• USD ($)
  • English
Victoria’s Great Ocean Road is a well-known route for travelers. Winding its way along the south of the Australian continent the road offers stunning scenery. Most often traveled for its views and access to the Twelve Apostles, here are some less ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I had the most wonderful day on this tour. The bus was on time to collect us from our hotel and the host most gracious in taking us to our brand new tour bus. The bus was the most comfortable we have ever been on and lovely and clean. The tour guide was really terrific and so knowledgeable about the area. We were hanging on to every word and learnt a great deal. We were on time all the way and had sufficient breaks and photo stops. For the price this tour was great value for money and we would recommend it to anyone who has not yet experienced the beauty and wonder of the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We did the Great Ocean Road tour on September 18. It is a long day but you are rewarded with amazing scenery along the way. We didn't have the best weather but the trip was fantastic. The stops are fairly short and you will be kept on a fairly tight schedule. The 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are not to be missed. We did Phillips Island on September 19 and paid for the Penguin Private tour. At Moonlit Sanctuary, pay a little extra to get food for the kangaroos and to cuddle the koalas. I would have preferred skipping the Churchill Farm portion in exchange for more time at the Nobbies and the Penguin Parade. I grew up on a farm so it was not that exciting for me. Since we were doing the private penguin tour, we had to eat dinner at the Nobbies, which left us no time to look around. Also, we were very rushed at the Penguins and did not have time to look in the gift shop. As part of the Penguin Private, we were taken over to the Penguin Plus area. I would say that this is where you get more bang for your buck. Most of the penguins come up this way and there were way more seen here than where we sat front row on the beach. It is another long day. We had the best tour guide/driver, Steve so if you manage to have him, you are in luck! We did all three of the attractions in one day, the Aquarium, Eureka Skydeck and the Old Melbourne Gaol. The Aquarium was just renovated and they have done a great job. The Skydeck is very cool and the view is worth the trip. The Old Melbourne Gaol is very interesting and the Watchhouse Experience was fun. We packed a lot into 3 days but it was worth every penny.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Pan
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The first trip is very long drive from the city to the great ocean road. The trip to Philip Island is great the guide is very nice and give a lot of information than the first trip.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The trips were fantastic; our guide Kyle for Great Ocean Road was brilliant, v knowledgeable and funny and loved the soundtrack he supplied for the day too. We were lucky enough to have Lisa on the bus with us that day too – so sweet and she helped make it fun! Lots of other lone travellers on this tour so a great one for those travelling alone. The Great Ocean Road is every bit as spectacular as you would imagine and I can't wait to get back and explore in more detail.
Highlights of the Phillip Island day were definitely feeding kangaroos and wallabies, they are so cute. We also got to do a tree top walk at a Koala Conservation area so a great photo opportunity to get fairly close to the sleepy bears! Phillip Island was amazing and well worth paying the extra money to get front seats for the penguins. You also get a very knowledgeable ranger who entertains you with interesting penguin facts while you wait for them to show up. The penguins are just adorable – so cute and all huddle together and wait for each other. Do wrap up warm though. Also had another great tour guide driving the bus, Bronwyn – passionate about conservation and wildlife and really added to the whole experience.
Melbourne Attraction pass was good value but the Aquarium was undergoing renovation so felt very small.
I would definitely recommend these tours to everyone I know.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fab day with Colin the driver; a character you'll remember. So much info and history from start to finish. All the drivers on the tours I did were brilliant. Well planed day. We had plenty of photos stops and good break destinations. A good full day out to experience the great ocean road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Beautiful day long tour! The Great Ocean Road is breathtaking. We also enjoyed the helicopter ride out over the Twelve Apostles!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

We recently decided to enhance our Melbourne long-weekend trip with a tour from the many on offer. We chose the Great Ocean Road Day Trip and were absolutely delighted with the day. From the very first contact when we were picked up at our hotel, the day flowed smoothly and was divided nicely between travelling along with an informative commentary from 'Frank' our bus driver, frequent stops for 'photo ops' or snack/meal breaks and quiet time on board the comfortable coach when we could just look out at the lovely scenery. One of the highlights of this tour was the option to take a 10 minute helicopter ride at the 12 Apostles stop. We took advantage of this option and got some great photos and video of our quick hop out over the ocean! We would definitely recommend this tour to foreign visitors and Australian visitors as a worthwhile day trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

We really enjoyed our day spent in this trip. It was enough to see all the important touristic parts of the great ocean road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Our driver Shane, made sure we had a perfect day. We did not know what to expect on our 13 hour day and we were very pleased. There is a lot of time riding the bus to get down to the 12 apostles. The stops in the little towns to get out and stretch our legs and get a drink or snack, were perfectly timed. The ride on the Great Ocean Road was just amazing with the views of the ocean. The rock formations that we stopped to see were well worth any hikes down the paths to get the best view. We particularly enjoyed going on the helicopter ride at the 12 apostles. The view from the air is breath taking. Very long and interesting day. We highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

My Rating: ***** My husband and I had a wonderful time on our trip along the Great Ocean Road. The coach was comfortable, and the driver was professional and informative. We had enough stops to explore the areas and have rest breaks. A really memorable day. So glad we went.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

great tour. nice way to see the great ocean road. plenty of stops, comfortable coach, and very personable and knowledgeable guide (steve).

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Absolutely awesome. Definitely a highlight of my holiday. Coach driver was fantastic in providing knowledgeable commentary with plenty of photo opportunity stops along with time to see the main features of the tour. Highly recommend this tour. Loved every moment of my trip down the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Noellene A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Having lived in Australia all my life I am now 53 I had never been to Victoria and so had never experienced anything as awesome as the Great Ocean Road. What a wonderful trip. Great coach driver with expert knowledge of the area. Even though it was a very cold day it was well worth the trip. Great photos too.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

My sister and I had a great time on this tour. The hotel pickups and drop offs were very well organised. The tour itself is a long day, but the coach was comfortable, we had regular stops for refreshments and toilet breaks and the expert commentary from Peter, our driver, was very entertaining; certainly very knowledgeable and that made a big difference on a tour where you spend an awful lot of time sitting in the coach. Would definitely recommend this tour for a whistle-stop tour of the great ocean road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The most amazing tour we have been on. From start to finish it was fantastic. Our private guide "Steven" was absolutely amazing. He was informative and knowledgeable throughout the whole trip. We thoroughly enjoyed seeing the Great Ocean Road with this tour company and with Steven. I would highly recommend this tour.

Thanks
Cathy from Canada

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message