• USD ($)
  • English

Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 156 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good lunch, but we would have preferred the Danube cruise. A worthwhile day trip.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was beautiful and well done. Would only want to go when you can do the boat ride up the Danube. The Fall colors were spectacular. Pick up from the hotel was very convenient.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

gerryc
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A good time cruising the Danube.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great boat trip away from Vienna for the day. Many beautiful sights and quaint towns to see along the Danube River. There is food on the boat but save your appetite for the restaurant at the final destination. They serve local specialties and food was outstanding!! The Abbey was absolutely beautiful, untouched by time, and surrounded by gorgeous gardens. The guided tour inside was unbelievable, full of national treasures, jewels, religious artifacts, and statuaries. Wonderful surprises around every corner!!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Kinda not sure that this trip was a good idea to do on Jan 1st. Everything was closed in the tiny villages you go thru on the way to Melk.

Melk Abbey was beautiful! And the tour guide that is assigned to you from the Abbey is very informative taking you thru the Abbey and explaining everything in detail along the way ( about 1 1/2 hours of commentary).

Going in the winter without benefit of boat trip = IMO not worth it. The scenery is what makes this journey worth while and it just was a long day driving in a bus with not a lot to see until you get off bus.
I'm positive that cruising down the Danube is much better!
Lunch was very tasty and hot in a lovey inn.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I took this tour on September 21st along with 2 other colleagues from work. We loved the tour. We had so much fun. It was the last tour for our tour guide, Nicolette, who was moving to another country the following day. She was a very knowledgeable and entertaining young lady who really made the trip enjoyable for everyone. The biking route was enjoyable with lots of nice scenery, travelling through vineyards, small towns and through the countryside along the Danube River. The bikes themselves were in good shape and were comfortable for riding, even if you haven't been on a bike in awhile. We visited two different wineries, one was a larger commercial winery and the other was a small privately owned vineyard. Both were enjoyable in their own way. While in Durnstein, we opted to climb the hill to see the ruins - heads up - this is quite a workout. It takes about 15-20 minutes walking up hill to get to the top, but the views are fantastic once you get there. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys wine, scenery and steady, but not too difficult, physical activity.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The city tour and the Danube Boat ride was just amazing. Very comfortable ride, an excellent crew and staff, nice cafe and patisserie.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very enjoyable trip. The boat ride on the Danube was excellent, and the tour of Melk was very interesting. Pickup and transport were efficient.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely mind blowing trip which everyone visiting Vienna should not miss. It is the best opportunity for those looking to view the Austrian countryside with visit to Krems, Melk and Danube.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The trip on the Danube was great over all. If the bus ride was shorter and the cruise was longer , I would say he tour was perfect. Thanks

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This is the genuine Danube tour to Melk that is worth the experience.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

The dinner is better than average for a group seating and close to the Orangerie where the concert is an absolute delight. The hall is where the only proximate performances of Mozart and nemesis Sallieri (Sp?) were recorded in history. The surprise was the operatic performance with the concert. This is not just a totally light concert for tourists! The only thing keeping this experience from 5 stars is the canal cruise. You are on a canal ferry with little to do with the Danube. Better to take a genuine Danube cruise to Melk or Durnstein as a half day activity and really enjoy the Danube.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

The trip was great. We met the bus just outside the State Opera and were transported to the central meeting point of all the tours. This little bit was a little confusing but we all managed to get onto the bus and our tour guide was able to explain what would be happening for the day. The bus took us out of Vienna and up to the Danube where we where we hopped onto the cruise up to Melk Abbey. The Danube was really pretty, we were able to buy a cup of coffee (and food if required) on the boat and take plenty of photos. On arrival at the Abbey dock we were taken by bus up to the abbey and then it was suggested we might like to have lunch in the café. We had brought a picnic lunch and found a quiet spot to eat it. The actual tour of the abbey wasn't until 1.30pm and we were handed over to an employee of the abbey for this. I'd have to say we were a little disappointed that we couldn't get in straight away and had to find something to do for an hour and a half. Some of our tour party headed down into Melk township itself and bought their lunch from the local bakery but as we had arrived right on lunch time a lot of the town was closed up for siesta time. Anyway when we finally got into the Abbey itself the tour was fabulous, amazing place and well worth a visit. We then hopped back on the bus and were driven back to Vienna. So the tour of the Abbey itself was great and we really enjoyed that along with the cruise on the Danube. Felt perhaps the guide we had from Vienna could have possible spent a bit of our quite large amount of time on the bus perhaps pointing out some of the sights in and out of Vienna as we drove past. But that would be our only complaint.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Truly great day. Ester, our guide, was brilliant - great fun, very knowledgeable and sooo easy to get as long with. Wineries and scenery beside the Danube was the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Wonderful trip through the Austrian countryside, beautiful Danube boat trip to Melk. The tour of the Benedictine Abbey was spectacular. What a great day.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message