Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 207 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We totally enjoyed our bike tour along the Danube. The wine tastings along the way were a bonus. Stelios our guide was very professional and knowledgeable about both the history of the region and its wines. We would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a very enjoyable if not long day out. We took the bus through some very scenic Austrian countryside before boarding the boat for our Danube Valley river cruise. Had a very nice lunch onboard before visiting the abbey. Yes I'm sure there were parts of this trip that could have been arranged better but overall and allowing for this I still thought the day was worth it with this company

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

It is difficult to even imagine that visiting the Austrian countryside and riding on the Danube can be disappointing, but this was by far my worst touring experience! Poorly organized tour with a useless guide and incredibly bad service - in other words, a complete waste of money!
Do yourself a favor: rent a car and just explore the countryside on you own: there is nothing that this organized tour really does other than collecting an obscene amount of money

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was absolutely wonderful, we were blessed whit great autumn weather, real Indian summer. The scenery, Danube cruise, picturesque little towns, vineyards and at the end of the tour the magnificent Melk's Abbey, real gem!
It was well organised but we did not care for our guide, very boring and lacking "people skills ".
I would positively recommend this tour

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best way to start a bus tour! You certainly got a flavour of a river cruise in a matter of a couple of hours. Very organized and smooth! Beautiful day with onboard drinks and gorgeous scenery along the Danube. Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip and worth the money. We especially enjoyed the Danube cruise.

Our guide Zlato (I think) was great!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was even more than advertised. The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. Since we arrived early to catch the boat down the Danube, our driver and guide took us on a quick driving tour of the town (which was not included in the tour). The day was beautiful and the trip great. The only drawback I would note, is since we decided to eat lunch at the restaurant at the abbey, we didn't have enough time to walk through the gardens before the tour.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and although the day started out overcast and grey - by the time we got to Spitz in the Danube Valley, the sun came out. The boat trip up the Danube was beautiful as was the visit at the monastery at Melk. Could have used a bit more time at the monastery. Overall - the trip was great and professionally arranged. Only caveat I would have is the collection of participants and the shifting of people from bus to bus in the morning could have been better done as there were some confusing moments before we actually set out on the trip from Vienna.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Rainy day, but a wonderful trip. Drove through the wine country and then took cruise up the Danube to Melk Abbey. Informative tour at the abbey and time to have lunch. Wish we had more time to walk the grounds of the abbey.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guide was really good and took care of every individual person. AS it was promised we were picked up from the hotel. Otherwise it is quite difficult to reach the meeting point. The trip ended in front of the Opera House. The Danube valley is very beautiful and the abbey impressive. I have not enough wards to describe how magnificent it is. If the weather is fine the trip worth the money and the time. Isabelle

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Tour was worth the price. Hotel pick up with no issue - people are taken to a central point to board a number of different buses depending on what tour you are on. This is not explained at all and led to confusion. Once we were on our tour all went well. Boat ride on Danube and Melk tour well done. Tour guide very knowledgeable. 4 stars rather than 5 due to the confusion (or more accurately lack of information) at the collection point. Would recommend this one.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We were a group of four. Great river cruise up the Danube from Schwedenplatz, sunny and nice weather. Good idea to start early, as we did. We were at Schoenbrunn early too, to have time to see the castle's interior plus the magnificent garden outside. Dinner at 6:30 pm was ok, and the concert later in the evening was great. With loads of Mozart and Strauss. All put together: Good value for money and a well composed day program.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Krishan S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic tour - the cruise on the Danube was really relaxing. Melk is really quite stunning and the tour was wonderful. There was also some free time allocated for lunch, which I actually used as an opportunity to take some photos.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip started on a train journey of one hour to Wachau valley. Alain entertained us on the train before we picked up our bikes at the depot. Alain was a hit with his humour and vast knowledge of the area. We stopped three times, tasting the wine and lovely food. One of the stops we had free time to walk up to a fantastic viewpoint of the Danube. This tour was the highlight of our holiday, having great company and getting guided through beautiful Austrian villages. A lovely retreat from the city. We would definitely recommend this for all abilities and ages!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour from the coach ride with commentary and cruise along the Danube to the Melk monastery where admission to the monastery with guide and beautiful gardens was included. Very well done viator I will definitely be booking more tours with you in the future :-)

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message