Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 175 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We decided to board the coach at its starting point at the bus station instead of being picked up at our hotel as there were 3 of us and we wanted to make sure we were seated together. Just as well we did because a minibus picked up the hotel passengers for three separate tours and delivered them to the almost full coaches where they had to make do with whatever remaining seats were available.
The trip was very enjoyable, starting with a drive through the very pretty little wine villages where everyone seemed to have vines in their back gardens. The Danube boat trip was lovely and very picturesque. We arrived at Melk Abbey at lunchtime and, as we only wanted a light snack, were very pleased with the €5 cheese plate which consisted of four or five different cheeses, apple, grapes, the most delicious fig preserve and two different kinds of bread.
After lunch there was a tour of the Abbey and museum which we didn't take because my elderly father is not able to walk very far. Our guide had said we would be able to go slowly at our own pace but clearly we were expected to stay together with the rest of the group so we stayed outside and enjoyed the pleasant gardens instead.
One thing that should be mentioned is that there are some very steep steps from the coach park down to and, more importantly back up from, the abbey. My father found these difficult to manage, and several much younger folk arrived back at the coach puffing and panting!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was so well organised and our leader Tommy was so professional and a fantastic guide. We travelled in a first-class double decker coach, then transferred onto a wonderful cruise boat on the Danube to Melk. The young tour guide at Melk Abbey, Nicolina, was brilliant. This tour was the same price as the Bratislava tour and this tour was 100 times better.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Extreme heat affected day. Insufficient shade on boat on Danube
Lack of food options for lunch. No opportunity to see town of Melk
Guide's English hard to understand

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was excellent.We got a pleasant surprise,when we got a 2 hour tour of Vienna before we went on the Danube, which was for 1 hour.Our trip overall was the best holiday I have had in 2 years. The food the people the weather were super.I am unable to post on my photos.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great. The Benedicton abbey and the danube river trip was memorable!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful trip. We spent a really lovely day first driving to meet the boat at a charming little town of Krems in the Wachau valley on the Danube. The boat ride was so pretty, and with the weather being perfect, you couldn't have asked for any better. The service was great on the boat and we enjoyed wine, beer and snacks during the 1 1/2 hour ride. Once we arrived at Melk we had about an hour before our tour, so we had lunch at the café the tour guide suggested. Then we took the tour of the Benedictine abbey, which was so impressive. So all in all it was great. The one thing that really impressed me was the tour guide who spoke 5 different languages!!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely relaxing trip on the Danube by boat to Melk Abbey. The Abbey is very lovely but quite busy with lots of tourists.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful way to tour the Danube Valley and the Abbey. We had a short and informative bus ride thru the country side to the town of Spiz where we picked up the boat. Very nice boat with clothed tables, generous food and bar menu and a wonderful and attentive staff. Top deck was more casual but still top notch. The ride was perfect for us. We saw castles, churches and little towns. When we docked at Melk off to lunch on our dime at the Abbey then a tour of the beautiful Abbey. After the tour it was back to Vienna. The tour was well organized and very comfortable....

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a really enjoyable tour. We were collected from our hotel at the specified time, the coach tour had a knowledgeable guide and we saw lots of landmarks. We really enjoyed the relaxing sail on the Danube into the city and it ended at a convenient central point. Ideal for first time visitors, especially if your time is short and you want to see a lot. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

For those with limited time or anyone visiting Vienna, this day tour of the Danube Valley by bus and then by boat up the Danube River was a wonderful experience. I particularly liked being picked up from my hotel. The commentary while on the bus and the guided tour of the Melk Abbey was very good as well. There was plenty of free time to look around, buy souvenirs and have lunch. Good value for money tour.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

For those with limited time or anyone visiting Vienna, this day tour of the Danube Valley by bus and then by boat up the Danube River was a wonderful experience. I particularly liked being picked up from my hotel. The commentary while on the bus and the guided tour of the Melk Abbey was very good as well. There was plenty of free time to look around, buy souvenirs and have lunch. Good value for money tour.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was awesome trip. The boat cruise from Spitz to Melk was fantastic - got to see many nice castle like churches along the Danube. The Melk Abbey was 'wow' (absolutely breathtaking). The restaurant onsite at the Abbey was also great.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a good experience with an excellent tour guide fluent in English German and Spanish. Our coach was brand new. The Danube boat trip was interesting and catering was available for purchase (coffee, snacks, meals, alcohol). Melk was everything we hoped it would be and the abbey guide was an enthusiastic young woman who was sympathetic to the history of the abbey and with excellent English. We would recommend to our friends to do this tour.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The trip to the Danube Valley was lovely. After travelling for a while on the coach, we boarded a boat at Spitz, then travelled down the Danube River to Melk. Next we visited Melk's magnificent Benedictine Abbey (300 yrs old). The library is the most impressive I have ever seen!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The trip concept was good with it including a tour boat ride from Spitz to Melk on the River Danube. The tour guide was not particularly communicative, but to be fair didn't really need to be with the itinerary and a Melk Abbey employee providing a guided tour. The weather became progressively more inclement as the day proceeded, which also detracted from the trip, but overall thought that this would be a good trip to make with a more cooperative weather.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message