• USD ($)
  • English
Got a hunger to wander through a wonderland of luxurious, artistic decadence? Then you're going to love Louis XIV's opulent 17th century Palace of Versailles. This three-day itinerary will immerse you in the Baroque details, flamboyant furnishings, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2754 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A beautiful day. Our guide was great

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was an excellent tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. She also kept an eye out for my youngest daughter who stuck to her like glue. There was time afterwards to walk the property and gardens. The coach bus was very comfortable. I would do it again without hesitation.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Once we overcame our `misreading' of the correspondence of what to do on arrival we found the trip extremely good. Our guide Elizabeth was excellent. My husband is deaf but he found the headphones very satisfactory and we loved the point that it was our guide speaking, not an audio cassette, so no turning it off and on to hear about each room. We would recommend this the best way to learn about the history of Versailles with all the little extras that a good guide gives. Sorry no photos because too intrigued to hear from our guide. Plenty of books with beautiful pictures!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic trip. I loved the history, the stop and food at the market. Our guide Dan was very helpful and considerate. The best was to stop and picnic in the fields, out of this world, delicious food in a magnificent place. You'll love it, just don't do it on Sunday, the castle is too crowded.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Chantelle was a very good tour guide. She was very knowledgable and informative. The tour through Versailles was very good, Chantelle ensured that she pointed out all the features in the palace. Giverny was beautiful. Thank you.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great trip our guide was knowledgeable and very likeable. Lunch was fabulous, food and atmosphere. Riding along the grounds of Versailles was a highlight of my trip. Warning, this trip sounds like an easy ride around the grounds then off to see the palace. The day I was there the weather was perfect, sunny, and not to hot....by the time we made it to the palace we were physically exhausted and tired, we enjoyed the palace but were to tired to take on the gardens. We opted not to leave with the group, found a great people watching pub had a couple of beers, regained our strength then headed home. This was a top notch tour that I would do again.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I wish we were here a few weeks later when the gardens were in bloom. Our guide was very knowledgeable and able to answer lots of questions. My suggestion is to take the earlier tour (we went in the afternoon) so you can go more on your own and explore. The afternoon one ended right as they were closing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our tour was rearranged a little because we were supposed to go straight to the palace without any tour of the gardens. We ended up getting a short tour of the gardens because our appointment to skip the lines and visit the palace was later than originally planned. So an added bonus. Unfortunately, our guide was not loud and it was difficult for all of us on the tour to hear her when we were outside. She provided us headsets when we went into Versailles to hear her and that was very helpful, but not outside where we could use them as well.
We had our 3 children (ages 14, 11 and 10) with us. They were totally bored. The guide geared the tour to adults, not children. This was not billed as a children friendly tour. I mention the children's boredom to families thinking about this tour. Would be better to consider a tour that is geared for children if you want your children to be interested in Versailles. From an adults perspective--overall guide tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Tour was great but wish we would have had a little more exploring of the gardens and time at the end to buy souvenirs. A little too much time spent in narrating the bedrooms.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Excellent guide whom did her best to share her detailed knowledge nowithstanding very difficult crowds. But the Viator explanation is misleading. The tour (small group) is only 1 hour and 15 mins long- although headed "Half Day" and "2 Hour Tour". Also not mentioned is that you need to use audio even in the small tour groups. This is in fact necessary however given the crowding.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Anne Sophie was an incredible guide. She was full of interesting informationa DMSO enthusiastic about all of it. A top notch tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very personable and knowledge above and beyond expectation...way to go!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was a great tour. It is a pleasure to walk your bike through the gardens of Versailles. Our guide, Dan, native English speaker, was extraordinary.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable about the royalty and the order in which they reigned. That was very helpful in understanding the site. She also provided a lot of background and stories that we would have missed had we not taken the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message