Victoria’s Great Ocean Road is a well-known route for travelers. Winding its way along the south of the Australian continent the road offers stunning scenery. Most often traveled for its views and access to the Twelve Apostles, here are some less ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Will from AAT Kings was very nice, friendly and entertaining as well as really knowledgeable about the area, which he showed us. I felt like he really likes his job and it made me happy and in ease. All the spots were beautiful and I was very pleased with my choice of the day trip. We were even dropped off in our hotels afterwords - even me, staying in St Kilda. I certainly recommend this trip and this tour company if you decide to go for the Great Ocean Road Trip

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

These two tours give a great overview of the stunning natural shoreline of VIC and involve a treasure trove of native animals.
The Penguins tour involved my favorite stop--feeding and patting kangaroos and wallabies. The penguin migration is not to be missed!! Ocean road is great but long!!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We toured with Bunyip Tours for the Great Ocean Road Sunset tour. It is a relaxing and incredible to go on. We had a tour guide named Rail (apologise if wrongly spelt) and he made the trip worth the while. As stated you end up at the 12 apostles just before sunset and that experience is a 'one in a life time' sunset! trust me, dont miss it! google it if you don't believe me.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Spectacular view of the great ocean road. Nice tour guiding. Had lunch at apollo hotel, nice food. Completely satisfied with the trip!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well timed and excellent trip. The tour guide gave us a lot of information about the places along the great ocean road. We were also lucky enough to see some koalas in the wild while on this trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Both trips were wonderful! The day we went to the Great Ocean Road was a rainy day but the weather almost miraculously cleared when we reached the 12 Apostles. Our guide Macca ( I hope that's the correct spelling) was excellent. He was knowledgeable and had an easy going personality that made the day a lot of fun in spite of the weather. It was amazing to see koalas in their natural habitat and kangaroos hopping through the fields. The weather cooperated for the Phillip Island day. Macca was our guide again and again was the perfect guide. We stopped at an animal sanctuary which was the highlight of the day for me. Feeding the gentle kangaroos is something I will never forget. We visited a beautiful farm, a koala conservation place and finished the day watching the little penguins coming home from a long day at sea. Both days were unforgettable and it was great to save some money by booking the trips together. And getting the passes to the Eureka Tower and the Aquarium was good too. We visited both places and enjoyed them tremendously. The pacing of the trips was good too. We made plenty of stops so you could stretch your legs and have a bathroom break. Lunch was provided both days as well. Nothing fancy but it was good and there were places to get snacks if you wanted more. I will never forget the two wonderful trips. Thank you!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I had the most wonderful day on this tour. The bus was on time to collect us from our hotel and the host most gracious in taking us to our brand new tour bus. The bus was the most comfortable we have ever been on and lovely and clean. The tour guide was really terrific and so knowledgeable about the area. We were hanging on to every word and learnt a great deal. We were on time all the way and had sufficient breaks and photo stops. For the price this tour was great value for money and we would recommend it to anyone who has not yet experienced the beauty and wonder of the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We did the Great Ocean Road tour on September 18. It is a long day but you are rewarded with amazing scenery along the way. We didn't have the best weather but the trip was fantastic. The stops are fairly short and you will be kept on a fairly tight schedule. The 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are not to be missed. We did Phillips Island on September 19 and paid for the Penguin Private tour. At Moonlit Sanctuary, pay a little extra to get food for the kangaroos and to cuddle the koalas. I would have preferred skipping the Churchill Farm portion in exchange for more time at the Nobbies and the Penguin Parade. I grew up on a farm so it was not that exciting for me. Since we were doing the private penguin tour, we had to eat dinner at the Nobbies, which left us no time to look around. Also, we were very rushed at the Penguins and did not have time to look in the gift shop. As part of the Penguin Private, we were taken over to the Penguin Plus area. I would say that this is where you get more bang for your buck. Most of the penguins come up this way and there were way more seen here than where we sat front row on the beach. It is another long day. We had the best tour guide/driver, Steve so if you manage to have him, you are in luck! We did all three of the attractions in one day, the Aquarium, Eureka Skydeck and the Old Melbourne Gaol. The Aquarium was just renovated and they have done a great job. The Skydeck is very cool and the view is worth the trip. The Old Melbourne Gaol is very interesting and the Watchhouse Experience was fun. We packed a lot into 3 days but it was worth every penny.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Pan
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The first trip is very long drive from the city to the great ocean road. The trip to Philip Island is great the guide is very nice and give a lot of information than the first trip.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The trips were fantastic; our guide Kyle for Great Ocean Road was brilliant, v knowledgeable and funny and loved the soundtrack he supplied for the day too. We were lucky enough to have Lisa on the bus with us that day too – so sweet and she helped make it fun! Lots of other lone travellers on this tour so a great one for those travelling alone. The Great Ocean Road is every bit as spectacular as you would imagine and I can't wait to get back and explore in more detail.
Highlights of the Phillip Island day were definitely feeding kangaroos and wallabies, they are so cute. We also got to do a tree top walk at a Koala Conservation area so a great photo opportunity to get fairly close to the sleepy bears! Phillip Island was amazing and well worth paying the extra money to get front seats for the penguins. You also get a very knowledgeable ranger who entertains you with interesting penguin facts while you wait for them to show up. The penguins are just adorable – so cute and all huddle together and wait for each other. Do wrap up warm though. Also had another great tour guide driving the bus, Bronwyn – passionate about conservation and wildlife and really added to the whole experience.
Melbourne Attraction pass was good value but the Aquarium was undergoing renovation so felt very small.
I would definitely recommend these tours to everyone I know.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fab day with Colin the driver; a character you'll remember. So much info and history from start to finish. All the drivers on the tours I did were brilliant. Well planed day. We had plenty of photos stops and good break destinations. A good full day out to experience the great ocean road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Beautiful day long tour! The Great Ocean Road is breathtaking. We also enjoyed the helicopter ride out over the Twelve Apostles!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

We recently decided to enhance our Melbourne long-weekend trip with a tour from the many on offer. We chose the Great Ocean Road Day Trip and were absolutely delighted with the day. From the very first contact when we were picked up at our hotel, the day flowed smoothly and was divided nicely between travelling along with an informative commentary from 'Frank' our bus driver, frequent stops for 'photo ops' or snack/meal breaks and quiet time on board the comfortable coach when we could just look out at the lovely scenery. One of the highlights of this tour was the option to take a 10 minute helicopter ride at the 12 Apostles stop. We took advantage of this option and got some great photos and video of our quick hop out over the ocean! We would definitely recommend this tour to foreign visitors and Australian visitors as a worthwhile day trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

We really enjoyed our day spent in this trip. It was enough to see all the important touristic parts of the great ocean road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Our driver Shane, made sure we had a perfect day. We did not know what to expect on our 13 hour day and we were very pleased. There is a lot of time riding the bus to get down to the 12 apostles. The stops in the little towns to get out and stretch our legs and get a drink or snack, were perfectly timed. The ride on the Great Ocean Road was just amazing with the views of the ocean. The rock formations that we stopped to see were well worth any hikes down the paths to get the best view. We particularly enjoyed going on the helicopter ride at the 12 apostles. The view from the air is breath taking. Very long and interesting day. We highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message