• USD ($)
  • English

Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

House of Music (Haus der Musik)

The House of Music, or Haus der Musik, rates among the best museums in the city. Spread over 4 floors (the 5th is a café and restaurant), it helps explain sound in an amusing and interactive way, accessible to both children and adults. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rosane
Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This place was really cool, they have precious items from the greatest composers but everything is presented in a fun way and themed environment, lots of interactive gadgets too. I was impressed by the technology available in the rooms, definitely worth a visit specially if you love music!

Doing what: Vienna House of Music Entrance Ticket

Rosane
Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This package is perfect for 1 reason, it has everything that you need. Firstly it was very convenient to get it from our hotel once we arrived. It was very easy to use and had clear instructions, all the basics you need for a stay in Vienna! The hot chocolate (swapped for the coffee) and cake experience at Cafe Central was unforgettable. The restaurant where we had our lunch was really good and centrally located, they had the best apple strudel I had tried whilst in Vienna! So convenient to use the transport as much as you want too, and the Vienna Card to entry the attractions and get some helpful discounts too which is always great. Plus the hop on hop off tour insured we got to see everything and very comfortably, highly recommended!

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very satisfied overall and feel we got value for money, especially for the travel on all transport. Unfortunately it did not start well when no taxi appeared at the airport to take us to the hotel. We spoke to the man waiting for another passenger who checked with the office. They said they had no booking for us. We did take a taxi at a cost of 55 euros, for which I have a receipt.
The only other problem we encountered was finding the cafe for the coffee and cake. The voucher received on arrival gave an address which was the office where it had been sent from, and the cafe was not named. We spent a long time walking down the street searching for it. The hotel checked out the location for us, and when we went to the office they directed us to Cafe Central. They did say they would inform the staff to put the cafe address on in future.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Hop-on-Hop off tour is quite a nice way to get around in the city, and to explore the tourist attraction spots; the tea and cake at the Cafe Central was enjoyable. Although the coffee is OK and the cake tasted good, it's the inside and the decor of the coffee house which is impressive and sublime. Go in the morning, so you don't have to waste your time lining up to get in. I didn't use the Vienna Card that much, because I walked to everywhere! Not many places where I showed the card took it anyway; at one coffee shop (I forgot which one), the waiter told me they do not take the Vienna Card I have but a different one. I also didn't get to use my dinner voucher, and I don't know how much the voucher values. That was very upsetting. I only had time to use my voucher on my last day in Vienna, which was a Sunday, and guess what? that restaurant was closed on Sunday!!

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very Good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Our Viator visitor package proved good value and helped me and my partner make the most of our 1 week visit. The Vienna Card was most useful and gave meaningful discounts off all of the sites, museums, galleries etc we visited. The morning tea and evening dinner were excellently chosen locations with warm welcomes from everybody and a high standard of cuisine.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Am disappointed, as it didnt quite work out the way I had hoped. First of all missed my flight into Vienna from Paris because of delayed connections. When I called on arrival to Paris, to inform the tour people they said the driver had been to the airport and returned and they couldnt pay for another shuttle to pick me at a later time. Even though the delay was not my fault. The package was at the hotel for me, and had the maps and stuff, the coupon for the Cafe Central was good, I loved the dessert and coffee there, but never got to use the dinner/meal voucher as there was already so much to see, do and eat at Vienna . Also I realized that the trains and public transport (U-Bahn network) is so good that you dont really need a shuttle to pick you from the airport, there was a metro station just a few blocks from my hotel once I had a map I was able to use it to get anywhere. Also the hop-on-hop-off isnt that great, I still had to pay for it at a small discount it wasnt free as I had misunderstood. The Vienna card is good all public transport is free but as I didnt have the package until I actually reached my hotel the first night (no shuttle) I had to pay for the initial transfers to the city center using the airport train and then the U Bahn to the station near my hotel. Would not recommend this.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

This was probably a good deal for those who go to museums more than we do. The card gave you discounts to museums and exhibits rather than prepaid admissions like other city cards we've bought. The dinner and the tea were both fun -- just don't expect to choose what you're going to eat.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Well worth while the public transport system is excellent

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Everything went very smoothly apart from the incorrect address on our paperwork for the Restaurant Fuhrich. (The address on the paperwork was for Cafe Central consequently we knew where that was for the next day). The pickup from the airport was an excellent limousine transfer, the food at both Restaurant Fuhrich and Cafe Central was good, and the Vienna card worked well. If I have one criticism it was that the Hop On Hop Off buses were very crowded and at one stage was going past stops because of lack of room. All in all, well worth it.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

sjw29
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great fun was had by us all at the House of \music - a very interesting afternoon and we were gald to be indoors as it was raining hard at the time!. the Mozarthaus was an indulgence for me, being an avid Mozart fan, and did not disappoint.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent value package.
All aspects lived up to expectations.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

a few fun interactive display, one stop shop to learn about viennese composers, my daughter was very happy with it. 2 hours max is enough for this museum.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

This was a superb package - great being met at airport; super orientation to the city with hop on hop off bus; Vienna card with public transport and discounts brilliant; Cafe Central voucher wonderful; and meal lovely. Overall absolutely superb value!

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

I've been booking trips with Viator for years and have never been disappointed. However in this case I was. The package was supposed to be delivered to our hotel and we would find it waiting for us on check in. Thankfully the airport pickup was well organised but the package never arrived. I planned to use the things for the first day but they were not delivered. After phoning Australia at an expense from Vienna, the delivery was organised within 90 minutes but a lot of precious hours were wasted waiting for the delivery.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

Note from Viator: Thanks for your comment. We will contact our local supplier and are following up to ensure this does not happen again. While we never like to hear about customers having substandard experiences, your feedback helps us to ensure our local suppliers provide a quality experience.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message