• USD ($)
  • English
Louis XIV, the Sun King, was not satisfied with ruling over the French people, or building the most magnificent palace in the world; at Versailles he was also determined to have mastery over water. In 1666, building a fountain was not as easy as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is one of those experiences that you cannot really describe to anyone! Pictures dont do it justice...the atmoshpere, the music, the fountains and the lights, as well as the fireworks at the end was something that I will treasure for the rest of my life!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Really great experience. Tour was only 4 of us for the morning part in the gardens which was nice, but then bigger for the palace but still small enough. The guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and fun to listen to. It was also nice to have all the tickets pre-collected for us like to the gardens and to the palace and to Marie Antoinette's farm so that there was no line waiting or confusion about buying tickets. And you should go see all the places, so buying the tour that includes all access was the way to go. There's also not very much in the way of readable info in Versailles, so if you went without a guide, I think you'd really miss out on the history and stories which are what make it so fascinating.

Keep in mind that it takes a good while to get there from Paris. I was told 30 mins but it took more like an hour so plan to leave earlier than expected. Also the grounds of Versailles are very pebbly so this is not a day to wear cute or open toed shoes. I got rocks all up in my shoes and was a little miserable walking so much. The grounds are impressively big so you will do a bit of walking.

The garden has a lot of fountains which are only on from 3:30 to 5, so after your tour there is a lot of time to walk around before the fountains start, which you will definitely want to see. There's paddle boats you can take out if its a nice day, or restaurants to lunch at, and all of Marie Antoinette's private grounds to see. There's a little train that runs to Marie's place that costs 7 euro each way but I promise it's so walkable. Absolutely not worth 14 euros for the roundtrip. The map makes things look bigger, just walk.

There's also an app called "maps with me" that I had that shows all the paths around the grounds and uses GPS, not wifi or 3G, which saved me once because it can be a little maze-like once you explore Marie Antoinette's part.

Overall the tour as great. Definitely worth the cost. Highly recommend. Enjoy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The Garden Fountain Show was outstanding. We really enjoyed it. Picking up the tickets with the voucher went without a problem. I would recommend anyone use the Viator option.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Versailles was incredible! The Skip the Line part of the day, under the amazing guidance of our guide Pauline, was exceptional! while skipping the lines is always a lot of fun, Pauline's knowledge of the property and history made this an unforgettable tour. She even had suggestions for the part of the tour that was not guided in the pm (as in which fountains to make sure we saw, etc.). I would definitively recommend this guided tour to my friends. Un gros merci Pauline pour avoir fait de cette journée une journée inoubliable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Peter C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We had a great day at Versailles, is an amazing place with so much to see. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. The fountain show was amazing as well. I was a little concerned about getting out there from Paris but it was very easy on the RER train.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great tour of the palace with lots of free time to explore the estate, loved the hamlet was so beautiful and peaceful. The fountain show was great! Our guide was young, friendly and seemed to have a great interest and knowledge of the estate, would recommend to others :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Sophie, Our tour guide was really good! ask for her.. The tour was really good but we couldn´t appreciate the gardens because all the fountains and the sculptures were covered because of maintenance. We recommend to take the garden tour on the hockey car that way you can appreciate better in a lower time but take care because the rental is for hour extra minutes are charged, so don´t waste a lot of time going down the car taking pictures unless you want to pay more for the car rental.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The opulence and splendor of Versaille was only matched by the knowledge of our guide Anne-Sophie. She was an excellent guide. I guess my only disappointment was not knowing in advance that the fountains are only turned on during the weekends and the restoration taking place on the main fountain.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This ticket was something of a bust with one of the main fountains under renovation. Okay, but not great.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The only negative about the Versailes tour was that you did not provide the transportation which I would have paid for, and that we had to take a train ourselves. We got there fine, but it would have been more helpful if the transportation was included. Versailles was beautiful, but the fountains were not working and some things were under construction. Not the tours fault. Our guide was informative, but had a very soft voice and sometime he was hard to hear with all the people there.

Would recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This is a really beautiful garden and with the fountains just spectacular.
But could I suggest that you avoid spring/summer on a weekend just before school holidays.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The skip the line part was awesome, as the lines were very long. The tour was excellent, especially the headsets which allowed you to hear the guide no matter where you were standing. I didn't like the empty time between the fountain show and the tour which ended at 5, but we got a chance to buy the best chocolate covered cherries I have ever had from the chocolate shop across from the train station. Better be sure you have round trip train tickets back and don't miss the last train at midnight. You'll miss some of the fireworks just to be close to the entrance or you will miss that train back to Paris. They let you in at 8 to see the fountain show, but don't start the fountains up until 9, which means an hour of milling around doing nothing and waiting while all the gardens are locked and guarded. The fountain show is fabulous, and worth the trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

To start off on a bad note, the girl who took us from the meeting location (which is located in an office across the street from the train station) flirted the entire time with a tour member and exchanged phone numbers etc and wasted our time by not taking us to the rest of the group until she was done with her flirting and exchange of pleasantries (VERY UNPROFESSIONAL). The tour guide who actually gave us the tour was a bit pushy and was always "testing" us and would NOT for the love of God move on until she received a correct answer. This seemed to annoy the others in the group as well who would roll their eyes or walk on to other areas while the tour guide was speaking. Whenever she lost sight of someone she was say into the microphone "I am here, please come to me" (which was not very descriptive and hard for the "lost" tour guide members to find her as she didn't say which room she was in or where in the room we were). The tour itself went through the most popular parts of Versailles. The Night Fountain Show was awesome. We are from Southern California (near Disneyland) so we were spoiled by a lot of factors (Las Vegas, Disneyland, etc...) but the sheer size and beautiful landscaping was beautiful. The fireworks show at the end was very romantic (seeing fireworks in Paris was a nice touch - albeit not as well choreographed like at Disneyland that we see almost every night in California but good show with good music). Check out each fountain, some of them are really amazing and fun. Again with any tours, please be careful of pickpockets.
I took off 2 stars, 1 due to the person who took us from the office to our guide and 1 for the annoying tour that the guide gave us. Versailles itself is worth going to!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

We got a good overview tour of the palace and some of the history. Our guide spoke good English, but spoke too fast and it was therefore hard to pick up everything she was saying. She only stayed with us for the morning; we were left on our own in the afternoon to walk around the gardens and see the fountains.

If you have been to St. Petersburg and seen the summer palace of Catherine the Great, you do not need to see Versailles. The two palaces are very similar in their ostentatiousness with gold leaf everywhere. It is easy to see why you had revolutions in both countries. But they are very similar in many respects.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Loved the gardens but in the summer it doesn't get dark until around 10:15 so the lights in the fountains are hard to see until then and the gardens close at 10:50, not much time. The fireworks were GREAT but make sure if you are taking the metro back to Paris you leave a little early to beat the crowd. We did the afternoon tour of the gardens as well and if we had a do- over we would have only done the afternoon gardens.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message