Chengdu ATTRACTIONS See all

Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding

There are few images more iconic to southwestern China than that of the giant panda. Unfortunately, despite its status as a Chinese national treasure, the giant panda population has been whittled down to just 1,000 pandas due to mass human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As a family we enjoyed the full day at Versailles. Our guide Clare was fantastic and gave us plenty of anecdotes about the Royals who lived there. It was a great extra touch when Clare provided bread for the kids to feed the ducks and fish in Marie Antoinette's garden.It was a very small tour group of our 5 plus two which made it very relaxed to do the whole day. We did it on a Sunday and the fountain display was fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Pauline, was a real character and made the history of the Kings and the Palace very entertaining. We enjoyed our tour a lot and later the fountains and gardens were beautiful and really worth seeing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pauline was very knowledgeable about Versailles and we enjoyed the tour very much. We never could have seen all of the fountains and different parts of the chateau without her expertise and know-how of where to go and when. We saw the chateau, the Hamlet, about half of the fountains, the Petite Trianon, the Grand Trianon, and the Orangerie. We ended up walking 16 miles that day! Couldn't have seen it it all if we didn't skip the line...definitely worth the price. Pauline said the wait can be up to 4 hours on a typical day! Just to get inside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is one of those experiences that you cannot really describe to anyone! Pictures dont do it justice...the atmoshpere, the music, the fountains and the lights, as well as the fireworks at the end was something that I will treasure for the rest of my life!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Really great experience. Tour was only 4 of us for the morning part in the gardens which was nice, but then bigger for the palace but still small enough. The guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and fun to listen to. It was also nice to have all the tickets pre-collected for us like to the gardens and to the palace and to Marie Antoinette's farm so that there was no line waiting or confusion about buying tickets. And you should go see all the places, so buying the tour that includes all access was the way to go. There's also not very much in the way of readable info in Versailles, so if you went without a guide, I think you'd really miss out on the history and stories which are what make it so fascinating.

Keep in mind that it takes a good while to get there from Paris. I was told 30 mins but it took more like an hour so plan to leave earlier than expected. Also the grounds of Versailles are very pebbly so this is not a day to wear cute or open toed shoes. I got rocks all up in my shoes and was a little miserable walking so much. The grounds are impressively big so you will do a bit of walking.

The garden has a lot of fountains which are only on from 3:30 to 5, so after your tour there is a lot of time to walk around before the fountains start, which you will definitely want to see. There's paddle boats you can take out if its a nice day, or restaurants to lunch at, and all of Marie Antoinette's private grounds to see. There's a little train that runs to Marie's place that costs 7 euro each way but I promise it's so walkable. Absolutely not worth 14 euros for the roundtrip. The map makes things look bigger, just walk.

There's also an app called "maps with me" that I had that shows all the paths around the grounds and uses GPS, not wifi or 3G, which saved me once because it can be a little maze-like once you explore Marie Antoinette's part.

Overall the tour as great. Definitely worth the cost. Highly recommend. Enjoy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The Garden Fountain Show was outstanding. We really enjoyed it. Picking up the tickets with the voucher went without a problem. I would recommend anyone use the Viator option.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Versailles was incredible! The Skip the Line part of the day, under the amazing guidance of our guide Pauline, was exceptional! while skipping the lines is always a lot of fun, Pauline's knowledge of the property and history made this an unforgettable tour. She even had suggestions for the part of the tour that was not guided in the pm (as in which fountains to make sure we saw, etc.). I would definitively recommend this guided tour to my friends. Un gros merci Pauline pour avoir fait de cette journée une journée inoubliable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Peter C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We had a great day at Versailles, is an amazing place with so much to see. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. The fountain show was amazing as well. I was a little concerned about getting out there from Paris but it was very easy on the RER train.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great tour of the palace with lots of free time to explore the estate, loved the hamlet was so beautiful and peaceful. The fountain show was great! Our guide was young, friendly and seemed to have a great interest and knowledge of the estate, would recommend to others :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was one of the highlights of my trip to Paris with my children. The bikes were well maintained, easy to ride, included a basket and picking them up from the station was easy. Our tour guide Beth was wonderful and was with us for the complete journey. She had a lovely accent, was engaging and made history fun! The stop at the market was enjoyable and made lunch that much more delicious. Beth lead us to the backwoods and gardens enjoying the bucolic countryside and her favorite "bit", the hamlet. It was a welcome reprieve from the crowds at the palace and the picnic at the end of the grand canal was picture perfect. I did experience a glitch. We paid a surcharge for the fountains online when we booked the bike tour because it was required to get in. However the ticket confirmation I printed for the fountains were not redeemable at the gate we were trying to enter. They wanted our entire group to trek back around to the front and wait in long lines so I ended up purchasing tickets twice. To make matters worse, the main fountain was under construction and has been for over a year and we only saw the musical fountain. I felt cheated but shrugged it off to enjoy a beautiful afternoon and I do highly recommend this tour outfit and activity. Just make sure to inquire about the fountains (they are not everyday) and get your fountain ticket at the gate!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Aurora, the tour guide to the Palace of Versailles was very nice at explaining the history and political implications related to that magnificent place in English. The tour was nice from beginning to end.The Palace was crowded though, what prevented people from taking good pics and also have a more relaxing time inside that place. The staff at the meeting point also explained we should buy the train ticket back to Paris in advance in case we were going to stay for the show at night. Later on, the Night Fountain Show at the palace gardens was amazing. Very good music and a nice water and fire presentation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Sophie, Our tour guide was really good! ask for her.. The tour was really good but we couldn´t appreciate the gardens because all the fountains and the sculptures were covered because of maintenance. We recommend to take the garden tour on the hockey car that way you can appreciate better in a lower time but take care because the rental is for hour extra minutes are charged, so don´t waste a lot of time going down the car taking pictures unless you want to pay more for the car rental.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The opulence and splendor of Versaille was only matched by the knowledge of our guide Anne-Sophie. She was an excellent guide. I guess my only disappointment was not knowing in advance that the fountains are only turned on during the weekends and the restoration taking place on the main fountain.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This ticket was something of a bust with one of the main fountains under renovation. Okay, but not great.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The only negative about the Versailes tour was that you did not provide the transportation which I would have paid for, and that we had to take a train ourselves. We got there fine, but it would have been more helpful if the transportation was included. Versailles was beautiful, but the fountains were not working and some things were under construction. Not the tours fault. Our guide was informative, but had a very soft voice and sometime he was hard to hear with all the people there.

Would recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message