Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 271 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yuxin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very beautiful Abbey including great library and church, and wonderful view of the town and Danube river.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Harriet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip to the countryside. Well worth it. Lovely day out of Vienna to Danube riverboat cruise and small towns dotting the river and onto Abbey.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

sharon p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Superb trip down the blue danube to the Melk Abbey. The weather was perfect. Our guide George was funny and entertained us along the way. The view of the abbey amd the journey to the abbey were breathtaking.Im so glad i took this trip. Highlight of my holiday in vienna....

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Leslie G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide told us some interesting facts on the bus and the Danube Cruise was memorable even though it was cloudy. Melk Abbey was beautiful.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Paul B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great day and experience close to Vienna ...we had a superb, relaxed day along the Danube and the local guide was terrific as he spoke several languages. Remember if picked up at your hotel you end up all getting of at Opera House.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

tj.junks

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I wish I could give the tour a higher rating because of the beautiful Austrian country-side I saw along the road and the magnificent Melk Abbey. However, I did encounter a few things I want to point out that led me to give the rating that I did:

- Very disorganized... hotel pickup was 15 minutes late. After hotel pickup, had to change to a bus at Vienna Opera, and then once again to another bus at the bus terminal. The entire pickup process could use some streamlining as it was extremely confusing.
- We did not stop at the medieval castle ruins of Burgruine Dürnstein, as indicated in the product description. Very disappointed. Perhaps it was due to lack of time since pickup service was disorganized?

Both the Danube boat cruise and Melk Abbey are interesting places to visit. The tour guide was impressive in her ability to switch between different languages.... but I struggle to recommend this particular tour company to others due to the reasons above.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

MARK H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

really nice trip well worth taking , a coach from vienna to spitz then a great trip along the Danube to melk by boat worth it alone , then on to the abbey half an hour to look round the little village and the gardens next to the abbey are really special the view from the back and the wooded area are worth checking out ,then into the abbey we were met by our tour guide Bettina first rate guide we went on a 50min tour of the various rooms courtyards etc well versed and witty polite etc, the abbey is stunning worth the trip alone ,then back on the coach all the way back to vienna ,do yourself a favour take this trip....

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Margaret C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We very much enjoyed the tour, the Danube River cruise and the tour through Melk Abbey. The agenda suggested that lunch was included but this was not the case. That point should be clarified.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Cheryl T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Well planned, comfortable bus, views from boat on Danube were exquisite. The abbey is very much worth a visit.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Jaslyn T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This would be a trip for you if you just wish to sit back and relax. Boat trip on Danube would be similar to other boat or cruise trip. The guided tour in melk abbey is pretty interesting!

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Mary S. N

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The boat ride on the Danube was great - very picturesque. The Abbey at Melk was ok but nothing special. Our guide for the day was fine.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

hooi hua k

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

We travelled to the Danube Valley and Melk Abbey in a double decker coach. Hence I feel the group size is rather large hence leading to some chaos in the onset of the tour. However the hotel pick up was much appreciated and the tour guide at Melk Abbey speaks with passion about the Abbey hence making the visit worth it.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Michelle P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

This was the worst tour I've ever been on, and I have traveled to Europe multiple times. My best friend and I were horrified. The guide Ernest never introduced himself or the driver or welcomed us to Vienna. He sat down on the bus, didn't turn around once, and began with So the Danube... The tour was conducted in English and German which we did not expect and cut down on the guide's time to deliver info in either language. We did not see ONE famous site in Vienna -- not the Imperial Palace, not Belvedere, not Rathaus, not St. Stephen's, etc. NOTHING. We passed by a few houses diplomats live in how exciting and were dropped off at a lookout for 20 min where there was literally nothing to see or do. We also passed by a hideous house the guide wanted us to see that was inspired by the work of Gaudi, and it was not impressive in the least. Then the bus took us to the cruise, which was also a disappointment. We traveled a few miles back and forth on the boat, saw nothing but graffiti,no sites or beautiful buildings, and the guide didn't even stay with us for the tour. The kitchen closed 20 min into the cruise so if you didn't order food early you were out of luck. The boat dropped us off in city center and it was as it if was painful for Ernest to explain to anyone where any sites were in the nearby area. He wasn't friendly or personable and I hope he wasn't expecting a tip. My friend and I had to spend unexpectedly the next day to get Hop On Hop Off bus passes in order to ACTUALLY SEE THE SITES OF VIENNA WHICH IS WHAT THE TOUR WAS FOR. What a horrid disappointment, I would recommend this to no one as it was a colossal waste of money and our first afternoon in Vienna on a trip with limited time.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

Errol M Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

It was a long day by coach following the Danube River from Vienna through many picturesque villages and past castle ruins. The visit to Melk Abbey was a highlight. As it was Winter time, the usual boat cruise option on the Danube was not available As an alternative, lunch was offered in a small hotel restaurant in the back street of a pretty village. Unfortunately, the food served was very ordinary. Also, be warned: be on-time for departures from the various stops. On the day I joined this tour, a man did not return to the coach at the designated meeting point on-time, and it left without him. Not much effort was made to locate him, and both the guide and the driver seemed more concerned about maintaining a schedule rather than the safety of a foreign visitor to their country! The guest had to find his own way back to Vienna!

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Jennifer B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour, despite being too late in the season to float down the Danube. Our tour guide, fluent in four languages, was extremely knowledgeable and was able to answer everyone's questions. The villages we went to were quaint and the countryside breathtaking in its autumn foliage.

The only recommendation I'd make is for our guide to ask everyone to please keep their personal conversations to a whisper when he was talking. There were a couple of loud chatty, women on our tour who seemed completely oblivious to the fact that the rest of us paid good money to hear him - not them.

Other than that, a delightful tour and I definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Rose D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The guide Tomaz I think welcomed us to the almost full coach on our way to catch the boat for the trip on the Danube. As far as I can remember this was fine. The boat was busy and we were left to our own devices. On alighting the boat we travelled a short journey to Metz where we had a very brief tour by one of the authorized guides at Metz Abbey about 30 minute and although informative was too short. On the return to Vienna some 1 and a half hours there was no further information from the guide accompany us which I thought was odd. The transport to the boat was needed and the boat trip was great. However, the tour around Metz was, to my mind, just a way of extending the day and not worth the effort. The guide could have been more forthcoming with information about Vienna and Austria. Value for money?

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a spectacular tour and one of the highlights of our Austria trip. We were originally scheduled to take the tour a day earlier, but when the weather forecast for that day was less than desirable, we called 24 hours prior to re-schedule. Much to our delight, Viator accommodated us. On the day of the tour, we were picked up in a timely manner at a Vienna hotel near our rented apartment. After a one-hour bus ride with an informative and helpful guide, we boarded a boat for the Danube Valley cruise. What can I say? Being able to soak up the beauty of the Danube Valley during the 1.5-hour ride was worth the cost of the trip alone. Then came Melk Abbey. An absolutely stunning place inside and out. In the end, a great day filled with beauty. We would do this tour again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

kbandrs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bus ride, the boat ride on the Danube and the Abbey at Melk were excellent. Our eyes lit up when we saw the Garlic crème soupone of our favs on the boat menu, wunderbar. The abbey is beautiful.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Gary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip! The experience was everything as advertised and more. Motor coach picked us up at our hotel. Fantastic views especially through the wine country. The abbey at Melk is one of a kind very memorable. The riverboat ride up the Danube is special. We definitely recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Jennifer G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. We learned a lot from our very nice tour guide while we were traveling through Vienna on a very comfortable tour bus. And the boat ride along the Danube was great. There is food and beverage available for purchase on the boat, we got to go through a lock along the river and see parts of Vienna we know we'd not have seen otherwise. Then that finishes off with the bus taking you up into the woods for a great view of the city and more so the chance to see a beautiful, quaint part of Vienna that is completely opposite of the city life. Very enjoyable and just the right length.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

Peter J

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The boat trip down the Danube was nice

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

number6of8

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Danube river cruise was nice and the Melk Abbey is beautiful. We wished we had more time to explore the Abbey. We were amazed at the lack of organization when we were dropped off to find our bus for the day. There was mass confusion and we received different instructions from the tour guides. At one point we were told to get on a bus that was for French and Spanish speaking tourists but another tourist warned us that they were just trying to fill the bus, so we waited for the English speaking bus which arrived 20 minutes late. I don't know if our guide was having a bad day or what but she was also very disorganized and seemed harried. All in all, it was a disappointment.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

charles k

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Danube River Cruise was adequate. I expected Austrian music to be played as we cruised and more explanation of what we were seeing along the way. One drink could have been included. The locks were interesting. The dinner was OK. The highlight of the day was the Chamber Ensemble , the dancers and the young opera vocalists. They were a treat to the eyes and ears and hearts of the audience.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Adelheid B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Good tour, interesting sites and Danube boat ride could have been longer.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

Ivan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a very relaxing way to visit the Danube at the outskirts of Vienna. It's an hour away by bus. During that time, our guide had something to say about everything along the way. Most of the information was quite interesting and made us visit other places at a later time. The tour ends at Melk Abbey. Although the Abbey is smaller than the palaces around Vienna, it's history and charming location make it a great place to visit. I wouldn't recommend this if you only have one or two days in Vienna, as there is much to see at the city, but if you are there for a little while longer, it's definitively worth it, as this is one of the most beautiful landscapes you will see around here.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message