• USD ($)
  • English

Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Belvedere Palace (Schloss Belvedere)

The two Baroque palaces were built in the 18th century as a summer residence for Prince Eugene of Savoy. They are known as the Upper Belvedere - full of huge rooms for entertaining - and the Lower Belvedere - the former living quarters - and are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

My first day in Vienna! The tickets were not waiting for me at the hotel when I arrived. A phone call early in the morning and I was told that they would be delivered within 90 minutes. Two and a half hour later and several phone calls (each time I was given a new ETA) and the tickets still had not arrived. When they finally arrived, by bicycle courier, I was quite distressed. You can organise all of this very easily from Vienna when you arrive, buying your Vienna card from your hotel and just pay at the Belvedere Palace. I would not put myself through it if I had my time over again.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Communication with the tour operator was poor, we really wanted some info on time of meal and despite emails and calls prior to departure I never got this. Consequently when turning up for the meal the restaurant 'fitted us in' we were unaware it was set menu and as we were outside no candlelight dinner! As it was for our 25th anniversary I was disappointed. The carriage ride was great, the vienna card useful, entrance to Belvedere good. The walking tour was set at a time we couldn't do which was disappointing. The restaurant meal was good but not what we expected. Overall more info given as I won't be celebrating this special day again!

Doing what: Romantic Vienna Combo: Vienna Card, Horse and Carriage Tour, Belvedere Palace and Candlelight Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The Vienna Card was wonderful for using the transportation around Vienna which was in itself very organized and easy to use! The only issue we had with this pass is that the Belvedere Palace entry was not easily accessible and the best part of Belvedere, the gardens, was free to the public. Unless you are a huge Klimt fan and that's a "have to" for you, the Vienna Card in itself was the only thing that we used the pass for and inside Belvedere wasn't necessary for the full splendor found in its gardens.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Seeing the original painting "the Kiss" made the tour. Plenty of time to walk the Upper Belvedere and the gardens. Lower Belvedere not included.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Vienna Card is essential to get around the outlying attractions - Schonnbrun, Belvedere, etc. The carriage ride is a delight and the restaurant selected was centrally located, easy to find with pleasant staff and good food. Recommend.

Doing what: Romantic Vienna Combo: Vienna Card, Horse and Carriage Tour, Belvedere Palace and Candlelight Dinner

Rosco
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

A wonderful experience, just wow . Additionally the grounds of Belvedere Palace are superb and quite relaxing. Well worth the experience.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

the dinner was great, i loved the horse and carriage tour and having the vienna card was awesome it save us a lot of money in transportation and the belvedere palace is a beautiful museum

Doing what: Romantic Vienna Combo: Vienna Card, Horse and Carriage Tour, Belvedere Palace and Candlelight Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The Vienna card and all details were waiting at the hotel upon arrival which made things very easy for us. The horse and carriage tour was wonderful - to be driven through a truly beautiful city in a horse and carriage is not only romantic, but makes one feel special, which one likes to feel whilst on holiday. The Belvedere Palace is an art museum/gallery and was great to look through - especially to see the Gustav Klimt pieces. And then finally, the dinner was DELICIOUS! I have never tasted a desert as tasty as the Cardamom Panacotta desert that we had. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Romantic Vienna Combo: Vienna Card, Horse and Carriage Tour, Belvedere Palace and Candlelight Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The Belvedere's collection is the best with the iconic Kiss and many other famous paintings by Klimt and Schiele, some of the art was in a specialist Symbolism exhibition which was worth the extra 5 euros, we got a massive discount on the exhibition (normally 19 euros) because of the tickets we had. The Albertina is worth going to because once you are in all the exhibitions and the rooms are free, so we got to see the Monet/Picasso exhibition for free.

It is a really wonderful tour and really well supported, they even sorted out my hotel for me. It is excellent value and when we did it no queuing. The complimentary cake and coffee/tea were wonderful in Cafe Sacher and it is really great value compared to the cost of purchasing everything separately. It is also wonderful that you get time to take up all the offers on the ticket, so we did the Cafe on a different day to the exhibitions but it was nice to have something to look forward to.

Brilliant value and really wonderful service

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Though slightly more expensive than if you were to buy each activity separately, this combo was totally worth it! The vouchers were waiting for us at check - in - the Vienna card allows free transport for 72 hours and the metro and tram are both easy to use. The voucher allows you flexibility in scheduling so you can plan your time. Variations of Klimt's "The Kiss" are literally all over Vienna on every touristy souvenir, but when you finally view his works in the Belvedere, they blow you away! Keep in mind that the Belvedere is outside the ring (tram is a good option to get there) so plan on about half a day. The combo doesn't include entry into the Lower Belvedere and you will have to pay extra to view the special exhibitions there. The Albertina was wonderful with works by Hieronymus Bosch and Peter Bruegel. Literally the icing on the cake was the Cafe Central voucher. We ducked in there on a rainy afternoon and were enchanted by the architecture, ambiance, and array of desserts, and ended up eating a meal (which of course they adjusted against the voucher). Go early to avoid a long wait.....

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The Vienna card was the greatest benefit as we used them extensively on the excellent U-bahn and tram system throughout Vienna. The Belvedere Palace is a little way outside of the Ring surrounding the old city and silly us, we decided to walk there on a warm sunny day -- we got the tram back!

The Gustav Klimt display is very interesting, detailing his life as well as his works. They were interspersed with works of his contemporaries as well.

A bonus was a voucher for coffee at the Cafe Central, not to be missed even if you do have queue for a table at times. Sit inside not outside, so you can absorb the atmosphere and elegance of a by-gone era, and those cakes, mmmm-mmm!

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Exhibition was wonderful and package was good value for money compared with standard cost of exhibition.
BUT... The voucher did not specify where and how all documentation was to be collected.
We tried, twice using email, then by phoning the provided London number (accessible only on California time!) to be told that the documentation would definitely not be sent to our home address or the hotel.
We identified the location from the Internet and travelled there (in searing heat) from the airport with all our luggage to the head office (after being redirected) to then be informed that it had, after all, been sent directly to our hotel.
Bearing in mind that we were only in Vienna for three days, immediate access to the 72 hour Vienna pass was rather important.
The passes were indeed waiting for us at the hotel but did not include the advertised books of vouchers.
The voucher for the Belvedere was in the form of an invoice but did not specify entrance to the Klimt exhibition, resulting in confusion at the entrance desk - subsequently resolved by direct involvement of the manager.
In the end we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, but it could have been made considerably smoother by some common sense instructions and basic info on the downloaded voucher.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

Rosco
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Excellent gallery rating is for gallery only. Negative was that when i converted voucher for ticket at the ticket office at Belvedere, VIATOR was not recognised by the issuing office. They honoured the admission but I did not receive the rest of the package.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

upper belvedere is a bit difficult to get to as a wheelchair user but the exhibition was superb

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message