Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was fantastic! The boat ride down the Danube river was so relaxing and, over all, a wonderful experience. The Melk Abbey was magnificent.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful time on the full day bike trip to the Wachau Valley with approximately 10 other adults and our trip guide, Alain. The meeting place is easy to find in bright green letters on Franz Josefs Kai (see their logo above). It is a short train ride to Krem where we picked up our bikes-all with humorous names. The bike ride itself is easy going with a few hills (just stand up and pedal through them). You will enjoy this trip much more if you listen to Alain who is very familiar with the area and take in the beautiful surroundings. Do not try to take videos or pictures when you are on your bike, he will stop at the most interesting areas for photo ops and give you a quick history lesson. Our group was made up of people from all over the world. We had a great time tasting wines, exploring the castle ruins (highly recommend the climb to the top) in Durnstein as well as taking a dip in the Danube. If you like wine, people, beautiful scenery, biking and hiking this is definitely for you!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I loved the Vienna sightseeing tour with a Danube boat ride during our brief stay at such beautiful and historical city in Germany.Our palace guide was very knowledgeable and detailed-oriented person. We must say that we almost missed the whole tour altogether...It was the courtesy of a Vienesse young man who was able to call a taxi to drive us directly to the bus station who saved our tour. Danke Gundel...wherever you are... And what a tour that was: Fantastic!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour is by bus and boat. The tour company picked us up at the hotel which was a very nice way to start the tour. We were with a small group of 6 persons with our tour guide, Tom. We toured many of the important areas of Vienna with past and present significance to the city. We also went to Conzel, an area just outside of the city in the hills. Unfortunately it was raining and the city views were somewhat obscured but beautiful none the less. The driver then drove us to a tour boat on the Danube River. It has a restaurant on board for refreshments and food. The ride was very relaxing and again we saw city sights from another perspective of the river.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Danube Canal part of thus tour was just a bit long but the concert at Schonbrun was a real trat!

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour is a great tour. We had a beautiful day, lots of incredible countryside to enjoy on the way to the river boat and a wonderful ride on the Danube to the Abbey. All of the sights and architecture was amazing!!! The ONLY downside of this trip was the tour guide. She was an older lady that had good information, but just seemed to be "tired" of it all. She had several negative comments about how "tourists" don't do what they are told (meeting places, times, etc). The tour picked us up at our hotel, but dropped us off at a location downtown which surprised me. My husband and I had purchased a 72-hour all city transportation pass, so we were OK to get back to our hotel. But others seemed confused on what they should do, so I asked her how they would get back, and I think her answer pretty much sums up her attitude She said, "they were able to find Vienna so I'm sure they will be able to find their way back to their hotel." I would recommend this tour, but just steer clear of the older tired female tour guide who has been doing this for sooooo many years (her words), that she should know better.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The river Danube ride was pleasant and scenic. The tour through the monastery was educational and fascinating. Tour was well managed in terms of timing. The tour guide (couldn't recall his name) was extremely systematic and managed time well.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Danube valley day trip was ok, Boat was just usual, but Melk monestry trip was good... architecture was amazing!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

By and large it was good but the part of our trip to Melk was a bit rushed because of the running behind schedule of the ships up the Danube. This was caused by the fast contra currents of the rain swollen river but no allowance was made for this in the return time. Also the English speaking tour guide of the Melk Museum was incomprehensible to me even with English as my mother tongue, so those whose English was not their native language didn't have a chance. This guide was soon left with very few followers. I think we just unlucky. The only improvement I can think of is a shorter bus ride and a longer time on the ship, ie starting at an earlier point on the river? The three to four hours journey on the bus, most of which was on motorway, was too long with not much to see.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We decided to board the coach at its starting point at the bus station instead of being picked up at our hotel as there were 3 of us and we wanted to make sure we were seated together. Just as well we did because a minibus picked up the hotel passengers for three separate tours and delivered them to the almost full coaches where they had to make do with whatever remaining seats were available.
The trip was very enjoyable, starting with a drive through the very pretty little wine villages where everyone seemed to have vines in their back gardens. The Danube boat trip was lovely and very picturesque. We arrived at Melk Abbey at lunchtime and, as we only wanted a light snack, were very pleased with the €5 cheese plate which consisted of four or five different cheeses, apple, grapes, the most delicious fig preserve and two different kinds of bread.
After lunch there was a tour of the Abbey and museum which we didn't take because my elderly father is not able to walk very far. Our guide had said we would be able to go slowly at our own pace but clearly we were expected to stay together with the rest of the group so we stayed outside and enjoyed the pleasant gardens instead.
One thing that should be mentioned is that there are some very steep steps from the coach park down to and, more importantly back up from, the abbey. My father found these difficult to manage, and several much younger folk arrived back at the coach puffing and panting!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was so well organised and our leader Tommy was so professional and a fantastic guide. We travelled in a first-class double decker coach, then transferred onto a wonderful cruise boat on the Danube to Melk. The young tour guide at Melk Abbey, Nicolina, was brilliant. This tour was the same price as the Bratislava tour and this tour was 100 times better.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. A great way to experience the Danube and picturesque villages.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a beautiful and relaxing day on the Danube from start to finish. We were picked up at our hotel and taken by bus to the beautiful Wachau Valley where we boarded the riverboat. We were lucky with perfect weather. We were given ample time for lunch at the Melk Abbey and given an excellent tour with knowledgable guides. My 81 yr old mother and I loved our trip and highly recommend it to anyone looking to get a peak at the scenery outside of Vienna.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Abby in Melk was wonderful, everything it was written to be. The boat ride on the Danube was relaxing and had some beautiful sights.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Extreme heat affected day. Insufficient shade on boat on Danube
Lack of food options for lunch. No opportunity to see town of Melk
Guide's English hard to understand

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message