Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 239 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the trip to Danube valley from Vienna to Melk where we visited the Abbey. Everything was really good. On the ship though you just have to have patience when the waitress come to your table to take the order. If you go at the bar to buy a beer you end up waiting a longer time as the waitress orders have priority.
The view on The Danube valley is superb.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

JohnOfNaper1
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We took this tour in May, and we really enjoyed it. River cruise was really nice. Wonderful view along the Danube. Melk Abbey is indeed magnificent. Very impressive. I would give this tour 4 and 1/2 stars if I could. The reason for not 5 stars: only one tour guide for the entire 70-80 people, which filled a double deck bus. The guide had to say everything in 4 languages: English, Deutsch, French, Spanish. So everything can only be said once. If you missed it, you missed it. I wish this large group could be broken to 3-4 smaller ones by language. That would be more engaging.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

What a lovely day! We were met at our hotel, brought to the meeting point, took a bus trip with a tour guide who was full of information, enjoyed a beautiful boat ride on the Danube with stunning scenery, ate a great lunch at Melk and then toured the Abbey. A day to remember. Thank you.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A leisurely boat trip down the Danube is the central plank of this enjoyable and easy paced tour. It starts with a bus trip of about 1 hour to the river pointing out landmarks on the way. My only reservation with this, at least on our tour, was that the guide repeated his spiel in 4 different languages for each notable site along the way, which became very tiresome by the end of the day. The last part of the tour covers Melk Abbey, a fascinating Benedictine church with a rich history. The tour combines an easy paced scenic boat ride with the historical/cultural aspect of the Abbey.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great day trip that easily helped us travel from Vienna to the Danube Valley. The bus was clean and the director was friendly. The boat was nice but not air conditioned and it was hot. During the travel time and the boat ride there was really no information given. This was not really a tour. At the Melk Abbey there was a guide and that was a neat stop. Only reason it wasn't ranked higher is because this felt more like a cattle call than a tour but it did serve its purpose and we did have a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Lovely day trip up the Danube River, and the Stift Melk is well worth seeing. Had a great day. Real good guide as well on the bus to and from. Good times!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was a nice day out of the city.
Our guide José did very well in terms of safety and explanations on the area history, wine varieties, etc... We did the trip by 37C so it was very hot but hopefully the biking part wasn't too difficult. The only drawback for us is that we didn't really visit wineries but just stopped 2 times 1 in a cooperative shop and 1 in a restaurant to drink wines. On the way back we stopped by the Danube river for a refreshing bath. However the wines were good and I recommand this trip to visit the lovely Vienna countryside.

Doing what: Best Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

When I arrived at the bus station after taking another bus the tour guide would not let me on the bus without a voucher. I asked her if she had a list and she replied no. She told me to quote stand over there and wait. My son in law confirm my booking that morning. The operator told us all I needed was a photo ID. The tour guide would not accept that and said how do I know you even paid . So I was treated rudely and poorly in the beginning. I boarded the bus on my own and waited. Eventually after everyone boarded she came to me and said are you the one without a voucher? I said yes I am! She left and return with a man, maybe the bus driver. He checked his list and there was my name. He said your Linda Walter? And I said yes. He done in a very rude voice told me you should have about your like everyone else exclamation. Not welcoming at all and it upset me a lot. Luckily a lady near me heard it all and said that was not right. As we begin our tour I already had a terrible headache from the ordeal. I took two extra strength Tylenol. In the past I have been treated for an anxiety disorder - this certainly wasn't expected treatment. The tour itself was fair. I thought we would see the ruins of a castle but we just drove by. I thought we were going into the tone of Mel K we did not. I thought we would have a choice a restaurant there. Instead everyone was expected and most of us ate at the one restaurant at the Abbey. I must say the abbey guide was very good. I also enjoyed the boat ride on the Danube and appreciated the guide pointing some things out to us. The bus that brought us back to Vienna must have must have

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Tour bus forgot to pick us up from our accomodation despite confirming this over email and checking the night before, however when our hotel rang the company they sent a car to collect us and we met the bus just outside Vienna to join the tour. Boat trip down the Danube was nice, Melk abbey was also nice to see, perhaps would have been better with more free time to explore the gardens as only had a short break for lunch and no time after the tour. Guide was informative

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Very well organized. The boat trip offers some of the most beautiful scenery along Danube. The Melk Abbey is great as well. We had a very good tour guide. It was a fantastic experience. Highly recommend it to everyone who visits Austria.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We visited Austria for 9 days in July so we had time to take this tour. Great way to experience the Danube, country side, and Melk Abbey.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very well organized. The cruise on the Danube was relaxing and the scenery spectacular. The highlight of the trip however is the visit to the Melk Abbey and church. Wow! Highly recommend this tour because it blends in cultural / artistic touring with nature!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic cruise down the serene Danube followed by a tour of the incredible Melk monastery filled with history and fascination. A great way to see the beautiful Austrian country side.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The abbey in Melk is worth the trip however the cruise on the Danube is really not that good.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Competent guide good airconditioned trip. Heatwave somewhat spoilt this tour.
I have to say the Danube trip is quite boring and the boat not the best.
However the final destination the Benedectine Abbey is outstanding.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The trip through country Australia and down the Danube Valley was really very beautiful.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Danube is not an exciting river to travel. Palace was worth the visit, Overall not our favourite river experience.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. We went in May 2015. Colder, kinda dreary day. Biking along the danube and in the wachau valley was surreal. Knowledgeable tour guide. made it very fun for us. This should be a priority if you visit vienna

Doing what: Best Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is awesome each time I do it! The boat ride on the Danube alone is worth it but the town of Melk and the Abbey are spectacular too.

I had the same guide, Tommy, on both tours October 2013 and May 2015. He is fluent in English, Spanish, French and German, and is quite impressive. In fact, at the main bus terminal, he was helping most of the customers figure out which bus to get on.

The tour guide for the Abbey this time was great!! She was funny, animated and very engaged with the tour group. The views of the town from the Abbey were great in the Spring, but are really spectacular in the fall when the leaves change and are full of vibrant colors. So I recommend a mid-October trip.

This is a MUST DO tour in Austria!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great cruise on Danube and nice excursion to the valley. Probably worth staying there for a day or two to explore nature and beautiful surrounding

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

City tour prior to the Danube boat ride was good. The driver had skills to maneuver in tight streets. The tour guide spoke perfect English except he spoke 3 different languages the entire time so you had to concentrate to hear what he had to say. We would not do the Danube boat ride again, half of the time was spent waiting for the river locks for water to be lowered.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Spectacular view of the castles as we went down the Danube. Melk Abbey was truly worth the experience.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My wife and I wanted to see the Danube and countryside and this tour provided a perfect opportunity to do so from a ship. We were picked up from our hotel and Driven to a meeting point where all the tourists were divided by language speaking groups - ours was in English. The time on the Danube was superb, our tour guide was very good, and the monastery at Melk was a real plus. This tour was an exceptional value. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very good tour with good guide and beautiful views of the Danube. Very good day!

Doing what: Best Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great overview of the Danube Valley. Wish we could have stayed at some of the towns longer. Translator did a good job juggling the various languages

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message