Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 230 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Very well organized. The boat trip offers some of the most beautiful scenery along Danube. The Melk Abbey is great as well. We had a very good tour guide. It was a fantastic experience. Highly recommend it to everyone who visits Austria.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We visited Austria for 9 days in July so we had time to take this tour. Great way to experience the Danube, country side, and Melk Abbey.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very well organized. The cruise on the Danube was relaxing and the scenery spectacular. The highlight of the trip however is the visit to the Melk Abbey and church. Wow! Highly recommend this tour because it blends in cultural / artistic touring with nature!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic cruise down the serene Danube followed by a tour of the incredible Melk monastery filled with history and fascination. A great way to see the beautiful Austrian country side.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The abbey in Melk is worth the trip however the cruise on the Danube is really not that good.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Competent guide good airconditioned trip. Heatwave somewhat spoilt this tour.
I have to say the Danube trip is quite boring and the boat not the best.
However the final destination the Benedectine Abbey is outstanding.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The trip through country Australia and down the Danube Valley was really very beautiful.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Danube is not an exciting river to travel. Palace was worth the visit, Overall not our favourite river experience.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. We went in May 2015. Colder, kinda dreary day. Biking along the danube and in the wachau valley was surreal. Knowledgeable tour guide. made it very fun for us. This should be a priority if you visit vienna

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is awesome each time I do it! The boat ride on the Danube alone is worth it but the town of Melk and the Abbey are spectacular too.

I had the same guide, Tommy, on both tours October 2013 and May 2015. He is fluent in English, Spanish, French and German, and is quite impressive. In fact, at the main bus terminal, he was helping most of the customers figure out which bus to get on.

The tour guide for the Abbey this time was great!! She was funny, animated and very engaged with the tour group. The views of the town from the Abbey were great in the Spring, but are really spectacular in the fall when the leaves change and are full of vibrant colors. So I recommend a mid-October trip.

This is a MUST DO tour in Austria!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great cruise on Danube and nice excursion to the valley. Probably worth staying there for a day or two to explore nature and beautiful surrounding

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

City tour prior to the Danube boat ride was good. The driver had skills to maneuver in tight streets. The tour guide spoke perfect English except he spoke 3 different languages the entire time so you had to concentrate to hear what he had to say. We would not do the Danube boat ride again, half of the time was spent waiting for the river locks for water to be lowered.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Spectacular view of the castles as we went down the Danube. Melk Abbey was truly worth the experience.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My wife and I wanted to see the Danube and countryside and this tour provided a perfect opportunity to do so from a ship. We were picked up from our hotel and Driven to a meeting point where all the tourists were divided by language speaking groups - ours was in English. The time on the Danube was superb, our tour guide was very good, and the monastery at Melk was a real plus. This tour was an exceptional value. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very good tour with good guide and beautiful views of the Danube. Very good day!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great overview of the Danube Valley. Wish we could have stayed at some of the towns longer. Translator did a good job juggling the various languages

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

spat
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The cruise on the Danube was interesting and quite beautiful but the highlight was the dinner and concert. A wonderful day and great memories.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

the tour covered what it said it would. We had a one hour drive through the countryside, a nice cruise up the Danube on a sunny day, lunch at Melk and a tour of the Abbey.
The guide was fine but colud have given more information if he hadn't had to say things in so many languages.
My only criticism would be with the start. We were picked up at our hotel as described at 9am and taken to the Opera. There we had to switch to a bigger coach to be driven the short distance to the Hauptbahnhof. There we sat till 10.30 when we were transferred to a third bus which is the one used for the tour. I would rather have been given a start time at the Hauptbahnhof in the first place or the Opera . That would have given us a bit more tour time instead of messing around in busses time.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Good tour but weather was bad so Danube cruise a bit wasted. Again annoying to have information constantly read in 3 languages.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The scenery was awesome, the boat ride up the Danube was spectacular and highly recommended. The tour guide spoke non-stop which was a bit grating, particularly since almost everyone on the bus was asleep. Also, I had signed up for hotel pickup, and was in the lobby well before pickup time. I had advised the front desk that I was there, but when the pick up came, they picked up the other passengers, but failed to pick up me - I would have thought they had a count, and would have looked for me. I wound up having to pay a cab driver Euro 20 to get me to the pick up location - which made this trip significantly more expensive than planned.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Krems may be more interesting in the summer, but this town was a disappointing stop for me. It was mostly a shopping stop as there didn't seem much to see in the city. Lunch was decent at a hotel in a town along the Danube. The Monastery in Melk was AMAZING! The library was very cool and the church at the end of the tour was well worth the visit.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a thoroughly enjoyable and well-thought out tour. The guide was particularly impressive with his ability to speak in 5 major languages. There was just the right amount of bus travel and stops. The tour guide explained everything clearly and made the history of what we were exploring very interesting. The highlight of course was the monastery of Melk and we all enjoyed the time we spent there. I went during the winter so we had the lunch option (in a restaurant) instead of the Danube tour. I would have preferred the tour company planning something else since the restaurant did not go to the greatest of efforts and I felt that what they served was a blight on Austrian cuisine.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Really enjoyed the trip to the beautiful Danube valley and Melk Abbey. The trip was well organised and hotel pickup was really appreciated. Our guide Sylvia was very helpful and answered all sort of questions very patiently. She also gave us interesting insights to the areas, food and history.

It would have been nicer if we could spend some more time in the Wachau valley specially during the walk through Dürnstein. Rest of the trip was lovely.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We totally enjoyed our bike tour along the Danube. The wine tastings along the way were a bonus. Stelios our guide was very professional and knowledgeable about both the history of the region and its wines. We would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a very enjoyable if not long day out. We took the bus through some very scenic Austrian countryside before boarding the boat for our Danube Valley river cruise. Had a very nice lunch onboard before visiting the abbey. Yes I'm sure there were parts of this trip that could have been arranged better but overall and allowing for this I still thought the day was worth it with this company

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message