i could give zero stars. We arrived to Versailles early and queued before opening hour. When we presented our pre-paid tickets we were told they wouldn't scan and Versailles has had problems with viator-supplied tickets all weekend. Our reward was standing and watching the entire line go ahead of us as we had to speak with the ticketing office and plead our case. We were eventually let in 30 minutes later out of pity. We could not receive our audio tours. When we exited the palace and tried entering the gardens we were met with the exact same problem AGAIN. We absolutely will never use your service again and will make sure none of our fellow travelers do as well.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Lori P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

best way to get around the gardens of Versailles. one of my favorite parts of my trip to Paris. the bike tour guide was really great. his explanation of the history was told like a story and kept me interested.
the picnic lunch just topped it off. thanks for a great tour

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message