Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Danube River (Donau Kanal)

Until the late 19th century the Danube River, or Donau Kanal, was unregulated and formed a 5-mile (8 km) wide wetland which regularly flooded nearby villages around Vienna. In 1870 the river was dammed and a new river channel formed for shipping. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 262 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We very much enjoyed the tour, the Danube River cruise and the tour through Melk Abbey. The agenda suggested that lunch was included but this was not the case. That point should be clarified.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Jaslyn T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This would be a trip for you if you just wish to sit back and relax. Boat trip on Danube would be similar to other boat or cruise trip. The guided tour in melk abbey is pretty interesting!

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

hooi hua k

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

We travelled to the Danube Valley and Melk Abbey in a double decker coach. Hence I feel the group size is rather large hence leading to some chaos in the onset of the tour. However the hotel pick up was much appreciated and the tour guide at Melk Abbey speaks with passion about the Abbey hence making the visit worth it.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Michelle P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

This was the worst tour I've ever been on, and I have traveled to Europe multiple times. My best friend and I were horrified. The guide Ernest never introduced himself or the driver or welcomed us to Vienna. He sat down on the bus, didn't turn around once, and began with So the Danube... The tour was conducted in English and German which we did not expect and cut down on the guide's time to deliver info in either language. We did not see ONE famous site in Vienna -- not the Imperial Palace, not Belvedere, not Rathaus, not St. Stephen's, etc. NOTHING. We passed by a few houses diplomats live in how exciting and were dropped off at a lookout for 20 min where there was literally nothing to see or do. We also passed by a hideous house the guide wanted us to see that was inspired by the work of Gaudi, and it was not impressive in the least. Then the bus took us to the cruise, which was also a disappointment. We traveled a few miles back and forth on the boat, saw nothing but graffiti,no sites or beautiful buildings, and the guide didn't even stay with us for the tour. The kitchen closed 20 min into the cruise so if you didn't order food early you were out of luck. The boat dropped us off in city center and it was as it if was painful for Ernest to explain to anyone where any sites were in the nearby area. He wasn't friendly or personable and I hope he wasn't expecting a tip. My friend and I had to spend unexpectedly the next day to get Hop On Hop Off bus passes in order to ACTUALLY SEE THE SITES OF VIENNA WHICH IS WHAT THE TOUR WAS FOR. What a horrid disappointment, I would recommend this to no one as it was a colossal waste of money and our first afternoon in Vienna on a trip with limited time.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

Errol M Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

It was a long day by coach following the Danube River from Vienna through many picturesque villages and past castle ruins. The visit to Melk Abbey was a highlight. As it was Winter time, the usual boat cruise option on the Danube was not available As an alternative, lunch was offered in a small hotel restaurant in the back street of a pretty village. Unfortunately, the food served was very ordinary. Also, be warned: be on-time for departures from the various stops. On the day I joined this tour, a man did not return to the coach at the designated meeting point on-time, and it left without him. Not much effort was made to locate him, and both the guide and the driver seemed more concerned about maintaining a schedule rather than the safety of a foreign visitor to their country! The guest had to find his own way back to Vienna!

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Jennifer B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour, despite being too late in the season to float down the Danube. Our tour guide, fluent in four languages, was extremely knowledgeable and was able to answer everyone's questions. The villages we went to were quaint and the countryside breathtaking in its autumn foliage.

The only recommendation I'd make is for our guide to ask everyone to please keep their personal conversations to a whisper when he was talking. There were a couple of loud chatty, women on our tour who seemed completely oblivious to the fact that the rest of us paid good money to hear him - not them.

Other than that, a delightful tour and I definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Rose D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The guide Tomaz I think welcomed us to the almost full coach on our way to catch the boat for the trip on the Danube. As far as I can remember this was fine. The boat was busy and we were left to our own devices. On alighting the boat we travelled a short journey to Metz where we had a very brief tour by one of the authorized guides at Metz Abbey about 30 minute and although informative was too short. On the return to Vienna some 1 and a half hours there was no further information from the guide accompany us which I thought was odd. The transport to the boat was needed and the boat trip was great. However, the tour around Metz was, to my mind, just a way of extending the day and not worth the effort. The guide could have been more forthcoming with information about Vienna and Austria. Value for money?

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a spectacular tour and one of the highlights of our Austria trip. We were originally scheduled to take the tour a day earlier, but when the weather forecast for that day was less than desirable, we called 24 hours prior to re-schedule. Much to our delight, Viator accommodated us. On the day of the tour, we were picked up in a timely manner at a Vienna hotel near our rented apartment. After a one-hour bus ride with an informative and helpful guide, we boarded a boat for the Danube Valley cruise. What can I say? Being able to soak up the beauty of the Danube Valley during the 1.5-hour ride was worth the cost of the trip alone. Then came Melk Abbey. An absolutely stunning place inside and out. In the end, a great day filled with beauty. We would do this tour again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

kbandrs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bus ride, the boat ride on the Danube and the Abbey at Melk were excellent. Our eyes lit up when we saw the Garlic crème soupone of our favs on the boat menu, wunderbar. The abbey is beautiful.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Gary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip! The experience was everything as advertised and more. Motor coach picked us up at our hotel. Fantastic views especially through the wine country. The abbey at Melk is one of a kind very memorable. The riverboat ride up the Danube is special. We definitely recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Jennifer G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. We learned a lot from our very nice tour guide while we were traveling through Vienna on a very comfortable tour bus. And the boat ride along the Danube was great. There is food and beverage available for purchase on the boat, we got to go through a lock along the river and see parts of Vienna we know we'd not have seen otherwise. Then that finishes off with the bus taking you up into the woods for a great view of the city and more so the chance to see a beautiful, quaint part of Vienna that is completely opposite of the city life. Very enjoyable and just the right length.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

Peter J

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The boat trip down the Danube was nice

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

number6of8

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Danube river cruise was nice and the Melk Abbey is beautiful. We wished we had more time to explore the Abbey. We were amazed at the lack of organization when we were dropped off to find our bus for the day. There was mass confusion and we received different instructions from the tour guides. At one point we were told to get on a bus that was for French and Spanish speaking tourists but another tourist warned us that they were just trying to fill the bus, so we waited for the English speaking bus which arrived 20 minutes late. I don't know if our guide was having a bad day or what but she was also very disorganized and seemed harried. All in all, it was a disappointment.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

charles k

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Danube River Cruise was adequate. I expected Austrian music to be played as we cruised and more explanation of what we were seeing along the way. One drink could have been included. The locks were interesting. The dinner was OK. The highlight of the day was the Chamber Ensemble , the dancers and the young opera vocalists. They were a treat to the eyes and ears and hearts of the audience.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Adelheid B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Good tour, interesting sites and Danube boat ride could have been longer.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

Ivan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a very relaxing way to visit the Danube at the outskirts of Vienna. It's an hour away by bus. During that time, our guide had something to say about everything along the way. Most of the information was quite interesting and made us visit other places at a later time. The tour ends at Melk Abbey. Although the Abbey is smaller than the palaces around Vienna, it's history and charming location make it a great place to visit. I wouldn't recommend this if you only have one or two days in Vienna, as there is much to see at the city, but if you are there for a little while longer, it's definitively worth it, as this is one of the most beautiful landscapes you will see around here.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Not to be missed. Great tour of the Melk Abbey and the Wachau Valley via the Danube

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very entertaining and informative guide. Pleasant trip on Danube and impressive visit to Melk Abbey - the large library is a must see.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

dberger1031

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a nice opportunity to travel through the Danube valley and see sights that I probably wouldn't have been able to get to otherwise. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. He also was giving the tour in two other languages as well as English which was impressive. It took a little while to get there but was well worth the trip. I would take another tour with this tour guide.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Anne

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The Danube cruise was disappointing. I was visualizing countryside along the Danube, but it was very urban. The boat was marginal. I would not recommend this. However the dinner and concert at Schonbrunn were fabulous. Especially the concert. Very entertaining and you felt the culture and history of Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Paul C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide during the Wanchu Vallley Danube River wasn't informative enough. Town of Melk visit to Benedictive abbey was really marvelous and very wonderful.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ed G M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

the pic is misleading. We did not see any of the historical sites of Vienna,and there are many! We spent most of 2hours driving around various parts of the Danube river and had a nice drive into the Vienna woods. The boat cruise was OK but the announcements were not loud enough to hear and most of the trip was of little or no historical interest. The guide was very knowledgeable but it would be more valuable to hear some of the incredible history of the city instead of hearing over and over again about the efforts to save the city from a flooding Danube River. I would recommend a hop on hop off bus tour which also includes the river cruise and is much cheaper. Take a pass on this tour if you want to learn about and see some historic sites of the city.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride

Carmen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the trip to Danube valley from Vienna to Melk where we visited the Abbey. Everything was really good. On the ship though you just have to have patience when the waitress come to your table to take the order. If you go at the bar to buy a beer you end up waiting a longer time as the waitress orders have priority.
The view on The Danube valley is superb.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The boat trip down the most beautiful part of the Danube was amazing and made the trip a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

JohnOfNaper1 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We took this tour in May, and we really enjoyed it. River cruise was really nice. Wonderful view along the Danube. Melk Abbey is indeed magnificent. Very impressive. I would give this tour 4 and 1/2 stars if I could. The reason for not 5 stars: only one tour guide for the entire 70-80 people, which filled a double deck bus. The guide had to say everything in 4 languages: English, Deutsch, French, Spanish. So everything can only be said once. If you missed it, you missed it. I wish this large group could be broken to 3-4 smaller ones by language. That would be more engaging.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message