• USD ($)
  • English
Sitting on the Danube River in Lower Austria, Dürnstein is one of the most-visited villages in the Wachau Valley wine-growing region and is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. It’s a charming mix of medieval and Baroque architecture, with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I took this tour on September 21st along with 2 other colleagues from work. We loved the tour. We had so much fun. It was the last tour for our tour guide, Nicolette, who was moving to another country the following day. She was a very knowledgeable and entertaining young lady who really made the trip enjoyable for everyone. The biking route was enjoyable with lots of nice scenery, travelling through vineyards, small towns and through the countryside along the Danube River. The bikes themselves were in good shape and were comfortable for riding, even if you haven't been on a bike in awhile. We visited two different wineries, one was a larger commercial winery and the other was a small privately owned vineyard. Both were enjoyable in their own way. While in Durnstein, we opted to climb the hill to see the ruins - heads up - this is quite a workout. It takes about 15-20 minutes walking up hill to get to the top, but the views are fantastic once you get there. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys wine, scenery and steady, but not too difficult, physical activity.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

First, our guide, Adam, was fantastic. The day was one of the best days on our two week trip to Austria and Germany. The wine, food and schnaps were great! The stop in the beautiful village of Durnstein was amazing. The Danube boat trip was beautiful!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a wonderful time on this tour...Fabulous itinerary and our tour guide Stelios was awesome. He took special interest in showing us so many different places and is a great tour guide. We've always taken viator tour all over Europe and always been more than satisfied. We definitely recommend this tour to anyone going to Vienna, Austria. It's a great mix of seeing the breathtaking Wachau Valley for wine tours, visit to the quaint town of Durnstein, lunch in a beautiful outdoor setting , relaxing cruise on the Danube river and visit to the amazing Melk Abbey.

Varanasi Family. California, USA

Doing what: Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour and Wine Tastings from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

Clearly, this was the highlight of our trip to Vienna. Gretel was wonderful. Her composure never left her, even when we had to transfer trains 5 times (due to a train derailment before we arrived) instead of once. Wines were good, scenery breathtaking, and the optional 20 minute climb up to Durnstein castle was strenuous, but doable. The bike ride was VERY easy and I'm 65. A very companionable group helped make this a memorable and worthwhile trip.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

The dinner is better than average for a group seating and close to the Orangerie where the concert is an absolute delight. The hall is where the only proximate performances of Mozart and nemesis Sallieri (Sp?) were recorded in history. The surprise was the operatic performance with the concert. This is not just a totally light concert for tourists! The only thing keeping this experience from 5 stars is the canal cruise. You are on a canal ferry with little to do with the Danube. Better to take a genuine Danube cruise to Melk or Durnstein as a half day activity and really enjoy the Danube.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Unbelievable views, great lunch, amazing hike to the ruins of Durnstein. Fave memory of my trip! My only complaint would be that the last half of the trip, on return to the train station, was too rushed. There was only one short break. For my 55 year old mom on a 32 degree today, this was too much

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Great day. Guide was well informed on wines. Great scenery and ride was easy going even for those of minimal bike experience. Would have liked more free time in Durnstein to visit shops and castle ruins. We climbed almost to top of hill - great view - but it was rushed with little time to look at ruins and no time for shops. We would have preferred to take time from 20 minute rest by Danube and add it to Durnstein.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

I would've liked to visit the village of Durnstein as well.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

We were picked up at 9.00am driven to a central collection point by 9.40 to a larger bus and then sat for 40min before we left at 10.20 .The guide said this was a common occurrence .As such our drive through "winding roads and castles in the Austrian countryside " -your quote -was a 120kmh motorway dash -Durnstein Abbey was seen as a distant spec on top of a hill.When we got to Spitz another half hour wait before we got on the very crowded and noisy ferry .If there was any commentary we couldn't hear it . The wachau valley is pretty but not exceptional compared with other areas in the world.The only saving grace was the visit to Melk and the Abbey which was beautiful. We regretted we did not make the trip ourselves by public rail/ferry as your tour was very poor value for money crowded and uneventful

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message